DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The end of claim 1 includes a parenthesis that should not be part of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo (US 7,866,995) in view of Chen et al. (US 6,027,350).
Regarding claim 1, Kudo discloses a memory socket comprising: a frame (31) having a base portion and a side portion; and a push-eject locking mechanism (4, 5) in physical communication with the base portion and with the side portion, the push-eject locking mechanism to transition between an unlocked position (Fig. 12) and a locked position (Fig. 14), the push-eject locking mechanism including: an eject bar component (5), wherein a weight of the eject bar component biases the push-eject locking mechanism towards the unlocked position (Fig. 12); and a lever component (4) in physical communication with the eject bar component, wherein based on a force exerted on the lever component the lever component pivots in a first direction and transitions the push-eject locking mechanism from the unlocked position to the locked position (intended use, Fig 14).
Chen teaches an ejector bar (31) including a slot (31a), and a clip (32c) component including a straight portion (side surface) that is inserted within the slot of the eject bar component, the clip component to exert a first force to hold the push-eject locking mechanism in the locked position (intended use, holds the mechanism from falling out of the locked position Fig. 3a). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a clip, as taught by Chen, in order to secure and limit the ejector bar.
Regarding claim 3, Kudo discloses that based on a second force exerted (on 5) on the eject bar component being greater than the first force, the push-eject locking mechanism to transition from the locked position to the unlocked position (intended use).
Regarding claim 4, Kudo discloses the second force transferred from the eject bar component to the lever component, and based on the second force, the lever component to pivot in a second direction (intended use).
Regarding claim 6, Kudo discloses the base portion including a slide notch (not shown) in physical communication with a tab (50) of the lever component, the tab to move within the slide notch as the lever component pivots.
Regarding claim 7, Kudo discloses the lever component located within the base portion of the frame (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 8, Kudo discloses [the] side portion extending perpendicular from an edge of the base portion (right direction in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 9, Kudo discloses an information handling system comprising: a memory card (1); and a memory socket (2) including: a frame (31) having a base portion and a side portion; and a push-eject locking mechanism (4, 5) in physical communication with the base portion and with the side portion, the push-eject locking mechanism to transition between an unlocked position (Fig. 12) and a locked position (Fig. 14), the push-eject locking mechanism including: an eject bar component (5), wherein a weight of the eject bar component biases the push-eject locking mechanism towards the unlocked position; and a lever component (4) in physical communication with the eject bar component, based on a force being exerted on the lever component by the memory card, the lever component to pivot in a first direction and to transition the push-eject locking mechanism from the unlocked position to the locked position.
Chen teaches an ejector bar (31) including a slot (31a), and a clip (32c) component including a straight portion (side surface) that is inserted within the slot of the eject bar component, the clip component to exert a first force to hold the push-eject locking mechanism in the locked position (intended use, holds the mechanism from falling out of the locked position Fig. 3a). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a clip, as taught by Chen, in order to secure and limit the ejector bar.
Regarding claim 11, Kudo discloses that based on a second force (on 5) exerted on the eject bar component being greater than the first force, the push-eject locking mechanism to transition from the locked position to the unlocked position.
Regarding claim 12, Kudo discloses the second force transferred from the eject bar component to the lever component, and based on the second force, the lever component to pivot in a second direction (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 14, Kudo discloses the memory card including a notch (1a), wherein a curve portion (6b) of the clip component snap fits within the notch when the push-eject locking mechanism is in the locked position.
Regarding claim 15, Kudo discloses the base portion including a slide notch (not shown) in physical communication with a tab (50) of the lever component, the tab to move within the slide notch as the lever component pivots.
Regarding claim 16, Kudo discloses the lever component located within the base portion of the frame (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 17, Kudo discloses [the] side portion extend perpendicular from an edge of the base portion.
Regarding claim 18, Kudo discloses an information handling system comprising: a memory card (1) including a notch (1a); and a memory socket (2) including: a frame (31) having a base portion and a side portion; and a push-eject locking mechanism (4, 5) in physical communication with the base portion and with the side portion, the push-eject locking mechanism to transition between an unlocked position (Fig. 12) and a locked position (Fig. 14), the push-eject locking mechanism having: an eject bar component (5) including a channel (60), wherein a weight of the eject bar component biases the push-eject locking mechanism towards the unlocked position (Fig. 12), wherein the memory card slides within the channel as the memory card is inserted into the memory socket; and a lever component (4) in physical communication with the eject bar component, wherein the lever component pivots in a first direction and transitions the push-eject locking mechanism from the unlocked position to the locked position based on a force exerted on the lever component by the memory card (intended use)
Chen teaches an ejector bar (31) including a slot (31a), and a clip (32c) component including a straight portion (side surface) that is inserted within the slot of the eject bar component, the clip component to exert a first force to hold the push-eject locking mechanism in the locked position (intended use, holds the mechanism from falling out of the locked position Fig. 3a). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a clip, as taught by Chen, in order to secure and limit the ejector bar.
Regarding claim 20, Kudo discloses that based on a second force (on 5) exerted on the eject bar component being greater than the first force, the push-eject locking mechanism to transition from the locked position to the unlocked position.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833