DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 9-13, 15-18, and 20-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, 16, 22 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims include a minor typographical error. Specifically, claims 1, 10, 16 recite “wherein a first audio and/or video steam of the first segment is substantially the same…” Similarly, claim 22 recites “wherein the first audio and/or video steam of the first segment…” For examination purposes, “steam” is interpreted as “stream”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-13, 15-18, 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quennesson (US Pub. 2018/0025078) in view of Tzoukermann et al. (US Pub. 2019/0260969) and in further view of Chen et al. (US Pub. 2016/0014482), herein referenced as Quennesson, Tzoukermann, and Chen respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Quennesson discloses “A method for dynamically generating replay clips for key events that occur, the method comprising, at a computing device: …receiving a plurality of key events; and for each key event of the plurality of key events: analyzing at least one segment of the plurality of segments against the key event to determine starting and ending points for a replay clip for the key event, and generating the replay clip based on (i) the media content, and (ii) the starting and ending points for the replay clip.” ([0062]-[0069], Fig. 3, i.e., a video highlight creator 380 determines key moments of a video broadcast stream based on correlated social media engagement. A video analyzer 322 is further able to determine the starting and ending points for the video highlights 381).
Quennesson fails to explicitly disclose analyzing media content to detect transitions in the media content; determining, based on the detected transitions, starting and ending points for each of a plurality of segments of the media content; after determining the starting and end points for each of the plurality of segments, tagging each of the plurality of segments with a respective at least one classification that describes a nature of the segment; wherein the replay clip is further generated by: adding, to the replay clip, a first segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the first segment, identifying a second segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the second segment.
Tzoukermann teaches the technique of analyzing media content to detect transitions in the media content; determining, based on the detected transitions, starting and ending points for each of a plurality of segments of the media content; after determining the starting and end points for each of the plurality of segments, tagging each of the plurality of segments with a respective at least one classification that describes a nature of the segment; wherein the replay clip is further generated by: adding, to the replay clip, a first segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the first segment, identifying a second segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the second segment ([0006], [0030], [0039]-[0041], Fig. 3, i.e., the video processing device may analyze frames of the content stream to identify program boundaries within the stream using a transition in the content stream. Once the video portion has been segmented, the segments may be classified to separate television show segments from commercial segments. Segments of the same content type may be merged together sequentially to form a single video content item).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of analyzing media content to detect transitions in the media content; determining, based on the detected transitions, starting and ending points for each of a plurality of segments of the media content; after determining the starting and end points for each of the plurality of segments, tagging each of the plurality of segments with a respective at least one classification that describes a nature of the segment; wherein the replay clip is further generated by: adding, to the replay clip, a first segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the first segment, identifying a second segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the second segment as taught by Tzoukermann, to improve the highlight replay system of Quennesson for the predictable result of automatically segmenting and classifying video streams without using manual judgment and determinations ([0004]).
The combination still fails to disclose avoiding redundancy in the replay clip by omitting the second segment from the replay clip, wherein a first audio and/or video steam of the first segment is substantially the same as a second audio and/or video stream of the second segment.
Chen teaches the technique of avoiding redundancy in the replay clip by omitting the second segment from the replay clip, wherein a first audio and/or video steam of the first segment is substantially the same as a second audio and/or video stream of the second segment ([0186], i.e., similar video clips can be determined using techniques including (but not limited to) by applying thresholds to similarity measurements and/or using decision trees to determine similarity based upon similarity measurements. In numerous embodiments, a duplicate removal process can exclude video clips that are too similar to other video clips from being included in the video summary sequence). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of avoiding redundancy in the replay clip by omitting the second segment from the replay clip, wherein a first audio and/or video steam of the first segment is substantially the same as a second audio and/or video stream of the second segment as taught by Chen, to improve the highlight replay system of Quennesson for the predictable result of identifying and excluding duplicate video clips thus creating a more concise and condensed highlight replay.
Regarding claim 2, Quennesson fails to explicitly disclose “wherein analyzing the media content to detect transitions in the media content further includes: analyzing an optical flow of the media content to detect the transitions in the media content.”
Tzoukermann teaches the technique of analyzing an optical flow of the media content to detect the transitions in the media content ([0030], [0035]-[0039], i.e., identifying transitions in a video program). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of analyzing an optical flow of the media content to detect the transitions in the media content as taught by Tzoukermann, to improve the highlight replay system of Quennesson for the predictable result of automatically segmenting and classifying video streams without using manual judgment and determinations ([0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Quennesson fails to explicitly disclose “wherein analyzing the media content to detect transitions in the media content further includes: analyzing audio data of the media content to detect the transitions in the media content.”
Tzoukermann teaches the technique of analyzing audio data of the media content to detect the transitions in the media content ([0007], [0039], [0041]-[0042], i.e., transition may comprise particular audio content). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of analyzing audio data of the media content to detect the transitions in the media content as taught by Tzoukermann, to improve the highlight replay system of Quennesson for the predictable result of automatically segmenting and classifying video streams without using manual judgment and determinations ([0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Quennesson discloses “wherein the media content comprises media content from a plurality of different video sources.” ([0004]-[0007], i.e., broadcast streams from different geographic locations).
Regarding claim 9, the combination fails to explicitly disclose “tagging each of the plurality of segments with the respective at least one classification based on one or more of a type of the media content, a type of an event to which the media content corresponds, or a type of a device that generates the media content.”
Tzoukermann teaches the technique of tagging each of the plurality of segments with the respective at least one classification based on one or more of a type of the media content, a type of an event to which the media content corresponds, or a type of a device that generates the media content ([0006], [0030], [0039]-[0041], Fig. 3, i.e., the video processing device may analyze frames of the content stream to identify program boundaries within the stream using a transition in the content stream. Once the video portion has been segmented, the segments may be classified to separate television show segments from commercial segments).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of tagging each of the plurality of segments with the respective at least one classification based on one or more of a type of the media content, a type of an event to which the media content corresponds, or a type of a device that generates the media content as taught by Tzoukermann, to improve the highlight replay system of Quennesson for the predictable result of automatically segmenting and classifying video streams without using manual judgment and determinations ([0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Quennesson discloses “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium configured to store instructions that, when executed by a processor included in a computing device, cause the computing device to generate replay clips for key events that occur ([0098]-[0099], Fig. 8), by carrying out steps that include: …receiving a plurality of key events; and for each key event of the plurality of key events: analyzing at least one segment of the plurality of segments against the key event to determine starting and ending points for a replay clip for the key event, and generating the replay clip based on (i) the media content, and (ii) the starting and ending points for the replay clip.” ([0062]-[0069], Fig. 3, i.e., a video highlight creator 380 determines key moments of a video broadcast stream based on correlated social media engagement. A video analyzer 322 is further able to determine the starting and ending points for the video highlights 381).
Quennesson fails to explicitly disclose analyzing media content to detect transitions in the media content; determining, based on the detected transitions, starting and ending points for each of a plurality of segments of the media content; after determining the starting and ending points for each of the plurality of segments, tagging each of the plurality of segments with a respective at least one classification that describes a nature of the segment; wherein the replay clip is further generated by: adding, to the replay clip, a first segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the first segment, identifying a second segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the second segment.
Tzoukermann teaches the technique of analyzing media content to detect transitions in the media content; determining, based on the detected transitions, starting and ending points for each of a plurality of segments of the media content; after determining the starting and ending points for each of the plurality of segments, tagging each of the plurality of segments with a respective at least one classification that describes a nature of the segment; wherein the replay clip is further generated by: adding, to the replay clip, a first segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the first segment, identifying a second segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the second segment ([0006], [0030], [0039]-[0041], Fig. 3, i.e., the video processing device may analyze frames of the content stream to identify program boundaries within the stream using a transition in the content stream. Once the video portion has been segmented, the segments may be classified to separate television show segments from commercial segments. Segments of the same content type may be merged together sequentially to form a single video content item).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of analyzing media content to detect transitions in the media content; determining, based on the detected transitions, starting and ending points for each of a plurality of segments of the media content; after determining the starting and ending points for each of the plurality of segments, tagging each of the plurality of segments with a respective at least one classification that describes a nature of the segment; wherein the replay clip is further generated by: adding, to the replay clip, a first segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the first segment, identifying a second segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the second segment as taught by Tzoukermann, to improve the highlight replay system of Quennesson for the predictable result of automatically segmenting and classifying video streams without using manual judgment and determinations ([0004]).
The combination still fails to disclose avoiding redundancy in the replay clip by omitting the second segment from the replay clip, wherein a first audio and/or video steam of the first segment is substantially the same as a second audio and/or video stream of the second segment.
Chen teaches the technique of avoiding redundancy in the replay clip by omitting the second segment from the replay clip, wherein a first audio and/or video steam of the first segment is substantially the same as a second audio and/or video stream of the second segment ([0186], i.e., similar video clips can be determined using techniques including (but not limited to) by applying thresholds to similarity measurements and/or using decision trees to determine similarity based upon similarity measurements. In numerous embodiments, a duplicate removal process can exclude video clips that are too similar to other video clips from being included in the video summary sequence). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of avoiding redundancy in the replay clip by omitting the second segment from the replay clip, wherein a first audio and/or video steam of the first segment is substantially the same as a second audio and/or video stream of the second segment as taught by Chen, to improve the highlight replay system of Quennesson for the predictable result of identifying and excluding duplicate video clips thus creating a more concise and condensed highlight replay.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 16, Quennesson discloses “A computing device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to generate replay clips for key events that occur ([0098]-[0099], Fig. 8), by carrying out steps that include: …receiving a plurality of key events; and for each key event of the plurality of key events: analyzing at least one segment of the plurality of segments against the key event to determine starting and ending points for a replay clip for the key event, and generating the replay clip based on (i) the media content, and (ii) the starting and ending points for the replay clip.” ([0062]-[0069], Fig. 3, i.e., a video highlight creator 380 determines key moments of a video broadcast stream based on correlated social media engagement. A video analyzer 322 is further able to determine the starting and ending points for the video highlights 381).
Quennesson fails to explicitly disclose analyzing media content to detect transitions in the media content; determining, based on the detected transitions, starting and ending points for each of a plurality of segments of the media content; after determining the starting and ending points for each of the plurality of segments, tagging each of the plurality of segments with a respective at least one classification that describes a nature of the segment; wherein the replay clip is further generated by: adding, to the replay clip, a first segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the first segment, identifying a second segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the second segment.
Tzoukermann teaches the technique of analyzing media content to detect transitions in the media content; determining, based on the detected transitions, starting and ending points for each of a plurality of segments of the media content; after determining the starting and ending points for each of the plurality of segments, tagging each of the plurality of segments with a respective at least one classification that describes a nature of the segment; wherein the replay clip is further generated by: adding, to the replay clip, a first segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the first segment, identifying a second segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the second segment ([0006], [0030], [0039]-[0041], Fig. 3, i.e., the video processing device may analyze frames of the content stream to identify program boundaries within the stream using a transition in the content stream. Once the video portion has been segmented, the segments may be classified to separate television show segments from commercial segments. Segments of the same content type may be merged together sequentially to form a single video content item).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of analyzing media content to detect transitions in the media content; determining, based on the detected transitions, starting and ending points for each of a plurality of segments of the media content; after determining the starting and ending points for each of the plurality of segments, tagging each of the plurality of segments with a respective at least one classification that describes a nature of the segment; wherein the replay clip is further generated by: adding, to the replay clip, a first segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the first segment, identifying a second segment of the plurality of segments of the media content based on the classification of the second segment as taught by Tzoukermann, to improve the highlight replay system of Quennesson for the predictable result of automatically segmenting and classifying video streams without using manual judgment and determinations ([0004]).
The combination still fails to disclose avoiding redundancy in the replay clip by omitting the second segment from the replay clip, wherein a first audio and/or video steam of the first segment is substantially the same as a second audio and/or video stream of the second segment.
Chen teaches the technique of avoiding redundancy in the replay clip by omitting the second segment from the replay clip, wherein a first audio and/or video steam of the first segment is substantially the same as a second audio and/or video stream of the second segment ([0186], i.e., similar video clips can be determined using techniques including (but not limited to) by applying thresholds to similarity measurements and/or using decision trees to determine similarity based upon similarity measurements. In numerous embodiments, a duplicate removal process can exclude video clips that are too similar to other video clips from being included in the video summary sequence). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of avoiding redundancy in the replay clip by omitting the second segment from the replay clip, wherein a first audio and/or video steam of the first segment is substantially the same as a second audio and/or video stream of the second segment as taught by Chen, to improve the highlight replay system of Quennesson for the predictable result of identifying and excluding duplicate video clips thus creating a more concise and condensed highlight replay.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 21, the combination fails to explicitly disclose “wherein a first audio stream of the first segment is substantially the same as a second audio stream of the second segment.”
Chen teaches the technique of providing wherein a first audio stream of the first segment is substantially the same as a second audio stream of the second segment ([0186], i.e., shots, text, and/or audio within video clips can be used to measure similarity). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein a first audio stream of the first segment is substantially the same as a second audio stream of the second segment as taught by Chen, to improve the highlight replay system of Quennesson for the predictable result of identifying and excluding duplicate video clips thus creating a more concise and condensed highlight replay.
Regarding claim 22, the combination fails to disclose “wherein the first audio and/or video steam of the first segment is the same as the second audio and/or video stream of the second segment.”
Chen teaches the technique of providing wherein the first audio and/or video steam of the first segment is the same as the second audio and/or video stream of the second segment ([0186], i.e., shots, text, and/or audio within video clips can be used to measure similarity). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the first audio and/or video steam of the first segment is the same as the second audio and/or video stream of the second segment as taught by Chen, to improve the highlight replay system of Quennesson for the predictable result of identifying and excluding duplicate video clips thus creating a more concise and condensed highlight replay.
Regarding claim 23, the combination fails to disclose “wherein the first segment is associated with a first video source of the plurality of different video sources, and wherein the second segment is associated with a second video source of the plurality of different video sources.”
Chen teaches the technique of providing wherein the first segment is associated with a first video source of the plurality of different video sources, and wherein the second segment is associated with a second video source of the plurality of different video sources ([0005], [0062]-[0063], [0176]-[0177], Fig. 1, i.e., data streams of video content are aggregated from various sources). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the first segment is associated with a first video source of the plurality of different video sources, and wherein the second segment is associated with a second video source of the plurality of different video sources as taught by Chen, to improve the highlight replay system of Quennesson for the predictable result of generating a summary of content from a variety of sources thereby providing a more comprehensive viewing experience.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quennesson in view of Tzoukermann, Chen, and in further view of Shichman et al. (US Pub. 2018/0132011), herein referenced as Shichman.
Regarding claim 3, the combination fails to explicitly disclose “wherein the optical flow comprises one or more of a camera panning direction, a change in camera panning direction, a change in camera panning speed, a change in camera zoom level, a change in camera zoom speed, or a change in camera source video.”
Shichman teaches the technique of providing wherein the optical flow comprises one or more of a camera panning direction, a change in camera panning direction, a change in camera panning speed, a change in camera zoom level, a change in camera zoom speed, or a change in camera source video ([0138]-[0140], i.e., any one of a transition effect inserted into (or included in) the input video may be identified. In other cases, e.g., when more than one camera is used for capturing the input video, a change of the source camera used for capturing the input video may be identified. In other embodiments, any of: a close-up, a pan, tilt and/or zoom (PTZ effects) of a camera may be identified). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the optical flow comprises one or more of a camera panning direction, a change in camera panning direction, a change in camera panning speed, a change in camera zoom level, a change in camera zoom speed, or a change in camera source video as taught by Shichman, to improve the highlight replay system of Quennesson for the predictable result of generating metadata and/or identify events ([0138]).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quennesson in view of Tzoukermann, Chen, and in further view of Packard et al. (US Pub. 2016/0105733), herein referenced as Packard.
Regarding claim 6, the combination fails to explicitly disclose “wherein the replay clip is generated using the media content from the plurality of different video sources.”
Packard teaches the technique of providing wherein the replay clip is generated using the media content from the plurality of different video sources ([0054], i.e., video from different sources can be used, and can be combined to generate the customized highlight sequence). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the replay clip is generated using the media content from the plurality of different video sources as taught by Packard, to improve the highlight replay system of Quennesson for the predictable result of providing a more entertaining or interesting highlight for a fan ([0054]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination fails to explicitly disclose “wherein the replay clip is generated using the media content by splicing different ones of the plurality of different video sources.”
Packard teaches the technique of providing wherein the replay clip is generated using the media content by splicing different ones of the plurality of different video sources ([0054], i.e., a customized highlight sequence can include the television feed for a grand slam, followed by a YouTube video of the same grand slam as captured by a fan who attended the game; since the YouTube video captures the occurrence from a different perspective). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the replay clip is generated using the media content by splicing different ones of the plurality of different video sources as taught by Packard, to improve the highlight replay system of Quennesson for the predictable result of providing a more entertaining or interesting highlight for a fan ([0054]).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER Q HUERTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 November 6, 2025