Response to Amendments
The amendment and response filed on October 2, 2025, to the Non-Final Office Action dated July 2, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 6, 8-10, 13, and 18-20 are amended. Claims 1 - 20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pages 6-7, filed October 2, 2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection based on Patil et al (US-20200156435-A1) have been considered and are persuasive. Applicant has changed the scope of the claims to now require a second model, based on the physiological status of an occupant in a vehicle, to “determine offset values for the one or more climate control parameters”. The 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of further limiting amendments made, changing the scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections -- 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al (US-20200156435-A1)(“Patil”) and NAKASHIMA et al (US- 20210039471-A1)(“Nakashima).
As per claim 1, Patil discloses a method of personalizing climate conditions in a vehicle (Figure 4), the method comprising:
determining, by a vehicle control system, a physiological status of an occupant of the vehicle (Patil at Para. [0066] discloses determining using a model the physiological status of a passenger and how such a passenger will change and require in order to maintain a thermal profile in the cabin of a vehicle and the thermal profile of the passenger to achieve a level of comfort:” the controller 62 analyzes both the data from the electronic device 12 and the vehicle 14 pursuant to the PMV thermal comfort model to determine whether the climate of the vehicle 14 is likely to be comfortable, too hot, or too cold, to the anticipated passenger 10, who has hailed the vehicle 14 but not yet entered the interior 20. That is, in terms of heat balance, the controller 62 estimates the metabolic heat production of the anticipated passenger 10, that is, the amount of chemical energy that the anticipated passenger 10 is transforming into heat.”);
processing, by the vehicle control system, environmental condition data for an interior of the vehicle via a first model to determine baseline target values for one or more climate control parameters (Patil at Para. [0081] discloses using a first model of cabin of a vehicle to achieve climate control commensurate with the environment and the anticipated need of passenger/occupant:” the controller 62 controls various of the climate systems 40 of the vehicle 14 (the heater 42, air conditioner 44, the temperature control element 47 of the seat 22, etc.) as necessary until, and so that, the estimated metabolic heat production approximately balances the estimated heat that the anticipated passenger 10 would be losing (at which point, the anticipated passenger 10 would be likely to experience thermal comfort). Stated another way, if the controller 62 determines, from the data applied to the thermal comfort model, that the climate of the interior 20 of the vehicle 14 would not be comfortable (because, e.g., of the imbalance between the heat loss and heat produced), the controller 62 controls the system(s) 40 of the vehicle 14 to change the climate until the climate would be comfortable to the anticipated passenger 10 under the thermal comfort model before the anticipated passenger 10 enters the interior 20 of the vehicle 14.”);
;
; and
controlling at least one climate control device in relation to the interior of the vehicle based on the climate control response (Patil at Para. [0081] discloses altering climate of the vehicle:” controller 62 controls the system(s) 40 of the vehicle 14 to alter the climate until the climate would not be too hot [or cold] to the anticipated passenger 10 (representing approximate thermal balance) before the anticipated passenger 10 enters the interior 20 of the vehicle 14.”).
Patil does not explicitly disclose a process to “determine offset values for the one or more climate control parameters” based on “the physiological status of the occupant via a second model“; and then combining, by the vehicle control system, the baseline target values from the first model with the offset values from the second model to determine a climate control response.
Nakashima discloses an air conditioning apparatus for a vehicle where a target control value of a thermal environment control device is set based on the comfort sensation of the occupant. Nakashima at Figure 3 and Para. [0104] discloses a first model that using a “target control value setting unit 65 serves as a target control value setter that sets a target control value of the cabin air-conditioning unit 10”. (Cited with emphasis). This initial value is then corrected or approved with the use of a ” thermal model of the occupant”. See at least Para. [0013].
Patil does not disclose, but Nakashima discloses processing, by the vehicle control system, the physiological status of the occupant via a second model, distinct from the first model, (Nakashima at Figure 6, step SA3 that calculates a thermal model of the occupant, and Para. [0013] discloses a model for determining the physiological status of the occupant such as thermal sensation:” an occupant thermal sensation calculator configured to obtain a thermal model of the occupant based on thermal sensation calculation information containing the thermal environment around the occupant which is detected by the thermal environment detector and an operation state of the thermal environment control device”.) to determine offset values for the one or more climate control parameters (Nakashima at Figure 6, step SA15 that determines a correction coefficient, and Para. [0107] disclosing correction of climate control parameters as determined using the occupant model (second):” target control value setting unit 65 is configured to determine whether a signal from the comfort sensation calculation unit 63 and a signal from the occupant thermal sensation calculation unit 64 correspond to each other, and execute a process of correction for the signal output from the comfort sensation calculation unit 63, when both of the signals do not correspond to each other.”).
Patil does not disclose, but Nakashima discloses combining, by the vehicle control system, the baseline target values from the first model with the offset values from the second model to determine a climate control response (Nakashima at Figure 6, SA2 initial operational state and SA16 adding correction values to initial operational state, and Para. [0126] disclosing combining the set parameters with the correction value to maintain a desired comfort level for the occupant of the vehicle:” the target control value setting unit 65 corrects the signal output from the comfort sensation calculation unit 63 by using the target control value correction coefficient in step SA16, the thermal environment around the occupant A can be controlled without impairment of the comfort of the occupant A.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the controller for vehicle air conditioners as taught by Patil with the thermal model of occupants as taught by Nakashima with a reasonable expectation of success in order for the one or more method steps to reflect the comfort sensation of the occupant of the vehicle. The teaching suggestion/motivation to combine is that by determining the comfort level of the occupant using a thermal model, accuracy of air conditioning control is improved as taught by Nakashima at Paras. [0016]-[0018].
As per claim 2, Patil and Nakashima disclose a method of claim 1, wherein the determining a physiological status comprises determining a biometric of the occupant (Patil at Figure 4, personal device 12 and thermal camera 39, and Para. [0089] disclosing image taken by personal device 12 that is used as a thermal input for analysis:” application program that the electronic device 12 is executing to hail the vehicle 14 prompts the anticipated passenger 10 to capture an image of the anticipated passenger 10. The anticipated passenger 10 uses a camera capability of the electronic device 12 to capture an image of the anticipated passenger 10 thus creating image data.”)..
As per claim 3, Patil and Nakashima disclose a method of claim 2, wherein the biometric comprises at least one of a body temperature (Patil at Para. [0012] calculation of heat dissipation of the passenger:” analyzing both the data from the electronic device and the vehicle includes estimating the amount of heat that the anticipated passenger would be losing if the anticipated passenger were in the interior of the vehicle and subject to the climate”.) or a heart rate of the occupant (Patil at Figure 3B and Para. [0057] discloses collecting heart rate data:” the electronic device 12 (such as the smartphone 12a) includes a variety of sensors and other devices that generate data … can generate heartrate data, such as via light emitters 54 working in cooperation with light sensors 56 (photodiodes) or image sensors (which can be an ensemble of light sensors) to detect variations in blood coloration as a function of time (and thus heartrate data).”) (Patil at Figure 3B and Para. [0057] discloses collecting heart rate data:” the electronic device 12 (such as the smartphone 12a) includes a variety of sensors and other devices that generate data … can generate heartrate data, such as via light emitters 54 working in cooperation with light sensors 56 (photodiodes) or image sensors (which can be an ensemble of light sensors) to detect variations in blood coloration as a function of time (and thus heartrate data).”).
As per claim 4, Patil and Nakashima disclose a method of claim 1, wherein the determining a physiological status comprises identifying an activity of the occupant within a specified preceding time period (Patil at Para. [0034] discloses using activity of a potential passenger in the thermal model:” analyzing the data from the electronic device to estimate metabolic heat production of the anticipated passenger includes analyzing one or more of accelerometer data, location data and time data, from which a walking or running speed of the anticipated passenger can be determined, and heartrate data”.).
As per claim 5, Patil and Nakashima disclose a method of claim 1, wherein the climate control response comprises at least one of an airflow rate, a vent air temperature, a compressor speed, an air system duct door position, a vent position, or a climate-controlled surface setting (Patil at Figure 4, inputs 32-39, 64 & 82, and Para. [0059] discloses processing input signal useful for developing and implementing a thermal model:” the controller 62 is in communication and accepts data from the interior temperature sensor 32, the exterior temperature sensor 36, the relative humidity sensor 34, the exterior camera 37, and the thermal infrared camera 39, if included. Moreover, as discussed further below, the controller 62 is in communication with and controls the blower 38, and thus the level at which the blower 38 is blowing air into the interior 20, from which, as discussed above, the velocity of the air flowing through the interior 20 can be estimated.”)..
As per claim 6, Patil and Nakashima disclose a method of claim 1, further comprising receiving one or more inputs from one or more vehicle sensors, wherein the environmental condition data comprises the one or more inputs (Patil at Figure 4, inputs 32-39, 64 & 82, and Para. [0059] discloses processing input signal useful for developing and implementing a thermal model:” the controller 62 is in communication and accepts data from the interior temperature sensor 32, the exterior temperature sensor 36, the relative humidity sensor 34, the exterior camera 37, and the thermal infrared camera 39, if included. Moreover, as discussed further below, the controller 62 is in communication with and controls the blower 38, and thus the level at which the blower 38 is blowing air into the interior 20, from which, as discussed above, the velocity of the air flowing through the interior 20 can be estimated.”).
As per claim 7, Patil and Nakashima disclose a method of claim 6, wherein the one or more inputs comprise at least one of ambient temperature, solar flux, cabin temperature, cabin relative humidity, or vent air temperature (Patil, see at least Para. [0079] disclosing interior and ambient temperature measurements:” the controller 62 can derive the mean radiant temperature of the interior 20 of the vehicle 14 from the difference in temperature between the temperature of the air of the interior 20 and the temperature of the air of the exterior 24. In some instances, if the vehicle 14 includes the thermal infrared camera 39, the mean radiant temperature of the interior 20 of the vehicle 14 can be calculated from image data generated by the thermal infrared camera 39.”).
As per claim 8, Patil and Nakashima disclose a method of claim 6, further comprising receiving a user setpoint temperature, wherein the climate control response is further based on the user setpoint temperature (Patil at Para. [0084] discloses using a target set value from the passenger:” if the actions of the anticipated passenger 10 regarding climate after the anticipated passenger 10 enters the vehicle 14 reveal that the anticipated passenger 10 desires a warmer climate than that which a PMV value of 0 would command, then the target PMV value for the anticipated passenger 10 can be some number greater than 0, such as 0.5. The different target PMV value can be applied by the server 66 and the controller 62 for future rides in the vehicle 14, subject to future learning due to additional requests by the anticipated passenger 10 to alter the climate that was pre-conditioned pursuant to the adjusted PMV target value.”).
As per claim 9, Patil and Nakashima disclose a method of claim 1, wherein the first model excludes consideration of the physiological status of the occupant (Patil at Para. [0079] discloses developing a model which does not include the physiological status of the vehicle occupant since the passenger has not yet entered the vehicle:” controller 62 executing the above thermal comfort model in the context of the anticipated passenger 10 and the interior 20 of the vehicle 14 should estimate the mean radiant temperature of the interior 20 of the vehicle 14.”).
As per claim 10, Patil and Nakashima disclose a method of claim 1, wherein the second model is selectively enabled via a user interface provided by the vehicle control system (Patil at Para. [0056] discloses an interface for the user to change the setting in the interior of vehicle:” the vehicle 14 includes a temperature control device 47 within the seat 22 that can be controlled to selectively raise or lower the temperature of the seat 22. The temperature control device 47 can be a heater (operating on the basis of electrical resistance, heated air, or otherwise), a cooler (operating on the basis of cooled air or otherwise), or a Peltier device that can selectively heat or cool depending on the direction of current flow, among other options.”).
As per claim 11, Patil and Nakashima disclose a method of claim 1, wherein the physiological status is associated with a heat distribution over a body of the occupant and the climate control response is determined based on the heat distribution (Patil at Paras. [0061]-[0067] discloses using clothing and body heat radiation from a passenger to determine a control response for the climate control:” estimation includes, as explained in the heat balance equation above, estimating at least heat that the anticipated passenger 10 would be losing through evaporation during breathing, through convection during breathing, through convection and radiation at the body surface, and through evaporation of perspiration.” At Para. [0066].).
As per claim 12, Patil and Nakashima disclose a method of claim 11, wherein the climate control response comprises different target outputs for first and second vents of the vehicle based on spatial positions of the first and second vents relative to the heat distribution over the body of the occupant (Patil at Para. [0087] discloses using zone control to regulate the climate system where the passenger will be sitting:” controller 62 analyzes data from the electronic device 12 of the anticipated passenger 10 and the vehicle 14 pursuant to the thermal comfort model to determine whether the climate at the first zone 76 would be comfortable to the anticipated passenger 10. The data from the vehicle 14 can be as described above, including data from the temperature sensor 32 measuring the temperature of the air at the first zone 76, the relative humidity sensor 34, and regarding the power level of the air blower 38.”).
As per claim 13, Patil discloses a system for personalizing climate conditions in a vehicle (Figure 4), the system comprising:
at least one climate control device (Patil at Figure 4 and Para. [0066] discloses controlling the climate in a vehicle:” the controller 62 analyzes both the data from the electronic device 12 and the vehicle 14 pursuant to the PMV thermal comfort model to determine whether the climate of the vehicle 14 is likely to be comfortable, too hot, or too cold, to the anticipated passenger 10, who has hailed the vehicle 14 but not yet entered the interior 20.”);
a vehicle control system communicably coupled to the at least one climate control device and operable (Patil at Figure 4, controller 62) to:
determine a physiological status of an occupant of the vehicle (Patil at Para. [0066] discloses determining using a model the physiological status of a passenger and how such a passenger will change and require in order to maintain a thermal profile in the cabin of a vehicle and the thermal profile of the passenger to achieve a level of comfort:” the controller 62 analyzes both the data from the electronic device 12 and the vehicle 14 pursuant to the PMV thermal comfort model to determine whether the climate of the vehicle 14 is likely to be comfortable, too hot, or too cold, to the anticipated passenger 10, who has hailed the vehicle 14 but not yet entered the interior 20. That is, in terms of heat balance, the controller 62 estimates the metabolic heat production of the anticipated passenger 10, that is, the amount of chemical energy that the anticipated passenger 10 is transforming into heat.”);
process environmental condition data for an interior of the vehicle via a first model to determine baseline target values for one or more climate control parameters (Patil at Para. [0081] discloses using a first model of cabin of a vehicle to achieve climate control commensurate with the environment and the anticipated need of passenger/occupant:” the controller 62 controls various of the climate systems 40 of the vehicle 14 (the heater 42, air conditioner 44, the temperature control element 47 of the seat 22, etc.) as necessary until, and so that, the estimated metabolic heat production approximately balances the estimated heat that the anticipated passenger 10 would be losing (at which point, the anticipated passenger 10 would be likely to experience thermal comfort). Stated another way, if the controller 62 determines, from the data applied to the thermal comfort model, that the climate of the interior 20 of the vehicle 14 would not be comfortable (because, e.g., of the imbalance between the heat loss and heat produced), the controller 62 controls the system(s) 40 of the vehicle 14 to change the climate until the climate would be comfortable to the anticipated passenger 10 under the thermal comfort model before the anticipated passenger 10 enters the interior 20 of the vehicle 14.”);
; and
control the at least one climate control device in relation to the interior of the vehicle based on the climate control response (Patil at Para. [0081] discloses altering climate of the vehicle:” controller 62 controls the system(s) 40 of the vehicle 14 to alter the climate until the climate would not be too hot [or cold] to the anticipated passenger 10 (representing approximate thermal balance) before the anticipated passenger 10 enters the interior 20 of the vehicle 14.”).
Nakashima discloses an air conditioning apparatus for a vehicle where a target control value of a thermal environment control device is set based on the comfort sensation of the occupant. Nakashima at Figure 3 and Para. [0104] discloses a first model that using a “target control value setting unit 65 serves as a target control value setter that sets a target control value of the cabin air-conditioning unit 10”. (Cited with emphasis). This initial value is then corrected or approved with the use of a ” thermal model of the occupant”. See at least Para. [0013].
Patil does not disclose, but Nakashima discloses process, by the vehicle control system, the physiological status of the occupant via a second model, distinct from the first model, (Nakashima at Figure 6, step SA3 that calculates a thermal model of the occupant, and Para. [0013] discloses a model for determining the physiological status of the occupant such as thermal sensation:” an occupant thermal sensation calculator configured to obtain a thermal model of the occupant based on thermal sensation calculation information containing the thermal environment around the occupant which is detected by the thermal environment detector and an operation state of the thermal environment control device”.) to determine offset values for the one or more climate control parameters (Nakashima at Figure 6, step SA15 that determines a correction coefficient, and Para. [0107] disclosing correction of climate control parameters as determined using the occupant model (second):” target control value setting unit 65 is configured to determine whether a signal from the comfort sensation calculation unit 63 and a signal from the occupant thermal sensation calculation unit 64 correspond to each other, and execute a process of correction for the signal output from the comfort sensation calculation unit 63, when both of the signals do not correspond to each other.”).
Patil does not disclose, but Nakashima discloses combine, by the vehicle control system, the baseline target values from the first model with the offset values from the second model to determine a climate control response (Nakashima at Figure 6, SA2 initial operational state and SA16 adding correction values to initial operational state, and Para. [0126] disclosing combining the set parameters with the correction value to maintain a desired comfort level for the occupant of the vehicle:” the target control value setting unit 65 corrects the signal output from the comfort sensation calculation unit 63 by using the target control value correction coefficient in step SA16, the thermal environment around the occupant A can be controlled without impairment of the comfort of the occupant A.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the controller for vehicle air conditioners as taught by Patil with the thermal model of occupants as taught by Nakashima with a reasonable expectation of success in order for the one or more method steps to reflect the comfort sensation of the occupant of the vehicle. The teaching suggestion/motivation to combine is that by determining the comfort level of the occupant using a thermal model, accuracy of air conditioning control is improved as taught by Nakashima at Paras. [0016]-[0018].
As per claim 14, Patil and Nakashima disclose a system of claim 13, wherein the operability to determine a physiological status comprises operability to determine a biometric of the occupant (Patil at Figure 4, personal device 12 and thermal camera 39, and Para. [0089] disclosing image taken by personal device 12 that is used as a thermal input for analysis:” application program that the electronic device 12 is executing to hail the vehicle 14 prompts the anticipated passenger 10 to capture an image of the anticipated passenger 10. The anticipated passenger 10 uses a camera capability of the electronic device 12 to capture an image of the anticipated passenger 10 thus creating image data.”).
As per claim 15, Patil and Nakashima disclose a system of claim 14, wherein the biometric comprises at least one of a body temperature (Patil at Para. [0012] calculation of heat dissipation of the passenger:” analyzing both the data from the electronic device and the vehicle includes estimating the amount of heat that the anticipated passenger would be losing if the anticipated passenger were in the interior of the vehicle and subject to the climate”.) or a heart rate of the occupant (Patil at Figure 3B and Para. [0057] discloses collecting heart rate data:” the electronic device 12 (such as the smartphone 12a) includes a variety of sensors and other devices that generate data … can generate heartrate data, such as via light emitters 54 working in cooperation with light sensors 56 (photodiodes) or image sensors (which can be an ensemble of light sensors) to detect variations in blood coloration as a function of time (and thus heartrate data).”).
As per claim 16, Patil and Nakashima disclose a system of claim 13, wherein the operability to determine a physiological status comprises operability to identify an activity of the occupant within a specified preceding time period (Patil at Para. [0034] discloses using activity of a potential passenger in the thermal model:” analyzing the data from the electronic device to estimate metabolic heat production of the anticipated passenger includes analyzing one or more of accelerometer data, location data and time data, from which a walking or running speed of the anticipated passenger can be determined, and heartrate data”.).
As per claim 17, Patil and Nakashima disclose a system of claim 13, wherein the climate control response comprises at least one of an airflow rate, a vent air temperature, a compressor speed, an air system duct door position, a vent position, or a climate-controlled surface setting (Patil at Para. [0080] discloses regulating parameters of a vehicle climate system:” controller 62 executing the above thermal comfort model in the context of the anticipated passenger 10 and the interior 20 of the vehicle 14 … the vehicle 14 includes the air blower 38 to blow air into the interior 20 of the vehicle 14, and the air blower 38 is configured to blow air at different power levels. In other words, the power level of the blower 38 can be adjusted to increase or decrease the volume of air that the blower 38 blows per unit of time.”).
As per claim 18, Patil and Nakashima disclose a system of claim 13, wherein the vehicle control system is further operable to receive one or more inputs from one or more vehicle sensors, and wherein the environmental condition data comprises the one or more inputs (Patil at Figure 4, inputs 32-39, 64 & 82, and Para. [0059] discloses processing input signal useful for developing and implementing a thermal model:” the controller 62 is in communication and accepts data from the interior temperature sensor 32, the exterior temperature sensor 36, the relative humidity sensor 34, the exterior camera 37, and the thermal infrared camera 39, if included. Moreover, as discussed further below, the controller 62 is in communication with and controls the blower 38, and thus the level at which the blower 38 is blowing air into the interior 20, from which, as discussed above, the velocity of the air flowing through the interior 20 can be estimated.”).
As per claim 19, Patil and Nakashima disclose a system of claim 13, wherein the first model excludes consideration of the physiological status of the occupant (Patil at Para. [0079] discloses developing a model which does not include the physiological status of the vehicle occupant since the passenger has not yet entered the vehicle:” controller 62 executing the above thermal comfort model in the context of the anticipated passenger 10 and the interior 20 of the vehicle 14 should estimate the mean radiant temperature of the interior 20 of the vehicle 14.”).
As per claim 20, Patil and Nakashima disclose a system of claim 13, wherein the second model is selectively enabled via a user interface provided by the vehicle control system (Patil at Para. [0056] discloses an interface for the user to change the setting in the interior of vehicle:” the vehicle 14 includes a temperature control device 47 within the seat 22 that can be controlled to selectively raise or lower the temperature of the seat 22. The temperature control device 47 can be a heater (operating on the basis of electrical resistance, heated air, or otherwise), a cooler (operating on the basis of cooled air or otherwise), or a Peltier device that can selectively heat or cool depending on the direction of current flow, among other options.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3658