Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group V with claims 1, 10, 14-16 and 19-20 in the reply filed on October 7, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2018/0352282 by Lin.
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a first device (para. 18 – see system), comprising: a processor assembly (para. 18 – see processor); and storage accessible to the processor assembly and comprising instructions executable by the processor assembly to (para. 18 – see memory): facilitate a racing simulation (para. 35 – see racing video game); receive biometric input associated with a user (para. 36 – see observed user reactions through biometric sensors); and based on the biometric input, provide one or more outputs related to the racing simulation (para. 36 – see the modified vehicle behaviors based on the biometric input).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 14-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and further in view of U.S. Pub. 2022/0047951 by Mehdi.
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses providing force feedback (para. 23) and a steering wheel input device (para. 42). However, Lin does not explicitly disclose providing force feedback at a steering wheel as part of facilitating the racing simulation. Mehdi discloses this at para. 49. Because the references are from a similar art and concerned with a similar problem, see vehicle simulation games, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to construct Lin with Mehdi’s force feedback. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to do so because doing so allows for a more immersive user environment.
Regarding claim 14, Lin discloses a racing simulation as noted above however Lin is silent regarding control an electronic seat belt as part of the racing simulation. Mehdi discloses this at para. 49. Because the references are from a similar art and concerned with a similar problem, see vehicle simulation games, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to construct Lin with Mehdi’s force feedback. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to do so because doing so allows for a more immersive user environment.
Regarding claim 15, Mehdi discloses the first device of Claim 14, wherein the instructions are executable to: control the electronic seat belt to tighten at a first seat belt anchor point (para. 49 – see seat belt feedback control).
Regarding claim 16, Mehdi discloses the first device of Claim 14, comprising the electronic seat belt (para. 49 – see seat belt feedback control).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, these claims are rejected as noted above regarding claim 10 and/or claim 14.
Conclusion
/PETER J IANNUZZI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715