DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This office action is in response to the filling of the Response to Restriction filed on 03/12/2026. The applicant elects Species 1 (Figure 2) with traverse. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1- 9 , 21 , 23- 31 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Low et al. (US 2019/0296630), hereinafter Low. Regarding claim 1, Low discloses (see figures 1-10) a power converter system (figure 5, part 10 ) comprising a plurality of power converter stages in a cascaded arrangement (figure 5, parts 18 and 20 ) , the power converter stages (figure 5, parts 18 and 20 ) comprising at least: a first power converter stage (figure 5, part 18 ) ; and a second power converter stage (figure 5, part 20 ) configured to modify an operational state and/or an operational mode (figure 5, part through CTRLratio ) (paragraph [0047]; The charge pump 20 is one that can be reconfigured such that the voltage-transformation ratio of the charge pump 20 changes. The charge pump 20 transitions between different voltage-transformation ratios in response to the second control-signal CTRLRATIO. Each such voltage-transformation ratio defines a charge pump mode ) of the second power converter stage (figure 5, part 20 ) responsive to feedforward information (figure 5, part feedforward information at P 1 [Vin, Vx] ) associated with the first power converter stage (figure 5, part 18 ) (paragraphs [0068]-[0078]; It does so by permitting the first and second control-signals CTRLMODE, CTRLRATIO to choose an appropriate voltage-transformation ratio for the charge pump 20 and also an appropriate mode for the regulator 18 in such a way as to favor such transient response performance over efficiency or vice versa … In addition, the controller 16 receives a first set of operation signals along a first path P1. The operation signals in the first set can be analog signals indicative of the power converter's operation. In the illustrated embodiment, the first set of operation signals includes the input voltage VIN, the intermediate voltage VX, and the output voltage VOUT … the logic block 22 receives signals from the sensor block 25 and/or the duty-cycle control-block 17 and passes along updated first and second control-signals CTRLMODE, CTRLRRATIO. The sensor block 25 receives the first set of operation signals along the first path P1, a second set of operation signals along a second path P2, and passes a third set of operation signals along a third path P3 to the logic block 22. Whether or not the sensor block 25 uses both first and second sets of operational signals or all the signals within each set depends on the circuits implemented within the sensor block 25 ) . Regarding claim 2 , Low discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1 ). Further, Low discloses (see figures 1-10) the feedforward information (figure 5, part feedforward information at P 1 [Vin, Vx] ) comprises a change in one or more of an operational state, an operational mode, and a control variable (figure 5, part through CTRLmode ) of the first power converter stage (figure 5, part 18 ) (paragraph [0068]-[0074]; It does so by permitting the first and second control-signals CTRLMODE, CTRLRATIO to choose an appropriate voltage-transformation ratio for the charge pump 20 and also an appropriate mode for the regulator 18 in such a way as to favor such transient response performance over efficiency or vice versa … At each clock pulse, the logic block 22 receives signals from the sensor block 25 and/or the duty-cycle control-block 17 and passes along updated first and second control-signals CTRLMODE, CTRLRRATIO ) . Regarding claim 3 , Low discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2 ). Further, Low discloses (see figures 1-10) the second power converter stage (figure 5, part 20 ) is configured to modify its own operational state and/or operational mode (figure 5, part through CTRLratio ) substantially contemporaneously with the change in one or more of the operational state, the operational mode, and the control variable (figure 5, part through CTRLmode ) of the first power converter stage (figure 5, part 18 ) (paragraph [0078]; At every occurrence of a clock pulse, the logic block 22 generates the first and second control-signals CTRLMODE, CTRLRATIO. The first and second control-signals CTRLMODE, CTRLRATIO can change at the same time ) . Regarding claim 4 , Low discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1 ). Further, Low discloses (see figures 1-10) the first power converter stage (figure 5, part 18 ) is configured to communicate feedforward information (figure 5, part feedforward information at P 1 [Vin, Vx]; through 25 ) regarding the first power converter stage (figure 5, part 18 ) ; and the second power converter stage (figure 5, part 20 ) is configured to modify its own operational state and/or operational mode (figure 5, part through CTRLratio ) responsive to receipt of the feedforward information (figure 5, part feedforward information at P 1 [Vin, Vx] ) (paragraphs [0068]-[0078]; It does so by permitting the first and second control-signals CTRLMODE, CTRLRATIO to choose an appropriate voltage-transformation ratio for the charge pump 20 and also an appropriate mode for the regulator 18 in such a way as to favor such transient response performance over efficiency or vice versa … In addition, the controller 16 receives a first set of operation signals along a first path P1. The operation signals in the first set can be analog signals indicative of the power converter's operation. In the illustrated embodiment, the first set of operation signals includes the input voltage VIN, the intermediate voltage VX, and the output voltage VOUT … the logic block 22 receives signals from the sensor block 25 and/or the duty-cycle control-block 17 and passes along updated first and second control-signals CTRLMODE, CTRLRRATIO. The sensor block 25 receives the first set of operation signals along the first path P1, a second set of operation signals along a second path P2, and passes a third set of operation signals along a third path P3 to the logic block 22. Whether or not the sensor block 25 uses both first and second sets of operational signals or all the signals within each set depends on the circuits implemented within the sensor block 25 ) . Regarding claim 5 , Low discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4 ). Further, Low discloses (see figures 1-10) an information controller (figure 5, part information controller generated by 22 and 25 ) communicatively coupled to the first power converter stage (figure 5, part 18 ) and the second power converter stage (figure 5, part 20 ) and configured to: receive the feedforward information (figure 5, part feedforward information at P 1 [Vin, Vx] ) from the first power converter stage (figure 5, part 18; through 25 ) ; and responsive to the feedforward information (figure 5, part feedforward information at P 1 [Vin, Vx] ) , communicate one or more control signals (figure 5, part CTRLratio ) to the second power converter stage (figure 5, part 20 ) to force the second power converter stage (figure 5, part 20 ) to modify its operational state and/or operational mode responsive to receipt of the one or more control signals (figure 5, part CTRLratio ) (paragraphs [0068]-[0078]; It does so by permitting the first and second control-signals CTRLMODE, CTRLRATIO to choose an appropriate voltage-transformation ratio for the charge pump 20 and also an appropriate mode for the regulator 18 in such a way as to favor such transient response performance over efficiency or vice versa … In addition, the controller 16 receives a first set of operation signals along a first path P1. The operation signals in the first set can be analog signals indicative of the power converter's operation. In the illustrated embodiment, the first set of operation signals includes the input voltage VIN, the intermediate voltage VX, and the output voltage VOUT … the logic block 22 receives signals from the sensor block 25 and/or the duty-cycle control-block 17 and passes along updated first and second control-signals CTRLMODE, CTRLRRATIO. The sensor block 25 receives the first set of operation signals along the first path P1, a second set of operation signals along a second path P2, and passes a third set of operation signals along a third path P3 to the logic block 22. Whether or not the sensor block 25 uses both first and second sets of operational signals or all the signals within each set depends on the circuits implemented within the sensor block 25 ) . Regarding claim 6 , Low discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1 ). Further, Low discloses (see figures 1-10) the first power converter stage (figure 5, part 18 ) is upstream of the second power converter stage in the cascaded arrangement (figure 5, part 20 ) . Regarding claim 7 , Low discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1 ). Further, Low discloses (see figures 1-10) the second power converter stage (figure 2, part 20 ) is upstream of the first power converter stage in the cascaded arrangement (figure 2, part 18 ) . Regarding claim 8 , Low discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1 ). Further, Low discloses (see figures 1-10) the first power converter stage (figure 5, part 18 ) comprises either a capacitive power converter or an inductive power converter (figure s 3 and 5, part 18 ) (paragraphs [0036]-[0039]) . Regarding claim 9 , Low discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1 ). Further, Low discloses (see figures 1-10) the second power converter stage (figure 5, part 20 ) comprises either a capacitive power converter or an inductive power converter (figure s 4 and 5, part 20 ) (paragraphs [0040]-[0047]) . Regarding claim 21 , Low discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1 ). Further, Low discloses (see figures 1-10) the first power converter stage (figure 5, part 18 ) is an inductive converter (figure s 3 and 5, part 18 ) (paragraphs [0036]-[0039]) ; the second power converter stage (figure 5, part 20 ) is a charge pump (figure s 4 and 5, part 20 ) ; and the modification (figure s 4 and 5, part through CTRLratio ) comprises a modification of a charge pump ratio (figure 5, part CTRLratio ) of the charge pump (figure s 4 and 5, part 20 ) (paragraphs [0040]-[0047]; The charge pump 20 is one that can be reconfigured such that the voltage-transformation ratio of the charge pump 20 changes. The charge pump 20 transitions between different voltage-transformation ratios in response to the second control-signal CTRLRATIO. Each such voltage-transformation ratio defines a charge pump mode ) . Regarding claim 23, claim 1 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 24, claim 2 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 25, claim 3 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 26, claim 4 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 27, claim 5 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 28, claim 6 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 29, claim 7 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 30, claim 8 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 31, claim 9 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 43, claim 21 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 11 , 12 , 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Low et al. (US 2019/0296630), hereinafter Low, in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0105185), hereinafter Chen . Regarding claim 11 , Low discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1 ). Further, Low discloses (see figures 1-10) the first power converter stage (figure 5, part 18 ) is an inductive converter (figure s 3 and 5, part 18 ) in combination with a gain element (figure 3, part gain element at 40 ) (paragraphs [0036]-[0039]) ; the second power converter stage (figure 5, part 20 ) is a charge pump (figure s 4 and 5, part 20 ) (paragraphs [0040]-[0047]) ; the feedforward information is indicative of a change (figure 5, part feedforward information at P1 [Vin, Vx] ) ; and the second power converter stage (figure 5, part 20 ) modifies its charge pump ratio (figure 5, part CTRLratio ) in response to a change (figure 5, part feedforward information at P1 [Vin, Vx] ) . However, Low does not expressly disclose the feedforward information is indicative of a change of available headroom of the gain element . Chen teaches (see figures 1-11) the feedforward information (figure 5, part feedforward information 124 ) is indicative of a change of available headroom of the gain element (figure 5, part gain element generated by 122 ) (paragraph [0111]; provided with feedforward control logic such as headroom feedforward control circuit 122 (see, e.g., FIG. 6C), which is configured to adjust Vout … The value Vout_adj computed by equation (2) refers to the predictive amount by which converter 70 should increase or decrease Vout. If desired, a different gain value G may be applied from step up versus step down cases (e.g., a first gain value may be used for brightness increases, whereas a second gain value that is different than the first gain value may be used for brightness reductions) ) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Low with the headroom features as taught by Chen and obtain the first power converter stage is an inductive converter in combination with a gain element; the second power converter stage is a charge pump; the feedforward information is indicative of a change of available headroom of the gain element; and the second power converter stage modifies its charge pump ratio in response to a change in the available headroom , because it provides more efficient and accurate control while minimizing DC/DC voltage variation and thus suppressing acoustic noise (paragraph [0115]) . Regarding claim 12 , Low and Chen teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11 ). Further, Low discloses (see figures 1-10) a gain of the gain element is changed (figure 3, part gain element at 40 ) to compensate for modification of the charge pump ratio (figure 5, part CTRLratio ) (paragraph [0068]-[0074]; It does so by permitting the first and second control-signals CTRLMODE, CTRLRATIO to choose an appropriate voltage-transformation ratio for the charge pump 20 and also an appropriate mode for the regulator 18 in such a way as to favor such transient response performance over efficiency or vice versa … At each clock pulse, the logic block 22 receives signals from the sensor block 25 and/or the duty-cycle control-block 17 and passes along updated first and second control-signals CTRLMODE, CTRLRRATIO ) . Regarding claim 33, claim 11 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 34, claim 12 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Response to Arguments Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argues on pages 12-15 of the Applicant's Response (“ Applicant respectfully traverses the restriction requirement. The five identified species share a common inventive concept, the generic claims encompass all species, and no serious search or examination burden has been demonstrated ”) . A pplicant's election with traverse of S pecie 1 (Fig. 2 ) in the reply filed on 03/12/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that t he five identified species share a common inventive concept, the generic claims encompass all species, and no serious search or examination burden has been demonstrated . This is not found persuasive because it would be a serious burden for searching the non-elected species as their variable feedforward parameters ( headroom voltage, error, input/output power, power limit, bandwidth etc. ) that result in different control schemes ( charge pump ratio control, frequency control, number of phases, FET segmentation, bandwidth control etc. ) require different search queries/strategies . Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Carlos O. Rivera-Pérez, whose telephone number is (571) 272-2432 and fax is (571) 273-2432. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 8:30 AM – 5:00 PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thienvu V. Tran can be reached on (571) 270-1276 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /C.O.R. / Examiner, Art Unit 2838 /THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838