DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of a cooling device containing two fluids and a gas directed to amended claims 9-15 and original claims 16-20 in the reply filed on6/2/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cooling device” in claim 11.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In this case the cooling device can be a “a fan, a radiator, a heat sink, etc.” per paragraph 0033 of the originally filed specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9-15 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 is amended to state “a heat exchanger to the cooling housing”. It is unclear what this structure is meant to be as there is no verb associated with the word “to” in the amended clause. It is believed that this should read either “a heat exchanger coupled to the cooling housing” or “a heat exchanger in the cooling housing” as either would be cleared language. Claims 10-15 are rejected for their dependency from claim 9.
Regarding claim 21, recites “a cooling housing comprising: a containment area with a heat source in a containment area within a cooling housing, wherein the containment area is configured to receive a heat source” this passage recites multiple instances of “a cooling housing”, “a containment area” and “a heat source”, it is unclear if this is attempting to claim multiple housings, containment areas and heat sources or is simply a typo and the second instances are meant to be “the cooling housing”, “the containment area” and “the heat source”. For the purposes of examination the additional instances of the noted structure will be read as “the” rather than “a” as that appears to be in line with the rest of the claim.
Additionally in claim 21, in the listing of features of the first fluid the claim recites “ a two-phase fluid” it is unclear if this is attempting to claim an additional fluid or is reciting additional structure of the first fluid. For the purposed of examination this limitation will be read as “is a two-phase fluid” as this is in line with the wording of the second fluid limitations and appears to be in line with the specification.
Additionally Claim 21 recites the limitation "the third fluid" in line 17 of page 4 of the amended claims . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As there is no antecedent basis for “the third fluid” the clauses of a gas positioned in thermal contact with a portion of the third fluid and a portion of the heat exchanger are especially unclear. The third fluid is additionally claimed in claim 23 and 27. Additionally claim 21 recites a fourth portion of the heat source, however a third portion is never recited and it is unclear if this is a simple typo or if a third portion is meant to be claimed. Claims 22-28 are rejected for their dependency from claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-10, 12-17, and 19-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2023/0027552 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses (figure 1-5) a system, comprising: a heat source (at substrates 101 and electronic devices 102) in a containment area within a cooling housing (for fluid and substrates 101 within the tank 140), wherein the containment area is configured to receive the heat source (at substrates 101 and electronic devices 102); a heat exchanger to the cooling housing, wherein the heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat from the containment area to an environment surrounding the cooling housing (either condenser 141 or heat exchanger 152, or the cooler unit described in paragraph 0020 would meet this broad limitation of a heat exchanger); a first fluid (110) within the containment area, wherein: the first fluid surrounds a first portion of the heat source (the fluid 110 surrounds the bottom portions of the substrates 101 as seen in figure 1); and the first fluid includes a two-phase liquid (110 is a dual phase fluid per paragraph 0013); and a second fluid (120) within the containment area, wherein: the second fluid surrounds a second portion of the heat source (the fluid 120 surrounds the upper portions of the substrates 101 as seen in figure 1); and the second fluid includes a single-phase liquid (120 is a single phase fluid per paragraph 0013); a gas within the containment area, wherein the gas is in thermal contact with the second fluid and a portion of the heat exchanger (as the gas is not further defined this gas could be any gas that is present in the second fluid such as air that may be present in the second fluid if the tank 140 is an open container in the embodiment disclosed in paragraph 0019 where the condenser is positioned in an open space above the coolant fluid 120, or additionally the gas could be vapor bubbles 103 as seen in figure 1); wherein the first fluid is configured to: receive heat; boil and form gas particles; travel upwards through the second fluid and the gas; contact the heat exchanger; lose heat to the heat exchanger; condense into a liquid; travel down through the gas and the second fluid; and return to the first portion of the heat source within the containment area (as described in paragraphs 0017-0022 and seen in the diagram of figure 2, where vapor of the dual phase fluid 110 is generated it crossed the boundary 105 and is cooled to liquid bey either the condenser 141 or heat exchanger 152 and falls back across the boundary 105 after being cooled).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 9 above and Liu further discloses a third fluid positioned between the second fluid and the gas, wherein the third fluid is a non-dielectric liquid (additional layers of the single phase coolant may be present at 162-2 etc. as seen in figure 4 and per paragraph 0026 and the single phase fluid may be a dielectric fluid which also implies that it may not be dielectric fluid per paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 9 above and Liu further discloses the second fluid (120) allows ingress and egress to the containment area whereby a user can access the heat source without losing gas or the first fluid (where the tank 140 is an open container in the embodiment disclosed in paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 9 above and claim 13 fails to provide additional structural limitations beyond those listed above. Apparatus claims must be distinguished from the prior art based on the parts/structure of the apparatus not based on functional language citing intended use. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114 (II)
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 9 above and Liu further discloses the the second fluid is cooled by a second heat exchanger ( heat exchanger 152 when the condenser 141 is the first heat exchanger) to reduce a temperature of the second fluid (fluid 120 is cooled by the heat exchanger 152 per paragraph 0025). Additionally claim 14 fails to provide additional structural limitations beyond those listed above. Apparatus claims must be distinguished from the prior art based on the parts/structure of the apparatus not based on functional language citing intended use. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114 (II).
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 14 above and Liu further discloses a third fluid (162-2, where the second fluid is 162-1 in the embodiment of figure 4) positioned between the second fluid and the gas, wherein: the third fluid is a single-phase fluid; and the third fluid has a density lower than the second fluid and greater than the gas (additional layers of the single phase coolant may be present at 162-2 etc. as seen in figure 4, where the single phase fluids have different densities per paragraph 0026-0027).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses (figure 1-5) a system, comprising: a cooling housing (tank 140) comprising: a containment area (for fluid and substrates 101 within the tank), wherein the containment area is configured to receive a heat source (at substrates 101 and electronic devices 102); a heat exchanger coupled to the cooling housing, wherein the heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat from the containment area to an environment surrounding the cooling housing (either condenser 141 or heat exchanger 152, or the cooler unit described in paragraph 0020 would meet this broad limitation of a heat exchanger ); a first fluid (110), wherein the first fluid is positioned: within the containment area; and surrounding a first portion of the heat source (the fluid 110 surrounds the bottom portions of the substrates 101 as seen in figure 1); a second fluid (120), wherein the second fluid is positioned: within the containment area; and surrounding a second portion of the heat source (the fluid 120 surrounds the upper portions of the substrates 101 as seen in figure 1); wherein the first fluid and second fluid are separate (as seen in figure 1 where the fluids are separated by boundary 105); and a gas, wherein the gas is positioned: in thermal contact with a portion of the second fluid; and a portion of the heat exchanger (as the gas is not further defined this gas could be any gas that is present in the second fluid such as air that may be present in the second fluid if the tank 140 is an open container in the embodiment disclosed in paragraph 0019 where the condenser is positioned in an open space above the coolant fluid 120, or additionally the gas could be vapor bubbles 103 as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 16 above and Liu further discloses the first fluid (110) is a two-phase liquid (110 is a dual phase fluid per paragraph 0013); the second fluid (120) is a single-phase liquid (120 is a single phase fluid per paragraph 0013); and the gas is air (air that may be present in the second fluid if the tank 140 is an open container in the embodiment disclosed in paragraph 0019 where the condenser is positioned in an open space above the coolant fluid 120).
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 16 above and Liu further discloses the heat exchanger is positioned outside the cooling housing (152 is outside the tank 140); and heat exchanger is positioned in a removable compartment (as the removable compartment is not further defined this could be any container that is removable in any way such as the casing of the plate heat exchanger 152 being removed in an embodiment in which the heat exchanger 152 is not installed since the heat exchanger 152 is an optional installation per paragraphs 0020 and 0025) .
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 16 above and Liu further discloses the first fluid (110) has a greater density than the second fluid (the first fluid 110 is greater in density than the second fluid 120 per paragraph 0013); and the first portion of the heat source produces more heat than the second portion of the heat source (more that is produced at electronic devices 102 which are immersed in the dual phase fluid 110 per paragraphs 0004 and 0028).
Regarding claim 21, to the extent that claim 21 is understood in light of the Section 112 rejection set forth herein, Liu discloses (figure 1-5) a system, comprising: a cooling housing (tank 140) comprising: a containment area (for fluid and substrates 101 within the tank) with a heat source in the containment area within the cooling housing, wherein the containment area is configured to receive the heat source (at substrates 101 and electronic devices 102); a heat exchanger coupled to the cooling housing, wherein the heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat from the containment area to an environment surrounding the cooling housing (either condenser 141 or heat exchanger 152, or the cooler unit described in paragraph 0020 would meet this broad limitation of a heat exchanger ); a first fluid (110), wherein the first fluid is: positioned within the containment area (110 is within tank 140 as seen in figure 1); surrounds a first portion of the heat source (the fluid 110 surrounds the bottom portions of the substrates 101 as seen in figure 1); and is a two-phase liquid (110 is a dual phase fluid per paragraph 0013); a second fluid (120), wherein the second fluid: is positioned within the containment area (120 is within tank 140 as seen in figure 1); surrounds a second portion of the heat source (the fluid 120 surrounds the upper portions of the substrates 101 as seen in figure 1); and is a single-phase liquid (120 is a single phase fluid per paragraph 0013); wherein the first fluid (110) is separate from the second fluid (120); wherein the first fluid and second fluid are separated (110 and 120 are separated at boundary 105) ; and a gas (as the gas is not further defined this gas could be any gas that is present in the second fluid such as air that may be present in the second fluid if the tank 140 is an open container in the embodiment disclosed in paragraph 0019 where the condenser is positioned in an open space above the coolant fluid 120, or additionally the gas could be vapor bubbles 103 as seen in figure 1), wherein the gas is: positioned in thermal contact with a portion of the third fluid (as the third flid is not explicitly previously claimed this is being treated by the examiner as a typo for the second fluid or an additional single phase fluid of which Liu disclose in Figure 4 where multiple additional single phase fluids are disclosed fluids are disclosed in paragraph 0026) and a portion of the heat exchanger (either condenser 141 or heat exchanger 152, or the cooler unit described in paragraph 0020 would meet this broad limitation of a heat exchanger where gas can flow to any of these components and the condenser 141 can be explicitly positioned in a space above the fluid 120 per paragraph 0019 which would contain the gas ); and positioned in a fourth portion of the heat source; and wherein the first fluid is configured to: receive heat; boil and form gas particles; travel upwards through the second fluid and the gas; contact the heat exchanger; lose heat to the heat exchanger; condense into a liquid; travel down through the gas and the second fluid; and return to the first portion of the heat source within the containment area (as described in paragraphs 0017-0022 and seen in the diagram of figure 2, where vapor of the dual phase fluid 110 is generated it crossed the boundary 105 and is cooled to liquid bey either the condenser 141 or heat exchanger 152 and falls back across the boundary 105 after being cooled).
Regarding claim 22, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 21 above and to the extent that claim 22 is understood in light of the Section 112 rejection set forth herein Liu further discloses the first fluid (110) has a greater density than the second fluid (the first fluid 110 is greater in density than the second fluid 120 per paragraph 0013); the second fluid has a greater density has a greater density than the gas (as the second fluid 120 is a liquid and the bubbles 104 move upward through it and the atmosphere of the open container is above it)
Regarding claim 23, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 21 above and to the extent that claim 23is understood in light of the Section 112 rejection set forth herein Liu further discloses the first fluid is a dielectric fluid (110, 161 in figure 1 and 4 respectively may be dielectric per paragraph 0014-0015); the second fluid is dielectric fluid (120, 162-1 in figure 1 and 4 respectively may be dielectric per paragraph 0014-0015); the third fluid is a non-dielectric fluid (additional layers of the single phase coolant may be present at 162-2 etc. as seen in figure 4 and per paragraph 0026 and the single phase fluid may be a dielectric fluid which also implies that it may not be dielectric fluid per paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 24, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 21 above and to the extent that claim 24 is understood in light of the Section 112 rejection set forth herein Liu further discloses the first fluid (110) surrounds a hottest portion of the heat source (at electronic components 102 per paragraph 0016) ; and the second fluid (120) surrounds a second hottest portion of the heat source (at the portions of substrates 101 that do not have the electronic devices) .
Regarding claim 25, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 21 above and to the extent that claim 25 is understood in light of the Section 112 rejection set forth herein Liu further discloses the second portion of the heat source surrounded by the second fluid (120) is configured to be cooled by a second heat exchanger (at heat exchanger 152 when the condenser 141 is the first heat exchanger).
Regarding claim 26, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 21 above and to the extent that claim 26 is understood in light of the Section 112 rejection set forth herein Liu further discloses the heat exchanger further comprises: a condenser; and plate configured to condense gas (at condenser 141 as seen in figure 1 which condenses the vapor per paragraph 0002 and 0019).
Regarding claim 27, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 26 above and to the extent that claim 27 is understood in light of the Section 112 rejection set forth herein Liu further discloses the heat exchanger: is configured to be removable from the cooling housing (heat exchanger 152; is outside the tank 140 as seen in figure 3 ) and the third fluid is configured to be removed with the heat exchanger (the single phase fluids can be removed to the heat exchanger 152 as seen in figure 3) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 18 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2023/0027552 A1) in view of Keehn et al. (US 2021/0204451 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 9 above and Liu further discloses the heat exchanger is positioned outside the cooling housing, However Liu does not disclose that heat is transferred to the heat exchanger positioned outside the housing via a condenser coil coupled to a cooling device As Liu is silent as to the structure of the condenser.
Keehn teaches (figure 4A and 4B) an immersion cooling system with a condenser assembly ( 140) configured to cool and condense coolant vapor (per paragraphs 0041-0042) where the condenser assembly has heat transferred to the heat exchanger positioned outside the housing via a condenser coil coupled to a cooling device (at heat exchanger 148 which expels heat to cooling air per paragraph 0042 which is outside the housing at 106 ass seen in figure 4B ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the generic condenser of Liu to include the specific structure of Keehn. Doing so would provide a known condenser structure suitable for condensing an immersion cooling coolant and facilitate operation of components on the substrate by removing heat from hardware components as recognized by Keehn (Per paragraph 0015 and 0041).
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 16 above and Liu further discloses: a second heat exchanger positioned in the second fluid (at condenser 141), However Liu does not disclose wherein the second heat exchanger comprises: a supply line; a condenser coil; and a heat pump.
Keehn teaches (figure 4A and 4B) an immersion cooling system with a condenser assembly ( 140) configured to cool and condense coolant vapor (per paragraphs 0041-0042) where the condenser comprises a supply line (at supply manifold 112a seen in figure 4b); a condenser coil (144); and a heat pump (as the heat pump typically refers to a refrigeration cycle device, however the specification of the instant application appears to use a broader definition of a condenser coil coupled to cooling devices; in this case the heat pump is the fluid connections of the condenser coil 144 connected to the to the heat exchanger/radiator 148 which dissipates heat to air per paragraph 0041) .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the generic condenser of Liu to include the specific structure of Keehn. Doing so would provide a known condenser structure suitable for condensing an immersion cooling coolant and facilitate operation of components on the substrate by removing heat from hardware components as recognized by Keehn (Per paragraph 0015 and 0041).
Regarding claim 28, Liu discloses the claim limitations of claim 21 above and to the extent that claim 28 is understood in light of the Section 112 rejection set forth herein Liu further discloses the heat exchanger: is a heat pump; and is positioned within the containment area (condenser 141 is in the tanks 140 as seen in figure 1). However Liu does not disclose that the heat exchanger is a heat pump as the condenser is only generally disclosed by Liu.
Keehn teaches (figure 4A and 4B) an immersion cooling system with a condenser assembly ( 140) configured to cool and condense coolant vapor (per paragraphs 0041-0042) where the condenser comprises a heat pump (as the heat pump typically refers to a refrigeration cycle device, however the specification of the instant application appears to use a broader definition of a condenser coil coupled to cooling devices; in this case the heat pump is the fluid connections of the condenser coil 144 connected to the to the heat exchanger/radiator 148 which dissipates heat to air per paragraph 0041) .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the generic condenser of Liu to include the specific structure of Keehn. Doing so would provide a known condenser structure suitable for condensing an immersion cooling coolant and facilitate operation of components on the substrate by removing heat from hardware components as recognized by Keehn (Per paragraph 0015 and 0041).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Horng et al. (US 20220264768 A1), Cheng et al. (US 20210219454 A1), Manousakis et al. (US 20210410319 A1), and Shelnutt et al. (US 20140218859 A1) all disclose relevant immersion cooling systems.
/HANS R WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763