DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means in claims 1, 2, 11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al., US 20200396797 (hereafter Tan), and further in view of Kim et al., US 20220241107 (hereafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, A rechargeable electrical heating device (1), comprising: (Paragraph [31] teaches conductive heater with rechargeable battery.)
a flexible heat generator (1a), (Paragraph [30] teaches conductive heater comprises flexible substrate)
and a power source (1 b) connected to the flexible heat generator (1 a), (Paragraph [14] teaches “the conductive heater can be battery powered.”)
wherein the flexible heat generator (1a) comprises:
a first flexible substrate layer (11), (Paragraph [30] teaches flexible substrate 160)
a first conductive line (12) arranged on the first flexible substrate layer (11), wherein the first conductive line (12) comprises a first positive line (121) and a first negative line (122), (Paragraph [18] teaches “a first conductive bus 110, a second conductive bus 120, a first set of electrodes 130 electrically connected to the first conductive bus 110, a second set of electrodes 140 electrically connected to the second conductive bus 120”)
a first heat generating line (13) arranged on the first flexible substrate layer (11) and covering a portion of the first conductive line (12), (Fig. 1B teaches heater stripes 150)
Fig. 1B in Tan
and a first connector (15) arranged between the first flexible substrate layer (11) and the second flexible substrate layer (14) and electrically connected to the first conductive line (12), (Paragraph [24] teaches power source connection points 111, 121)
wherein the first positive line (121) and the first negative line (122) are not directly connected to each other, (Fig. 1B)
and wherein the first positive line (121) is electrically connected to the first negative line (122) by means of the first heat generating line (13). (Paragraph [16] teaches “a conductive heater having electrodes connected to power buses and printed ink heater stripes.”)
Tan is silent about a second flexible substrate layer (14) arranged on the first flexible substrate layer (11) and covering the first conductive line (12) and the first heat generating line (13), wherein the second flexible substrate layer (14) is bonded to the first flexible substrate layer (11) by means of a hot-pressing process,
Kim teaches a second flexible substrate layer (14) arranged on the first flexible substrate layer (11) and covering the first conductive line (12) and the first heat generating line (13), (Paragraph [22] teaches “the cover member may be made of a material that is moisture-proof and flexible.”)
wherein the second flexible substrate layer (14) is bonded to the first flexible substrate layer (11) by means of a hot-pressing process, (Paragraph [127] teaches “the first cover member 141 and the second cover member 142 may be attached via an adhesive layer or fixed through heat fusion.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the flexible cover as taught in Kim to the heater in Tan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to “prevent external exposure of the applied electrode unit and heating unit” as taught in abstract in Kim.
Regarding claim 11,
(Similar scope to claim 1 and therefore rejected under the same argument.)
Claim(s) 2-6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan and Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seong, KR 20160009712 (hereafter Seong).
Regarding claim 2, Claim 2 is interpreted as the heat generator comprises multiple layers of heaters and corresponding conductors. Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Fig. 10 in Seong
Seong teaches a heat generator in Fig. 10 with multiple heaters and corresponding conductors.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add multiple layers of heater as taught in Seong to the heater in Tan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “the heat generating mechanism can be manufactured by using the surface heat generating elements 1, 2 and 3 of various types singly or in combination, so that applicability and reliability can be
remarkably improved” as taught in page 14, paragraph 1 of the attached machine translation of Seong.
Regarding claim 3,
The rechargeable electrical heating device (1) according to claim 2, wherein:
the first positive line (121) and the first negative line (122) are arranged in a comb shape each comprising a main portion and a plurality of branch portions, (Fig. 1B in Tan)
the main portion of the first positive line (121) and the main portion of the first negative line (122) are parallel to each other, (Fig. 1B in Tan)
the branch portions of the first positive line (121) and the branch portions of the first negative line (122) are arranged alternately with each other, (Fig. 1B in Tan)
and the first heat generating line (13) comprises a plurality of linear heat generating lines parallel to each other, (Fig. 1B in Tan)
each linear heat generating line covers at least one of the branch portions of the first positive line (121) and one of the branch portions of the first negative line (122). (Fig. 1B in Tan)
Regarding claim 4,
The rechargeable electrical heating device (1) according to claim 3, wherein:
the first connector (15) comprises a first positive terminal and a first negative terminal, (Fig. 1B in Tan teaches 121 and 111)
the main portion of the first positive line (121) is connected to the positive terminal of the first connector (15), and the main portion of the first negative line (122) is connected to the negative terminal of the first connector (15). (Fig. 1B in Tan)
Regarding claim 5,
The rechargeable electrical heating device (1) according to claim 2, wherein:
the second positive line (191) and the second negative line (192) each comprises a straight section, (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Fig. 10 in Seong)
the straight sections of the second positive line (191) and the second negative line (192) are parallel to each other, (Fig. 10 in Seong)
the second heat generating line (16) comprises a plurality of linear heat generating lines parallel to each other, each linear heat generating line covers a portion of the straight section of the second positive line (191) and a portion of the straight section of the second negative line (192). (Fig. 10 in Seong)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add multiple layers of heater as taught in Seong to the heater in Tan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “the heat generating mechanism can be manufactured by using the surface heat generating elements 1, 2 and 3 of various types singly or in combination, so that applicability and reliability can be
remarkably improved” as taught in page 14, paragraph 1 of the attached machine translation of Seong.
Regarding claim 6,
The rechargeable electrical heating device (1) according to claim 5, wherein: the second connector (18) comprises a second positive terminal connected to the second positive line (191) and a second negative terminal connected to the second negative line (192). ( Seong teaches heat generator with second positive and negative lines in Fig. 10. Page 2, paragraph 3 teaches “A wire for terminal treatment is soldered to one end of each of the copper foils 4”. It is implied that each positive or negative line has its own terminal wire.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add multiple layers of heater with own connectors as taught in Seong to the heater in Tan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “the heat generating mechanism can be manufactured by using the surface heat generating elements 1, 2 and 3 of various types singly or in combination, so that applicability and reliability can be remarkably improved” as taught in page 14, paragraph 1 of the attached machine translation of Seong.
Regarding claim 8,
The rechargeable electrical heating device (1) according to claim 2,wherein:the first conductive line (12) and the second conductive line (19) comprise a silver foil formed by silver printing. (Tan teaches in paragraph [141] “Silver Ink #1 was screen printed onto the PET film in a horizontal bar pattern as shown in FIGS. 1A-1C”.
Tan is silent about second conductive line.
Seong teaches a heat generator in Fig. 10 with multiple heaters and corresponding conductors.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add multiple layers of heater as taught in Seong to the heater in Tan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “the heat generating mechanism can be manufactured by using the surface heat generating elements 1, 2 and 3 of various types singly or in combination, so that applicability and reliability can be
remarkably improved” as taught in page 14, paragraph 1 of the attached machine translation of Seong.
Regarding claim 9,
The rechargeable electrical heating device (1) according to claim 2,wherein:
the first heat generating line (13) and the second heat generating line (16) comprise a PTC carbon foil formed by carbon paste printing. (Tan teaches in paragraph [19] “PTC ink can be, for example, PTC carbon ink or the like. In some embodiments, the PTC ink can be printed to cover the entire area of electrodes (130, 140).”
Tan is silent about second heat generating line.
Seong teaches a heat generator in Fig. 10 with multiple heaters and corresponding conductors.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add multiple layers of heater as taught in Seong to the heater in Tan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “the heat generating mechanism can be manufactured by using the surface heat generating elements 1, 2 and 3 of various types singly or in combination, so that applicability and reliability can be
remarkably improved” as taught in page 14, paragraph 1 of the attached machine translation of Seong.
Regarding claim 10,
The rechargeable electrical heating device (1) according to claim 2,wherein:
the power source (1 b) comprises a rechargeable battery pack or a disposable battery. (Paragraph [14] in Tan teaches “the conductive heater can be battery powered.” It is implied that any battery is either rechargeable or disposable.)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan , Kim, and Seong as applied to claim2 above, and further in view of Huang et al., CN 212034371 (hereafter Huang).
The rechargeable electrical heating device (1) according to claim 2,wherein: the first flexible substrate layer (11), the second flexible substrate layer (14) and the third flexible substrate layer (17) are made from TPU. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Huang teaches “the substrate and the coating layer are made of TPU film material” in page 2, paragraph 11 of the attached machine translation.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to make the substrate layers in Tan from TPU as taught in Huang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “using the TPU base material and the TPU film layer; compared with the traditional PET material, the flexibility is better and has better comfort” as taught in page 3, paragraph 5 in Huang.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 12 of copending Application No. 18/457631 (hereafter ‘631) in view of Tan as described in Table 1 below (differences are in bold). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Table 1
18/457685 (08/29/2023)
18/457631 (08/29/2023)
Claim 1. A rechargeable electrical heating device (1), comprising:
a flexible heat generator (1a), and a power source (1 b) connected to the flexible heat generator (1 a),
Claim 1.
wherein the flexible heat generator (1a) comprises: a first flexible substrate layer (11), a first conductive line (12) arranged on the first flexible substrate layer (11), wherein the first conductive line (12) comprises a first positive line (121) and a first negative line (122), a first heat generating line (13) arranged on the first flexible substrate layer (11) and covering a portion of the first conductive line (12), a second flexible substrate layer (14) arranged on the first flexible substrate layer (11) and covering the first conductive line (12) and the first heat generating line (13), wherein the second flexible substrate layer (14) is bonded to the first flexible substrate layer (11) by means of a hot-pressing process, and a first connector (15) arranged between the first flexible substrate layer (11) and the second flexible substrate layer (14) and electrically connected to the first conductive line (12),
wherein the first positive line (121) and the first negative line (122) are not directly connected to each other, and wherein the first positive line (121) is electrically connected to the first negative line (122) by means of the first heat generating line (13).
A flexible heat generator (1), comprising: a first flexible substrate layer (11), a first conductive line (12) arranged on the first flexible substrate layer (11), wherein the first conductive line (12) comprises a first positive line (121) and a first negative line (122),
a first heat generating line (13) arranged on the first flexible substrate layer (11) and covering a portion of the first conductive line (12), a second flexible substrate layer (14) arranged on the first flexible substrate layer (11) and covering the first conductive line (12) and the first heat generating line (13), wherein the second flexible substrate layer (14) is bonded to the first flexible substrate layer (11) by means of a hot-pressing process, and a first connector (15) arranged between the first flexible substrate layer (11) and the second flexible substrate layer (14) and electrically connected to the first conductive line (12),
wherein the first positive line (121) and the first negative line (122) are not directly connected to each other, and wherein the first positive line (121) is electrically connected to the first negative line (122) by means of the first heat generating line (13).
Claim 11. A rechargeable electrical heating device (1), comprising: a flexible heat generator (1a), and a power source (1 b) connected to the flexible heat generator (1 a),
Claim 12.
wherein the flexible heat generator (1a) comprises: a first flexible substrate layer (11), a first positive line (121) arranged on the first flexible substrate layer (11), a first heat generating line (13) arranged on the first positive line (121) and covering a portion of the first positive line (121), a first negative line (122) arranged on the first flexible substrate layer (11) and covering a portion of the first heat generating line (13), a second flexible substrate layer (14) covering the first positive line (121), the first heat generating line (13) and the first negative line (122), wherein the second flexible substrate layer (14) is bonded to the first flexible substrate layer (11) by means of a hot-pressing process, and
a first connector (15) arranged between the first flexible substrate layer (11) and the second flexible substrate layer (14) and electrically connected to the first positive line (121) and the first negative line (122), wherein the first positive line (121) and the first negative line (122) are not directly connected to each other, and wherein the first positive line (121) is electrically connected to the first negative line (122) by means of the first heat generating line (13).
A flexible heat generator (1), comprising: a first flexible substrate layer (11), a first positive line (121) arranged on the first flexible substrate layer (11), a first heat generating line (13) arranged on the first positive line (121) and covering a portion of the first positive line (121), a first negative line (122) arranged on the first flexible substrate layer (11) and covering a portion of the first heat generating line (13), a second flexible substrate layer (14) covering the first positive line (121), the first heat generating line (13) and the first negative line (122), wherein the second flexible substrate layer (14) is bonded to the first flexible substrate layer (11) by means of a hot-pressing process, and a first connector (15) arranged between the first flexible substrate layer (11) and the second flexible substrate layer (14) and electrically connected to the first positive line (121) and the first negative line (122), wherein the first positive line (121) and the first negative line (122) are not directly connected to each other, and wherein the first positive line (121) is electrically connected to the first negative line (122) by means of the first heat generating line (13).
‘631 is silent about A rechargeable electrical heating device (1), comprising:
..a power source (1 b) connected to the flexible heat generator (1 a). Tan teaches in paragraph [31] a conductive heater with rechargeable battery. Paragraph [30] teaches conductive heater comprises flexible substrate.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the power source from Tan to the flexible heat generator in ‘631 to form a rechargeable electrical heating device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “the warming device in such configurations can provide heating in transit, for example, when it is powered by a battery” as taught in paragraph [17] in Tan.
Instant claims 2-9 are met by claims 2-9, respectively of ‘631.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN207766575, abstract
/FAHMIDA FERDOUSI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761