DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This office action substitutes the previously mailed non-final office action mailed on 08/27/2025. The previously mailed office action has been vacated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKANO et al. (US 20210023918) in view of Rodrigues et al. (US 20220396148).
Regarding claim 1, NAKANO discloses a vehicle communication system (Paragraphs: 0024 and 0028: NAKANO discusses a communication module which supports communication standards for an in-vehicle network, i.e. a vehicle communication system), comprising: an interior camera having a field of view that includes at least part of an interior of a vehicle (Paragraph: 0030: NAKANO discusses how an in-vehicle camera such as a dashboard camera may function as the image capture unit captures an image of the interior); a controller coupled to the interior camera and the exterior display to enable selective display of an output from the interior camera on the exterior display to enable said person to be able to view at least part of the interior (Paragraphs: 0027 and 0068: NAKANO discusses how an image of the interior of the vehicle displayed on the display, in a case in which the display is arranged to face outside of the vehicle and how the controller can change the degree of visibility between the exterior and the interior of the vehicle by changing a display image)
NAKANO discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically point out “an exterior display mounted within the interior or on an exterior of the vehicle and oriented for viewing by a person located outside of the vehicle”
Rodrigues however discloses an exterior display mounted within the interior or on an exterior of the vehicle and oriented for viewing by a person located outside of the vehicle (Paragraphs: 0004 and 0043: Rodrigues discusses how the system include causing exterior visual information to be displayed on the exterior side of the vehicle (i.e. allowing a person located outside of the vehicle to view); and how the external device can be configured to send data to the dual-sided display system in response to user inputs provided on the external device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of NAKANO, and modify a system wherein an exterior display mounted within the interior or on an exterior of the vehicle and oriented for viewing by a person located outside of the vehicle, as taught by Rodrigues, thus provides a dual-sided display system to replace traditional side view mirrors on a vehicle, so that aerodynamics of the vehicle and driver visibility of the exterior environment can be improved, as discussed by Rodrigues.
Considering claim 2, Rodrigues discloses the system of claim 1 which also includes an interior display arranged for viewing by an occupant of the vehicle (Paragraphs: 0041 and 0068: Rodrigues discusses how the interior visual information can be displayed to an occupant of the vehicle), and an exterior camera having a field of view that includes at least a portion of an area outside of the vehicle (Paragraphs: 0003, 0019 and 0036: Rodrigues discusses how the vehicle can include one or more cameras located on the vehicle on the passenger's side, which can be configured to acquire visual data of the exterior environment on the passenger's side of the vehicle), and wherein the controller is coupled to both the interior display and the exterior camera to enable selective display of an output of the exterior camera on the interior display (Paragraphs: 0019, 0026 and 0046: Rodrigues discusses how the interior visual information can include the visual data of the portion of the exterior environment of the vehicle; and how the system selectively cause the dual-sided transparent display(s) to display the interior visual information).
Considering claim 3, Rodrigues discloses the system of claim 2 wherein the exterior camera is mounted to the vehicle outside of the vehicle (Paragraphs: 0019, 0036 and fig.2A, 200: Rodrigues discusses how a camera operatively positioned to capture visual data of a portion of the exterior environment of the vehicle).
Considering claim 4, Rodrigues discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the exterior camera is mounted within the interior and the field of view includes at least one window via which the at least a portion of the area outside of the vehicle is within the field of view of the exterior camera (Paragraphs: 0019 and 0036: Rodrigues discusses how the vehicle can include one or more cameras located on the vehicle on the passenger's side, which can be configured to acquire visual data of the exterior environment on the passenger's side of the vehicle).
Considering claim 5, Rodrigues discloses the system of claim 2 wherein the interior display is part of an infotainment system of the vehicle (Paragraphs: 0041 and 0046 : Rodrigues discusses how the interior visual information can be displayed to an occupant of the vehicle).
Considering claim 7, Rodrigues discloses the system of claim 1 wherein the exterior display is movable relative to the vehicle, or a cover is provided and is movable relative to the exterior display, to enable selectively hiding and presentation of the exterior display (Paragraphs: 0068-0069 and fig.2A, 30).
Considering claim 18, NAKANO discloses the system of claim 1 wherein the interior camera is mounted within the interior of the vehicle (Paragraphs: 0030 and 0040: an in-vehicle camera such as a dashboard camera function as the image capture unit).
3. Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKANO et al. (US 20210023918) in view of Rodrigues et al. (US 20220396148) and further in view of Lofton et al. (US 20130324048).
Considering claim 6, NAKANO in view of Rodrigues fail to disclose the system of claim 6. Lofton however discloses the system of claim 6, which also includes an exterior audio interface and an interior audio interface, wherein the exterior audio interface has a first audio output and a first audio input, wherein both the first audio output and the first audio input have a working range that includes at least a portion of an area outside of the vehicle, and wherein the interior audio interface has a second audio output and a second audio input, wherein both the second audio output and the second audio input have a working range that includes at least a portion of the interior, and wherein the first audio input is coupled to the second audio output and the first audio output is coupled to the second audio input to permit two-way audible communication between the interior and the at least a portion of the area outside of the vehicle (Paragraph: 0036 and fig.5: Lofton discusses two-way audio communications system between a first entity such as vehicle and second entity such as a store/fast food restaurant, military check-point, entry station for a protected facility, etc., the second entity can also be another vehicle, i.e. to permit two-way audible communication between the interior and the at least a portion of the area outside of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to NAKANO and Rodrigues and modify the system wherein an exterior audio interface and an interior audio interface, wherein the exterior audio interface has a first audio output and a first audio input, wherein both the first audio output and the first audio input have a working range that includes at least a portion of an area outside of the vehicle, and wherein the interior audio interface has a second audio output and a second audio input, wherein both the second audio output and the second audio input have a working range that includes at least a portion of the interior, and wherein the first audio input is coupled to the second audio output and the first audio output is coupled to the second audio input to permit two-way audible communication between the interior and the at least a portion of the area outside of the vehicle, as taught by Lofton, thus enable two-way communication without requiring opening of the vehicle, as discussed by Lofton.
Considering claim 17, NAKANO further discloses the system of claims 6 wherein the interior camera, the exterior audio interface and the interior audio interface are each located in or on the vehicle (Paragraphs: 0028, 0030 and 0032: dashboard camera, microphone and touch panel in the vehicle).
4. Claim(s) 13-14, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodrigues et al. (US 20220396148) in view of Lofton et al. (US 20130324048) and further in view of NAKANO et al. (US 20210023918).
Regarding claim 13, Rodrigues discloses a vehicle communication system (Paragraphs: 0026 and 0048: Rodrigues discusses vehicle communication system), comprising: an exterior display mounted within the interior or on an exterior of the vehicle and oriented for viewing by a person located outside of the vehicle (Paragraphs: 0004 and 0043: Rodrigues discusses how the system include causing exterior visual information to be displayed on the exterior side of the vehicle (i.e. allowing a person located outside of the vehicle to view); an interior display arranged for viewing by an occupant of the vehicle (Paragraph: 0041 and fig.2B, 33: Rodrigues discusses how the interior visual information can be displayed to an occupant of the vehicle); an exterior camera having a field of view that includes at least a portion of an area outside of the vehicle (Paragraphs: 0003- 0004 : a camera operatively positioned to capture visual data of a portion of an exterior environment of the vehicle);
Rodrigues discloses the invention set forth above but fail to discloses “an exterior audio interface having a first audio output and a first audio input, wherein both the first audio output and the first audio input have a working range that includes at least a portion of an area outside of the vehicle; an interior audio interface having a second audio output and a second audio input, wherein both the second audio output and the second audio input have a working range that includes at least a portion of the interior, and wherein the first audio input is coupled to the second audio output and the first audio output is coupled to the second audio input to permit two-way audible communication between the interior and the at least a portion of the area outside of the vehicle; and wherein the controller is coupled to both the interior audio interface and the exterior audio interface to selectively permit audible communication between the interior audio interface and the exterior audio interface”
Lofton however discloses an exterior audio interface having a first audio output and a first audio input, wherein both the first audio output and the first audio input have a working range that includes at least a portion of an area outside of the vehicle (Paragraph: 0037 and fig.5); an interior audio interface having a second audio output and a second audio input, wherein both the second audio output and the second audio input have a working range that includes at least a portion of the interior, and wherein the first audio input is coupled to the second audio output and the first audio output is coupled to the second audio input to permit two-way audible communication between the interior and the at least a portion of the area outside of the vehicle; and wherein the controller is coupled to both the interior audio interface and the exterior audio interface to selectively permit audible communication between the interior audio interface and the exterior audio interface (Paragraphs: 0036-0037 and fig.5: Lofton discusses two-way audio communications system between a first entity such as vehicle and second entity such as a store/fast food restaurant, military check-point, entry station for a protected facility, etc., and the second entity can also be another vehicle, i.e. to permit two-way audible communication between the interior and the at least a portion of the area outside of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Rodrigues and modify the system wherein an interior audio interface having a second audio output and a second audio input, wherein both the second audio output and the second audio input have a working range that includes at least a portion of the interior, and wherein the first audio input is coupled to the second audio output and the first audio output is coupled to the second audio input to permit two-way audible communication between the interior and the at least a portion of the area outside of the vehicle; and wherein the controller is coupled to both the interior audio interface and the exterior audio interface to selectively permit audible communication between the interior audio interface and the exterior audio interface, as taught by Lofton, thus enable two-way communication without requiring opening of the vehicle, as discussed by Lofton.
Rodrigues in view of Lofton fail to disclose “an interior camera having a field of view that includes at least part of an interior of a vehicle; a controller coupled to the interior camera and the exterior display to enable selective display of an output from the interior camera on the exterior display to enable said person to be able to view at least part of the interior, and wherein the controller is coupled to both the interior display and the exterior camera to enable selective display of an output of the exterior camera on the interior display”
NAKANO however discloses an interior camera having a field of view that includes at least part of an interior of a vehicle (Paragraphs: 0030 and 0040); a controller coupled to the interior camera and the exterior display to enable selective display of an output from the interior camera on the exterior display to enable said person to be able to view at least part of the interior, and wherein the controller is coupled to both the interior display and the exterior camera to enable selective display of an output of the exterior camera on the interior display (Paragraphs: 0027 and 0068: NAKANO discusses how an image of the interior of the vehicle displayed on the display, in a case in which the display is arranged to face outside of the vehicle and how the controller can change the degree of visibility between the exterior and the interior of the vehicle by changing a display image)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Rodrigues and Lofton, wherein an interior camera having a field of view that includes at least part of an interior of a vehicle; and a controller coupled to the interior camera and the exterior display to enable selective display of an output from the interior camera on the exterior display to enable said person to be able to view at least part of the interior, and wherein the controller is coupled to both the interior display and the exterior camera to enable selective display of an output of the exterior camera on the interior display, as taught by NAKANO, thus improving the system by making the interior of the vehicle visible; and enables visibility between the exterior and the interior of the vehicle, as discussed by NAKANO.
Considering claim 14, Rodrigues discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the exterior camera is mounted within the interior and the field of view includes at least one window via which the at least a portion of the area outside of the vehicle is within the field of view of the exterior camera (Paragraphs: 0019 and 0036: Rodrigues discusses how the vehicle can include one or more cameras located on the vehicle on the passenger's side, which can be configured to acquire visual data of the exterior environment on the passenger's side of the vehicle).
Considering claim 19, NAKANO further discloses the system of claim 13 wherein the interior camera, the exterior audio interface and the interior audio interface are each located in or on the vehicle (Paragraphs: 0028, 0030 and 0032: dashboard camera, microphone and touch panel in the vehicle).
Considering claim 20, NAKANO further discloses the system of claim 13 wherein the interior camera is mounted within the interior of the vehicle (Paragraphs: 0030 and 0040: an in-vehicle camera such as a dashboard camera function as the image capture unit).
5. Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKANO et al. (US 20210023918) in view of Rodrigues et al. (US 20220396148) and further in view of in view of Scarbrough et al. (US 20130245881).
Considering claim 9, NAKANO in view of Rodrigues fail to discloses claim 9. Scarbrough however discloses the system of claim 9 which also includes memory via which the output of the interior camera can be recorded (Paragraphs: 0008 and 0020: Scarbrough discusses a monitoring system having at least one outwardly directed camera situated in an automobile and configured to record video data outside the automobile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of NAKANO in view of Rodrigues, and modify a system wherein memory via which the output of the interior camera can be recorded, as taught by Scarbrough, thus allowing to monitor and record areas inside and around an automobile, as discussed by Scarbrough.
Considering claim 10, Scarbrough discloses the system of claim 2 which also includes memory via which the output of the exterior camera can be recorded (Paragraphs: 0008 and 0020).
6. Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKANO et al. (US 20210023918) in view of Rodrigues et al. (US 20220396148) in view of Lofton et al. (US 20130324048) and further in view of Scarbrough et al. (US 20130245881).
Considering claim 11, NAKANO , Rodrigues and Lofton fail to disclose claim 11. Scarbrough discloses the system of claim 11 which also includes memory via which audible sounds detected by the first audio input and the second audio input can be recorded (Paragraphs: 0008, 0023 and fig.1: Scarbrough discusses how the system monitoring and recording the environment inside and outside of an automobile using the camera mounted in the dashboard and in the rear)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of NAKANO , Rodrigues and Lofton, wherein memory via which audible sounds detected by the first audio input and the second audio input can be recorded, as taught by Scarbrough, thus allowing to monitor and record areas inside and around an automobile, as discussed by Scarbrough.
Considering claim 12, Scarbrough discloses the system of claim 11 wherein the interior camera is coupled to the memory so that the output from the interior camera can be recorded in the memory (Paragraphs: 0012 and 0020: Scarbrough discusses how a monitoring system having an interiorly directed camera configured to record video data inside an interior of the automobile).
7. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKANO et al. (US 20210023918) in view of Rodrigues et al. (US 20220396148) and further in view of Ishizuka et al. (US 20170229053).
Considering claims 8, NAKANO in view of Rodrigues fail to disclose claim 8. Ishizuka however discloses the system of claims 8 wherein the exterior display is mounted to a body of the vehicle, and the exterior display is located between a rearward most door of the vehicle and a rear end of the vehicle (Paragraph: 0027 and fig.1, 102: Ishizuka discusses how the display device disposed on the exterior of the vehicle, a rear door, and a rear fender on a lateral side of the vehicle, i.e. it would have been obvious that the exterior display can be located between a rearward most door of the vehicle and a rear end of the vehicle based on a design choice).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of NAKANO in view of Rodrigues, wherein the exterior display is mounted to a body of the vehicle, and the exterior display is located between a rearward most door of the vehicle and a rear end of the vehicle, as taught by Ishizuka, thus allowing to communicate information to a pedestrian around the vehicle or the driver of another vehicle to improving safety, as discussed by Ishizuka.
8. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodrigues et al. (US 20220396148) in view of Lofton et al. (US 20130324048) in view of NAKANO et al. (US 20210023918) and further in view of in view of Ishizuka et al. (US 20170229053).
Considering claims 15, Rodrigues, Lofton and NAKANO fail to disclose claim 15. Ishizuka however discloses the system of claim 15 wherein the exterior display is mounted to a body of the vehicle, and the exterior display is located between a rearward most door of the vehicle and a rear end of the vehicle (Paragraph: 0027 and fig.1, 102: Ishizuka discusses how the display device disposed on the exterior of the vehicle, a rear door, and a rear fender on a lateral side of the vehicle, i.e. it would have been obvious that the exterior display can be located between a rearward most door of the vehicle and a rear end of the vehicle based on a design choice).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Rodrigues, Lofton and NAKANO, wherein the exterior display is mounted to a body of the vehicle, and the exterior display is located between a rearward most door of the vehicle and a rear end of the vehicle, as taught by Ishizuka, thus allowing to communicate information to a pedestrian around the vehicle or the driver of another vehicle to improving safety, as discussed by Ishizuka.
9. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKANO et al. (US 20210023918) in view of Rodrigues et al. (US 20220396148) in view of Lofton et al. (US 20130324048) and further in view of Scarbrough et al. (US 20130245881).
Considering claim 16, Scarbrough further discloses the system of claim 13 which also includes memory via which one or more of the following can be recorded: a) the output of the interior camera; b) the output of the exterior camera; and c) audible sounds detected by the first audio input and the second audio input (Paragraphs: 0008, 0020 and 0023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of NAKANO , Rodrigues and Lofton, and modify the system wherein memory via which audible sounds detected by the first audio input and the second audio input can be recorded, as taught by Scarbrough, thus allowing to monitor and record areas inside and around an automobile, as discussed by Scarbrough.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argued the prior arts of the record (Rodrigues et al.) only teaches cameras arranged to capture images of the environment outside the vehicle. None of the cameras disclosed or suggested by Rodrigues is an "interior" camera or a camera that has "a field of view that includes at least part of an interior of a vehicle." Instead, Rodrigues consistently and only teaches that the cameras used in the system of Rodrigues are arranged to capture the environment outside the vehicle.
Applicants also argued accordingly, Rodrigues fails to teach or suggest at least the interior camera recited in claim 1. Rodrigues also fails to teach or suggest providing any output from any interior camera on an exterior display as also recited in claim 1.Applicants further argued, the prior arts of the record (Rodriques et al.) teaches only displaying images from a camera that show the environment outside of the vehicle, and has nothing to do with showing the interior of the vehicle via an interior camera to a person outside the vehicle. No person of ordinary skill in the art could fairly discern the subject matter of claim 1 from the very different and consistent disclosure in Rodrigues of oppositely oriented and exteriorly focused cameras.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior arts of the record disclose how an in-vehicle camera such as a dashboard camera may function as the image capture unit captures an image of the interior (NAKANO: Paragraph: 0030); and how an image of the interior of the vehicle displayed on the display, in a case in which the display is arranged to face outside of the vehicle and how the controller can change the degree of visibility between the exterior and the interior of the vehicle by changing a display image (NAKANO: Paragraphs: 0027 and 0068).
Conclusion
/YOSEF K LAEKEMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691