DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDSs) submitted on 08/29/2023 and 03/11/2025 were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cartes et al. (US 2017/0351578 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Cartes”).
Regarding claim 1, Cartes discloses a method for updating an electronic circuit breaker with new firmware (para. [0030]: redundant subsystem 222 connected with circuit breakers; para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update), the method comprising:
receiving, by a radio, (para. [0019]: the maintenance activity instruction may be received by the controller 120 via a wired or wireless network connection) a firmware update for the electronic circuit breaker (para. [0030]: redundant subsystem 222 connected with circuit breakers; para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update);
disengaging, by a multiplexor, inputs to and outputs (para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of “each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially” reads on “disengaging by a multiplexor” because multiplexer is well-known as data selectors, acting like a controlled switch to select which input goes to the output, efficiently sharing one communication line or resource for cost savings and increased capacity) from a first microcontroller (Fig. 4, step 406: select first subsystem) while maintaining inputs to and outputs from a second microcontroller (para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of “act on each of the redundant subsystems separately” reads on “while maintaining inputs to and outputs from a second microcontroller”),
wherein the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) and second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems) are both configured to monitor (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems) the electronic circuit breaker (para. [0030]: redundant subsystem 222 connected with circuit breakers) and run a safety algorithm (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystem; para. [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction) based on the respective inputs to and outputs from the multiplexor (para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of “each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially” reads on “disengaging by a multiplexor” because multiplexer is well-known as data selectors, acting like a controlled switch to select which input goes to the output, efficiently sharing one communication line or resource for cost savings and increased capacity);
updating the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) with the firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update), wherein the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems) is configured to continue to monitor para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems) the electronic circuit breaker (para. [0030]: redundant subsystem 222 connected with circuit breakers) and run the safety algorithm (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystem; para. [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction) while the first microcontroller is updated (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems; para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of para. [0039] and “act on each of the redundant subsystems separately” in para. [0043] reads on “the first microcontroller is updated); and
restarting (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems include a firmware update, changing operational settings, changing firmware settings, maintenance reboots or resets) the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems), wherein after the restarting (para. [0039]: reboots), the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) is configured to monitor (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems) the electronic circuit breaker (para. [0030]: redundant subsystem 222 connected with circuit breakers) and run the safety algorithm (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystem; para. [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction) using the new firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update).
Regarding claim 2, Cartes discloses all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Cartes discloses further comprising:
disengaging, by the multiplexor, the inputs to and the outputs (para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of “each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially” reads on “disengaging by a multiplexor” because multiplexer is well-known as data selectors, acting like a controlled switch to select which input goes to the output, efficiently sharing one communication line or resource for cost savings and increased capacity) from the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems) while maintaining the inputs to and the outputs from the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems; para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of para. [0039] and “act on each of the redundant subsystems separately” in para. [0043] reads on “while maintaining the inputs to and the outputs from the first microcontroller”);
updating (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update) the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems),
wherein the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including in computing systems) is configured to continue to monitor (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems) the electronic circuit breaker (para. [0030]: redundant subsystem 222 connected with circuit breakers) and run the safety algorithm (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystem; para. [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction) while the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems) is updated (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems; para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of para. [0039] and “act on each of the redundant subsystems separately” in para. [0043] reads on “the second microcontroller is updated”); and
restarting (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems include a firmware update, changing operational settings, changing firmware settings, maintenance reboots or resets) the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems), wherein after the restarting (para. [0039]: reboots) of the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems), the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: see above) is configured to monitor (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems) the electronic circuit breaker (para. [0030]: redundant subsystem 222 connected with circuit breakers) and run the safety algorithm (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystem; para. [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction) using the new firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update).
Regarding claim 3, Cartes discloses all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Cartes discloses that receiving the firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update) comprises receiving, by the radio (para. [0019]: the maintenance activity instruction may be received by the controller 120 via a wired or wireless network connection) a firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update), individual packets (para. [0017]: I2C (inter-integrated circuit) bus, note that I2C protocol using packet) comprising the firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update) from a remote device (para. [0019]: wireless), and
wherein the method further comprises receiving, by the radio (para. [0019]: wireless network connection) a stop packet or an end packet that signifies a completion of a receipt (para. [0017]: I2C (inter-integrated circuit) bus, note that I2C protocol includes ACK/ NACK corresponding to a stop packet or an end packet that signifies a completion of a receipt) of the firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update).
Regarding claim 4, Cartes discloses all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Cartes discloses further comprising instructing, by the radio (para. [0019]: the maintenance activity instruction may be received by the controller 120 via a wired or wireless network connection), the multiplexor to disengage the inputs to and the outputs (para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of “each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially” reads on “disengaging by a multiplexor” because multiplexer is well-known as data selectors, acting like a controlled switch to select which input goes to the output, efficiently sharing one communication line or resource for cost savings and increased capacity) from the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems).
Regarding claim 5, Cartes discloses all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Cartes discloses further comprising storing the firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update; para. [0040]: executable instructions stored on a machine readable medium) in each of the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) and the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems) after the receiving by the radio (para. [0019]: the maintenance activity instruction may be received by the controller 120 via a wired or wireless network connection) and prior to updating the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update, note that “updating the first microcontroller” is performed after receiving maintenance activity instruction through wireless instruction by the controller”).
Regarding claim 6, Cartes discloses all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Cartes discloses further comprising storing the firmware update in a nonvolatile flash memory external (para. [0031]: the maintenance activity instruction may be an instruction to update the firmware in the non-volatile memory 226-1 and 226-2; para. [0044]: the controller (230) may apply a firmware update by flashing new firmware to a non-volatile memory (e.g., 226-1) of the selected power supply subsystem (224-1)) to the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) and the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems).
Regarding claim 7, Cartes discloses all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Cartes discloses further comprising: receiving an acknowledgement from a trip detection or power cycle detection module (para. [0017: I2C (inter-integrated circuit) bus, note that I2C includes ACK/ NACK) prior to the multiplexor disengaging the inputs to and the outputs (para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of “each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially” reads on “disengaging by a multiplexor” because multiplexer is well-known as data selectors, acting like a controlled switch to select which input goes to the output, efficiently sharing one communication line or resource for cost savings and increased capacity) from the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems).
Regarding claim 8, Cartes discloses all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Cartes discloses that the radio is configured to receive the firmware update wirelessly (para. [0019]: the maintenance activity instruction may be received by the controller 120 via a wired or wireless network connection of the system 100; para. [0039]: Example types of the redundant systems include redundant power supplies, redundant networking subsystems, redundant thermal management subsystems, and the like. Example maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems include a firmware update).
Regarding claim 9, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, Cartes discloses all the limitation of claim 9, in addition, Cartes discloses that the backup microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) functions as a pass though circuit for signals from the electronic circuit breaker (para. [0030]: redundant subsystem 222 connected with circuit breakers) while the updatable microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems) is active, wherein when the updatable microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems; para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update) is deactivated, the backup microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems; para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update) performs the safety algorithm (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystem; para. [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction).
Regarding claim 11, Cartes discloses all the limitation of claim 9, in addition, Cartes discloses that the backup microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) is not updated (para. [0019], [0037], [0039], [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction, note that the above feature of “maintenance activities” in para. [0019], [0037], [0039], [0041] are performed when backup microcontroller is not updated).
Regarding claim 12, it is dependent on claim 9 and has similar limitations as of claim 7 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 13, it is dependent on claim 9 and has similar limitations as of claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 14, it is an apparatus type claim having similar limitations as of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, Cartes discloses all the limitation of claim 14, in addition, Cartes discloses that further comprising: a multiplexor (para. [0043]: see claim 1 above) configured to provide inputs to and receive outputs (para. [0019]: the maintenance activity instruction may be received by the controller 120 via a wired or wireless network connection) from the two or more microcontrollers (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems).
Regarding claim 16, Cartes discloses all the limitation of claim 15, in addition, Cartes discloses that after receiving the new firmware data, the radio instructs (para. [0019]: the maintenance activity instruction may be received by the controller 120 via a wired or wireless network connection of the system 100; para. [0039]: Example types of the redundant systems include redundant power supplies, redundant networking subsystems, redundant thermal management subsystems, and the like. Example maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems include a firmware update) the multiplexor (para. [0043]: see claim 1 above) to disengage the inputs and outputs (para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of “each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially” reads on “disengaging by a multiplexor” because multiplexer is well-known as data selectors, acting like a controlled switch to select which input goes to the output, efficiently sharing one communication line or resource for cost savings and increased capacity) of the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems).
Regarding claim 17, Cartes discloses all the limitation of claim 14, in addition, Cartes discloses that subsequent to the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems) being restarted or rebooted after being updated (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems include a firmware update, changing operational settings, changing firmware settings, maintenance reboots or resets), the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems) is configured to run the algorithm (para. [0019], [0037], [0039], [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction) while the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) is deactivated and updated with the new firmware data (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems include a firmware update, note that the above feature of “updating” reads on “do not maintenance activity (i.e. deactivated)”).
Regarding claim 18, Cartes discloses all the limitation of claim 14, in addition, Cartes discloses that the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) is not updatable (para. [0019], [0037], [0039], [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction, note that the above feature of “maintenance activities” in para. [0019], [0037], [0039], [0041] are performed when first microcontroller is not updated),
wherein the first microcontroller functions (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) as a backup during a deactivation (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems include a firmware update, note that the above feature of “updating” reads on “do not maintenance activity (i.e. deactivated)”) of the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems).
Regarding claim 19, Cartes discloses all the limitation of claim 18, in addition, Cartes discloses that the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) functions as a pass though circuit for signals from the electronic circuit breaker (para. [0030]: redundant subsystem 222 connected with circuit breakers) while the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems) is active (para. [0019], [0037], [0039], [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction; para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of “maintenance activities” in para. [0019], [0037], [0039], [0041] is performed when first microcontroller is active and the above feature of “act on each of the redundant subsystems separately” in para. [0043] reads on “while the second microcontroller is active”),
wherein when the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems) is deactivated (para. [0039]: firmware update, note that microcontroller is a deactivation state when the microcontroller is updated), the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) performs the algorithm (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystem; para. [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction).
Regarding claim 20, it is a dependent on claim 14 and has similar limitations as of claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claim 6 above.
Conclusion
/SANGKYUNG LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858