DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on May 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 12 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 18, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 29, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okazaki (US Pub. No. 2021/0384496).
Regarding claim 1, Okazaki teaches an active material composite particle 10, comprising a center portion 13 and a surface layer portion 14, wherein the center portion has a silicate phase 11 which preferably comprises Li2SiO3 or Li2Si2O5 (taken to be the claimed solid electrolyte), and the center portion comprises silicon particles 12, the surface layer comprises a fluorine resin, where the fluorine resin can be PVdF (taken to be a polymer which has carrier ion-conductivity) (paragraphs [0036]-[0043]), with a specific embodiment using PVdF (paragraph [0085]), and there is no polymer in the center portion, therefore a ratio of polymer in the surface layer portion is higher than a ratio of polymer in the center portion.
Regarding claim 5, the configuration set forth above does not have Si particles in the surface layer portion, therefore the ratio of Si particles in the center portion is higher than a ratio of Si particles in the surface layer portion.
Regarding claim 6, the configuration set forth above does not have solid electrolyte in the surface layer portion, therefore the ratio of solid electrolyte in the center portion is higher than a ratio of solid electrolyte in the surface layer portion.
Regarding claim 7, Okazaki teaches a negative electrode comprising the active material composite particle above (paragraphs [0032]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Okazaki teaches a secondary battery comprising a positive electrode, an electrolyte layer, and a negative electrode, where the negative electrode comprises the active material composite particle set forth above (paragraph [0097]).
Regarding claim 11, Okazaki teaches that the electrolyte layer can be a solid electrolyte (paragraph [0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu (CN114976222; machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claims 2-3, Okazaki does not specifically disclose that the solid electrolyte comprises a sulfide solid electrolyte. In a similar solid electrolyte for a negative electrode active material, Xu teaches using sulfide solid electrolyte for the core of a negative electrode layer (machine translation at pages 2-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a sulfide solid electrolyte as the core of the negative electrode active material as taught by Xu in the active material of Okazaki in order to have very high energy density and high safety performance (see Xu machine translation at page 2). Regarding claim 2, a sulfide solid electrolyte has carrier ion conductivity higher than that of a fluorine resin.
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Xu teaches using an oxide solid electrolyte in the shell layer (machine translation at page 2).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin (US Pub. No. 2021/0013490).
Regarding claim 4, Okazaki does not specifically disclose that the surface layer portion comprises a salt comprising a carrier ion. Lin teaches that a polymer shell layer for an anode active material, where the polymer can be PVdF, can particularly desirably comprise a lithium salt, such as LiTFSI (the same salt used in Applicant’s embodiments) (paragraphs [0027]-[0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use LiTFSI in the shell layer as taught by Lin in the active material composite particle of Okazaki as a particularly desirable ingredient in a shell layer (see Lin at paragraph [0039]).
Conclusion
/P.N.S/ Examiner, Art Unit 1749 June 23, 2026
/KATELYN W SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749