DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kagata et al. (# US 2018/0265723) in view of Fischer et al. (# US 5710197).
Kagata et al. discloses:
1. An ink jet composition (see Abstract) comprising:
a dispersant ([0038]-[0048]); and
water ([0075]-[0076]),
wherein the dispersant contains a compound containing a formalin condensate of aromatic sulfonic acid ([0039]-[0040]),
3. The ink jet composition according to claim 1, wherein a content of the water is 60% by mass or greater and 98% by mass or less with respect to a total amount of the ink jet composition (30 to 90%; [0076]).
4. The ink jet composition according to claim 1, further comprising: at least one of Disperse Red 60 ([0033]) or Disperse Red 364.
5. The ink jet composition according to claim 1, wherein the ink jet composition is an ink jet ink composition ([0120]).
6. The ink jet composition according to claim 1, further comprising: an organic solvent ([0063]-[0067]).
Kagata et al. explicitly did not discloses:
A compound represented by Formula (1);
R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a cyano group.
2. The ink jet composition according to claim 1, wherein a content of the compound represented by Formula (1) is 2% by mass or greater and 30% by mass or less with respect to a total amount of the ink jet composition.
Fischer teaches to have the lightfastness printed image,
The ink composition comprises a compound represented by Formula (column: 2, line: 28-65)
2. The ink jet composition according to claim 1, wherein a content of the compound represented by Formula (1) is 2% by mass or greater and 30% by mass or less with respect to a total amount of the ink jet composition (0.5 to 10%; column: 1, line: 45-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the ink composition of Kagata et al. by the aforementioned teaching of Fischer et al. in order to have the lightfastness printed image.
Claim(s) 10 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kagata et al. (# US 2018/0265723) in view of Fischer et al. (# US 5710197) as applied to claims 1-6 above, and further in view of Koga et al. (# US 2005/0244592).
Kagata et al. and Fscher et al. discloses all limitation of a printing method except:
10. A dyeing method comprising:
an adhesion step of making the ink jet composition according to claim 1 adhere to a recording surface of an intermediate transfer medium using an ink jet recording device; and
a thermal transfer step of performing thermal transfer by making the recording surface and a medium to be dyed oppose each other.
11. The dyeing method according to claim 10, wherein the medium to be dyed includes at least one among polyester, acryl, nylon, and a medium having a surface provided with a polyester layer.
Koga et al. teaches to have high quality uniform color
10. A dyeing method comprising:
an adhesion step of making the ink jet composition according to claim 1 adhere to a recording surface of an intermediate transfer medium using an ink jet recording device; and
a thermal transfer step of performing thermal transfer by making the recording surface and a medium to be dyed oppose each other ([0028]-[0029]; [0101]; [0106]; [0199]).
11. The dyeing method according to claim 10, wherein the medium to be dyed includes at least one among polyester, acryl, nylon, and a medium having a surface provided with a polyester layer ([0050]-[0053]; see Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the printing method of Kagata et al. as modified by the aforementioned teaching of Koga et al.in order to have the high quality smooth printed image.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kagata et al. (# US 2018/0265723) in view of Fischer et al. (# US 5710197).
Kagata et al. discloses:
7. An ink set (first ink & second ink; see Table 1) comprising:
an ink jet composition containing
a dispersant ([0038]-[0048]), and
water ([0075]-[0076]),
in which the dispersant contains a compound containing a formalin condensate of aromatic sulfonic acid ([0039]-[0040]).
8. The ink set according to claim 7, further comprising: a cyan ink composition containing a cyan dye ([0032]-[0033]); a magenta ink composition containing a magenta dye ([0032]-[0033]); a yellow ink composition containing a yellow dye ([0032]-[0033]); and a black ink composition containing a black dye ([0032]-[0033]).
Kagata et al. explicitly did not discloses:
7. A compound represented by Formula (1);
R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a cyano group.
at least one of a fluorescent yellow ink composition containing a fluorescent yellow dye or a fluorescent red ink composition containing a fluorescent red dye
9. The ink set according to claim 7, further comprising: a fluorescent blue ink composition containing a fluorescent blue dye.
Fischer teaches to have the lightfastness printed image,
The ink composition comprises a compound represented by Formula (column: 2, line: 28-65).
at least one of a fluorescent yellow ink composition containing a fluorescent yellow dye or a fluorescent red ink composition containing a fluorescent red dye (fluorescent dye, which means any kind color dye; column: 1, line: 20-60).
9. The ink set according to claim 7, further comprising: a fluorescent blue ink composition containing a fluorescent blue dye. (fluorescent dye, which means any kind color dye column: 1, line: 20-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the ink composition of Kagata et al. by the aforementioned teaching of Fischer et al. in order to have the lightfastness printed image.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MANISH S. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853