DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed December 4, 2025.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed December 4, 2025, the rejections of claim 1-10 and 12-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 previously presented in the Office Action sent September 4, 2025 have been substantially maintained and modified only in response to the Amendments to the Claims.
Claims 1-5 and 19-33 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (CN 213026144 U included in Applicant submitted IDS filed June 6, 2024) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 110611007 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed June 6, 2024).
With regard to claim 21, Xu et al. discloses a photovoltaic module, comprising:
at least one solar cell (see Fig. 1-4);
a solder strip (103, Fig. 6);
a pad arranged on a surface of the at least one solar cell (such as pad 1 depicted in Fig. 1-4 and detailed in Fig. 6) and including
a first part, a second part, and a third part, wherein the first part is connected to the third part through the second part (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 below, the cited pad 1 includes a first part, a second part, and a third part, wherein the first part is connected to the third part through the second part), and
Annotated Fig. 6
separate fasteners separately including at least one fastener arranged on a side of the first part facing away from the at least one solar cell and at least one fastener arranged on a side of the third part facing away from the at least one solar cell (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, separate fasteners separately including at least one fastener arranged on a top side of the cited first part facing away from the at least one solar cell and at least one fastener arranged on a top side of the cited third part facing away from the at least one solar cell), wherein
the solder strip is provided between the at least one fastener in the first part and the at least one fastener in the third part (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, the cited solder strip 103 is provided laterally between the cited at least one fastener in the first part and the cited at least one fastener in the third part), and
the solder strip is connected to the pad through the fasteners (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, the cited solder strip 103 is connected to the cited pad 1 through the cited fasteners), wherein
a maximum height of each of the fasteners is H1, and a maximum height of the solder strip is H2, where 0˂H1≤0.5*H2 (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, a maximum height of each of the cited fasteners is H1, and a maximum height of the cited solder strip 103 is H2, where 0˂H1≤0.5*H2), wherein
a projection of at least one of the fasteners projected along the length direction of the solder strip is in a shape of a triangle (see Fig. 6 depicting a projection of the fasteners projected along the length direction of the solder strip 103 is in a shape of a triangle), the triangle includes
a flat bottom edge connected to a side of the pad facing away from the at least one solar cell (as depicted in Fig. 6, a flat bottom edge connected to a top side of the pad 1 facing away from the at least one solar cell),
a long side edge not abutting against with the pad of the solder strip (as depicted in Fig. 6, a long side edge not abutting against with the pad 1 or the solder strip 103), and
a short side edge connected to the solder strip (as depicted in Fig. 6, a short side edge connected to the solder strip 103).
Xu et al. does not disclose wherein the bottom edge of the triangle has a length in a range of 0.1 mm to 0.2 mm.
However, the length of the bottom edge of the triangle is a result effective variable directly affecting the adhesion and contact area of the cited fastener to the pad (see Fig. 6).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the length of the bottom edge of the fasteners in the module of Xu et al. and arrive at the claimed range through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05).
Xu et al. does not disclose wherein, along a length direction of the solder strip, a width of the second part is less than a width of the first part and a width of the third part.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a photovoltaic module (see Title and Abstract) and teaches conductive pads 110 can include a first part, a second part, and a third part, wherein the first part is connected to the third part through the second part (such as detail in Fig. 9c, the cited pad 110 can have a shape including a first left most part with a width of L2 connected to a third right most part with a width of L2 through a second middle part at 112 with a width of L1), and along a length direction of the solder strip 150, a width of the second part is less than a width of the first part and a width of the third part (as depicted in Fig. 4 and Fig. 9c, along a vertical length direction of the cited solder strip 150, a width L1 of the cited second part is less than a width L2 of the cited first part and a width L2 of the cited third part).
Zhang et al. teaches the width of the second part at recess 112 being less than the widths of the first and third parts provides for reducing material cost (see [0080]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the widths of the first, second, and third parts in the pad of Xu et al. to include the width of the second part being less than the widths of the first and third parts, as exemplified by Zhang et al., because it would have led to reducing material cost.
With regard to claim 22, independent claim 21 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Xu et al. discloses wherein
a sidewall of the solder strip abuts against a side of the second part facing away from the at least one solar cell (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, a lower sidewall of the cited solder strip 103 abuts against a top side of the cited second part facing away from the cited at least one solar cell).
With regard to claim 23, independent claim 21 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Xu et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein the height/diameter H2 is in a range of 0.2 mm to 0.4 mm.
However, the height/diameter H2 is a result effective variable directly affecting the welding reliability (see Zhang et al. at [0066]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the height/diameter H2 in the module of Xu et al., as modified above, and arrive at the claimed range of 0.2 mm to 0.4 mm through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing welding reliability.
With regard to claim 24, independent claim 21 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Xu et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein the fasteners each have a set width W1 along the length direction of the solder strip, where 0.10 mm≤W1≤0.20 mm.
However, W1 is a result effective variable directly affecting the even distribution of solder (see Zhang et al. at [0070]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized W1 in the module of Xu et al., as modified above, and arrive at the claimed range of 0.10 mm≤W1≤0.20 mm through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the distribution of solder.
With regard to claim 25, independent claim 21 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Xu et al. discloses wherein
the long side edge has a scaly surface (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, the cited long side edge has a scaly surface, or a surface having multiple segments of differing slopes), and
the short side edge has an arc shape fitting with a contour of a sidewall of the solder strip (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, the cited short side edge has an arc shape fitting with a contour of a lower sidewall of the solder strip 103).
With regard to claim 26, independent claim 21 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Xu et al. discloses wherein
at least part of a sidewall of the solder strip facing the pad is connected to the pad through the fasteners (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, at least part of a lower sidewall of the solder strip 103 facing the pad is connected to the pad 1 through the cited fasteners).
Xu et al. does not disclose wherein a cross section of the solder strip is in a shape of a circle.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a photovoltaic module (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a cross section of a solder strip 150 is in a shape of a circle (see Fig. 11).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the shape of the cross section of the sold strip of Xu et al. for the circle shape of Zhang et al. because the simple substitution of an element known in the art to perform the same function, in the instant case a shape of a solder strip, supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2143 B).
With regard to claim 27, dependent claim 26 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Xu et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
a space is formed between at least part of the sidewall of the solder strip facing the pad and the pad, to accommodate part of the fasteners (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 of Xu et al. above, a space is formed between at least part of the cited sidewall of the solder strip 103 facing the pad 1 and the pad 1, to accommodate part of the cited fasteners).
With regard to claim 28, independent claim 21 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Xu et al. discloses wherein
a cross section of the solder strip is in a shape of an ellipse (Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above depicting a cross section of the solder strip 103 is in a shape of an ellipse).
With regard to claims 29, independent claim 21 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Zhang et al. and Hwang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Xu et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
the pad has a shape of a dumbbell (see Zhang et al. at Fig. 9c).
With regard to claim 30, independent claim 21 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Zhang et al. and Hwang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Xu et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
at least part of the first part perpendicular to a sidewall of the at least one solar cell (as depicted in Fig. 1-4 and 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, at least part of the cited first part at the top surface is perpendicular to a vertical sidewall of the at least one solar cell).
With regard to claim 31, independent claim 21 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Zhang et al. and Hwang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Xu et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
at least part of the third part perpendicular to a sidewall of the at least one solar cell is an arc surface (as depicted in Fig. 4 and Fig. 9c of Zhang et al., at least part of the cited third part perpendicular to a sidewall of the at least one solar cell is surface; see [0079] teaching shape of recess 112 may be circular which is cited to provide for the claimed arc surface).
With regard to claim 32, independent claim 21 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Zhang et al. and Hwang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Xu et al. discloses further comprising
a finger (101, Fig. 1-4) and
a busbar arranged on the at least one solar cell (100, Fig. 1-4),
the first part and the third part are respectively connected to the finger (as depicted in Fig. 1-4 and Fig. 6, the cited first part and the cited third part of pad 1 are respectively connected to the cited finger 101), and
the finger is arranged along a direction intersecting with the length direction of the solder strip (as depicted in Fig. 1-4, the cited finger 101 is arranged along a direction intersecting with the cited vertical length direction of the solder strip 103); and
the busbar is connected to the second part, and the busbar is arranged along the length direction of the solder strip (as depicted in Fig. 1-4 and Fig. 6, the cited busbar 100 is connected to the cited second part of pad 1 and the cited busbar 100 is arranged along the cited vertical length direction of the solder strip 103).
With regard to claim 33, independent claim 21 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Zhang et al. and Hwang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Xu et al. discloses wherein
at least one of the fasteners is made of solder paste (see Fig. 6 and see [0032]).
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (CN 213026144 U included in Applicant submitted IDS filed June 6, 2024) in view of Ding et al. (CN 211700309 U included in Applicant submitted IDS filed September 25, 2025) and Hwang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0322527 A1).
With regard to claims 1 and 2, Xu et al. discloses a photovoltaic module, comprising:
at least one solar cell (see Fig. 1-4);
a solder strip (103, Fig. 6);
a pad arranged on a surface of the at least one solar cell (such as pad 1 depicted in Fig. 1-4 and detailed in Fig. 6) and including
a first part, a second part, and a third part, wherein the first part is connected to the third part through the second part (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 below, the cited pad 1 includes a first part, a second part, and a third part, wherein the first part is connected to the third part through the second part), and
Annotated Fig. 6
fasteners including separately at least one fastener arranged on a side of the first part facing away from the at least one solar cell and at least one fastener arranged on a side of the third part facing away from the at least one solar cell (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, separate fasteners separately including at least one fastener arranged on a top side of the cited first part facing away from the at least one solar cell and at least one fastener arranged on a top side of the cited third part facing away from the at least one solar cell), wherein
the solder strip is provided between the at least one fastener in the first part and the at least one fastener in the third part (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, the cited solder strip 103 is provided laterally between the cited at least one fastener in the first part and the cited at least one fastener in the third part), and
the solder strip is connected to the pad through the fasteners (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, the cited solder strip 103 is connected to the cited pad 1 through the cited fasteners), wherein
a sidewall of the solder strip abuts against a side of the second part facing away from the at least one solar cell (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, a lower sidewall of the cited solder strip 103 abuts against a top side of the cited second part facing away from the cited at least one solar cell).
Xu et al. does not disclose wherein, along a length direction of the solder strip, a width of the second part is less than a width of the first part and a width of the third part.
However, Ding et al. discloses a photovoltaic module (see Title and Abstract) and teaches conductive pads 2 can include a first part, a second part, and a third part, wherein the first part is connected to the third part through the second part (such as detail in Fig. 4, the cited pad 2 can have a shape including a first left most part 21 with a width of L2 connected to a third right most part 21 with a width of L2 through a second middle part at 22 with a width of L1), and along a length direction of the solder strip, a width of the second part is less than a width of the first part and a width of the third part (as depicted in Fig. 4, along a vertical length direction of the solder strip, a width L1 of the cited second part 22 is less than a width L2 of the cited first part 21 and a width L2 of the cited third part 21). Ding et al. teaches the pad has a shape of a gourd (see Fig. 4).
Ding et al. teaches the width of the second part 22 being less than the widths of the first and third parts 21 provides for reducing material cost and improved welding quality (see Abstract).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the widths of the first, second, and third parts in the pad of Xu et al. to include the width of the second part being less than the widths of the first and third parts, as exemplified by Ding et al., because it would have led to reducing material cost and improving welding quality.
Xu et al. does not disclose wherein the photovoltaic module includes a solar cell string and adhesive films, a light-transmitting member, and a back sheet.
However, Hwang et al. discloses a photovoltaic module (see Title and Abstract). Hwang et al. teaches a photovoltaic module conventionally includes a solar cell string (see Fig. 1-2) and includes adhesive films arranged on two sides of the solar cell string along a thickness direction of the solar cell string (131/132, Fig. 1-2); a light-transmitting member arranged on a side of one of the adhesive films facing away from the solar cell string (110, Fig. 1-2); and a back sheet arranged on a side of another one of the adhesive films facing away from the solar cell string (200, Fig. 1-2).
Hwang et al. teaches the photovoltaic module design allows for protection of the solar cells (see [0043-0044]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the photovoltaic module design of Xu et al. to include the photovoltaic module design cited in Hwang et al. because it would have provided for protection of the solar cells.
With regard to claim 3, independent claim 1 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Ding et al. and Hwang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Xu et al. discloses wherein
a maximum height of each of the fasteners is H1, and a maximum height of the solder strip is H2, where 0˂H1≤0.5*H2 (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, a maximum height of each of the cited fasteners is H1, and a maximum height of the cited solder strip 103 is H2, where 0˂H1≤0.5*H2).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (CN 213026144 U included in Applicant submitted IDS filed June 6, 2024) in view of Ding et al. (CN 211700309 U included in Applicant submitted IDS filed September 25, 2025) and Hwang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0322527 A1), and in further view of Zhang et al. (CN 110611007 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed June 6, 2024).
With regard to claim 4, dependent claim 3 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Ding et al. and Hwang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Xu et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein the height/diameter H2 is in a range of 0.2 mm to 0.4 mm.
However, the height/diameter H2 is a result effective variable directly affecting the welding reliability (see Zhang et al. at [0066]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the height/diameter H2 in the module of Xu et al., as modified above, and arrive at the claimed range of 0.2 mm to 0.4 mm through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing welding reliability.
With regard to claim 5, independent claim 1 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Ding et al. and Hwang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Xu et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein the fasteners each have a set width W1 along the length direction of the solder strip, where 0.10 mm≤W1≤0.20 mm.
However, W1 is a result effective variable directly affecting the even distribution of solder (see Zhang et al. at [0070]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized W1 in the module of Xu et al., as modified above, and arrive at the claimed range of 0.10 mm≤W1≤0.20 mm through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the distribution of solder.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (CN 213026144 U included in Applicant submitted IDS filed June 6, 2024) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 110611007 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed June 6, 2024), Hwang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0322527 A1), and Anderson (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0305528 A1).
With regard to claim 19, Xu et al. discloses a method for manufacturing photovoltaic module, wherein the photovoltaic module includes
at least one solar cell (see Fig. 1-4);
a solder strip (103, Fig. 6);
a pad arranged on a surface of the at least one solar cell (such as pad 1 depicted in Fig. 1-4 and detailed in Fig. 6) and including
a first part, a second part, and a third part, wherein the first part is connected to the third part through the second part (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 below, the cited pad 1 includes a first part, a second part, and a third part, wherein the first part is connected to the third part through the second part), wherein the method comprises:
Annotated Fig. 6
placing the fasteners respectively on the first part and the third part of the pad arranged on the at least one solar cell (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, placing the fasteners respectively on the cited first part and the cited third part of the pad 1 arranged on the at least one solar cell);
connecting, through the fasteners, the solder strip with the pad arranged on the at least one solar cell (as depicted in Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, connecting, through the cited fasteners, the solder strip 103 with the pad 1 arranged on the at least one solar cell).
Xu et al. does not disclose wherein, along a length direction of the solder strip, a width of the second part is less than a width of the first part and a width of the third part.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a photovoltaic module (see Title and Abstract) and teaches conductive pads 110 can include a first part, a second part, and a third part, wherein the first part is connected to the third part through the second part (such as detail in Fig. 9c, the cited pad 110 can have a shape including a first left most part with a width of L2 connected to a third right most part with a width of L2 through a second middle part at 112 with a width of L1), and along a length direction of the solder strip 150, a width of the second part is less than a width of the first part and a width of the third part (as depicted in Fig. 4 and Fig. 9c, along a vertical length direction of the cited solder strip 150, a width L1 of the cited second part is less than a width L2 of the cited first part and a width L2 of the cited third part).
Zhang et al. teaches the width of the second part at recess 112 being less than the widths of the first and third parts provides for reducing material cost (see [0080]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the widths of the first, second, and third parts in the pad of Xu et al. to include the width of the second part being less than the widths of the first and third parts, as exemplified by Zhang et al., because it would have led to reducing material cost.
Xu et al., as modified above, teaches a method of manufacturing a photovoltaic module but does not disclose connecting the solder strip connected to a front surface of the solar cell to a back surface of another solar cell to form a solar cell string; stacking the back sheet, the adhesive film, the solar cell string, and the light-transmitting member to form a stacking member; laminating the stacking member to form a laminated structure.
However, Hwang et al. discloses a photovoltaic module (see Title and Abstract). Hwang et al. teaches a photovoltaic module conventionally includes connecting a solder strip connected to a front surface of the solar cell to a back surface of another solar cell to form a solar cell string (see Fig. 1, 2, and 5) and stacking the back sheet 200, the adhesive film 130, the solar cell string 150, and the light-transmitting member 110 to form a stacking member and laminating the stacking member to form a laminated structure (see 100, Fig. 1-2). Hwang et al. teaches mounting a junction box on the laminated structure (see [0040]).
Hwang et al. teaches the photovoltaic module design allows for protection of the solar cells (see [0043-0044]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the photovoltaic module design of Xu et al., as modified above, to include the photovoltaic module design cited in Hwang et al. because it would have provided for protection of the solar cells.
Xu et al., as modified above, does not disclose mounting a frame on the laminated structure to form the photovoltaic module.
However, Anderson discloses a method of manufacturing a photovoltaic module (see Title and Abstract) and teaches mounting a frame on a laminated structure to form the photovoltaic module (see Fig. 24 and Fig. 28A-B). Anderson teaches the frame may assist with holding and cooling the frame during use (see [0160]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the laminated structure of Xu et al., as modified above, to include a mounted frame, as suggested by Anderson, because it would have provided for holding and cooling the frame during use.
With regard to claim 20, independent claim 19 is obvious over Xu et al. in view of Zhang et al., Hwang et al., and Anderson under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Xu et al. discloses wherein the connecting, through the fasteners, the solder strip with the pad arranged on the solar cell comprises:
abutting the solder strip against a side of the second part facing away from the at least one solar cell (as depicted in Fig. 1-4 and Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, abutting the cited solder strip 103 against a top side of the cited second part facing away from the at least one solar cell), and
placing the solder strip between at least one of the fasteners on a side of the first part facing away from the at least one solar cell and at least one of the fasteners on a side of the third part facing away from the at least one solar cell (as depicted in Fig. 1-4 and Fig. 6 and annotated Fig. 6 above, placing the cited solder strip 103 between at least one of the fasteners on a top side of the cited first part facing away from the at least one solar cell and at least one of the fastener on a top side of the cited third part facing away from the at least one solar cell).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 4, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant notes the newly added claimed limitations are not found within the previously cited prior art references. However, this argument is addressed in the rejections of the claims above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 February 27, 2026