DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, FIG. 4, and claims 1-7, 13, 22 and 23 in the reply filed on 07/09/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that
(A1) no claims are identified relative to any particular species. The examiner is required to implement a Restriction/Election Requirement based on claimed subject matter under MPEP 806.01. This is not persuasive because the Restriction/Election Requirement made in the Office action dated 05/18/2026 is based on MPEP 806.04.
Under this Restriction/Election Requirement, the examiner is NOT required to identify claims relative to any particular species. In fact, Page 3 of the Office action expressly stated in bold that a complete reply to the Office action must include, inter alia, “identification of the claims encompassing the elected species.”
(A2) No prima facie case has been made under MPEP 808. This is not persuasive because the restriction is made based on MPEP 806.04, and the examiner expressly stated that “[t]he species are independent or distinct because the different Species have mutually exclusive structure(s) and or characteristic(s). For example, the different species have different winding and or magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding structure.”
(A3) There would not be a serious burden on the examiner if the restriction is not made. This is not persuasive because the claims directed to the non-elected species (i.e., non-elected claims) require further search and consideration (i.e., one or more of the five reasons provided in the restriction requirement), which is a serious burden on the examiner.
(B) claim 1 is generic. In response, even if claim 1 is generic, the claimed invention contains species that are independent or distinct as stated above. Therefore, the restriction requirement is still proper as there is a serious burden on the examiner if a restriction is not made. By applicant’s own admission, claim 24 is not generic to all species.
(C) applicant disagrees with the examiner’s way of doing species based on figures. The examiner maintains the independent or distinct species as stated in the Office action mailed on 05/18/2026.
Claims 8-12, 14-21 and 24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/18/2024 and 07/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding is between the ferrite layer and the first winding layer” as recited in claim 6, the “a discrete capacitor disposed within the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding” as claimed in claim 7, the “magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding is configured to provide a ground plane for the one or more electronics” of claim 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 13, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gaskill et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2018/0097401 A1, hereinafter “Gaskill”).
With respect to claim 1, Gaskill teaches a wireless-power-transfer unit 620 (FIG. 6A) comprising:
a coil 626 and 628 wound to form an opening (opening inside inner periphery of the coil), the coil including:
a first winding layer (layer of coil 626) in an xy-plane (flat plane) and having a plurality of windings (“windings” of coil 626, para. [0041]) that include at least an innermost winding (innermost turn) and an outermost winding (outermost turn), the innermost winding disposed between the opening and the outermost winding; and
a second winding layer (layer of coil 628) stacked in a z-direction (vertical direction) with the first winding layer and having a magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding 628, the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding:
being electrically connected (connector 630) to at least one winding of the plurality of windings in the first winding layer;
including first and second opposing surfaces (upper and lower surfaces) that are normal to the z-direction, the first surface directly facing the first winding layer; and
configured to shield one or more electronics 636-642 disposed proximate to the second surface (paras. [0040-[0043]).
With respect to claim 5, Gaskill teaches the wireless-power-transfer unit of claim 1, wherein the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding is configured to reduce localized multiplicative effects of aggregate fields generated by the plurality of windings in the first winding layer (para. [0041]).
With respect to claim 13, Gaskill teaches the wireless-power-transfer unit of claim 1, wherein the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding is configured to provide a ground plane for the one or more electronics (paras. [0042] and [0043]).
With respect to claim 22, Gaskill teaches the wireless-power-transfer unit of claim 1, wherein a distance between the first winding layer and the second winding layer is set according to a self-resonant frequency of the coil (para. [0018]).
With respect to claim 23, Gaskill teaches the wireless-power-transfer unit of claim 1, wherein a width of the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding is set according to a self-resonant frequency of the coil (para. [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaskill, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baumgartner et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2006/0284718, hereinafter “Baumgartner”).
With respect to claim 2, Gaskill teaches the wireless-power-transfer unit of claim 1. Gaskill does not expressly teach the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding is a last winding of the plurality of windings.
Baumgartner teaches a coil (FIGs. 7A-7C), wherein the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding L1 and or L2 (FIG. 7A) is a last winding of the plurality of windings (para. [0074]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding as taught by Baumgartner to the wireless-power-transfer unit of Gaskill to increase inductance or to obtain predictable results. MPEP 2143(B).
With respect to claim 3, Gaskill teaches the wireless-power-transfer unit of claim 1. Gaskill does not expressly teach the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding is a first winding of the plurality of windings.
Baumgartner teaches a coil (FIGs. 7A-7C), wherein the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding is a first winding L1 and or L2 (FIG. 7A) of the plurality of windings (para. [0074]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding as taught by Baumgartner to the wireless-power-transfer unit of Gaskill to increase inductance or to obtain predictable results. MPEP 2143(B).
With respect to claim 4, Gaskill teaches the wireless-power-transfer unit of claim 1. Gaskill does not expressly teach the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding is a center winding of the plurality of windings.
Baumgartner teaches a coil (FIGs. 7A-7C), wherein the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding L1 and or L2 (FIG. 7C) is a center winding of the plurality of windings(para. [0074]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding as taught by Baumgartner to the wireless-power-transfer unit of Gaskill to increase inductance or to obtain predictable results. MPEP 2143(B).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaskill, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2024/0106272 A1, hereinafter “Liu”).
With respect to claim 6, Gaskill teaches the wireless-power-transfer unit of claim 1. Gaskill does not expressly teach a ferrite layer, wherein the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding is between the ferrite layer and the first winding layer.
Liu teaches the wireless-power-transfer unit (FIG. 2) comprising a ferrite layer 20, wherein the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding (layer closes to ferrite layer 20 of “multi-layer” coil 10 para. [0052]) is between the ferrite layer and the first winding layer (layer farther from ferrite layer 20) (paras. [0049] and [0059]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the ferrite layer as taught by Liu to the wireless-power-transfer unit of Gaskill to improve shielding a magnetic field generated by the coil so that the magnetic field generated by the coil is concentrated on a side away from the ferrite layer (para. [0049]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaskill, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Maniktala (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2016/0284465 A1).
With respect to claim 7, Gaskill teaches the wireless-power-transfer unit of claim 1. Gaskill does not expressly teach a discrete capacitor disposed within the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding.
Maniktala teaches a wireless-power-transfer unit 200 (FIG. 2) comprising a discrete capacitor 222 disposed within the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding 220 (para. [0018]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the discrete capacitor as taught by Maniktala to the wireless-power-transfer unit of Gaskill to allow only high-frequency current to be diverted to ground by the magnetic-shielding-and-enhancement winding while not interfering with the intended wireless transmission of power by the first winding (para. [0018]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837