Claims 1-31 are canceled. Claim 32 is pending and examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zwaagstra et al (Molecular Cancer Therapeutics, 2012, Vol. 7, pp. 1477-1488, reference of the IDS filed 12/18/2023) in view of Gotwals et al (WO98/48024, reference of the IDS filed 12/18/2023).
Zwaagstra et al teach a single chain trap for TNF-β comprising from N-terminus to C-terminus a first TGF-β receptor ectodomain and a second TGF-β receptor ectodomain wherein the C-terminus of one ECD is linked to the N terminus of the other ECD (page 1477, second column, lines 1-5 of the bottom paragraph) generating a (TβRII)2 trap and a (TβRIIb)2 trap which meets the limitation of claims 32, sections (i) and (ii). Zwaagstra et al teach that the (TβRII)2 trap reduces growth of 4T1 mammary tumors primarily by reversing TGF-βmediated immune suppression and angiogenesis (page 1483, heading in second column).
Zwaagstra et al do not teach the fusion of the single chain bivalent trap to a the third constant domain CH3.
Zwaagstra et al teach that although the (TβRII)2 trap was stable in serum, its size, including glycosylation, is slightly under the molecular cut-off for kidney filtration (page 1482, second column, lines 5-8).
Zwaagstra et al do not teach a (TβRII)2-fusion or a (TβRIIb)2-fusion wherein the second TβRII-ECD was fused to an antibody heavy chain fragment at the amino terminus of CH2 domain.
Gotwals et al teach soluble TGF-β receptor fusions and analogs as TGF-β (page 25, lines 24-25). Gotwals et al teach that the fusion protein comprises a second protein which is the second and third constant region of an immunoglobulin, CH2 or CH3(page 26, lines 17-20), and that the preferred fusions comprise the resulting homodimers linked by disulfide linkages (page 26, lines 20-21). Gotwals et al teach that that the soluble TGF- β receptor constructs are devoid of a transmembrane region and are secreted from the cell but retain the ability to bind TGF-β (page 26, lines 32-33). Gotwals et al teach an embodiment whein the entire extracellular portion of the type II receptor is used (page 27, lines 27-29).
Gotwals et al teach an isolated TGF-beta receptor fusion protein that competitively inhibits binding of TGF-beta to TGF-beta receptor wherein the fusion protein is a TGF-beta Type II receptor linked to a second protein that is a constant region of an immunoglobulin, such as the human TGFβII-Fc.
Gotwals et al teach an examples of the TGFβII-Fc as SEQ ID NO: 8 or 9 (claims 5 and 6 of ‘024). Examination of SEQ ID NO: 8 and 9 indicates that the two copies of CH3 are attached to the C-terminus of the TGFβII extracellular domain in an N to C orientation:
It would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date to make a homodimer linked by disulfides from the bivalent (TβRII)2 of Zwaagstra et al attached to a second protein which is the third constant region of an immunoglobulin, CH3. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so by the teachings of Zwaagstra et al regarding the molecular weight of the bivalent (TβRII)2 being below the renal threshold. One of skill in the art would understand that the Fc fusion of the bivalent trap would bring the molecular weigh up to over the renal threshold and result in a longer circulating half-life of the TGF-β trap, and resulting in a longer window in which to trap circulating TGF beta resulting in greater therapeutic efficacy.
Regarding the requirement the polypeptide inhibits TGF-β1 and TGF- β3 activity with at least 100-fold greater potency than a non-Fc fused TβR-ECD doublet, Zwaagstra et al teach that both single chain bivalent traps bound to TGF-β1 and TGF-β3 (figure 2B and 2A). It would thus be an inherent feature of the dimerized monomeric fusion proteins that the inhibition of TGF-β1 and TGF-β3 would be at least 100-fold greater relative to the non-Fc fused doublet of Zwaagstra because of the greater circulating half-life of the fusion protein allowing for a longer therapeutic window in vivo. Further the instant specification teaches that the inhibition of TGF-β1 and TGF-β3 at least 100-fold greater relative to the non-Fc fused doublet is an inherent feature of the fused doublet.
Double Patenting
Claim 32 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-43 of U.S. Patent No.11,866,481. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the instant claim. Claims 1-6 of the patent anticipate the structure of instant claim 32. The requirement that the polypeptide inhibits β1 and β3 with at least 100-fold greater potency is an inherent feature of the fusion polypeptide as taught by the ‘481 specification:
The polypeptide construct provided comprises a second, TGFβ receptor ectodomain ECD that is linked in tandem to the first ECD, wherein the polypeptide construct (i.e. an ECD doublet construct) linked to an antibody constant domain exhibits TGFβ neutralization (inhibits) that is at least 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800 or 900-fold greater than a counterpart construct in which the antibody constant domain is absent, (i.e. an ECD doublet construct, also referred to herein as a non-Fc fused doublet)
.
Claim 32 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No.12,391,743. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the instant claim. Claims 1-14 of the patent anticipate the structure of the polypeptide of claim 32. The requirement that the polypeptide inhibits β1 and β3 with at least 100-fold greater poettency is an inherent feature of the fusion polypeptide as taught by the ‘743 specification:
The polypeptide construct provided comprises a second, TGFβ receptor ectodomain ECD that is linked in tandem to the first ECD, wherein the polypeptide construct (i.e. an ECD doublet construct) linked to an antibody constant domain exhibits TGFβ neutralization (inhibits) that is at least 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800 or 900-fold greater than a counterpart construct in which the antibody constant domain is absent, (i.e. an ECD doublet construct, also referred to herein as a non-Fc fused doublet).
Claim 32 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 30, 42, 47, 50, 53, 56, 68, 69, 71, 74-76, 78, 83, 84, 106, 112, 115, 120, 127, 129-133 of copending Application No. 18/009,506(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘506 claims either anticipate or render obvious the instant claim.
Claim 42 of the ‘506 application anticipate instant the structure of the polypeptide of instant claim 32.
The requirement that the polypeptide inhibits β1 and β3 with at least 100-fold greater potency is an inherent feature of the fusion polypeptide as taught by the ‘506 specification:
The potency enhancement is at least 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900-fold and approximately 1000-fold greater for the Fc-fused doublet over the non-Fc doublet.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
KAREN A. CANELLA
Examiner
Art Unit 1643
/Karen A. Canella/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643