CTNF 18/458,049 CTNF 102104 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-fti The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-fti This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a), the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned at the time any inventions covered therein were made absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and invention dates of each claim that was not commonly owned at the time a later invention was made in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(c) and potential pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e), (f) or (g) prior art under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a). 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al. (US 9,136,538 B2; “Byun ’538”) and in view of Byun et al. (US 8,632,911 B2; Byun ‘911”) . Claim 1: Byun ’538 teaches a rechargeable battery comprising an electrode assembly including a first electrode plate 12, a separator 13, and a second electrode plate 11 (col. 4, lines 58-59), a case 40 containing the electrode assembly (col. 5, lines 52-53), a first current collector plate 30 connecting the first electrode (plate 12) to a terminal at one side (the bottom) of the battery (Col. 5 line 57 to Col. 6 line 8; Fig. 2), a bent plate 52 sealing an opening at another side of the case (Col. 4, lines 55-56; Col. 8, lines 15-16; Fig. 2), a second current collector plate 20 connecting the second electrode (plate 11) to a beading portion 43 of the case inside the bent plate (Col. 8, lines 10-15; Fig. 2), and a gasket 51 between the second current collector plate and the bent plate and between the bent plate and the case to seal the case with a crimping portion 44 connected to the beading portion 43 (Col. 8, lines 16-18; Fig. 2). Byun ’538 does not teach an electrode terminal in a first opening at the bottom insulated from the case. Byun ’911 teaches first and second terminals 21 and 22 penetrating the cap plate 28, wherein gaskets 36 and 39 are installed between the terminals and the cap plate to seal and insulate the terminals from the case (Col. 4, lines 37-40; Fig. 2). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the rechargeable battery of Byun ’538 to incorporate the insulated terminal configuration of Byun ’911 into the battery of Byun ’538 to provide an electrode terminal insulated from the case at a dedicated opening, as both references are directed to rechargeable batteries and such a modification would predictably improve terminal accessibility and electrical isolation. Claim 8: Byun ’538 teaches a bent plate 52 having a hollow part under the external terminal 52a, wherein the cap plate structure includes a notch-type recess at the inner surface as shown in Fig. 2 (element 421). Claim 9: Byun ’538 teaches the electrode assembly 10 “may be formed by circular spiral winding” (col. 5, lines 47-51), which reads directly on a jelly roll form . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al. (US 9,136,538 B2; “Byun ’538”) in view of Byun et al. (US 8,632,911 B2; Byun ‘911”) and further in view of Hwangbo et al. (US 2022/0231345 A1; “Hwangbo ‘345”) . Claim 2: Byun ’538 teaches the current collector plate 20 having a side portion 22 (i.e., wing portion) extending toward the electrode uncoated portion from edges of the base portion (col. 6, lines 20-33), which contacts the beading portion 43 of the case. Byun ’538 does not expressly teach the wing portion welded to the beading portion with a gasket escape groove accommodating the wing portion; rather, Byun ‘538 discloses an insulating plate 47 between the current collector plate 20 and the beading portion 43 (col.8, lines 13-15), such that the side portion 22 does not contact or weld to the beading. Hwangbo ‘345 teaches the can coupling portion 83a of the second current collector 80 welded onto the flat portion of the beading, with the gasket providing a corresponding escape groove that accommodates the wing portion (Fig. 13; [0263]; [0261]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of this application to weld the side portion 22 of Byun ‘538 to the beading and to provide the gasket escape groove as taught by Hwangbo ‘345, because Hwangbo ‘345 teaches that coupling the current collector onto the flat portion of the beading provides stable contact and smooth, low-resistance welding ([0261]). Claim 3: Byun ’538 teaches the beading portion 43 “disposed at a lower position of the cap assembly 50 to be recessed inward” (col. 7, lines 58-60), and further teaches that an insulating plate 47 is disposed between the beading portion 43 and the current collector plate 20 (col. 8, lines 12-15), establishing that the current collector plate interfaces directly at the beading portion. Byun ’538 does not expressly teach the wing portion welded to the flat portion on the upper side of the inwardly convex curved portion of the beading. Hwangbo ’345, directed to the same dual-opening cylindrical battery in which the case is electrically connected to the second electrode through a beading portion, teaches a beading portion 21 having an innermost portion 21c located at the innermost side along the press-fitting direction (i.e., an inwardly convex curved portion) and a lower beading portion 21b including “a flat portion substantially parallel to the closed portion” ([0182]; Fig. 13), wherein the can coupling portion 83a of the second current collector 80 is coupled and welded onto that flat portion at the lower surface of the beading portion because Hwangbo ‘345 teaches that this coupling provides a stable contact and smooth, low-resistance welding ([0263]; [0261]; Fig. 13). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the beading portion of Byun ’538 with the flat portion on the upper side of the inwardly convex curved portion as taught by Hwangbo ’345 and to weld the wing portion of the second current collector plate thereto, because Hwangbo ’345 teaches that coupling the current collector onto the flat portion of the beading provides stable contact and smooth, low-resistance welding, a predictable result in the same field of cylindrical battery current collection. The recitation “upper side” in the claimed language is a relative orientation term; when Hwangbo ’345 is viewed in the orientation of the instant application (closure end uppermost), the flat portion lies on the upper side of the inwardly convex curved portion (see annotated Fig. 13 below). PNG media_image1.png 335 549 media_image1.png Greyscale Claim 4: Byun ‘538 teaches a gasket 51 interposed between the beading portion 43 and the crimping portion 44 sealing the cap assembly to the case (col. 7, lines 58-67). Byun ‘538 does not teach a compression portion on the gasket contacting the flat portion of the beading outside the escape groove in the radial direction. In the combination of Byun ‘538 and Hwangbo ‘345 set forth above, Hwangbo ‘345 teaches the sealing gasket 90 contacting the flat portion 21b of the lower beading radially outside the wing-accommodating escape groove, providing a compression portion that bears against the flat portion to secure sealing and airtightness under compression ([0263]; [0189]; Fig. 13). The gasket thereby defines distinct compression and accommodation regions in the radial direction – the compression portion contacting the flat portion outside the escape groove, and the escape groove accommodating the wing portion – as claimed. Claim 5 : Byun ’538 does not teach the specific angular geometry of the escape groove. In the combination, the escape groove accommodates the wing portion, which seats on the horizontal flat portion of the beading and bends inward and downward along the inwardly convex curved portion (Hwangbo ’345, Fig. 13). Hwangbo ‘345 teaches the escape groove having a right angle at the side adjoining the compression portion (i.e., at the horizontal flat region) (Fig. 13), and Byun ‘538 shows the inner side of the gasket in the radial direction having an obtuse angle (Fig. 2), following the inwardly convex curved portion. The combination therefore teaches the claimed escape-groove geometry- a right angle at the side adjoining the compressions portion and an obtuse angle at the inner side in the radial direction. Claim 6: Byun ’538 teaches a gasket 51 having an inner periphery that is vertical as shown in Fig. 2, i.e., a through hole extending from the upper surface to the lower surface of the gasket at a right angle. In the combination set forth above, this through hole is positioned radially inside the escape groove and extends vertically through the gasket, avoiding interference between the gasket and the second current collector plate. Claim 7: As noted by the instant application Fig. 4, element 56 shows the convex portion of the gasket extending the through hole. Byun ’538 teaches a gasket 51 with inner periphery geometry at the beading interface (Fig. 2). As shown in Figure 2, the bottom corner of the gasket 51 of Byun ‘538 is convex and extends the through hole by forming part of the thickness of the gasket at the beading interface; this convex portion extending the through hole is therefore taught by Byun ‘538 and is present in the combination set forth above. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ATEF A SHAT whose telephone number is (571)270-0364. The examiner can normally be reached 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Cleveland can be reached at 5712721418. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ATEF A SHAT/Examiner, Art Unit 1712 /MICHAEL B CLEVELAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1712 Application/Control Number: 18/458,049 Page 2 Art Unit: 1712 Application/Control Number: 18/458,049 Page 3 Art Unit: 1712 Application/Control Number: 18/458,049 Page 4 Art Unit: 1712 Application/Control Number: 18/458,049 Page 5 Art Unit: 1712