DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action in response to the Amendment/Remarks received on 9 July 2026. Claims 1, 7, 8, 12, 15, and 18 have been amended. Claim 10 has been cancelled. Claim 21 has been newly added. Claims 12-20 were previously withdrawn. Claims 1-9 and 11-21 remain pending in this application. Claims 1-9, 11, and 21 have been examined on their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, pgs. 7-8, filed 9 July 2026, with respect to rejected claims 1-9 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicant’s argument,
As amended, claim 1 recites that the indication of the control mode sent to the power source "comprises at least one command configured to cause the power source to adjust an operational parameter of power output by the power source." This claim feature does not merely output data. It effectuates specific, concrete control over the operation of a physical power source. Commanding a physical machine to adjust an operational parameter of its electrical output is a particular technological action, not merely a mental process and not insignificant extra-solution activity.
Considered as a whole and in combination, claim 1 provides a specific technological improvement to the field of interfacing a power source with a power grid: the apparatus measures one or more parameters of the grid, determines a control mode of the power source on the basis of those measurements, and sends to the power source a command that causes the source to adjust its output. This is precisely the type of technical solution to a technical problem that integrates any alleged abstract idea into a practical application and imposes meaningful limits on its use. (see Remarks, pg. 7, paragraphs 3-4)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The newly presented limitation of “… wherein the indication of the control mode comprises at least one command configured to cause the power source to adjust an operational parameter of power output by the power source” has been interpreted as a shutdown command to turn off a power source, given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. Further, as set forth in the current 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claim 1, the newly presented limitation has been treated under step 2A, prong two and step 2B of the subject matter eligibility requirement. The limitation of “… wherein the indication of the control mode comprises at least one command configured to cause the power source to adjust an operational parameter of power output by the power source” is not more than a mere recitation of “apply it” (or equivalent) (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and MPEP 2106.04(d)(I)) that neither integrates the abstract idea into a practical application nor amounts to significantly more than the abstract for the rational set forth below. Hence, the applicant’s argument is found unpersuasive.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, pgs. 8-9, filed 9 July 2026, with respect to claim interpretation have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to the applicant’s argument,
For at least these reasons, it is respectfully submitted that the "when executed" language in the claims is appropriate and carries patentable weight. (see Remarks, pg. 9, paragraph 2)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
To clarify the examiner’s claim interpretation of “when executed” as set forth Non-Final Office Action mailed on 9 July 2026, the examiner maintains the limitation of “… instructions that … causes the apparatus to: determine …; and send …” has been interpreted as occurring during execution of the instructions by one or more processors per the recitation of “… when executed …”. Further, the examiner maintains each limitation was given patentable weight as set forth in the detailed Non-Final Office action mailed on 10 April 2026 which addressed each claim limitation presented in the claims as filed on 16 December 20256.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, pg. 9, filed 9 July 2026, with respect to Election Restriction Requirement have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicant’s argument,
The Office now contends that dependent claims 12-20 should be restricted for the same rationale set forth in the original restriction requirement. However, that rationale does not support the restriction of amended claims 12-20. The restriction rationale was premised on these being separate subcombinations with separate utility. But now that claims 12-20 depend from claim 1, claims 12-20 necessarily include all limitations of claim 1. They are no longer independent subcombinations capable of being practiced separately; they are simply more specific embodiments of the same apparatus invention. The "separate utility" rationale does not apply because claims 12-20 cannot be practiced without practicing claim 1. The basis for the restriction no longer exists and does not apply to the currently-pending claims.
Therefore, distinct from whether the original restriction was proper (which Applicant did not traverse), Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner reconsider whether maintaining the withdrawal of dependent claims 12-20 on the basis of the original restriction rationale is appropriate. (see Remarks, pg. 9, paragraphs 3-4)
The Examiner has further clarified the restriction/election requirement in light of the claim amendment (i.e. change of dependence of claim 12-20 to claim 1) filed on 16 December 2025 as follows:
Restriction to one of the following inventions remains required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims (1) and 2-11, drawn to determining a control mode of a power source based on one or more measured parameters of a power grid, classified in H02J 3/16.
II. Claims (1) and 12-17, drawn to enabling a transfer of power from a power source to a power grid via a device based on a determination that the power source is able to provide power in compliance with one or more grid regulations, classified in H02J 13/0006.
III. Claims (1) and 18-20, drawn to authenticating a power source capable of providing power in compliance with one or more power grid requirements, sending power to a power grid via a grid interface, and modifying the power sent to the power grid based on receipt of a second command from the grid interface device during transmission of power, classified in H02J 3/18.
It is noted that claim 1 is NOT considered to be a part of Groups I-III but has been shown as such parenthetically to more clearly communicate which claims were examined upon the applicant’s election of Group I without traverse as set forth in the Response to the Election/Restriction received by the Office on 16 December 2025.
The inventions remain independent or distinct, each from the other for the same rationales as set forth in the Restriction/Election Requirement mailed on 16 October 2025 because:
Inventions I and II are related as subcombinations disclosed as usable together in a single combination. The subcombinations are distinct if they do not overlap in scope and are not obvious variants, and if it is shown that at least one subcombination is separately usable. In the instant case, subcombination of Invention I has separate utility such as determining a control mode of a power source based on one or more measured parameters of a power grid to ensure stability in an operation of system loads by tailoring power delivery. Alternatively, the subcombination of Invention II has separate utility such as enabling a transfer of power from a power source to a power grid via a device based on a determination that the power source is able to provide power in compliance with one or more grid regulations to minimize environmental impact, increase operational efficiency, and lower operational costs. See MPEP § 806.05(d).
Inventions I and III are related as subcombinations disclosed as usable together in a single combination. The subcombinations are distinct if they do not overlap in scope and are not obvious variants, and if it is shown that at least one subcombination is separately usable. In the instant case, subcombination of Invention I has separate utility such as determining a control mode of a power source based on one or more measured parameters of a power grid to ensure stability in an operation of system loads by tailoring power delivery. Alternatively, the subcombination of Invention III has separate utility such as authenticating a power source capable of providing power in compliance with one or more power grid requirements, sending power to a power grid via a grid interface, and modifying the power sent to the power grid based on receipt of a second command from the grid interface device during transmission of power to provide enhanced security by preventing unauthorized access and malicious activity thereby ensuring operational reliability in a power system. See MPEP § 806.05(d).
Inventions II and III are related as subcombinations disclosed as usable together in a single combination. The subcombinations are distinct if they do not overlap in scope and are not obvious variants, and if it is shown that at least one subcombination is separately usable. In the instant case, subcombination of Invention II has separate utility such as enabling a transfer of power from a power source to a power grid via a device based on a determination that the power source is able to provide power in compliance with one or more grid regulations to minimize environmental impact, increase operational efficiency, and lower operational costs. Alternatively, the subcombination of Invention III has separate utility such as authenticating a power source capable of providing power in compliance with one or more power grid requirements, sending power to a power grid via a grid interface, and modifying the power sent to the power grid based on receipt of a second command from the grid interface device during transmission of power to provide enhanced security by preventing unauthorized access and malicious activity thereby ensuring operational reliability in a power system. See MPEP § 806.05(d).
Claim 1 link(s) inventions I-III. The restriction requirement between the linked inventions is subject to the nonallowance of the linking claim(s), claim 1. Upon the indication of allowability of the linking claim(s), the restriction requirement as to the linked inventions shall be withdrawn and any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable linking claim(s) will be rejoined and fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104 Claims that require all the limitations of an allowable linking claim will be entered as a matter of right if the amendment is presented prior to final rejection or allowance, whichever is earlier. Amendments submitted after final rejection are governed by 37 CFR 1.116; amendments submitted after allowance are governed by 37 CFR 1.312.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated remain proper for the same rationales as set forth in the Restriction/Election Requirement mailed on 16 October 2025 because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification (e.g. Invention I: H02J 3/16, Invention II: H02J 13/0006, and Invention III: H02J 3/18);
(b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries – e.g. Invention I: ((power electic$5 utlit$5 energy) NEAR3 (source storage vehicle) or generator battery) AND (energy power utility electric$5) WITH (supply$5 grid network) AND (monitor$5 measur$5 sensor detect$5 sensing) SAME (supply$5 grid network source) AND (operat$5 contro$5 regulat$5 ); and (communicat$5 broadcast$5 transm$6) WITH (data information datum measu$6 detail$5 collect$5 report$5 parameter) WITH ((power electic$5 utlit$5 energy) NEAR3 (source storage vehicle) OR generator battery) AND (connect$6 link$5 coupl$5 join$5) SAME (send$5 trans$8 pass$5 move moving forward$5 deliver$5 dispatch$5) WITH (energy power utility electric$5) WITH (supply$5 grid network source) AND (monitor$5 measur$5 sensor detect$5 sensing) WITH (supply$5 grid network source) AND (operat$5 contro$5 regulat$5 ) WITH (command rule manner mode procedure type polic$5 routine scheme); Invention II: (communicat$5 broadcast$5 transm$6) WITH (connect$6 link$5 coupl$5 join$5) SAME (energy power utility electric$5) WITH (supply$5 grid network source) AND (characteristic feature qualit$5 trait attribute propert$5 symptom$5 diagnos$5) SAME (compliance compl$7 conform$7 agree$5 abid$7 concur$7 adhear$6 approv$7) WITH (rule regulation$5 legislation requirement standard guideline statue ordinance norm protocol law directive polic$7); and (communicat$5 broadcast$5 transm$6) WITH (connect$6 link$5 coupl$5 join$5) SAME (energy power utility electric$5) WITH (supply$5 grid network source) SAME (characteristic feature qualit$5 trait attribute propert$5 symptom$5 diagnos$5) AND (energy power utility electric$5) WITH (supply$5 grid network source) SAME (characteristic feature qualit$5 trait attribute propert$5 symptom$5 diagnos$5) SAME (compliance compl$7 conform$7 agree$5 abid$7 concur$7 adhear$6 approv$7) SAME (energy power utility electric$5) WITH (supply$5 grid network) WITH (rule regulation$5 legislation requirement standard guideline statue ordinance norm protocol law directive polic$7); and Invention III: ((power electic$5 utlit$5 energy) NEAR3 (source storage vehicle) or generator battery) AND (energy power utility electric$5) WITH (supply$5 grid network) AND (authentic$5 certifi$7 verif$7 validat$6 affirm$6 guarant$6) SAME (compliance compl$7 conform$7 agree$5 abid$7 concur$7 adhear$6 approv$7) SAME (rule regulation$5 legislation requirement standard guideline statue ordinance norm protocol law directive polic$7) AND (send$5 transmit$5 transfer$5 communicat$5 dispatch$5 convey$5) WITH (command$5 operat$5 control$5 output$5 direction instruct$5 signal); and ((power electic$5 utlit$5 energy) NEAR3 (source storage vehicle) or generator battery) AND (energy power utility electric$5) WITH (supply$5 grid network) AND (authentic$5 certifi$7 verif$7 validat$6 affirm$6 guarant$6) WITH (compliance compl$7 conform$7 agree$5 abid$7 concur$7 adhear$6 approv$7) WITH (rule regulation$5 legislation requirement standard guideline statue ordinance norm protocol law directive polic$7) AND (send$5 transmit$5 transfer$5 communicat$5 dispatch$5 convey$5) WITH (command$5 operat$5 control$5 output$5 direction instruct$5 signal) SAME (energy power utility electric$5) WITH (supply$5 grid network) AND (updat$5 modif$7 chang$56 alter$5 adjust$5 adapt$5 revis$6) with (energy power utility electric$5).
Hence, the Election/Restriction Requirement is maintained for the rationales set forth above that were previously presented in the Election/Restriction Requirement mailed on 16 December 2025 for the inventions of Groups I-III. The Election/Restriction Requirement is made Final.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, pgs. 9-12, filed 9 July 2026, with respect to rejected claims 1-9 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendment filed on 9 July 2026. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as follows:
Claims 1-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0280432 A1 (hereinafter Lam) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0356618 A1 (hereinafter Belur) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0323386 A1 (hereinafter Ito).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam in view of Belur in further view of Ito and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0389314 A1 (hereinafter Zhu).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam in view of Belur in further view of Ito and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0166084 A1 (hereinafter Sedighy).
Claims 1-4 and 11 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and claims 1-9, 11 and 21 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1:
At step 1, the claim recites “an apparatus” comprising of concrete devices, and therefore is a machine, which is a statutory category of invention
At step 2A, prong one, the claim recites “determine, based on the one or more parameters of the power grid measured by the one or more sensors, a control mode of the power source”.
The limitation of “determine, based on the one or more parameters of the power grid measured by the one or more sensors, a control mode of the power source”, as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performing the limitation in the mind. Wherein, nothing in the claims precludes the step from being practically performed in the mind. For example, “determin(ing)” in the context of the claim encompasses an analysis data to obtain desired information. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2): The use of a physical aid (e.g., pencil and paper or a slide rule) to help perform a mental step (e.g., deriving new data) does not negate the mental nature of the limitation, but simply accounts for variations in memory capacity from one person to another.).
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
At step 2A, prong two, the claim recites; “a first connection configured to transfer power with a power grid”; “a second connection configured to communicate data with a power source”; “one or more sensors configured to measure one or more parameters of the power grid”; “one or more processors”; and “memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors”; and “send, via the second connection and to the power source, an indication of the control mode, wherein the indication of the control mode comprises at least one command configured to cause the power source to adjust an operational parameter of power output by the power source”.
The limitations of “one or more processors” and “memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors” are recited at a high level of generality and recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer component (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations of “a first connection configured to transfer power with a power grid” and “a second connection configured to communicate data with a power source” are generally recited at a high level of generality and merely limit the abstract idea to a field of use. The courts have found “a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible ‘simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use.’ Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.” (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The limitation of “one or more sensors configured to measure one or more parameters of the power grid” is recited at a high level of generality and represents a mere means for data gathering (i.e. measured one or more parameters) that is necessary for use of the recited judicial exception, as the gathering data is used in the abstract mathematical concept of “determine”. The use of the “one or more sensors …” is therefore an insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation of “send … an indication of the control mode …” represents the mere output of data. The limitation of “send” is recited at a high level of generally and recited so generically it represents no more than an insignificant extra-solution activity of outputting data (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation of “… wherein the indication of the control mode comprises at least one command configured to cause the power source to adjust an operational parameter of power output by the power source” (Examiner’s Note: i.e. “… cause the power source to adjust” has been interpreted as shutdown (i.e. turning off), given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification (see U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0072544 A1: pg. 9, par. [0092]) is a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent). “As explained by the Supreme Court, in order to make a claim directed to a judicial exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do "‘more than simply stat[e] the [judicial exception] while adding the words ‘apply it’". Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965).” (see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Accordingly, these additional elements neither individually nor in combination integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
At step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As previously discussed with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the addition of the elements of “one or more processors” and “memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors”, amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “Courts have held computer‐implemented processes not to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus ineligible) where the claim as a whole amounts to nothing more than generic computer functions merely used to implement an abstract idea, such as an idea that could be done by a human analog (i.e., by hand or by merely thinking).”
The limitations of “a first connection configured to transfer power with a power grid” and “a second connection configured to communicate data with a power source” merely limit the abstract idea to a field of use. Wherein, limiting the invention to a field of use cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible. (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The limitation of “one or more sensors configured to measure one or more parameters of the power grid”, as discussed above, represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering. Further, the limitation is well-understood, routine and conventional; wherein the courts have found limitations directed to obtaining data, recited at high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “storing and retrieving information in memory”.
The limitation of “send … an indication of the control mode”, as discussed above, represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of outputting data. Further, the limitations are well-understood, routine and conventional; wherein the courts have found limitations directed to outputting data, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), presenting offers and gathering statistics.
The limitation of “… wherein the indication of the control mode comprises at least one command configured to cause the power source to adjust an operational parameter of power output by the power source” (Examiner’s Note: i.e. “… cause the power source to adjust” has been interpreted as shutdown (i.e. turning off), given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification (see U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0072544 A1: pg. 9, par. [0092]) represents an equivalent recitation of the phrase “apply it”, wherein the courts have identified limitations that “(m)erely recit(e) the words ‘apply it’ (or an equivalent)” with the judicial exception cannot provide an inventive concept …”. (see MPEP 2106.04(d)(I)).
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 2:
The limitations of “… a plurality of control modes comprising: a first control mode associated with the power source sending power via the apparatus; and a second control mode associated with the power source receiving power from the power grid via the apparatus” merely further detail “… the control mode …” of claim 1; and hence, the claim is rejected under the same rational as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 3:
The limitation of “… the first control mode is associated with the power source sending power to the power grid” merely further details “… the control mode of a power source” of claim 1; and hence, the claim is rejected under the same rational as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 4:
The limitation of “… one or more of an electric vehicle or a battery” merely further details “a power source” of claim 1; and hence, the claim is rejected under the same rational as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 11:
The limitation of “… on one or both of a geographical location of the apparatus or a geographical location of the power source” of claim 1 merely further details “determine … a control mode” of claim 1; and hence, the claim is rejected under the same rational as set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0280432 A1 (hereinafter Lam) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0356618 A1 (hereinafter Belur) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0323386 A1 (hereinafter Ito).
As per claim 1, Lam substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. discloses an apparatus (Fig. 3, element 18; i.e. power switching unit) comprising:
a first connection (Fig. 3, element 20; i.e. power grid port) configured to transfer power with a power grid (pg. 2, par. [0028]; i.e. “The ability to switch the source of power to the home 14 is made possible by the power switching unit 18, which includes a power grid port 20 connectable to the power grid 12, a vehicle port 22 connectable to a vehicle power network 24 associated with the vehicle 16, and a home port 26 connectable to a home power network 28 associated with the home 14.”);
a second connection (Fig. 3, element 22; i.e. vehicle port) configured to communicate data with a power source (pg. 2, par. [0028]; i.e. “The ability to switch the source of power to the home 14 is made possible by the power switching unit 18, which includes a power grid port 20 connectable to the power grid 12, a vehicle port 22 connectable to a vehicle power network 24 associated with the vehicle 16, and a home port 26 connectable to a home power network 28 associated with the home 14.”);
one or more sensors (Fig. 3, element 34; i.e. power grid sensor) configured to measure one or more parameters of the power grid (pg. 3, par. [0032]; i.e. “The power grid sensor 34 may be integrated into the power grid port 20 or may be formed separate from the power grid port 20. The power grid sensor 34 is in communication with the controller 32 to provide the controller 32 with status information regarding power received from the grid 12.”);
one or more processors (pg. 3, par. [0032] and Fig. 3, element 32; i.e. “Operation of the switch 30 may be controlled by a controller 32, which is in communication with the switch 30, the ports 20, 22, 26, as well as various input devices and sensor(s), as will be explained below.”); and
determine, based on the one or more parameters of the power grid measured by the one or more sensors, a control mode of the power source (pg. 3, par. [0032]; i.e. ; and
send, via the second connection and to a device (Fig. 3, element 30; i.e. a switch), an indication of the control mode (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the first position, the switch 30 places the grid port 20 in electrical communication with the vehicle port 22 and the home port 26 to enable the power grid 12 to provide power to the vehicle power network 24 and the home power network 28. In the second position, the switch 30 places the vehicle port 22 in electrical communication with the home port 26, to allow the electric vehicle 16 to provide power to the home port 26.” and [0032]: “In particular, when power is received from the power grid 12, the power grid sensor 34 detects the power and generates a POWER RECEIVED signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. If the sensor 34 detects a loss of power, the sensor 34 generates a NO POWER signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. When the controller 32 receives the POWER RECEIVED signal, the controller 32 generates a FIRST POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30. The switch 30 is configured to assume the first position in response to receipt of the FIRST POSITION command signal. When the controller 32 receives the NO POWER signal from the power grid sensor 34, the controller 32 generates a SECOND POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30.”).
Not explicitly taught is a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors; and
send, via the second connection and to the power source, an indication of the control mode, wherein the indication of the control mode comprises at least one command configured to cause the power source to adjust an operational parameter of power output by the power source.
However Belur, in an analogous art of power systems electric vehicles (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the missing limitation of a memory (Fig. 3, element 330) storing instructions that are executed by one or more processors (pg. 4, par. [0033]-[0038] and Fig. 3, element 320) for the purpose of performing operations/functions of an energy management system (pg. 4, par. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam to include the missing limitation of a memory storing instructions that are executed by one or more processors to provide a user with an benefit/incentive for a product or service related to the user’s electric vehicle (Belur: pg. 5, par. [0045]).
Lam in view of Belur does not expressly teach send, to the power source, an indication of the control mode, wherein the indication of the control mode comprises at least one command configured to cause the power source to adjust an operational parameter of power output by the power source.
However Ito, in an analogous art of an electric power system (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of send, to a power source (Fig. 1, element 20; i.e. a vehicle), an indication of a control mode, wherein the indication of the control mode comprises at least one command configured to cause the power source to adjust an operational parameter of power output by the power source (pg. 3, par. [0040], [0042] and [0043]; i.e. [0040]: “The vehicle 20 has a connector, such as inlet, to couple with the charge-discharge connector 29. … When the in-vehicle battery 14 is charging, the alternating current is supplied to the connector, and the in-vehicle charge-discharge apparatus converts the electric power into the direct current for charging the in-vehicle battery 14. On the other hand, when discharging the in-vehicle battery 14, the direct current stored in the in-vehicle battery 14 is converted by the discharge PCS 17 into the alternating current for discharging to the charge power line 27”; [0042]: “The operation display 19 includes a display unit 31 that serves as a notification unit and an operation switch 32 for controlling each component. … Further, by operating the operation switch 32, an electrical storage instruction to each of the batteries 24a, 24b, a charge instruction to the in-vehicle battery 14, as well as various settings, are transmitted and/or performed.”; and [0043]: “The controller 18 has a function of the consumption control unit for controlling each component. The controller 18 is coupled to each component through LAN just like the operation display 19. The controller 18 provides to each component a control instruction according to instructions provided by the operation switch 32 of the operation display 19 for the operation of each component.”) for the purpose of controlling an operation of a vehicle (pg. 3, par. [0042] and [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam in view of Belur to include the missing limitation of send, to a power source, an indication of a control mode, wherein the indication of the control mode comprises at least one command configured to cause the power source to adjust an operational parameter of power output by the power source to maximize superior characteristics of respective batteries (Ito: pg. 5, par. [0069]).
As per claim 2, Lam teaches the limitation the control mode is selected from a plurality of control modes comprising:
a first control mode associated with the power source sending power via the apparatus (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the second position, the switch 30 places the vehicle port 22 in electrical communication with the home port 26, to allow the electric vehicle 16 to provide power to the home port 26.” and [0032]: “If the sensor 34 detects a loss of power, the sensor 34 generates a NO POWER signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. … When the controller 32 receives the NO POWER signal from the power grid sensor 34, the controller 32 generates a SECOND POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30.”); and
a second control mode associated with the power source receiving power from the power grid via the apparatus (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the first position, the switch 30 places the grid port 20 in electrical communication with the vehicle port 22 and the home port 26 to enable the power grid 12 to provide power to the vehicle power network 24 and the home power network 28.” and [0032]: “In particular, when power is received from the power grid 12, the power grid sensor 34 detects the power and generates a POWER RECEIVED signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. … When the controller 32 receives the POWER RECEIVED signal, the controller 32 generates a FIRST POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30. The switch 30 is configured to assume the first position in response to receipt of the FIRST POSITION command signal.”).
As per claim 3, Lam teaches the first control mode is associated with the power source sending power to the power grid (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the second position, the switch 30 places the vehicle port 22 in electrical communication with the home port 26, to allow the electric vehicle 16 to provide power to the home port 26.” and [0032]: “If the sensor 34 detects a loss of power, the sensor 34 generates a NO POWER signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. … When the controller 32 receives the NO POWER signal from the power grid sensor 34, the controller 32 generates a SECOND POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30.”).
As per claim 4, Lam teaches the power source comprises an electric vehicle (pg. 2, par. [0025] and Fig. 1, element 16).
As per claim 5, Lam teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising one or more switches (Fig. 3, element 30), wherein based on the control mode, operate the one or more switches to electrically connect the power source with the first connection (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the second position, the switch 30 places the vehicle port 22 in electrical communication with the home port 26, to allow the electric vehicle 16 to provide power to the home port 26.” and [0032]: “If the sensor 34 detects a loss of power, the sensor 34 generates a NO POWER signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. … When the controller 32 receives the NO POWER signal from the power grid sensor 34, the controller 32 generates a SECOND POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30.”); and
transfer power via the one or more switches between the power grid and the power source (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the second position, the switch 30 places the vehicle port 22 in electrical communication with the home port 26, to allow the electric vehicle 16 to provide power to the home port 26.” and [0032]: “If the sensor 34 detects a loss of power, the sensor 34 generates a NO POWER signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. … When the controller 32 receives the NO POWER signal from the power grid sensor 34, the controller 32 generates a SECOND POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30.”).
Lam does not expressly teach a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors.
However Belur, in an analogous art of power systems electric vehicles (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors (pg. 4, par. [0033]-[0038] and Fig. 3, element 320) for the purpose of performing operations/functions of an energy management system (pg. 4, par. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam to include the missing limitation of the instructions that are executed by the one or more processors to provide a user with an benefit/incentive for a product or service related to the user’s electric vehicle (Belur: pg. 5, par. [0045]).
As per claim 6, Lam teaches the limitations of based on the control mode being a first control mode, transfer power from the power source to the power grid (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the second position, the switch 30 places the vehicle port 22 in electrical communication with the home port 26, to allow the electric vehicle 16 to provide power to the home port 26.” and [0032]: “If the sensor 34 detects a loss of power, the sensor 34 generates a NO POWER signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. … When the controller 32 receives the NO POWER signal from the power grid sensor 34, the controller 32 generates a SECOND POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30.”); and
based on the control mode being a second control mode, transfer power from the power grid to the power source (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the first position, the switch 30 places the grid port 20 in electrical communication with the vehicle port 22 and the home port 26 to enable the power grid 12 to provide power to the vehicle power network 24 and the home power network 28.” and [0032]: “In particular, when power is received from the power grid 12, the power grid sensor 34 detects the power and generates a POWER RECEIVED signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. … When the controller 32 receives the POWER RECEIVED signal, the controller 32 generates a FIRST POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30. The switch 30 is configured to assume the first position in response to receipt of the FIRST POSITION command signal.”).
Lam does not expressly teach the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors.
However Belur, in an analogous art of power systems electric vehicles (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the instructions are executed by the one or more processors (pg. 4, par. [0033]-[0038] and Fig. 3, element 320) for the purpose of performing operations/functions of an energy management system (pg. 4, par. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam to include the missing limitation of the instructions are executed by the one or more processors to provide a user with an benefit/incentive for a product or service related to the user’s electric vehicle (Belur: pg. 5, par. [0045]).
As per claim 11, Lam teaches the limitation of the apparatus to determine the control mode further based on one or both of a geographical location of the apparatus or a geographical location of the power source (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. loss of power at a home)
Lam does not expressly teach the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors.
However Belur, in an analogous art of power systems electric vehicles (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the instructions are executed by the one or more processors (pg. 4, par. [0033]-[0038] and Fig. 3, element 320) for the purpose of performing operations/functions of an energy management system (pg. 4, par. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam to include the missing limitation of the instructions are executed by the one or more processors to provide a user with an benefit/incentive for a product or service related to the user’s electric vehicle (Belur: pg. 5, par. [0045]).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam in view of Belur in further view of Ito and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0389314 A1 (hereinafter Zhu).
As per claim 7, Lam in view of Belur in further view of Ito does not expressly teach the at least one command comprises one or more of:
a current control command to the power source via the second connection;
a voltage control command to the power source via the second connection;
an active power control command to the power source via the second connection; or
a reactive power control command to the power source via the second connection.
However Zhu, in an analogous art of a vehicle charging systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitations of at least one command comprises one or more of:
a current control command to the power source via a connection (pgs. 6-7, par. [0048] and [0050]; i.e. [0048]: “In some embodiments, the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120 (e.g., embodied in a charging facility management device 114) and/or from administrative personnel). In some embodiments, the on-board charging systems of the electric vehicles 124 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the charging voltage and/or current that are received from the circuits 112 in accordance with instructions received from the charging facility management device 114 or a corresponding server in communication with the charging facility management device 114.” and [0050]: “In some embodiments, there are physical data connections between the charging facility management device 114 (e.g., including the grid monitor 118 and the control module 120) and the on-board control modules of the electric vehicles 124. The instructions and the inputs are transmitted from the charging facility management device 114 via the physical data connections to the on-board control modules of the electric vehicle 124. In some embodiments, there is no physical data connection between the charging facility management device 114 and on-board control modules of the electric vehicles 124, and the communications are made wirelessly over a data network (e.g., a WiFi network, a Bluetooth connection, etc.).”); or
a voltage control command to the power source via the connection (pgs. 6-7, par. [0048] and [0050]; i.e. [0048]: “In some embodiments, the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120 (e.g., embodied in a charging facility management device 114) and/or from administrative personnel). In some embodiments, the on-board charging systems of the electric vehicles 124 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the charging voltage and/or current that are received from the circuits 112 in accordance with instructions received from the charging facility management device 114 or a corresponding server in communication with the charging facility management device 114.” and [0050]: “In some embodiments, there are physical data connections between the charging facility management device 114 (e.g., including the grid monitor 118 and the control module 120) and the on-board control modules of the electric vehicles 124. The instructions and the inputs are transmitted from the charging facility management device 114 via the physical data connections to the on-board control modules of the electric vehicle 124. In some embodiments, there is no physical data connection between the charging facility management device 114 and on-board control modules of the electric vehicles 124, and the communications are made wirelessly over a data network (e.g., a WiFi network, a Bluetooth connection, etc.).”) for the purpose of transmitting instructions and inputs between an apparatus and power source (pgs. 6-7, par. [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam in view of Belur in further view of Ito to include the missing limitations of at least one command comprises one or more of: a current control command to the power source via a connection; or a voltage control command to the power source via the second connection to advantageously enable utilizing reserved grid resources in a better manner, so that operational costs of electricity demand centers and charging facilities can be reduced (Zhu: pg. 5, par. [0039]).
As per claim 8, Lam in view of Belur in further view of Ito does not expressly teach the power source comprises a power converter, and wherein the at least one command is configured to cause control of the power converter.
However Zhu, in an analogous art of an vehicle charging systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitations of a power source comprises a power converter (pgs. 11-12, par. [0085]-[0089]; i.e. [0086]: “… the second motor is coupled to a converter.” and [0088]: “… the on-board charging system includes a resolver coupled to the inverter, the converter, and/or the shaft (e.g., coupled to the first motor and the second motor via the shaft), and configured to measure the rotation of the first motor and/or the second motor.”), and wherein at least one command is configured to cause control of the power converter (pgs. 6-7, par. [0048] and [0050], pg. 12, par. [0089], and pg. 15, par. [0117]; i.e. [0048]: “In some embodiments, the charging stations 116 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations (e.g., in accordance with inputs received from a grid monitor 118 (also referred to as “load monitor 118”) and EV charging control module 120 (e.g., embodied in a charging facility management device 114) and/or from administrative personnel). In some embodiments, the on-board charging systems of the electric vehicles 124 are equipped with control modules that automatically adjust the charging voltage and/or current that are received from the circuits 112 in accordance with instructions received from the charging facility management device 114 or a corresponding server in communication with the charging facility management device 114.”, [0050]: “In some embodiments, there are physical data connections between the charging facility management device 114 (e.g., including the grid monitor 118 and the control module 120) and the on-board control modules of the electric vehicles 124. The instructions and the inputs are transmitted from the charging facility management device 114 via the physical data connections to the on-board control modules of the electric vehicle 124. In some embodiments, there is no physical data connection between the charging facility management device 114 and on-board control modules of the electric vehicles 124, and the communications are made wirelessly over a data network (e.g., a WiFi network, a Bluetooth connection, etc.).”; [0089]: “In some embodiments, the switches are electronically controlled switches (e.g., relays). In some embodiments, the on-board charging system includes control circuitry that controls opening and closing the switches (e.g., the control circuitry controls the voltages applied to the switches), as described in further detail herein with reference to FIGS. 7 and 8.”; and [0117]: “In some embodiments, the electronic device monitors the total electricity output power at the input main, and does not directly monitors the output power on the first set of circuits. The electronic device monitors and controls the output power on the second set of circuits by providing instructions to the charging stations 116 and/or on-board charging systems of the charging electric vehicles 124 regarding the charging power allotted to the individual charging vehicles at the current moment and/or according to an individual charging profile assigned to each individual charging vehicle.”) for the purpose of controlling an output of power (pgs. 15, par. [0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam in view of Belur in further view of Ito to include the missing limitations of a power source comprises a power converter, and wherein at least one command is configured to cause control of the power converter to advantageously enable utilizing reserved grid resources in a better manner, so that operational costs of electricity demand centers and charging facilities can be reduced (Zhu: pg. 5, par. [0039]).
As per claim 9, Lam teaches the at least one command comprises a shutdown command (pgs. 3-4, par. [0035]; i.e. “However, if the vehicle 16 is not equipped with such a feature, the power switching unit 18 may include a shutoff circuit 40 which monitors the power level in the vehicle 16 and instructs the controller 32 to cease drawing power from the vehicle 16 when the power level in the vehicle 16 reaches the prescribed minimum power level.”).
Lam does not expressly teach the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors.
However Belur, in an analogous art of power systems electric vehicles (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the instructions are executed by the one or more processors (pg. 4, par. [0033]-[0038] and Fig. 3, element 320) for the purpose of performing operations/functions of an energy management system (pg. 4, par. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam to include the missing limitation of the instructions are executed by the one or more processors to provide a user with an benefit/incentive for a product or service related to the user’s electric vehicle (Belur: pg. 5, par. [0045]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam in view of Belur in further view of Ito and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0166084 A1 (hereinafter Sedighy).
Lam in view of Belur in further view of Ito does not expressly teach the at least one command is configured to cause the power source to adjust the operational parameter of the power output by the power source to comply with at least one of: a total harmonic distortion requirement, a reactive power requirement, or an electromagnetic interference requirement.
However Sedighy, in an analogous art of energy management and control for power networks (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches at least one command is configured to cause a power source (pg. 2, par. [0022] and Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. dispatchable energy resource (DER)) to adjust an operational parameter of a power output by the power source to comply with a reactive power requirement (pg. 6, par. [0074] and [0076]-[0078]; i.e. [0074]: “Steady state control module 210 may increase intermittent energy resource penetration and minimize dispatchable resource consumption by optimizing the dispatch of various DERs. … Steady state control module 210 may generate an optimal solution and provide steady state set-points for the various DERs.”, [0077]: “SWS 240 may also include various constraints within the network 100, such as constraints associated with DERs, network bus, real and reactive powers etc. For example, SWS 240 contains constrains such as … real and reactive power limits of dispatchable energy resources and intermittent energy resources … .”, and [0078]: “SWS 240 may also include various constraints within the network 100, such as constraints associated with DERs, network bus, real and reactive powers etc. For example, SWS 240 contains constrains such as line flow limits, bus voltage limits, real and reactive power limits of dispatchable energy resources and intermittent energy resources, modulation index limits, current limits of voltage-sourced converters, rate of change of state of charge of energy storage elements etc.”) for the purpose of controlling a micro-grid network (pg. 1, par. [0004] and pg. 6, par. [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam to include the missing limitation at least one command is configured to cause a power source to adjust an operational parameter of a power output by the power source to comply with a reactive power requirement to advantageously provide fast dynamic control of real and reactive power to maintain voltage and frequency stability in a micro-grid (Sedighy: pg. 3, par. [0033]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to energy systems/methods.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0088781 A1 discloses a method and an apparatus for controlling fluctuations in power and amount of power used at an electric load location and/or on an electrical grid.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0258904 A1 discloses charge and discharge system for a vehicle includes an electric vehicle having a battery and an inverter, a charge and discharge device having a first relay and a second relay, and a commercial power source.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0368387 A1 discloses systems, methods, and apparatus for wirelessly charging an electric vehicle.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0398693 A1 discloses a power management technique of a battery mounted in a vehicle
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0096582 A1 discloses a system selectively controls one or more electric vehicles connected to an electric grid based on conditions associated with the electric grid.
U.S. Patent No. 5,642,270 discloses a charging system for a battery powered electric vehicle operates bidirectionally for charging a battery or for supplying power back to a utility grid at any selected power factor so that load leveling may be effected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER L NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117