DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-34 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omura et al. (US 20200212404 A1, “Omura”) in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20110076521 A1, “Shimizu”).
Regarding claim 1, Omura discloses a rechargeable battery pack comprising: a cell assembly comprising a plurality of battery cells stacked in a lengthwise direction (see FIG. 1) and a plurality of electrode terminals (see abstract “battery module”; see [0019] “rechargeable secondary battery”; see [0031] “battery units 20”; see abstract “terminals of the batteries”), each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells comprising a first electrode terminal and a second electrode terminal protruding upward from the respective battery cell (see FIG. 2 “8a” & “8b”); a frame portion configured to accommodate the cell assembly (see FIG. 1 describes “end plates 10” & “12”; see [0027] “the pair of end plates 10 and the pair of binding components 12 bind the plurality of batteries 4 and the plurality of separators together” describes a frame portion); and a bus bar module comprising a plurality of bus bars positioned at an upper portion of the cell assembly and electrically connecting at least two electrode terminals to each other (see FIG. 1 “2 busbars” & see [0028] “busbars 2 are electrically connected with terminals 8 of batteries 4”), wherein the bus bar module includes: a first bus bar module comprising a plurality of bus bars electrically connecting the plurality of electrode terminals to each other at a first side of the cell assembly (see FIG. 1 “2 busbars”); and a second bus bar module comprising a plurality of bus bars electrically connecting the plurality of electrode terminals to each other at a second side of the cell assembly (see FIG. 1 “busbars”), wherein the first bus bar module comprises: a first bus bar along the first side of the cell assembly (see FIG. 1 “2 busbars”). Omura does not explicitly disclose and a second bus bar along the first side of the cell assembly, wherein the first bus bar overlaps the second bus bar in a widthwise direction.
Shimizu teaches a second busbar overlapping the first bus bar in a widthwise direction (see abstract “secondary battery cells” & see FIG. 13 & [0020] describe “connection state by the bus bars in the secondary battery assembly”, see [0060] “the three cells 12 are arranged so that the respective anode terminals 32a may be located in one row line and the respective cathode terminals 32b may be located in another row line.”). Shimizu teaches in [0074] “78” & “76” & see [0005] “A battery unit, in which a plurality of cells are arranged side by side in a case and connected in parallel or in series in order to attain a high capacity and a high power characteristics, is used”.
Omura and Shimizu are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely “secondary battery cells” (see Shimizu abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate overlapping bus bars as suggested by Shimizu (see FIG. 13, [0020], [0060], [0005]) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so “attain[s] a high capacity and a high power characteristics” as suggested by Shimizu (see [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 1 and further discloses wherein side surfaces of the plurality of battery cells are in contact with each other along a first direction (see FIG. 2 “battery units 20”).
Regarding claim 3, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 2 and further discloses wherein: the plurality of battery cells comprise a first set of battery cells, a second set of battery cells, a third set of battery cells, and a fourth set of battery cells, each of the first set, the second set, the third set, and the fourth set comprises a pair of battery cells adjacent to each other (see FIG. 1 & FIG. 2), and in each of the first set, the second set, the third set, and the fourth set, electrode terminals of the pair of battery cells having the same polarities are adjacent to each other along the first direction (see FIG. 1 & FIG. 2 describes “8a” & “8a” adjacent to each other & “8b” & “8b” adjacent to each other & see [0031] describes “positive terminal 8a” & “negative terminal 8b” & “plurality of batteries 4 are divided into a plurality of battery units 20. Each of the plurality of battery units 20 includes at least two batteries 4”).
Regarding claim 23, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the electrode terminals of adjacent battery cells of the plurality of battery cells have different polarities along a first direction (see FIG. 2 describes “8a” & “8b”; see [0031] “positive terminal 8a” & “negative terminal 8b”).
Regarding claim 24, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 23 and further discloses wherein the cell assembly comprises a first battery cell, a second battery cell, a third battery cell, a fourth battery cell, a fifth battery cell, a sixth battery cell, a seventh battery cell, and an eighth battery cell (see FIG. 1 “4 batteries”).
Claims 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omura et al. (US 20200212404 A1, “Omura”) in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20110076521 A1, “Shimizu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 20130252047 A1, “Park”).
Regarding claim 4, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 3 and further discloses wherein the first bus bar has a first side electrically connected to a first electrode terminal of the first set of battery cells and a second side electrically connected to a second electrode terminal of the fourth set of battery cells (see FIG. 6 describes “8a” on left side and “8b” on right side & “2 busbars”; see annotated FIG. 6 describes “1s” which describes a first side & “2s” describes a second side).
Regarding the limitation and the second bus bar on a side surface of the first bus bar and having a first side electrically connected to a second electrode terminal of the second set of battery cells and a second side electrically connected to a first electrode terminal of the third set of battery cells, Omura does not explicitly disclose.
Park teaches a second bus bar on a side surface of the first bus bar & connected in parallel (see FIG. 5 describes “140a” & “140b” connected in parallel & see [0053] describes “140a a first bus bar” & [0054] describes “140b second bus bar” & [0055] describes “the three detection terminals 180a to 180c are respectively electrically connected to the three bus bars 140a to 140c through the cables 182 and thus may measure a voltage of each of the unit cell modules A to D or may be used for directly supplying power charge to each of the unit cell modules A to D by being connected with an external charger”). Park teaches in [0036] “thus a voltage of the battery portion 120 may be adjusted to a desired level” & see [0060] “voltage balancing”.
Omura and Park are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely battery modules (see Park Title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “140a” & “140b” connected in parallel as suggested by Park into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows “a voltage of the battery portion 120 may be adjusted to a desired level” as suggested by Park (see [0036]).
Regarding claim 5, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 4 and further discloses wherein the second bus bar module comprises: a third bus bar along a second side of the cell assembly (see FIG. 1 “2 busbars”), a fourth bus bar (see FIG. 1 “2 busbars”) and a fifth bus bar (see FIG. 1 “2 busbars”). Omura does not explicitly disclose and having a first side electrically connected to a second electrode terminal of the first set of battery cells and a second side electrically connected to a first electrode terminal of the second set of battery cells; nor having a first side electrically connected to a second electrode terminal of the third set of battery cells, and a second side that extends to the outside of the cell assembly; nor having a first side electrically connected to a first electrode terminal of the fourth set of battery cells, and a second side that extends to the outside of the fourth set of battery cells.
Regarding the limitation having a first side electrically connected to a second electrode terminal of the first set of battery cells and a second side electrically connected to a first electrode terminal of the second set of battery cells, Omura does not explicitly disclose.
Park teaches a second bus bar on a side surface of the first bus bar & connected in parallel (see FIG. 5 describes “140a” & “140b” connected in parallel & see [0053] describes “140a a first bus bar” & [0054] describes “140b second bus bar” & [0055] describes “the three detection terminals 180a to 180c are respectively electrically connected to the three bus bars 140a to 140c through the cables 182 and thus may measure a voltage of each of the unit cell modules A to D or may be used for directly supplying power charge to each of the unit cell modules A to D by being connected with an external charger”). Park teaches in [0036] “thus a voltage of the battery portion 120 may be adjusted to a desired level” & see [0060] “voltage balancing”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “140a” & “140b” connected in parallel as suggested by Park into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows “a voltage of the battery portion 120 may be adjusted to a desired level” as suggested by Park (see [0036]).
Regarding the limitation and having a first side electrically connected to a second electrode terminal of the third set of battery cells, and a second side that extends to the outside of the cell assembly, and having a first side electrically connected to a first electrode terminal of the fourth set of battery cells, and a second side that extends to the outside of the fourth set of battery cells, Omura does not explicitly disclose.
Park teaches adding connection in series (see [0036] “neighboring unit cells 130 may form a plurality of unit cell modules A through D of FIG. 5 by being connected in parallel to each other. Also, the unit cell modules A through D of FIG. 5 may be connected in series to each other by the bus bars 140, and thus a voltage of the battery portion 120 may be adjusted to a desired level. Here, the unit cell modules A through D of FIG. 5 may be connected by one or more bus bars 140” & see [0060] “voltage balancing”). Park teaches “detection terminals are exposed outside the battery housing” (see abstract) & see [0057] “potentials of the four unit cell modules A to D may be measured from outside”. Park teaches “voltage balancing between the unit cels 130 may be controlled by measuring voltages between the unit cells 130 and performing charge or discharge accordingly without disassembling the battery module 100” in [0060].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate adding connection in series as suggested by Park (see [0036]) because doing so allows a voltage to be adjusted to a desired level, as suggested by Park (see [0036]). It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to incorporate “detection terminals exposed outside the battery” as suggested by Park (see abstract) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows voltage balancing without disassembling the battery as suggested by Park (see [0060]).
Regarding claim 6, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 5 and further discloses wherein the first bus bar comprises: a first body at upper portions of first sides (see FIG. 1 describes “16 main body”), a first protrusion protruding from a side surface of the first body at a first end (see FIG. 1 describes “16 main body” & “first connectors 18a”) and electrically connected to the first electrode terminal of the first set of battery cells (see [0033] “first connector 18a is connected with first battery 4a of first battery unit 20a” & “8a”); and a second protrusion protruding from the side surface of the first body at a second end and electrically connected to the second electrode terminal (see FIG. 2 describes “16” & “18b” & “8b”). Omura does not explicitly disclose of the first to fourth sets of battery cells at first sides on the first side of the cell assembly nor and be electrically connected to the second electrode terminal of the fourth set of battery cells.
Park teaches connecting in series (see [0036] “connected in series” & “bus bars 140” & “thus a voltage of the battery portion 120 may be adjusted to a desired level”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate connecting in series as suggested by Park (see [0036]) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows a voltage to be adjusted to a desired level as suggested by Park (see [0036]).
Regarding claim 7, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 6 and further discloses wherein the first protrusion comprises a pair of first protrusions on the side surface of the first body at a first end (see FIG. 2 describes “18a” & “18b”), the pair of first protrusions being electrically connected to the first electrode terminal of each battery cell in the first set of battery cells (see FIG. 2 describes “8a” & “8a”).
Regarding claim 8, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 7 and further discloses wherein the second protrusion comprises a pair of second protrusions on the side surface of the first body at a second end, the pair of second protrusions being electrically connected to the second electrode terminal of each battery cell (see FIG. 2 describes “18a” & “18b” & “8b” & “8b”). Omura does not explicitly disclose being electrically connected to the second electrode terminal of each battery cell in the fourth set of battery cells.
Park teaches connecting in series (see [0036] “connected in series” & “bus bars 140” & “thus a voltage of the battery portion 120 may be adjusted to a desired level”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate connecting in series as suggested by Park (see [0036]) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows a voltage to be adjusted to a desired level as suggested by Park (see [0036]).
Regarding claim 9, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 8 and further discloses wherein the second bus par comprises: a second body at upper portions of the second set of battery cells (see FIG. 1 describes “2 busbars” & see FIG. 2 describes “16 main body”), a third protrusion protruding from a side surface of the second body, the third protrusion being electrically connected to the second electrode terminal of each battery cell in the second set of battery cells (see FIG. 2 describes “16” & “18b” & “8b”); and a fourth protrusion protruding from the side surface of the second body (see FIG. 2 describes “18a” & “16” & “8b”). Omura does not explicitly disclose and the third set of battery cells, the second body being spaced apart from the side surface of the first body; nor being electrically connected to the first electrode terminal of each battery cell in the third set of battery cells.
Park teaches connecting in series (see [0036] “connected in series” & “bus bars 140” & “thus a voltage of the battery portion 120 may be adjusted to a desired level”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate connecting in series as suggested by Park (see [0036]) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows a voltage to be adjusted to a desired level as suggested by Park (see [0036]).
Park teaches a second bus bar on a side surface of the first bus bar & connected in parallel (see FIG. 5 describes “140a” & “140b” connected in parallel & see [0053] describes “140a a first bus bar” & [0054] describes “140b second bus bar” & [0055] describes “the three detection terminals 180a to 180c are respectively electrically connected to the three bus bars 140a to 140c through the cables 182 and thus may measure a voltage of each of the unit cell modules A to D or may be used for directly supplying power charge to each of the unit cell modules A to D by being connected with an external charger”). Park teaches in [0036] “thus a voltage of the battery portion 120 may be adjusted to a desired level” & see [0060] “voltage balancing”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “140a” & “140b” connected in parallel as suggested by Park into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows “a voltage of the battery portion 120 may be adjusted to a desired level” as suggested by Park (see [0036]).
Regarding claim 10 and claim 11, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 9. Omura does not explicitly disclose wherein the third protrusion comprises a pair of third protrusions on the side surface of the second body, the pair of third protrusions being electrically connected to the second electrode terminal of each battery cell in the second set of battery cells, nor wherein the fourth protrusion comprises a pair of fourth protrusions on the side surface of the second body, the pair of fourth protrusions being electrically connected to the first electrode terminal of each battery cell in the third set of battery cells.
Park teaches a pair of protrusions (see FIG. 5 & [0055] “180a” & “180b” & describes “electrically connected” & “measure a voltage of each of the unit cell modules”; see [0060] “voltage balancing”. Park teaches protrusions and electrically connected (see FIG. 3 describes “140b” & “142”; see [0038] “voltage detection wires 142 are connected to a BMS circuit substrate 145, and accordingly voltage balancing of the unit cells 130 may be automatically controlled.”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a pair of protrusions as suggested by Park (see FIG. 5) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows for measuring a voltage of each of the unit cell modules and control voltage balancing without disassembling the battery as suggested by Park (see [0060], [0038]).
Regarding claim 12, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 11 and further discloses wherein the third bus bar (see FIG. 1 “2 busbar”) comprises: a third body at upper portions of the first set of battery cells (see FIG. 1 describes “16 main body” & “4 batteries”) and the second set of battery cells along the second side of the cell assembly (see FIG. 1 & FIG. 2); a fifth protrusion and a sixth protrusion (see FIG. 1 “2” & “16” & “18”). Omura does not explicitly disclose a fifth protrusion protruding from a side surface of the third body and electrically connected to the second electrode terminal of each battery cell in the first set of battery cells; and a sixth protrusion protruding from the side surface of the third body and electrically connected to the first electrode terminal of each battery cell in the second set of battery cells.
Park teaches a pair of protrusions (see FIG. 5 & [0055] “180a” & “180b” & describes “electrically connected” & “measure a voltage of each of the unit cell modules”; see [0060] “voltage balancing”. Park teaches protrusions and electrically connected (see FIG. 3 describes “140b” & “142”; see [0038] “voltage detection wires 142 are connected to a BMS circuit substrate 145, and accordingly voltage balancing of the unit cells 130 may be automatically controlled.”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a pair of protrusions as suggested by Park (see FIG. 5) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows for measuring a voltage of each of the unit cell modules and control voltage balancing without disassembling the battery as suggested by Park (see [0060], [0038]).
Regarding claim 13, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 12 and further discloses wherein the fifth protrusion comprises a pair of fifth protrusions on the side surface of the second body, the pair of fifth protrusions being electrically connected to the second electrode terminal of each battery cell in the first set of battery cells (see FIG. 1 “2”, “16”, “18”; see FIG. 2 “8a”).
Regarding claim 14, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 13 and further discloses wherein the sixth protrusion comprises a pair of sixth protrusions on the side surface of the third body, the pair of sixth protrusions being electrically connected to the first electrode terminal of each battery cell in the second set of battery cells (see FIG. 1 “2”, “16”, “18”; see FIG. 2 “8b”).
Regarding claim 15, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 14 and further discloses wherein the fourth bus bar (see FIG. 1 “2 busbar”) comprises: a fourth body at upper portions of the third set of battery cells and the fourth set of battery cells along the second side of the cell assembly (see FIG. 1 “2 busbar” in the x direction); and a seventh protrusion protruding from a side surface of the fourth body (see FIG. 1 describes “16” & “18”). Omura does not explicitly disclose the seventh protrusion being electrically connected to the second electrode terminal of each battery cell in the third set of battery cells.
Park teaches protrusions and electrically connected (see FIG. 3 describes “140b” & “142”; see FIG. 5 describes connected in the third set of battery cells & “140b”). Park teaches “voltage detection wires 142 are connected to a BMS circuit substrate 145, and accordingly voltage balancing of the unit cells 130 may be automatically controlled” (see [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate protrusion and electrically connected as suggested by Park (see FIG. 3 & FIG. 5) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows for voltage balancing as suggested by Park (see [0038]).
Claims 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omura et al. (US 20200212404 A1, “Omura”) in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20110076521 A1, “Shimizu”) and Park et al. (US 20130252047 A1, “Park”) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Buck et al. (US 20080090137 A1, “Buck”).
Regarding claim 16, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 15. Omura does not explicitly disclose wherein the fourth body is connected to a first current collector outside the fourth set of battery cells.
Buck teaches current collector (see [0019] “Preferably, each cell is a lithium ion cell having a first current collector and a first electrode adjacent the first current collector and a second current collector and a second electrode of charge opposite from the first electrode and adjacent the second current collector.”). Buck teaches “hybrid vehicle” & “recharge” (see [0003]).
Omura and Buck are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely hybrid vehicles with rechargeable batteries (see Buck [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate current collector as suggested by Buck (see [0019]) into the rechargeable battery pack because doing so is preferable for rechargeable batteries as suggested by Buck (see [0019]).
Regarding claim 17, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 16 and further discloses wherein the seventh protrusion comprises a pair of seventh protrusions on the side surface of the fourth body (see FIG. 1 & FIG. 2 describes “2 busbar” & “16 main body” & “8a”). Omura does not explicitly disclose the pair of seventh protrusions being electrically connected to the second electrode terminal of each battery cell in the third set of battery cells.
Park teaches protrusions & electrically connected (see FIG. 3 describes “140b” & “142”; see FIG. 5 describes connected in the third set of battery cells & “140b”). Park teaches “voltage detection wires 142 are connected to a BMS circuit substrate 145, and accordingly voltage balancing of the unit cells 130 may be automatically controlled” (see [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate protrusion and electrically connected as suggested by Park (see FIG. 3 & FIG. 5) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows for voltage balancing as suggested by Park (see [0038]).
Regarding claim 18, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 17 and further discloses wherein an upper portion of the fourth body is positioned at upper portions of the fourth set of battery cells in which the fourth set of battery cells are not electrically connected to the portion of the fourth body (see FIG. 1 “16”; see [0031] “each of the plurality of battery units 20 includes at least two batteries 4”).
Regarding claim 19, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 18 and further discloses wherein the fifth bus bar comprises: a fifth body spaced apart from a side surface of the fourth bus bar and positioned at the upper portions of the fourth set of battery cells (see FIG. 1 “2 busbar”; see FIG. 2 “16 main body”). Omura does not explicitly disclose and an eighth protrusion protruding from the side surface of the fifth body and electrically connected to the first electrode terminal of each battery cell in the fourth set of battery cells.
Park teaches protrusions & electrically connected (see FIG. 3 describes “140b” & “142”; see FIG. 5 describes connected in a set of battery cells & “140b”). Park teaches “voltage detection wires 142 are connected to a BMS circuit substrate 145, and accordingly voltage balancing of the unit cells 130 may be automatically controlled” (see [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate protrusion and electrically connected as suggested by Park (see FIG. 3 & FIG. 5) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows for voltage balancing as suggested by Park (see [0038]).
Regarding claim 20, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 19 and further discloses wherein the eighth protrusion comprises a pair of eighth protrusions on the side surface of the fifth body (see FIG. 1 “2 busbar” & see FIG. 2 “16 main body” & see FIG. 1 “18” & “8a”). Omura does not explicitly disclose the pair of eighth protrusions being electrically connected to the first electrode terminal of each battery cell in the fourth set of battery cells.
Park teaches protrusions & electrically connected (see FIG. 3 describes “140b” & “142”; see FIG. 5 describes connected in a set of battery cells & “140b”). Park teaches “voltage detection wires 142 are connected to a BMS circuit substrate 145, and accordingly voltage balancing of the unit cells 130 may be automatically controlled” (see [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate protrusion and electrically connected as suggested by Park (see FIG. 3 & FIG. 5) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows for voltage balancing as suggested by Park (see [0038]).
Regarding claim 21, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 20. Omura does not explicitly disclose wherein the fifth body is connected to a second current collector outside the fourth set of battery cells.
Buck teaches current collector (see [0019] “Preferably, each cell is a lithium ion cell having a first current collector and a first electrode adjacent the first current collector and a second current collector and a second electrode of charge opposite from the first electrode and adjacent the second current collector.”). Buck teaches “hybrid vehicle” & “recharge” (see [0003]).
Omura and Buck are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely hybrid vehicles with rechargeable batteries (see Buck [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate current collector as suggested by Buck (see [0019]) into the rechargeable battery pack because doing so is preferable for rechargeable batteries as suggested by Buck (see [0019]).
Regarding claim 22, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 21 and further discloses wherein the cell assembly comprises two cell assemblies inside the frame portion and positioned in opposite directions (see FIG. 1 describes “end plates 10” & “12”; see [0027] “the pair of end plates 10 and the pair of binding components 12 bind the plurality of batteries 4 and the plurality of separators together” which reads on frame portion; see FIG. 1 describes “2” in opposite directions; see abstract “busbar connects the at least two of the plurality of batteries of each of the battery units with each other in parallel. The busbar connects the battery units with each other in series.”).
Claims 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omura et al. (US 20200212404 A1, “Omura”) in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20110076521 A1, “Shimizu”) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Nobuhira et al. (US 20210036296 A1, “Nobuhira”).
Regarding claim 25 and claim 26, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 24 and further discloses “busbar connects the at least two of the plurality of batteries of each of the battery units with each other in parallel” (see abstract). Omura does not explicitly disclose wherein the first bus bar module comprises: a first parallel bus bar along a first side of the cell assembly and electrically connected to an electrode terminal of each of the first battery cell, the third battery cell, the sixth battery cell, and the eighth battery cell; and a second parallel bus bar along the first side of the cell assembly and electrically connected to an electrode terminal of each of the second battery cell, the fourth battery cell, the fifth battery cell, and the seventh battery cell, as required by claim 25, nor wherein the second bus bar module comprises: a third parallel bus bar along the second side of the cell assembly and electrically connected to the electrode terminal of each of the first battery cell, the second battery cell, the third battery cell, and the fourth battery cell; a fourth parallel bus bar along the second side of the cell assembly and electrically connected to the electrode terminal of each of the fifth battery cell and the seventh battery cell; and a fifth parallel bus bar along the second side of the cell assembly and electrically connected to the electrode terminal of each of the sixth battery cell and the eighth battery cell, as required by claim 26.
Nobuhira teaches in FIG. 3 electrically connected at locations & see [0047] “3 metal bus bars” & “battery cells 1 are connected in parallel to form the parallel battery group” & “in battery stack 10 illustrated in FIG. 3, four battery cells 1 forming the parallel battery group are stacked so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 have the same direction laterally, and three sets of parallel battery groups each including four battery cells 1 stacked in the same direction are stacked so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 are alternately laterally inverted”. Nobuhira teaches “in order to obtain electric power for driving the vehicle, large capacity and high output battery module 1000 is structured in which a large number of the above-described battery modules are connected in series and in parallel and a necessary controlling circuit is further added” (see [0080]).
Omura and Nobuhira are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely hybrid vehicles with batteries (see Nobuhira [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate battery connection in parallel as suggested by Nobuhira (see FIG. 3 & [0047]) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura “so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 have the same direction laterally, and three sets of parallel battery groups each including four battery cells 1 stacked in the same direction are stacked so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 are alternately laterally inverted” (see Nobuhira [0047]) and further doing so allows “battery cells 1 are laterally inverted and stacked, and adjacent positive and negative electrode terminals 2 are connected by bus bars 3, so that adjacent battery cells 1 can be connected in series” (see Nobuhira [0043]) and doing so improves the capacity of the battery as suggested by Nobuhira (see [0080]).
Regarding claim 27, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 26 and further discloses wherein the first parallel bus bar comprises: a first bus bar body positioned along the first side of the cell assembly (see FIG. 1 “2 busbar”), a first connector protruding from the side surface of the first bus bar body and electrically connected to the first electrode terminal of the first battery cell, a second connector, a third connector, and a fourth connector (see FIG. 1 “2 busbar” & “18 connectors” & “16 main body”; see [0029] “Connectors 18 are arranged at predetermined intervals along an axis along which main body 16 extends (axis X along which batteries 4 are stacked together). Connectors 18 protrude from main body 16 along an axis that intersects with axis X along which batteries 4 are stacked together (horizontal axis Y)”). Omura does not explicitly disclose a second connector protruding from the side surface of the first bus bar body and electrically connected to the first electrode terminal of the third battery cell nor a third connector protruding from the side surface of the first bus bar body and electrically connected to the second electrode terminal of the sixth battery cell nor and a fourth connector protruding from a side surface of the first bus bar body and electrically connected to the second electrode terminal of the eighth battery cell.
Nobuhira teaches in FIG. 3 electrically connected at locations & see [0047] “3 metal bus bars” & “battery cells 1 are connected in parallel to form the parallel battery group” & “in battery stack 10 illustrated in FIG. 3, four battery cells 1 forming the parallel battery group are stacked so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 have the same direction laterally, and three sets of parallel battery groups each including four battery cells 1 stacked in the same direction are stacked so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 are alternately laterally inverted”. Nobuhira teaches “in order to obtain electric power for driving the vehicle, large capacity and high output battery module 1000 is structured in which a large number of the above-described battery modules are connected in series and in parallel and a necessary controlling circuit is further added” (see [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate battery connection in parallel as suggested by Nobuhira (see FIG. 3 & [0047]) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura “so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 have the same direction laterally, and three sets of parallel battery groups each including four battery cells 1 stacked in the same direction are stacked so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 are alternately laterally inverted” (see Nobuhira [0047]) and further doing so allows “battery cells 1 are laterally inverted and stacked, and adjacent positive and negative electrode terminals 2 are connected by bus bars 3, so that adjacent battery cells 1 can be connected in series” (see Nobuhira [0043]) and doing so improves the capacity of the battery as suggested by Nobuhira (see [0080]).
Regarding claim 28, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 27 and further discloses wherein the second parallel bus bar comprises: a second bus bar body alongside the first bus bar body along the first side of the cell assembly (see FIG. 1 “2 busbar”; see abstract “busbar connects the at least two of the plurality of batteries of each of the battery units with each other in parallel”), a fifth connector protruding from a side surface of the second bus bar body and electrically connected to a second electrode terminal of the second battery cell (see FIG. 1 “2 busbar” & “18 connectors” & “16 main body” & “8a”); a sixth connector protruding from the side surface of the second bus bar body and electrically connected to a second electrode terminal of the fourth battery cell (see FIG. 1 “2 busbar” & “18” & “16” & “8a”); a seventh connector protruding from the side surface of the second bus bar body and electrically connected to a first electrode terminal (see FIG. 1 “2” & “18”); and an eighth connector protruding from the side surface of the second bus bar body and electrically connected to a first electrode terminal (see FIG. 1 “2” & “18”). Omura does not explicitly disclose positioned at upper portions of the second battery cell, the third battery cell, the fourth battery cell, the fifth battery cell, the sixth battery cell, and the seventh battery cell; nor electrically connected to a second electrode terminal of the fourth battery cell nor electrically connected to a first electrode terminal of the fifth battery cell nor electrically connected to a first electrode terminal of the seventh battery cell.
Nobuhira teaches in FIG. 3 electrically connected at locations & see [0047] “3 metal bus bars” & “battery cells 1 are connected in parallel to form the parallel battery group” & “in battery stack 10 illustrated in FIG. 3, four battery cells 1 forming the parallel battery group are stacked so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 have the same direction laterally, and three sets of parallel battery groups each including four battery cells 1 stacked in the same direction are stacked so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 are alternately laterally inverted”. Nobuhira teaches “in order to obtain electric power for driving the vehicle, large capacity and high output battery module 1000 is structured in which a large number of the above-described battery modules are connected in series and in parallel and a necessary controlling circuit is further added” (see [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate battery connection in parallel as suggested by Nobuhira (see FIG. 3 & [0047]) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura “so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 have the same direction laterally, and three sets of parallel battery groups each including four battery cells 1 stacked in the same direction are stacked so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 are alternately laterally inverted” (see Nobuhira [0047]) and further doing so allows “battery cells 1 are laterally inverted and stacked, and adjacent positive and negative electrode terminals 2 are connected by bus bars 3, so that adjacent battery cells 1 can be connected in series” (see Nobuhira [0043]) and doing so improves the capacity of the battery as suggested by Nobuhira (see [0080]).
Regarding claim 29, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 28 and further discloses wherein the third parallel bus bar comprises: a third bus bar body along the second side of the cell assembly (see FIG. 1 “2 busbar” & “16 main body”); a ninth connector protruding from the side surface of the third bus bar body and electrically connected to a second electrode terminal of the first battery cell (see FIG. 1 “2” & “18” & “16); a tenth connector protruding from the side surface of the third bus bar body and electrically connected to a first electrode terminal of the second battery cell (see FIG. 1 “2” & “18” & “16”; see [0029]); an eleventh connector (see FIG. 1 “2” & “18” & “16) and a twelfth connector (see FIG. 1 “2” & “18” & “16). Omura does not explicitly disclose and positioned at upper portions of the first battery cell, the second battery cell, the third battery cell, and the fourth battery cell; nor protruding from the side surface of the third bus bar body and electrically connected to a second electrode terminal of the third battery cell; nor protruding from the side surface of the third bus bar body and electrically connected to a first electrode terminal of the fourth battery cell.
Nobuhira teaches in FIG. 3 electrically connected at locations & see [0047] “3 metal bus bars” & “battery cells 1 are connected in parallel to form the parallel battery group” & “in battery stack 10 illustrated in FIG. 3, four battery cells 1 forming the parallel battery group are stacked so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 have the same direction laterally, and three sets of parallel battery groups each including four battery cells 1 stacked in the same direction are stacked so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 are alternately laterally inverted”. Nobuhira teaches “in order to obtain electric power for driving the vehicle, large capacity and high output battery module 1000 is structured in which a large number of the above-described battery modules are connected in series and in parallel and a necessary controlling circuit is further added” (see [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate battery connection in parallel as suggested by Nobuhira (see FIG. 3 & [0047]) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura “so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 have the same direction laterally, and three sets of parallel battery groups each including four battery cells 1 stacked in the same direction are stacked so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 are alternately laterally inverted” (see Nobuhira [0047]) and further doing so allows “battery cells 1 are laterally inverted and stacked, and adjacent positive and negative electrode terminals 2 are connected by bus bars 3, so that adjacent battery cells 1 can be connected in series” (see Nobuhira [0043]) and doing so improves the capacity of the battery as suggested by Nobuhira (see [0080]).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omura et al. (US 20200212404 A1, “Omura”) in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20110076521 A1, “Shimizu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 20130252047 A1, “Park”) and Nobuhira et al. (US 20210036296 A1, “Nobuhira”).
Regarding claim 30, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 29 and further discloses wherein the fourth parallel bus bar comprises: a fourth bus bar body (see abstract “busbar connects the at least two of the plurality of batteries of each of the battery units with each other in parallel”; see FIG. 1 “16 main body”), a thirteenth connector (see FIG. 1 “2” & “18 connectors”); and a fourteenth connector (see FIG. 1 “18 connectors”). Omura does not explicitly disclose a fourth bus bar body along the second side of the cell assembly and positioned at upper portions of the fifth battery cell, the sixth battery cell, the seventh battery cell, and the eighth battery cell; nor protruding from the side surface of the fourth bus bar body and electrically connected to a second electrode terminal of the fifth battery cell; nor protruding from the side surface of the fourth bus bar body and electrically connected to a second electrode terminal of the seventh battery cell.
Nobuhira teaches in FIG. 3 electrically connected at locations & see [0047] “3 metal bus bars” & “battery cells 1 are connected in parallel to form the parallel battery group” & “in battery stack 10 illustrated in FIG. 3, four battery cells 1 forming the parallel battery group are stacked so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 have the same direction laterally, and three sets of parallel battery groups each including four battery cells 1 stacked in the same direction are stacked so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 are alternately laterally inverted”. Nobuhira teaches “in order to obtain electric power for driving the vehicle, large capacity and high output battery module 1000 is structured in which a large number of the above-described battery modules are connected in series and in parallel and a necessary controlling circuit is further added” (see [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate battery connection in parallel as suggested by Nobuhira (see FIG. 3 & [0047]) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura “so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 have the same direction laterally, and three sets of parallel battery groups each including four battery cells 1 stacked in the same direction are stacked so that positive and negative electrode terminals 2 are alternately laterally inverted” (see Nobuhira [0047]) and further doing so allows “battery cells 1 are laterally inverted and stacked, and adjacent positive and negative electrode terminals 2 are connected by bus bars 3, so that adjacent battery cells 1 can be connected in series” (see Nobuhira [0043]) and doing so improves the capacity of the battery as suggested by Nobuhira (see [0080]).
Park teaches protrusions and electrically connected (see FIG. 5 “180c” & [0055] “180a to 180c are respectively electrically connected”; see FIG. 5 describes connected in a set of battery cells). Park teaches “voltage detection wires 142 are connected to a BMS circuit substrate 145, and accordingly voltage balancing of the unit cells 130 may be automatically controlled” (see [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate protrusion and electrically connected as suggested by Park (see FIG. 3 & FIG. 5) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows for voltage balancing as suggested by Park (see [0038]).
Claims 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omura et al. (US 20200212404 A1, “Omura”) in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20110076521 A1, “Shimizu”), Park et al. (US 20130252047 A1, “Park”) and Nobuhira et al. (US 20210036296 A1, “Nobuhira”) as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Buck et al. (US 20080090137 A1, “Buck”).
Regarding claim 31 and claim 33, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 30 and of claim 32 and further discloses wherein fifth bus bar body (see FIG. 1 “2 busbar”). Omura does not explicitly disclose wherein the fourth bus bar body is connected to a first current collector outside the eighth battery cell, as required by claim 31 nor connected to a second current collector outside the eighth battery cell as required by claim 33.
Buck teaches current collector (see [0019] “Preferably, each cell is a lithium ion cell having a first current collector and a first electrode adjacent the first current collector and a second current collector and a second electrode of charge opposite from the first electrode and adjacent the second current collector.”). Buck teaches “hybrid vehicle” & “recharge” (see [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate current collector as suggested by Buck (see [0019]) into the rechargeable battery pack because doing so is preferable for rechargeable batteries as suggested by Buck (see [0019]).
Regarding claim 32, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 31 and further discloses wherein the fifth parallel bus bar comprises: a fifth bus bar body (see FIG. 1 “2 busbar” & “18 connectors” & “16 main body”), a fifteenth connector (see FIG. 1 “2 busbar” & “18 connectors”), and a sixteenth connector (see FIG. 1 “2 busbar” & “18 connectors”). Omura does not explicitly disclose along the second side of the cell assembly and positioned at upper portions of the sixth battery cell, the seventh battery cell, and the eighth battery cell, nor protruding from the side surface of the fifth bus bar body and electrically connected to a first electrode terminal of the sixth battery cell; nor protruding from the side surface of the fifth bus bar body and electrically connected to a first electrode terminal of the eighth battery cell.
Park teaches protrusions and electrically connected (see FIG. 5 “180c” & [0055] “180a to 180c are respectively electrically connected”; see FIG. 5 describes connected in a set of battery cells). Park teaches “voltage detection wires 142 are connected to a BMS circuit substrate 145, and accordingly voltage balancing of the unit cells 130 may be automatically controlled” (see [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate protrusion and electrically connected as suggested by Park (see FIG. 3 & FIG. 5) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows for voltage balancing as suggested by Park (see [0038]).
Park teaches adding connection in series (see [0036] “unit cell modules A through D of FIG. 5 may be connected in series to each other by the bus bars 140, and thus a voltage of the battery portion 120 may be adjusted to a desired level”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate connecting in series, as suggested by Park (see FIG. 5 & [0036]) into the rechargeable battery pack of Omura because doing so allows for a voltage to be adjusted to a desired level as suggested by Park (see [0036]).
Regarding claim 34, Omura discloses the rechargeable battery pack of claim 33 and further discloses wherein the cell assembly comprises two cell assemblies inside the frame portion and positioned in opposite directions (see FIG. 1 describes “end plates 10” & “12”; see [0027] “the pair of end plates 10 and the pair of binding components 12 bind the plurality of batteries 4 and the plurality of separators together” which reads on frame portion; see FIG. 1 describes “2” in opposite directions; see abstract “busbar connects the at least two of the plurality of batteries of each of the battery units with each other in parallel. The busbar connects the battery units with each other in series.”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725