Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “Taguchi methods” in claims 2, 8 and 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “Taguchi methods” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. More specifically, Taguchi is just a name and does not sufficiently provide a standard as to what steps of “the methods” being performed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,491,958. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the elements are mentioned explicitly or implicitly.
[AltContent: textbox (Claim 1: An auxiliary assembly for a bicycle, comprising: … a battery device …
wherein the battery device includes: two battery packs …
and a management module …
Claim 7: The auxiliary assembly according to claim 1,
the management module is configured to obtain a piece of battery health data for each of the two battery packs; )][AltContent: textbox (Claim 1: A battery device, which is configured to be installed on an electric bicycle, the battery device comprising:
two battery packs; and
a management module electrically coupled to the two battery packs,
wherein the management module is configured to obtain a piece of battery health data for each of the two battery packs; )]Claim 1 of 18/457,355 Claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent 12,491,958
[AltContent: textbox (Claim 7 (cont.):
wherein, when the management module detects that a first variation between the two pieces of the battery health data is greater than 2%, the management module selects one of the two battery packs in which the battery health data is high to supply power to the electric bicycle, and
another one of the two battery packs in which the battery health data is low is controlled to suspend operation;
wherein, when the management module detects that the first variation between the two pieces of the battery health data is less than 2%,
the management module selects one of the two battery packs to supply the power to the electric bicycle according to a first rule.)][AltContent: textbox (Claim 1 (cont.):
wherein, when the management module detects that a first variation between the two pieces of the battery health data is greater than 2%, the management module selects one of the two battery packs in which the battery health data is high to supply power to the electric bicycle, and
another one of the two battery packs in which the battery health data is low is controlled to suspend operation;
wherein, when the management module detects that the first variation between the two pieces of the battery health data is less than 2%,
the management module selects one of the two battery packs to supply the power to the electric bicycle according to a first rule.)]Claim 1 (cont.) of 18/457,355 Claim 7 (cont.) of U.S. Patent 12,491,958
It is the examiner’s opinion the wording “A battery device, which is configured to be installed on an electric bicycle, the battery device comprising” from application 18/457,355 is not patentably distinct from the wording “An auxiliary assembly for a bicycle, comprising: … a battery device …” from U.S. Patent 12,491,958.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani et al. U.S. PGPub 2010/0019724 A1 (hereinafter Mizutani) in view of Hu U.S. PGPub 2023/0420966 A1 (hereinafter Hu).
Regarding Claim 1, Mizutani teaches a battery device (Mizutani, Fig. 8; Paras. [0018] – [0019] and [0104]), the battery device comprising: two battery packs (Mizutani, Fig. 8, “Module Battery 10(1,1)” and “Module Battery 10(y,1); and a management module electrically coupled to the two battery packs (Mizutani, Fig. 8, Element 41b, “Inter-Module Balance Control Circuit”; Para. [0105]), wherein the management module is configured to obtain a piece of battery health data for each of the two battery packs (Mizutani, Para. [0106], “cell voltage signals”), but does not explicitly teach the battery system configured to be installed on an electric bicycle, nor does it explicitly teach the management module detecting a first variation between the two pieces of the battery health data is less than 2%, the management module selects one of the two battery packs to supply the power … according to a first rule.
Hu, however, teaches the battery system being configured to be installed on an electric bicycle (Hu, Fig. 1; Paras. [0020] and [0034]), and the management module detects that a first variation between the two pieces of the battery health data is greater than 2%, the management module selects one of the two battery packs in which the battery health data is high to supply power to the electric bicycle, and another one of the two battery packs in which the battery health data is low is controlled to suspend operation; wherein, when the management module detects that the first variation between the two pieces of the battery health data is less than 2%, the management module selects one of the two battery packs to supply the power to the electric bicycle according to a first rule (Hu, Para. [0022], When a difference in voltage is less than a custom amount, for example such as a voltage difference value that represents less than 2 percent variation amongst batteries, a rule/condition to select a battery pack with the lowest power to supply power).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that although Mizutani is silent as to what explicitly triggers the selection among battery modules of a multi-module battery system, Mizutani would inherently incorporate some type of conventional charging and management circuitry commonly understood in the art. The circuitry taught by Hu, for controlling the charging of the rechargeable batteries, teaches one of the many conventional battery charging circuits utilized in the art for charging a system with multiple battery modules. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Hu, to control the charge/discharge of the batteries within the battery system of Mizutani.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The reason for allowance of claim 9 is that it comprises the allowable material of the claims of application 18/457,354 (now U.S. Patent 12,491,958) with the additional limitation of monitoring surface temperature and using this information to control the management of the battery system, which ‘additional limitation’ eliminates a double patenting rejection of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 9: Though the prior art discloses a battery management method, wherein the battery management method is applicable to a battery device of an electric bicycle, and the battery device includes two battery packs, the battery management method comprising:
obtaining a piece of battery health data for each of the two battery packs;
determining whether or not a first variation between the two pieces of the battery health data is greater than 2%; wherein, when the first variation is greater than 2%, one of the two battery packs in which the battery health data is high supplies power to the electric bicycle, and another one of the two battery packs in which the battery health data is low is controlled to suspend operation; wherein, when the first variation is less than 2%, a piece of battery capacity data is obtained for each of the two battery packs …
selecting one of the two battery packs in which the sampled voltage variation is high to supply the power to the electric bicycle, and controlling another one of the two battery packs in which the sampled voltage variation is low to suspend operation, it fails to teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations of claim 9, and further including the combination of:
A battery management method …
determining whether or not a second variation between the two pieces of the battery capacity data is greater than 50%; wherein, when the second variation is greater than 50%, one of the two battery packs in which the battery capacity data is high supplies the power to the electric bicycle, and another one of the two battery packs in which the battery health data is low is controlled to suspend operation; wherein, when the second variation is less than 50%, a sampled voltage variation and a surface temperature of each of the two battery packs within a unit of time are obtained;
selecting one of the two battery packs in which the sampled voltage variation is high to supply the power to the electric bicycle, and controlling another one of the two battery packs in which the sampled voltage variation is low to suspend operation; and
controlling one of the two battery packs in which the surface temperature is greater than a predetermined threshold value to suspend operation, and selecting another one of the two battery packs in which the surface temperature is less than or equal to the predetermined threshold value to supply the power to the electric bicycle.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under non-statutory Double Patenting and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McLean et al. U.S. PGPub 2022/0029431 teaches a switchable battery management system.
/JERRY D ROBBINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859