DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites a method of using the apparatus, which renders the claim indefinite. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. See MPEP §2173.05(p)(II).
Claim 3 recites a method of using the apparatus, which renders the claim indefinite. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. See MPEP §2173.05(p)(II).
Claim 10 recites a method of using the apparatus, which renders the claim indefinite. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. See MPEP §2173.05(p)(II). Claims 11-14 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on claim 10.
Claim 11 recites a method of using the apparatus, which renders the claim indefinite. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. See MPEP §2173.05(p)(II). Claims 12-14 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on claim 11.
Claim 12 recites a method of using the apparatus, which renders the claim indefinite. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. See MPEP §2173.05(p)(II). Claims 13 and 14 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 8, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stottmann et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,819,882).
Regarding claim 7, Stottmann et al. discloses a food processor assembly (title), comprising:
a receptacle for receiving food therein (reference #114);
a lid configured to selectively cover the receptacle (reference #128) and having a chute for conveying food ingot the receptacle (reference #134); and
a pusher assembly configured to push food through the chute into the receptacle (reference #250), comprising
a pusher body (reference #252, 256, 262); and
a spring that biases the pusher body relative to the lid to urge movement of the pusher body within the chute towards the receptacle (reference #268).
Regarding claim 8, Stottmann et al. discloses wherein the pusher assembly further comprises: a catch feature that is movably coupled with the pusher body and operably coupled with the spring, wherein the catch feature is configured to be selectively engaged with an engagement feature coupled with the chute, such that the spring biases the pusher body relative to the lid due to the engagement of the catch feature with the engagement feature coupled to the chute of the lid (reference #266).
Regarding claim 16, Stottmann et al. discloses a pusher assembly for a food processor assembly (reference #250), comprising:
a pusher body for insertion into a chute of said food processor assembly (reference #252, 256, 262); and
a spring operably coupled with the pusher body (reference #268).
Regarding claim 18, Stottmann et al. discloses a catch feature movably coupled to the pusher body and operably coupled with the spring, such that the spring biases the catch feature relative to the pusher body (reference #266; column 8, lines 10-30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stottmann et al. in view of Davies (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0162508).
Regarding claim 15 and 17, Stottmann et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. However, the reference does not explicitly disclose wherein the spring is a constant force spring. Davies teaches another food apparatus (title). The reference teaches the spring being a constant force spring ([0081]). Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected result, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the spring of Stottmann et al. to be a constant force spring, as taught by Davies, because selecting one of known designs for a spring would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 4-6 are allowed.
Claims 9, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH INSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774