DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communication filed on 05/28/2026.
Claims 1-5, 7-19, 21-31 are pending and rejected. Claims 6 and 20 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5,7-10,13,15-19, 21-23, 26 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al (US 20200021949 A1) (hereinafter “Edge”) in view of Lee (US 20240275548 A1) (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Edge discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 8 (105), para. [0131] discloses device), comprising:
at least one memory (see Fig. 8 (860-Memory)); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (see Fig. 9 (860- Memory, 810 Processor), para [0138] discloses memory and instruction in the memory executable by processing units) and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination (see para. [0138] discloses procedures implemented as code or instructions executed by the processing units), is configured to:
receive a Wi-Fi positioning configuration and a UE-to-universal mobile telecommunications system terrestrial radio access network (UE-UTRAN) (Uu) positioning configuration (see Fig. 3 (330), Fig. 4 (430) para. [0013];[0058]; [0077]; [0079]; [0096]; [0098] discloses the UE receiving assistance data from an LMF in an LPP/NPP Provide Assistance Data message, which includes information for one or more signals broadcast by each of the reference and neighboring cells; for example, the information may comprise PRS, TRS, and/or CRS configuration information and possibly other AN or cell related information, where the ANs may be a gNB, ng-eNB, eNB, or a WiFi AP),
measure the set of Wi-Fi RSs and the set of Uu RSs (see Fig. 3 (330, 345); Fig. 4 (440, 445) obtain downlink location measurements), para. [0099] discloses, UE acquires and measures one or more of the signals);
calculate a location of the UE based on an input of the measured set of Wi-Fi RSs and the measured set of Uu RSs to a positioning model (see Fig. 4 (430, 445, 450) para. [0099]-[0100] discloses at stage 445 the UE acquires and measures one or more of the signal broadcast at stage 440, and at stage 450 the UE computes a location of UE based on the measurements and assistance data received at stage 430) ; and
transmit a report message comprising the calculated location of the UE (see Fig. 4 (455) para. [0101]-[0102] discloses at stage 455 the UE returns the location estimate obtained at stage 450 to LMF on a location information message).
Edge fails to disclose but Lee teaches wherein the Wi-Fi positioning configuration comprises a first set of measurement gaps for a reception of a set of Wi-Fi reference signals (RSs), wherein the Uu positioning configuration comprises a second set of measurement gaps for a second reception of a set of Uu RSs (see para. [0011];[0027];[0031];[0035];[0226] discloses receiving configuration information related to measurement gap, ,receiving the PRS based on the measurement gap; the UE may measure location using DL reference signal depending on configuration such as NG-eNB, E-UTRAN, etc. Location of the UE may be measured in a RAT-independent method including WLAN, access points, TBS, etc. and include LCS);
receive the set of Wi-Fi RSs based on the first set of measurement gaps and the set of Uu RSs based on the second set of measurement gaps (see para. [0031] discloses receiving reference signals bases on the measurement gaps).
Edge and Lee are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication and positioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the measurement gaps as described by Lee.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving in mobile device positioning.
Regarding claim 2, Edge discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 8 (105), para. [0131] discloses device), wherein the Wi-Fi positioning configuration comprises at least one of:
a set of Wi-Fi access point (AP) identifiers (IDs) associated with a transmission of the set of Wi-Fi RSs (This part is optional);
a set of locations associated with the transmission of the set of Wi-Fi RSs (see para. [0052] discloses network based position method one or more APs may obtain location measurements (RSRP, RTT, RSSI, etc.) for signal transmitted by the UE and receive measurement obtained by UE or by and AP in WLAN); or
any combination thereof (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 3, Edge discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 8 (105), para. [0131] discloses device), wherein, to receive the set of Wi-Fi RSs, the at least one processor (see Fig. 9 (860- Memory, 810 Processor), para [0138] discloses memory and instruction in the memory executable by processing units), is configured to:
receive the set of Wi-Fi RSs from a plurality of access points (APs) (see Fig. 4 (440-1, 440-2, 440-3)).
Regarding claim 5, Edge discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 8 (105), para. [0131] discloses device), wherein the measured set of Wi-Fi RSs comprises at least one of.
a channel impulse response (CIR) (This part is optional);
a channel frequency response (CFR) (This part is optional);
a power delay profile (PDP) (This part is optional),
a delay profile (DP) (This part is optional),
a reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) (see para. [0005] discloses the location measurement obtained by the UE may comprise Reference Signal Strength Indicator -RSSI);
a round-trip time (RTT) (see para. [0005] discloses the location measurement obtained by the obtained by the UE may comprise Round Trip signal propagation time RTT); or
any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 7, Edge discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 8 (105), para. [0131] discloses device), wherein the set of Uu RSs comprises at least one of:
a positioning reference signal (PRS) (see para. [0044] discloses base station (ng-eNBor LTE) may function as positioning beacons, transmit PRS signals);
a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) (This part is optional);
a synchronization signal block (SSB) (This part is optional);
a sounding reference signal (SRS) (This part is optional); or
a combination thereof (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 8, Edge discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 8 (105), para. [0131] discloses device), wherein, to receive the set of Uu RSs, the at least one processor (see para. [0138] discloses procedures implemented as code or instructions executed by the processing units), is configured to:
receive the set of Uu RSs from a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs) (see Fig. 4 (440-1, 440-2, 440-3 from AN1, AN2, AN3)).
Regarding claim 9, Edge discloses apparatus (see Fig. 8 (105), para. [0131] discloses device), wherein the measured set of Uu RSs comprises at least one of:
a channel impulse response (CIR) (This part is optional);
a channel frequency response (CFR) (This part is optional);
a power delay profile (PDP) (This part is optional),
a delay profile (DP) (This part is optional),
a reference signal received power (RSRP) (see para. [0005] discloses the location measurements obtained by the UE may comprise at least Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP)) ;
a reference signal received power path (RSRPP) (This part is optional);
a reference signal time difference (RSTD) (This part is optional);
an angle of departure (AoD) (see para. [0005] discloses the location measurements obtained by the UE may comprise at least Angle of Departure (AoD)); or
any combination thereof (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 10, Edge discloses an (see Fig. 8 (105), para. [0131] discloses device), wherein the report message further comprises an indicator that the calculated location is associated with both the set of Wi-Fi RSs and the set of Uu RSs (see Fig. 4 (420,440, 450, 455) para. [0099];[0101]-[0102] discloses at stage 455 the UE returns the location estimate obtained at stage 450 to LMF on a location information message)..
Regarding claim 13, Edge discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 8 (105), para. [0131] discloses device), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
transmit a capability message comprising an indication of a capability of the UE to perform positioning based the set of Wi-Fi RSs and the set of Uu RSs, wherein the transmission of the capability message is before the reception of the Wi-Fi positioning configuration (see Fig. 4 (420- LPP/NPP Provide Capabilities), see para. [0094] discloses stage 420, the UE 105 returns its positioning capabilities to the LMF 120 in an LPP/NPP Provide Capabilities message. For example, the capabilities may indicate the position methods supported by the UE 105, the measurements for each supported position method that are supported by the UE 105, the types of assistance data supported by the UE 105 for each supported position method and the RATs supported by the UE 105).
Regarding claim 15, Edge discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 8 (105), para. [0131] discloses device), wherein, to receive the Wi-Fi positioning configuration, the at least one processor, is configured to:
receive assistance data (AD) comprising the Wi-Fi positioning configuration (see Fig. 3 (330), Fig. 4 (430) para. [0013];[0058]; [0077]; [0079]; [0096]; [0098] discloses the UE receiving assistance data from an LMF in an LPP/NPP Provide Assistance Data message, which includes information for one or more signals broadcast by each of the reference and neighboring cells; for example, the information may comprise PRS, TRS, and/or CRS configuration information and possibly other AN or cell related information, where the ANs may be a gNB, ng-eNB, eNB, or a WiFi AP).
Regarding claim 16, Edge discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network), comprising:
at least one memory (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network a comprising memory and one or more processing units coupled with the memory); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (see para. [0012]-[0013] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network a comprising memory and one or more processing units coupled with the memory; one or more processing units may be further configured to cause the access node to send, to the UE, a request for the location measurements obtained by the UE,) and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, is configured to:
transmit (see para.[0013] discloses one or more processing units may be further configured to cause the access node to send, to the UE, a request for the location measurements obtained by the UE), for a user equipment (UE), a Wi-Fi positioning configuration and a UE- to-universal mobile telecommunications system terrestrial radio access network (UE- UTRAN) (Uu) positioning configuration to calculate a location of the UE based on a set of Wi-Fi reference signals (RSs) and a set of Uu RSs (see Fig. 3 (330), Fig. 4 (430) para. [0013];[0058]; [0077]; [0079]; [0096]; [0098] discloses the UE receiving assistance data from an LMF in an LPP/NPP Provide Assistance Data message, which includes information for one or more signals broadcast by each of the reference and neighboring cells; for example, the information may comprise PRS, TRS, and/or CRS configuration information and possibly other AN or cell related information, where the ANs may be a gNB, ng-eNB, eNB, or a WiFi AP); and
receive a report message comprising a calculated location of the UE based on an input of measurements of the set of Wi-Fi RSs and measurements of the set of Uu RSs to a positioning model (see Fig. 4 (455) para. [0101]-[0102] discloses at stage 455 the UE returns the location estimate obtained at stage 450 to LMF on a location information message).
Edge fails to disclose but Lee teaches wherein the Wi-Fi positioning configuration comprises a first set of measurement gaps for a first reception of the set of Wi-Fi RSs and the Uu positioning configuration comprises a second set of measurement gaps for a second reception of the set of Uu RSs (see para. [0011];[0027];[0031];[0035];[0226] discloses receiving configuration information related to measurement gap, ,receiving the PRS based on the measurement gap; the UE may measure location using DL reference signal depending on configuration such as NG-eNB, E-UTRAN, etc. Location of the UE may be measured in a RAT-independent method including WLAN, access points, TBS, etc. and include LCS).
Edge and Lee are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication and positioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the measurement gaps as described by Lee.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving in mobile device positioning.
Regarding claim 17, Edge discloses an apparatus (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network a comprising memory and one or more processing units coupled with the memory), wherein the Wi-Fi positioning configuration comprises at least one of:
a set of Wi-Fi access point (AP) identifiers (IDs) associated with a transmission of the set of Wi-Fi RSs (see Fig. 4 (440-1, 440-2, 440-3) para. [0013];[0058]; [0098] discloses access node AN may be gNB, ng-eNB (LTE) or a trusted WLAN for WiFi access; at stage 440, the AN1, AN2, AN3 broadcast signals that may be received by the UE, the signals may include PRS, TRS, CRS, WiFi beacon frames or some reference signal);
a set of locations associated with the transmission of the set of Wi-Fi RSs (This part is optional); or
any combination thereof (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 18, Edge discloses an apparatus (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network a comprising memory and one or more processing units coupled with the memory), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
transmit a second Wi-Fi positioning configuration to a set of access points (APs) to transmit the set of Wi-Fi RSs at the UE (see Fig. 4 (435), para. [0097] discloses stage 435 LMF sends a request for location measurement or a request for a location estimate to the UE. The request separately for each of one or more RATs).
Regarding claim 19, Edge discloses an apparatus (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network a comprising memory and one or more processing units coupled with the memory), wherein the set of Wi-Fi RSs is associated with a plurality of access points (APs) (see Fig. 4 (440-1, 440-2, 440-3) para. [0013];[0058]; [0098] discloses access node AN may be gNB, ng-eNB (LTE) or a trusted WLAN for WiFi access; at stage 440, the AN1, AN2, AN3 broadcast signals that may be received by the UE, the signals may include PRS, TRS, CRS, WiFi beacon frames or some reference signal)
Regarding claim 21, Edge discloses an apparatus (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network a comprising memory and one or more processing units coupled with the memory), wherein the set of Uu RSs comprises at least one of:
a positioning reference signal (PRS) (see para. [0044] discloses base station (ng-eNBor LTE) may function as positioning beacons, transmit PRS signals);
a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) (This part is optional);
a synchronization signal block (SSB) (This part is optional);
a sounding reference signal (SRS) (This part is optional); or
a combination thereof (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 22, Edge discloses an apparatus (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network a comprising memory and one or more processing units coupled with the memory), wherein the at least one processor (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network a comprising memory and one or more processing units coupled with the memory), is further configured to:
transmit a second Uu positioning configuration to a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs) for a transmission of the set of Uu RSs (see Fig. 4 (440-1, 440-2, 440-3 from AN1, AN2, AN3)).
Regarding claim 23, Edge discloses an apparatus (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network a comprising memory and one or more processing units coupled with the memory), wherein the report message further comprises an indicator that the calculated location is associated with both measurements of the set of Wi-Fi RSs and measurements of the set of Uu RSs (see para. [0037] discloses generic position methods that allow positioning of a target UE that is served by one or more of a number of different RATs and that allow measurements by a UE of access nodes belonging to different RATs and/or measurements of a UE by access nodes for different RATs. Generic position method, a common set of procedures, messages and parameters may be defined that are applicable to a number of different RATs. Besides enabling location support for multiple RATs, same set of procedures, message and parameters for multiple RAT).
Regarding claim 26, Edge discloses an apparatus (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network a comprising memory and one or more processing units coupled with the memory), wherein the at least one processor (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network a comprising memory and one or more processing units coupled with the memory), is further configured to:
receive a capability message comprising an indication of a capability of the UE to perform positioning based on both measurements of the set of Wi-Fi RSs and measurements of the set of Uu RSs (see Fig. 4 (420- LPP/NPP Provide Capabilities), see para. [0094] discloses stage 420, the UE 105 returns its positioning capabilities to the LMF 120 in an LPP/NPP Provide Capabilities message. For example, the capabilities may indicate the position methods supported by the UE 105, the measurements for each supported position method that are supported by the UE 105, the types of assistance data supported by the UE 105 for each supported position method and the RATs supported by the UE 105); and
configure the Wi-Fi positioning configuration and the Uu positioning configuration based on the capability message (see Fig. 4 (420- LPP/NPP Provide Capabilities), see para. [0094] discloses stage 420, the UE 105 returns its positioning capabilities to the LMF 120 in an LPP/NPP Provide Capabilities message. For example, the capabilities may indicate the position methods supported by the UE 105, the measurements for each supported position method that are supported by the UE 105, the types of assistance data supported by the UE 105 for each supported position method and the RATs supported by the UE 105).
Regarding claim 28, Edge discloses an apparatus (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network), wherein, to transmit the Wi-Fi positioning configuration, the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit assistance data (AD) comprising the Wi-Fi positioning configuration (see Fig. 4 (430), para. [0096];[0103] discloses LMF provides assistance data to the UE in LPP/NPP Assistance Data message; assistance data may be provided at stage 430 for Wi-Fi APs).
Regarding claim 29, Edge discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 8 (105), para. [0131] discloses device), comprising:
receiving a Wi-Fi positioning configuration and a UE-to-universal mobile telecommunications system terrestrial radio access network (UE-UTRAN) (Uu) positioning configuration (see Fig. 3 (330), Fig. 4 (430) para. [0013];[0058]; [0077]; [0079]; [0096]; [0098] discloses the UE receiving assistance data from an LMF in an LPP/NPP Provide Assistance Data message, which includes information for one or more signals broadcast by each of the reference and neighboring cells; for example, the information may comprise PRS, TRS, and/or CRS configuration information and possibly other AN or cell related information, where the ANs may be a gNB, ng-eNB, eNB, or a WiFi AP),
measuring the set of Wi-Fi RSs and the set of Uu RSs (see Fig. 3 (330, 345); Fig. 4 (440, 445) obtain downlink location measurements), para. [0099] discloses, UE acquires and measures one or more of the signals);
calculating a position of the UE based on an input of the measured set of Wi-Fi RSs and the measured set of Uu RSs to a positioning model (see Fig. 4 (430, 445, 450) para. [0099]-[0100] discloses at stage 445 the UE acquires and measures one or more of the signal broadcast at stage 440, and at stage 450 the UE computes a location of UE based on the measurements and assistance data received at stage 430); and
transmitting a report message comprising the calculated position of the UE (see Fig. 4 (455) para. [0101]-[0102] discloses at stage 455 the UE returns the location estimate obtained at stage 450 to LMF on a location information message).
Edge fails to disclose but Lee teaches wherein the Wi-Fi positioning configuration comprises a first set of measurement gaps for a reception of a set of Wi-Fi reference signals (RSs), wherein the Uu positioning configuration comprises a second set of measurement gaps for a second reception of a set of Uu RSs (see para. [0011];[0027];[0031];[0035];[0226] discloses receiving configuration information related to measurement gap, ,receiving the PRS based on the measurement gap; the UE may measure location using DL reference signal depending on configuration such as NG-eNB, E-UTRAN, etc. Location of the UE may be measured in a RAT-independent method including WLAN, access points, TBS, etc. and include LCS);
receiving the set of Wi-Fi RSs based on during the first set of measurement gaps and the set of Uu RSs based on the second set of measurement gaps (see para. [0031] discloses receiving reference signals bases on the measurement gaps).
Edge and Lee are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication and positioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the message as described by Lee.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving in mobile device position.
Regarding claim 30, Edge discloses a method of wireless communication at a network entity (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network), comprising:
transmitting (see para.[0013] discloses one or more processing units may be further configured to cause the access node to send, to the UE, a request for the location measurements obtained by the UE), for a user equipment (UE), a Wi-Fi positioning configuration and a UE-to- universal mobile telecommunications system terrestrial radio access network (UE-UTRAN) (Uu) positioning configuration to calculate a location of the UE based on a set of Wi-Fi reference signals (RSs) and a set of Uu RSs (see Fig. 3 (330), Fig. 4 (430) para. [0013];[0058]; [0077]; [0079]; [0096]; [0098] discloses the UE receiving assistance data from an LMF in an LPP/NPP Provide Assistance Data message, which includes information for one or more signals broadcast by each of the reference and neighboring cells; for example, the information may comprise PRS, TRS, and/or CRS configuration information and possibly other AN or cell related information, where the ANs may be a gNB, ng-eNB, eNB, or a WiFi AP); and
receiving a report message comprising a calculated location of the UE based on an input of the set of Wi-Fi RSs and the set of Uu RSs to a positioning model (see Fig. 4 (455) para. [0101]-[0102] discloses at stage 455 the UE returns the location estimate obtained at stage 450 to LMF on a location information message).
Edge fails to disclose but Lee teaches wherein the Wi-Fi positioning configuration comprises a first set of measurement gaps associated with the set of Wi-Fi RSs and the Uu positioning configuration comprises a second set of measurement gaps for a second reception of the set of Uu RSs (see para. [0011];[0027];[0031];[0035];[0226] discloses receiving configuration information related to measurement gap, ,receiving the PRS based on the measurement gap; the UE may measure location using DL reference signal depending on configuration such as NG-eNB, E-UTRAN, etc. Location of the UE may be measured in a RAT-independent method including WLAN, access points, TBS, etc. and include LCS).
Edge and Lee are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication and positioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the measurement gaps as described by Lee.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving in mobile device positioning.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al (US 20200021949 A1) (hereinafter “Edge”) in view of Lee (US 20240275548 A1) (hereinafter “Lee”) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above and further in view of Aldana (US 20170251332 A1) (hereinafter “Aldana”).
Regarding claim 4, Edge discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 8 (105), para. [0131] discloses device).
Edge fails to disclose but Aldana teaches wherein the set of Wi-Fi RSs comprises at least one of a data packet or a null-data packet (NDP) (see para. [0074]-[0076] discloses NDP announcement frame, NDP used for ranging).
Edge and Aldana are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication and positioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the NDP as described by Aldana.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving mobile device positioning.
Claims 14, 27, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al (US 20200021949 A1) (hereinafter “Edge”) in view of Lee (US 20240275548 A1) (hereinafter “Lee”) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above and further in view of Zhang et al (US-20260046811-A1) (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 14, Edge discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 8 (105), para. [0131] discloses device),
Edge fails to disclose but Zhang teaches wherein the indication of the capability comprises at least one of:
a first indicator of a supported Wi-Fi bandwidth (see para. [0016];[0055] discloses transmitting information based on common capabilities related to AI based positioning, information on capabilities related to specific AI based methods; Exemplary information on capabilities includes at least one of the following, supported bandwidths);
a second indicator of a supported Uu bandwidth (see para. [0016];[0055] discloses transmitting information based on common capabilities related to AI based positioning, information on capabilities related to specific AI based methods; Exemplary information on capabilities includes at least one of the following, supported bandwidths);
a third indicator of a set of supported Wi-Fi resources (This part is optional);
a fourth indicator of a set of supported Uu resources (This part is optional);
a fifth indicator of a set of supported Wi-Fi measurement gaps (This part is optional);
a sixth indicator of a set of supported Uu measurement gaps (This part is optional);
a seventh indicator of a set of supported ranging modes (This part is optional);
an eighth indicator of a set of supported preamble signals (This part is optional);
a ninth indicator of a set of supported access points (APs) (This part is optional);
a tenth indicator of a supported positioning model mode (This part is optional);
an eleventh indicator of a supported positioning measurement (This part is optional);
a twelfth indicator of a supported reporting trigger (This part is optional); or
any combination thereof (This part is optional).
Edge and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication and positioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the indication of bandwidth as described by Zhang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability in mobile device positioning.
Regarding claim 27, Edge discloses an apparatus (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network a comprising memory and one or more processing units coupled with the memory).
Edge fails to disclose but Zhang teaches, wherein the indication of the capability comprises at least one of:
a first indicator of a supported Wi-Fi bandwidth (see para. [0016];[0055] discloses transmitting information based on common capabilities related to AI based positioning, information on capabilities related to specific AI based methods; Exemplary information on capabilities includes at least one of the following, supported bandwidths);
a second indicator of a supported Uu bandwidth (see para. [0016];[0055] discloses transmitting information based on common capabilities related to AI based positioning, information on capabilities related to specific AI based methods; Exemplary information on capabilities includes at least one of the following, supported bandwidths);
a third indicator of a set of supported Wi-Fi resources (This part is optional);
a fourth indicator of a set of supported Uu resources (This part is optional);
a fifth indicator of a set of supported Wi-Fi measurement gaps (This part is optional);
a sixth indicator of a set of supported Uu measurement gaps (This part is optional);
a seventh indicator of a set of supported ranging modes (This part is optional);
an eighth indicator of a set of supported preamble signals (This part is optional);
a ninth indicator of a set of supported access points (APs) (This part is optional);
a tenth indicator of a supported positioning model mode (This part is optional);
an eleventh indicator of a supported positioning measurement (This part is optional);
a twelfth indicator of a supported reporting trigger (This part is optional); or
any combination thereof (This part is optional).
Edge and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication and positioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the indication of bandwidth as described by Zhang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability in mobile device positioning.
Regarding claim 31, Edge discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 9 (860- Memory, 810 Processor), para [0138] discloses memory and instruction in the memory executable by processing units).
Edge fails to disclose but Zhang teaches wherein, to calculate the location of the UE based on the input of the measured set of Wi-Fi RSs and the set of Uu RSs to the positioning model (see para. [0011];[0012] discloses determining AI model for UE position estimation; AI model application, and the information related to AI model application includes information related to reference signals), the at least one processor is configured to:
input the measured set of Wi-Fi RSs and the measured set of Uu RSs to the positioning model (see para. [0004];[0007] discloses using AI model to estimate the UE position based on RSRP associated with reference signals),
wherein the positioning model comprises an artificial intelligence (AI) / machine learning (ML) (AI/ML) positioning model trained based on a set of labels (see para. [0051] discloses the AI model can be trained by the LMF or other wireless apparatus using data collected from UE, per example set of ground truth position and the measure RSRP at each ground truth position),
a set of measurements of a second set of Wi-Fi RSs, and a set of measurements of a second set of Uu RSs (see para. [0063];[0064] discloses AI model application may include information related to reference signals that will be measured and results used as input to the AI model; AI model include information concerning reference signals, that must be detected and/or relevant RSRP or other measurement results be above threshold); and
obtain the calculated location of the UE from and output of the AI/ML positioning model (see Fig. 3 (AI model), para. [0017];[0023] discloses AI model for UE for location estimation).
Edge and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication and positioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the AI model as described by Zhang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability in mobile device positioning.
Claims 11, 12, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al (US 20200021949 A1) (hereinafter “Edge”) in view of Lee (US 20240275548 A1) (hereinafter “Lee”) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above and further in view of Belghoul et al (US 20160234645 A1) (hereinafter “Belghoul”).
Regarding claim 11, Edge discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 8 (105), para. [0131] discloses device).
Edge fails to disclose but Belghoul teaches wherein the report message further comprises an indicator that the calculated location is not associated with any signals other than the set of Wi-Fi RSs (see para. [0030] discloses in some embodiments the WLAN includes information of APs MAC address, SSIDs ad BSSIDs).
Edge and Belghoul are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication and positioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the AP identifier data as described by Belghoul.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability in mobile device positioning.
Regarding claim 12, Edge discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 8 (105), para. [0131] discloses device).
Edge fails to disclose but Belghoul teaches wherein the report message further comprises a set of Wi-Fi access point (AP) identifiers (IDs) associated with the calculated location of the UE (see para. [0030] discloses in some embodiments the WLAN includes information of APs MAC address, SSIDs ad BSSIDs).
Edge and Belghoul are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication and positioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the AP identifier data as described by Belghoul.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability in mobile device positioning.
Regarding claim 24, Edge discloses an apparatus (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network a comprising memory and one or more processing units coupled with the memory).
Edge fails to disclose but Belghoul teaches wherein the report message further comprises an indicator that the calculated location is not associated with any signals other than the set of Wi-Fi RSs (see para. [0030] discloses in some embodiments the WLAN includes information of APs MAC address, SSIDs ad BSSIDs).
Edge and Belghoul are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication and positioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the AP identifier data as described by Belghoul.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability in mobile device positioning.
Regarding claim 25, Edge discloses an apparatus (see para. [0012] discloses access node for locating a UE in a wireless network a comprising memory and one or more processing units coupled with the memory)
Edge fails to disclose but Belghoul teaches wherein the report message further comprises a set of Wi-Fi access point (AP) identifiers (IDs) associated with the calculated location of the UE (see para. [0030] discloses in some embodiments the WLAN includes information of APs MAC address, SSIDs ad BSSIDs).
Edge and Belghoul are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication and positioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the AP identifier data as described by Belghoul.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability in mobile device positioning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment after Final, page 2, filed 05/28/2026, with respect to the Amendments to the Specification on paragraphs [0097], [0098] and [0120] have been considered. The amendments are accepted.
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment after Final, pages 11-15, filed 05/28/2026, with respect to the claim rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 7-11, 16, 21-25, 28-30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Edge et al (US 20200021949 A1).
Conclusion
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409