Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyer (US 6854912) in view of Ribbe (US 10682034) and Clark (US 8011521).
Regarding claim 1, Dyer teaches a mop system, comprising: a shaft (14) having a first end and a second end; a handle (at 16) coupled to the first end of the shaft, the handle comprising: a first end; a second end opposite the first end and coupled to the first end of the shaft; and an actuator (42) disposed in the handle adjacent the second end; a head (12) releasably coupled (via bolt 57) to the second end of the shaft, the head further comprising: a revolving mechanism (51) coupled to the shaft with a release clip (59), and a bottom surface (46); and a flexible exit hose (24) that is in fluid communication with the bottle.
Dyer does not teach a body disposed on the shaft, the body further comprising: a removable bottle comprising: a first end having a lid, a second end having a discharge valve, and a grip cover; a mechanism for activating the discharge valve of the removable bottle.
Ribbe teaches a body (450) disposed on the shaft, the body further comprising: a removable bottle (410) comprising: a first end having a lid (412), a second end having a discharge valve (420), and a mechanism (430) for activating the discharge valve of the removable bottle.
Clark teaches a grip cover (112).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Dyer with a body disposed on the shaft, the body further comprising: a removable bottle comprising: a first end having a lid, a second end having a discharge valve, and mechanism for activating the discharge valve of the removable bottle as taught by Ribbe, wherein doing so would merely be a matter of simple substitution of one known reservoir for another with predictable results.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a grip cover as taught by Clark for the purpose of creating friction between the bottle and a user’s hand (Clark, col. 5, ll. 47-50).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark teaches the mop system according to claim 1, wherein the actuator is configured for operation in a variety of hand grip positions (the actuator of Dyer can be operated in more than one hand position).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark teaches the mop system according to claim 1, wherein a texture is applied to or formed on the first end of the handle (Dyer, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark teaches the mop system according to claim 1, wherein the release clip is configured to release the head of the mop system from the shaft upon depression thereof (Dyer, col. 6, ll. 15-20).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark teaches the mop system according to claim 1, wherein the bottom surface of the head comprises a first channel forming a first retention device (Dyer, 47), a second channel forming a second retention device (Dyer, 47), and a center channel (Dyer, between reference numerals 45 and 46 in Fig. 4) flanked by a first track and a second track.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark teaches the mop system according to claim 5, wherein the first retention device and the second retention device are configured to releasably receive an attachment (Dyer, col. 5, ll. 49-55).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark teaches the mop system according to claim 5, wherein the first track and the second track are configured to receive an attachment (Dyer teaches adding more fastener strips if desired, see col. 5, ll. 49-55).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark teaches the mop system according to claim 1, wherein the discharge valve further comprises a discharge valve body housing a plunger (Ribbe 423), a seal (Ribbe 424) that receives the bottom end of the plunger, a spring (425) that at least partially envelops the plunger, a retainer (Ribbe 426) that is placed atop the spring and plunger, a valve seal (Ribbe Fig. 8) that is placed atop the retainer, and an O-ring (Ribbe Fig. 8) that is placed at the bottom of the discharge valve body assembly.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark teaches the mop system according to claim 1, wherein the grip cover is press fit onto the bottle (Clark, col. 6, ll. 1-4).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark teaches the mop system according to claim 1, wherein the grip cover is attached to the bottle through an adhesive (Clark, col. 6, ll. 1-4).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark teaches the mop system according to claim 1, wherein the mechanism for activating the discharge valve includes a stem (Dyer 444) integrated into the body that is configured to open the discharge valve when the bottle is inserted into the body.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark teaches the mop system according to claim 1, wherein the flexible exit hose is at least partially enveloped by a rigid hose guide (Dyer, clip in Fig. 2).
Claims(s) 15-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyer in view of Ribbe.
Regarding claim 15, Dyer teaches a mop system, comprising: a shaft (14) having a first end and a second end; a handle (at 16) coupled to the first end of the shaft, the handle comprising: a first end; a second end opposite the first end and coupled to the first end of the shaft; and an actuator (37) disposed adjacent the second end; a head (12) releasably coupled to the second end of the shaft, the head further comprising: a revolving mechanism (50) coupled to the shaft, and a bottom surface.
Dyer does not teach a body disposed on the shaft, the body further comprising: a removable bottle comprising: a first end having a lid, and a second end having a discharge valve; and a mechanism for activating the discharge valve of the removable bottle.
Ribbe teaches a body (450) disposed on the shaft, the body further comprising: a removable bottle (410) comprising: a first end having a lid (412), a second end having a discharge valve (420), and a mechanism (430) for activating the discharge valve of the removable bottle.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Dyer with a body disposed on the shaft, the body further comprising: a removable bottle comprising: a first end having a lid, a second end having a discharge valve, and mechanism for activating the discharge valve of the removable bottle as taught by Ribbe, wherein doing so would merely be a matter of simple substitution of one known reservoir for another with predictable results.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Dyer and Ribbe teaches the mop system according to claim 15, wherein the actuator is disposed in the handle (Dyer, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Dyer and Ribbe teaches the mop system according to claim 15, wherein the revolving mechanism is coupled to the shaft with a release clip (Dyer, 59).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Dyer and Ribbe teaches the mop system according to claim 15, wherein the body comprises a flexible exit hose (Dyer 24) that is in fluid communication with the bottle and is at least partially enveloped by a rigid hose guide (Dyer, clip in Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyer and Ribbe as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Clark.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Dyer and Ribbe teaches the mop system according to claim 15, but does not teach that the removable bottle comprises a grip cover.
Clark teaches a grip cover (112).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a grip cover as taught by Clark for the purpose of creating friction between the bottle and a user’s hand (Clark, col. 5, ll. 47-50).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark teaches the mop system according to claim 18, wherein the grip cover is press fit onto the bottle (Clark, col. 6, ll. 1-4).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Huang (US 6497525).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark teaches the mop system according to claim 11, but does not teach that the mechanism for activating the discharge valve includes an elongate member which is urged by the pivoting of the actuator when activated to open a valve, thereby facilitating fluid communication between the bottle and the flexible exit hose.
Huang teaches a mechanism for activating a discharge valve (42) includes an elongate member (36) which is urged by the pivoting of an actuator (12) when activated to open a valve, thereby facilitating fluid communication between a bottle (40) and a flexible exit hose (47).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Dyer such that the mechanism for activating the discharge valve includes an elongate member which is urged by the pivoting of the actuator when activated to open a valve, thereby facilitating fluid communication between the bottle and the flexible exit hose, wherein doing so would merely be a matter of simple substitution of one known flow control means for another with predictable results.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crawford (US 8449212).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Dyer, Ribbe, and Clark teaches the mop system according to claim 1, but does not teach that the actuator extends from the second end of the handle toward the first end.
Crawford teaches an actuator (34) that extends from a second end of a handle (12) toward a first end of the handle.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the actuator of Dyer with an actuator that extends from the second end of the handle toward the first end as taught by Crawford, wherein doing so would have merely been a matter of simple substitution of one known actuator with another with predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that Dyer does not teach that the handle comprises an actuator disposed in the handle adjacent the second end is not persuasive. Adjacent means laying near, close, or contiguous. The actuator of Dyer is lying near the second end of the handle, and therefore reads on the claim limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY S OLIVER/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754