DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed January 9th, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 3-7, 9, and 11-20 remain pending in the application, claims 21-23 are newly entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every Specification Objection, alongside each and every previous 102 and 103 Rejection set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed September 11th, 2025 and are hereby withdrawn in light of their correction. However, applicant’s amendments have necessitated new Claim Objections as set forth in the pertinent sections herein.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: "cone" should probably read as "one". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9 and 11-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (U.S. Pub. No. 20120222216) in view of Oh (US. Pub. No. 20090100597); hereafter “Oh Primary”, and Oh (U.S. Pub. No 20180042389); hereafter “Oh Secondary”, with Oh Secondary used as a teaching reference.
Regarding claim 1, Jin discloses (FIGS. 1-5) a foldable unit comprising (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5): a first section (left lower half of FIGS. 4/5) comprising a first peripheral bar left 110; FIG. 5); a second section (correspondent left upper half of FIGS. 4/5), wherein the first section and the second section are pivotally coupled with each other at proximal sides thereof (through 128; FIGS. 4/5), thereby allowing the first section and the second section to fold and unfold with respect to each other (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5); and a connection section (correspondent 12/14/16/20/132/120; FIGS. 1-5) having a first side (correspondent 132) and a second side (correspondent 120), wherein: the first side of the connection section includes one or more first connectors (132; FIGS. 1-5) that are configured to pivotally couple the connection section with the first peripheral bar of the first section (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5), thereby allowing the connection section to fold and unfold with respect to the first section (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5); the second side of the connection section includes one or more second connectors (120; FIGS. 1-5) that are configured to detachably couple the connection section with a structure when the connection section is unfolded with respect to the first section (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5; particularly FIG. 4); and the connection section is disposed substantially within an interior defined by the first section when the connection section is folded with respect to the first section (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-2).
However, Jin does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more second connectors include a respective second connector having a slot with a through hole such that the connection section is configured to (i) detachably couple to a portion of the structure via the slot and (ii) secure to the portion of the structure via a fastener inserted through the through hole
Regardless, Oh Primary teaches (FIGS. 2 and 3) an assembly with two bed halves (as illustrated in FIG. 2), with a connection section (13/18; FIGS. 2 and 3), wherein the one or more second connectors include a respective second connector having a slot with a through hole ([0029]: bolted ends) such that the connection section is configured to (i) detachably couple to a portion of the structure via the slot and (ii) secure to the portion of the structure via a fastener inserted through the through hole (where Oh Primary identifies in in [0029] “Alternatively, the end of a central connecting bar 13 is bolted to the side edge 19”. Where the results would have been predictable as both Jin and Oh Primary are concerned with combinative bed assemblies by a central bridging connection section with connectors on ends thereof (as illustrated in FIGS. 1-5 of Jin, and FIGS. 2-3 of Oh Primary), where there is further consideration that although a hole is not explicitly shown in Oh Primary, Oh Secondary (disclosed by the same inventor) does provide in FIGS. 4-6, a similar connection section (131; FIG. 4/5) that spans two effective halves of a bedding arrangement (though in a single bedding construction), but that possesses at its end a connector (U-shaped connected about 133), hole (as illustrated in practice in FIG. 4, “perforation” [0027]) that a bolt (211; FIG. 6) or fastener passes through (As elucidated in [0027]. It should be understood that Oh Secondary is merely illustrating how the ends of (13) in Oh Primary would be connected in a predictable fashion and only serves as teaching reference. Where advantageously, such a locking arrangement would mitigate longitudinal sliding of the bed halves correspondent to each other, thereby reducing both a torsional impugnment of the connections sections and further reducing wear and tear of the connectors thereby improving longevity of the combination.
Regarding claim 3, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable unit of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more first connectors is disposed at an interior side of the first peripheral bar when the foldable unit is folded (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable unit of claim 1, wherein a respective first connector in the one or more first connectors comprises a first portion (correspondent axle and plate of 132; FIGS. 1-5) pivotally connected to the first peripheral bar at an interior side of the first peripheral bar (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-2) and a second portion (u-bracket of 132; FIGS. 1-2 and further clarified in [0038]) abutting a top surface of the first peripheral bar when the connection section is unfolded with respect to the first section (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable unit of claim 4, wherein the first portion of the respective first connector is pivotally connected to a pivoting piece that is fixedly disposed or integrally formed at an interior surface of the first peripheral bar (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-2 with a bracket, axle, and plate thereof).
Regarding claim 6, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable unit of claim 4, wherein the first and second portions of the respective first connector are substantially perpendicular to each other (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable unit of claim 1, wherein the one or more second connectors are configured to detachably couple the connection section with a peripheral bar of the structure (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable unit of claim 7, wherein the slot comprises a portion abutting a top surface of the peripheral bar of the structure when the connection section is coupled with the structure (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5).
Regarding claim 11, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable unit of claim 1, wherein the connection section comprises one or more lateral connection bars, wherein each of the one or more first connectors is disposed at a first end (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5 about/corresponding to 132) and each of the one or more second connectors is disposed at a second end of a corresponding lateral connection bar (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5 about/corresponding to 120).
Regarding claim 12, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable unit of claim 11, wherein the connection section comprises a pair of first connectors (132; FIGS. 1-5), a pair of second connectors (120; FIGS. 1-5), and a pair of lateral connection bars (correspondent to 12/14/16; FIGS. 1-5), and further comprises one or more longitudinal connection bars (20; FIGS. 1-5) each disposed between and connected to the pair of lateral connection bars (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5).
Regarding claim 13, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable unit of claim 1, further comprising: a first leg assembly (upper 112; FIGS. 1-5) pivotally coupled with the first section at a distal side of the first section (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5); a second leg assembly (lower 112; FIGS. 1-5) pivotally coupled with the second section at a distal side of the second section (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5); and a third leg assembly (114; FIGS. 1-5) pivotally coupled with the proximal sides of the first and second sections (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5).
Regarding claim 14, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable unit of claim 1, wherein the first and second sections are substantially the same (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5).
Regarding claim 15, Jin discloses (FIGS. 1-9) a foldable frame comprising: a first foldable unit (correspondent left 100.sub.2; FIGS. 1-5) and a second foldable unit (correspondent right 100.sub.1; FIGS. 1-5) disposed side by side, each of the first and second foldable units comprising: a first section (102; FIGS. 1-5) comprising a first peripheral bar (correspondent a respective 110; FIGS. 1-5); a second section (104; FIGS. 1-5) comprising a second peripheral bar (correspondent a respective 110; FIGS. 1-5), wherein the first section and the second section are pivotally coupled with each other at proximal sides thereof (through 128; FIGS. 1-5), thereby allowing the first section and the second section to fold and unfold with respect to each other (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5); and a connection section (correspondent 12/14/16/20/132/120; FIGS. 1-5) having a first side and a second side (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5), wherein the first side of the connection section is pivotally coupled with the first peripheral bar of the first section (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5), thereby allowing the connection section to fold and unfold with respect to the first section (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5); wherein when the connection section of each of the first and second foldable units is unfolded (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 4-5), the second side of the connection section of the first foldable unit is detachably coupled with the second peripheral bar of the second section of the second foldable unit (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 4-5), and the second side of the connection section of the second foldable unit is detachably coupled with the second peripheral bar of the second section of the first foldable unit (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 4-5), thereby producing the foldable frame at a first width (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5); and wherein when the connection section of each of the first and second foldable units is folded (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-3), the first peripheral bar of the first section of the first foldable unit is detachably coupled with the second peripheral bar of the second section of the second foldable unit (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5, particularly 3, and 6-9), and the second peripheral bar of the second section of the first foldable unit is detachably coupled with the first peripheral bar of the first section of the second foldable unit, thereby producing the foldable frame at a second width (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 6-9); and wherein the connection section of the first foldable unit further includes one or more connectors (120; FIGS. 1-5) disposed at the second side of the connection section of the first foldable unit (as illustrated in FIGS. 1-5), the one or more connectors configured to detachably couple the connection section of the first foldable unit with the second peripheral bar of the second section of the second foldable unit (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5).
However, Jin does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more connectors including a respective connector having a slot with a through hole such that the connection section of the first foldable unit is configured to (i) detachably couple to the second peripheral bar of the second section of the second foldable unit via the slot and (ii) secure to the second peripheral bar of the second section of the second foldable unit via a fastener inserted through the through hole.
Regardless, Oh Primary teaches (FIGS. 2 and 3) an assembly with two bed halves (as illustrated in FIG. 2), with a connection section (13/18; FIGS. 2 and 3), wherein the connectors include a respective connector having a slot with a through hole ([0029]: bolted ends) such that the connection section is configured to (i) detachably couple to a portion of the structure via the slot and (ii) secure to the portion of the structure via a fastener inserted through the through hole (where Oh Primary identifies in in [0029] “Alternatively, the end of a central connecting bar 13 is bolted to the side edge 19”. Where the results would have been predictable as both Jin and Oh Primary are concerned with combinative bed assemblies by a central bridging connection section with connectors on ends thereof (as illustrated in FIGS. 1-5 of Jin, and FIGS. 2-3 of Oh Primary), where there is further consideration that although a hole is not explicitly shown in Oh Primary, Oh Secondary (disclosed by the same inventor) does provide in FIGS. 4-6, a similar connection section (131; FIG. 4/5) that spans two effective halves of a bedding arrangement (though in a single bedding construction), but that possesses at its end a connector (U-shaped connected about 133), hole (as illustrated in practice in FIG. 4, “perforation” [0027]) that a bolt (211; FIG. 6) or fastener passes through (As elucidated in [0027]. It should be understood that Oh Secondary is merely illustrating how the ends of (13) in Oh Primary would be connected in a predictable fashion and only serves as teaching reference. Where advantageously, such a locking arrangement would mitigate longitudinal sliding of the bed halves correspondent to each other, thereby reducing both a torsional impugnment of the connections sections and further reducing wear and tear of the connectors thereby improving longevity of the combination.
Regarding claim 16, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable structure of claim 15, wherein the connection section of the first foldable unit comprises: one or more first connectors (132; FIG. 1-5) at the first side of the connection section to pivotally couple the connection section with the first peripheral bar of the first section of the first foldable unit (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5); and one or more second connectors disposed at the second side of the connection section to detachably couple the connection section with the second peripheral bar of the second section of the second foldable unit(as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 4-5).
Regarding claim 17, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable structure of claim 15, wherein the first and second foldable units are substantially the same (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5, particularly 3-5).
Regarding claim 18, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable structure of claim 15, wherein for each of the first and second foldable units, the connection section is disposed substantially within an interior defined by the first section when the connection section is folded with respect to the first section (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-3).
Regarding claim 19, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable structure of claim 15, wherein the first and second foldable units are stackable when folded (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5, particularly FIG. 3). Additionally, it has been considered that It has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex part Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Further, It has been held that the recitation that an element is “capable of” performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138. Where in the instant application, the manner of using the invention (stacking as by storing) can be viewed as an intended use of the invention. Additionally, the nature to be “stackable” is synonymously “capable of being stacked”. Therefore, respectfully there is no patentable weight as to how the invention is used or that the two bed halves are capable of being stacked together. However, it is considered that the figures of Jin eminently demonstrate both are stackable side by side in the horizontal orientation when the connection section is folded.
Regarding claim 20, Jin discloses (FIGS. 1-5) a foldable frame comprising: a first foldable unit (correspondent left 100.sub.2; FIGS. 1-5) and a second foldable unit (correspondent right 100.sub.1), each comprising: a first section (102; FIGS. 1-5) comprising a first peripheral bar (Correspondent a respective 110; FIGS. 1-5); a second section (104; FIGS. 1-5) comprising a second peripheral bar (correspondent a respective 110; FIGS. 1-5), wherein the first section and the second section are pivotally coupled with each other at proximal sides thereof (through 128; FIGS. 1-5), thereby allowing the first section and the second section to fold and unfold with respect to each other (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5); and a connection section (correspondent 12/14/16/20/132/120; FIGS. 1-5) having a first side and a second side (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5), wherein the first side of the connection section is pivotally coupled with the first peripheral bar of the first section (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5 about 132), thereby allowing the connection section to fold and unfold with respect to the first section (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5); wherein when the connection section of each of the first and second foldable units is unfolded, the second side of the connection section of the first foldable unit is detachably coupled with the second peripheral bar of the second section of the second foldable unit (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 4-5), and the second side of the connection section of the second foldable unit is detachably coupled with the second peripheral bar of the second section of the first foldable unit (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 4-5); and wherein for each of the first and second foldable units, the connection section is disposed substantially within an interior defined by the first section when the connection section is folded with respect to the first section such that the first and second foldable units are stackable when folded (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-3); and wherein the connection section of the first foldable unit further includes one or more connectors (120; FIGS. 1-5) disposed at the second side of the connection section of the first foldable unit (as illustrated in FIGS. 1-5), the one or more connectors configured to detachably couple the connection section of the first foldable unit with the second peripheral bar of the second section of the second foldable unit (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 1-5).
However, Jin does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more connectors including a respective connector having a slot with a through hole such that the connection section of the first foldable unit is configured to (i) detachably couple to the second peripheral bar of the second section of the second foldable unit via the slot and (ii) secure to the second peripheral bar of the second section of the second foldable unit via a fastener inserted through the through hole.
Regardless, Oh Primary teaches (FIGS. 2 and 3) an assembly with two bed halves (as illustrated in FIG. 2), with a connection section (13/18; FIGS. 2 and 3), wherein the connectors include a respective connector having a slot with a through hole ([0029]: bolted ends) such that the connection section is configured to (i) detachably couple to a portion of the structure via the slot and (ii) secure to the portion of the structure via a fastener inserted through the through hole (where Oh Primary identifies in in [0029] “Alternatively, the end of a central connecting bar 13 is bolted to the side edge 19”. Where the results would have been predictable as both Jin and Oh Primary are concerned with combinative bed assemblies by a central bridging connection section with connectors on ends thereof (as illustrated in FIGS. 1-5 of Jin, and FIGS. 2-3 of Oh Primary), where there is further consideration that although a hole is not explicitly shown in Oh Primary, Oh Secondary (disclosed by the same inventor) does provide in FIGS. 4-6, a similar connection section (131; FIG. 4/5) that spans two effective halves of a bedding arrangement (though in a single bedding construction), but that possesses at its end a connector (U-shaped connected about 133), hole (as illustrated in practice in FIG. 4, “perforation” [0027]) that a bolt (211; FIG. 6) or fastener passes through (As elucidated in [0027]. It should be understood that Oh Secondary is merely illustrating how the ends of (13) in Oh Primary would be connected in a predictable fashion and only serves as teaching reference. Where advantageously, such a locking arrangement would mitigate longitudinal sliding of the bed halves correspondent to each other, thereby reducing both a torsional impugnment of the connections sections and further reducing wear and tear of the connectors thereby improving longevity of the combination.
Regarding claim 21, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable unit of claim 1, further comprising: a connector (118; FIGS. 3 and 10) different from the connection section (As illustrated between FIGS. 1-5 and 10), the connector including a first slot (bottom most width channel 38; FIG. 10) and a second slot (upper most width channel 38; FIG. 10), wherein: when the connection section is folded with respect to the first section, the first slot of the connector is configured to be detachably coupled to the first peripheral bar (as eminently demonstrated in FIG. 3) and the second slot of the connector is configured to be detachably coupled to the structure (as eminently demonstrated in FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 22, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable structure of claim 15, wherein: the first foldable unit further comprises a connector (118; FIGS. 3 and 10) disposed at the first peripheral bar of the first section of the first foldable unit (As eminently illustrated in FIG. 3), the connector being different from the connection section (as eminently demonstrated between FIGS. 1-5 and 10) and including a first slot (bottom width channel 38; FIG. 10) and a second slot (upper width channel 38; FIG. 10); wherein when the connection section of each of the first and second foldable units is folded, the first slot of the connector is detachably coupled to the first peripheral bar of the first foldable unit (as eminently demonstrated in FIG. 3) and the second slot of the connector is configured to be detachably coupled to the second peripheral bar of the second section of the second foldable unit (as eminently demonstrated in FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 23, Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary discloses (FIGS. 1-5) the foldable structure of claim 20, wherein: the first foldable unit further comprises a connector (118; FIGS. 3 and 10) disposed at the first peripheral bar of the first section of the first foldable unit (As eminently illustrated in FIG. 3), the connector being different from the connection section (as eminently demonstrated between FIGS. 1-5 and 10) and including a first slot (bottom width channel 38; FIG. 10) and a second slot (upper width channel 38; FIG. 10); wherein when the connection section of each of the first and second foldable units is folded, the first slot of the connector is detachably coupled to the first peripheral bar of the first foldable unit (as eminently demonstrated in FIG. 3) and the second slot of the connector is configured to be detachably coupled to the second peripheral bar of the second section of the second foldable unit (as eminently demonstrated in FIG. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks (pages 9-13), filed January 9th, 2026, with respect to Specification Objections alongside each and every previous 102 and 103 Rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Specification/Abstract Objections alongside each and every previous 102 and 103 Rejection of September 11th, 2025 has been withdrawn. However, applicant’s amendments do necessitate a new Claim Objection as set forth in the pertinent section. The 102/103 Rejections of claims 2, 8, and 10 are withdrawn in light of applicant’s cancellation of the aforementioned claims. Any arguments directed to claim 10 are therefore respectfully moot.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, and 11-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, and 11-23 are respectfully newly rejected under 103 with Jin in view of Oh Primary and Oh Secondary as set forth in the pertinent sections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art previously made of record and not relied upon is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited on the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) were considered pertinent because they address the state of the art of interbed connectors, combinate bed configurations, and foldable bedding assemblies.
/LUKE HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3673 /JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673