DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement of the Response to the Election of Species Requirement
2. Applicants’ election with traverse of the species, betaine salt ionic liquid, within the response of 04 February 2023 is acknowledged. It is noted that applicants failed to identify the claims encompassing the elected species, as required by the Election of Species Requirement (see page 3, first full paragraph of the Office communication of 23 December 2025); however, in view of applicants’ statements within pages 6 and 7 of the response, which is considered to constitute an admission that the species are not patentably distinct, the Election of Species Requirement has been withdrawn. Additionally, applicants’ attention is directed to the paragraph bridging pages 3 and 4 of the Election of Species Requirement, wherein Office examination practice in view of such an admission is set forth.
Indefiniteness Rejection
4. Claims 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Firstly, with respect to claim 9, it is unclear in the context of the method, what constitutes “each raw material”.
Secondly, with respect to claim 10, applicants have failed to specify the type and basis of the claimed percent value range. It is unclear if the percent range is a weight percent range, and it is unclear if the percent range is based on the combination of the oil and extractant or the extractant or some other entity.
Thirdly, with respect to claim 10, the language, “the oil content”, “the upper liquid overflow”, “the mixture”, and “the extract and white oil”, lacks antecedent basis.
Lastly, with respect to claim 6, it is questioned if “1-ethyl-3-imidazolium dicyanamide”, as claimed, is correct or if it contains an omission.
Prior Art Rejection
6. Claims 1, 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 115305602 A.
CN 115305602 A discloses ionic liquid or more than one ionic liquid, wherein the disclosed ionic liquids meet those claimed. See abstract, paragraph bridging pages 3 and 4 of the translation, and third paragraph of page 6 of the translation.
7. Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 115305602 A in view of applicants’ aforementioned admission (see paragraph 2, above).
CN 115305602 A discloses ionic liquid or more than one ionic liquid, wherein ionic liquids are disclosed that correspond to those claimed. See abstract, paragraph bridging pages 3 and 4 of the translation, and third paragraph of page 6 of the translation. However, the claims further specify species not disclosed by the reference, such as betaine salt ionic liquid. Still, in view of applicants’ aforementioned admission, the position is taken that the disclosed species are adequate to render the patentably indistinct species prima facie obvious.
8. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 115305602 A in view of applicants’ aforementioned admission (see paragraph 2, above) and Larochelle et al. (US 2025/0179613 A1).
CN 115305602 A discloses ionic liquid or more than one ionic liquid, wherein ionic liquids are disclosed that correspond to those claimed. See abstract, paragraph bridging pages 3 and 4 of the translation, and third paragraph of page 6 of the translation. However, the claims further specify species not disclosed by the reference, such as betaine salt ionic liquid, as well as amounts of the ionic liquids. Still, in view of applicants’ aforementioned admission, the position is taken that the disclosed species are adequate to render the patentably indistinct species prima facie obvious. Furthermore, considering that the species are not patentably distinct, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to combine then in virtually any amount, with the reasonable expectation that viable compositions would result.
9. Though the primary reference is silent regarding the claimed alcohol-ether mixture, the use of such mixtures as modifiers for ionic liquid containing compositions was known at the time of invention, as evidenced by the teachings within paragraphs [0174], [0175], and [0228] of Larochelle et al. Furthermore, quantities of the modifiers are disclosed that fall within the claimed range of claim 3. Therefore, since it has been held that it prima facie obvious to use a known component for its known function, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to incorporate the modifiers of Larochelle et al in the disclosed amounts into the ionic liquid compositions of the primary reference, so as to arrive at the instant invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed complex of claim 8.
11. Claims 9 and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to disclose or render obvious the specific process limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
/RABON A SERGENT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765