DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reitblat et al. (US Pub 2014/0277145) in view of Pfaifer (US Patent 5,702,393).
With respect to claim 1, Reitblat discloses a cross connector device (See figures 6A-B and 7B below) comprising: a portal (fig 6, 103) having a rod attachment feature (fig 6B, 132) with a circular cutout (fig 6B, 128), a tulip (fig 7B, 104) attached to the portal, a cannula (fig 7B, 98) detachably attached to the tulip, and a retention component (fig 7B, 106) detachably connected to the portal. With respect to claim 2, Reitblat discloses wherein the portal includes a plurality of lips (fig 6B, 126s). With respect to claim 3, Reitblat discloses wherein the cannula includes two tabs (fig 6A, 94s) detachably connected (detachable at 96) to the tulip. With respect to claim 4, Reitblat discloses wherein the cannula includes a gap (see fig 7B below)between the two tabs. With respect to claim 8, Reitblat discloses wherein the retention component includes a plurality of lips (see fig 7B below).
With respect to claim 9, Reitblat discloses a cross connector device (see figs 6A-B and 7B below) comprising: a portal (fig 6, 103) having a rod attachment feature (Fig 6, 132) with a circular cutout (fig 6B, 128), the portal includes two lips (Fig 6B, 126), a tulip (Fig 7B, 104) attached to the portal, a cannula (fig 7B, 98) detachably attached (at fig 6A, 96) to the tulip, and a retention component (Fig 7B, 106) detachably connected to the portal. With respect to claim 10, Reitblat discloses wherein the cannula includes two tabs (Fig 7B, 94s) detachably connected to the tulip. With respect to claim 11, Reitblat discloses wherein the cannula includes a gap (see fig 7B below) between the two tabs.
With respect to claim 16, Reitblat discloses a cross connector device (see figs 6A-B and 7B above) comprising: a portal (fig 6, 103) having a rod attachment feature (Fig 6, 132) with a circular cutout (fig 6B, 128), the portal includes two lips (Fig 6B, 126), a tulip (Fig 7B, 104) attached to the portal, a cannula (fig 7B, 98) detachably attached (at fig 6A, 96) to the tulip, and a retention component (Fig 7B, 106) detachably connected to the portal. With respect to claim 17, Reitblat discloses wherein the portal includes a plurality of lips (fig 6B, 126). With respect to claim 18, Reitblat discloses wherein the cannula includes two tabs (Fig 7B, 94s) detachably connected to the tulip. With respect to claim 19, Reitblat discloses wherein the cannula includes a gap (see fig 7B below) between the two tabs.
With respect to claims 1, 9 and 16, Reitblat discloses the claimed invention except for the portal having external helical threads and the retention component having internal helical threads configured to engage with the external helical threads of the portal.
Pfaifer discloses a portal (fig 2, 10) having external helical threads (fig 2, 10a) and the retention component (fig 2, 11 and 12) having internal helical threads (fig 4, matching 10a) configured to engage with the external helical threads of the portal (fig 4) to allow for simultaneous clamping of the first and second rod (col. 2, ll. 5-12). With respect to claims 6, 13 and 20, Pfaifer discloses the internal threads of the retention component are tapered (fig 4 taper to a point).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Reitblat to include the portal having external helical threads and the retention component having internal helical threads configured to engage with the external helical threads of the portal in view of Pfaifer in order to allow for simultaneous clamping of the first and second rod.
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reitblat et al. in view of Pfaifer as applied to claims 1, and 9 above, and further in view of Butler et al. (US Pub 2009/0018586).
With respect to claims 7, 14, 15, Reitblat in view of Pfaifer discloses the retention component having a plurality of lips (see fig 7B above) but does not disclose one or more bumps on the lips.
Butler discloses a connector device (fig 2 16) having one or more bumps (fig 2, 19, 21) on lips (fig 2, 18 and 20) to better hold onto the rod (paragraph 33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Reitblat in view of Pfaifer to include one or more bumps on the lips of the retention component in view of Butler in order to better hold onto the rod.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 8/28/2025, with respect to the objection of the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive due to the amended claims. The objection of the drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the 112 rejection of claims 4, 5, 12 and 16-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive due to the amended claims. The 112 rejection of claims 4, 5, 12 and 16-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-11 and 13-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C/Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773