Response to Amendment
The amendment filed by the Applicant on 2/25/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Objection
In claim 2, the limitation of “wherein along the first direction, the first sub-pixel and one of the two third sub-pixels in the first repeating unit are arranged to form a first pixel column, the other of the two third sub-pixels and the second sub-pixel are arranged to form a second pixel column” does not further limit claim 1, on which it is dependent.
Since Claim 1 already defines/ recites for the first- and second-pixel columns as:
wherein along the first direction, the first sub-pixel of the first repeating unit, one of the two third sub-pixels of the first repeating unit, one of the two third sub-pixels of the second repeating unit, and the second sub-pixel of the second repeating unit are alternately arranged to form a first pixel column;
AND
along the first direction, another of the two third sub-pixels of the first repeating unit, the second sub-pixel of the first repeating unit, the first sub-pixel of the second repeating unit, and another of the two third sub-pixels of the second repeating unit are alternately arranged to form a second pixel column.
Claims 3-4 are objected to because of their dependency status from claim 2. Appropriate correction is needed.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 20, there is no antecedent basis for the “fourth sub-pixel” in the previous portion of claim 20, as claim 20, recites: “wherein in the first repeating unit, a direction from a center of the first sub- pixel to a center of the third sub-pixel is parallel to a direction from a center of the second sub-pixel to a center of the fourth sub-pixel, and a third direction from the center of the first sub-pixel to the center of the fourth sub-pixel is parallel to a fourth line from the center of the second sub-pixel to the center of the third sub-pixel”, however the fourth sub-pixel is not recited previous to the above recitation, in claim 20. Appropriate correction is needed.
Further in claim 20, the limitation of “wherein in the first repeating unit, a direction from a center of the first sub- pixel to a center of the third sub-pixel is parallel to a direction from a center of the second sub-pixel to a center of the fourth sub-pixel, and a third direction from the center of the first sub-pixel to the center of the fourth sub-pixel is parallel to a fourth line from the center of the second sub-pixel to the center of the third sub-pixel, and the direction from the center of the first sub-pixel to the center of the third sub- pixel is not perpendicular to the third direction” is unclear language, because it is not clear which of the two third sub-pixels the recitation is referring to, as they are two third sub-pixels. Appropriate correction is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (CN 111063712 A, cited previously)
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a display panel,
comprising: a plurality of pixel repeating units, each of the pixel repeating units constituted of a first repeating unit
and a second repeating unit,
wherein the plurality of first repeating units and the plurality of the second repeating units are alternately arranged in a first direction (Y direction),
the plurality of first repeating units are arranged in a second direction (X-direction)
, the plurality of the second repeating units are arranged in the second direction,
and the first direction intersects with the second direction;
the first repeating unit comprises a first sub-pixel R, a second sub-pixel G, and two third sub-pixels B1,B2 for displaying different colors,
and the second repeating unit comprises a first sub-pixel R, a second sub-pixel G, and two third sub-pixels B1,B2 for displaying different colors;
the first sub-pixel of the first repeating unit and the first sub-pixel of the second repeating unit are configured to display a same color, the second sub-pixel of the first repeating unit and the second sub-pixel of the second repeating unit are configured to display a same color,
and the two third sub-pixels of the first repeating unit and the two third sub-pixels of the second repeating unit are configured to display a same color,
wherein in the first repeating unit, a center of the first sub-pixel, a center of the second sub-pixel, and centers of the two third sub-pixel form a first virtual quadrilateral,
with the two third sub-pixels located at diagonal corners of the first virtual quadrilateral; and
wherein along the first direction (Y),
the first sub-pixel of the first repeating unit R, one of the two third sub-pixels B1 of the first repeating unit, one of the two third sub-pixels B2 of the second repeating unit, and the second sub-pixel G of the second repeating unit are alternately (see Fig.3 wherein in the Y direction, the Figure right above is repeated) arranged to form a first pixel column (left most vertical column);
along the first direction (Y), another of the two third sub-pixels B2 of the first repeating unit, the second sub-pixel G of the first repeating unit, the first sub-pixel of the second repeating unit R, and another of the two third sub-pixels B1 of the second repeating unit are alternately arranged to form a second pixel column (second from left vertical column); the first pixel column and the second pixel column are arranged along the second direction (as they are moving from left to right which is the second X direction).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou teaches a display panel, wherein along the first direction, the first sub-pixel and one of the two third sub-pixels in the first repeating unit are arranged to form a (see claim objection above) first pixel column, the other of the two third sub-pixels and the second sub-pixel are arranged to form a (see claim objection above) second pixel column (see rejection in claim 1 above, wherein the first and second columns are already recited) and;
along the second direction, the first sub-pixel and one of the two third sub-pixels in the repeating unit are arranged to form a first pixel row
, the other of the two third sub-pixels and the second sub-pixel are arranged to form a second pixel row
; the first pixel column and the second pixel column are arranged along the second direction (as the first and second columns move from left to right in X direction), and the first pixel row and the second pixel row are arranged along the first direction (as the first and second rows move from top to bottom, ie. in the Y direction).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou teaches a display panel, wherein in the first repeating unit, along the first direction, a first spacing is disposed between the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel in the first pixel column, and a second spacing is disposed between the third sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel in the second pixel column; along the second direction, a third spacing is disposed between the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel in the first pixel row, and a fourth spacing is disposed between the third sub- pixel and the second sub-pixel in the second pixel row; and the first spacing, the second spacing, the third spacing, and the fourth spacing are equal (see in Figure above).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou teaches a display panel, wherein along the first direction, a spacing disposed between two adjacent first repeating units is equal to the first spacing; a spacing disposed between two adjacent first repeating units in the second direction is equal to the first spacing (same as Figure above).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches a display panel, wherein in the second repeating unit, a center of the first sub-pixel of the second repeating unit, a center of the second sub- pixel of the second repeating unit, and centers of the two third sub-pixels of the second repeating unit form a second virtual quadrilateral, and the two third sub-pixels are respectively located at two diagonal corners of the second virtual quadrilateral (as shown in Drawing above).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches a display panel, wherein a virtual line extending in the first direction passes through the third sub-pixel in the first repeating unit and the third sub-pixel in the second repeating unit (as shown in Drawing above).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches a display panel, wherein along the first direction, one of the two third sub-pixels in the first repeating unit and one of the two third sub-pixels in the second repeating unit are adjacent to each other (B1, B2 below)
Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches a display panel, wherein in the first repeating unit, along the second direction, the first sub-pixel and one of the third sub-pixel are arranged to form a first pixel row, and the other of the two third sub- pixels and the second sub-pixel are arranged to form a second pixel row;
in the second repeating unit,
along the second direction, the first sub-pixel and one of the third sub- pixels are arranged to form a third pixel row, and the other of the two third sub-pixels and the second sub-pixel are arranged to form a fourth pixel row; wherein the first pixel row, the second pixel row, the third pixel row, and the fourth pixel row are arranged in sequence along the first direction (Y direction).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches a display panel, wherein in the first repeating unit, along the first direction, a first spacing is disposed between the first sub- pixel and the one of the third sub-pixel in the first pixel column, and a second spacing is disposed between the other of the two third sub-pixels and the second sub-pixel in the second pixel column; in the first repeating unit, along the second direction, a third spacing is disposed between the first sub-pixel and one of the two third sub-pixels in the first pixel row, and a fourth spacing is disposed between one of the two third sub- pixels and the second sub-pixel in the second pixel row; the first spacing, the second spacing, the third spacing, and the fourth spacing are equally spaced (from Figure 3 of Zhou above).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou teaches a display panel, wherein in the second repeating unit, along the first direction, a fifth spacing disposed between the second sub-pixel and one of the two third sub-pixels in the first pixel column, and a sixth spacing is disposed between one of the two third sub-pixels and the first sub-pixel in the second pixel column; in the second repeating unit, along the second direction, a seventh spacing disposed between the first sub-pixel and one of the two third sub-pixels in the third pixel row, and an eighth spacing is disposed between one of the two third sub-pixels and the second sub-pixel in the fourth pixel row; the fifth spacing, the sixth spacing, the seventh spacing, and the eighth spacing are equal (from Figure 3 of Zhou above).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou teaches a display panel, wherein the first spacing is equal to the fifth spacing (from Figure 3 of Zhou above).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou teaches a display panel, wherein along the first direction, the spacing disposed between adjacent the first repeating units and the second repeating units is equal to the first spacing (from Figure 3 of Zhou above).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches a display panel, further comprising: an anode layer, comprising a plurality of anode portions, wherein each of the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixels correspond to one of the anode portions, and the two third sub-pixels located in the first repeating unit share one of the anode portions (each blue sub-pixel in the pixel group 10 is diagonally arranged, therefore, an anode layer 20, a blue sub pixel B1 and B2 also share an anode layer).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou teaches a display panel, wherein the two third sub-pixels located in the second repeating unit share one of the anode portions (from the teachings of Zhou, see the rejection in claim 15 above).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou teaches a display panel, wherein the first virtual quadrilateral and the second virtual quadrilateral are parallelograms (Note: wherein a rectangle is always a special type of parallelogram; since, a parallelogram is defined as a quadrilateral with both pairs of opposite sides parallel, and a rectangle meets this definition perfectly).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou teaches a display panel, wherein the first sub-pixel is a red sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel is a green sub-pixel, and the two third sub-pixels are blue sub-pixels; or the first sub-pixel is a green sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel is a red sub-pixel, and the two third sub-pixels are blue sub-pixels (wherein B1 and B2 are disclosed in Zhou as: the blue pixel label is B1 and the B2 pixel, so as will be described).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou teaches a display panel, wherein an area of the first sub-pixel is larger than an area of the third sub-pixel, and an area of the second sub- pixel is larger than an area of the third sub-pixel (see in Zhou).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou teaches a display panel, comprising: a plurality of pixel repeating units, each of the pixel repeating units constituted of a first repeating unit and a second repeating unit, wherein the plurality of first repeating units and the plurality of the second repeating units are alternately arranged in a first direction, the plurality of first repeating units are arranged in a second direction, the plurality of the second repeating units are arranged in the second direction, and the first direction intersects with the second direction; the first repeating unit comprises a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel, and two third sub-pixels for displaying different colors, and the second repeating unit comprises a first sub-pixel, a second sub- pixel, and two third sub-pixels for displaying different colors; the first sub-pixel of the first repeating unit and the first sub-pixel of the second repeating unit are configured to display a same color, the second sub-pixel of the first repeating unit and the second sub- pixel of the second repeating unit are configured to display a same color, and the two third sub-pixels of the first repeating unit and the two third sub-pixels of the second repeating unit are configured to display a same color (see rejection in claim 1 above),
wherein in the first repeating unit, a direction from a center of the first sub- pixel to a center of the third sub-pixel is parallel to a direction from a center of the second sub-pixel to a center of the fourth sub-pixel, and a third direction from the center of the first sub-pixel to the center of the fourth sub-pixel is parallel to a fourth line from the center of the second sub-pixel to the center of the third sub-pixel, and the direction from the center of the first sub-pixel to the center of the third sub- pixel is not perpendicular to the third direction (see claim Objection above);
and wherein along the first direction (Y axis),
the first sub-pixel (top left R) of the first repeating unit, one of the two third sub-pixels of the first repeating unit, one of the two third sub-pixels of the second repeating unit, and the second sub-pixel of the second repeating unit are alternately arranged to form a first pixel column;
along the first direction, another of the two third sub-pixels of the first repeating unit, the second sub-pixel of the first repeating unit, the first sub-pixel of the second repeating unit, and another of the two third sub-pixels of the second repeating unit are alternately arranged to form a second pixel column;
the first pixel column and the second pixel column are arranged along the second direction (left to right).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Zhou in view of Ma (CN 109671754 A)
Regarding claim 21, Zhou teaches a display panel,
comprising: a plurality of pixel repeating units, each of the pixel repeating units constituted of a first repeating unit
and a second repeating unit,
wherein the plurality of first repeating units and the plurality of the second repeating units are alternately arranged in a first direction (Y direction),
the plurality of first repeating units are arranged in a second direction (X-direction)
, the plurality of the second repeating units are arranged in the second direction,
and the first direction intersects with the second direction;
the first repeating unit comprises a first sub-pixel R, a second sub-pixel G, and two third sub-pixels B1,B2 for displaying different colors,
and the second repeating unit comprises a first sub-pixel R, a second sub-pixel G, and two third sub-pixels B1,B2 for displaying different colors;
the first sub-pixel of the first repeating unit and the first sub-pixel of the second repeating unit are configured to display a same color, the second sub-pixel of the first repeating unit and the second sub-pixel of the second repeating unit are configured to display a same color,
and the two third sub-pixels of the first repeating unit and the two third sub-pixels of the second repeating unit are configured to display a same color,
wherein in the first repeating unit, a center of the first sub-pixel, a center of the second sub-pixel, and centers of the two third sub-pixel form a first virtual quadrilateral,
with the two third sub-pixels located at diagonal corners of the first virtual quadrilateral.
Zhou does not teach:
wherein along the first direction (Y), the first sub-pixel of the first repeating unit, one of the two third sub-pixels of the first repeating unit, one of the two third sub-pixels of the second repeating unit, and the first sub-pixel of the second repeating unit are alternately arranged to form a first pixel column;
along the first direction, another of the two third sub-pixels of the first repeating unit, the second sub-pixel of the first repeating unit, the second sub-pixel of the second repeating unit, and another of the two third sub-pixels of the second repeating unit are alternately arranged to form a second pixel column; the first pixel column and the second pixel column are arranged along the second direction.
However, the arrangement as claimed is known in the art. Ma discloses pixel columns: wherein; along the first direction (Y), the first sub-pixel R of the first repeating unit, one of the two third sub-pixels of the first repeating unit, one of the two third sub-pixels B1 of the second repeating unit, and the first sub-pixel R of the second repeating unit are alternately arranged to form a first pixel column (as shown below);
along the first direction, another of the two third sub-pixels B2 of the first repeating unit, the second sub-pixel G of the first repeating unit, the second sub-pixel G of the second repeating unit, and another of the two third sub-pixels B2 of the second repeating unit are alternately arranged to form a second pixel column; the first pixel column and the second pixel column are arranged along the second direction (as shown below);
Therefore, from the teachings of Ma, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the configuration of the pixel columns, by routine experimentation and/or simulations, in the device of Zhou in order to achieve a longer service life (from Ma).
Regarding claim 22, Zhou in view of Ma teaches a display panel, wherein the first sub-pixel is a red sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel is a green sub-pixel, and the two third sub-pixels are blue sub-pixels; or the first sub-pixel is a green sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel is a red sub-pixel, and the two third sub-pixels are blue sub-pixels (see Drawings in rejection of claim 21 above).
Other art
CN 107464831 B:
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 2/25/26 is acknowledged, however they are moot in light of new grounds of rejection for the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Fatima Farokhrooz whose telephone number is (571)-272-6043. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday- Friday, 9 am - 5 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, James Greece can be reached on (571) 270-3711. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http;//pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875