CTNF 18/457,624 CTNF 100044 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 12, 14-18, 20, 37-38, 40, 42-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN-201781028-U) (see translation) . Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a cylindrical (see e.g., Li; figs. 1-3) secondary battery comprising: an electrode assembly comprising a first electrode plate, a separator, and a second electrode plate (see e.g., Li; [0009], regarding wound negative electrode, separator, positive electrode); a case in which the electrode assembly is accommodated (see e.g., Li; figs. 1-3, [0009], regarding housing), and which comprises a lower end open and is electrically connected to the second electrode plate (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, [0038], [0044], regarding sealing plate 5 which closes the lower end opening, the sealing plate 5 is electrically connected to lead out sheet 4, and having protrusion 42 electrically connected to current collector which therefore electrically connects the case to the second electrode plate); a first current collector plate which is between an upper surface of the electrode assembly and the case and is electrically connected to the first electrode plate (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, [0041], regarding positive current collector plate 31); a terminal which penetrates an upper surface of the case and comprises a lower end electrically and mechanically coupled to an upper surface of the first current collector plate (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, [0038]-[0039], [0042]-[0043], regarding terminal post 113 which penetrates a hole in the upper surface of the case, and is connected to current collector 31 at planar boss 311); and a cap plate which seals the lower end of the case (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, [0009], [0038], [0044], regarding sealing plate 5), wherein the terminal comprises a welding groove having a depth downward from an upper surface of the terminal (see e.g., Li; figs. 2, 4, [0043], regarding the terminal post 113 having a base plate 1131 which is on side that is a depth downward from an upper surface of the terminal, a laser irradiating to weld base plate 1131 to planar boss 311 of the current collector plate 31 from the hollow part of the rivet which corresponds with a welding groove). Regarding claim 2, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 1, wherein the terminal comprises: a head located on an upper portion of the upper surface of the case (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, wherein the upper portion of terminal post 113 may correspond with a head, which is located above an upper surface of the case); and a fastening part extending from a center of the head toward an inside of the case and integrally formed with the head (see e.g., Li; figs. 2, 4, wherein the hollow portion of rivet post 1132 corresponds with a fastening part, the rivet post extending from a center of the head portion, extending inside the case portion, and integrally formed with the head portion because the head is formed by riveting the rivet post). Regarding claim 3, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 2, wherein the first current collector plate is welded from an outside of the terminal through the welding groove in a state in which the upper surface of the first current collector plate is in contact with a lower surface of the fastening part, such that a welding bead is located in the welding groove (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, [0043], regarding laser irradiated from the hollow part of rivet post 1132 outside the battery case to weld the base plate 1131 to planar boss 311, which thereby forms the welding bead in the welding groove). Regarding claim 4, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 3, wherein the first current collector plate has a thickness of 0.6 (see e.g., Li; [0042], regarding current collector 31 thickness), which falls within the claimed range of 0.2 mm to 1.5 mm. Regarding claim 5, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 2. Li discloses the base plate is 1 mm thick (see e.g., Li; [0039]). A section of the base plate may correspond with the claimed fastening part wherein the thickness is a lower surface of the welding groove to a lower surface of the fastening part, and therefore Li provides a thickness that falls within the claimed thickness of the fastening part of 0.5 mm to 1.5 mm. Regarding claim 6, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 2, wherein the welding groove passes through the center of the head and is formed downward from an upper portion of the fastening part (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, wherein the hollow part of the rivet corresponding with the welding groove passes through the center of the head, which is the top of the rivet that is riveted, and formed downward from an upper portion of the fastening part, wherein an upper portion of the fastening part may be a section of the rivet that is higher up along the hollow portion). Regarding claim 8, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 2, wherein the fastening part comprises: an upper fastening part connected to the head and located in a terminal hole of the upper surface of the case; and a lower fastening part extending downward from the upper fastening part and located inside the case (see e.g., Li; figs. 2, 4, wherein an upper portion of the rivet post 1132 may correspond with an upper fastening part which is connected to the head and located in the terminal hole of the upper surface of the case, and a lower portion of the rivet post 1132 and base plate 1131 may correspond with a lower fastening part extending downward from the upper fastening part and located inside the case). Regarding claim 9, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 8, wherein the lower fastening part has a larger outer diameter than the upper fastening part (see e.g., Li; figs. 2, 4, wherein the base plate 1131 has a diameter larger than the top of the rivet that is rivetted). Regarding claim 12, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 8, wherein the lower fastening part has a larger side portion thickness than the upper fastening part (see e.g., Li; figs. 2, 4, wherein the base plate 1131 shows a thickness greater than the rivet post 1132). Regarding claim 14, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 2. Li discloses the thickness of the positive electrode plate 31 may be 0.6 mm (see e.g., Li; [0042]), and a thickness of the base plate is 1 mm (see e.g., Li; [0039]), which corresponds with the claimed a thickness of the first current collector plate is smaller than a lower portion thickness of the fastening part. Regarding claim 15, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 2, further comprising a first gasket between the terminal and the case (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, [0043], regarding metal gasket 114 between the terminal and the case). Regarding claim 16, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 15, further comprising an outer insulation member between the head of the terminal and the upper surface of the case (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, [0038]-[0039], regarding insulating sealing ring 112 between the head of the terminal and an upper surface of the case). Regarding claim 17, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 16, wherein an end of the outer insulation member protrudes further than the head (see e.g., Li; fig. 2). Regarding claim 18, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 15, wherein the first gasket extends between the head and the upper surface of the case (see e.g., Li; fig. 2), and an end of the first gasket protrudes further than the head (see e.g., Li; fig. 2). Regarding claim 20, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 1, wherein a lower surface of the terminal is a flat plane (see e.g., Li; figs. 2, 5). Regarding claim 37, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 1, wherein the case comprises: an upper surface portion shaped of a flat plate and having a terminal hole passing through a central portion (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, regarding the top side of the case); and a side surface portion extending downward from an edge of the upper surface portion (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, wherein the cylindrical tube sides of the case extend downward from an edge of the upper portion of the case). Regarding claim 38, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 37, further comprising an inner insulation member covering an inner surface of the upper surface portion of the case (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, [0038]-[0039], regarding insulating sealing ring 112 which covers an inner surface of the upper part of the case). Regarding claim 40, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 38, wherein the case further comprises a bent portion bent in a rounded shape between the upper surface portion and the side surface portion (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, wherein the edges between the side of the case and the top of the case correspond with a bent portion bent in a rounded shape). Regarding claim 42, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 1, wherein, in the electrode assembly, a positive electrode uncoated portion that is not coated with a positive electrode active material protrudes upward from the first electrode plate, and a negative electrode uncoated portion that is not coated with a negative electrode active material protrudes downward from the second electrode plate (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, wherein positive electrode plate 21 having uncoated portion touches collector plate 31 and negative electrode plate 22 having uncoated portion touches collector plate 33). Regarding claim 43, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 42, wherein the electrode assembly comprises a step that is concave at outermost parts of upper and lower portions relative to other regions (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, wherein at the bottom of the electrode assembly the current collectors 21 comprise a concave step away from the plate 33 and at the top of the electrode assembly the current collectors 22 comprise a concave step away from the plate 31) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7, 10-11, 13, 19, 21-23, 39, 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN-201781028-U) (see translation), and further in view of Shan (CN-114883757-A) (see equivalent US-20230387521-A1 for translation) . Regarding claim 7, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 2. Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the head has a larger plane size than the fastening part. However, Shan discloses a similar terminal component which penetrates a pole of the battery shell, the terminal component having a flange portion on an outer portion and an inner portion of the battery case (see e.g., Shan; figs. 1-2, 3, 5). Shan discloses wherein the outer portion which corresponds to a head having a larger plane size than a fastening part of the terminal part (see e.g., Shan; fig. 2, 3, 5, wherein the riveting portion 203 which sits on the inside of the case has a smaller circumference than the limiting portion 201 of the terminal part). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had terminal component as disclosed by Li provide the head part having a larger plane size than the fastening part as disclosed by Shan in order to provide high safety (see e.g., Shan; [0030]). Regarding claim 10, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 8. Li discloses a groove is provided on an outer surface of the lower fastening part in an inward direction (see e.g., Li; figs. 2, 4, wherein a corner section above the base plate 1131 corresponds with an outer surface of the lower fastening part, which forms a slot space with the edge of the hole 111 corresponding to a groove, and where insulating sealing ring 112 fills the space of the groove). Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the lower fastening part has a smaller outer diameter than the upper fastening part. However, Shan discloses wherein a lower fastening part has a smaller outer diameter than the upper fastening part (see e.g., Shan; figs. 2, 5, wherein the riveting portion 203 corresponding to a lower fastening part due to being inside of the case has a smaller outer diameter than the limiting portion 201 which corresponds with the upper fastening part due to being located outside of the case), and a groove is provided on an outer surface of the lower fastening part in an inward direction (see e.g., Shan; figs. 2, 3, 5, regarding the groove at the top of the riveting portion 203). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the terminal disclosed by Li to have the lower fastening part have a smaller outer diameter than the upper fastening part, and a groove provided on an outer surface of the lower fastening part in an inward direction as disclosed by Shan in order to ensure high safety (see e.g., Shan; [0030]). Regarding claim 11, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 10, further comprising a coupling member inserted into and coupled to the groove provided on the outer surface of the lower fastening part (see above; Li; figs. 2, 4, wherein the insulating sealing ring 112 fills the space of the groove). Regarding claim 13, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 2. Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the side portion thickness of the fastening part is larger than a lower portion thickness of the fastening part. However, Shan discloses wherein the side portion thickness of the fastening part is larger than a lower portion thickness of the fastening part (see e.g., Shan; figs. 2, 5, wherein the thickness of the connecting portion 202 is thicker than the riveting portion 203). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the terminal disclosed by Li to have the side portion thickness of the fastening part is larger than a lower portion thickness of the fastening part as disclosed by Shan in order to ensure high safety (see e.g., Shan; [0030]). Regarding claim 19, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 15, wherein the first gasket is in contact with the upper surface of the case (see e.g., Li; fig. 2). In Li, the insulating sealing ring 112 is between the first gasket and the head of the terminal, so Li does not explicitly disclose the first gasket is in contact with a lower surface of the terminal. However, Shan discloses an inner insulating element 600 corresponding to a first gasket, wherein the element 600 is in contact with an upper surface of the case 100 and a lower surface of the terminal part 203 (see e.g., Li; figs. 2, 5). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gasket to contact an upper surface of the case in order to ensure high safety (see e.g., Shan; [0030]). Regarding claim 21, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 1. Li does not explicitly disclose wherein a central region of a lower surface of the terminal protrudes inward relative to an edge region thereof. However, Shan discloses wherein a central region of a lower surface of the terminal protrudes inward relative to an edge region thereof (see e.g., Shan; fig. 5, [0056]-[0057], regarding concave portion 2042 which has an edge region and a central region protruding inward from the edge region). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base plate disclosed by Li to have a concave portion as disclosed by Shan in order to provide a sealing nail (see e.g., Shan; [0059]) which ensures high safety (see e.g., Shan; [0030]). Regarding claim 22, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 21. In the same modification above regarding claim 21 with the concave portion of Shan, Shan provides that the central region of the lower surface of the terminal is a flat plane (see e.g., Shan; fig. 5). Regarding claim 23, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 1. Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the welding groove has an upper inner diameter larger than a lower inner diameter. However, Shan discloses a through portion 2041 and a concave portion 2042 on an outside of the battery case (see e.g., Shan; figs. 2, 5, [0056]-[0057]), the concave portion 2042 may correspond with an upper inner diameter of the welding groove due to being situated outside of the battery case, and the through portion 2041 correspond to a lower inner diameter of the welding groove due to being situated through and in the battery case. The concave portion 2042 has a larger diameter than the through portion 2041. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the welding groove disclosed by Li to have an upper inner diameter larger than a lower inner diameter as disclosed by Shan in order to ensure high safety (see e.g., Shan; [0030]). Regarding claim 39, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 38. Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the inner insulation member has a larger plane size than the first current collector plate. However, Shan discloses wherein an inner insulation member has a larger plane size than an adaptor piece corresponding to a first current collector plate (see e.g., Shan; figs. 1-2, [0055], wherein the inner insulation member 600 extends past the adaptor 300 functioning as the first current collector piece as shown in fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner insulation member of Li to have a larger plane size than the first current collector plate in order to ensure the insulating setting between the connecting piece and the end of the wall of the case (see e.g., Li; [0055]). Regarding claim 41, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 40. Li discloses wherein the inner insulation member covers an inner surface of the upper surface portion of the case (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, regarding insulation sealing ring 112 against a top face of the top of the casing). Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the inner insulation member covers an inner surface of the bent portion. However, Shan discloses wherein an inner insulation member 600 may extend all the way to the edge of the wall case (see e.g., Shan; fig. 1, [0055], regarding the area ratio of the inner insulating element 600 to the end wall ranging up to 1.0), which would therefore cover an inner surface of the bent portion. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner insulation of Li to extend to the end wall of the case and thereby cover the bent portion as disclosed by Shan in order to ensure insulating setting between the connecting piece and the end wall of the case (see e.g., Shan; [0055]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN-201781028-U) (see translation) and Shan (CN-114883757-A) (see equivalent US-20230387521-A1 for translation), and in further view of Otsuka (JP-2021057234-A) (see translation) . Regarding claim 24, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 23. In modified Li, Shan provides that the diameter of the concave portion 2042 which corresponds with an upper inner diameter has a greater diameter than the straight through portion 2041 which corresponds with the lower inner diameter (see e.g., Shan; [0078]-[0079], figs. 5, 11, regarding D 0 being less than D 1 , such as D 1 being 0.5D- 0 to 0.8 D 1 ). Li does not explicitly disclose wherein, in the welding groove, the upper inner diameter is 2 mm to 5 mm, and the lower inner diameter is 0.5 mm to 2 mm. However, Otsuka discloses a riveted terminal with a hollow portion corresponding to a welding groove, which may correspond with a lower inner diameter, wherein the diameter is 1-4 mm (see e.g., Otsuka; figs. 1-3, table 1, wherein the diameter D2 is 1-4 mm in examples 1-4), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.5-2 mm. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lower inner diameter of modified Li to be 1-4 mm as disclosed by Otsuka in order to provide enough welding area (see e.g., Otsuka; [0022]). As above, Shan provides that the upper inner diameter is up to twice as large as the lower inner diameter. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the upper inner diameter of modified Li to be twice as large as the lower inner diameter, such as 2 mm from being twice as large as D2 of example 1 of Otsuka, or 4 mm from being twice as large as D2 of example 2 of Otsuka, in order to provide high safety (see e.g., Shan; [0080]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 25-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN-201781028-U) (see translation), and in further view of Hwangbo (US-20220231345-A1) . Regarding claim 25, Li discloses the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 1. Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the case comprises: a beading part which is recessed into the case at an upper portion of the cap plate; and a crimping part in which the lower end of the case is bent inward to fix the cap plate at a lower portion of the cap plate. However, Hwangbo discloses a battery wherein a lower end of the case of the battery comprises a beading part which is recessed into the case at an upper portion of the cap plate (see e.g., Hwangbo; fig. 13, [0181]-[0182], regarding beading portion 21, which recesses at an upper portion of cap 30); and a crimping part in which a lower end of the case is bent inward to fix the cap plate at a lower portion of the cap plate (see e.g., Hwangbo; fig. 13, [0181]-[0182], regarding crimping portion 22 to fix cap plate 30 at a location below the bottom face of the cap plate 30). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the case of Li to provide a beading part which is recessed into the case at an upper portion of the cap plate and a crimping part in which the lower end of the case is bent inward to fix the cap plate at a lower portion of the cap plate as disclosed by Hwangbo in order to prevent the electrode assembly having a size approximately corresponding to the inner diameter of the battery can from coming out through the opening formed at the lower end of the battery can and provides support (see e.g., Hwangbo; [0182]). Regarding claim 26, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 25. Li does not provide that the cap plate is polar, so by absence, the cap plate in Li may be non-polar as claimed. Li does not explicitly disclose further comprising a second gasket between the cap plate and the beading part and between the cap plate and the crimping part. However, Hwangbo discloses a second gasket between the cap plate and the beading part and between the cap plate and the crimping part (see e.g., Hwangbo; fig. 13, [0189], regarding sealing gasket 90 between the cap plate 30 and the beading part 21 and between the cap plate 30 and the crimping part 22). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a second gasket between the cap plate and the beading part and between the cap plate and the crimping part as disclosed by Hwangbo to the battery assembly of Li in order to secure the airtightness of the battery can (see e.g., Hwangbo; [0189]). Regarding claim 27, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 26. In the same modification above regarding claim 26, the gasket provided by Hwangbo shows that a lower end of the second gasket protrudes more toward a center of the cap plate than the crimping part (see e.g., Hwangbo; fig. 13, wherein the tip of the gasket 90 extends past the crimping portion 22). Regarding claim 28, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 26. Li discloses further comprising a second current collector plate (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, [0041], regarding negative current collector 33), which has a circular plate shape corresponding to a lower surface of the electrode assembly (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, 6b) and being in contact with and electrically connected to the second electrode plate exposed to the lower surface of the electrode assembly (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, [0041], wherein the negative electrode current collectors 22 extend to touch the negative current collector 33). Regarding claim 29, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 28, wherein the second current collector plate comprises: a circular planar portion contacting the lower surface of the electrode assembly (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, 6b, regarding the flat circular part of negative current collector plate 33 which contacts the lower surface of the electrode assembly); and an extension portion extending downward from an edge of the planar portion (see e.g., Li; fig. 2, 6b, which shows the center of the plate 33 having a extending portion which extends downward from an edge of the planar portion, fig. 7, [0042]-[0043], regarding planar boss 311). Regarding claim 30, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 29. Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the extension portion of the second current collector plate is between the second gasket and the beading part. However, Hwangbo discloses a current collector plate wherein the extension portion of the second current collector plate is between the second gasket and the beading part (see e.g., Hwangbo; fig. 13, [0253], wherein the current collector 80 at the bottom of the electrode assembly has a contact portion 83a which is extended and between the second gasket 90 and the beading part 21). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bottom of the battery of Li such that the extension portion of the second current collector plate is between the second gasket and the beading part as disclosed by Hwangbo in order to electrically connect the electrode assembly and the battery can (see e.g., Hwangbo; [0253]). Regarding claim 31, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 29. Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the extension portion of the second current collector plate is bent or rounded along the beading part. However, Hwangbo discloses a current collector plate at the bottom of the battery can which is bent or rounded along the beading part (see e.g., Hwangbo; fig. 13, [0253], wherein the current collector 80 at the bottom of the electrode assembly is bent along the recess of the beading part 21). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery of Li to have the extension portion of the second current collector plate bent or rounded along the beading part as disclosed by Hwangbo in order to electrically connect the electrode assembly and the battery can (see e.g., Hwangbo; [0253]). Regarding claim 32, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 29, wherein the second current collector plate has a hole penetrating between an upper surface and a lower surface at a center of the planar portion (see e.g., Li; [0042], fig. 7, wherein the second current collector plate 31 has injection holes 312, which are holes that penetrate between an upper and lower surface around the middle sections of the planar portion) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 33-34, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN-201781028-U) (see translation) and Hwangbo (US-20220231345-A1), and in further view of Huang (CN-113346201-A) (see translation) . Regarding claim 33, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 25. Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the cap plate comprises an edge region between the crimping part and the beading part and a central region that is concave toward an inside of the case relative to the edge region. However, Huang discloses wherein the cap plate comprises an edge region between the crimping part and the beading part and a central region that is concave toward an inside of the case relative to the edge region (see e.g., Huang; figs. 4, 6, [0058], regarding the bottom of the battery comprising a crimping part and a beading part wherein an edge region of the cap plate 4 is between the crimping part and the beading part, and a central region of the cap plate 4 is concave toward an inside of the case relative to the edge region). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery of modified Li by providing a cap plate comprising an edge region between the crimping part and the beading part and a central region that is concave toward an inside of the case relative to the edge region in order to compress the negative current collector which secures the electrode body (see e.g., Huang; [0058]). Regarding claim 34, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 33. Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the cap plate comprises a vent, which is a notch formed in an upper direction from a lower surface in the central region. However, Hwangbo discloses wherein the cap plate comprises a vent, which is a notch formed in an upper direction from a lower surface in the central region (see e.g., Hwangbo; figs. 13-14, [0190], regarding venting portion 31). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Li to provide a notch vent in the cap plate as disclosed by Hwangbo in order provide a rupture point to discharge gas in abnormal situations (see e.g., Hwangbo; [0190]). Regarding claim 36, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 34. In the same modification above in claim 34, the notch vent provided by Hwangbo is planar ring shape (see e.g., Hwangbo; figs. 13-14, regarding notch 31 in a circle), which corresponds with the claimed vent having one or more patterns in which a planar shape has a ring shape, a straight-line shape, or a curve shape, spaced from the center . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN-201781028-U) (see translation) and Hwangbo (US-20220231345-A1), and Huang (CN-113346201-A) (see translation), and in further view of Jang (US-10862089-B2) . Regarding claim 35, modified Li teaches the cylindrical secondary battery as claimed in claim 34. In the modification above regarding claim 34, Hwangbo further provides that the venting portion 31 has a smaller thickness compared to the peripheral region of the cap 30 (see e.g., Hwangbo; [0190]), which corresponds with the thickness of the vent being smaller than thicknesses of other regions of the cap plate. Modified Li does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the vent is in a range of 0.05 mm to 0.35 mm. However, Jang discloses that the conventional depth of a venting notch in a battery case is about 0.1 mm and has a tolerance of 0.05 mm (see e.g., Jang; section 10 lines 37-44), and claims wherein the depth of the venting notch is 0.05 to 0.225 mm (see e.g., Jang; claim 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the venting notch of modified Li to be 0.05-0.225 mm, or about 0.1 mm in depth as disclosed by Jang in order to prevent rupture due to minimal physical impacts and pressure (see e.g., Jang; section 10 lines 37-44). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KEVIN SONG whose telephone number is (571)270-7337. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Martin can be reached at (571) 270-7871. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728 /MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 2 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 3 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 4 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 5 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 6 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 7 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 8 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 9 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 10 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 11 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 12 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 13 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 14 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 15 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 16 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 17 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 18 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/457,624 Page 20 Art Unit: 1728