Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/20/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 15, 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albasheir et al. (US 20190075431) in view of Dou et al. (US 20200170055).
Regarding claim 1, Albasheir discloses a system (device 800; [0075]), comprising:
a memory that stores computer instructions; and a processor configured to execute the computer instructions (device 800 comprises a memory 804, processor(s) 806, a removable storage 808 and non-removable storage 810; [0075]) to:
initialize a first user plane function that services a first service area and that services a second service area (UPF 110 can be implemented as a network function including functionality to control data transfer between the UE 102 and the various components of the network. There may be a plurality of UPFs associated with a network and/or with the UE 102; [0022].
Environments can include any type or amount of overlapping coverage or mutually exclusive coverage. Environment 200 includes user plane function (UPFs) 110(1); [0035-0036]);
initialize a second user plane function that services the second service area and that services the first service area (UPF 110 can be implemented as a network function including functionality to control data transfer between the UE 102 and the various components of the network. There may be a plurality of UPFs associated with a network and/or with the UE 102; [0022].
Environments can include any type or amount of overlapping coverage or mutually exclusive coverage. Environment 200 includes user plane function (UPFs) 110(2); [0035-0036]);
receive a request from a user equipment to connect to a network (the UE 102 can transmit a registration request 112 to the AMF 104; [0023]);
identify a location of the user equipment; determine whether the location is in one of the first and second service areas (SMF 108 can transmit a UPF query 118 to the NRF 106 with information including a location of the UE 102; [0028]); and
in response to the location being in the first service area (Based on location information (e.g., a location of the UE and of the various available UPFs), the operation 708 can determine an optimal combination of UE/UPF. Operation 708 can determine that a first UPF is located closer to a UE than a second UPF; [0073]):
determine a first load of the first user plane function (utilization level (e.g., a relatively high utilization level) associated with the UPF can introduce additional delay. Based on utilization information (e.g., % CPU utilization, % memory utilization, number of available session, etc.), operation 708 can determine an optimal combination of UE/UPF; [0073]);
in response to the first load not exceeding a load threshold value, connect the user equipment to the first user plane function (determining that the first utilization level is above a utilization threshold (e.g., 70% or any value) such that addition assignments of UEs to the UPF (or any network function) may degrade a quality of connections associated with first UPF (or any network function). Accordingly, the operation 506 can include determining that the first UPF (or any network function) is to be selected to provide data traffic for the UE; [0059]); and
in response to the first load exceeding the load threshold value: determine a second load of the second user plane function (determining that the utilization level of the second user plane (or any network function) (e.g., 30%, discussed above) is lower than the utilization level of the first user plane (or any network function) (e.g., 80%, discussed above); [0060]);
in response to the first load exceeding the second load, connect the user equipment to the second user plane function (utilization level of the second user plane is lower than the utilization level of the first user plane. Accordingly, the second user plane is to be selected for the communication; [0060]); and
in response to the second load exceeding the first load, connect the user equipment to the first user plane function (determine that a first UPF is located closer to a UE than a second UPF, and that the first UPF should not be selected as the UPF to service the UE if the utilization level is higher for the first UPF compared to the second UPF; [0073].
This implies that the first UPF is selected in case its load is lower).
Albasheir does not expressly disclose a first user plane function that services a first service area as a first primary service area and that services a second service area as a first secondary service area, and a second user plane function that services the second service area as a second primary service area and that services the first service area as a second secondary service area.
In an analogous art, Dou discloses a first user plane function that services a first service area as a first primary service area and that services a second service area as a first secondary service area, and a second user plane function that services the second service area as a second primary service area and that services the first service area as a second secondary service area (the area corresponding to the first PDU session may include an area generated by an SMF entity with reference to a service area of a UPF entity corresponding to the first PDU session and a service area of an adjacent UPF entity having a same function as the UPF entity; an area determined by an SMF entity with reference to a registration (registration) area and a service area of a UPF entity, an intersection set of the registration area and the service area of the UPF entity or a subset of an intersection set of the registration area and the service area of the UPF entity is selected as the area corresponding to the first PDU session; a service area of an adjacent UPF entity having a same function as the UPF entity, where the registration area is allocated by the AMF entity to the UE and received by the SMF entity; [0143]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features as taught by Dou into the system of Albasheir in order to efficiently relocate a UPF entity when a session is in an inactive state (Dou; [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Albasheir and Dou, particularly Albasheir discloses determine a rate at which the first load is currently changing when the user equipment is connected to the first user plane function (a utilization level (e.g., a relatively high utilization level) associated with the UPF can introduce additional delay. Based at least in part on the request (e.g., defining requirements for the UPF based on the intended communication), utilization information (e.g., % CPU utilization, % memory utilization, number of available session, etc.), and location information (e.g., a location of the UE and of the various available UPFs), the operation 708 can determine an optimal combination of UE/UPF to substantially maximize QoS; [0073]); and
move the user equipment from the first user plane function to the second user plane function based on the determined rate and the load threshold value (By way of example, the operation 708 can determine that a first UPF is located closer to a UE than a second UPF, and that the first UPF should not be selected as the UPF to service the UE if the utilization level is higher for the first UPF compared to the second UPF; [0073]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Albasheir and Dou, particularly Albasheir discloses in response to the location being in the second service area: determine the second load of the second user plane function (determining that a second user plane (or any network function) is associated with a second utilization level (e.g., 30% utilization level); [0059]);
in response to the second load not exceeding a load threshold value, connect the user equipment to the second user plane function (determining that the first utilization level is above a utilization threshold (e.g., 70% or any value) such that addition assignments of UEs to the UPF (or any network function) may degrade a quality of connections associated with first UPF (or any network function). Accordingly, the operation 506 can include determining that the first UPF (or any network function) is to be selected to provide data traffic for the UE; [0059]);
in response to the second load exceeding the load threshold value: determine the first load of the first user plane function; in response to the second load exceeding the first load, connect the user equipment to the first user plane function; and in response to the first load exceeding the second load, connect the user equipment to the second user plane function (determining a plurality of user planes (or any network function) that are available for a communication (e.g., that have a utilization level below a threshold value). In some instances, the user planes (or any network function) can be selected based on a proximity to the UE, capabilities requested by the UE, etc. In some instances, the operation 506 can include ranking or prioritizing individual ones of the plurality of user planes (or any network function) as most appropriate to be selected for the communication; [0061]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Albasheir and Dou, particularly Albasheir discloses wherein the processor determines the first load and the second load by being configured to execute the computer instructions to: determine a first future load of the first user plane function and a second future load of the second user plane function (one or more UPFs can provide indications of a utilization level of the UPF to a network resource function (NRF), which can manage a database of the various utilizations levels of various UPFs. Based on a current, historical, or expected utilization of one or more UPFs, and/or based on the services requested and various locations of the services in a network, the NRF can select and provide, in part, a UPF to the UE, so that the UPF can carry user traffic associated with the UE; [0012]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Albasheir and Dou, particularly Albasheir discloses connect the user equipment to the first user plane function in response to the user equipment being in the first service area and prior to determining the first load of the first user plane function and the second load of the second user plane function (process can include receiving locality information associated with the user equipment. For example, the operation 706 can include receiving a current location of the UE, and expected location of the UE, a speed/direction of the UE, etc. In some instances, locality information can be based at least in part on GPS information associated with the UE, Wi-Fi triangulation associated with the UE, timing advance of signals sent and/or received by the UE, etc. At operation 708, the process can include determining one or more user planes based at least in part on the request; [0072-0073]).
Regarding claim 15, Albasheir discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, at a computing device, a request from a user equipment to connect to a network (the UE 102 can transmit a registration request 112 to the AMF 104; [0023]);
determining, by the computing device, whether a service area that the user equipment is located in is serviced by a first user plane function and a second user plane function (There may be a plurality of UPFs associated with a network and/or with the UE 102; [0022].
SMF 108 can transmit a UPF query 118 to the NRF 106 with information including a location of the UE 102; [0028].
Environments can include any type or amount of overlapping coverage or mutually exclusive coverage. Environment 200 includes user plane function (UPFs) 110(2); [0035-0036]); and
in response to determining that service area is serviced by the first and second user plane functions: determining a first load of the primary user plane function (Based on location information (e.g., a location of the UE and of the various available UPFs), the operation 708 can determine an optimal combination of UE/UPF. Operation 708 can determine that a first UPF is located closer to a UE than a second UPF. utilization level (e.g., a relatively high utilization level) associated with the UPF can introduce additional delay. Based on utilization information (e.g., % CPU utilization, % memory utilization, number of available session, etc.), operation 708 can determine an optimal combination of UE/UPF; [0073]);
determining whether the first load exceeds a load threshold value; and in response to determining that the first load exceeds the load threshold value, connecting the user equipment to the secondary user plane function (determining that the first utilization level is above a utilization threshold (e.g., 70% or any value) such that addition assignments of UEs to the UPF (or any network function) may degrade a quality of connections associated with first UPF (or any network function). Accordingly, the operation 506 can include determining that the first UPF (or any network function) is to be selected to provide data traffic for the UE. utilization level of the second user plane is lower than the utilization level of the first user plane. Accordingly, the second user plane is to be selected for the communication; [0059-0060]).
Albasheir does not expressly disclose a primary user plane function and a secondary user plane function; and determining that service area is serviced by the primary and secondary user plane functions.
In an analogous art, Dou discloses a primary user plane function and a secondary user plane function; and determining that service area is serviced by the primary and secondary user plane functions (the area corresponding to the first PDU session may include an area generated by an SMF entity with reference to a service area of a UPF entity corresponding to the first PDU session and a service area of an adjacent UPF entity having a same function as the UPF entity; an area determined by an SMF entity with reference to a registration (registration) area and a service area of a UPF entity, an intersection set of the registration area and the service area of the UPF entity or a subset of an intersection set of the registration area and the service area of the UPF entity is selected as the area corresponding to the first PDU session; a service area of an adjacent UPF entity having a same function as the UPF entity, where the registration area is allocated by the AMF entity to the UE and received by the SMF entity; [0143]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features as taught by Dou into the system of Albasheir in order to efficiently relocate a UPF entity when a session is in an inactive state (Dou; [0007]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Albasheir and Dou, particularly Albasheir discloses connecting the user equipment to the primary user plane function prior to determining whether the user equipment is in the service area that is serviced by the primary user plane function and the secondary user plane function (process can include receiving locality information associated with the user equipment. For example, the operation 706 can include receiving a current location of the UE, and expected location of the UE, a speed/direction of the UE, etc. In some instances, locality information can be based at least in part on GPS information associated with the UE, Wi-Fi triangulation associated with the UE, timing advance of signals sent and/or received by the UE, etc. At operation 708, the process can include determining one or more user planes based at least in part on the request; [0072-0073]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Albasheir and Dou, particularly Albasheir discloses connecting a plurality of second user equipment in the service area to the primary user plane function, including: generating a first percentage associated with the primary user plane function and a second percentage associated with the secondary user plane function, the first and second percentages being based on a first predicted future load of the primary user plane function and a second predicted future load of the secondary user plane function (as a utilization level of a UPF approaches 100% utilization (e.g., of CPU utilization, bandwidth utilization, memory utilization, number of allowable sessions, etc.), additional requests for the UPF can be rerouted to other UPFs having a lower utilization level; [0013]
UPF (or any network function) can transmit utilization information upon determining that a utilization level has changed more than a threshold amount compared to a previous utilization level. In some instances, utilization information can include, but is not limited to, one or more of: CPU utilization (e.g., % utilization), expected utilization levels; [0056]); and
connecting a number of the plurality of second user equipment in the service area to the primary user plane function based on the first percentage (determining that a first user plane (or any network function) is associated with a first utilization level (e.g., 80% CPU utilization) and a second user plane (or any network function) is associated with a second utilization level (e.g., 30% utilization level). Further the operation 506 can include determining that the first utilization level is above a utilization threshold (e.g., 70% or any value) such that addition assignments of UEs to the UPF (or any network function) may degrade a quality of connections associated with first UPF (or any network function). Accordingly, the operation 506 can include determining that the first UPF (or any network function) is to be selected to provide data traffic for the UE; [0059]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Albasheir and Dou, particularly Albasheir discloses moving first user equipment of a plurality of user equipment that are connected to the primary user plane function to the secondary user plane function based on a rate of new user equipment connecting to the primary user plane function and the load threshold value (network or the UE can determine that a handover should occur, based on one or more of, but not limited to: signal strength of an anchor connection (e.g., a signal strength of the first RAN); signal strength of a target RAN (e.g., a signal strength of a second RAN); latency; UE speed/direction; traffic level(s); QoS; etc. In some instances, the operation 608 can include determining that a new user plane is required/desired based at least in part on the indication of the handover request. providing a second selection of at least one second user plane based at least in part on the handover request and the utilization information. For example, the at least one second user plane can include user planes suitable and available to facilitate a communication with the UE; [0067-0068]).
Claim(s) 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albasheir et al. (US 20190075431) in view of Dou et al. (US 20200170055) and in view of Chai et al. (US 20210152989).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Albasheir and Dou, particularly Albasheir discloses determine whether the first load exceeds the load threshold value while the user equipment is connected to the first user plane function (determining that the first utilization level is above a utilization threshold (e.g., 70% or any value) such that addition assignments of UEs to the UPF (or any network function) may degrade a quality of connections associated with first UPF (or any network function). Accordingly, the operation 506 can include determining that the first UPF (or any network function) is to be selected to provide data traffic for the UE; [0059]).
The combination of Albasheir and Dou does not expressly disclose in response to the first load exceeding the load threshold value, switch an IP anchor point of the user equipment from the first user plane function to the second user plane function when a session and service continuity mode 2 or mode 3 is available.
In an analogous art, Chai discloses in response to the first load exceeding the load threshold value, switch an IP anchor point of the user equipment from the first user plane function to the second user plane function when a session and service continuity mode 2 or mode 3 is available (after a terminal establishes a PDU session, regardless of which area or which access technology the terminal moves to, a UPF network element of the PDU session is used as an anchor to serve the terminal. To be specific, the PDU session is not interrupted in any form due to movement of the terminal. SSC mode 2: In this mode, after a terminal establishes a PDU session, when the terminal moves, if the terminal leaves a serving area of a UPF network element, or due to reasons such as a fault or excessive load of the UPF network element, a network may re-select a UPF network element for the PDU session of the terminal and make the terminal establish a PDU session after the UPF network element is re-selected, and a service of a user is migrated from an original UPF to a new UPF; [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features as taught by Chai into the system of Albasheir and Dou in order to provide a user access to a user plane nearby, and thus shorten a data transmission distance in a network, reduce a network delay, and improve network efficiency (Chai; [0005]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Albasheir and Dou does not expressly disclose wherein connecting the user equipment in the service area to the secondary user plane function includes: switching, by the computing device in a session and service continuity mode 2 or mode 3, an IP anchor point of the user equipment from the primary user plane function to the secondary user plane function.
In an analogous art, Chai discloses wherein connecting the user equipment in the service area to the secondary user plane function includes: switching, by the computing device in a session and service continuity mode 2 or mode 3, an IP anchor point of the user equipment from the primary user plane function to the secondary user plane function (after a terminal establishes a PDU session, regardless of which area or which access technology the terminal moves to, a UPF network element of the PDU session is used as an anchor to serve the terminal. To be specific, the PDU session is not interrupted in any form due to movement of the terminal. SSC mode 2: In this mode, after a terminal establishes a PDU session, when the terminal moves, if the terminal leaves a serving area of a UPF network element, or due to reasons such as a fault or excessive load of the UPF network element, a network may re-select a UPF network element for the PDU session of the terminal and make the terminal establish a PDU session after the UPF network element is re-selected, and a service of a user is migrated from an original UPF to a new UPF; [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features as taught by Chai into the system of Albasheir and Dou in order to provide a user access to a user plane nearby, and thus shorten a data transmission distance in a network, reduce a network delay, and improve network efficiency (Chai; [0005]).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albasheir et al. (US 20190075431) in view of Soryal et al. (US 20240340847).
Regarding claim 8, Albasheir discloses a computing device (device 800; [0075]), including: a memory that stores computer instructions; and a processor that, when executing the computer instructions (device 800 comprises a memory 804, processor(s) 806, a removable storage 808 and non-removable storage 810; [0075]), causes the computing device to:
initialize a first user plane function for a first service area; initialize a second user plane function for a second service area, wherein the first service area and the second service area are not overlapping (UPF 110 can be implemented as a network function including functionality to control data transfer between the UE 102 and the various components of the network. There may be a plurality of UPFs associated with a network and/or with the UE 102; [0022].
Environments can include any type or amount of overlapping coverage or mutually exclusive coverage. Environment 200 includes user plane function (UPFs) 110(1) and (UPFs) 110(2); [0035-0036]);
receive a request from a user equipment to connect to a network (the UE 102 can transmit a registration request 112 to the AMF 104; [0023]);
query a location of the user equipment (UPF query 118 can include services requested by the UE 102 and a location of the UE 102; [0028]);
determine the location of the user equipment (Based on location information (e.g., a location of the UE and of the various available UPFs), the operation 708 can determine an optimal combination of UE/UPF. Operation 708 can determine that a first UPF is located closer to a UE than a second UPF; [0073]);
in response to the location determination: determine a first load of the first user plane function and a second load of the second user plane function (environment 200 includes user plane functions (UPFs) 110(1), . . ., 110(N). Environments can include any type or amount of overlapping coverage or mutually exclusive coverage; [0035-0036].
NRF 106 can select a UPF based at least in part on utilization levels provided separately by one or more UPFs and a type of communication, location information, etc. contained in the UPF query 302; [0047]);
in response to the first load exceeding the second load and the first load exceeding a load threshold value, connect the user equipment to the second user plane function (determining that the first utilization level is above a utilization threshold (e.g., 70% or any value) such that addition assignments of UEs to the UPF (or any network function) may degrade a quality of connections associated with first UPF (or any network function). Accordingly, the operation 506 can include determining that the first UPF (or any network function) is to be selected to provide data traffic for the UE. Utilization level of the second user plane is lower than the utilization level of the first user plane. Accordingly, the second user plane is to be selected for the communication; [0059-0060]); and
in response to the second load exceeding the first load and the first load exceeding the load threshold value, connect the user equipment to the first user plane function (determining that the first utilization level is above a utilization threshold (e.g., 70% or any value) such that addition assignments of UEs to the UPF (or any network function) may degrade a quality of connections associated with first UPF (or any network function). Accordingly, the operation 506 can include determining that the first UPF (or any network function) is to be selected to provide data traffic for the UE; [0059].
determine that a first UPF is located closer to a UE than a second UPF, and that the first UPF should not be selected as the UPF to service the UE if the utilization level is higher for the first UPF compared to the second UPF; [0073]).
Albasheir does not expressly disclose determine whether the location is serviced by both the first user plane function and the second user plane function; in response to the location being serviced by both the first user plane function and the second user plane function: determine loads of the first user plane function and the second user plane function.
In an analogous art, Soryal discloses determine whether the location is serviced by both the first user plane function and the second user plane function (engage in load balancing among core UPFs (e.g., where one or more stay within a path of a PDU session; i.e. overlapping paths). detecting when the processing system may be exiting an area and reassigning one or more PDU sessions to one or more other floating UPFs (e.g. other floating UPFs that may be spatially adjacent and/or partially overlapping in assigned area with the floating UPF); [0022, 0086]); and
in response to the location being serviced by both the first user plane function and the second user plane function: determine loads of the first user plane function and the second user plane function (network may select between a floating UPF … and/or between two or more floating UPFs … may engage in load balancing among core UPFs (e.g., where one or more stay within a path of a PDU session; i.e. overlapping paths). triggering conditions … service conditions, network conditions … processor utilization … from UPF 139, and so on … select the floating UPF (i.e. based on the determined load to select a UPF); [0022, 0048]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Soryal into the system of Albasheir in order to transfer access of the UE to the floating user plane function in an efficient manner (Soryal, [0021]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Albasheir and Soryal, particularly Albasheir discloses wherein the processor, when executing the computer instructions to determine the first load and the second load, causes the computing device to: predict, by a network data analysis function, the first load and the second load associated with a future time (one or more UPFs can provide indications of a utilization level of the UPF to a network resource function (NRF), which can manage a database of the various utilizations levels of various UPFs. Based on a current, historical, or expected utilization of one or more UPFs, and/or based on the services requested and various locations of the services in a network, the NRF can select and provide, in part, a UPF to the UE, so that the UPF can carry user traffic associated with the UE; [0012]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Albasheir and Soryal, particularly Albasheir discloses to connect the user equipment to the second user plane function: connects the user equipment to the second user plane function based on a second future load of the second user plane function being less than a first future load of the first user plane function (one or more UPFs can provide indications of a utilization level of the UPF to a network resource function (NRF), which can manage a database of the various utilizations levels of various UPFs. Based on a current, historical, or expected utilization of one or more UPFs, and/or based on the services requested and various locations of the services in a network, the NRF can select and provide, in part, a UPF to the UE, so that the UPF can carry user traffic associated with the UE; [0012]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albasheir et al. (US 20190075431) in view of Soryal et al. (US 20240340847) and in view of Chai et al. (US 20210152989).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Albasheir and Soryal, particularly Albasheir discloses determine whether the first load exceeds the load threshold value associated with an overload probability of the first user plane function being above a selected level (determining that the first utilization level is above a utilization threshold (e.g., 70% or any value) such that addition assignments of UEs to the UPF (or any network function) may degrade a quality of connections associated with first UPF (or any network function). Accordingly, the operation 506 can include determining that the first UPF (or any network function) is to be selected to provide data traffic for the UE; [0059]).
The combination of Albasheir and Soryal does not expressly disclose in response to the first load being greater than the load threshold value, modify, under a session and service continuity mode 2 or mode 3, an IP anchor point of the user equipment from the first user plane function to the second user plane function.
In an analogous art, Chai discloses in response to the first load being greater than the load threshold value, modify, under a session and service continuity mode 2 or mode 3, an IP anchor point of the user equipment from the first user plane function to the second user plane function (after a terminal establishes a PDU session, regardless of which area or which access technology the terminal moves to, a UPF network element of the PDU session is used as an anchor to serve the terminal. To be specific, the PDU session is not interrupted in any form due to movement of the terminal. SSC mode 2: In this mode, after a terminal establishes a PDU session, when the terminal moves, if the terminal leaves a serving area of a UPF network element, or due to reasons such as a fault or excessive load of the UPF network element, a network may re-select a UPF network element for the PDU session of the terminal and make the terminal establish a PDU session after the UPF network element is re-selected, and a service of a user is migrated from an original UPF to a new UPF; [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features as taught by Chai into the system of Albasheir and Soryal in order to provide a user access to a user plane nearby, and thus shorten a data transmission distance in a network, reduce a network delay, and improve network efficiency (Chai; [0005]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albasheir et al. (US 20190075431) in view of Soryal et al. (US 20240340847) and in view of “3GPP TS 23.501 version 16.12.0 Release 16”.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Albasheir and Soryal, particularly Albasheir discloses determine whether the first load exceeds the load threshold value associated with an overload probability of the first user plane function being above a selected level (determining that the first utilization level is above a utilization threshold (e.g., 70% or any value) such that addition assignments of UEs to the UPF (or any network function) may degrade a quality of connections associated with first UPF (or any network function). Accordingly, the operation 506 can include determining that the first UPF (or any network function) is to be selected to provide data traffic for the UE; [0059]); and
in response to the first load being greater than the load threshold value: determine whether the user equipment is dormant (UPF query 118 can include information including, but not limited to: a type of session requested by the UE 102 (e.g., voice, video, bandwidth, emergency, etc.); services requested by the UE 102; a location of the UE 102; a location of a destination of the session requested by the UE 102; a request for a single UPF or a plurality of UPFs; and the like; [0028]);
receive a reconnect request from the user equipment; and in response to receiving the reconnect request, connect the user equipment to the second user plane function (based upon a location of the UE and a location of an available UPF, the UE/UPF combination can have an associated delay. operation 708 can determine that a first UPF is located closer to a UE than a second UPF, and that the first UPF should not be selected as the UPF to service the UE if the utilization level is higher for the first UPF compared to the second UPF; [0073]).
The combination of Albasheir and Soryal does not expressly disclose under a session and service continuity mode 1: determine whether the user equipment is dormant; in response to determining that the user equipment is dormant, disconnect the user equipment from the first user plane function.
In an analogous art, TS 23.501 discloses: under a session and service continuity mode 1 (§§.5.6.9.2.1; for a PDU session of SSC mode 1):
determine whether the user equipment is dormant (§§.5.3.2.4; CM-IDLE over Non-3GPP access … shall be released; CM-IDLE over 3GPP access … shall be released);
in response to determining that the user equipment is dormant, disconnect the user equipment from the first user plane function (§§.5.3.2.4; CM-IDLE over Non-3GPP access … shall be released; CM-IDLE over 3GPP access … shall be released).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by TS 23.501 into the system of Albasheir and Soryal in order to transition from CM-IDLE to CM-CONNECTED state via transmission of an Initial NAS message and allocate additional PDU Session Anchors to support IP continuity regardless of UE mobility events (TS 23.501; [p.125-126]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albasheir et al. (US 20190075431) in view of Dou et al. (US 20200170055) and in view of “3GPP TS 23.501 version 16.12.0 Release 16”.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Albasheir and Dou, particularly Albasheir discloses wherein connecting the user equipment in the service area to the secondary user plane function includes: connecting the user equipment to the secondary user plane function when the user equipment attempts to reconnect to the network after being disconnected (based upon a location of the UE and a location of an available UPF, the UE/UPF combination can have an associated delay. operation 708 can determine that a first UPF is located closer to a UE than a second UPF, and that the first UPF should not be selected as the UPF to service the UE if the utilization level is higher for the first UPF compared to the second UPF; [0073]).
The combination of Albasheir and Dou does not expressly disclose determining, by the computing device in a session and service continuity mode 1, whether the user equipment is dormant; in response to determining that the user equipment is dormant, disconnecting the user equipment from the network.
In an analogous art, TS 23.501 discloses determining, by the computing device in a session and service continuity mode 1, whether the user equipment is dormant (§§.5.6.9.2.1; for a PDU session of SSC mode 1.
§§.5.3.2.4; CM-IDLE over Non-3GPP access … shall be released; CM-IDLE over 3GPP access … shall be released);
in response to determining that the user equipment is dormant, disconnecting the user equipment from the network (§§.5.3.2.4; CM-IDLE over Non-3GPP access … shall be released; CM-IDLE over 3GPP access … shall be released).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by TS 23.501 into the system of Albasheir and Dou in order to transition from CM-IDLE to CM-CONNECTED state via transmission of an Initial NAS message and allocate additional PDU Session Anchors to support IP continuity regardless of UE mobility events (TS 23.501; [p.125-126]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7, if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, would comprise a combination of elements which is not taught by the prior art of record. The same remarks apply to dependent claims 10 and 11 mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Talbi et al. (US 20190313468), “PDU Session Establishment For Cellular IoT.”
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413