DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, 18 and all subsequent dependent claims have been considered but are moot in view of the references cited in the most current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawahara (US 20210190605 A1) in view of Shang (CN 116159731 A, all citations provided from machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Kawahara teaches a vehicle (C) comprising: a set of ultrasonic transmitters (10A to 10H, 11) mounted to an exterior of a vehicle, the set of ultrasonic transmitters (10A to 10H, 11) directed in a first direction (sensors are mounted on front and back of vehicle) and each transmitter of the set of ultrasonic transmitters being configured to output a set of ultrasonic waves (externally transmits an ultrasound wave). (Abstract, Paragraphs 54-55, 48-49, Figs.1-2)
Kawahara also teaches a set of ultrasonic receivers (10A to 10H, 13) mounted to the exterior of the vehicle (sensors are mounted on front and back of vehicle), each receiver of the set of ultrasonic receivers configured to receive reflections of the set of ultrasonic waves (receives a reflection wave returning from the outside and outputs a signal indicating an echo intensity of the reflection wave) and convert the received reflections into electrical signals (Reception circuit 13 performs A/D conversion processing on the signal indicating the echo intensity of the reflection wave). (Paragraphs 54-57, 48-49, Figs.1-2)
Kawahara also teaches a controller (14) coupled to a transmit channel (20) and the ultrasonic receivers (10A to 10H, 13), the transmit channel (20) being coupled to the ultrasonic transmitters (11), the controller (14) configured to define a set of different waveform instructions comprising frequency and/or a pulse width for each wave of a set of different ultrasonic waves for each transmitter of the set of ultrasonic transmitters and providing the set of different waveform instructions to the transmit channel (transmission/reception controller 14a, for example, issues a command of a timing for generating a driving signal and a pulse width of the driving signal for drive circuit 12). (Paragraphs 54-56, 59-60, Figs.1-2) Kawahara teaches the controller (14) can issues a command to generate pulse width of the driving signal, this pulse width can be adjusted by the transmission/reception controller (14a) and transmission/reception controller (14a) can also adjust a gain used by reception circuit (13) to amplify the echo intensity. Kawahara further teaches each ultrasound wave sensor has their own separate transmitter (10A to 10H, 11), receiver (10A to 10H, 13) and controller (14-14c) respectively, thus an adjusted (different) waveform can be commanded for each separate ultrasound wave sensor using the controller (14-14c).
Kawahara also teaches wherein the transmit channel (20) generates a set of different electrical waveforms from the set of different waveform instructions (the operation of drive circuit 12 is controlled on the basis of a transmission command from controller 14 (transmission/reception controller 14a)) and provides an electrical waveform of the set of different electrical waveforms to each transmitter of the set of ultrasonic transmitters and each of the transmitters output ultrasonic waves corresponding to the provided electrical waveform such that the set of ultrasonic transmitters generate the set of ultrasonic waves. (Paragraphs 54-60, Figs.1-2)
Kawahara also teaches the controller (14) being configured to determine properties of an object including distance based on the electrical signals provided by the set of ultrasonic receivers based on reflections of the set of ultrasonic waves. (Paragraphs 51, 68-69, Figs.1-2) Kawahara teaches determiner (14e) may calculate the distance from vehicle C to the object.
Kawahara does not explicitly teach the controller being configured to determine properties of an object including speed, size and shape based on the electrical signals provided by the set of ultrasonic receivers based on reflections of the set of ultrasonic waves.
Shang teaches the controller (30, 40) being configured to determine properties of an object including speed, size and shape (determining the size of the target object, speed, shape and distance between the object and so on) based on the electrical signals provided by the set of ultrasonic receivers based on reflections of the set of ultrasonic waves (ultrasonic processing unit 30 receives the echo signal and processes it, and then feeds back to the control unit 40). (Page.7, lines 12-16, 30-36)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kawahara to incorporate the controller being configured to determine properties of an object including speed, size and shape based on the electrical signals provided by the set of ultrasonic receivers based on reflections of the set of ultrasonic waves as taught by Shang in order to detect the object in long distance and large range, approximate orientation of the object, the specific appearance of the target in a near distance and improving the resolution of the near distance object detection.
Regarding claim 2, Kawahara teaches a second set of ultrasonic transmitters mounted to the exterior of the vehicle, the second set of ultrasonic transmitters coupled to the transmit channel (20) directed in a second direction different from the first direction, and the second set of ultrasonic transmitters configured to output a second set of ultrasonic waves; and a second set of ultrasonic receivers mounted to the exterior of the vehicle, the second set of ultrasonic receivers configured to receive reflections of the second set of ultrasonic waves. (Paragraphs 54-60, 48-49, Figs.1-2)
Regarding claim 3, Kawahara teaches wherein the first direction is towards a front of the vehicle, and the second direction is towards a back of the vehicle. (Fig.2)
Regarding claim 5, Kawahara teaches wherein the set of ultrasonic transmitters comprises: a first ultrasonic transmitter configured to transmit a first ultrasonic wave having a first frequency; and a second ultrasonic transmitter configured to transmit a second ultrasonic wave having a second frequency. (Paragraphs 54-55, 48-49, 65, Figs.1-2)
Kawahara discloses the claimed invention except for the second frequency higher than the first frequency. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to incorpate the second frequency higher than the first frequency, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 6, Kawahara teaches wherein the set of ultrasonic receivers comprises: a first ultrasonic receiver configured to detect waves at the first frequency; and a second ultrasonic receiver configured to detect waves at the second frequency. (Paragraphs 54-55, 48-49, 65, Figs.1-2)
Regarding claim 18, Kawahara teaches a method for sensing an object, the method comprising: transmitting a first ultrasonic wave of a set of different ultrasonic waveforms comprising a first waveform having a frequency and/or a pulse width (transmission/reception controller 14a, for example, issues a command of a timing for generating a driving signal and a pulse width of the driving signal for drive circuit 12). (Abstract, Paragraphs 54-60, 48-49, Figs.1-2)
Kawahara also teaches transmitting a second ultrasonic wave of a set of different ultrasonic waveforms, the second ultrasonic wave comprising a second waveform a frequency and/or a pulse width, the second waveform being different from the first waveform. (Paragraphs 54-60, 48-49, Figs.1-2)
Kawahara also teaches receiving a first reflection of the first ultrasonic wave and a second reflection of the second ultrasonic wave, and each first and second reflection having first and second reflection waveforms that vary from the first and second waveforms. (Paragraphs 65, 69, 54-57, 48-49, Figs.1-2)
Kawahara also teaches processing the first and second reflection waveforms. (Paragraphs 57, 69, Claims 19-20, Fig.1)
Kawahara also teaches determining properties of an object including distance based on the processing signals. (Paragraphs 68-69, Figs.1-2)
Kawahara does not explicitly teach determining properties of an object including speed, size and shape based on the processing signals and transmitting a first ultrasonic wave of a set of different ultrasonic waveforms comprising a first waveform having a shape, phase and transmitting a second ultrasonic wave of a set of different ultrasonic waveforms, the second ultrasonic wave comprising a second waveform having a shape, phase.
Shang teaches determining properties of an object including speed, size and shape based on the processing signals and transmitting a first ultrasonic wave of a set of different ultrasonic waveforms comprising a first waveform having a shape, phase and transmitting a second ultrasonic wave of a set of different ultrasonic waveforms, the second ultrasonic wave comprising a second waveform having a shape, phase. (Page.7, lines 12-19, 30-36, Page.5, lines 35-47, Claims 1-4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kawahara to incorporate determining properties of an object including speed, size and shape based on the processing signals and transmitting a first ultrasonic wave of a set of different ultrasonic waveforms comprising a first waveform having a shape, phase and transmitting a second ultrasonic wave of a set of different ultrasonic waveforms, the second ultrasonic wave comprising a second waveform having a shape, phase as taught by Shang in order to detect the object in long distance and large range, approximate orientation of the object, the specific appearance of the target in a near distance and improving the resolution of the near distance object detection.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawahara in view of Shang and Lee (US 20230393252 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kawahara does not explicitly teach a second transmit channel, the second set of ultrasonic transmitters being coupled to the second transmit channel and uncoupled from the transmit channel.
Lee teaches a second transmit channel, the second set of ultrasonic transmitters being coupled to the second transmit channel and uncoupled from the transmit channel. (Paragraphs 92, 102, Fig.3)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kawahara to incorporate a second transmit channel, the second set of ultrasonic transmitters being coupled to the second transmit channel and uncoupled from the transmit channel as taught by Lee in order to prevent the ultrasonic wave signal from causing the interference rather than being blocked by the obstacle.
Claim(s) 7-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawahara in view of Shang and Yamane (JP 2854692 B2, all citations provided from machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 7, Kawahara teaches the set of ultrasonic transmitters comprising a first transmitter and a second transmitter. (Paragraphs 54-56, 59, Figs.1-2)
Kawahara does not explicitly teach the vehicle further comprising: a switch coupled to an output of the transmit channel, an input of the first transmitter, and an input of the second transmitter, the switch configured to alternate the excitation voltage output from the transmit channel between the first transmitter and the second transmitter.
Yamane teaches the vehicle further comprising: a switch (25) coupled to an output of the transmit channel, an input of the first transmitter, and an input of the second transmitter, the switch configured to alternate the excitation voltage output from the transmit channel between the first transmitter and the second transmitter. (Page.2, line 39-Page.3, line 16, Claim 1, Fig.1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kawahara to incorporate the vehicle further comprising: a switch coupled to an output of the transmit channel, an input of the first transmitter, and an input of the second transmitter, the switch configured to alternate the excitation voltage output from the transmit channel between the first transmitter and the second transmitter as taught by Yamane in order to provide an ultrasonic object detector in which transmission and reception are controlled by a single main body while switching a plurality of sensor units.
Regarding claim 8, Kawahara teaches wherein a receiver of the set of ultrasonic receivers is configured to receive reflections of the ultrasonic waves output by the first transmitter and the second transmitter. (Paragraphs 54-57, 48-49, Figs.1-2)
Regarding claim 9, Kawahara teaches a system comprising: a controller (14) configured to output a set of different instructions comprising a pulse width for generating a set of different ultrasonic waveforms (the operation of drive circuit 12 is controlled on the basis of a transmission command from controller 14), the set of different ultrasonic waveform having a first frequency. (Paragraphs 56-59, 68-69, Figs.1-2)
Kawahara also teaches a transmit channel (20) coupled to the controller (14) and having a transmit processing unit, the transmit channel configured to output an excitation voltage for generating an ultrasonic wave (Drive circuit 12 generates a pulsed driving signal and outputs the driving signal to transmitter/receiver 11) the excitation voltage having an excitation waveform comprising a frequency and/or a pulse width based on the set of different instructions output from the controller and an output of the transmit processing unit configured to generate an ultrasonic waveform having a second frequency. (Paragraphs 54-60, Figs.1-2)
Kawahara also teaches an ultrasonic transmitter (10A to 10H, 11) coupled to the transmit channel (20), the ultrasonic transmitter configured to produce an ultrasonic wave in response to the excitation voltage. (Paragraphs 54-57, 48-49, Figs.1-2)
Kawahara also teaches a receiver (10A to 10H, 13) configured to receive a reflection of the ultrasonic wave off an object and to convert the received reflection into an electrical signal and provide the electrical signal to the controller, the controller configured to determine properties of the object including distance, based on the electrical signals. (Paragraphs 54-60, 68-69 48-49, Figs.1-2)
Kawahara does not explicitly teach to generate an ultrasonic waveform having a second frequency greater than the first frequency and a controller configured to output a set of different instructions comprising a shape, phase and an excitation waveform comprising a shape, phase and the controller configured to determine properties of the object including speed, size and shape, based on the electrical signals.
Shang teaches a controller (30, 40) configured to output a set of different instructions comprising a shape, phase and an excitation waveform comprising a shape, phase and the controller (30, 40) configured to determine properties of the object including speed, size and shape (determining the size of the target object, speed, shape and distance between the object and so on) based on the electrical signals (ultrasonic processing unit 30 receives the echo signal and processes it, and then feeds back to the control unit 40). (Page.7, lines 12-16, 30-36)
Yamane teaches to generate an ultrasonic waveform having a second frequency greater than the first frequency. (Page.2, lines 17-40, Claim 1, Fig.1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kawahara to incorporate a controller configured to output a set of different instructions comprising a shape, phase and an excitation waveform comprising a shape, phase and the controller configured to determine properties of the object including speed, size and shape, based on the electrical signals as taught by Shang in order to detect the object in long distance and large range, approximate orientation of the object, the specific appearance of the target in a near distance and improving the resolution of the near distance object detection and further modify Kawahara to incorporate to generate an ultrasonic waveform having a second frequency greater than the first frequency as taught by Yamane in order to transmit multiple ultrasound waves and detect a presence or absence of an object.
Regarding claim 10, Kawahara teaches wherein the controller (14) is coupled to a time sensitive network (TSN) (14a), the transmit channel (12) further comprising a receiving component configured to receive the instructions from the controller via the TSN. (Paragraph 59, Fig.1)
Regarding claim 11, Kawahara does not explicitly teach wherein the ultrasonic wave is a first ultrasonic wave, the system further comprising: a second transmit channel configured to receive second instructions from the controller via the TSN; and a second ultrasonic transmitter coupled to the second transmit channel, the second ultrasonic transmitter configured to produce a second ultrasonic wave, the second ultrasonic wave synchronized with the first ultrasonic wave.
Yamane teaches wherein the ultrasonic wave is a first ultrasonic wave, the system further comprising: a second transmit channel configured to receive second instructions from the controller via the TSN; and a second ultrasonic transmitter coupled to the second transmit channel, the second ultrasonic transmitter configured to produce a second ultrasonic wave, the second ultrasonic wave synchronized with the first ultrasonic wave. (Page.2, lines 41-47, Claim 1, Fig.1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kawahara to incorporate wherein the ultrasonic wave is a first ultrasonic wave, the system further comprising: a second transmit channel configured to receive second instructions from the controller via the TSN; and a second ultrasonic transmitter coupled to the second transmit channel, the second ultrasonic transmitter configured to produce a second ultrasonic wave, the second ultrasonic wave synchronized with the first ultrasonic wave in order to select the same channel and detect a presence or absence of an object.
Regarding claim 16, Kawahara teaches wherein an ultrasonic transceiver comprises the ultrasonic transmitter and the ultrasonic receiver. (Paragraphs 54-57, Figs.1-2)
Regarding claim 17, Kawahara teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine a distance to an object and a speed of the object based on the electrical signal. (Paragraphs 68-69, Figs.1-2)
Claim(s) 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawahara in view of Shang, Yamane and Kruse (US 20220155440 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kawahara teaches a second ultrasonic transmitter configured to produce a second ultrasonic wave. (Paragraphs 54-55, 48-49, 65, Figs.1-2)
Kawahara does not explicitly teach a switch coupled to the transmit channel, the switch alternately coupling the transmit channel to the first ultrasonic transmitter or the second ultrasonic transmitter, wherein the first ultrasonic wave and the second ultrasonic wave are time multiplexed.
Yamane teaches a switch coupled to the transmit channel, the switch alternately coupling the transmit channel to the first ultrasonic transmitter or the second ultrasonic transmitter. (Page.2, line 39-Page.3, line 16, Claim 1, Fig.1)
Kruse teaches wherein the first ultrasonic wave and the second ultrasonic wave are time multiplexed. (Paragraphs 73, 83-84, Fig.1E)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kawahara to incorporate a switch coupled to the transmit channel, the switch alternately coupling the transmit channel to the first ultrasonic transmitter or the second ultrasonic transmitter as taught by Yamane in order to detect a presence or absence of an object and further modify Kawahara to incorporate wherein the first ultrasonic wave and the second ultrasonic wave are time multiplexed as taught by Kruse in order to detect and localize the object with respect to the imaging aperture based on matching a known or parametrically-defined model of the object to the received echoes.
Regarding claim 13, Kawahara does not explicitly teach wherein the second frequency is at least ten times the first frequency.
Kruse teaches wherein the second frequency is at least bigger than the first frequency. (Paragraphs 217-219) Kawahara in view of Yamane and Kruse discloses the claimed invention except for the second frequency is at least ten times the first frequency. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to incorporate the second frequency is at least ten times the first frequency, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kawahara to incorporate wherein the second frequency is at least ten times the first frequency in order to detect and localize the object with respect to the imaging aperture based on matching a known or parametrically-defined model of the object to the received echoes.
Regarding claim 14, Kawahara does not explicitly teach wherein the transmit channel further comprises: a power amplifier circuit coupled to the processing component, the power amplifier configured to generate an amplified signal based on a constructed waveform received from the processing component; and a filter coupled to the power amplifier, the filter configured to reduce noise in the amplified signal to generate a filtered signal.
Yamane teaches wherein the transmit channel further comprises: a power amplifier circuit coupled to the processing component; the power amplifier configured to generate an amplified signal based on a constructed waveform received from the processing component. (Page.2, line 36-Page.3, line 8, Fig.1)
Kruse teaches a filter coupled to the power amplifier; the filter configured to reduce noise in the amplified signal to generate a filtered signal. (Paragraphs 83-84, 91, Fig.1E)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kawahara to incorporate wherein the transmit channel further comprises: a power amplifier circuit coupled to the processing component; the power amplifier configured to generate an amplified signal based on a constructed waveform received from the processing component as taught by Yamane in order to detect a presence or absence of an object and further modify Kawahara to incorporate a filter coupled to the power amplifier, the filter configured to reduce noise in the amplified signal to generate a filtered signal as taught by Kruse in order to improve the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of echoes and detect and localize the object with respect to the imaging aperture based on matching a known or parametrically-defined model of the object to the received echoes.
Regarding claim 15, Kawahara does not explicitly teach wherein the transmit channel further comprises a transformer coupled to the filter, the transmit channel configured to increase a voltage amplitude of the filtered signal.
Kruse teaches wherein the transmit channel further comprises a transformer coupled to the filter, the transmit channel configured to increase a voltage amplitude of the filtered signal. (Paragraphs 83-84, 91, Fig.1E)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kawahara to incorporate wherein the transmit channel further comprises a transformer coupled to the filter, the transmit channel configured to increase a voltage amplitude of the filtered signal as taught by Kruse in order to detect and localize the object with respect to the imaging aperture based on matching a known or parametrically-defined model of the object to the received echoes.
Claim(s) 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawahara in view of Shang and Kruse.
Regarding claim 19, Kawahara teaches determining the distance to the object based on an electrical signal representing the second reflection (Paragraphs 54-59, 68-69, Figs.1-2) but does not explicitly teach detecting interference in the first reflection.
Kruse teaches detecting interference in the first reflection. (Paragraphs 90, 147)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kawahara to incorporate detecting interference in the first reflection as taught by Kruse in order to detect and localize the object with respect to the imaging aperture based on matching a known or parametrically-defined model of the object to the received echoes.
Regarding claim 20, Kawahara teaches transmitting a third ultrasonic wave having a frequency as the first ultrasonic wave; receiving a third reflection of the third ultrasonic wave; converting the third reflection into an additional electrical signal having additional different frequency contents; and determining the distance to the object further based on the additional frequency contents of the additional electrical signal. (Paragraphs 54-59, 65, 69, Figs.1-2)
Kawahara does not explicitly teach transmitting a third ultrasonic wave having a same frequency as the first ultrasonic wave, the third ultrasonic wave and the first ultrasonic wave transmitted at different times.
Kruse teaches transmitting a third ultrasonic wave having a same frequency as the first ultrasonic wave, the third ultrasonic wave and the first ultrasonic wave transmitted at different times. (Paragraphs 217-219)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kawahara to incorporate transmitting a third ultrasonic wave having a same frequency as the first ultrasonic wave, the third ultrasonic wave and the first ultrasonic wave transmitted at different times as taught by Kruse in order to detect and localize the object with respect to the imaging aperture based on matching a known or parametrically-defined model of the object to the received echoes.
Conclusion
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645