CTNF 18/457,438 CTNF 98020 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment The amendments filed on 12/22/2025 are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 1, 4, 5, 9, and 10 are amended and Claims 1-14 remain pending in the application. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Drawings The drawings filed on 08/29/2023 are acknowledged and accepted. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA PNG media_image1.png 708 929 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 512 786 media_image2.png Greyscale Claims 1-3, 5, 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentab le over Sugi yama (US 20120307329 A1, of record) in view of Kanazaw a (US 5,898,805A, of record) further in view of Tanaka (JP2004317724A, of record). With respect to Claim 1, Sugiyama discloses a scanning opt ical device comprising: a semiconductor laser (Fig. 4-- element 21A, semiconductor lasers; [0035]) configured to emit light ([0035]: 21 is configured to emit laser light (L1 to L4)); a coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) configured to convert the light emitted by the semiconductor laser (Fig. 4-- element 21A, semiconductor lasers; [0035]) into a light beam ([0036]: 22 is configured to converge and convert the laser light (L1 to L4) into a light flux); an optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) including a polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) configured (See Fig. 2, [0030], and [0040]) to deflect, in a main scanning direction, the light beam ([0036]: light flux) converted by the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]), the polygon mirror being rotatable about a rotation axis extending in a first direction (Fig. 1-- up direction); a scanning optical system (Fig. 2-- elements 50, 60, 72, and 73) configured to receive the light beam deflected by the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) and to form an image on an image surface (Fig. 2-- element D, surface of corresponding photoconductive body), the scanning optical system (Fig. 2-- elements 50, 60, 72, and 73) including a first scanning lens (Fig. 7—element 50, fθ lens; [0054]) that is the closest scanning lens to the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) in the scanning optical system (See Fig. 7 and [0119]—element 60c is the closest scanning lens to element 40); an optical sensor (Fig. 2-- element 80, light detection unit; [0032]); and a frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0050]) including: a first wall (Annotated Fig. 2-- First Wall) crossing a second direction (Fig. 1-- rear direction) perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 1-- up direction); a second wall (Fig. 2-- element 151, reinforcing wall; [0039]) crossing a third direction (Fig. 1-- down direction) perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 1-- up direction) and the second direction (Fig. 1-- rear direction), the main scanning direction being parallel to the third direction (Fig. 1-- down direction); a third wall (See annotated Fig. 3-- third wall) crossing the second direction (Fig. 1-- rear direction), the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) being located between the first wall (Annotated Fig. 2-- First Wall) and the third wall (See annotated Fig. 3-- third wall) in the second direction (Fig. 1-- rear direction); and a fourth wall (Fig. 1-- element 152, reinforcing wall; [0049]) crossing the third direction (Fig. 1-- down direction), the optical deflector being located between the second wall (Fig. 2-- element 151, reinforcing wall; [0039]) and the fourth wall (Fig. 1-- element 152, reinforcing wall; [0049]) in the third direction (Fig. 1-- down direction); a mount surface (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) on which the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) is mounted, the mount surface (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) crossing the first direction (Fig. 1-- up direction); and wherein the first wall (Annotated Fig. 2-- First Wall), the second wall (Fig. 2-- element 151, reinforcing wall; [0039]), the third wall (See annotated Fig. 3-- third wall), the fourth wall (Fig. 1-- element 152, reinforcing wall; [0049]), and the mount surface (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]), define a space in which the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) is accommodated, wherein the first wall (Annotated Fig. 2-- First Wall) partitions the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) from a part of the scanning optical system (Fig. 2-- elements 50, 60, 72, and 73), wherein the third wall (See annotated Fig. 3-- third wall) partitions the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) from another part of the scanning optical system (Fig. 2-- elements 50, 60, 72, and 73), wherein the space contains no lens or mirror (Fig. 3—there are not lenses or mirrors other than element 40 in between element 162 and the first wall) other than the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]), wherein the first wall (Annotated Fig. 2-- First Wall) has a first opening (Annotated Fig. 1-- First Opening) and a second opening (Fig. 1—space underneath 73B where light passes through to reach element 50) that is apart from the first opening (Annotated Fig. 1-- First Opening) in the third direction (Fig. 1-- down direction) (Fig. 3—the space underneath element 73B and element 50 are both along the scanning beam path), the first opening (Annotated Fig. 1-- First Opening) and the second opening (Fig. 1—space underneath 73B where light passes through to reach element 50) being arranged in the third direction (Fig. 1-- down direction), wherein the first opening (Fig. 7—element 115, lens holding portion; [0075]) is an opening through which the light beam directed from the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) toward the scanning optical system (Fig. 2-- elements 50, 60, 72, and 73) passes (See [0063]), the first scanning lens (Fig. 7—element 50, fθ lens; [0054]) being fitted into the first opening (Annotated Fig. 1-- First Opening) so as to close (Fig. 7—element 115 creates a gap which is covered by element 60C) the first opening (Fig. 7—element 115, lens holding portion; [0075]). Sugiyama does not disclose a window member configured to transmit the light beam deflected by the optical deflector toward the optical sensor; and wherein the second opening is an opening through which the light beam directed from the optical deflector toward the optical sensor passes, wherein the window member is fitted into the second opening so as to close the second opening; and a deflector cover configured to cover the optical deflector on a side opposite to the mount surface, and the deflector cover defines a space in which the optical deflector is accommodated. Sugiyama and Kanazawa are related as both pertaining to the field of scanning optical devices. Kanazawa discloses a scanning optical device comprising a window member (Fig. 1—element 375, cover glass; col. 4, line 13) configured to transmit the light beam (Fig. 1—main flux) deflected by the optical deflector (Fig. 1—element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17) toward the optical sensor (Fig. 1—element 220, synchronization sensor system; Col. 5, Line 18); and wherein the and a second opening (Fig. 1—element 373e, optical path opening; Col. 4, Line 14) is an opening through which the light beam (Fig. 1—main flux) directed from the optical deflector (Fig. 1—element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17) toward the optical sensor (Fig. 1—element 220, synchronization sensor system; Col. 5, Line 18) passes (Fig. 1 and Col. 4—light is deflected by 180 and exits through element 375 towards 220), wherein the window member (Fig. 1—element 375, cover glass; col. 4, line 13) is fitted (Fig. 1—element 375 is disposed in element 373e and closes the opening) into the second opening (Fig. 1—element 373e, optical path opening; Col. 4, Line 14) so as to close the second opening (Fig. 1—element 373e, optical path opening; Col. 4, Line 14); and a deflector cover (Fig. 1-element 373, polygon cover; Col. 4, Line 13) configured to cover the optical deflector (Fig. 1-element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17) on a side opposite (Fig. 1-element 373 covers the surface of element 180 that is not in contact with element 1) to the mount surface (Fig. 1-element 1, casing: Col. 2, Line 67), and the deflector cover (Fig. 1-element 373, polygon cover; Col. 4, Line 13) defines a space in which the optical deflector (Fig. 1-element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17) is accommodated Fig. 1—element 180 is within element 373). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Sugiyama with the second opening of Kanazawa in order to create a device which can utilize a cup-like polygon cover which can muffle the sound of rotating the mirror (Kanazawa, Col. 4, Lines 8-9). However, neither Sugiyama or Kanazawa discloses an optical sensor configured to detect the light beam that does not pass through the first scanning lens. Sugiyama, Kanazawa, Tanaka and are related as both pertaining to the field of scanning optical devices. Tanaka discloses an optical sensor (Fig. 1—element 19, synchronous detector; [0021]) configured to detect the light beam that does not pass through (See Fig. 1—element 19 detects light that has not passed through element 16) the first scanning lens (Fig. 1—element 16, ftheta lens, [0021]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combing the scanning optical device or Sugiyama and Kanazawa with the synchronous detector of Tanaka in order to create a device which may set more precise writing start position in the main scanning direction using the delay data collected from the synchronous detector (Tanaka, [0021]). With respect to Claim 2, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 1, Sugiyama further discloses a lens configured to condense the light beam on the optical sensor (Fig. 1-- element 30, cylindrical lenses; [0039]). Sugiyama and Kanazawa are related as both pertaining to the field of scanning optical devices. Sugiyama discloses a scanning optical device comprising a window member (Fig. 1—element 375, cover glass; col. 4, line 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Sugiyama with the window member of Kanazawa in order to create a device which can utilize a cup-like polygon cover which can muffle the sound of rotating the mirror (Kanazawa, Col. 4, Lines 8-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the cylindrical lenses of Sugiyama to the position of the cover glass of Kanazawa, since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Further, as seen in Fig 5 of Sugiyama, there are no elements between the scanning member 40 and the cylindrical lenses 30 which would be displaced by the rearrangement of element 30. With respect to Claim 3, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 1, Sugiyama does not further disclose wherein the window member has a flat-shaped entrance surface; and wherein the entrance surface is perpendicular to an optical path of the light beam directed from the optical deflector toward the optical sensor. Sugiyama and Kanazawa are related as both pertaining to the field of scanning optical devices. Kanazawa further discloses a scanning optical device wherein the window member (Fig. 1—element 375, cover glass; col. 4, line 13) has a flat-shaped entrance surface (Fig. 1—element 375 has a flat face); and wherein the entrance surface is perpendicular (Fig. 1—the entrance surface of element 375 is perpendicular to the light beam) to an optical path of the light beam directed from the optical deflector (Fig. 1—element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17) toward the optical sensor (Fig. 1—element 220, synchronization sensor system; Col. 5, Line 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Sugiyama with the second opening of Kanazawa in order to create a device which can utilize a cup-like polygon cover which can muffle the sound of rotating the mirror (Kanazawa, Col. 4, Lines 8-9). With respect to Claim 5, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 1, Sugiyama further discloses comprising a condenser lens (Fig. 1-- element 30, cylindrical lenses; [0039]) configured to condense the light beam from the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) in a sub-scanning direction, wherein the second wall (Fig. 2-- element 151, reinforcing wall; [0039]) has a third opening (Fig. 1-- element 153, through-hole; [0063]) through which the light beam directed from the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) toward the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) passes; and wherein the third opening (Fig. 1-- element 153, through-hole; [0063]) is closed by the condenser lens (Fig. 1-- element 30, cylindrical lenses; [0039]). PNG media_image3.png 473 658 media_image3.png Greyscale With respect to Claim 7, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 5, Sugiyama further discloses wherein the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0050]) includes an aperture plate (See annotated Fig. 4 of Sugiyama-- aperture plate) located between (Figs. 1 and 4—element 151 is between elements 22 and 30) the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) and the condenser lens (Fig. 1-- element 30, cylindrical lenses; [0039]), the aperture plate (See annotated Fig. 4 of Sugiyama-- aperture plate) having a stop aperture (Fig. 4-- element 134, pass opening; [0058]) through which the light beam passes; and wherein the condenser lens (Fig. 1-- element 30, cylindrical lenses; [0039]) is sandwiched between (Fig. 1-- element 30 is between the second wall and element 151) the second wall (Fig. 2-- element 151, reinforcing wall; [0039]) and the aperture plate (See annotated Fig. 4 of Sugiyama-- aperture plate). With respect to Claim 8, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 5, Sugiyama further discloses wherein the condenser lens (Fig. 1-- element 30, cylindrical lenses; [0039]) includes a rib (Fig 2—element 30 is attached similarly to the case using a part similar to 23; [0082]: element 30 is attached to the casing 100) protruding in a traveling direction of the light beam that is incident on the condenser lens (Fig. 1-- element 30, cylindrical lenses; [0039]), the rib (Fig 2—element 30 is attached similarly to the case using a part similar to 23; [0082]: element 30 is attached to the casing 100) being in contact (Fig 2—the element holding element 30 appears to be in contact with element 151) with the second wall (Fig. 2-- element 151, reinforcing wall; [0039]). With respect to Claim 9, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 1, Sugiyama further discloses comprising: the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) on the mount surface (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]); and an optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) located beside the scanning lens (Fig. 7—element 50, fθ lens; [0054]). Sugiyama does not disclose a seal member and the deflector cover. PNG media_image4.png 685 984 media_image4.png Greyscale Sugiyama and Kanazawa are related as both pertaining to the field of scanning optical devices. Kanazawa further discloses a scanning optical device comprising: a seal member (See annotated Fig. 1 of Kanazawa—seal member) and the deflector cover (Fig. 1—element 373, polygon cover; Col. 4, Line 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Sugiyama with the polygon cover of Kanazawa in order to create a device which can utilize a cup-like polygon cover which can muffle the sound of rotating the mirror (Kanazawa, Col. 4, Lines 8-9). With respect to Claim 10, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 1, Sugiyama further discloses wherein the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0050]) includes: a first base wall (Fig. 3-- element 112, supporting wall; [0050]) crossing the first direction (Fig. 1-- up direction), the first base wall (Fig. 3-- element 112, supporting wall; [0050]) having the mount surface (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]), the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) being attached to the first base wall (Fig. 3-- element 112, supporting wall; [0050]) (Fig. 3—element 112 extends perpendicularly to the rotation axis of element 40 and element 40 is attached to element 112 via element 110); and a second base wall (Fig. 3-- element 111, supporting wall; [0051]) crossing the first direction (Fig. 1-- up direction), the second base wall (Fig. 3-- element 111, supporting wall; [0051]) being located at a position shifted to one side in the first direction (Fig. 1-- up direction) with respect to the first base wall (Fig. 3-- element 112, supporting wall; [0050]) (Fig. 3—element 111 extends perpendicularly to the rotation axis of element 40 to the side of element 112); wherein the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) is located on the one side in the first direction (Fig. 1-- up direction) (Fig. 3—element 112 extends perpendicularly and to the left to the rotation axis of element 40) with respect to the first base wall (Fig. 3-- element 112, supporting wall; [0050]); and wherein the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) is located on another side in the first direction (Fig. 1-- up direction) (Fig. 4—element 22 is located perpendicularly and to the left to the rotation axis of element 40) with respect to the PNG media_image5.png 589 723 media_image5.png Greyscale second base wall (Fig. 3-- element 111, supporting wall; [0051]). With respect to Claim 11, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 10, Sugiyama further discloses wherein the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0050]) has a first recess (See annotated Fig 1 of Sugiyama-- first recess) and a second recess (See annotated Fig 1 of Sugiyama-- second recess), the first recess (See annotated Fig 1 of Sugiyama-- first recess) opening on one side in the first direction (Fig. 1-- up direction) (Fig 1—the first recess is open in the up direction, according to the provided compass in Fig 1), the second recess (See annotated Fig 1 of Sugiyama-- second recess) opening on another side in the first direction (Fig. 1-- up direction) (Fig 1—the second recess is open in the front direction, according to the provided compass in Fig 1), wherein the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) is disposed (Fig 1—element 40 is disposed in the first recess) in the first recess (See annotated Fig 1 of Sugiyama-- first recess); and wherein the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) is disposed (Fig 4—element 22 is disposed in the second recess) in the second recess (See annotated Fig 1 of Sugiyama-- second recess) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 12 is reje cted under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugi yama (US 20120307329 A1, of record) in view of Kanazawa (US 5,898,805A, of record) in view of Tanaka (JP 2004317724 A, of record) further in view of Itami (US 20140204166 A1, of record). With respect to Claim 12, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 1, Sugiyama further discloses the image surface (Fig. 2-- element D, surface of corresponding photoconductive body) and the optical sensor (Fig. 2-- element 80, light detection unit; [0032]). Sugiyama and Kanazawa do not disclose wherein the image surface is a circumferential surface of a photosensitive drum provided in an image forming apparatus; and wherein the optical sensor is for determining a writing position of the light beam with respect to the photosensitive drum. Sugiyama, Kanazawa, Tanaka, and Itami are related as all pertaining to the field of optical scanning apparatuses. Itami discloses a scanning optical device wherein the image surface (Fig 1—elements 2030a-d, photosensitive drum; [0059]) is a circumferential surface of a photosensitive drum (Fig 1—element 2030, photosensitive drum; [0059]) provided in an image forming apparatus (Fig 1—element 1001, main body apparatus; [0060]); and wherein the optical sensor ([0209]: synchronization detecting unit) is for determining a writing position ([0203]: a region in which an image is written by the optical scanning will be called an "image writing region”) of the light beam with respect to the photosensitive drum (Fig 1—element 2030, photosensitive drum; [0059]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Sugiyama and Kanazawa with the image forming apparatus of Itami on order to create a device which is capable of printing multicolor images (Itami, [0059] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 13 is rej ecte d under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyam a (US 20120307329 A1, of record) in view of Kanazawa (US 5,898,805A, of record) in view of Tanaka (JP 2004317724 A, of record) further in view of Igarashi (US 20170031266 A1, of record). With res pect to Claim 13, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 1, Sugiyama further discloses comprising a circuit board (Fig 7—element 82, circuit board; [0073]) located on a side opposite (Fig 7—element 82 is located on the opposite side of element 120 than element 40) to the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) with respect to the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) in the main scanning direction, wherein the optical sensor (Fig. 2-- element 80, light detection unit; [0032]) are mounted ([0073]: 80 is mounted on element 82) to the circuit board (Fig 7—element 82, circuit board; [0073]). Sugiyama, Kanazawa, Tanaka, and Igarashi are related as all pertaining to the field of optical scanning apparatuses. Igarashi discloses an optical scanning device comprising a laser circuit board (Fig 1— substrate; [0028]), wherein the semiconductor laser (Fig 1—element L, light source; [0029]) and the optical sensor (Fig 1—element 8, light receiving unit; [0029]) are mounted ([0029]: elements L and 8 are arranged on the same substrate) to the laser circuit board (Fig 1—substrate; [0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Sugiyama and Kanazawa with the laser package of Igarashi in order to create a device which may decrease the number or parts necessary to integrate the light receiving unit and light source (Igarashi, [0086]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to Claim 4, neither Sugiyama, Kanazawa, Tanaka nor any combination of the other closest prior art discloses Hpwewherein the deflector cover includes a rib overlapping the first wall when viewed from a traveling direction of the light beam that is incident on the scanning lens and in combination with all other claimed limitations of Claim 1. With respect to Claim 6, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 5, and Sugiyama further discloses the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]). However, neither Sugiyama, Kanazawa, Tanaka, nor any combination of the other closest prior art discloses wherein comprising a coupling-lens cover configured to cover the coupling lens, the coupling-lens cover includes a rib overlapping the second wall when viewed from a traveling direction of the light beam that is incident on the condenser lens and in combination with all other claimed limitations of Claim 5 . 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim 14 is allowed. With respect to Claim 14, Sugiyama discloses a scanning optical device comprising: a semiconductor laser (Fig. 4-- element 21A, semiconductor lasers; [0035]) configured to emit light ([0035]: 21 is configured to emit laser light (L1 to L4)); a coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) configured to convert the light emitted by the semiconductor laser (Fig. 4-- element 21A, semiconductor lasers; [0035]) into a light beam ([0036]: 22 is configured to converge and convert the laser light (L1 to L4) into a light flux); an optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) including a polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) configured (See Fig. 2, [0030], and [0040]) to deflect, in a main scanning direction, the light beam ([0036]: light flux) converted by the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]); a scanning optical system (Fig. 2-- elements 50, 60, 72, and 73) configured to receive the light beam deflected by the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) and to form an image on an image surface (Fig. 2-- element D, surface of corresponding photoconductive body); a frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0050]) having a mount surface (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) on which the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) is mounted; and the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0050]) including a first wall (Annotated Fig. 2-- First Wall) having a first opening (Annotated Fig. 1-- First Opening) through which the light beam directed from the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) toward the scanning optical system passes (See [0063] and a second opening (Fig. 1—space underneath 73B where light passes through to reach element 50), the first opening (Annotated Fig. 1-- First Opening) being closed (Fig. 7—element 115 is closed by element 60C) by a closest scanning lens (Fig. 7—element 50, fθ lens; [0054]) to the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) in the scanning optical system. Sugiyama does not disclose a window member configured to transmit the light beam deflected by the optical deflector toward the optical sensor; and an optical sensor configured to detect the light beam that passes through the window member a deflector cover configured to cover the optical deflector on a side opposite to the mount surface, a second opening through which the light beam directed from the optical deflector toward the optical sensor passes, the second opening being closed by the window member. Sugiyama and Kanazawa are related as both pertaining to the field of scanning optical devices. Kanazawa discloses a scanning optical device comprising a window member (Fig. 1—element 375, cover glass; col. 4, line 13) configured to transmit the light beam (Fig. 1—main flux) deflected by the optical deflector (Fig. 1—element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17); an optical sensor (Fig. 1—element 220, synchronization sensor system; Col. 5, Line 18) configured to detect the light (Fig. 1—main flux) beam that passes through the window member (Fig. 1—element 375, cover glass; col. 4, line 13); a deflector cover (Fig. 1—element 373, polygon cover; Col. 4, Line 13) configured to cover the optical deflector (Fig. 1—element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17) on a side opposite (Fig. 1—element 373 covers the surface of element 180 that is not in contact with element 1) to the mount surface (Fig. 1—element 1, casing: Col. 2, Line 67) a second opening (Fig. 1—element 373e, optical path opening; Col. 4, Line 14) through which the light beam (Fig. 1—main flux) directed from the optical deflector (Fig. 1—element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17) toward the optical sensor (Fig. 1— element 220, synchronization sensor system; Col. 5, Line 18) passes (Fig. 1 and Col. 4—light is deflected by 180 and exits through element 375 towards 220), the second opening (Fig. 1—element 373e, optical path opening; Col. 4, Line 14) being closed by the window member (Fig. 1—element 375, cover glass; col. 4, line 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Sugiyama with the second opening of Kanazawa in order to create a device which can utilize a cup-like polygon cover which can muffle the sound of rotating the mirror (Kanazawa, Col. 4, Lines 8-9). However, neither Sugiyama, Kanazawa, Tanaka nor any combination of the other closest prior art discloses Hpwewherein the deflector cover includes a rib overlapping the first wall when viewed from a traveling direction of the light beam that is incident on the scanning lens and in combination with all other claimed limitations of Claim 14. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 5/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that Sugiyama does not disclose the feature that the first scanning lens is fitted into the first opening of the first wall that defines a space accommodating only the optical deflector, as recited in amended claim 1. The first wall as disclosed in the annotated Fig. 1 of Sugiyama above has an opening which is closed by element 50 and the first wall defines a space accommodating only element 40 and no other optical elements. Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that the third wall must be defined as is in the annotated Fig. 1 of Sugiyama as disclosed by the Applicant in the agenda for the May 19, 2026 interview. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., third wall is characterized by the wall having the cylindrical lens) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns , 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The third wall is claimed as “a third wall crossing the second direction, the optical deflector being located between the first wall and the third wall in the second direction… the third wall, the fourth wall, the mount surface, and the deflector cover define a space in which the optical deflector is accommodated…wherein the third wall partitions the optical deflector from another part of the scanning optical system”; therefore, there is no requirement for the third wall to include the cylindrical lens. Examiner maps the third wall as defined in the annotated Fig. 3 of Sugiyama above. As defined by the Examiner, the third wall meets all claimed limitations including “wherein the third wall partitions the optical deflector from another part of the scanning optical system, wherein the space contains no lens or mirror other than the polygon mirror” as there are no other optical elements disposed between the first wall and the third wall. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MACKENZI BOURQUINE whose telephone number is (571)272-5956. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30 - 4:30 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Pinping Sun can be reached at (571) 270-1284. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MACKENZI WADDELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 /WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 2 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 3 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 4 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 5 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 6 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 7 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 8 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 9 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 10 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 11 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 12 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 13 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 14 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 15 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 16 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 17 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 18 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 19 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 20 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 21 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 22 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/457,438 Page 23 Art Unit: 2872