DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response and amendment dated 8/11/26 are acknowledged and entered. Claims 6-7 are added. Thus, claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-?? are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii (US 2015/0042288, previously cited) in view of Jin, et al. (US 2019/0217712, herein Jin).1 Regarding claims 1 and 4-5, Ishii teaches a vehicle electric power supply device, method of controlling a relay device, and non-transitory computer readable medium comprising: an electric power storage device that is charged with supplied electric power output from an external electric power supply (paragraph 0074: electric storage device 11); a relay device provided between the external electric power supply and the electric power storage device (paragraph 0089: charge relay 121b); an electric current sensor that measures an electric current value of an electric power line that connects the external electric power supply and the electric power storage device (paragraph 0090: current/voltage sensor 121e); and a control device that is connected to each of the electric power storage device, the relay device, and the electric current sensor, and that controls the relay device (paragraph 0090: control unit 121c), wherein the control device is configured to instruct the external electric power supply to stop outputting the supplied electric power when an abnormality in the electric current value is detected during charging of the electric power storage device (paragraph 0091). Ishii does not explicitly teach when the external electric power supply does not stop outputting the supplied electric power even after being instructed by the control device to stop outputting, open a switch of the relay device to cut off power between the external electric power supply and the electric power storage device, wherein the control device controls a timing at which the switch is opened based on a state of the electric current value and a state of an amount of electric power charged to the electric power storage device. Jin teaches when the external electric power supply does not stop outputting the supplied electric power even after being instructed by the control device to stop outputting, open a switch of the relay device to cut off power between the external electric power supply and the electric power storage device, wherein the control device controls a timing at which the switch is opened based on a state of the electric current value and a state of an amount of electric power charged to the electric power storage device (paragraph 0026). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of Ishii and Jin, because such a combination prevents dangerous situations (paragraph 0026 of Jin: e.g. arching or scouring). Regarding claim 2, Jin further teaches determine that the external electric power supply does not stop outputting the supplied electric power even after being instructed by the control device to stop outputting, based on the electric current value being not lower than a threshold value (paragraph 0026). Ishii further teaches the control device is configured to, after the instruction to stop output, keep the switch of the relay device on until a certain amount of time elapses from when the electric current value becomes no lower than a threshold value, when the amount of electric power charged to the electric power storage device is less than a predetermined amount of electric power (paragraph 0142). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to further combine the teachings of Ishii and Jin, because such a combination prevents dangerous situations (paragraph 0026 of Jin: e.g. arching or scouring). Regarding claim 3, Jin further teaches determine that the external electric power supply does not stop outputting the supplied electric power even after being instructed by the control device to stop outputting, based on the electric current value being not lower than a threshold value (paragraph 0026). Ishii teaches the control device is configured to, after the instruction to stop output, keep the switch of the relay device on from when the electric current value becomes no lower than a threshold value, until the amount of electric power charged to the electric power storage device becomes no less than a predetermined amount of electric power (paragraph 0142). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to further combine the teachings of Ishii and Jin, because such a combination prevents dangerous situations (paragraph 0026 of Jin: e.g. arching or scouring).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. New reference Jin has been used to teach the newly added limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW MIKELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
1 In addition to the cited portions of each reference, please see also the associated figures.
2 The Examiner can also be reached at matthew.mikels@uspto.gov.