DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II; Species B in the reply filed on January 5, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-9, 13-15, 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Inventions and Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 5, 2026.
Examiner’s note: Applicant attempts to point out that claims 1-5, 16 were missing from the invention groups and presumes this is a typographical error. It was not. Claim 1 is a linking claim which links the inventions of Groups I, II, III. Claims 2-5, 16 are not part of the restrictable inventions of Groups I, II, and III. Claims 2-5, 16 are drawn to other aspects/features of claim 1 and therefore get examined (absent any Species election) with the election of any of Groups I, II, or III.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on September 29, 2023 have/has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figures 4A, B do not comply with CFR 1.84(l) - the character of the numbers/letters/lines of the axes, regression equations, and legend are not clean durable and dark.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 10-12, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the claim recites “predicate contact lens” which is unclear what Applicant intends by “predicate” (MPEP 2173.05(b)). Those of ordinary skill in the art generally understand a predicate contact lens to be relative to FDA consideration and/or approval1, however the metes and bounds are unclear whether such language functionally or structurally defines the contact lens. Applicant’s abstract/specification states the predicate lens can be any scleral or normal contact lens. The claim appears to include lenses irrespective of any FDA consideration/approval, thus Examiner will essentially read-out the term and consider the claim drawn to any contact lens.
Claims 2-5, 10-12, 16 are rejected as dependent upon claim 1.
As to claim 3, the claim recites “the predicate lens is a habitual contact lens” which is subjective/relative (MPEP 2173.05(b)). What habit constitutes “habitual” appears entirely subjective. For purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will consider claim 3 redundant to the claim 1 predicate contact lens.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)/(a2) as being anticipated by Legerton et al. (US 2022/0317476 - Legerton).
As to claim 1, Legerton teaches a method for determining an offset position and a rotation angle of a wavefront-customized for a wavefront-customized contact lens (Legerton Fig. 11; Fig. 13; para. [0078]), the method comprising
placing predicate contact lens on a patient’s eye (Legerton Fig. 11 - 1102; Fig. 13 - 1302);
measuring an offset position (Legerton Fig. 11 - 1108; Fig. 13 - 1310, 1312; para. [0076]) and rotation angle (Legerton Fig. 11 - 1110; para. [0077]).
As to claim 3, Legerton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Legerton further teaches the predicate contact lens is a habitual lens used by the patient (Legerton Fig. 11 - 1102; Fig. 13 - 1302).
As to claim 4, Legerton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Legerton further teaches determining a corneal vertex location by measuring and calibrating one or more front surface Purkinje reflections from the patient’s eye (Legerton Fig. 4; para. [0055]).
As to claim 5, Legerton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Legerton further teaches both the predicate contact lens and the wavefront-customized contact lens are scleral contact lenses (Legerton para. [0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Legerton as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0188508 - Kim).
As to claim 3, Legerton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and while Legerton teaches capturing the eye/contact image with a camera (Legerton Fig. 9 - 914A,B) but doesn’t specify the camera is one of aberrometer, corneal topographer, OCT, or Scheimpflug. In the same field of endeavor Kim teaches aberrometer, corneal topographer for determining contact lens fitting (Kim Fig. 6 - 10, 50; para. [0032]-[0034]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use an aberrometer or topographer since, as taught by Kim, such devices are well known in the art for the purpose of imaging the eye for contact lens fitting data (Kim para. [0002]).
As to claim 16, Legerton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and while Legerton teaches capturing the eye/contact image with a camera (Legerton Fig. 9 - 914A,B) but doesn’t specify the camera is a corneal topographer combined with a wavefront aberrometer. In the same field of endeavor Kim teaches a corneal topographer combined with a wavefront aberrometer for determining contact lens fitting (Kim Fig. 6 - 10, 50; para. [0032]-[0034]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use an aberrometer or topographer since, as taught by Kim, such devices are well known in the art for the purpose of imaging the eye for contact lens fitting data (Kim para. [0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 10-12, although the prior art teaches methods for determining offset and rotation of contact lenses, the prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of claim(s) 10, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be proper, including all the numerical and structural limitations recited together in combination with the totality of particular features/limitations recited therein.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Xiao et al. (US 12,446,772); Legerton et al. (US 11,762,219); Heavyside et al. (US 10,901,238; 2018/0210230); ven der Steen et al. (US 11,576,574; 2019/0274543); Kim et al. (US 8,727,534); Svochak et al. (US 8,696,117); Anan et al. (US 5,686,981); Klyce (US 5,293,533); Ticak et al. (A Comparison of Three Methods to Increase Scleral Contact Lens On-Eye Stability)2; Wang et al. (IOL tilt and decentration estimation from 3 dimensional reconstruction of OCT image)3 are cited as additional examples of calculating offset and rotation for contact lens fitting.
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 January 21, 2026
1 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Federal_Food,_Drug,_and_Cosmetic_Act
2 Ticak A, Marsack; et al. A Comparison of Three Methods to Increase Scleral Contact Lens On-Eye Stability. Eye Contact Lens. 2015 Nov;41(6):386-90. doi: 10.1097/ICL.0000000000000145. PMID: 25943050; PMCID: PMC4630135.
3 Wang X, Dong J, Wang X, Wu Q. IOL tilt and decentration estimation from 3 dimensional reconstruction of OCT image. PLoS One. 2013;8(3):e59109. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0059109. Epub 2013 Mar 15. PMID: 23554982; PMCID: PMC3598664.