DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 in the reply filed on 1/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US patent publication US 20160351540 A1 (Ogiso et al hereinafter Ogiso).
Regarding claim 1, Ogiso discloses a bonding-type interconnection member (the interconnection member of FIG. 1 ¶ [0004]), comprising: a first substrate (FIG. 1, lower semiconductor substrate 8 ¶ [0013]); a first interconnection portion (FIG. 1, second insulating layer 4 and passivation film 5 are stacked on substrate 8 and form an interconnection portion ¶ [0013]) stacked on the first substrate and including a first insulating layer (FIG. 1, second insulating layer 4 includes insulating SiO2 and passivation film 5 may include SiN ¶ [0018]), a first interconnection layer (FIG. 1, aluminum pad 40 is an interconnection layer in insulating layer 4 ¶ [0018]) provided in the first insulating layer, and a first connection hole (FIG. 1, a connection hole in film 5 reaches aluminum pad 40) reaching the first interconnection layer from a surface of the first insulating layer; a second substrate (FIG. 1, upper semiconductor substrate 8 ¶ [0013]) facing the first interconnection portion in a first direction (a vertical direction in the context of FIG. 1);
a bonding metal portion (FIG. 1, first Ni electrode 6 is vertically between connection hole in film 5 and upper substrate 8 ¶ [0019]) provided between the first connection hole and the second substrate in the first direction; a first conductive film (FIG. 1, barrier metal film 60 is in the connection hole and contacts aluminum pad 40 ¶ [0020]) provided in the first connection hole and in contact with the first interconnection layer on a bottom surface of the first connection hole; and a second conductive film (FIG. 1, Cu diffusion region 61 is between metal film 60 and Ni electrode 6 ¶ [0020]) provided between the first conductive film and the bonding metal portion, and in contact with the first conductive film and the bonding metal portion (FIG. 1, Cu diffusion region 61 contact both metal film 60 and Ni electrode 6), the first conductive film being made of a material different from a material of the second conductive film and a material of the bonding metal portion (first conductive film being metal film 60 formed of Ti, second conductive film being Cu diffusion region 61 formed of Cu, and Ni electrode 6 being formed of Ni, film 60 has a different material from region 61 and electrode 6 ¶ [0019-0020]).
Regarding claim 2, Ogiso discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, and further discloses that the first conductive film includes a first portion (FIG. 1, barrier metal film 60 includes a central portion in the connection hole in passivation film 5) located in the first connection hole and a second portion (FIG. 1, barrier metal film 60 includes outer portions that are on the surface of passivation film 5) located on the surface of the first insulating layer, the bonding metal portion includes a first metal portion (FIG. 1, first Ni electrode 6 includes a central portion in the connection hole in passivation film 5) located in the first connection hole and a second metal portion (FIG. 1, first Ni electrode 6 includes outer portions that are above the surface of passivation film 5) facing the second portion of the first conductive film, and the second conductive film is in contact with the first conductive film and the bonding metal portion between the second metal portion and the second portion (FIG. 1, Cu diffusion region 61 is between barrier metal film 60 and first Ni electrode 6 at the outer regions above the surface of passivation film 5).
Regarding claim 3, Ogiso discloses the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above, and further discloses that the second conductive film is in contact with the first conductive film and the bonding metal portion between a side surface of the first metal portion and the first portion (FIG. 1, “side surfaces” of the “first metal portion” and “first portion” are defined by parts of barrier metal film 60 and first Ni electrode 6 that are arranged at the edges of the connection hole in film 5; Cu diffusion region 61 is between barrier metal film 60 and first Ni electrode 6 at those edges).
Regarding claim 6, Ogiso discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, and further discloses a second interconnection portion (FIG. 1, upper protective film 80 is stacked on the bottom side of upper substrate 8 ¶ [0014]) stacked on the second substrate, located between the first interconnection portion and the second substrate in the first direction (FIG. 1, upper protective film 80 is vertically between upper substrate 8 and passivation film 5), and including a second insulating layer (FIG. 1, upper protective film 80 is a second insulating layer formed of SiN ¶ [0014]), a second interconnection layer (FIG. 1, an upper portion of barrier metal film 90, which is made up of the upper half of the portion of film 90 formed along the upper edge of upper protective film 80 ¶ [0022]; it provides interconnection to through electrode 81) provided in the second insulating layer, and a second connection hole (FIG. 1, upper protective film 80 has a connection hole that reaches the upper portion of barrier metal film 90) reaching the second interconnection layer from a surface of the second insulating layer; a third conductive film (FIG. 1, barrier metal film 90, excluding the uppermost portion designated as the second interconnection layer ¶ [0022]) provided in the second connection hole and in contact with the second interconnection layer on a bottom surface of the second connection hole (FIG. 1, the “third conductive film” portion of barrier metal film 90 contacts the “second interconnection layer” portion of barrier metal film 90 on the bottom surface of the connection hole); and a fourth conductive film (FIG. 1, Cu diffusion region 91 is a conductive film between barrier metal film 90 and first Ni electrode 6, ¶ [0022]) provided between the third conductive film and the bonding metal portion, and in contact with the third conductive film and the bonding metal portion (FIG. 1, Cu diffusion region 91 is in electrical contact with both barrier metal film 90 and first Ni electrode 6), wherein the third conductive film is made of a material different from a material of the fourth conductive film and the material of the bonding metal portion (third conductive film being metal film 90 formed of Ti, fourth conductive film being Cu diffusion region 91 formed of Cu, and Ni electrode 6 being formed of Ni, film 90 has a different material from region 91 and electrode 6 ¶ [0019, 0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent publication US 20240186291 A1 (Kim et al hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a bonding-type interconnection member (FIGS. 1-2A and 12C which illustrate a detailed view of an interconnection member and a stacking of two interconnection members ¶ [0006-0007, 0017, 0103]), comprising: a first substrate (FIG. 12C, lower body 10L, also body 10 of FIG. 2A ¶ [0030-0031, 0103]); a first interconnection portion (FIG. 2A, front-side passivation layer 21 stacked on body 10 ¶ [0035-0036]) stacked on the first substrate and including a first insulating layer (FIG. 2A, front-side passivation layer 21 is an insulating layer ¶ [0035-0036]), a first interconnection layer (FIG. 2A, a lower portion of UBM layer 41 functions as an interconnection layer to connect the rest of UBM layer 41 with top metal pattern 13 ¶ [0045]; see also annotated FIG. 2A below for further clarity) provided in the first insulating layer, and a first connection hole (FIG. 2A, a connection hole in passivation layer 21 reaches the interconnection layer portion of UBM layer 41) reaching the first interconnection layer from a surface of the first insulating layer; a second substrate (FIG. 12C, upper body 10U faces the passivation portion above lower body 10L) facing the first interconnection portion in a first direction (in the context of FIGS. 2A and 12C, a vertical direction);
a bonding metal portion (FIG. 2A, an upper region of front-side pad pattern 45, excluding some central regions of first and third portions 46 and 48 ¶ [0035], is between the connection hole in passivation layer 21 and the upper body 10U of FIG. 12C; see annotated FIG. 2A below for further clarity) provided between the first connection hole and the second substrate in the first direction; a first conductive film (FIG. 2A, UBM layer 41 excluding the portion designated the first interconnection layer; see annotated FIG. 2A below for further clarity) provided in the first connection hole and in contact with the first interconnection layer on a bottom surface of the first connection hole (annotated FIG. 2A, the first conductive film portion of UBM layer 41 is in contact with the first interconnection layer of UBM layer 41 and on a bottom surface of the connection hole); and a second conductive film (annotated FIG. 2A, some central regions of first and third portions 46 and 48 are between UBM layer 41 and upper regions of pad pattern 46, such as second portion 47 ¶ [0038]) provided between the first conductive film and the bonding metal portion, and in contact with the first conductive film and the bonding metal portion (annotated FIG. 2A, the second conductive film portions of pad pattern 45 are in contact with bonding metal portion of pad pattern 45 and first conduction film portion of UBM layer 41).
Kim did not explicitly state that the first conductive film being made of a material different from a material of the second conductive film and a material of the bonding metal portion. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to select among the disclosed materials of Kim a configuration wherein the first conductive film is made of a material (UBM layer 41m, which is partially removed to become UBM layer 41 and forms first conductive film, may be formed of titanium ¶ [0086, 0091]) different from a material of the second conductive film and a material of the bonding metal portion (front-side lower pad portion 48 and the front-side intermediate pad portion 46, which for the second conductive film and bonding metal portion, may be formed of copper ¶ [0088]), and a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have been motivated to select such materials in view of changing market conditions and materials costs.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, and further discloses that the first conductive film includes a first portion (FIG. 2A, a central portion of UBM layer 41 in the hole in passivation layer 21) located in the first connection hole and a second portion (FIG. 2A, outer portions of UBM layer 41 on an upper surface of passivation layer 21) located on the surface of the first insulating layer, the bonding metal portion includes a first metal portion (annotated FIG. 2A, a lower central portion of the bonding metal portion of pad pattern 45 located in the hole in passivation layer 21) located in the first connection hole and a second metal portion (FIG. 2A, outer portions of the bonding metal portion of pad pattern 45 located outside the hole in passivation layer 21 that face the outer “second portion” of UBM layer 41) facing the second portion of the first conductive film, and the second conductive film is in contact with the first conductive film and the bonding metal portion between the second metal portion and the second portion (annotated FIG. 2A, the second conductive film portion of pad pattern 45 is between outer [but not outermost] regions of the “the second portion” of “the first conductive film” portion of UBM layer 41 and “the second metal portion” of the “bonding metal portion” of pad pattern 45).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above, and further discloses that the bonding metal portion has a portion where the second metal portion and the second portion are in direct contact with each other (annotated FIG. 2A, outermost regions of UBM layer 41 and pad pattern 45 are designated as “the second portion” and “the second metal portion”, and are in direct contact with each other).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent publication US 20160351540 A1 (Ogiso et al hereinafter Ogiso) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20210407942 A1 (Yu et al hereinafter Yu).
Ogiso discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, and further discloses a plurality of the bonding metal portions (FIG. 1, multiple first Ni electrodes 6 are provided side by side in a horizontal direction ¶ [0019]) are provided side by side in a direction orthogonal to the first direction (FIG. 1, the horizontal direction is orthogonal to the vertical direction), a plurality of the second conductive films (FIG. 1, multiple Cu diffusion regions 61 are separated from each other and provided under Ni electrodes 6 ¶ [0020]) are separated from each other and respectively provided under the plurality of bonding metal portions, but does not further explicitly teach that the first conductive film electrically connects the plurality of bonding metal portions to each other via the second conductive films.
However, Yu discloses a bonding structure in a semiconductor device (FIGS. 1A-6, bonded wafers 50 and 70 ¶ [0004, 0016, 0034]) wherein a plurality of bonding metal portions (FIG. 2, the two leftmost conductive pads 66 ¶ [0032]) are provided side by side in a direction orthogonal to a first direction (FIGS. 1A-2, a first direction is vertical, and a direction orthogonal to that is horizontal), a plurality of the second conductive films (FIG. 2, two leftmost pads 62 are separated from each other under conductive pads 66 ¶ [0030]) are separated from each other and respectively provided under the plurality of bonding metal portions, and a first conductive film (FIGS. 1A-2, interconnect structure 60 includes line 67B which connects to two leftmost pads 62 ¶ [0021]) electrically connects the plurality of bonding metal portions to each other via the second conductive films (FIGS. 1A-2, line 67B of interconnect structure 60 electrically connects to the two leftmost conductive pads 66 through two leftmost pads 62). Yu also teaches that the interconnect structures connect lower devices (FIGS. 1A-2, devices 54 ¶ [0020]) to form an integrated circuit, which is also formed in the device of Ogiso (Ogiso ¶ [0015]).
Ogiso and Yu both pertain to the field of semiconductor devices including bonding-type interconnection members, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Ogiso in view of Yu such that the first conductive film electrically connects the plurality of bonding metal portions to each other via the second conductive films, in order to form an integrated circuit wherein a plurality of bonding metal portions are electrically connected by means of a first conductive film and second conductive films, since Yu has demonstrated that such a configuration is both known in the art and may be implemented depending on the intended performance characteristics of the device.
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent US 11063012 B1 (Shih) in view of Ogiso.
Regarding claim 1, Shih discloses a bonding-type interconnection member, comprising: a first substrate (FIG. 1, substrate 101 Col. 4 lines 25-36); a first interconnection portion (FIG. 1, second dielectric layer 105 and third dielectric layer 107 Col. 4 lines 25-36) stacked on the first substrate and including a first insulating layer (FIG. 1, third dielectric layer 107 Col. 4 lines 25-36), a first interconnection layer (FIG. 1, conductive via 106 Col. 4 lines 25-36) provided in the first insulating layer, and a first connection hole (FIG. 1, a hole in third dielectric layer 107 reaches conductive via 106 from an upper surface of third dielectric layer 107) reaching the first interconnection layer from a surface of the first insulating layer;
a bonding metal portion (FIG. 1, conductive bump 109 Col. 7 lines 46-56); a first conductive film (FIG. 1, barrier layer 108b Col. 7 lines 8-14) provided in the first connection hole and in contact with the first interconnection layer on a bottom surface of the first connection hole (FIG. 1, barrier layer 108b contacts 106 on the bottom of the connection hole); and a second conductive film (FIG. 1, conductive member 108c is between and in contact with barrier layer 108b and conductive bump 109) provided between the first conductive film and the bonding metal portion, and in contact with the first conductive film and the bonding metal portion.
Shih does not explicitly state that the first conductive film being made of a material different from a material of the second conductive film and a material of the bonding metal portion. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to select among the disclosed materials of Shih a configuration wherein the first conductive film is made of a material (barrier layer 108b may be formed of titanium nitride Col. 7 lines 8-14) different from a material of the second conductive film (conductive member 108c may be formed of palladium Col. 7 lines 24-35) and a material of the bonding metal portion (conductive bump may be formed of gold Col. 7 lines 46-56), and a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have been motivated to select such materials in view of changing market conditions and materials costs.
Shih does not further disclose a second substrate facing the first interconnection portion in a first direction, or that the bonding metal portion is provided between the first connection hole and the second substrate in the first direction; Shih does mention that the conductive bump is used to connect the device of Shih to an external structure (Col. 7 lines 46-56).
Further, Ogiso discloses a bonding-type interconnection member (the interconnection member of FIG. 1 ¶ [0004]), comprising: a first substrate (FIG. 1, lower semiconductor substrate 8 ¶ [0013]); a first interconnection portion (FIG. 1, second insulating layer 4 and passivation film 5 are stacked on substrate 8 and form an interconnection portion ¶ [0013]) stacked on the first substrate and including a first insulating layer (FIG. 1, second insulating layer 4 includes insulating SiO2 and passivation film 5 may include SiN ¶ [0018]), a first interconnection layer (FIG. 1, aluminum pad 40 is an interconnection layer in insulating layer 4 ¶ [0018]) provided in the first insulating layer, and a first connection hole (FIG. 1, a connection hole in film 5 reaches aluminum pad 40) reaching the first interconnection layer from a surface of the first insulating layer; a second substrate (FIG. 1, upper semiconductor substrate 8 ¶ [0013]) facing the first interconnection portion in a first direction (a vertical direction in the context of FIG. 1); and a bonding metal portion (FIG. 1, first Ni electrode 6 is vertically between connection hole in film 5 and upper substrate 8 ¶ [0019]) provided between the first connection hole and the second substrate in the first direction. Ogiso also teaches that this configuration is arrived at by having the bonding metal portion connect first substrate 10 to second substrate 11, which combines semiconductor elements and integrated circuits and reduces a planar mounting area of the device along length/width directions (¶ [0003, 0009]).
Shih and Ogiso both pertain to the field of semiconductor devices including bonding-type interconnection members, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Shih in view of Ogiso to include a second substrate facing the first interconnection portion in a first direction, and the bonding metal portion is provided between the first connection hole and the second substrate in the first direction, in order to reduce planar mounting area of a stacked device combining semiconductor elements and integrated circuits along length/width directions, as taught by Ogiso.
Regarding claim 10, Shih in view of Ogiso discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, and they further disclose that the bonding metal portion mainly contains gold (conductive bump may be formed of gold Col. 7 lines 46-56), the first conductive film mainly contains titanium nitride (barrier layer 108b may be formed of titanium nitride Col. 7 lines 8-14), and the second conductive film mainly contains palladium, titanium, or a stacked film of a palladium film and a titanium film (conductive member 108c may be formed of palladium Col. 7 lines 24-35).
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US patent publications US 20180350760 A1, US 20170103942 A1, US 20160013099 A1, and US 20040061238 A1.
Conclusion
/E.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813