DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed 12/30/2025 which amended claims 1, 7-9, 11-13 and 15-16 and cancelled claims 6 and 14. Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 15-16 are currently pending in the application for patent.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Sensing Element in claims 1, 6, 9 and 14
First Sensing Unit in claims 1, 8, 9 and 16
Second Sensing Unit in claims1, 8, 9 and 16
Storage Element in claims 5, 12 and 13
Lens Control Element in claims 1, 4-5, 9 and 12
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukagoshi (US 2012/0147341) in view of Fujisaki et al (US 2013/0208250; hereinafter referred to as Fujisaki).
Regarding Claims 1 and 9, Tsukagoshi discloses a projection apparatus (Figure 5; Projector 100), comprising:
a lens module (Figure 5; Lens Unit 182), having a tele mode and a wide mode, and adapted to focus an image beam on a reference plane in one of the tele mode and the wide mode (see Figures 3-4 and 7 and Paragraphs [0031]-[0032] and [0036]; wherein it is disclosed that a magnification of the zoom lens may start at one time and is changed to a magnification of Zm times such that images 501, 511, 512, 521, 522, 531 and 532 are projected and focused on a reference plane);
a movement element (Figure 5; Lens Driving Unit 184), adapted to adjust a position of the lens module (see Paragraphs [0033] and [0035]; wherein it is disclosed that the lens driving unit 184 drives the lens unit 182 and that the lens driving unit 184 also performs a lens shift);
a sensing element (Figure 5; Position Detecting Unit 186), adapted to detect the position of the lens module (see Paragraph [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that the position detecting unit 186 detects a position of the lens unit 182); and
a lens control element (Figure 5; Control Unit 150), electrically connected to the lens module (Figure 5; Lens Unit 182; Paragraph [0038]), the movement element (Figure 5; Lens Driving Unit 184; Paragraph [0038]), and the sensing element (Figure 5; Position Detecting Unit 186; Paragraph [0038]), wherein: when the movement element (Figure 5; Lens Driving Unit 184) drives the lens module (Figure 5; Lens Unit 182) to move to the origin position (see Abstract; wherein the origin position is referred to as a basis position), the lens module (Figure 5; Lens Unit 182) triggers the sensing element (Figure 5; Position Detecting Unit 186), the sensing element (Figure 5; Position Detecting Unit 186) provides an origin-position information signal to the lens control element (see Paragraphs [0035]-[0036]; wherein it is disclosed that the position detecting unit 186 may include an encoder 978 or the like that is connected to the speed reduction mechanism 974 and acquires position information of the lens 995 (zoom lens) through the speed reduction mechanism 974 and that the position detecting unit 186 may include a linear sensor 988 or the like that is connected to the conversion mechanism 986 and acquires position information of the lens 995 (projection lens) through the conversion mechanism 986 wherein the control unit 150 stores a present lens shift or the present zoom state in the storage unit 120 as a part of the user setting data 126 based on information from the position detecting unit 186), the lens control element (Figure 5; Control Unit 150) controls the movement element (Figure 5; Lens Driving Unit 184) to stop the lens module (Figure 5; Lens Unit 182) from moving (see Paragraph [0036]; wherein it is disclosed that the control unit 150 controls the lens driving unit 184 in order for the zoom to be performed based on the zoom instruction information), and the lens control element (Figure 5; Control Unit 150) sets the movement parameter value of the movement element (Figure 5; Lens Driving Unit 184) to an origin parameter value (see Paragraph [0036]; wherein it is disclosed that the control unit 150 may store a present lens shift or a present zoom state in the storage unit 120 as a part of the user setting data 126 based on the lens shift instruction information or the zoom instruction information, or may store the present lens shift or the present zoom state in the storage unit 120 as a part of the user setting data 126 based on information from the position detecting unit 186), the lens control element (Figure 5; Control Unit 150) controls the image beam to focus on a first position on the reference plane in one of the tele mode and the wide mode (see Figure 3 Paragraph [0031]; wherein in a “tele mode” image 501 is projected at one position and in a “wide mode” image 531 is projected at another position), and
the lens control element (Figure 5; Control Unit 150) controls the image beam to focus on a second position on the reference plane in the other of the tele mode and the wide mode (see Figure 3 Paragraph [0031]; wherein in a “tele mode” image 501 is projected at one position and in a “wide mode” image 531 is projected at another position); the lens control element (Figure 5; Control Unit 150) determines whether an offset exists between the first position and the second position (see Figure 7; Steps S1-S3; Paragraphs [0037]-[0038]); when the lens control element (Figure 5; Control Unit 150) determines that an offset value exists between the first position and the second position (see Figure 7; Step S4 and Paragraph [0039]), the lens control element (Figure 5; Control Unit 150) correspondingly adjusts a movement parameter value of the movement element (Figure 5; Lens Driving Unit 184) in the one of tele mode and the wide mode based on the offset value between the first position and the second position (see Figure 7; Step S5; Paragraph [0039]), so that the image beam is focused on the same position on the reference plane in the tele mode and the wide mode that have been adjusted (see Paragraph [0039]; wherein the correction driving amounts are adjusted such that the central position of the image at magnification of one time in a state where the lens shift is performed and the central position of the image after the zoom coincide with each other).
Tsukagoshi does not expressly disclose that the movement element comprises a first moving plate and a second moving plate, the first moving plate has a first protruding block structure configured to be moved with the first moving plate, and the second moving plate has a second protruding block structure configured to be moved with the second moving plate; the sensing element comprises a first sensing unit and a second sensing unit, the first sensing unit and the second sensing unit are respectively triggered by the first protruding block structure and the second protruding block structure.
Fujisaki discloses a projection apparatus (Figure 1; Projector 1), comprising: a lens module (Figure 2); a movement element (Figure 2; Lens Shift Mechanism 42), adapted to adjust a position of the lens module (see Paragraph [0036]; wherein it is disclosed that the lens shift mechanism 42 shifts a position of projection lens assembly 40 within a predetermined range so as to adjust the projection screen position thereof), wherein the movement element (Figure 2; Lens Shift Mechanism 42) comprises a first moving plate (Figure 2; Movable Member 110) and a second moving plate (see Paragraph [0046]; wherein it is disclosed that a movable member that is different from movable member 110 is attached such that it can be shifted in the up-and-down direction with respect to fixing members 100A and 100B), the first moving plate (Figure 2; Movable Member 110) has a first protruding block structure (see Figure 2; Light Shielding Plate 120; Paragraph [0058]; wherein the light shielding plate corresponds to the claimed first protruding block structure) configured to be moved with the first moving plate (see Paragraph [0058]; wherein it is disclosed that light irradiated from the light-emitting section to the light-receiving section is blocked temporarily according to the shift operation of the light-shielding plate), and the second moving plate (see Paragraph [0046]; wherein it is disclosed that a movable member that is different from movable member 110 is attached such that it can be shifted in the up-and-down direction with respect to fixing members 100A and 100B) has a second protruding block structure (see Figure 2; Paragraphs [0058] and [0063]; wherein the light shielding plate corresponds to the claimed second protruding block structure) configured to be moved with the second moving plate (see Figure 2; Paragraphs [0058] and [0063]); a sensing element (Figure 2; Sensors SHR, SHC, SHL, SVU, SVC and SVD), adapted to detect the position of the lens module (see Paragraph [0049]), wherein the sensing element (Figure 2; Sensors SHR, SHC, SHL, SVU, SVC and SVD) comprises a first sensing unit (Figure 2; SVU, SVC and SVD) and a second sensing unit (Figure 2; SHR, SHC and SHL); and the first sensing unit (Figure 2; SVU, SVC and SVD) and the second sensing unit (Figure 2; SHR, SHC and SHL) respectively triggered by the first protruding block structure and the second protruding block structure (see Paragraphs [0058] and [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projection apparatus of Tsukagoshi such that the movement element comprises a first moving plate and a second moving plate, the first moving plate has a first protruding block structure configured to be moved with the first moving plate, and the second moving plate has a second protruding block structure configured to be moved with the second moving plate; the sensing element comprises a first sensing unit and a second sensing unit, the first sensing unit and the second sensing unit are respectively triggered by the first protruding block structure and the second protruding block structure, as taught by Fujisaki, because doing so would allow for the projection lens assembly to automatically return to the central position with high accuracy (see Fujisaki Paragraph [0083]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 10, Tsukagoshi as modified by Fujisaki discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as detailed above.
Tsukagoshi further discloses the same position where the image beam is focused on the reference plane in the tele mode and the wide mode that have been adjusted is one of the first position and the second position (see Figure 4; Paragraphs [0032] and [0039]; wherein the correction driving amounts are adjusted such that the central position of the image at magnification of one time in a state where the lens shift is performed and the central position of the image after the zoom coincide with each other. That is, the projector 100 has a function of performing a zoom operation on the image 501 in such a manner that the central position of the image 501 is not changed according to a present lens shift state).
Regarding Claims 3 and 11, Tsukagoshi as modified by Fujisaki discloses the limitations of claims 2 and 10 as detailed above.
Tsukagoshi further discloses the movement element (Figure 5; Lens Driving Unit 184) keeps the movement parameter value unchanged in one of the tele mode and the wide mode (see Figures 4 and 7; Paragraph [0038]; wherein the lens driving unit 184 remains unchanged when projecting image 501 or 532 until zoom instruction information is received by the reception unit 160), and adjusts the movement parameter value of the movement element (Figure 5; Lens Driving Unit 184) in the other of the tele mode and the wide mode, until the image beam is focused on one of the first position and the second position on the reference plane in the tele mode and the wide mode that have been adjusted (see Figures 4 and 7; Paragraph [0039]; wherein it is disclosed that the control unit 150 controls the lens driving unit 184 in order to perform a lens-shift-driving of the lens unit 182 according to the correction value, and the lens driving unit 184 performs a lens-shift-driving of the lens unit 182 according to this control such that the central position C0 of the image 501 at magnification of one time in a state where the lens shift is performed and the central position C1 of the image after the zoom coincide with each other).
Regarding Claims 4 and 12, Tsukagoshi as modified by Fujisaki discloses the limitations of claims 3 and 11 as detailed above.
Tsukagoshi further discloses when the image beam is focused on the first position or the second position on the reference plane in the tele mode and the wide mode that have been adjusted (see Figure 4), the lens control element (Figure 5; Control Unit 150) records and stores the movement parameter value of the movement element (Figure 5; Lens Driving Unit 184) at this time in a storage element (Figure 5; Storage Unit 120), the lens control element (Figure 5; Control Unit 150) produces an offset compensation table information according to the offset value and the movement parameter value (see Paragraphs [0036] and [0039]; wherein it is disclosed that the control unit 150 may store a present lens shift or a present zoom state in the storage unit 120 as a part of the user setting data 126 based on the lens shift instruction information or the zoom instruction information and that the correction driving amounts, which result in the central position C0 of the image 501 at magnification of one time in a state where the lens shift is performed and the central position C1 of the image after the zoom to coincide with each other, may be stored in the storage unit 120 as a part of the control data 124).
Regarding Claims 5 and 13, Tsukagoshi as modified by Fujisaki discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as detailed above.
Tsukagoshi further discloses a storage element (Figure 5; Storage Unit 120), adapted to store offset compensation table information (see Paragraphs [0036] and [0039]; wherein it is disclosed that the control unit 150 may store a present lens shift or a present zoom state in the storage unit 120 as a part of the user setting data 126 based on the lens shift instruction information or the zoom instruction information and that the correction driving amounts, which result in the central position C0 of the image 501 at magnification of one time in a state where the lens shift is performed and the central position C1 of the image after the zoom to coincide with each other, may be stored in the storage unit 120 as a part of the control data 124), wherein based on the offset value between the first position and the second position, the lens control element (Figure 5; Control Unit 150) reads the corresponding movement parameter value of the movement element (Figure 5; Lens Driving Unit 184) in the tele mode and the wide angle that is recorded in the offset compensation table information (see Paragraph [0039]; wherein it is disclosed that the correction driving amounts, which result in the central position C0 of the image 501 at magnification of one time in a state where the lens shift is performed and the central position C1 of the image after the zoom to coincide with each other, may be stored in the storage unit 120 as a part of the control data 124 and that the control unit 150 may perform the control with reference to the control data 124).
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, Tsukagoshi as modified by Fujisaki discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as detailed above.
Tsukagoshi does not expressly disclose that the sensing element comprises a plurality of sensing units disposed correspondingly in a plurality of directions, and there is only one of the plurality of sensing units disposed in the same direction, wherein the plurality of the sensing units comprise the first sensing unit and the second sensing unit.
Fujisaki discloses the sensing element (Figure 2; Sensors SHR, SHC, SHL, SVU, SVC and SVD) comprises a plurality of sensing units (Figure 2; Sensors SHR, SHC, SHL, SVU, SVC and SVD) disposed correspondingly in a plurality of directions (see Figure 2), and there is only one of the plurality of sensing units (Figure 2; Sensors SHR, SHC, SHL, SVU, SVC and SVD) disposed in the same direction (see Figure 2), wherein the plurality of the sensing units (Figure 2; Sensors SHR, SHC, SHL, SVU, SVC and SVD) comprise the first sensing unit (Figure 2; SVU, SVC and SVD) and the second sensing unit (Figure 2; SHR, SHC and SHL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the sensing element of Tsukagoshi such that the sensing element comprises a plurality of sensing units disposed correspondingly in a plurality of directions, and there is only one of the plurality of sensing units disposed in the same direction, wherein the plurality of the sensing units comprise the first sensing unit and the second sensing unit, as taught by Fujisaki, because doing so would allow for the projection lens assembly to automatically return to the central position with high accuracy (see Fujisaki Paragraph [0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukagoshi (US 2012/0147341) as applied to claims 1 and 9, in view of Akeyama (US 2011/0157487).
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, Tsukagoshi as modified by Fujisaki discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as detailed above.
Tsukagoshi does not expressly disclose that the movement element comprises a plurality of stepping motors disposed correspondingly in a plurality of directions; there is only one of the plurality of stepping motors disposed in the same direction; and the movement parameter value of the movement element is a number of steps of the plurality of stepping motors.
Akeyama discloses a projection apparatus (Figure 2; Projector 1), comprising:
a lens module (Figure 2; Focus Lens 15), and
a movement element (Figure 2; Lens Drive Part 24), adapted to adjust a position of the lens module (see Paragraph [0055]); wherein
the movement element (Figure 2; Lens Drive Part 24) comprises a plurality of stepping motors disposed correspondingly in a plurality of directions (Figure 2; Paragraphs [0058] and [0065]; wherein Focus Lens Drive Part 22, Zoom Lens Drive Part 23 and Lens Shift Drive Part 25 are each stepping motors); there is only one of the plurality of stepping motors disposed in the same direction (Figure 2; Zoom Lens Drive Part); and the movement parameter value of the movement element (Figure 2; Lens Drive Part 24) is a number of steps of the plurality of stepping motors (see Paragraph [0065]; wherein it is disclosed that the position information is updated every time the position of the focus lens 16 or the zoom lens 17 moves and specifically can be obtained as the rotation number of the stepping motor of the focus lens drive part 22 and the zoom lens drive part 23, and the like).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projection apparatus of Tsukagoshi such that the movement element comprises a plurality of stepping motors disposed correspondingly in a plurality of directions; there is only one of the plurality of stepping motors disposed in the same direction; and the movement parameter value of the movement element is a number of steps of the plurality of stepping motors, as taught by Akeyama, because doing so would provide a reliable means of adjusting and monitoring the position of the lens module, which would facilitate the projection of an optimized image.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7-13 and 15-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882