Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Du et al (US 20190351776).
Regarding claim 1, Du discloses a heater control apparatus (Figure 1A; 24, 16a, 16b) used in a vehicle (Figure 1A; 12) equipped with a plurality of battery packs (Figure 1A; 16b, Paragraph 0020 states there is at least one working battery. Paragraph 0027 states the working battery and self-heating battery are one unit. There are two batteries that each have a working and self-heating battery. The working portions of the batteries are the battery packs) and a battery heater (The portion of the battery having the self-heating battery, Paragraph 0027) for heating the plurality of battery packs, the plurality of battery packs including a high-voltage relay (Paragraph 0002, 0027 states the vehicle can be different types. The vehicle is an electric vehicle which uses a high voltage battery. Starting an electric vehicle connects the battery to the electric motor by a high voltage relay), the heater control apparatus comprising:
a determination section (The portion of the heater control apparatus that takes in the temperature of one of the batteries from a temperature sensor, Paragraph 0011, 0057 and compares the temperature to the temperature threshold, Paragraph 0050) configured to acquire first temperature information when the vehicle is brought into an unactuated state (The shut down state of the vehicle, Paragraph 0057), the first temperature information indicating a temperature of an available battery pack (The first temperature of one of the batteries prior to a first heating of the one of the batteries , Paragraph 0027, 0057, 0059) to which the high-voltage relay is not yet connected and that is capable of being charged and discharged (Functional Language, Paragraph 0055), the determination section being configured to determine whether or not the first temperature information indicates a temperature equal to or lower than a predetermined threshold (Functional Language, The first or second temperature threshold in Paragraph 0050, 0057. The invention of Du is capable of meeting the functional language); and
a control section (The portion of the heater control apparatus that takes in the temperature of the one of the batteries from a temperature sensor and actives and operates the self-heating battery of the one of the batteries, Paragraph 0050, 0057-0059) configured to acquire second temperature information (Functional Language, The second temperature of the one of the batteries after the first heating and after trying to start the motor after the first heating, Paragraph 0027, 0050, 0057, 0059. Paragraph 0059 states the method can be repeated as many times as necessary.) indicating the temperature of the available battery pack after connection of the high-voltage relay of the available battery pack (The attempt to start the motor after the first heating connects the available battery pack to the high-voltage relay) when the first temperature information indicates the temperature equal to or lower than the predetermined threshold, the control section being configured to control a heating operation (Paragraph 0050, 0057-0059) of the battery heater based on the second temperature information (Functional Language, the invention of Du is capable of meeting the functional language).
Regarding claim 2, Du discloses the invention as claimed.
Du further discloses wherein after the vehicle is brought into the unactuated state, the determination section periodically acquires the first temperature information and determines whether or not the first temperature information indicates the temperature equal to or lower than the threshold (Paragraph 0050, 0058, 0059).
Regarding claim 3, Du discloses the invention as claimed.
Du further discloses wherein the determination section acquires the first temperature information from a battery management apparatus (The temperature sensor that takes the temperature of each of the batteries, Paragraph 0011, and the portion of the heater control apparatus that calculates the wait time, Paragraph 0008) configured to manage a state of each of the plurality of battery packs (Functional Language, the state of each battery. The invention of Du is capable of meeting the functional language).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ikeda et al (US 20240136668) states in Paragraph 0002 that a high-voltage battery is usually used in electric or hybrid vehicles which is formed by many battery cells
Ikeda et al (US 20230282945) states in Paragraph 0002 that a high-voltage battery is usually used in electric or hybrid vehicles which is formed by many battery cells
Morita et al (US 20070188948) states in Paragraph 0003 that a high-voltage battery is usually used in electric or hybrid vehicles
Gunther et al (US 20190273231) states in Paragraph 0002 that a high-voltage battery is typically used in electric or hybrid vehicles
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741