Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 11/19/2025 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 6-11, filed 11/19/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by HOPKINS in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170108326 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 9-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOPKINS in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170108326 A1 in view of IIZUKA HIROKAZU et al. (Hereinafter, “Hirokazu”) Publication Number WO2019139097A1 (Publication Date 2019-07-18) have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7-8, of the remarks, filed on 11/19/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by HOPKINS in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170108326 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 9-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOPKINS in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170108326 A1 in view of IIZUKA HIROKAZU et al. (Hereinafter, “Hirokazu”) Publication Number WO2019139097A1 (Publication Date 2019-07-18), that “Hopkins fails to disclose, teach, or suggest all of the claimed features of claims 1-8 and 12-20. In particular, Applicant submits that Hopkins fails to disclose, teach, or suggest at least "a gas permeable membrane disposed between housing portions, the gas permeable membrane allowing gas to pass to the plurality of sensor connectors while forming a liquid barrier isolating the battery cell chamber from the sensor connectors" as recited in claim 1.
In the Office Action, it is admitted that "Hopkins fails to teach a gas permeable membrane disposed between the second housing portion and the third housing portion, the gas (Remarks-Page 7) permeable membrane forming a liquid barrier isolating the central passage from each of the first passage, the second passage, and the third passage."
For at least the reason that Hopkins fails to teach each and every limitation as claimed, independent claim 1 is allowable over Hopkins. Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (" Absence from the reference of any claimed element negates anticipation." (citation omitted). Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of these rejections.
……
For at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection of claims 1-8 and 12-20 be withdrawn (Remarks-Page 8).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-8, of the remarks, filed on 11/19/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by HOPKINS in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170108326 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 9/18//2025 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of independent claim 1 has been withdrawn. However, applicant has amended the claim 1, and added the limitation, “a gas permeable membrane disposed between housing portions, the gas permeable membrane allowing gas to pass to the plurality of sensor connectors while forming a liquid barrier isolating the battery cell chamber from the sensor connectors” which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Therefore, the rejection of Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by HOPKINS in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170108326 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 9/18//2025 has been withdrawn. Claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOPKINS in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170108326 A1 in view of LU XIHU et al. (Hereinafter, “Lu”) in the Patent Application Publication Number CN 109659467 A (2019-04-19), as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 8-11 of the remarks, filed on 11/19/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by HOPKINS in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170108326 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 9-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOPKINS in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170108326 A1 in view of IIZUKA HIROKAZU et al. (Hereinafter, “Hirokazu”) Publication Number WO2019139097A1 (Publication Date 2019-07-18), that, “Applicant respectfully submits that the combination of Hopkins and Hirokazu fails to disclose, teach, or suggest at least "a gas permeable membrane disposed between housing portions, the gas permeable membrane allowing gas to pass to the plurality of sensor connectors while forming a liquid barrier isolating the battery cell chamber from the sensor connectors" as now recited in claim 1.
……
First, Hirokazu describes a laminate structure for a battery container, which includes a metal layer 57 and resin layer 58 (see Hirokazu, FIG. 3; page 5, para. 3). The cited "second resin (Remarks-Page 9) layer" is described as being laminated on the surface of the metal layer, forming a structure of resin layer/metal layer/resin layer. The purpose of this laminate is to improve processability and durability, and to suppress temperature rise during energization (see Hirokazu, page 5; para. 3). There is no disclosure or suggestion in Hirokazu that the resin layers are gas permeable, nor that they are intended to allow gas to pass while forming a liquid barrier. Instead, resin layers in battery packaging are typically used for electrical insulation, mechanical protection, and sealing against both gas and liquid ingress or egress.
Moreover, Hirokazu does not describe any membrane or layer disposed between housing portions that functions to selectively allow gas to pass to sensor connectors while blocking liquid as claimed. The cited passages refer to a laminate structure for the battery container itself, not to a membrane between housing portions of a test fixture, nor to any structure that fluidically connects a battery cell chamber to sensor connectors via selective gas permeability. There is no teaching in Hirokazu of a membrane that forms a liquid barrier while permitting gas flow for sampling or sensing purposes.
Further, even if the resin layer of Hirokazu is interpreted as a gas permeable membrane, because the resin layer of Hirokazu is laminated on a metal layer 57 (see Hirokazu FIG. 3 as associated text), the metal layer 57 would prevent gas from passing to the plurality of sensor connectors. Hirokazu therefore cannot be operatively combined with Hopkins.
Accordingly, the combination of Hopkins and Hirokazu fails to disclose, teach, or suggest at least "a gas permeable membrane disposed between housing portions, the gas permeable membrane allowing gas to pass to the plurality of sensor connectors while forming a liquid barrier isolating the battery cell chamber from the sensor connectors" as now recited in claim 1 (Remarks-Page 10).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8-11, of the remarks, filed on 11/19/2025, regarding the rejection(s) Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by HOPKINS in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170108326 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 9-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOPKINS in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170108326 A1 in view of IIZUKA HIROKAZU et al. (Hereinafter, “Hirokazu”) Publication Number WO2019139097A1 (Publication Date 2019-07-18), as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 9/18//2025 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Applicant’s argument, “There is no disclosure or suggestion in Hirokazu that the resin layers are gas permeable, nor that they are intended to allow gas to pass while forming a liquid barrier. Instead, resin layers in battery packaging are typically used for electrical insulation, mechanical protection, and sealing against both gas and liquid ingress or egress.” Is not persuasive. Because amended claim 1 now recites, “a gas permeable membrane disposed between housing portions, the gas permeable membrane allowing gas to pass to the plurality of sensor connectors while forming a liquid barrier isolating the battery cell chamber from the sensor connectors” which was not previously recited in the claim. Previous claim 11 recites, “a gas permeable membrane disposed between the second housing portion and the third housing portion, the gas permeable membrane forming a liquid barrier isolating the central passage from each of the first passage, the second passage, and the third passage.” However previous claim 11 does not recite the gas permeable membrane allowing gas to pass to the plurality of sensor connectors while forming a liquid barrier isolating the battery cell chamber from the sensor connectors. Claim is rejected in light of the specification however the limitation from the specification is not incorporated for rejection.
In response to Applicant's argument that There is no disclosure or suggestion in Hirokazu the gas permeable membrane allowing gas to pass to the plurality of sensor connectors while forming a liquid barrier, applicant misinterprets the principle that claims are interpreted in the light of the specification. Although these elements (the gas permeable membrane allowing gas to pass to the plurality of sensor connectors while forming a liquid barrier) are found as examples or embodiments in the specification, they were not claimed explicitly. Nor were the words that are used in the claims defined in the specification to require these limitations. A reading of the specification provides no evidence to indicate that these limitations must be imported into the claims to give meaning to disputed terms. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument, “The purpose of this laminate is to improve processability and durability, and to suppress temperature rise during energization (see Hirokazu, page 5; para. 3). There is no disclosure or suggestion in Hirokazu that the resin layers are gas permeable, nor that they are intended to allow gas to pass while forming a liquid barrier” is not persuasive.
. The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings."); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) (discussed below); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991) (discussed below). Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues, “Further, even if the resin layer of Hirokazu is interpreted as a gas permeable membrane, because the resin layer of Hirokazu is laminated on a metal layer 57 (see Hirokazu FIG. 3 as associated text), the metal layer 57 would prevent gas from passing to the plurality of sensor connectors. Hirokazu therefore cannot be operatively combined with Hopkins.” Which is not persuasive. Because previous claim does not recite, “prevent gas from passing to the plurality of sensor connectors”. Therefore, the limitation is required by the claim. Previous claim 11 recites, “a gas permeable membrane disposed between the second housing portion and the third housing portion, the gas permeable membrane forming a liquid barrier isolating the central passage from each of the first passage, the second passage, and the third passage.” However previous claim 11 does not recite the gas permeable membrane allowing gas to pass to the plurality of sensor connectors while forming a liquid barrier isolating the battery cell chamber from the sensor connectors. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
However, applicant has amended the claim 1, and added the limitation, “a gas permeable membrane disposed between housing portions, the gas permeable membrane allowing gas to pass to the plurality of sensor connectors while forming a liquid barrier isolating the battery cell chamber from the sensor connectors” which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Therefore, the rejection of Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by HOPKINS in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170108326 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 9/18//2025 has been withdrawn. Claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOPKINS in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170108326 A1 in view of LU XIHU et al. (Hereinafter, “Lu”) in the Patent Application Publication Number CN 109659467 A (2019-04-19), as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a gas permeable membrane disposed between housing portions.” The meaning of the language “between housing portions” is unclear. Because claim only recites” a housing”. It is not clear which portions are the housing portions and between housing portions means which two portions of housing. Therefore, the limitation “between housing portions” is not clear. The “between means comparing with two items and claim also recites housing portions. But which two portions of housing is considered in the claim is not clear. Therefore, it is not clear where the gas permeable membrane is placed in the housing and between which two portions of the housing. Claim limitation is therefore not clear.
For purposes of the present examination the limitation “between the housing portions” is construed to mean as over or under the housing. Clarification is required so that the scope of the claim is clear.
Claims 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOPKINS in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170108326 A1 in view of LU XIHU et al. (Hereinafter, “Lu”) in the Patent Application Publication Number CN 109659467 A (2019-04-19).
Regarding claim 1, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture (A measurement fixture for a battery cell is provided when the battery cell is connected to an apparatus; Paragraph [0004] Line 1-2; A measurement fixture 3 as shown in FIG. 1 for the pouch-type battery cell 9; Paragraph [0015] Line 3-4) comprising:
a housing [31] (Chamber 31 as the housing in Figure 1) (The measurement fixture 3 comprises a chamber 31; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-7) including a battery cell chamber [30] (a sealed space 30 as the battery cell chamber in Figure 2B) (As shown in FIGS. 1, 2B and 3B, the chamber 31 defines a sealed space 30 for receiving the battery cell 9; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-10);
a first electric terminal [37] (contactor 37 as the terminal) electrically connectable to a battery cell [9] in the battery cell chamber [30] (The measurement fixture 3 further comprises at least one contactor 37 mounted to the chamber 31 to contact at least one terminal 91 of the battery cell 9 and to connect the apparatus for testing the battery cell 9; Paragraph [0016] Line 1-4; Since the at least one terminal 91 of the battery cell 9 usually comprises a positive terminal and a negative terminal, in one embodiment, the at least one contactor 37 comprises two contactors 37, and the two contactors 37 respectively contact the positive terminal and the negative terminal of the battery cell 9 and respectively connect the positive terminal and the negative terminal to the apparatus; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-7);
a second electric terminal [37] electrically connectable to the battery cell [9] in the battery cell chamber [30] (The measurement fixture 3 further comprises at least one contactor 37 mounted to the chamber 31 to contact at least one terminal 91 of the battery cell 9 and to connect the apparatus for testing the battery cell 9; Paragraph [0016] Line 1-4; Since the at least one terminal 91 of the battery cell 9 usually comprises a positive terminal and a negative terminal, in one embodiment, the at least one contactor 37 comprises two contactors 37, and the two contactors 37 respectively contact the positive terminal and the negative terminal of the battery cell 9 and respectively connect the positive terminal and the negative terminal to the apparatus; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-7); and
a plurality of sensor connectors [33, 35, 39] (connector for pressure sensor 33, connector for expansion sensor 35 and connector for pressure relief valve 39) mounted to the housing [31] (The measurement fixture 3 comprises a chamber 31, a pressure sensor 33 and an expansion sensor 35. As shown in FIGS. 1, 2B and 3B; Paragraph [0015] Line 6-8; In a preferred embodiment, the measurement fixture 3 further comprises a pressure relief valve 39 arranged to the first shell 311, as shown in FIGS. 2B and 3B; Paragraph [0028] Line 1-3; In the embodiment shown in the drawings, the pressure sensor 33 and the expansion sensor 35 are mounted to the first shell 311; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-3),
the plurality of sensor connectors [33, 35, 39] including at least a gas sampling connector [35] (The expansion sensor 35 can be a capacitive sensor, an inductive sensor, a laser reflection sensor, an image sensor or any type of a sensor that is capable of non-contactly measuring the deformation of the battery cell 9 in various methods; for example, a sensor which can measure the deflection of a surface 90 of the battery cell 9, a distance from the inner wall 311c of the first shell 311 of the chamber 31 to the surface 90 of the battery cell 9, the volume of the battery cell 9 or the thickness t of the battery cell 9; Paragraph [0020] Line 1-9; The expansion sensor 35 is mounted to the chamber 31 to sense deformation of the battery cell 9 to calculate a correlation between the pressure in the battery cell 9 and the volume change of the battery cell 9 non-contactly; Paragraph [0015] Line 14-18; As the expansion sensor measures the volume therefore the connector for the expansion sensor is a gas sampling connector),
a pressure sensor connector [33] (The pressure sensor 33 is mounted to the chamber 31 to sense a change of pressure in the sealed space 30 due to a volume change of the battery cell 9 to calculate pressure in the battery cell 9 and the volume change of the battery cell 9 non-contactly; Paragraph [0015] Line 10-14), and
a valve connector [39] (In a preferred embodiment, the measurement fixture 3 further comprises a pressure relief valve 39 arranged to the first shell 311, as shown in FIGS. 2B and 3B. In the event that the pressure inside the sealed space 30 is overly high, the pressure relief valve 39 is activated to reduce the pressure inside the sealed space 30; Paragraph [0028] Line 1-6), each of the gas sampling connector [35], the pressure sensor connector [33], and the valve connector [39] being fluidically connected with the battery cell chamber [30] (Figure 2B shows each of the gas sampling connector [35], the pressure sensor connector [33], and the valve connector [39] being fluidically connected with the battery cell chamber [30]; Claim specifically does not recite what fluidically connected means. And the definition of “fluidic” involving or relating to fluids (= substances that flow and are not solid); https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/fluidic (Examples of fluids include everyday substances like water, air, and oil); Figure 2B shows that the gas sampling connector [35], the pressure sensor connector [33], and the valve connector [39] are connected with the air (as the fluid) in the chamber 30).
Hopkins fails to teach a gas permeable membrane disposed between housing portions, the gas permeable membrane allowing gas to pass to the plurality of sensor connectors while forming a liquid barrier isolating the battery cell chamber from the sensor connectors.
Lu teaches an explosion-proof venting valve (Technical field- Page 2 Line 1) and new energy batteries, the explosion-proof valve is usually used to match the utility (Background technique-Page 2 Line 6-7), wherein
a gas permeable membrane [500] disposed between housing portions [200], the gas permeable membrane [500] allowing gas to pass to the plurality of connectors [600] while forming a liquid barrier isolating the battery cell chamber from the sensor connectors (a gas permeable membrane 500 is disposed in the accommodating cavity 230, and the gas permeable membrane 500 is used for excreting pressure to achieve gas permeable. For example, the gas permeable membrane 500 is made of expanded polytetrafluoroethylene which is dustproof, waterproof and breathable. When the battery generates a large amount of heat and the pressure inside the battery case is increased, the air pressure is discharged to the valve body 200 and discharged through the gas permeable membrane 500, and the explosion-proof effect is achieved by the ventilation. Moreover, the expanded polytetrafluoroethylene is elastic and flexible, so that the gas permeable membrane 500 made of the same is not easy to be broken by high pressure, and has the characteristics of being light, thin, waterproof and dustproof, so that it can isolate external dust and water. Gas and other impurities. The gas permeable membrane 500 is disposed in the coupling hole 620. The structure is made more stable by the multi-layer arranging structure. By installing the explosion-proof venting valve on the battery case, the gas generated by the battery case enters from the vent hole 630, is discharged through the gas permeable membrane 500, and finally discharges the outside from the vent hole 120, to achieve pressure relief and explosion-proof (Page 4 Line 53-58 & Page 5 Line 1-8). The purpose of doing so is to provide dustproof, waterproof and breathable, to achieve explosion-proof effect by the ventilation, to provide the characteristic of not easy to be broken by high pressure, and has the characteristics of being light, thin, waterproof and dustproof so that it can isolate external dust and water, gas and other impurities, to make more stable by the multi-layer arranging structure and to achieve pressure relief and explosion-proof.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Hopkins by introducing a gas permeable membrane over the housing as disclosed by Lu, because Lu teaches to introduce a gas permeable membrane over the housing to allow gas to pass to the plurality of sensor connectors provides dustproof, waterproof and breathable, achieves explosion-proof effect by the ventilation, provides the characteristic of not easy to be broken by high pressure, and has the characteristics of being light, thin, waterproof and dustproof so that it can isolate external dust and water, gas and other impurities, makes more stable by the multi-layer arranging structure and achieves pressure relief and explosion-proof (Page 4 Line 53-58 & Page 5 Line 1-8).
Regarding claim 2, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
wherein the housing [31] includes a first housing portion [311] (first shell 311 as the first housing portion) and a second housing portion [313] (second shell 313 as the second portion) coupled to the first housing portion [311] (Please refer to FIGS. 1, 2B and 3B. The chamber 31 comprises a first shell 311 and a second shell 313, and the first shell 311 and the second shell 313 are assembled and sealed together to define the sealed space 30. The chamber 311 comprises a chamber seal 315 between the first shell 311 and the second shell 313 to seal the first shell 311 and the second shell 313 together; Paragraph [0018] Line 1-7; a second housing portion [313] coupled to the first housing portion [311] by the chamber seal 315), the battery cell chamber [30] being formed in the first housing portion [311] (As shown in FIGS. 1, 2B and 3B, the chamber 31 defines a sealed space 30 for receiving the battery cell 9; Paragraph [0015] Line 8-10; Please refer to FIGS. 1, 2B and 3B. The chamber 31 comprises a first shell 311 and a second shell 313, and the first shell 311 and the second shell 313 are assembled and sealed together to define the sealed space 30; Paragraph [0018] Line 1-4; Therefore, the battery cell chamber [30] being formed in the first housing portion [311] as shown in Figure 2B).
Regarding claim 3, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
wherein the first electric terminal [37] is supported on the first housing portion [311] (In one embodiment, the first shell 311 comprises at least one contactor hole 311a and at least one groove 311b surrounding the contactor hole 311a, the contactor 37 is disposed through the contactor hole 311a to contact the terminals 91 of the battery cell 9 and the contactor seal 317 is disposed in the groove 311 b to seal the first shell 311 and the contactor 37 together; Paragraph [0024] Line 4-10; Figure 2C shows that the first electric terminal [37] is supported on the first housing portion [311]).
Regarding claim 4, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
further comprising a biasing member [317] (contactor seal 317 is the biasing member as claim does not recite any function or characteristics of biasing member to differentiate it from the contactor seal) arranged in the battery cell chamber [30] (Please refer to FIGS. 1, 2C and 3C. The measurement fixture 3 further comprises at least one contactor seal 317 between the chamber 31 and the contactor 37 to seal the chamber 31 and the contactor 37 together. In one embodiment, the first shell 311 comprises at least one contactor hole 311a and at least one groove 311b surrounding the contactor hole 311a, the contactor 37 is disposed through the contactor hole 311a to contact the terminals 91 of the battery cell 9 and the contactor seal 317 is disposed in the groove 311 b to seal the first shell 311 and the contactor 37 together; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-10),
the biasing member [317] being arranged to urge a first battery cell portion [91] (first terminal 91 or positive terminal as the first battery cell portion) into contact with the first housing portion [311] and establish an electrical connection with the first electric terminal [37] (one contactor seal 317 between the chamber 31 and the contactor 37 to seal the chamber 31 and the contactor 37 together and contactor 37 is connected with the terminal 91 of the battery cell 9 into contact with the first housing portion [311] and establish an electrical connection with the first electric terminal [37]; Figure 2C (i): Modified Figure 2C of Hopkins below shows that the biasing member 317 arranged to urge a first battery cell portion [91] into contact with the first housing portion [311] and establish an electrical connection with the first electric terminal [37]).
Regarding claim 5, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
wherein a second battery cell portion [91] (second terminal 91 or negative terminal as the second battery cell portion) (Since the battery cell 9 usually comprises a positive terminal and a negative terminal; Paragraph [0027] Line 22-23) is electrically connected to the second housing portion [313] through the biasing member [317], the second electrical terminal [37] being electrically connected to the second housing portion [313] (The second shell 313 comprises at least one recess 313d, the is electrically conductive backing plate 319 is disposed in the recess 313d, and the contactor 37 is mounted to the first shell 311. Since the battery cell 9 usually comprises a positive terminal and a negative terminal, in a preferred embodiment, the measurement fixture 3 comprises two electrically conductive backing plates 319 respectively disposed in two recesses 313d, and one of the terminals 91 is respectively pressed between one of the contactors 37 and one of the electrically conductive backing plates 319; Paragraph [0027] Line 18-28; Figure 1 shows a second battery cell portion [91] is electrically connected to the second housing portion [313] through the biasing member [317], the second electrical terminal [37] being electrically connected to the second housing portion [313]).
Regarding claim 6, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
further comprising an insulating member [315] (a chamber seal 315 as the insulating member as it separate or isolate both the first housing portion 311 and the second housing portion 313) electrically isolating the first housing portion and the second housing portion [313] (The chamber 311 comprises a chamber seal 315 between the first shell 311 and the second shell 313 to seal the first shell 311 and the second shell 313 together. In one embodiment, the second shell 313 comprises a groove 313a surrounding the sealed space 30 and the chamber seal 315 is disposed in the groove 313a to seal the first shell 311 and the second shell 313 together; Paragraph [0018] Line 4-11; Claim 8. The measurement fixture as in claim 3, wherein the first shell and the second shell are electrically isolated).
Regarding claim 7, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
wherein the second housing portion [313] includes a first passage fluidically connecting the gas sampling connector [35] and the battery cell chamber [30] (In the embodiment shown in the drawings, the pressure sensor 33 and the expansion sensor 35 are mounted to the first shell 311, and the battery cell 9 is disposed on the second shell 311 Preferably, the second shell 313 comprises a battery recess 313b, the battery recess 313b has a datum reference surface 313c, and the battery cell 9 is disposed in the battery recess 313b on the datum reference surface 313c. The datum reference surface 313c provides the expansion sensor 35 with a flat reference surface having an unchanged distance to the expansion sensor 35; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-10),
a second passage fluidically connecting the pressure sensor connector [33] with the battery cell chamber [30] (In the embodiment shown in the drawings, the pressure sensor 33 and the expansion sensor 35 are mounted to the first shell 311, and the battery cell 9 is disposed on the second shell 311 Preferably, the second shell 313 comprises a battery recess 313b, the battery recess 313b has a datum reference surface 313c, and the battery cell 9 is disposed in the battery recess 313b on the datum reference surface 313c. The datum reference surface 313c provides the expansion sensor 35 with a flat reference surface having an unchanged distance to the expansion sensor 35; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-10), and
a third passage fluidically connecting the valve connector [39] and the battery cell chamber [30] (In a preferred embodiment, the measurement fixture 3 further comprises a pressure relief valve 39 arranged to the first shell 311, as shown in FIGS. 2B and 3B. In the event that the pressure inside the sealed space 30 is overly high, the pressure relief valve 39 is activated to reduce the pressure inside the sealed space 30; Paragraph [0028] Line 1-6; Figure 2B: Modified Figure 2B of Hopkins shows the second housing portion [313] includes a first passage fluidically connecting the gas sampling connector [35] and the battery cell chamber, a second passage fluidically (by air in the chamber 30) connecting the pressure sensor connector with the battery cell chamber, and a third passage fluidically connecting the valve connector and the battery cell chamber).
Figure 2B: Modified Figure 2B of Hopkins
Regarding claim 8, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
wherein the second housing portion [313] includes a central passage fluidically connected to the battery cell chamber [30] (Preferably, the second shell 313 comprises a battery recess 313b, the battery recess 313b has a datum reference surface 313c, and the battery cell 9 is disposed in the battery recess 313b on the datum reference surface 313c; Paragraph [0019] Line 4-7; Figure 2B: Modified Figure 2B of Hopkins above shows the second housing portion [313] includes a central passage fluidically (by air) connected to the battery cell chamber [30]).
Regarding claim 12, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
wherein the second electric terminal [37] (Since the at least one terminal 91 of the battery cell 9 usually comprises a positive terminal and a negative terminal, in one embodiment, the at least one contactor 37 comprises two contactors 37, and the two contactors 37 respectively contact the positive terminal and the negative terminal of the battery cell 9 and respectively connect the positive terminal and the negative terminal to the apparatus; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-7) is supported on the second housing portion [313] (In the embodiments shown in the drawings, the measurement fixture 3 comprises two contactors 37, the first shell 311 correspondingly comprises two contactor holes 311a and two grooves 311b surrounding the contactor holes 311a respectively, the contactors 37 are disposed through the contactor hole 311a respectively and the contactor seals 317 are disposed in the grooves 311b respectively to seal the first shell 311 and the contactors 37 together.; Paragraph [0025] Line 1-11; Second electric terminal is connected to the battery 9 terminal 91 and battery terminal is placed in the second housing portion 313 and therefore the second electric terminal is supported on the second housing portion).
Regarding claim 13, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
wherein each of the gas sampling connector [35], the pressure sensor connector [33], and the valve connector [39] is mounted to the first housing portion [311] (In the embodiment shown in the drawings, the pressure sensor 33 and the expansion sensor 35 are mounted to the first shell 311; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-3; In a preferred embodiment, the measurement fixture 3 further comprises a pressure relief valve 39 arranged to the first shell 311, as shown in FIGS. 2B and 3B; Paragraph [0028] Line 1-3).
Regarding claim 14, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
a first clamping block [319] (backing plate 319 as the clamping block as it clams the terminals of the battery with the electrical terminal) (Since the battery cell 9 usually comprises a positive terminal and a negative terminal, in a preferred embodiment, the measurement fixture 3 comprises two electrically conductive backing plates 319 respectively disposed in two recesses 313d, and one of the terminals 91 is respectively pressed between one of the contactors 37 and one of the electrically conductive backing plates 319. The number of the backing plates 319 depends on the number of the terminals 91 of the battery cell 9 to form a one-to-one relationship, since the battery cell 9 may comprise two or more terminals 91; Paragraph [0027] Line 21-31; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Hopkins below shows the first terminal [91] and the second terminal [91] being arranged between the first clamping block [319] and the second clamping block [319]) arranged in the battery cell chamber [30] (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Hopkins below shows a first clamping block 319 arranged in the battery cell chamber 30),
the first clamping block [319] being biased toward the second housing portion [313] (In FIGS. 2C and 3C, both the contacts 371 and 373 are on the terminals 91. However, if the terminals 91 are shortened or the contacts 371 and 373 are repositioned, some of the contacts 371 and 373 could be on the terminals 91 and the others could be on the electrically conductive backing plates 319; Paragraph [0027] Line 13-18; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Hopkins below shows the first clamping block [371] being biased toward the second housing portion [313]).
Regarding claim 15, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
further comprising a second clamping block [319] (the other contact 319 as the second clamping block) (Since the battery cell 9 usually comprises a positive terminal and a negative terminal, in a preferred embodiment, the measurement fixture 3 comprises two electrically conductive backing plates 319 respectively disposed in two recesses 313d, and one of the terminals 91 is respectively pressed between one of the contactors 37 and one of the electrically conductive backing plates 319. The number of the backing plates 319 depends on the number of the terminals 91 of the battery cell 9 to form a one-to-one relationship, since the battery cell 9 may comprise two or more terminals 91; Paragraph [0027] Line 21-31; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Hopkins below shows the first terminal [91] and the second terminal [91] being arranged between the first clamping block [319] and the second clamping block [319]) arranged in the second housing portion [313] (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Hopkins below shows a second clamping block 319 arranged in the second housing portion),
the first clamping block [319] being biased toward the second clamping block [319] (To prevent shortage between the terminals 91 of the battery cell 9, the first shell 311 and the second shell 313 are electrically isolated. Please refer to FIGS. 2C and 3C. In one embodiment, the measurement fixture 3 further comprises at least one electrically conductive backing plate 319, and one terminal 91 is pressed between one contactor 37 and the electrically conductive backing plate 319. The electrically conductive backing plates 319 make contact with the other side of the terminals 91 which results in more contact area for a higher electrical current; Paragraph [0027] Line 1-10; the first clamping block being biased toward the second clamping block in the chamber 30).
Regarding claim 16, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
further comprising a battery cell [9] arranged in the battery cell chamber [30] (The measurement fixture 3 comprises a chamber 31, a pressure sensor 33 and an expansion sensor 35. As shown in FIGS. 1, 2B and 3B, the chamber 31 defines a sealed space 30 for receiving the battery cell 9; Paragraph 0015] Line 6-10),
the battery cell [9] including a first terminal [91/ positive terminal] and a second terminal [91 /negative terminal], the first terminal [91] and the second terminal [91] being arranged between the first clamping block [319] and the second clamping block [319] in Figure 1 (Since the battery cell 9 usually comprises a positive terminal and a negative terminal, in a preferred embodiment, the measurement fixture 3 comprises two electrically conductive backing plates 319 respectively disposed in two recesses 313d, and one of the terminals 91 is respectively pressed between one of the contactors 37 and one of the electrically conductive backing plates 319. The number of the backing plates 319 depends on the number of the terminals 91 of the battery cell 9 to form a one-to-one relationship, since the battery cell 9 may comprise two or more terminals 91; Paragraph [0027] Line 21-31; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Hopkins below shows the first terminal [91] and the second terminal [91] being arranged between the first clamping block [319] and the second clamping block [319]).
Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Hopkins
Regarding claim 17, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
a first conductor [371] (cantilever contact 371 as the first conductor) (Please refer to FIGS. 2A-2C. In one embodiment, each of the contactors 37 comprises at least one cantilever contact 371 to electrically connect one of the terminals 91 of the battery cell 9; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-4) including a first electrically conductive member (In FIGS. 2C and 3C, both the contacts 371 and 373 are on the terminals 91. However, if the terminals 91 are shortened or the contacts 371 and 373 are repositioned, some of the contacts 371 and 373 could be on the terminals 91 and the others could be on the electrically conductive backing plates 319; Paragraph [0027] Line 13-18) extending through the first electric terminal [37] (Figure 2C: Modified Figure 2C Hopkins below shows a first electrically conductive member extending through the first electrical terminal 37) and a second conductor [371] (Since the at least one terminal 91 of the battery cell 9 usually comprises a positive terminal and a negative terminal, in one embodiment, the at least one contactor 37 comprises two contactors 37, and the two contactors 37 respectively contact the positive terminal and the negative terminal of the battery cell 9 and respectively connect the positive terminal and the negative terminal to the apparatus; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-7; Therefore there is two contacts 371 for the two terminals 37; Please refer to FIGS. 2A-2C. In one embodiment, each of the contactors 37 comprises at least one cantilever contact 371 to electrically connect one of the terminals 91 of the battery cell 9; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-4) including a second electrically conductive member (In FIGS. 2C and 3C, both the contacts 371 and 373 are on the terminals 91. However, if the terminals 91 are shortened or the contacts 371 and 373 are repositioned, some of the contacts 371 and 373 could be on the terminals 91 and the others could be on the electrically conductive backing plates 319; Paragraph [0027] Line 13-18) extending through the second electric terminal [37] (Figure 2C (i): Modified Figure 2C Hopkins below shows a second electrically conductive member extending through the second electrical terminal 37), the first electrically conductive member engaging the first terminal and the second electrically conductive member engaging the second terminal (Figure 2C: Modified Figure 2C Hopkins below shows the first electrically conductive member engaging the first terminal and the second electrically conductive member engaging the second terminal).
Figure 2C (i): Modified Figure 2C Hopkins
Regarding claim 18, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
further comprising a biasing member [317] (contactor seal 317 is the biasing member as claim does not recite any function or characteristics of biasing member to differentiate it from the contactor seal) arranged in the battery cell chamber [30] (Please refer to FIGS. 1, 2C and 3C. The measurement fixture 3 further comprises at least one contactor seal 317 between the chamber 31 and the contactor 37 to seal the chamber 31 and the contactor 37 together. In one embodiment, the first shell 311 comprises at least one contactor hole 311a and at least one groove 311b surrounding the contactor hole 311a, the contactor 37 is disposed through the contactor hole 311a to contact the terminals 91 of the battery cell 9 and the contactor seal 317 is disposed in the groove 311 b to seal the first shell 311 and the contactor 37 together; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-10),
the biasing member [317] being arranged to urge a battery cell [9] toward the second housing portion [313] (one contactor seal 317 between the chamber 31 and the contactor 37 to seal the chamber 31 and the contactor 37 together and contactor 37 is connected with the terminal 91 of the battery cell 9 in the second housing portion 313; Figure 2C (ii): Modified Figure 2C of Hopkins below shows the biasing member [317] being arranged to urge a battery cell [9] toward the second housing portion [313]).
Figure 2C (ii): Modified Figure 2C of Hopkins
Regarding claim 19, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
wherein the biasing member [317] is arranged between first [311a] (contactor hole 311a as the spacer because hole creates a first space as spacer does) and second non-electrically conductive spacers [311b] (groove 311b as the second spacer as the groove creates a space like the spacer) (Please refer to FIGS. 1, 2C and 3C. The measurement fixture 3 further comprises at least one contactor seal 317 between the chamber 31 and the contactor 37 to seal the chamber 31 and the contactor 37 together. In one embodiment, the first shell 311 comprises at least one contactor hole 311a and at least one groove 311b surrounding the contactor hole 311a, the contactor 37 is disposed through the contactor hole 311a to contact the terminals 91 of the battery cell 9 and the contactor seal 317 is disposed in the groove 311 b to seal the first shell 311 and the contactor 37 together; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-10; Figure 2C: Modified Figure 2C (ii) of Hopkins above shows that the biasing member [317] is arranged between first [311a] and second non-electrically conductive spacers [311b]).
Regarding claim 20, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture,
wherein each of the first electric terminal [37] and the second electric terminal [37] are connected to the first housing portion [311] (Please refer to FIGS. 1, 2C and 3C. The measurement fixture 3 further comprises at least one contactor seal 317 between the chamber 31 and the contactor 37 to seal the chamber 31 and the contactor 37 together. In one embodiment, the first shell 311 comprises at least one contactor hole 311a and at least one groove 311b surrounding the contactor hole 311a, the contactor 37 is disposed through the contactor hole 311a to contact the terminals 91 of the battery cell 9 and the contactor seal 317 is disposed in the groove 311 b to seal the first shell 311 and the contactor 37 together; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-10; In the embodiments shown in the drawings, the measurement fixture 3 comprises two contactors 37, the first shell 311 correspondingly comprises two contactor holes 311a and two grooves 311b surrounding the contactor holes 311a respectively, the contactors 37 are disposed through the contactor hole 311a respectively and the contactor seals 317 are disposed in the grooves 311b respectively to seal the first shell 311 and the contactors 37 together; Paragraph [0025] Line 1-8).
Claim(s) 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOPKINS in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170108326 A1 in view of Lu ‘467 A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of IIZUKA HIROKAZU et al. (Hereinafter, “Hirokazu”) Publication Number WO2019139097A1 (Publication Date 2019-07-18).
Regarding claim 9, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture, wherein the plurality of sensor connectors being provided in the first housing portion (In the embodiment shown in the drawings, the pressure sensor 33 and the expansion sensor 35 are mounted to the first shell 311; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-3; In a preferred embodiment, the measurement fixture 3 further comprises a pressure relief valve 39 arranged to the first shell 311, as shown in FIGS. 2B and 3B; Paragraph [0028] Line 1-3).
However, the combination of Hopkins and Lu fails to teach that a battery cell chemistry test fixture further comprising a third housing portion connected to the second housing portion, the plurality of sensor connectors being provided in the third housing portion.
Hirokazu teaches a battery assembly and an electric device capable of suppressing a temperature rise at the time of energization (Battery pack and motorized device (Page 2 Line 11-12),
further comprising a third housing portion [57] (. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, the container main body 52 and the lid 53 constituting the container 51 may be formed of a laminate including the metal layer 57 and the resin layer 58 laminated on the metal layer 57; Page 5 Line 20-21) connected to the second housing portion [58] (For example, as shown in FIG. 3, the container main body 52 and the lid 53 constituting the container 51 may be formed of a laminate including the metal layer 57 and the resin layer 58 laminated on the metal layer 57; Page 5 Line 20-21),
the plurality of sensor connectors being provided in the third housing portion (As shown in FIG. 3, the unit cell 1 may be, for example, a lithium ion battery. The unit cell 1 of this
embodiment includes a rectangular parallelepiped battery body 50 and a container 51 that encloses the battery body 50. The container 51 has a tray-like container main body 52 having a square recess into which the battery main body 50 is inserted, and a flat cover 53 having the same planar dimensions as the container main 52. I'm closing the hollow. The housing body 51 has an internal space for housing the battery body 50. The container 51 is formed by overlapping the container body 52 and the lid 53 and heat sealing the peripheral portion 54. The code | symbol 55 is a positive electrode lead connected to the electrode (positive electrode) of the battery main body 50. As shown in FIG. Reference numeral 56 denotes a negative electrode lead connected to the electrode (negative electrode) of the battery body 50. The positive electrode lead 55 and the negative electrode lead 56 in this example extend parallel to each other from one end of the housing 51; Page 5 Line 1-10; Hopkins discloses the plurality of sensor connectors being provided in the first housing portion and which is the top layer in Hopkins. Hirokazu discloses resin layer 58 as the top layer. Therefore, the Hirokazu in view of Hopkins discloses that the plurality of sensor connectors being provided in the third housing portion as the third layer is introduced in the Hopkins apparatus). The purpose of doing so is to provide a preferable structure from the viewpoint of processability and durability of the laminate, to suppress the temperature rise of the assembled battery at the time of energization.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Hopkins and Lu in view of Hirokazu, because Hirokazu teaches to include a third housing portion connected to the second housing portion provides a preferable structure from the viewpoint of processability and durability of the laminate (Page 5 Line 27), suppresses the temperature rise of the assembled battery at the time of energization (Page 2 Line 28-29).
Regarding claim 10, Hopkins teaches a battery cell chemistry test fixture, wherein the second housing portion includes a first passage fluidically connecting the gas sampling connector and the central passage, a second passage fluidically connecting the pressure sensor connector with the central passage, and a third passage fluidically connecting the valve connector and the central passage (Figure 2B: Modified Figure 2B of Hopkins above shows the second housing portion [313] includes a first passage fluidically connecting the gas sampling connector [35] and the battery cell chamber, a second passage fluidically (by air in the chamber 30) connecting the pressure sensor connector with the battery cell chamber, and a third passage fluidically connecting the valve connector and the battery cell chamber).
However, the combination of Hopkins and Lu fails to teach wherein the third housing portion includes a first passage fluidically connecting the gas sampling connector and the central passage, a second passage fluidically connecting the pressure sensor connector with the central passage, and a third passage fluidically connecting the valve connector and the central passage.
Hirokazu teaches a battery assembly and an electric device capable of suppressing a temperature rise at the time of energization (Battery pack and motorized device (Page 2 Line 11-12),
further comprising a third housing portion [57] (. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, the container main body 52 and the lid 53 constituting the container 51 may be formed of a laminate including the metal layer 57 and the resin layer 58 laminated on the metal layer 57; Page 5 Line 20-21; For example, as shown in FIG. 3, the container main body 52 and the lid 53 constituting the container 51 may be formed of a laminate including the metal layer 57 and the resin layer 58 laminated on the metal layer 57; Page 5 Line 20-21), The purpose of doing so is to provide a preferable structure from the viewpoint of processability and durability of the laminate.; Page 5 Line 27), to suppress the temperature rise of the assembled battery at the time of energization (Page 2 Line 28-29), includes a first passage fluidically connecting the gas sampling connector and the central passage, a second passage fluidically connecting the pressure sensor connector with the central passage, and a third passage fluidically connecting the valve connector and the central passage. (As shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 4, the heat medium flow holes 18 are formed in the protective plate 4. The heat medium flow hole 18 is formed at a position where at least a part thereof communicates with the cylindrical space 17 of the battery exterior body 2 in a plan view. The heat medium flow holes 18 in this example are formed in the same hexagonal shape as the cross-sectional shape of the cylindrical space 17, and match the opening of the cylindrical space 17; page 5 Line 49-51 & page 6 Line 1-2). The purpose of doing so is to provide a preferable structure from the viewpoint of processability and durability of the laminate, to suppress the temperature rise of the assembled battery at the time of energization.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Hopkins and Lu in view of Hirokazu, because Hirokazu teaches to include a first passage fluidically connecting the gas sampling connector and the central passage, a second passage fluidically connecting the pressure sensor connector with the central passage, and a third passage fluidically connecting the valve connector and the central passage provides a preferable structure from the viewpoint of processability and durability of the laminate (Page 5 Line 27), suppresses the temperature rise of the assembled battery at the time of energization (Page 2 Line 28-29).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hopkins and Hirokazu fails to teach a battery cell chemistry test fixture, wherein the gas permeable membrane disposed between the second housing portion and the third housing portion.
Lu teaches an explosion-proof venting valve (Technical field- Page 2 Line 1) and new energy batteries, the explosion-proof valve is usually used to match the utility (Background technique-Page 2 Line 6-7), wherein
the gas permeable membrane [500] disposed between the second housing portion [110] and the third housing portion [630] (a gas permeable membrane 500 is disposed in the accommodating cavity 230, and the gas permeable membrane 500 is used for excreting pressure to achieve gas permeable. For example, the gas permeable membrane 500 is made of expanded polytetrafluoroethylene which is dustproof, waterproof and breathable. When the battery generates a large amount of heat and the pressure inside the battery case is increased, the air pressure is discharged to the valve body 200 and discharged through the gas permeable membrane 500, and the explosion-proof effect is achieved by the ventilation. Moreover, the expanded polytetrafluoroethylene is elastic and flexible, so that the gas permeable membrane 500 made of the same is not easy to be broken by high pressure, and has the characteristics of being light, thin, waterproof and dustproof, so that it can isolate external dust and water. Gas and other impurities. The gas permeable membrane 500 is disposed in the coupling hole 620. The structure is made more stable by the multi-layer arranging structure. By installing the explosion-proof venting valve on the battery case, the gas generated by the battery case enters from the vent hole 630, is discharged through the gas permeable membrane 500, and finally discharges the outside from the vent hole 120, to achieve pressure relief and explosion-proof; Page 4 Line 53-58 & Page 5 Line 1-8). The purpose of doing so is to provide dustproof, waterproof and breathable, to achieve explosion-proof effect by the ventilation, to provide the characteristic of not easy to be broken by high pressure, and has the characteristics of being light, thin, waterproof and dustproof so that it can isolate external dust and water, gas and other impurities, to make more stable by the multi-layer arranging structure and to achieve pressure relief and explosion-proof.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Hopkins and Hirokazu by introducing a gas permeable membrane between the second housing portion and the third housing portion as disclosed by Lu, because Lu teaches to introduce a gas permeable membrane between the second housing portion and the third housing portion provides dustproof, waterproof and breathable, achieves explosion-proof effect by the ventilation, provides the characteristic of not easy to be broken by high pressure, and has the characteristics of being light, thin, waterproof and dustproof so that it can isolate external dust and water, gas and other impurities, makes more stable by the multi-layer arranging structure and achieves pressure relief and explosion-proof (Page 4 Line 53-58 & Page 5 Line 1-8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shrim et al. (US 6057052 A) discloses, “Cell For A Metal-air Battery- a modular cell for a multi-cell metal-air battery system, more particularly for such a system to be used in electrically powered vehicles (Column 1 Line 9-11). FIG. 1 an electrochemical zinc-air multi-cell battery 10, of the type used for multiple discharge and recharge cycles. Battery 10 contains many cells 12, 12a, and is suitable for vehicle propulsion. A manifold 13 feeds reaction air to each of a series of cells within the battery. Referring now to FIGS. 2 & 3, there is seen in more detail one of the battery cells 12 contained in battery 10. The cell 12 has a housing 14 having two outer major surfaces 16 and 16' and two spaced-apart inner walls 18. Inner walls 18 define a first inner chamber 20 for containing therein a zinc electrode 22, and in conjunction with outer major surfaces 16 define two outer chambers 24 for receiving reaction air 26. In the embodiment more clearly seen with reference to FIG. 3, a first of said inner walls 18L is provided with a frame-like opening 19 sized to receive and accommodate, in tight friction fit, a second of said inner walls 18R, a bottom 25 and opposing side surfaces 40 and 44 of said first inner wall 18L forming the base and sides of said housing 14 respectively and a top portion 21 of said first inner wall constituting a seamless upper portion of the assembled cell. Zinc electrode 22 is advantageously formed of a generally planar electrically conductive skeletal member 23 encompassed by an active metal component 2, comprising porous zinc particles formed into a static bed of slurry impregnated with an electrolyte. The zinc electrode 22, when in place, is retained in a un-shaped frame 28 and can be withdrawn and replaced by a new zinc electrode 22 when the used electrode is exhausted. As seen in FIG. 3, which is to be viewed in conjunction with FIGS. 3a, 3b and 3c, inner wall 18L is provided with an integral cell contact housing 3, which contains a spring clip contact 4, electrically connected via a metal conductor 5 to the contacts 6 of the air electrode, said clip contact 4 being adapted to receive flanges 7 extending from the anode current collector member 23 of an adjacent cell due to the stepped nesting configuration of the contact housings 3, 3' and 3" of adjacent cells 12, 12' and 12", as seen in FIG. 3c (Column 5 Line 34-67 & Column 6 Line 1-5)-However Shrim does not teach a plurality of sensor connectors mounted to the housing, the plurality of sensor connectors including at least a gas sampling connector, a pressure sensor connector, and a valve connector, each of the gas sampling connector, the pressure sensor connector, and the valve connector being fluidically connected with the battery cell chamber.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858