DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitation “a second region” in line 1. It is unclear if this second region is the same second region recited in claim 1 or a different second region. For examination purposes, the first interpretation was used.
Claims 3-5 are also rejected by virtue of being dependent on claim 2.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites that the second material section extends spirally along the second region. As set forth in the claim interpretation for claim 2, the “second region” recited in claim 2 is interpreted to be the same “second region” recited in claim 1. Claim 1 recites “a second material section extending spirally along a second region”. As such, claim 3 fails to further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McFerran (US 20060089618).
Regarding claim 1, McFerran discloses a catheter tubing (catheter 10 in fig. 1) comprising:
a tubular body having an axial length (tubular shaft 12 in fig. 1), the tubular body comprising at least a base material having a base material structural property (paragraph 22 discloses first outer layer segment 42 can comprise a PEBAX material which would have a structural property);
a first material section (coil layers 64 in fig. 2) extending spirally along a first region of the axial length and within a wall of the tubular body (the wires forming coils 64 would extend spirally along a region extending from first location 44 to location 66 in fig. 2; fig. 2 shows the coils 64 embedded in a wall of tubular shaft 12), the first material section comprising a first structural property (the coils would necessarily have a structural property), where the first structural property and the base material structural property are different (it is understood that the structural property of the coils 64 and that of the PEBAX segment 42 would differ);
a second material section (coil layer 68 in fig. 2) extending spirally along a second region of the axial length and within the wall of the tubular body (fig. 2 shows that the wire forming coil layer 68 would extend spirally from location 66 to location 58; fig. 2 shows the coil layer 68 embedded within shaft 12), the second material section comprising a second structural property (the coil layer 68 would necessarily have a structural property), where the second structural property is different than the first structural property (paragraph 28 discloses that the material of the coils can be varied between the different segments so that the structural properties between coil layers 64 and coil layer 68 would differ); and
where at an end of the first region the first material section ends and is replaced by the second material section (paragraphs 26 and 27 discloses that the coil layers 64 terminate at location 66 at which location the coil layer 68 distally extends).
Regarding claim 2, McFerran discloses the tubular body comprises a second region (the region extending between location 66 and location 58) having a second base material (paragraph 22 discloses that second outer layer segment 48 is made from a PEBAX material) and where the second base material is joined to an end of the base material (fig. 2 shows that the two outer layer segments 42 and 48 are joined at location 46 so that the base materials are joined).
Regarding claim 3, McFerran discloses at least the second material section extends spirally along the second region (wire forming coil 68 would extending spirally from location 66 to location 58).
Regarding claim 4, McFerran discloses the base material structural property and the second base material structural property are different (paragraph 22 discloses that first outer layer segment 42 can be made from PEBAX 5533 and second outer layer segment 48 can be made from PEBAX 4033 so that the two base materials have different durometers, equated to the claimed “structural property”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McFerran, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Wilson (US 6197015).
Regarding claim 5, McFerran discloses all of the claimed limitations set forth in claims 1 and 2, as discussed above. McFerran further discloses that the material of the tubular body can be varied to active a desired strength, flexibility, hardness, or other desired characteristic (paragraph 21).
However, McFerran does not teach or disclose the base material structural property and the second base material structural property are the same and where the base material is visually distinguishable from the second base material.
Wilson is directed towards a catheter (fig. 4) comprising a tubular body (body of catheter 30 in fig. 4) comprising a base material (material of section 32 in fig. 6) and a second base material (material of section 36 in fig. 6) which comprise a base material structural property and a second base material structural property, respectively, which are the same (4:45-49 discloses the sections can be made from different materials having the same durometer). Wilson further teaches that the base material is visually distinguishable from the second base material (4:51-52 discloses the axial sections are color coded to identify different sections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base material and the second base material of McFerran to be made from different materials having the same material structural property and to color-code the base material and the second base material, as taught by Wilson. Wilson teaches that this modification would provide for a desired flex characteristic (4:45-49) and would enable a user to identify sections having different properties (4:51-52).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY B FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783