This action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 8/28/2023
Claims 1-14 are pending
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 9/01/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2022-139346 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. USPGPUB 2022/0136909 A1 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Iwasaki USPGPUB 2005/0235652 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an information processing apparatus (Fig. 6, Par. [0032] “device 10 may include an electric circuit 11, a power monitor 12, a temperature sensor 13, a voltage generator 14, a clock generator 15, and a thermal controller 16.”) comprising a computer (Par. [0099] “system 200 may include a desktop computer”) executing instructions (Par. [0043] “processor configured to execute instructions and a memory for storing a series of instructions”) that, when executed by the computer, cause the computer to function as:
a predicting unit configured to predict a heat generation amount of a control target (Par. [0008] “controller configured to estimate a first temperature of the first circuit”), wherein a temperature of the control target is controlled by a heat absorbing action or a heat radiating action (Par. [0050] “To reduce the temperature of the electric circuit 11, the thermal controller 16 may reduce the magnitude of the positive supply voltage VDD and/or the frequency of the clock signal CLK”); and
a control unit configured to control a temperature of the heat absorption unit or the heat radiation unit based on the predicted heat generation amount (Par. [0050] “thermal controller 16 may control the temperature of the electric circuit 11 based on the temperature determined in operation S50.”; Fig. 7 - S50 includes “Determine weighted sum of estimated temperature and sensed temperature as temperature”) so that the temperature of the heat absorption unit or the heat radiation unit becomes a predetermined value (Par. [0037] “determining, according to a periodicity having the first period, whether circuit temperature of the circuit satisfies a threshold”).
Kim does not explicitly teach a heat exchange unit including a heat absorption unit and a heat radiation unit.
However, Iwasaki teaches a heat exchange unit including a heat absorption unit and a heat radiation unit (Par. [0115] “heat is generated from a heat generating surface of the Peltier device 301, which heat is discharged to the outside of the machine by the fan 303. On the other hand, air around a heat sink surface of the Peltier device 301 is cooled and thus dried”).
Kim and Iwasaki are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to thermal control.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above thermal management system, as taught by Kim, and incorporate a heat exchange unit, as taught by Iwasaki.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve optimization of temperature control as suggested by Iwasaki (Par. [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, The combination of Kim and Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Iwasaki further teaches wherein the control unit controls the temperature of the heat absorption unit or the heat radiation unit of the heat exchange unit based on the predicted heat generation amount so that a difference in temperature between the heat absorption unit and the heat radiation unit becomes a second predetermined value (Par. [0036] “a temperature difference between a heat generating surface and a heat sink surface of the Peltier device increases accordingly.”; Par. [0037] “By thus increasing (changing) the power value of the driving power by the predetermined power value at each predetermined time interval, it is possible to obtain the desired gentle manner of change in the temperature difference”; Par. [0038] “the voltage value is decreased stepwise by 3 V every step for a final target value (0 V).” – examiner interprets “target value” as a “predetermined value”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kim and Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Iwasaki further teaches wherein the heat exchange unit is a Peltier element incorporated in an imaging device (Par. [0032] “the Peltier apparatus according to the present invention is applied to an electronic apparatus such as an image forming apparatus.”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kim and Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches an estimating unit configured to estimate power consumption by the imaging device (Par. [0005] “A power monitor may measure the input power of an IC, the output power of an IC, or both”); wherein
the predicting unit predicts the heat generation amount based on the estimated power consumption (Par. [0030] “estimates a temperature based on power measured by a dynamic power monitor”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kim and Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches a detection unit configured to detect, while the temperature of the heat absorption unit or the heat radiation unit is being controlled by the control unit (Fig. 3, Par. [0052] “the temperature sensor 33 may provide the temperature information TMP to the thermal controller 36 in every second period” - One can see in Fig. 3 that the temperature sensor is providing temperature information while the thermal controller is active),
that the temperature of a control target satisfies a predetermined condition (Par. [0037] “determining, according to a periodicity having the first period, whether circuit temperature of the circuit satisfies a threshold”); wherein
the predicting unit re-predicts the heat generation amount when detected that the predetermined condition is satisfied (Fig. 3, Par. [0058] “The controller 36 is configured to estimate a first temperature of the first circuit in every first period, receive a second temperature from the temperature sensor in every second period, calculate a third temperature by correcting the first temperature based on the second temperature.” – The temperature sensor can tell if a predetermined condition is satisfied, but a third temperature is still re-predicted).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kim and Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches wherein the detection unit detects that the temperature satisfies the predetermined condition when the temperature of the control target changes by greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (Par. [0084] “difference between a current detected temperature TDET and a previous detected temperature TDET’ may be compared with a third threshold value”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kim and Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches an acquiring unit configured to acquire information indicating a heat generation amount of the control target (Fig. 3, Par. [0051] “temperature sensor 33 may sense the ambient temperature of the corresponding circuit”); wherein the predicting unit re-predicts the heat generation amount when the heat generation amount indicated by the information exceeds the predicted heat generation amount (Fig. 3, Par. [0058] “The controller 36 is configured to estimate a first temperature of the first circuit in every first period, receive a second temperature from the temperature sensor in every second period, calculate a third temperature by correcting the first temperature based on the second temperature.” – after the temperature sensor determines if the heat generation amount exceeds the predicted heat generation amount, a third temperature is re-predicted).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kim and Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches wherein the acquiring unit acquires information indicating the heat generation amount of the control target based on a measured value of the temperature of the control target (Fig. 3, Par. [0051] “temperature sensor 33 may sense the ambient temperature of the corresponding circuit”).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches an information processing method (abstract “methods to control a temperature”), when executed by a computer comprising a processor and a memory (Par. [0043] “processor configured to execute instructions and a memory for storing a series of instructions”), causing the computer to:
predict a heat generation amount of a control target (Par. [0008] “controller configured to estimate a first temperature of the first circuit”), wherein a temperature of the control target is controlled by a heat absorbing action or a heat radiating action (Par. [0050] “To reduce the temperature of the electric circuit 11, the thermal controller 16 may reduce the magnitude of the positive supply voltage VDD and/or the frequency of the clock signal CLK”); and
control a temperature of the heat absorption unit or the heat radiation unit based on the predicted heat generation amount (Par. [0050] “thermal controller 16 may control the temperature of the electric circuit 11 based on the temperature determined in operation S50.”; Fig. 7 - S50 includes “Determine weighted sum of estimated temperature and sensed temperature as temperature”) so that the temperature of the heat absorption unit or the heat radiation unit becomes a predetermined value (Par. [0037] “determining, according to a periodicity having the first period, whether circuit temperature of the circuit satisfies a threshold”).
Kim does not explicitly teach a heat exchange unit including a heat absorption unit and a heat radiation unit.
However, Iwasaki teaches a heat exchange unit including a heat absorption unit and a heat radiation unit (Par. [0115] “heat is generated from a heat generating surface of the Peltier device 301, which heat is discharged to the outside of the machine by the fan 303. On the other hand, air around a heat sink surface of the Peltier device 301 is cooled and thus dried”).
Kim and Iwasaki are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to thermal control.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above thermal management system, as taught by Kim, and incorporate a heat exchange unit as taught by Iwasaki.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve optimization of temperature control as suggested by Iwasaki (Par. [0010]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program (Par. [0064] “the device 10 may include a non-volatile memory that does not lose data even when power supply is cut off (e.g., flash memory, one-time programmable (OTP) memory, etc.), and the look-up table 50 may be stored in the non-volatile memory.”) which, when executed by a computer comprising a processor and a memory (Par. [0043] “processor configured to execute instructions and a memory for storing a series of instructions”), causes the computer to:
predict a heat generation amount of a control target (Par. [0008] “controller configured to estimate a first temperature of the first circuit”), wherein a temperature of the control target is controlled by a heat absorbing action or a heat radiating action (Par. [0050] “To reduce the temperature of the electric circuit 11, the thermal controller 16 may reduce the magnitude of the positive supply voltage VDD and/or the frequency of the clock signal CLK”); and
control a temperature of the heat absorption unit or the heat radiation unit based on the predicted heat generation amount (Par. [0050] “thermal controller 16 may control the temperature of the electric circuit 11 based on the temperature determined in operation S50.”; Fig. 7 - S50 includes “Determine weighted sum of estimated temperature and sensed temperature as temperature”) so that the temperature of the heat absorption unit or the heat radiation unit becomes a predetermined value (Par. [0037] “determining, according to a periodicity having the first period, whether circuit temperature of the circuit satisfies a threshold”).
Kim does not explicitly teach a heat exchange unit including a heat absorption unit and a heat radiation unit.
However, Iwasaki teaches a heat exchange unit including a heat absorption unit and a heat radiation unit (Par. [0115] “heat is generated from a heat generating surface of the Peltier device 301, which heat is discharged to the outside of the machine by the fan 303. On the other hand, air around a heat sink surface of the Peltier device 301 is cooled and thus dried”).
Kim and Iwasaki are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to thermal control.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above thermal management system, as taught by Kim, and incorporate a heat exchange unit as taught by Iwasaki.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve optimization of temperature control as suggested by Iwasaki (Par. [0010]).
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Iwasaki USPGPUB 2005/0235652 A1, and further in view of Takami USPGPUB 2020/0128162 A1.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kim and Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches an estimating unit estimating power consumption of an input (Par. [0038] “The power monitor 12 may receive an input signal IN provided to the electric circuit 11 and measure the power consumed by the electric circuit 11 based on the input signal”).
Kim and Iwasaki do not explicitly teach a driving amount of a lens of the imaging device.
However, Takami teaches a driving amount of a lens of the imaging device (Par. [0023] “The driver 108 moves the zoom lens 102-1 along the direction of the optical axis OA (optical axis direction) in accordance with a control instruction of the zoom control unit 101-1”).
Kim, Iwasaki, and Takami are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They both relate to imaging devices.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above imaging device thermal management system, as taught by Kim in view of Iwasaki, and incorporate a driver moving a lens, as taught by Takami.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve image quality as suggested by Takami (Par. [0039]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kim in view of Iwasaki and Takami teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches an estimating unit estimating power consumption based on a schedule (Par. [0094] “the thermal controller 16 may calculate an average value of the power values collected in operation S22 and determine the measured power of the electric circuit 11 as the average value”).
Kim and Iwasaki do not explicitly teach controlling a posture of the imaging device.
However, Takami teaches controlling a posture of the imaging device (Par. [0026] “The pan head 110 has a pan driver and a tilt driver”).
Kim, Iwasaki, and Takami are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They both relate to imaging devices.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above imaging device thermal management system, as taught by Kim in view of Iwasaki, and incorporate controlling a posture of the imaging device, as taught by Takami.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this improvement to allow imaging while changing the imaging direction as suggested by Takami (Par. [0026]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kim in view of Iwasaki and Takami teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches an estimating unit estimating power consumption in accordance with a status (Par. [0090] “The power monitor 12 may store the states of the clock gating signal and/or the enable signal, received in operation S12, and identify a power range corresponding to stored states from among a plurality of power ranges as the power of the electric circuit 11”).
Kim and Iwasaki do not explicitly teach a “control process for tilting a posture of an imaging element of the imaging device”.
However, Takami teaches a control process for tilting a posture of an imaging element of the imaging device (Par. [0024] “tilt control unit 101-3”).
Kim, Iwasaki, and Takami are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They both relate to imaging devices.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above imaging device thermal management system, as taught by Kim in view of Iwasaki, and incorporate a control process for tilting a posture of an imaging element of the imaging device, as taught by Takami.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to easily correct tilt in imagery captured by an imaging device as suggested by Takami (Par. [0024]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kim in view of Iwasaki and Takami teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kim further teaches an estimating unit estimating power consumption in accordance to a usage status (Par. [0090]).
Kim and Iwasaki do not explicitly teach “an analysis unit configured to perform an analyzing process of an image by the imaging device”.
However, Takami teaches an analysis unit configured to perform an analyzing process of an image by the imaging device (Par. [0063] “image analysis unit (control unit 101-6, image analysis unit 118) configured to analyze the image signal”).
Kim, Iwasaki, and Takami are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They both relate to imaging devices.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of
ordinary skill in the art to modify the above imaging device thermal management system, as taught by Kim in view of Iwasaki, and incorporate an analysis unit configured to perform an analyzing process of an image by the imaging device, as taught by Takami.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to correct focus or tilt of an imaging device as suggested by Takami (Par. [0057]).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chun [US 9,639,128 B2] teaches a thermoelectric cooling device configured to thermally control memory in response to a predicted change in temperature of the memory.
Kaundinya et al. [US 10,809,777 B2] teaches “a technique for thermal management of a circuit includes generating a power consumption estimate for the circuit based on a predetermined update amount and a comparison of a sensed voltage level to a predetermined voltage level”.
Quarre [USPGPUB 2004/0195676 A1] teaches a system and method of cooling a CCD camera that may employ a composite material housing design that allows the cold side of a thermally efficient camera to be mounted relatively close to the CCD and the hot side of the thermally efficient camera to be isolated from the housing cavity in which the CCD resides.
Ghoshal [USPGPUB 6,266,962 B1] teaches an apparatus, method, and signal for sub-ambient cooling using thermoelectric dynamics in conjunction with configurations and activation schemes to maximize the mean time between failure (MTBF) of thermoelectric coolers.
Conclusion
/PETER XU/Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119