DETAILED ACTION
Status of the claims
The argument received on May 5, 2026 has been acknowledged and entered. Claims 10 and 19 are amended. Thus, claims 1-20 are currently pending. This action is a second non-final due to the new ground of rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on February 2, 2026 with respect to claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable overCartes et al. (US 2017/0351578 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Cartes”) in view of Le et al. (US 5,819,087 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Le”) and Freeman et al. (US 2023/0254697 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Freeman”).
Regarding claim 1, Cartes teaches a method for updating an electronic circuit breaker with new firmware (para. [0030]: redundant subsystem 222 connected with circuit breakers; para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update), the method comprising:
Receiving a firmware update for the electronic circuit breaker (para. [0030]: redundant subsystem 222 connected with circuit breakers; para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update);
while maintaining inputs to and outputs from a second microcontroller (para. [0016]: The system 100 also includes a controller 120. The controller 120 may be one or many of a processing resource, such as a microcontroller, a microprocessor, central processing unit (CPU) core; para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of “act on each of the redundant subsystems separately” reads on “while maintaining inputs to and outputs from a second microcontroller”),
updating the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems; para. [0016]: The system 100 also includes a controller 120. The controller 120 may be one or many of a processing resource, such as a microcontroller, a microprocessor, central processing unit (CPU) core) with the firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update), wherein the second microcontroller (para. [0016]: The system 100 also includes a controller 120. The controller 120 may be one or many of a processing resource, such as a microcontroller, a microprocessor, central processing unit (CPU) core; para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems) is configured to continue while the first microcontroller is updated (para. [0016]: The system 100 also includes a controller 120. The controller 120 may be one or many of a processing resource, such as a microcontroller, a microprocessor, central processing unit (CPU) core; para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems; para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of para. [0039] and “act on each of the redundant subsystems separately” in para. [0043] reads on “the first microcontroller is updated); and
restarting (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems include a firmware update, changing operational settings, changing firmware settings, maintenance reboots or resets) the first microcontroller (para. [0016]: The system 100 also includes a controller 120. The controller 120 may be one or many of a processing resource, such as a microcontroller, a microprocessor, central processing unit (CPU) core; para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems), wherein after the restarting (para. [0039]: reboots), the first microcontroller (para. [0016]: The system 100 also includes a controller 120. The controller 120 may be one or many of a processing resource, such as a microcontroller, a microprocessor, central processing unit (CPU) core; para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) is configured to use the new firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update).
Cartes does not specifically teach disengaging, by a multiplexor, inputs to and outputs from a first microcontroller.
However, Le teaches disengaging, by a multiplexor, inputs to and outputs from a first microcontroller (Fig. 2 and col. 7, line 48-54: The microcontroller 174 is also connected to the select input of a two-to-one multiplexer 178. The B input of the multiplexor 178 is connected the input/output lines of the microcontroller 174. The A input of the multiplexor 178 is connected to the interface 170 for transferring data from the parallel port directly to the processor 100 via the system controller 112) and
the respective inputs to and outputs from the multiplexor (Fig. 2 and col. 7, line 48-54: see above).
Cartes and Le are both considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the similar filed of electrical system including microprocessor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the disengaging, by a multiplexor, inputs to and outputs from the first microcontroller such as is described in Le into Cartes, in order to provide coordination between the microprocessor (e.g. CPU 100) and a microprocessor (e.g. microcontroller 174) (Le, para. [0005]).
Cates and Le do not specifically teaches a radio and the first microcontroller and second microcontroller are both configured to monitor the electronic circuit breaker and run a safety algorithm.
However, Freeman teaches radio (Fig. 2, 226) and the first microcontroller and second microcontroller (Fig. 2 and para. [0049]: the processor 212 could be any of a variety of processors; para. [0055]: the processor 222 can be any of a variety of processors) are both configured to monitor the electronic circuit breaker and run a safety algorithm (para. [0076]: at circle 5.1 the breaker 200 may record occurrence of a fault event on load line 204. The recorded occurrence of the fault can include an indication of a signature associated with the detected fault; para. [0089]: Said differently, the fault interrupter instructions 210-1 can be configured to control fault condition detection algorithms and/or fault interruption characteristics of the breakers 200).
Cartes and Freeman are both considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the similar filed of circuit breaker. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the radio and the first microcontroller and second microcontroller such as are described in Freeman into Cartes, in order to remotely communicate with at least one of the communication enabled circuit breakers and/or circuit breaker panels and allow the communication enabled circuit breakers to be controlled remote (Freeman, para. [0020]).
Regarding claim 2, Cartes in view of Le and Freeman teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Cartes teaches further comprising:
while maintaining the inputs to and the outputs from the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems; para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of para. [0039] and “act on each of the redundant subsystems separately” in para. [0043] reads on “while maintaining the inputs to and the outputs from the first microcontroller”);
updating (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update) the second microcontroller (para. [0016]: The system 100 also includes a controller 120. The controller 120 may be one or many of a processing resource, such as a microcontroller, a microprocessor, central processing unit (CPU) core; para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems),
wherein the first microcontroller (para. [0016]: The system 100 also includes a controller 120. The controller 120 may be one or many of a processing resource, such as a microcontroller, a microprocessor, central processing unit (CPU) core; para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including in computing systems) is configured to continue while the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems) is updated (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems; para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of para. [0039] and “act on each of the redundant subsystems separately” in para. [0043] reads on “the second microcontroller is updated”); and
restarting (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems include a firmware update, changing operational settings, changing firmware settings, maintenance reboots or resets) the second microcontroller (para. [0016]: The system 100 also includes a controller 120. The controller 120 may be one or many of a processing resource, such as a microcontroller, a microprocessor, central processing unit (CPU) core; para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems), wherein after the restarting (para. [0039]: reboots) of the second microcontroller (para. [0016]: see above; para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems), the second microcontroller (para. [0016]: see above; para. [0039]: see above) is configured to use the new firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update).
Cartes does not specifically teach disengaging, by a multiplexor, inputs to and outputs from a first microcontroller.
However, Le teaches disengaging, by a multiplexor, inputs to and outputs from a first microcontroller (Fig. 2 and col. 7, line 48-54: The microcontroller 174 is also connected to the select input of a two-to-one multiplexer 178. The B input of the multiplexor 178 is connected the input/output lines of the microcontroller 174. The A input of the multiplexor 178 is connected to the interface 170 for transferring data from the parallel port directly to the processor 100 via the system controller 112) and
the respective inputs to and outputs from the multiplexor (Fig. 2 and col. 7, line 48-54: see above).
Cartes and Le are both considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the similar filed of electrical system including microprocessor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the disengaging, by a multiplexor, inputs to and outputs from the first microcontroller such as is described in Le into Cartes, in order to provide coordination between the microprocessor (e.g. CPU 100) and a microprocessor (e.g. microcontroller 174) (Le, para. [0005]).
Cates and Le do not specifically teaches the first microcontroller is configured to monitor the electronic circuit breaker and run a safety algorithm.
However, Freeman teaches the first microcontroller (Fig. 2 and para. [0049]: the processor 212 could be any of a variety of processors; para. [0055]: he processor 222 can be any of a variety of processors) is configured to monitor the electronic circuit breaker and run a safety algorithm (para. [0076]: at circle 5.1 the breaker 200 may record occurrence of a fault event on load line 204. The recorded occurrence of the fault can include an indication of a signature associated with the detected fault; para. [0089]: Said differently, the fault interrupter instructions 210-1 can be configured to control fault condition detection algorithms and/or fault interruption characteristics of the breakers 200).
Cartes and Freeman are both considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the similar filed of circuit breaker. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first microcontroller such as is described in Freeman into Cartes, in order to remotely communicate with at least one of the communication enabled circuit breakers and/or circuit breaker panels and allow the communication enabled circuit breakers to be controlled remote (Freeman, para. [0020]).
Regarding claim 3, Cartes in view of Le and Freeman teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Cartes teaches that receiving the firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update) comprises receiving a firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update), individual packets (para. [0017]: I2C (inter-integrated circuit) bus, note that I2C protocol using packet) comprising the firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update) from a remote device (para. [0019]: wireless), and
wherein the method further comprises receiving a stop packet or an end packet that signifies a completion of a receipt (para. [0017]: I2C (inter-integrated circuit) bus, note that I2C protocol includes ACK/ NACK corresponding to a stop packet or an end packet that signifies a completion of a receipt) of the firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update).
Cates and Le do not specifically teaches a radio.
However, Freeman teaches radio (Fig. 2, 226)
Cartes and Freeman are both considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the similar filed of circuit breaker. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the radio such as is described in Freeman into Cartes, in order to remotely communicate with at least one of the communication enabled circuit breakers and/or circuit breaker panels and allow the communication enabled circuit breakers to be controlled remote (Freeman, para. [0020]).
Regarding claim 4, Cartes in view of Le and Freeman teaches all the limitation of claim 1in addition, Cartes teaches further comprising instructing (para. [0019]: the maintenance activity instruction may be received by the controller 120 via a wired or wireless network connection).
Cartes does not specifically teaches a radio and the multiplexor to disengage the inputs to and the outputs from the first microcontroller.
However, Le teaches the multiplexor to disengage inputs to and outputs from a first microcontroller (Fig. 2 and col. 7, line 48-54: The microcontroller 174 is also connected to the select input of a two-to-one multiplexer 178. The B input of the multiplexor 178 is connected the input/output lines of the microcontroller 174. The A input of the multiplexor 178 is connected to the interface 170 for transferring data from the parallel port directly to the processor 100 via the system controller 112).
Cartes and Le are both considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the similar filed of electrical system including microprocessor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the multiplexor to disengage inputs to and outputs from a first microcontroller such as is described in Le into Cartes, in order to provide coordination between the microprocessor (e.g. CPU 100) and a microprocessor (e.g. microcontroller 174) (Le, para. [0005]).
Cates and Le do not specifically teaches a radio.
However, Freeman teaches radio (Fig. 2, 226).
Cartes and Freeman are both considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the similar filed of circuit breaker. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the radio such as is described in Freeman into Cartes, in order to remotely communicate with at least one of the communication enabled circuit breakers and/or circuit breaker panels and allow the communication enabled circuit breakers to be controlled remote (Freeman, para. [0020]).
Regarding claim 5, Cartes in view of Le and Freeman teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Cartes teaches further comprising storing the firmware update (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update; para. [0040]: executable instructions stored on a machine readable medium) in each of the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) and the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems) after the receiving para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update, note that “updating the first microcontroller” is performed after receiving maintenance activity instruction through wireless instruction by the controller”).
Cates and Le do not specifically teaches a radio.
However, Freeman teaches radio (Fig. 2, 226).
Cartes and Freeman are both considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the similar filed of circuit breaker. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the radio such as is described in Freeman into Cartes, in order to remotely communicate with at least one of the communication enabled circuit breakers and/or circuit breaker panels and allow the communication enabled circuit breakers to be controlled remote (Freeman, para. [0020]).
Regarding claim 6, Cartes in view of Le and Freeman teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Cartes teaches further comprising storing the firmware update in a nonvolatile flash memory external (para. [0031]: the maintenance activity instruction may be an instruction to update the firmware in the non-volatile memory 226-1 and 226-2; para. [0044]: the controller (230) may apply a firmware update by flashing new firmware to a non-volatile memory (e.g., 226-1) of the selected power supply subsystem (224-1)) to the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) and the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems).
Regarding claim 7, Cartes in view of Le and Freeman teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Cartes teaches further comprising: receiving an acknowledgement from a trip detection or power cycle detection module (para. [0017: I2C (inter-integrated circuit) bus, note that I2C includes ACK/ NACK) prior to the multiplexor disengaging the inputs to and the outputs (para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of “each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially” reads on “disengaging by a multiplexor” because multiplexer is well-known as data selectors, acting like a controlled switch to select which input goes to the output, efficiently sharing one communication line or resource for cost savings and increased capacity) from the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems).
Regarding claim 8, Cartes in view of Le and Freeman teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Cartes teaches receiving the firmware update wirelessly (para. [0019]: the maintenance activity instruction may be received by the controller 120 via a wired or wireless network connection of the system 100; para. [0039]: Example types of the redundant systems include redundant power supplies, redundant networking subsystems, redundant thermal management subsystems, and the like. Example maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems include a firmware update).
Cates and Le do not specifically teaches a radio.
However, Freeman teaches radio (Fig. 2, 226).
Cartes and Freeman are both considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the similar filed of circuit breaker. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the radio such as is described in Freeman into Cartes, in order to remotely communicate with at least one of the communication enabled circuit breakers and/or circuit breaker panels and allow the communication enabled circuit breakers to be controlled remote (Freeman, para. [0020]).
Regarding claim 9, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, Cartes in view of Le and Freeman teaches all the limitation of claim 9, in addition, Cartes teaches that the backup microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) functions as a pass though circuit for signals from the electronic circuit breaker (para. [0030]: redundant subsystem 222 connected with circuit breakers) while the updatable microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems) is active, wherein when the updatable microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems; para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update) is deactivated, the backup microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems; para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including a firmware update) performs the safety algorithm (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystem; para. [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction).
Regarding claim 11, Cartes in view of Le and Freeman teaches all the limitation of claim 9, in addition, Cartes teaches that the backup microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) is not updated (para. [0019], [0037], [0039], [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction, note that the above feature of “maintenance activities” in para. [0019], [0037], [0039], [0041] are performed when backup microcontroller is not updated).
Regarding claim 12, it is dependent on claim 9 and has similar limitations as of claim 7 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 13, it is dependent on claim 9 and has similar limitations as of claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 14, it is an apparatus type claim having similar limitations as of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, it is dependent on claim 14 and has similar limitations as of claims 1 and 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claims 1 and 2 above.
Regarding claim 16, it is dependent on claim 15 and has similar limitations as of claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 4 above. The additional elements of after receiving the new firmware data (para. [0019]: the maintenance activity instruction may be received by the controller 120 via a wired or wireless network connection of the system 100; para. [0039]: Example types of the redundant systems include redundant power supplies, redundant networking subsystems, redundant thermal management subsystems, and the like. Example maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems include a firmware update), taught by Cartes.
Regarding claim 17, it is dependent on claim 14 and has similar limitations as of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 3 above. The additional element of second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems) being restarted or rebooted after being updated (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems include a firmware update, changing operational settings, changing firmware settings, maintenance reboots or resets), the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems) is configured to run the algorithm (para. [0019], [0037], [0039], [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction) while the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) is deactivated and updated with the new firmware data (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems include a firmware update, note that the above feature of “updating” reads on “do not maintenance activity (i.e. deactivated)”), taught by taught by Cartes.
Regarding claim 18, Cartes in view of Le and Freeman teaches all the limitation of claim 14, in addition, Cartes teaches that the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) is not updatable (para. [0019], [0037], [0039], [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction, note that the above feature of “maintenance activities” in para. [0019], [0037], [0039], [0041] are performed when first microcontroller is not updated),
wherein the first microcontroller functions (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) as a backup during a deactivation (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystems include a firmware update, note that the above feature of “updating” reads on “do not maintenance activity (i.e. deactivated)”) of the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems).
Regarding claim 19, Cartes in view of Le and Freeman teaches all the limitation of claim 18, in addition, Cartes teaches that the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) functions as a pass though circuit for signals from the electronic circuit breaker (para. [0030]: redundant subsystem 222 connected with circuit breakers) while the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems) is active (para. [0019], [0037], [0039], [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction; para. [0043]: the controller (230) may then act on each of the redundant subsystems separately and sequentially, note that the above feature of “maintenance activities” in para. [0019], [0037], [0039], [0041] is performed when first microcontroller is active and the above feature of “act on each of the redundant subsystems separately” in para. [0043] reads on “while the second microcontroller is active”),
wherein when the second microcontroller (para. [0039]: one of the redundant subsystems including in computing systems that is different that is different with first subsystem among redundant subsystems; Figs. 1-4: redundant subsystems) is deactivated (para. [0039]: firmware update, note that microcontroller is a deactivation state when the microcontroller is updated), the first microcontroller (para. [0039]: the redundant subsystems including computing systems) performs the algorithm (para. [0039]: maintenance activities performed on the redundant subsystem; para. [0041]: the maintenance activity, the maintenance activity instruction).
Regarding claim 20, it is a dependent on claim 14 and has similar limitations as of claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claim 6 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shea et al. (US 2023/0197391 A1) teaches that a method and system are provided to control circuit breaker operations. In the method and system, near-field RF signal is monitored at or around electrical contacts of the circuit breaker using at least one near-field radio frequency (RF) sensor, and far-field RF signal away from the contacts of the circuit breaker are monitored using at least one far-field RF sensor. A rate of change of current over time is also monitored on the circuit using at least one sensor. An arc fault on the circuit is detected based on the monitored near-field RF signal, the monitored far-field RF signal, and the monitored rate of change of current. A tripping operation is implemented on the circuit breaker to disconnect the power supply from the circuit, in response to the detection of the arc fault.
Leidy et al. (US 2023/0197391 A1) teaches that a circuit breaker with arc fault detection by accumulation of machine learning classifications is provided. The circuit breaker comprises a microcontroller including a processor, a memory and computer-readable software code which, when executed by the processor, causes the microcontroller to: sample analog signals representing one or more of the following: a RSSI signal, a voltage signal, and a current signal, perform multiple pre-processing steps on the analog signals to derive a data set.
Kristina et al. (WO 2005/073992 A1) teaches that the invention is a condition monitor for a switchgear device in an electrical power distribution system. The switchgear device is arranged with an electrically powered actuator for operating a moveable part of the switchgear device, for example, operating the opening and/or closing of a circuit breaker.
/SANGKYUNG LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858