DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Non-Final Office Action per the Response to the Election/Restriction Requirement received on 16 December 2025. Claims 12-20 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1-11 have been examined on their merits.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 16 December 2025.
Examiner’s Note: The election/restriction requirement is maintained for the rationales set forth in the office action mailed on 16 December 2025; hence, the Election/Restriction Requirement is made Final.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 (line 6), 5 (line 2), 6 (line 1), 7 (line 1), and 11 (line 1) recites “when executed”. The limitation of “executed” is not positively recited by use of the term “when”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1:
At step 1, the claim recites “an apparatus” comprising of concrete devices, and therefore is a machine, which is a statutory category of invention
At step 2A, prong one, the claim recites “determine, based on the one or more parameters of the power grid measured by the one or more sensors, a control mode of the power source”.
The limitation of “determine, based on the one or more parameters of the power grid measured by the one or more sensors, a control mode of the power source”, as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performing the limitation in the mind. Wherein, nothing in the claims precludes the step from being practically performed in the mind. For example, “determin(ing)” in the context of the claim encompasses an analysis data to obtain desired information. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2): The use of a physical aid (e.g., pencil and paper or a slide rule) to help perform a mental step (e.g., deriving new data) does not negate the mental nature of the limitation, but simply accounts for variations in memory capacity from one person to another.).
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
At step 2A, prong two, the claim recites; “a first connection configured to transfer power with a power grid”; “a second connection configured to communicate data with a power source”; “one or more sensors configured to measure one or more parameters of the power grid”; “one or more processors”; and “memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors”; and “send, via the second connection and to the power source, an indication of the control mode”.
The limitations of “one or more processors” and “memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors” are recited at a high level of generality and recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer component (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations of “a first connection configured to transfer power with a power grid” and “a second connection configured to communicate data with a power source” are generally recited at a high level of generality and merely limit the abstract idea to a field of use. The courts have found “a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible ‘simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use.’ Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.” (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The limitation of “one or more sensors configured to measure one or more parameters of the power grid” is recited at a high level of generality and represents a mere means for data gathering (i.e. measured one or more parameters) that is necessary for use of the recited judicial exception, as the gathering data is used in the abstract mathematical concept of “determine”. The use of the “one or more sensors …” is therefore an insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation of “send … an indication of the control mode” represents the mere output of data. The limitation of “send” is recited at a high level of generally and recited so generically it represents no more than an insignificant extra-solution activity of outputting data (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, these additional elements neither individually nor in combination integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
At step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As previously discussed with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the addition of the elements of “one or more processors” and “memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors”, amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “Courts have held computer‐implemented processes not to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus ineligible) where the claim as a whole amounts to nothing more than generic computer functions merely used to implement an abstract idea, such as an idea that could be done by a human analog (i.e., by hand or by merely thinking).”
The additional elements of “a first connection configured to transfer power with a power grid” and “a second connection configured to communicate data with a power source” merely limit the abstract idea to a field of use. Wherein, limiting the invention to a field of use cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible. (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The limitation of “one or more sensors configured to measure one or more parameters of the power grid”, as discussed above, represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering. Further, the limitation is well-understood, routine and conventional; wherein the courts have found limitations directed to obtaining data, recited at high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “storing and retrieving information in memory”.
The limitation of “send … an indication of the control mode”, as discussed above, represents an insignificant extra-solution activity of outputting data. Further, the limitations are well-understood, routine and conventional; wherein the courts have found limitations directed to outputting data, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), presenting offers and gathering statistics.
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 2:
The limitations of “… a plurality of control modes comprising: a first control mode associated with the power source sending power via the apparatus; and a second control mode associated with the power source receiving power from the power grid via the apparatus” merely further detail “… the control mode …” of claim 1; and hence, the claim is rejected under the same rational as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 3:
The limitation of “… the first control mode is associated with the power source sending power to the power grid” merely further details “… the control mode of a power source” of claim 1; and hence, the claim is rejected under the same rational as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 4:
The limitation of “… one or more of an electric vehicle or a battery” merely further details “a power source” of claim 1; and hence, the claim is rejected under the same rational as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 10:
The limitation of “… a housing that is physically attached to earth in a fixed manner” merely further details “an apparatus” of claim 1; and hence, the claim is rejected under the same rational as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 11:
The limitation of “… on one or both of a geographical location of the apparatus or a geographical location of the power source” of claim 1 merely further details “determine … a control mode” of claim 1; and hence, the claim is rejected under the same rational as set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0280432 A1 (hereinafter Lam) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0356618 A1 (hereinafter Belur).
As per claim 1, Lam substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. discloses an apparatus (Fig. 3, element 18; i.e. power switching unit) comprising:
a first connection (Fig. 3, element 20; i.e. power grid port) configured to transfer power with a power grid (pg. 2, par. [0028]; i.e. “The ability to switch the source of power to the home 14 is made possible by the power switching unit 18, which includes a power grid port 20 connectable to the power grid 12, a vehicle port 22 connectable to a vehicle power network 24 associated with the vehicle 16, and a home port 26 connectable to a home power network 28 associated with the home 14.”);
a second connection (Fig. 3, element 22; i.e. vehicle port) configured to communicate data with a power source (pg. 2, par. [0028]; i.e. “The ability to switch the source of power to the home 14 is made possible by the power switching unit 18, which includes a power grid port 20 connectable to the power grid 12, a vehicle port 22 connectable to a vehicle power network 24 associated with the vehicle 16, and a home port 26 connectable to a home power network 28 associated with the home 14.”);
one or more sensors (Fig. 3, element 34; i.e. power grid sensor) configured to measure one or more parameters of the power grid (pg. 3, par. [0032]; i.e. “The power grid sensor 34 may be integrated into the power grid port 20 or may be formed separate from the power grid port 20. The power grid sensor 34 is in communication with the controller 32 to provide the controller 32 with status information regarding power received from the grid 12.”);
one or more processors (pg. 3, par. [0032] and Fig. 3, element 32; i.e. “Operation of the switch 30 may be controlled by a controller 32, which is in communication with the switch 30, the ports 20, 22, 26, as well as various input devices and sensor(s), as will be explained below.”); and
determine, based on the one or more parameters of the power grid measured by the one or more sensors, a control mode of the power source (pg. 3, par. [0032]; i.e. ; and
send, via the second connection and to the power source, an indication of the control mode (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the first position, the switch 30 places the grid port 20 in electrical communication with the vehicle port 22 and the home port 26 to enable the power grid 12 to provide power to the vehicle power network 24 and the home power network 28. In the second position, the switch 30 places the vehicle port 22 in electrical communication with the home port 26, to allow the electric vehicle 16 to provide power to the home port 26.” and [0032]: “In particular, when power is received from the power grid 12, the power grid sensor 34 detects the power and generates a POWER RECEIVED signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. If the sensor 34 detects a loss of power, the sensor 34 generates a NO POWER signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. When the controller 32 receives the POWER RECEIVED signal, the controller 32 generates a FIRST POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30. The switch 30 is configured to assume the first position in response to receipt of the FIRST POSITION command signal. When the controller 32 receives the NO POWER signal from the power grid sensor 34, the controller 32 generates a SECOND POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30.”).
Not explicitly taught is a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors.
However Belur, in an analogous art of power systems electric vehicles (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the missing limitation of a memory (Fig. 3, element 330) storing instructions that are executed by one or more processors (pg. 4, par. [0033]-[0038] and Fig. 3, element 320) for the purpose of performing operations/functions of an energy management system (pg. 4, par. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam to include the missing limitation of a memory storing instructions that are executed by one or more processors to provide a user with an benefit/incentive for a product or service related to the user’s electric vehicle (Belur: pg. 5, par. [0045]).
As per claim 2, Lam teaches the limitation the control mode is selected from a plurality of control modes comprising:
a first control mode associated with the power source sending power via the apparatus (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the second position, the switch 30 places the vehicle port 22 in electrical communication with the home port 26, to allow the electric vehicle 16 to provide power to the home port 26.” and [0032]: “If the sensor 34 detects a loss of power, the sensor 34 generates a NO POWER signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. … When the controller 32 receives the NO POWER signal from the power grid sensor 34, the controller 32 generates a SECOND POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30.”); and
a second control mode associated with the power source receiving power from the power grid via the apparatus (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the first position, the switch 30 places the grid port 20 in electrical communication with the vehicle port 22 and the home port 26 to enable the power grid 12 to provide power to the vehicle power network 24 and the home power network 28.” and [0032]: “In particular, when power is received from the power grid 12, the power grid sensor 34 detects the power and generates a POWER RECEIVED signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. … When the controller 32 receives the POWER RECEIVED signal, the controller 32 generates a FIRST POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30. The switch 30 is configured to assume the first position in response to receipt of the FIRST POSITION command signal.”).
As per claim 3, Lam teaches the first control mode is associated with the power source sending power to the power grid (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the second position, the switch 30 places the vehicle port 22 in electrical communication with the home port 26, to allow the electric vehicle 16 to provide power to the home port 26.” and [0032]: “If the sensor 34 detects a loss of power, the sensor 34 generates a NO POWER signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. … When the controller 32 receives the NO POWER signal from the power grid sensor 34, the controller 32 generates a SECOND POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30.”).
As per claim 4, Lam teaches the power source comprises an electric vehicle (pg. 2, par. [0025] and Fig. 1, element 16).
As per claim 5, Lam teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising one or more switches (Fig. 3, element 30), wherein based on the control mode, operate the one or more switches to electrically connect the power source with the first connection (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the second position, the switch 30 places the vehicle port 22 in electrical communication with the home port 26, to allow the electric vehicle 16 to provide power to the home port 26.” and [0032]: “If the sensor 34 detects a loss of power, the sensor 34 generates a NO POWER signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. … When the controller 32 receives the NO POWER signal from the power grid sensor 34, the controller 32 generates a SECOND POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30.”); and
transfer power via the one or more switches between the power grid and the power source (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the second position, the switch 30 places the vehicle port 22 in electrical communication with the home port 26, to allow the electric vehicle 16 to provide power to the home port 26.” and [0032]: “If the sensor 34 detects a loss of power, the sensor 34 generates a NO POWER signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. … When the controller 32 receives the NO POWER signal from the power grid sensor 34, the controller 32 generates a SECOND POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30.”).
Lam does not expressly teach a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors.
However Belur, in an analogous art of power systems electric vehicles (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors (pg. 4, par. [0033]-[0038] and Fig. 3, element 320) for the purpose of performing operations/functions of an energy management system (pg. 4, par. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam to include the missing limitation of the instructions that are executed by the one or more processors to provide a user with an benefit/incentive for a product or service related to the user’s electric vehicle (Belur: pg. 5, par. [0045]).
As per claim 6, Lam teaches the limitations of based on the control mode being a first control mode, transfer power from the power source to the power grid (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the second position, the switch 30 places the vehicle port 22 in electrical communication with the home port 26, to allow the electric vehicle 16 to provide power to the home port 26.” and [0032]: “If the sensor 34 detects a loss of power, the sensor 34 generates a NO POWER signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. … When the controller 32 receives the NO POWER signal from the power grid sensor 34, the controller 32 generates a SECOND POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30.”); and
based on the control mode being a second control mode, transfer power from the power grid to the power source (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the first position, the switch 30 places the grid port 20 in electrical communication with the vehicle port 22 and the home port 26 to enable the power grid 12 to provide power to the vehicle power network 24 and the home power network 28.” and [0032]: “In particular, when power is received from the power grid 12, the power grid sensor 34 detects the power and generates a POWER RECEIVED signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. … When the controller 32 receives the POWER RECEIVED signal, the controller 32 generates a FIRST POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30. The switch 30 is configured to assume the first position in response to receipt of the FIRST POSITION command signal.”).
Lam does not expressly teach the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors.
However Belur, in an analogous art of power systems electric vehicles (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the instructions are executed by the one or more processors (pg. 4, par. [0033]-[0038] and Fig. 3, element 320) for the purpose of performing operations/functions of an energy management system (pg. 4, par. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam to include the missing limitation of the instructions are executed by the one or more processors to provide a user with an benefit/incentive for a product or service related to the user’s electric vehicle (Belur: pg. 5, par. [0045]).
As per claim 7, Lam teaches configure the apparatus to send, based on at least one parameter of the one or more parameters, a shutdown command to the power source via the second connection (pgs. 3-4, par. [0035]; i.e. “However, if the vehicle 16 is not equipped with such a feature, the power switching unit 18 may include a shutoff circuit 40 which monitors the power level in the vehicle 16 and instructs the controller 32 to cease drawing power from the vehicle 16 when the power level in the vehicle 16 reaches the prescribed minimum power level.”).
Lam does not expressly teach the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors.
However Belur, in an analogous art of power systems electric vehicles (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the instructions are executed by the one or more processors (pg. 4, par. [0033]-[0038] and Fig. 3, element 320) for the purpose of performing operations/functions of an energy management system (pg. 4, par. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam to include the missing limitation of the instructions are executed by the one or more processors to provide a user with an benefit/incentive for a product or service related to the user’s electric vehicle (Belur: pg. 5, par. [0045]).
As per claim 11, Lam teaches the limitation of the apparatus to determine the control mode further based on one or both of a geographical location of the apparatus or a geographical location of the power source (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. loss of power at a home)
Lam does not expressly teach the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors.
However Belur, in an analogous art of power systems electric vehicles (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the instructions are executed by the one or more processors (pg. 4, par. [0033]-[0038] and Fig. 3, element 320) for the purpose of performing operations/functions of an energy management system (pg. 4, par. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam to include the missing limitation of the instructions are executed by the one or more processors to provide a user with an benefit/incentive for a product or service related to the user’s electric vehicle (Belur: pg. 5, par. [0045]).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam in view of Belur in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0002015 A1 (hereinafter Tripathi).
As per claim 8, Lam teaches the limitation the apparatus to send at least one command to the power source, based on at least one parameter of the one or more parameters and via the second connection, that is configured to cause control (pg. 3, par. [0031] and [0032]; i.e. [0031]: “In the first position, the switch 30 places the grid port 20 in electrical communication with the vehicle port 22 and the home port 26 to enable the power grid 12 to provide power to the vehicle power network 24 and the home power network 28.” and [0032]: “In particular, when power is received from the power grid 12, the power grid sensor 34 detects the power and generates a POWER RECEIVED signal, which is then sent to the controller 32. … When the controller 32 receives the POWER RECEIVED signal, the controller 32 generates a FIRST POSITION command signal, which is transmitted to the switch 30. The switch 30 is configured to assume the first position in response to receipt of the FIRST POSITION command signal.”).
Lam does not expressly teach the power source comprises a power converter and the apparatus to cause control of the power converter.
However Belur, in an analogous art of power systems electric vehicles (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the missing limitations of the instructions are executed by the one or more processors (pg. 4, par. [0033]-[0038] and Fig. 3, element 320) for the purpose of performing operations/functions of an energy management system (pg. 4, par. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam to include the missing limitation of the instructions are executed by the one or more processors to provide a user with an benefit/incentive for a product or service related to the user’s electric vehicle (Belur: pg. 5, par. [0045]).
Lam in view of Belur does not expressly teach the power source comprises a power converter and the apparatus to cause control of the power converter.
However Tripati, in analogous art of power management systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitations of a power source comprises a power converter and control the power converter (pg. 4, par. [0044]; i.e. “The electric vehicle power converter 238 may include, among other things, a LF/DC converter configured to convert power at an operating frequency back to DC power at a voltage level matched to the voltage level of an electric vehicle battery unit 218. The electric vehicle power converter 238 may provide the converted power PLDC to charge the electric vehicle battery unit 218.”) for the purpose charging a electric vehicle’s battery (pg. 4, par. [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam in view of Belur to include the missing limitations of a power source comprises a power converter and control the power converter to efficiently and safely transfer power for charging electric vehicles as needed (Tripati: pg. 1, par. [0003]).
As per claim 9, Lam teaches the at least one command comprises a shutdown command (pgs. 3-4, par. [0035]; i.e. “However, if the vehicle 16 is not equipped with such a feature, the power switching unit 18 may include a shutoff circuit 40 which monitors the power level in the vehicle 16 and instructs the controller 32 to cease drawing power from the vehicle 16 when the power level in the vehicle 16 reaches the prescribed minimum power level.”).
Lam does not expressly teach the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors.
However Belur, in an analogous art of power systems electric vehicles (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the instructions are executed by the one or more processors (pg. 4, par. [0033]-[0038] and Fig. 3, element 320) for the purpose of performing operations/functions of an energy management system (pg. 4, par. [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam to include the missing limitation of the instructions are executed by the one or more processors to provide a user with an benefit/incentive for a product or service related to the user’s electric vehicle (Belur: pg. 5, par. [0045]).
As per claim 10, Lam in view of Belur does not expressly teach a housing that is physically attached to earth in a fixed manner.
However Tripati, in analogous art of power management systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitations of a housing that is physically attached to earth in a fixed manner (pg. 3, par. [0034] and Fig. 1, element 130; i.e. a house of local distribution center) for the purpose charging a electric vehicle’s battery (pg. 4, par. [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lam in view of Belur to include the missing limitation of a housing that is physically attached to earth in a fixed manner to efficiently and safely transfer power for charging electric vehicles as needed (Tripati: pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to energy systems/methods.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0174365 A1 discloses systems and methods for recharging electric vehicles and to network-controlled electrical outlets used in such systems.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0312841 A1 discloses an electricity management device increases a counter value as an electric vehicle is charged from grid power that is supplied from an electrical grid, retains the counter value when the electric vehicle is charged from electricity generated by an electricity generation device, and reduces the counter value as electricity in the electric vehicle is discharged to a distribution board.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0028360 A1 discloses a method of operating an electrical grid having at least one electrical consumer and a plurality of electrical producers
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0294222 A1 discloses an energy management system and method for control of electrical loads within a group.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0387714 A1 discloses a modular photovoltaic (PV) array system includes a PV array installed onto a fleet vehicle, a host control system into which a plurality of fleet vehicles can connect to collectively generate electricity, and a subscriber system which collectively tracks energy generation and allocates respective contributions to a system.
/JENNIFER L NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117