DETAILED ACTION
2 Applicant's amendment, filed on 07/24/2026, is acknowledged.
3. Claims 1-13, 20, 23-24, 92-95, 97-104, 125-128 are pending.
4. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 92-95 and 97-104 (now 92-95, 97-101 and 125-127), directed to a method of increasing the sensitivity of a subject to a therapy with an immune checkpoint inhibitor and a half-life extended immune cell engaging protein and the species of durvalumab (PD-L1/B7-H1/CD274) as the immune checkpoint modulator antagonist, a T-cell engaging domain and CD3ε as the species of CD3 molecule, filed on 07/24/2026, is acknowledged.
5. Claims 1-13, 20, 23-24, 95, 101-102, 104 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
6. Claims 92-94, 97-100, 103 and 125-128 are under examination as they read on a method of increasing the sensitivity of a subject to a therapy with an immune checkpoint inhibitor and a half-life extended immune cell engaging protein and the species of durvalumab (PD-L1/B7-H1/CD274) as the immune checkpoint modulator antagonist, a T-cell engaging domain and CD3ε as the species of CD3 molecule.
7. Applicant’s IDS, filed 12/06/2023, 03/11/2024 and 07/21/2025, is acknowledged.
9. Claims 92-94, 97-100, 103 and 125-128 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 92 encompasses a broad genus of: immune checkpoint inhibitors, first domains which specifically binds to human CD3, second domains which specifically binds to HSA, third domains which specifically binds to target antigens in the method of increasing the sensitivity of a subject to a therapy, increases the concentration of an immune checkpoint protein targeted by the immune checkpoint inhibitor in the subject.
Claim 97 encompasses a broad genus of immunomodulators a broad genus of half-life extended immune cell engaging protein in the method of improving the efficacy of a therapy.
Claim 98 encompasses a genus of immunostimulatory antibody agonist of a co-stimulatory receptor.
Claim 99 encompasses a genus of immune checkpoint modulators.
Claim 100 encompasses a genus of PD-L1 antagonists.
However, there does not appear to be an adequate written description in the specification as-filed of the essential structural feature that provides the recited function of increasing the sensitivity of a subject to a therapy, increases the concentration of an immune checkpoint protein and improving the efficacy of a therapy. The Guidelines for the Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, ¶ 1 "Written Description" Requirement make clear that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the genus.
Example 6: in vivo antitumor activity study of DLL3 targeting TriTAC in combination with PD-1/PD-L1 inhibitors.
The claims are directed a broad genus of: immune checkpoint inhibitors, first domains which specifically binds to human CD3, second domains which specifically binds to HSA, third domains which specifically binds to target antigens in the method of increasing the sensitivity of a subject to a therapy, increases the concentration of an immune checkpoint protein targeted by the immune checkpoint inhibitor in the subject.
The USPTO has released a Memo on the Clarification of Written Description Guidance For Claims Drawn to Antibodies and Status of 2008 Training Materials, 02/22/2018.
See https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/amgen_22feb2018.pdf.
The Memo clarifies the applicability of USPTO guidance regarding the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) concerning the written description requirement for claims drawn to antibodies, including the following.
“In view of the Amgen decision, adequate written description of a newly characterized antigen alone should not be considered adequate written description of a claimed antibody to that newly characterized antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional”.
In contrast to applicant’s reliance of describing the epitope of the CD3, HSA, TAA, and PD-L1 in providing a fully characterized antigen / specific epitope as well as claiming structural elements of the antigen, one or more functions recited in the claims and binding affinity,
there is insufficient written description of the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding makeup of the claimed CD3, HSA, TAA, and PD-L1 domains to demonstrate possession.
Also, see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017).
There is no evidence that knowledge of the chemical structure of an antigen gives the required kind of structure identifying information about the corresponding antibodies Applicants attempt to describe the invention by describing something that is not the invention: viz., the antigens to which the antibodies may bind. There nothing in the disclosure that describes the antibodies as required by the test set forth in Ariad.
However, the anti- CD3, HSA, TAA, and PD-L1 domains are required to practice the invention. The specification also fails to provide any specific structural or physical information so as to define a genus of antibodies having the desired therapeutic properties. Applicant is merely rely on the identification of integrin αvß6 as the antigen and the well-known structure of antibodies in general. However, the claims do not recite a general antibody, but an antibody having a specific desired activity. However, Federal Circuit clarification of the law of written description as it applies to antibodies. Amgen v. Sanofi, 872 F.3d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2017).
The claims are directed to a genus of anti- CD3, HSA, TAA, and PD-L1 domains. However, Federal Circuit clarification of the law of written description as it applies to antibodies. The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (Federal Circuit) decided Amgen v. Sanofi, 872 F.3d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2017), which concerned adequate written description for claims drawn to antibodies. The Federal Circuit explained in Amgen that when an antibody is claimed, 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) requires adequate written description of the antibody itself. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79. The Amgen court expressly stated that the so-called "newly characterized antigen" test, which had been based on an example in USPTO-issued training materials and was noted in dicta in several earlier Federal Circuit decisions, should not be used in determining whether there is adequate written description under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for a claim drawn to an antibody. Citing its decision in Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., the court also stressed that the "newly characterized antigen" test could not stand because it contradicted the quid pro quo of the patent system whereby one must describe an invention in order to obtain a patent. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79, quoting Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2010). In view of the Amgen decision, adequate written description of a newly characterized antigen alone should not be considered adequate written description of a claimed antibody to that newly characterized antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional.
Moreover, there is insufficient written description of the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding makeup of the claimed anti- CD3, HSA, TAA, and PD-L1 domains to demonstrate possession. Also, see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, Aventisub LLC, No. 2017-1480 (Fed. Cir. 2017). The Court reiterated that adequate written description must “contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products . . . .” The Court simultaneously suggested that the “newly characterized antigen” test “flouts” section 112 because it “allows patentees to claim antibodies by describing something that is not the invention, i.e. the antigen.” The Court concluded that for written description of an antibody to be adequate when presented with “functional” terminology, there must be an established correlation in the art between structure and function.
For instance, citing to Centocor, the Court analogized an antigen and antibody to a lock and a key. For an antigen where there is only a finite number of binding antibodies, discovering those antibodies may be routine and conventional, and description of the antigen alone may be sufficient. By contrast, for antigens with millions of keys, or millions of potentially binding antibodies, description of the antigen and even a couple of examples may be far from sufficient.
Given the claimed broadly class of antibodies and in the absence of sufficient disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics for the broadly claimed class of domains specifically bind to CD3, HSA, TAA, and PD-L1, including the claimed functional characteristics set forth in Claims 92-94, the patentee must establish “a reasonable structure-function correlation” either within the specification or by reference to the knowledge of one skilled in the art with functional claims
AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co. v. Janssen Biotech, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2014), MPEP 2163
The specification at best describes plan for making domains that bind CD3, HSA, TAA, and PD-L1 and then identifying those that satisfy claim limitations, but mere “wish or plan” for obtaining claimed invention is not sufficient.
Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Laboratories, 97 USPQ2d 1870 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the written description inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.). Consequently, Applicant was not in possession of the instant claimed invention. See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co. 43 USPQ2d 1398.
Applicant is invited to point to clear support or specific examples of the claimed invention in the specification as-filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 92-94, 97-100, 103 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cooke et al. (J Immunother Cancer;8(Suppl 3):A1–A559, 10 December 2020, Abs# 627).
Cooke et al teaches the use of AMG 757 (i.e., DLL3 X CD30 HLE BiTE) + Pembrolizumab in the treatment of relapsed or refractory SCLC (see Fig. 2C). HLE stands for half-life extended.
Cooke et al evaluated activity of AMG 757 (i.e., DLL3 X 30 HLE BiTE) in NET cells in vitro and in mouse models of neuroendocrine cancer in vivo. In vitro, co-cultures of NET cells and human T cells were treated with AMG 757 in a concentration range and T cell activation, cytokine production, and tumor cell killing were assessed. In vivo, AMG 757 antitumor efficacy was evaluated in xenograft NET and in orthotopic models designed to mimic primary and metastatic SCLC lesions. NSG mice bearing established NET were administered human T cells and then treated once weekly with AMG 757 or control HLE BiTE molecule; tumor growth inhibition was assessed. Pharmacodynamic effects of AMG 757 in tumors were also evaluated in SCLC models following a single administration of human T cells and AMG 757 or control HLE BiTE molecule. The results shows that AMG 757 induced T cell activation, cytokine production, and potent T cell redirected killing of DLL3-expressing SCLC, neuroendocrine prostate cancer, and other DLL3-expressing NET cell lines in vitro. AMG 757-mediated redirected lysis was specific for DLL3-expressing cells. In patient-derived xenograft and orthotopic models of SCLC, single-dose AMG 757 effectively engaged human T cells administered systemically, leading to a significant increase in the number of human CD4+ and CD8+ T cells in primary and metastatic tumor lesions. Weekly administration of AMG 757 induced significant tumor growth inhibition of SCLC (figure 1) and other NET, including complete regression of established tumors and clearance of metastatic lesions. These findings warranted evaluation of AMG 757 (NCT03319940); the phase 1 study includes dose exploration (monotherapy and in combination with pembrolizumab (i.e., an immune checkpoint inhibitor, anti-PD-1 antibody) and dose expansion (monotherapy) in patients with SCLC (figure 2). A study of AMG 757 in patients with neuroendocrine prostate cancer is under development based on emerging data from the ongoing phase 1 study.
When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitations “increasing the sensitivity of a subject to a therapy” and “improving the efficacy of a therapy in the subject” are not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claims is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim constructions. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP §2111.02.
Claims 93-94 are included because the process of the prior art is materially and manipulatively indistinguishable from the claimed method, absent a showing of any unobvious difference, the process of the prior art inherently leads the claimed outcome, i.e., increases the concentration of an immune checkpoint protein targeted by the immune checkpoint inhibitor in the subject. See Ex parte Novitski 26 USPQ 1389 (BPAI 1993).
The reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
12. Claims 92-94, 97-100, 103 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NCT03319940 (Viewing V22 (2020-02-11).
The NCT `940 teaches phase 1 study evaluating AMG 757 monotherapy and in combination with anti-PD1 therapy (see Arms and Interventions/ Experimental: Part C AMG 757 with Pembrolizumab). AMG 757 will be administered as a short term intravenous (IV) infusion in subjects with small cell lung cancer. AMG 757 is a Half Life Extended (HLE) Bispecific T cell engager (BiTE®) targeting delta-like protein 3 (DLL3) (see Detailed Description). The dose exploration phases of the study will estimate the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) or Recommended Phase 2 Dose (RP2D) of AMG 757 either as monotherapy or in combination with pembrolizumab. This will be followed by dose expansion phase to confirm RP2D and to obtain further safety and efficacy data (See Interventional Model Description). The `940 trial teaches that Pembrolizumab is a potent humanized IgG4 monoclonal antibody (mAb) with high specificity of binding to the PD-1 receptor, thus inhibiting its interaction with PD-L1 and PD-L2 (see Arms and interventions /Assigned Interventions).
When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitations “increasing the sensitivity of a subject to a therapy” and “improving the efficacy of a therapy in the subject” are not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claims is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim constructions. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP §2111.02.
Further, the claims are concerned with a mechanism of action, “increasing the sensitivity of a subject to a therapy” and “improving the efficacy of a therapy in the subject” (i.e., a statement of effect, reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention, merely extolling benefits or features of the invention). The mechanism of action is inherent property. In Jansen v. Rexall Sundown, Inc., the court held that the preamble is not merely a statement of effect that may or may not be desired or appreciated. If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
14. Claims 125-128 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooke et al. (J Immunother Cancer;8(Suppl 3):A1–A559, 10 December 2020, Abs# 627) or NCT03319940 (Viewing V22 (2020-02-11), as applied to claims 92-94, 97-100, 103, above and further in view of US 20210047439.
The teachings of Cooke et al and the NCT `940 have been discussed, supra.
The reference teachings differ from the claimed invention only in the recitation of the third domain (C) which specifically binds to a target antigen is DLL3 of SEQ ID NO: 1739 in claim 1. The first domain (A) which specifically binds to human CD3 is SEQ ID NO: 3153 and the second domain (B) which specifically binds to huma serum albumin (HAS) is SEQ ID NO: 3190 and the half-life extended immune cell engaging protein comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3461.
The `439 publication teaches and claims methods of treating a cancer overexpressing a DLL3 protein in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of a DLL3 targeting trispecific protein, wherein the DLL3 targeting trispecific protein comprises (a) a first domain (A) which is a single chain variable fragment that specifically binds to a human CD3; (b) a second domain (B) which is a single domain antibody that specifically binds to a human serum albumin protein; and (c) a third domain (C) which is a single domain antibody that specifically binds to DLL3, wherein the third domain (C) comprises an amino acid sequence that is at least 80% identical to an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID Nos. 432 (i.e., 100% identical to claim SEQ ID NO: 1739) (see published claim 31).
`439 publication teaches the second domain (B) comprises an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID Nos. 1769-1778. In some embodiments, the first domain (A) comprises an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO: 1793 (i.e., 100% identical to claimed SEQ ID NO: 3153) . In some embodiments, the DLL3 targeting trispecific protein comprises the sequence of SEQ ID No. 1890 (identical to claimed SEQ ID NO: 3461) or SEQ ID No. 1891 (100% identical to claimed SEQ ID NO: 1739). In some embodiments, the 3rd domain (C) binds to a human DLL3 protein comprising the sequence of SEQ ID No. 1893 (10% identical to claimed 31530 [0011].
The humanized anti-DLL3 sequences were cloned into an expression vector, in an expression construct comprising a signal domain followed by an anti-DLL3 heavy chain only variable domain followed by a GGGGSGGGS linker (SEQ ID No. 1808) followed by anti-human albumin single domain antibody 10G (SEQ ID No. 1774, identical to claimed SEQ ID NO: 3190) followed by a GGGGSGGGS linker (SEQ ID No. 1808) followed by anti-human CD3 antibody 2B2 (SEQ ID No.1793, identical to claimed SEQ ID NO: 3153) followed by a HHHHHH tag (SEQ ID No. 1819), to generate anti-DLL3 trispecific constructs [0343], [0355].
Those of skill in the art would have had a reason to substitute the anti-DLL3 trispecific constructs taught by the `439 publication with the AMG 757 taught by Cooke and the NCT `940 because both constructs comprising the same targets DLL3 X CD3 and HSA. Substituting a known element for another, to yield the known result, is obvious. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 421 (2007).
"[W]hen a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result." KSR Int'l v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007).
"Structural similarity, alone, may be sufficient to give rise to an expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Merck & Co., Inc., 231 USPQ 375,379.
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
15. Claim 103 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooke et al. (J Immunother Cancer;8(Suppl 3):A1–A559, 10 December 2020, Abs# 627) or NCT03319940 (Viewing V22 (2020-02-11), as applied to claims 92-94, 97-100, 103 , above and further in view of US Pat. 10131712.
The teachings of Cooke et al and the NCT `940 have been discussed, supra.
The reference teachings differ from the claimed invention only in the recitation of that the anti-PD-L1 antibody is durvalumab in claim 103.
The `712 patent teaches and claims methods of administering a CD3 X TAA bispecific plus an anti-PD1 checkpoint inhibitor, with dependent claim 2 reciting “wherein the anti-PD1 antibody increases the efficacy of the bispecific antibody” (aka improving efficacy” to induce an immune response to a cancer cell expressing the tumor-associated antigen (TAA). The `712 patent teaches that the checkpoint inhibitor include durvalumab (col., 7, lines 10-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the trispecific antigen-binding protein taught by the Cooke reference and the NCT 940 with the PD-L1 axis binding antagonist, durvalumab taught by the `712 patent in a method of treating lung cancer, because durvalumab would inhibit PD-L1 interaction with PD-1.
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
16. Claims 92-94, 97-100, 103 and 125-128 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20160340444 A1 in view of UP Pat. 10781262 or US Pat. 10131712.
The `444 publication teaches the use of a trispecific antigen-binding protein, wherein said protein comprises:
(a) a first domain (A) which specifically binds to human CD3;
(b) a second domain (B) which is a half-life extension domain, wherein the second domain binds human serum albumin; and
(c) a third domain (C) which specifically binds to a target antigen,
wherein the domains are linked in the order H2N-(A)-(C)-(B)-COOH, H2N-(B)-(A)-(C)-COOH, H2N-(C)-(B)-(A)-COOH, or by linkers L1 and L2, wherein the first domain comprises a variable light chain and variable heavy chain each of which is capable of specifically binding to human CD3, wherein the first domain is humanized or human, wherein the first domain has a KD binding of 150 nM or less to CD3 on CD3 expressing cells, wherein the second domain binds human serum albumin, wherein the third domain is specific to a tumor antigen (see published claims, [0063]). The `444 publication teaches methods of treating a proliferative/tumorous disease by administering the protein, and expressly: “the method further comprises administration of an agent in combination with the trispecific antigen-binding protein,” other immunotherapies” [0018], [0034], [0078] and [0081].
The reference teachings differ from the claimed invention only in the recitation of administering an immune checkpoint inhibitor in claim 92 and 97.
The `262 patent teaches the combination therapy of T cell activating bispecific antigen binding molecules and PD-1 axis binding antagonists. The `262 patent teaches and claims administering a CD3X tumor-antigen (e.g., FolR1XCD3) T-cell-activation bispecific in combination with a PD-1 axis binding antagonist (anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1) to treat cancer, reversing T-cell exhaustion and enhancing activation/effector function versus the bispecific alone (see issued claims and col. 3, lines 1-45, col., 4 29-30; col., 10, lines 53-67).
The `712 patent teaches and claims methods of administering a CD3 X TAA bispecific plus an anti-PD1 checkpoint inhibitor, with dependent claim 2 reciting “wherein the anti-PD1 antibody increases the efficacy of the bispecific antibody” (aka improving efficacy” to induce an immune response to a cancer cell expressing the tumor-associated antigen (TAA). The `712 patent teaches that the checkpoint inhibitor include durvalumab (col., 7, lines 10-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the trispecific antigen-binding protein taught by the `444 publication with the PD-1 axis binding antagonist (anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1) taught by the `262 patent in a method of reversing T-cell exhaustion and enhancing activation/effector function in the method of treating cancer.
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
17. Claims 92-94, 97-100, 103 and 125-128 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20160340444 A1 in view of UP Pat. 10781262 or US Pat. 10131712 and Cooke et al (J Immunother Cancer 2020;8(Suppl 3):A1–A559).
The teachings of the `444 publication, the `262 and `712 patents have been discussed, supra.
The reference teachings differ from the claimed invention only in the recitation of the third domain (C) which specifically binds to a target antigen is DLL3 of SEQ ID NO: 1739 in claim 1. The first domain (A) which specifically binds to human CD3 is SEQ ID NO: 3153 and the second domain (B) which specifically binds to huma serum albumin (HAS) is SEQ ID NO: 3190 and the half-life extended immune cell engaging protein comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3461.
Cooke et al teaches the (DLL3 and CD3) DLL3-targeted half-life extended bispecific T cell engager (HLA BITE) immune-oncology therapy AMG 757 has potent antitumor activity in neuroendocrine cancer. Cooke et al teach that AMG 757 significantly reduced tumor growth in orthotopic SCLC mouse models. Importantly, Cooke et al teach that the phase 1 study includes dose exploration (monotherapy and in combination with pembrolizumab (anti-PD-1)) and dose expansion (monotherapy) in patients with SCLC (figure 2). A study of AMG 757 in patients with neuroendocrine prostate cancer is under development based on emerging data from the ongoing phase 1 study.
Those of skill in the art would have had a reason to substitute the AMG-757 in combination with permbroliuzmab taught by Cooke reference or Durvalumab taught by `712 patent with the trispecific antigen-binding protein taught by the `444 publication in a method of treating cancer because AMG 757 has potent anti-tumor activity in neuroendocrine cancers.
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
18. No claim is allowed.
19. The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Owonikoko et al. Phase I study of AMG 757, a half-life extended bispecific T-cell engager (HLE BiTE immune therapy) targeting DLL3, in patients with small cell lung cancer (SCLC). J Clin Oncol 38, TPS9080-TPS9080(May 2020).
US-20170369563-A1
20. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAHER M HADDAD whose telephone number is (571)272-0845. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from7:00AM to 4:30PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Misook Yu, can be reached at telephone number 571-272-0839. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
September 8, 2026
/MAHER M HADDAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644