DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to RCE/Amendment filed 02/24/2026.
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 1, 17 and 20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued Seidman and Jakobson fail to disclose or suggest "switching, in response to the operation on the target control, the interface to a region selection interface that displays the map of the geographic region and does not display any information label," as recited in amended claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees as Jakobson teaches the switching to a map without labels for new region selections (Jakobson, para.68-72, Fig.6D displays map without labels for new region selection; Fig.6A-6B, controls: Start 606a/End 606b allow for new region selection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-10, 13, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seidman et al. (“Seidman”, US 2011/0193795) in view of Jakobson (US 2011/0153186).
As per claim 1, Seidman teaches an information display method, performed by a terminal device, the method comprising:
displaying an interface presenting a map of a geographic region (Seidman, Fig.4, para.58, map displayed of current location);
at least one information label related to the geographic region in the interface, and marking a geographic location associated with the information label on the map, each information label corresponding to at least one piece of information (Seidman, para.66-73; Fig.8, Results Mode displays marking points/pins designating locations with labels/callout balloons);
displaying information corresponding to a target information label in response to an operation on the target information label (Seidman, para.66-73; Fig.8, Results Mode displays marking points/pins designating locations with labels/callout balloons);
canceling a display of information labels currently displayed in the interface in response to an operation on a target control displayed in the interface (Seidman, Fig.10, para.76, categories designated as Not a Fan are not displayed); and
performing a region selection operation, determining a selected region based on the region selection operation, and displaying a map of the selected region in the interface (Seidman, Fig.5-6, para.51-52, 62-64, user enters Draw Mode to select region).
However, Seidman does not teach before performing a region selection operation, canceling a display of all information labels currently displayed in the interface; and switching, in response to the operation on the target control, the interface to a region selection interface that displays the map of the geographic region and does not display any information label. Jakobson teaches a method of selecting regions of interest wherein before performing a region selection operation, canceling a display of all information labels currently displayed in the interface (Jakobson, para.76, Fig.6D, Clear All 606d); and switching, in response to the operation on the target control, the interface to a region selection interface that displays the map of the geographic region and does not display any information label (Jakobson, para.68-72, Fig.6D displays map without labels for new region selection; Fig.6A-6B, controls: Start 606a/End 606b allow for new region selection). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Jakobson’s teaching with Seidman’s method in order to erase a mistakenly selected region and start over.
As per claim 2, the method of Seidman and Jakobson teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one information label related to the geographic region in the interface, and marking the geographic location associated with the information label on the map (Seidman, para.66-73; Fig.8, Results Mode displays marking points/pins designating locations with labels/callout balloons) comprises:
displaying the at least one information label in the interface, and displaying a marking point corresponding to each information label on the map, wherein a display position of the marking point on the map is a geographic location associated with the information label corresponding to the marking point (Seidman, para.66-73; Fig.8, Results Mode displays marking points/pins designating locations with labels/callout balloons); and
wherein the information label and the marking point corresponding to the information label are associatively displayed, and the display position of the marking point corresponding to the information label on the map corresponds to the geographic location associated with the information label (Seidman, para.66-73; Fig.8, Results Mode displays marking points/pins designating locations with labels/callout balloons).
As per claim 3, the method of Seidman and Jakobson teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein after the at least one information label related to the geographic region in the interface, and marking the geographic location associated with the information label on the map (Seidman, para.66-73; Fig.8, Results Mode displays marking points/pins designating locations with labels/callout balloons), the method further comprises:
displaying a map of an adjusted geographic region in the interface in response to a zoom operation on the map (Seidman, para.66-73; Fig.7-8, map auto-zooms to drawn area); and
displaying at least one information label related to the adjusted geographic region in the interface, and marking a geographic location associated with the information label on the map (Seidman, para.66-73; Fig.8, Results Mode displays marking points/pins designating locations with labels/callout balloons).
As per claim 5, the method of Seidman and Jakobson teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
displaying at least one information label related to the selected region in the interface, and marking a geographic location associated with the information label on the map (Seidman, para.66-73; Fig.7-8, Results Mode displays marking points/pins designating locations with labels/callout balloons).
As per claim 6, the method of Seidman and Jakobson teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the displaying the map of the selected region in the geographic region in the interface, in response to the region selection operation comprises:
obtaining an operation trajectory corresponding to the region selection operation in response to the region selection operation (Seidman, Fig.5-6, para.51-52, 62-64, user performs drawing action to select region);
determining the selected region from the geographic region based on the operation trajectory (Seidman, Fig.5-6, para.51-52, 62-64, region determined based on arc drawn); and
displaying the map of the selected region in the interface (Seidman, para.66-73; Fig.7-8, map auto-zooms to drawn area).
As per claim 9, the method of Seidman and Jakobson teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the interface further displays at least one category label, and different category labels correspond to information labels belonging to different information categories (Seidman, Fig.11, para.79, three selectable category filters); and
after the displaying the at least one information label related to the geographic region in the interface, and marking the geographic location associated with the information label on the map (Seidman, para.66-73; Fig.8, Results Mode displays marking points/pins designating locations with labels/callout balloons), the method further comprises:
displaying at least one information label corresponding to the target category label in the interface in response to an operation on a target category label in the at least one category label, and marking a geographic location associated with the information label on the map (Seidman, Fig.11, para.79, filter labels according to selected category).
As per claim 10, the method of Seidman and Jakobson teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the at least one category label comprises at least one of the following:
a category label selected or set by a target object, a category label determined based on a historical preference of the target object, and a category label determined based on an attribute feature of the target object (Seidman, Fig.11, para.79, user selected category; only categories available in set are selectable).
As per claim 13, the method of Seidman and Jakobson teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting an information obtaining request to a server, the information obtaining request being used for obtaining information in the geographic region (Seidman, para.5, 110, location from server; geo-locator function); and
receiving label information and a geographic location, transmitted by the server, of the information in the geographic region, wherein the label information is used for displaying an information label corresponding to the information (Seidman, para.5, 110, location from server; geo-locator function).
As per claim 15, the method of Seidman and Jakobson teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
displaying a map of an initial region in the interface in a case of initial display of the interface, wherein the initial region comprises any one of the following:
a current region of a target object, a set region of the target object, a historical focus region of the target object, and a preference focus region of the target object (Seidman, para.8, 56, 94, display of current location of user); and
displaying at least one information label related to the initial region in the interface, and marking a geographic location associated with the information label on the map (Seidman, para.56-58; Fig.4, default location shown on map).
Claims 17-19 are similar in scope to claims 1-3, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seidman et al. (“Seidman”, US 2011/0193795) and Jakobson (US 2011/0153186) in view of Piemonte et al (“Piemonte”, US 2014/0071119).
As per claim 4, the method of Seidman and Jakobson teaches the method according to claim 3, however does not teach wherein the display style of the map comprises: a two-dimensional plane style and a three-dimensional style; and the displaying the map of the adjusted geographic region in the interface comprises: displaying, in the two-dimensional plane style, the map of the adjusted geographic region in the interface in a case that a zoom ratio of the map satisfies a first condition; or displaying, in the three-dimensional style, the map of the adjusted geographic region in the interface in a case that a zoom ratio of the map satisfies a second condition. Piemonte teaches a method of displaying a 2D/3D map that includes displaying, in the two-dimensional plane style, the map of the adjusted geographic region in the interface in a case that a zoom ratio of the map satisfies a first condition or displaying, in the three-dimensional style, the map of the adjusted geographic region in the interface in a case that a zoom ratio of the map satisfies a second condition (Piemonte, Fig.5, para.50, 2D/3D mode based on zoom level). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Piemonte’s teaching with the method of Seidman and Jakobson in order to limit the amount of information displayed to avoid user confusion.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seidman et al. (“Seidman”, US 2011/0193795) and Jakobson (US 2011/0153186) in view of Van Seggelen et al. (“Van Seggelen”, US 2013/0131986).
As per claim 7, the method of Seidman and Jakobson teaches the method according to claim 5, however does not teach wherein the displaying the map of the selected region in the geographic region in the interface, in response to the region selection operation comprises: obtaining an operation position and operation duration corresponding to the region selection operation in response to the region selection operation; determining the selected region from the geographic region based on the operation position and operation duration; and displaying the map of the selected region in the interface. Van Seggelen teaches a method of displaying a map of a selected region including obtaining an operation position and operation duration corresponding to the region selection operation in response to the region selection operation; determining the selected region from the geographic region based on the operation position and operation duration; and displaying the map of the selected region in the interface (Van Seggelen, Fig.11-12, para.146, finger press duration on region determines zoom radius). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Van Seggelen’s teaching with the method of Seidman and Jakobson in order to select a region via a single input.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seidman et al. (“Seidman”, US 2011/0193795) and Jakobson (US 2011/0153186) in view of Soni et al. (“Soni”, US 2011/0238762).
As per claim 11, the method of Seidman and Jakobson teaches the method according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein the method further comprises: for an information label corresponding to specific information, displaying a video playback window in the information label corresponding to the specific information, and playing video content of the specific information in the video playback window. Soni teaches a method of displaying labels on a map wherein for an information label corresponding to specific information, displaying a video playback window in the information label corresponding to the specific information, and playing video content of the specific information in the video playback window (Soni, para.56, 92, 119, video clips associated with location). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Soni’s teaching with the method of Seidman and Jakobson in order to provide additional information via alternative outputs.
As per claim 12, the method of Seidman, Jakobson and Soni teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein the information label corresponding to the specific information further displays at least one of the following information:
occurrence time of the specific information, views of the specific information, and alarm prompt for the specific information (Soni, para.8, 84; Fig.3A, time of post 316).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seidman et al. (“Seidman”, US 2011/0193795) and Jakobson (US 2011/0153186) in view of Beaurepaire et al. (“Beaurepaire”, US 2019/0346930).
As per claim 14, the method of Seidman and Jakobson teaches the method according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein the method further comprises: displaying each information label in a different display style based on index information corresponding to each information label, wherein the index information comprises at least one of the following: hot, views, occurrence time, and likes. Beaurepaire teaches a method of displaying labels on a map in a different display style based on index information corresponding to each information label, wherein the index information comprises at least one of the following: hot, views, occurrence time, and likes (Beaurepaire, para.59-62, POIs color-coded based on parameters: ratings, popularity). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Beaurepaire’s teaching with the method of Seidman and Jakobson in order to provide distinguish and locate labels quickly.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seidman et al. (“Seidman”, US 2011/0193795) and Jakobson (US 2011/0153186) in view of Riley et al. (“Riley”, US 2019/0005153).
As per claim 16, the method of Seidman and Jakobson teaches the method according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein the method further comprises: obtaining a real-time region of a target object at a set time interval; displaying a map of the real-time region in the interface; and displaying at least one information label related to the real-time region in the interface, and marking a geographic location associated with the information label on the map. Riley teaches a method of displaying locations on a map including obtaining a real-time region of a target object at a set time interval; displaying a map of the real-time region in the interface; and displaying at least one information label related to the real-time region in the interface, and marking a geographic location associated with the information label on the map (Riley, Figs.4-7, para.24, 39-43, map data includes real-time data that is periodically updated). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Riley’s teaching with the method of Seidman and Jakobson in order to keep the information up-to-date.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huffman et al. (US 2014/0298255) teaches a method of dynamically showing or hiding markers on a map.
Inquiries
/S.M./
Sajeda MuhebbullahExaminer, Art Unit 2174 /WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174