DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 (see pages 8-11 of the remarks filed 12/24/2025) have been considered but are not persuasive. In response to independent claim 1 remarks, page 8; Applicant contends, essentially, that:
Examiner disagrees, please note that independent claim 1 has been revised
(using the same prior art – Kang) to clarify or expand on citations in the previous
Office action, particular clarification about what constitutes the first/second shaft, for example.
A visual illustration of these structural features has been included below to
improve clarity. Examiner believes each and every element as claimed are in fact
taught by Kang. Kang discloses the shaft where portion 151_1 forms the basis for first shaft, which include portions 231 on left/right at 200a and 200b connected therewith (see Fig 2 with respect to Figs 3-4). Likewise, the second shaft is formed as portion 151_2, including portions 232 on left/right at 200a and 200b connected. Kang further discloses the first shaft coupled with the second and fourth arm; the second shaft coupled with first and third arm, as claimed. As it stands, the current recitation of the features applicant argues as not being taught, has not gone far enough to overcome Kang and further does not particularize the shaft limitation specifically to exclude examiner’s interpretation. Examiner suggests including more positive recitation that further limit the structure of at least, the movement of the sliding parts relative to the elastic member, as similarly recited in newly filed claim(s) 21/22 – if so intended – in order to overcome Kang. Also, see interview/discussion held (12/17/2025) noting soft agreement incorporating newly filed claim language.
In response to remarks in last paragraph on page 9, pertaining to independent claim 11, similar sentiments as noted above applies here.
In response to dependent claims 4 and 16 remarks, pages 10-11, Applicant’s arguments were considered and are persuasive. Therefore, after further consideration, the previous rejection toward these set of claims have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang 2020/0348732.
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses a hinge (200a including 200b, Figs 2-4) comprising: a first shaft (231 on left and right side of 200, including 151_1, Figs 2, 4, 6) and a second shaft (232 on left and right side of 200, including 151_2, Figs 2, 4, 6) that are parallel to each other (Figs 2, 6); a first arm rotatably coupled to the first shaft (see annotated Fig below) and including a first rotary cam (portion 221_3 disposed on first arm, Fig 5); a second arm rotatably coupled to the second shaft (see annotated Fig below) and including a second rotary cam (portion 222_3 disposed on second arm, Fig 5); a third arm rotatably coupled to the first shaft (portion 221_3 disposed on first arm, Fig 5) and including a third rotary cam (portion 221_3 disposed on third arm, Fig 5); a fourth arm rotatably coupled to the second shaft (see annotated Fig below) and including a fourth rotary cam (portion 222_3 disposed on fourth arm, Fig 5); a first sliding part (241_1, Fig 4) coupled to the first shaft and the second shaft (once assembled, Fig 2) to be movable along the first shaft and the second shaft (par 0063) and including a first sliding cam (241_1a, Fig 4) facing the first rotary cam (once assembled, Fig 2) and a second sliding cam (241-1b, Fig 4) facing the second rotary cam (once assembled, Fig 2); a second sliding part coupled to the first shaft and the second shaft to be movable along the first shaft and the second shaft and including a third sliding cam facing the third rotary cam and a fourth sliding cam facing the fourth rotary cam (same features as first sliding part but on other side 200b, Figs 3, 4); and an elastic member disposed between the first sliding part and the second sliding part (see spring portions adjacent 158 - not labeled, Fig 2).
Regarding claim 2, Kang discloses the hinge of claim 1, wherein the first sliding part and the second sliding part linearly move towards or away from each other in response to rotations of the first arm (par 0096), the second arm, the third arm, and the fourth arm (par 0141), and the elastic member is compressed or stretched in response to linear movements of the first sliding part and the
second sliding part (par 0132).
Regarding claim 3, Kang discloses the hinge of claim 1, wherein the elastic member includes: a first elastic member (bottom right spring, Fig 2) disposed between the first sliding cam and the third sliding cam (see annotated Fig above); a second elastic member (top right spring, Fig 2) disposed between the second sliding cam and the fourth sliding cam (see annotated Fig above); and a third elastic member (top left or bottom right spring, Fig 2) disposed between the first elastic member and the second elastic member (third elastic member considered disposed between first and second elastic members, at least partially, Fig 2).
Regarding claim 5, Kang discloses the hinge of claim 3, wherein the first elastic member surrounds the first shaft, and the second elastic member surrounds the second shaft (see Figs 2-6).
Regarding claim 11, Kang discloses a foldable display device (Figs 1A, 1B) comprising: a first body (110, Fig 1A); a second body (120, Fig 1A); and a hinge unit (disposed near 163, Fig 1A) physically connected to the first body and the second body (Fig 1A), the hinge unit including a hinge housing (151_3 including 151a, 151b, Fig 2) and a hinge (200, Fig 2) coupled to the hinge housing (Fig 2), the hinge including: a first fixing member (213 on one side, Fig 4) and a second fixing member (213 on other side, Fig 4) that are coupled to the hinge housing (Fig 2) and spaced apart from each other in a direction (x-direction Fig 4) of a rotation axis of the foldable display device (rotation axis along x-axis, Fig 4); a first shaft (231 on left and right side including 151_1, Figs 2, 4) and a second shaft (232 on left and right side including 151_2, Figs 2, 6) that are inserted into the first fixing member and the second fixing member and parallel to the rotation axis (see Figs 2-6); a first arm rotatably coupled to the first shaft (see annotated Fig above) and including a first rotary cam (portion 221_3 disposed on first arm, Fig 5); a second arm rotatably coupled to the second shaft (see annotated Fig above) and including a second rotary cam (portion 222_3 disposed on second arm, Fig 5); a third arm rotatably coupled to the first shaft (see annotated Fig above) and including a third rotary cam (portion 221_3 disposed on third arm, Fig 5); a fourth arm rotatably coupled to the second shaft (see annotated Fig above) and including a fourth rotary cam (portion 222_3 disposed on fourth arm, Fig 5); a first sliding part (241_1, Fig 4) coupled to the first shaft and the second shaft (once assembled, Fig 2) to be movable along the first shaft and the second shaft (par 0063) and including a first sliding cam (241_1a, Fig 4) facing the first rotary cam (once assembled, Fig 2) and a second sliding cam (241-1b, Fig 4) facing the second rotary cam (once assembled, Fig 2); a second sliding part coupled to the first shaft and the second shaft to be movable along the first shaft and the second shaft and including a third sliding cam facing the third rotary cam and a fourth sliding cam facing the fourth rotary cam (same features as first sliding part but on other side 200b, Figs 3, 4); and an elastic member disposed between the first sliding part and the second sliding part (see spring portion adjacent 158 - not labeled, Fig 2).
Regarding claim 12, Kang discloses the foldable display device of claim 11, wherein the first arm, the second arm, the third arm, and the fourth arm are disposed between the first fixing member and the second fixing member in the direction of the rotation axis (as depicted in Fig 2).
Regarding claim 13, Kang discloses the foldable display device of claim 11, wherein the first sliding part and the second sliding part are disposed between the first and second arms and the third and fourth arms in the direction of the rotation axis (as depicted in Fig 2).
Regarding claim 14, Kang discloses the foldable display device of claim 11, wherein the first sliding part and the second sliding part linearly move towards or away from each other in response to rotations of the first arm (par 0096), the second arm, the third arm, and the fourth arm (par 0141), and the elastic member is compressed or stretched in response to linear movements of the first sliding part and the second sliding part (par 0132).
Regarding claim 15, Kang discloses the foldable display device of claim 11, wherein the elastic member includes: a first elastic member (bottom right spring, Fig 2) disposed between the first sliding cam and the third sliding cam (see annotated Fig above); a second elastic member (top right spring, Fig 2) disposed between the second sliding cam and the fourth sliding cam (see annotated Fig above); and a third elastic member (top left or bottom right spring, Fig 2) disposed between the first elastic member and the second elastic member (third elastic member considered disposed between first and second elastic members, at least partially, Fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang 2020/0348732 in view of Liao 2021/0181808.
Regarding claim 6, Kang discloses the hinge of claim 3, except for the hinge further comprising a pin coupled to the first sliding part and the second sliding part, wherein the third elastic member surrounds the pin.
Liao however teaches a hinge (Title) including a pin (pin considered middle two rod portion where spring wraps around - not labeled, Fig 17) coupled to the first sliding part (171a, Fig 17) and the second sliding part (174, Fig 17), wherein third elastic member (middle spring portion-not labeled, Fig 17) surrounds the pin (Fig 17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hinge as claimed, and, as taught by Liao, in order to facilitate a smoother movement upon opening and closing the device so that a certain damping force can be provided, and the convex portions of the sliding parts and the cam structure can be held in the concave portions of conjoined cam to a certain extent, thereby improving functionality and reliability.
Regarding claim 7, Kang discloses the hinge of claim 1, except for further comprising: a first bracket connecting the first arm and the third arm; and a second bracket connecting the second arm and the fourth arm.
Liao however teaches wherein a hinge (Fig 7) further comprises: a first bracket (121, Fig 7) connecting a first arm (122, Fig 7) and a third arm (123, Fig 7); and a second bracket connecting the second arm and the fourth arm (same as first bracket but on other side - not shown, Fig 7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and third arm to include first bracket and the second and fourth arm with a second bracket, as taught by Liao, in order to facilitate the driving force to open and close the device, so as to provide a supporting function for the flexible display or enclose with the bodies to form an accommodating space for the flexible display, thereby improving functionality.
Regarding claim 8, Kang discloses the hinge of claim 1, further comprising: a first connection gear (233, Fig 4) and a second connection gear (234, Fig 4) disposed between the first arm and the second arm (as depicted in Figs 3-4) and that are engaged with each other (Fig 3); and a third connection gear and a fourth connection gear disposed between the third arm and the fourth arm and that are engaged with each other (same as first and second gears but on other side, Figs 3- 4).
Kang disclose the claimed invention except for expressly teaching the first arm, the second arm, the third arm, and the fourth arm include gears respectively engaging with the first connection gear, the second connection gear, the third connection gear, and the fourth connection gear.
Liao however teaches a first arm (inner 123 on one side, Fig 7), the second arm (inner 123 on other side, Fig 7), the third arm (outer 123 on one side, Fig 7), and the fourth arm (outer 123 on other side, Fig 7) include gears (161, 162, Fig 17) respectively engaging with first connection gear (163, Fig 17), the second
connection gear (164, Fig 17), the third connection gear (163 on other side – not shown Fig 17), and the fourth connection gear (164 on other side - not shown, Fig 17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of the arms of Kang to include gears that engage the connection gears, respectively, as taught by Liao, in order to implement a smoother synchronous reverse rotation between the first folding body and the second folding body, thereby improving
functionality and reliability.
Regarding claim 9, Kang in view of Liao disclose the hinge of claim 8, Liao teaches wherein by engagement between the gears of the first arm, the second arm, the third arm, and the fourth arm (par 0009) and the first connection gear, the second connection gear, the third connection gear, and the fourth connection gear (par 0029), the second arm and the fourth arm rotate counterclockwise around the second shaft in case that the first arm and the third arm rotate clockwise around the first shaft (par 0010).
Regarding claim 18, Kang discloses the foldable display device of claim 11, except wherein the hinge further comprises: a first bracket connecting the first arm and the third arm; and a second bracket connecting the second arm and the fourth arm.
Liao however teaches wherein the hinge further comprises: a first bracket (121, Fig 7) connecting a first arm (122, Fig 7) and a third arm (123, Fig 7); and a second bracket connecting the second arm and the fourth arm (same as first bracket but on other side - not shown, Fig 7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and third arm to include first bracket and the second and fourth arm with a second bracket, as taught by Liao, in order to facilitate the driving force to open and close the device, so as to provide a supporting function for the flexible display or enclose with the bodies to form an accommodating space for the flexible display, thereby improving functionality.
Regarding claim 19, Kang discloses the foldable display device of claim 11, wherein the hinge further comprises: a first connection gear (233, Fig 4) and a second connection gear (234, Fig 4) disposed between the first arm and the second arm (as depicted in Figs 3-4) and that are engaged with each other (Fig 3); and a third connection gear and a fourth connection gear disposed between the third arm and the fourth arm and that are engaged with each other (same as first and second gears but on other side, Figs 3-4).
Kang disclose the claimed invention except for expressly teaching the first arm, the second arm, the third arm, and the fourth arm include gears respectively engaging with the first connection gear, the second connection gear, the third connection gear, and the fourth connection gear.
Liao however teaches a first arm (inner 123 on one side, Fig 7), the second arm (inner 123 on other side, Fig 7), the third arm (outer 123 on one side, Fig 7), and the fourth arm (outer 123 on other side, Fig 7) include gears (161, 162, Fig 17) respectively engaging with first connection gear (163, Fig 17), the second
connection gear (164, Fig 17), the third connection gear (163 on other side – not shown Fig 17), and the fourth connection gear (164 on other side - not shown, Fig 17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of the arms of Kang to include gears that engage the connection gears, respectively, as taught by Liao, in order to implement a smoother synchronous reverse rotation between the first folding body and the second folding body, thereby improving
functionality and reliability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 16-17, 21 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The dependent claims listed below, in combination with the remaining elements of the independent claim(s) from which they directly/indirectly depend, are not taught, or adequately suggested in the prior art of record.
Claim 4. The hinge of claim 3, wherein an end of each of the first elastic member, the second elastic member, and the third elastic member is in physical contact with the first sliding part, and another end of each of the first elastic member, the second elastic member, and the third elastic member is in physical contact with the second sliding part.
Claim 16. The foldable display device of claim 15, wherein: an end of each of the first elastic member, the second elastic member, and the third elastic member is supported by the first sliding part, and another end of each of the first elastic member, the second elastic member, and the third elastic member is supported by the second sliding part. *Claim 17 depends directly from claim 16 and is therefore allowable for at least the same reason.
Claim 21. The hinge of claim 1, wherein the first sliding part and the second sliding part are each configured to linearly move toward each other to compress the elastic member disposed therebetween.
Claim 22. The foldable display device of claim 11, wherein the first sliding part and the second sliding part are each configured to linearly move toward each other to compress the elastic member disposed therebetween.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Liao – US pat. 12,541,230; Figs 8, 9.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHEN E MORRISON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841