DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 12/22/2025 are acknowledged and accepted. Claim 1 is amended, Claim 14 has been added, and Claims 1-14 remain pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 08/29/2023 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama (US 20120307329 A1) in view of Kanazawa (US 5,898,805A).
With respect to Claim 1, Sugiyama discloses a scanning optical device comprising:
a semiconductor laser (Fig. 4-- element 21A, semiconductor lasers; [0035]) configured to emit light ([0035]: 21 is configured to emit laser light (L1 to L4));
a coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) configured to convert the light emitted by the semiconductor laser (Fig. 4-- element 21A, semiconductor lasers; [0035]) into a light beam ([0036]: 22 is configured to converge and convert the laser light (L1 to L4) into a light flux);
an optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) including a polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) configured (See Fig. 2, [0030], and [0040]) to deflect, in a main scanning direction, the light beam ([0036]: light flux) converted by the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]);
a scanning optical system (Fig. 2-- elements 50, 60, 72, and 73) configured to receive the light beam deflected by the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) and to form an image on an image surface (Fig. 2-- element D, surface of corresponding photoconductive body), the scanning optical system (Fig. 2-- elements 50, 60, 72, and 73) including a first scanning lens (Fig. 7—element 60C, second cylindrical lens; [0019]) that is the closest scanning lens to the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) in the scanning optical system (See Fig. 7 and [0119]—element 60c is the closest scanning lens to element 40);
an optical sensor (Fig. 2-- element 80, light detection unit; [0032]); and
a frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0050]) having a mount surface (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) on which the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) is mounted,
the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0050]) including a first wall (Fig. 2-- element 162, reinforcing portion; [0049]) having a first opening (Fig. 1—element 115, lens holding portion; [0075]) and a second opening (Fig. 1—space underneath 73A where light passes through to reach element 50) that is apart from the first opening (Fig. 1—element 115, lens holding portion; [0075]) in the main scanning direction (Fig.; 3—the space underneath element 73A and element 50 are both along the scanning beam path),
wherein the first opening (Fig. 7—element 115, lens holding portion; [0075]) is an opening through which the light beam directed from the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) toward the scanning optical system (Fig. 2-- elements 50, 60, 72, and 73) passes (See [0063]), the first opening (Fig. 7—element 115, lens holding portion; [0075]) being closed (Fig. 7—element 115 is closed by element 60C) by the first scanning lens (Fig. 7—element 60C, second cylindrical lens; [0019]).
Sugiyama does not disclose a window member configured to transmit the light beam deflected by the optical deflector toward the optical sensor; and
wherein the second opening is an opening through which the light beam directed from the optical deflector toward the optical sensor passes,
the second opening being closed by the window member.
Sugiyama and Kanazawa are related as both pertaining to the field of scanning optical devices. Kanazawa discloses a scanning optical device comprising a window member (Fig. 1—element 375, cover glass; col. 4, line 13) configured to transmit the light beam (Fig. 1—main flux) deflected by the optical deflector (Fig. 1—element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17) toward the optical sensor (Fig. 1—element 220, synchronization sensor system; Col. 5, Line 18); and
wherein the and a second opening (Fig. 1—element 373e, optical path opening; Col. 4, Line 14) is an opening through which the light beam (Fig. 1—main flux) directed from the optical deflector (Fig. 1—element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17) toward the optical sensor (Fig. 1—element 220, synchronization sensor system; Col. 5, Line 18) passes (Fig. 1 and Col. 4—light is deflected by 180 and exits through element 375 towards 220),
the second opening (Fig. 1—element 373e, optical path opening; Col. 4, Line 14) being closed by the window member (Fig. 1—element 375, cover glass; col. 4, line 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Sugiyama with the second opening of Kanazawa in order to create a device which can utilize a cup-like polygon cover which can muffle the sound of rotating the mirror (Kanazawa, Col. 4, Lines 8-9).
However, neither Sugiyama or Kanazawa discloses an optical sensor configured to detect the light beam that does not pass through the first scanning lens.
Sugiyama, Kanazawa, Tanaka and are related as both pertaining to the field of scanning optical devices. Tanaka discloses an optical sensor (Fig. 1—element 19, synchronous detector; [0021]) configured to detect the light beam that does not pass through (See Fig. 1—element 19 detects light that has not passed through element 16) the first scanning lens (Fig. 1—element 16, ftheta lens, [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combing the scanning optical device or Sugiyama and Kanazawa with the synchronous detector of Tanaka in order to create a device which may set more precise writing start position in the main scanning direction using the delay data collected from the synchronous detector (Tanaka, [0021]).
With respect to Claim 2, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 1, Sugiyama further discloses a lens configured to condense the light beam on the optical sensor (Fig. 1-- element 30, cylindrical lenses; [0039]).
Sugiyama and Kanazawa are related as both pertaining to the field of scanning optical devices. Sugiyama discloses a scanning optical device comprising a window member (Fig. 1—element 375, cover glass; col. 4, line 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Sugiyama with the window member of Kanazawa in order to create a device which can utilize a cup-like polygon cover which can muffle the sound of rotating the mirror (Kanazawa, Col. 4, Lines 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the cylindrical lenses of Sugiyama to the position of the cover glass of Kanazawa, since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Further, as seen in Fig 5 of Sugiyama, there are no elements between the scanning member 40 and the cylindrical lenses 30 which would be displaced by the rearrangement of element 30.
With respect to Claim 3, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 1, Sugiyama does not further disclose wherein the window member has a flat-shaped entrance surface; and
wherein the entrance surface is perpendicular to an optical path of the light beam directed from the optical deflector toward the optical sensor.
Sugiyama and Kanazawa are related as both pertaining to the field of scanning optical devices. Kanazawa further discloses a scanning optical device wherein the window member (Fig. 1—element 375, cover glass; col. 4, line 13) has a flat-shaped entrance surface (Fig. 1—element 375 has a flat face); and
wherein the entrance surface is perpendicular (Fig. 1—the entrance surface of element 375 is perpendicular to the light beam) to an optical path of the light beam directed from the optical deflector (Fig. 1—element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17) toward the optical sensor (Fig. 1—element 220, synchronization sensor system; Col. 5, Line 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Sugiyama with the second opening of Kanazawa in order to create a device which can utilize a cup-like polygon cover which can muffle the sound of rotating the mirror (Kanazawa, Col. 4, Lines 8-9).
With respect to Claim 5, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 1, Sugiyama further discloses comprising a condenser lens (Fig. 1-- element 30, cylindrical lenses; [0039]) configured to condense the light beam from the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) in a sub-scanning direction,
wherein the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0050]) includes a second wall (Fig. 2-- element 151, reinforcing wall; [0039]) having a third opening (Fig. 1-- element 153, through-hole; [0063]) through which the light beam directed from the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) toward the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) passes; and
wherein the third opening (Fig. 1-- element 153, through-hole; [0063]) is closed by the condenser lens (Fig. 1-- element 30, cylindrical lenses; [0039]).
With respect to Claim 7, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 5, Sugiyama further discloses wherein the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0050]) includes an aperture plate (See annotated Fig. 4 of Sugiyama-- aperture plate) located between (Figs. 1 and 4—element 151 is between elements 22 and 30) the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) and the condenser lens (Fig. 1-- element 30, cylindrical lenses; [0039]), the aperture plate (See annotated Fig. 4 of Sugiyama-- aperture plate) having a stop aperture (Fig. 4-- element 134, pass opening; [0058]) through which the light beam passes; and
wherein the condenser lens (Fig. 1-- element 30, cylindrical lenses; [0039]) is sandwiched between (Fig. 1-- element 30 is between the second wall and element 151) the second wall (Fig. 2-- element 151, reinforcing wall; [0039]) and the aperture plate (See annotated Fig. 4 of Sugiyama-- aperture plate).
With respect to Claim 8, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 5, Sugiyama further discloses wherein the condenser lens (Fig. 1-- element 30, cylindrical lenses; [0039]) includes a rib (Fig 2—element 30 is attached similarly to the case using a part similar to 23; [0082]: element 30 is attached to the casing 100) protruding in a traveling direction of the light beam that is incident on the condenser lens (Fig. 1-- element 30, cylindrical lenses; [0039]), the rib (Fig 2—element 30 is attached similarly to the case using a part similar to 23; [0082]: element 30 is attached to the casing 100) being in contact (Fig 2—the element holding element 30 appears to be in contact with element 151) with the second wall (Fig. 2-- element 151, reinforcing wall; [0039]).
With respect to Claim 9, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 1, Sugiyama further discloses comprising:
the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) on the mount surface (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]); and an optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) located beside the scanning lens (Fig. 7—element 60C, second cylindrical lens; [0019]).
Sugiyama does not disclose a deflector cover configured to cover the optical deflector on a side opposite to the mount surface;
a seal member and the deflector cover.
Sugiyama and Kanazawa are related as both pertaining to the field of scanning optical devices. Kanazawa further discloses a scanning optical device comprising:
a deflector cover (Fig. 1—element 373, polygon cover; Col. 4, Line 13) configured to cover the optical deflector (Fig. 1—element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17) on a side opposite (Fig. 1—element 373 covers the surface of element 180 that is not in contact with element 1) to the mount surface (Fig. 1—element 1, casing: Col. 2, Line 67); and
a seal member (See annotated Fig. 1 of Kanazawa—seal member) and the deflector cover (Fig. 1—element 373, polygon cover; Col. 4, Line 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Sugiyama with the polygon cover of Kanazawa in order to create a device which can utilize a cup-like polygon cover which can muffle the sound of rotating the mirror (Kanazawa, Col. 4, Lines 8-9).
With respect to Claim 10, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 1, Sugiyama further discloses wherein the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0050]) includes:
a first base wall (Fig. 3-- element 112, supporting wall; [0050]) crossing a first direction along a rotation axis of the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]), the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) being attached to the first base wall (Fig. 3-- element 112, supporting wall; [0050]) (Fig. 3—element 112 extends perpendicularly to the rotation axis of element 40 and element 40 is attached to element 112 via element 110); and
a second base wall (Fig. 3-- element 111, supporting wall; [0051]) crossing the first direction, the second base wall (Fig. 3-- element 111, supporting wall; [0051]) being located at a position shifted to one side in the first direction with respect to the first base wall (Fig. 3-- element 112, supporting wall; [0050]) (Fig. 3—element 111 extends perpendicularly to the rotation axis of element 40 to the side of element 112);
wherein the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) is located on the one side in the first direction (Fig. 3—element 112 extends perpendicularly and to the left to the rotation axis of element 40) with respect to the first base wall (Fig. 3-- element 112, supporting wall; [0050]); and
wherein the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) is located on another side in the first direction (Fig. 4—element 22 is located perpendicularly and to the left to the rotation axis of element 40) with respect to the
second base wall (Fig. 3-- element 111, supporting wall; [0051]).
With respect to Claim 11, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 10, Sugiyama further discloses wherein the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0050]) has a first recess (See annotated Fig 1 of Sugiyama-- first recess) and a second recess (See annotated Fig 1 of Sugiyama-- second recess), the first recess (See annotated Fig 1 of Sugiyama-- first recess) opening on one side in the first direction (Fig 1—the first recess is open in the up direction, according to the provided compass in Fig 1), the second recess (See annotated Fig 1 of Sugiyama-- second recess) opening on another side in the first direction (Fig 1—the second recess is open in the front direction, according to the provided compass in Fig 1),
wherein the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) is disposed (Fig 1—element 40 is disposed in the first recess) in the first recess (See annotated Fig 1 of Sugiyama-- first recess); and
wherein the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) is disposed (Fig 4—element 22 is disposed in the second recess) in the second recess (See annotated Fig 1 of Sugiyama-- second recess).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama (US 20120307329 A1) in view of Kanazawa (US 5,898,805A) in view of Tanaka (JP 2004317724 A) further in view of Itami (US 20140204166 A1).
With respect to Claim 12, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 1, Sugiyama further discloses the image surface (Fig. 2-- element D, surface of corresponding photoconductive body) and the optical sensor (Fig. 2-- element 80, light detection unit; [0032]).
Sugiyama and Kanazawa do not disclose wherein the image surface is a circumferential surface of a photosensitive drum provided in an image forming apparatus; and
wherein the optical sensor is for determining a writing position of the light beam with respect to the photosensitive drum.
Sugiyama, Kanazawa, Tanaka, and Itami are related as all pertaining to the field of optical scanning apparatuses. Itami discloses a scanning optical device wherein the image surface (Fig 1—elements 2030a-d, photosensitive drum; [0059]) is a circumferential surface of a photosensitive drum (Fig 1—element 2030, photosensitive drum; [0059]) provided in an image forming apparatus (Fig 1—element 1001, main body apparatus; [0060]); and
wherein the optical sensor ([0209]: synchronization detecting unit) is for determining a writing position ([0203]: a region in which an image is written by the optical scanning will be called an "image writing region”) of the light beam with respect to the photosensitive drum (Fig 1—element 2030, photosensitive drum; [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Sugiyama and Kanazawa with the image forming apparatus of Itami on order to create a device which is capable of printing multicolor images (Itami, [0059].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama (US 20120307329 A1) in view of Kanazawa (US 5,898,805A) in view of Tanaka (JP 2004317724 A) further in view of Igarashi (US 20170031266 A1).
With respect to Claim 13, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 1, Sugiyama further discloses comprising a circuit board (Fig 7—element 82, circuit board; [0073]) located on a side opposite (Fig 7—element 82 is located on the opposite side of element 120 than element 40) to the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) with respect to the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) in the main scanning direction,
wherein the optical sensor (Fig. 2-- element 80, light detection unit; [0032]) are mounted ([0073]: 80 is mounted on element 82) to the circuit board (Fig 7—element 82, circuit board; [0073]).
Sugiyama, Kanazawa, Tanaka, and Igarashi are related as all pertaining to the field of optical scanning apparatuses. Igarashi discloses an optical scanning device comprising a laser circuit board (Fig 1— substrate; [0028]), wherein the semiconductor laser (Fig 1—element L, light source; [0029]) and the optical sensor (Fig 1—element 8, light receiving unit; [0029]) are mounted ([0029]: elements L and 8 are arranged on the same substrate) to the laser circuit board (Fig 1—substrate; [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Sugiyama and Kanazawa with the laser package of Igarashi in order to create a device which may decrease the number or parts necessary to integrate the light receiving unit and light source (Igarashi, [0086]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to Claim 4, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 1, Sugiyama further discloses comprising the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) on a side opposite to the mount surface (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]).
Sugiyama does disclose a deflector cover configured to cover the optical deflector on a side opposite to the mount surface. Sugiyama and Kanazawa are related as both pertaining to the field of scanning optical devices. Kanazawa further discloses a deflector cover (Fig. 1—element 373, polygon cover; Col. 4, Line 13) configured to cover the optical deflector (Fig. 1—element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17) on a side opposite (Fig. 1—element 373 covers the surface of element 180 that is not in contact with element 1) to the mount surface (Fig. 1—element 1, casing: Col. 2, Line 67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Sugiyama with the polygon cover of Kanazawa in order to create a device which can utilize a cup-like polygon cover which can muffle the sound of rotating the mirror (Kanazawa, Col. 4, Lines 8-9).
However, neither Sugiyama, Kanazawa, Tanaka nor any combination of the other closest prior art discloses Hpwewherein the deflector cover includes a rib overlapping the first wall when viewed from a traveling direction of the light beam that is incident on the scanning lens and in combination with all other claimed limitations of Claim 1.
With respect to Claim 6, Sugiyama, Kanazawa, and Tanaka disclose the scanning optical device according to claim 5, and Sugiyama further discloses the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]).
However, neither Sugiyama, Kanazawa, Tanaka, nor any combination of the other closest prior art discloses wherein comprising a coupling-lens cover configured to cover the coupling lens, the coupling-lens cover includes a rib overlapping the second wall when viewed from a traveling direction of the light beam that is incident on the condenser lens and in combination with all other claimed limitations of Claim 5.
Claim 14 is allowed.
With respect to Claim 14, Sugiyama discloses a scanning optical device comprising:
a semiconductor laser (Fig. 4-- element 21A, semiconductor lasers; [0035]) configured to emit light ([0035]: 21 is configured to emit laser light (L1 to L4));
a coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]) configured to convert the light emitted by the semiconductor laser (Fig. 4-- element 21A, semiconductor lasers; [0035]) into a light beam ([0036]: 22 is configured to converge and convert the laser light (L1 to L4) into a light flux);
an optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) including a polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) configured (See Fig. 2, [0030], and [0040]) to deflect, in a main scanning direction, the light beam ([0036]: light flux) converted by the coupling lens (Fig. 4-- element 22, collimating lens; [0036]);
a scanning optical system (Fig. 2-- elements 50, 60, 72, and 73) configured to receive the light beam deflected by the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) and to form an image on an image surface (Fig. 2-- element D, surface of corresponding photoconductive body);
a frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0050]) having a mount surface (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) on which the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) is mounted; and
the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0050]) including a first wall (Fig. 2-- element 162, reinforcing portion; [0049]) having a first opening (Fig. 1—element 115, lens holding portion; [0075]) through which the light beam directed from the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) toward the scanning optical system passes (See [0063] and a second opening (Fig. 1—space underneath 73A where light passes through to reach element 50),
the first opening (Fig. 1—element 115, lens holding portion; [0075]) being closed (Fig. 7—element 115 is closed by element 60C) by a closest scanning lens (Fig. 7—element 60C, second cylindrical lens; [0019]) to the optical deflector (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror and axle to rotate mirror; [0038]) in the scanning optical system.
Sugiyama does not disclose a window member configured to transmit the light beam deflected by the optical deflector toward the optical sensor; and
an optical sensor configured to detect the light beam that passes through the window member
a deflector cover configured to cover the optical deflector on a side opposite to the mount surface,
a second opening through which the light beam directed from the optical deflector toward the optical sensor passes,
the second opening being closed by the window member.
Sugiyama and Kanazawa are related as both pertaining to the field of scanning optical devices. Kanazawa discloses a scanning optical device comprising a window member (Fig. 1—element 375, cover glass; col. 4, line 13) configured to transmit the light beam (Fig. 1—main flux) deflected by the optical deflector (Fig. 1—element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17);
an optical sensor (Fig. 1—element 220, synchronization sensor system; Col. 5, Line 18) configured to detect the light (Fig. 1—main flux) beam that passes through the window member (Fig. 1—element 375, cover glass; col. 4, line 13);
a deflector cover (Fig. 1—element 373, polygon cover; Col. 4, Line 13) configured to cover the optical deflector (Fig. 1—element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17) on a side opposite (Fig. 1—element 373 covers the surface of element 180 that is not in contact with element 1) to the mount surface (Fig. 1—element 1, casing: Col. 2, Line 67)
a second opening (Fig. 1—element 373e, optical path opening; Col. 4, Line 14) through which the light beam (Fig. 1—main flux) directed from the optical deflector (Fig. 1—element 180, polygonal mirror; Col. 4, Line 17) toward the optical sensor (Fig. 1—element 220, synchronization sensor system; Col. 5, Line 18) passes (Fig. 1 and Col. 4—light is deflected by 180 and exits through element 375 towards 220),
the second opening (Fig. 1—element 373e, optical path opening; Col. 4, Line 14) being closed by the window member (Fig. 1—element 375, cover glass; col. 4, line 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Sugiyama with the second opening of Kanazawa in order to create a device which can utilize a cup-like polygon cover which can muffle the sound of rotating the mirror (Kanazawa, Col. 4, Lines 8-9).
However, neither Sugiyama, Kanazawa, Tanaka nor any combination of the other closest prior art discloses Hpwewherein the deflector cover includes a rib overlapping the first wall when viewed from a traveling direction of the light beam that is incident on the scanning lens and in combination with all other claimed limitations of Claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that the cylindrical lens 60 is not the scanning lens which is closest to optical deflector. Sugiyama discloses in [0119] that “the second cylindrical lenses 60 are exemplified as scanning lenses. However, instead of the second cylindrical lenses 60 , fθ lenses may be employed as scanning lenses”. Therefore, the fθ lenses 50 may only be used as a scanning lens when element 60 is not in use as a scanning lens. Thus, element 60 is the closest scanning lens to the optical deflector.
In response to applicant's argument that there is no evidence that Sugiyama modified by Kanazawa would teach or suggest the lens holding portion 115 of Sugiyama being apart in the main scanning direction from the optical path opening 373e formed at the side of the polygon cover 373, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Further, the holding potion 115 of Sugiyama is a lens holder which is positioned away from the space where a deflector cover would be positioned over element 40.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MACKENZI WADDELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872