Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 11/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “detection head thereof abutting against the correction surface” from claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 5-6, 13-14 are objected to because of the following antecedent basis informalities:
Claim 3, ll. 7, consider amending to, --the first vertical displacement platform, and the at least one grinding wheel is connected to a first lateral—
Claim 5, consider amending to, --The grinding machine according to claim 3, wherein the at least one grinding wheel is selected from a face grinding wheel[[s]] and/or a chamfer grinding wheel[[s]].—
Claim 6, ll. 1, consider amending to, --The grinding machine according to claim 5, wherein the at least one grinding wheel—
Claim 13, ll. 7, consider amending to, --clamps the square rod by the at least one of the first clamper set and moves the square rod into the grinding structure;--
Claim 13, ll. 9, consider amending to, --structures takes the square rod out of the grinding structure by the at least one of the second clamper sets.—
Claim 14, ll. 3-4, consider amending to, --relative movement of the two oppositely disposed clampers, the first top seat being positioned between the two oppositely disposed clampers.—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “at least one grinding wheel is on either of opposite sides perpendicular to a length direction of the first vertical displacement platform” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear to the Examiner the exact structure and location in which the at least one grinding wheel is disposed. If a grinding wheel is disposed on opposite sides of the first vertical displacement platform, then it would appear at least two grinding wheels would be required. However, as best understood from further recitations in the claim and dependent claims, only at least one grinding wheel is required. For examination purposes, the at least one grinding wheel is disposed on a side of the first vertical displacement platform, wherein the side is disposed in a direction perpendicular to the length direction of the first vertical displacement platform.
Claim 3, ll. 6-8, -- at least one grinding wheel is disposed on a side of wherein the side is disposed in a direction perpendicular to a length direction of the first vertical displacement platform and the at least one grinding wheel is connected to a first lateral displacement platform and a second vertical displacement platform.--
Claim 4 recites the limitation "wherein at least two first top seats are provided, and the first top seats are vertically spaced apart” which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear to the Examiner whether “a first top seat formed in at least one of the first clamper sets” from independent claim 1 is part of the “at least two first top seats” in claim 4 or whether two new first top seats are required. As best understood and for examination purposes, claim 1 requires at least one first top seat and claim 4 requires the at least one first top to include at least two first top seats (see below for examination interpretation):
Claim 1, ll. 3, --machine comprises at least one first top seat formed in at least one of the first clamper sets and at least one—
Claim 4, --The grinding machine according to claim 1, wherein the at least one first top seat comprises at least two first top seatsat least two first top seats are vertically spaced apart.--
Claim 7 recites, “wherein the mounting frame is provided with at least one grinding wheel abrasion loss detection sensor that detects a thickness of the frosted surface” which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the frosted surface” in this claim. It is unclear to the Examiner whether claim 7 is intended to be dependent from a different claim that introduces “frosted surfaces”, such as claim 6. For examination purposes and as best understood, claim 7 remains dependent on claim 5 and “the frosted surface” is a new limitation of the grinding wheel (ll. 3, --[[the]]a frosted surface by contacting the frosted surface of the at least one grinding wheel.--).
Claim 14 recites “wherein the first clamper set comprises two oppositely disposed clampers” which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the “first clamper set” in claim 14 is directed towards “the at least one of the first clamper sets” from claim 13 or whether the limitation is directed towards “the first clamper sets” (plural) from claim 1. As best understood, each first clamper set of the first clamper sets comprises two oppositely disposed clampers. Therefore, for examination purposes, each set of the first clamper sets comprises two oppositely disposed clampers (--wherein each set of the first clamper sets comprises two oppositely disposed clampers--).
Claim 15 recites, “and the clamper sets comprises two oppositely disposed clampers, with at least two of the first top seats being respectively disposed in different clamper sets and each between two of the clampers in the clamper set” which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient basis for several limitations in this claim. First, it is unclear whether “the clamper set” is directed towards only one of the at least two clamper sets or whether the claim should recite both sets. Additionally, it is unclear whether “at least two clamper sets” recited in claim 15 is required, in addition to, at least one of the first clamper sets from claim 13, or whether the “at least two clamper sets” from claim 15 includes the “at least one of the first clamper set” from claim 13. Further, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “at least two of the first top seats” as only one “first top seat” is recited in claim 1. It is unclear whether at least two first top seats are required in claim 1, or whether the “at least two of the first top seats” in claim 15 are directed towards an additional structure, separate from the first top seat. Lastly, the recitation “each between two of the clampers in the clamper set” is indefinite because it is unclear to the Examiner what “each” is referring to. As best understood from applicant’s disclosure, the square rod is between the two at least two clamper sets. For examination purposes, the claim recites:
--The grinding machine according to claim 13, wherein the first clamper sets comprise at least two clamper sets vertically spaced apart, and each clamper set of the at least two clamper sets comprises two oppositely disposed clampers, with at least two each the square rod is disposed the two oppositely disposed at least two clamper sets.—
Claim 16 recites “wherein the clamper has an abutment surface through which the clamper abuts against the side of the square rod” which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the clamper” and it is unclear to the Examiner whether the claim is directed towards the “first clamper set” or “two oppositely disposed clampers” from claim 14. As best understood and for examination purposes, each of the two oppositely disposed clampers has an abutment surface through which said each clamper abuts against the side of the square rod.
-- The grinding machine according to claim 14, wherein each clamper of the two oppositely disposed clampers has an abutment surface through which said each one of the two oppositely disposed clampers being perpendicular to the plane of the abutment surface of the first top seat.—
Claim 17 recites “a switch is provided in the first clamper set” which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the first clamper set” in the claim. It is unclear to the Examiner whether the first clamper set is directed towards “the first clamper sets” from claim 1 or directed towards “at least one of the first clamper sets” from claim 13. As best understood, a switch is provided in one of the first clamper sets (--wherein a switch is provided in one of clamper sets of the first clamper sets;--).
Claims 5-6 and 8-12 are rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b) since they are dependent on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 11-12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu (CN 108924570), as provided by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 1, Lu (CN 108924570), as provided by the Examiner, discloses a grinding machine (fig. 1), comprising a conveying structure (item 2; figs. 2-3) and a grinding structure (includes items 3, 4, 5; figs. 2-3), the conveying structure having first clamper sets (includes items 21, 253; figs. 1 and 3) for clamping a square rod (item 100; pp. [0065], [0085], [0094]; figs. 3-4), wherein the grinding machine comprises a first top seat (item 21; fig. 1) formed in at least one of the first clamper sets (first top seat 21 is defined in at least one of the first clamper sets, i.e. bottommost clamper set of the first clamper set) and at least one second top seat (item 534; figs. 1 and 3) formed in the grinding structure (pp. [0074] and [0076]; second top seat 534 formed in grinding structure);
the first top seat and the second top seat respectively abut against two opposite sides of the square rod (pp. [0084-0085], first top seat 21 respectively abuts lowermost surface of square rod 100 when in conveying structure 2; pp. [0076], while second top seat 534 respectively abuts uppermost surface, i.e. on opposing side of first top seat, of square rod 100 when in grinding structure);
an abutment surface of the first top seat (defined as face surface of item 534; fig. 3) is parallel to an abutment surface (defined as face surface of second top seat 21; figs. 1 and 3) of the second top seat (both abutment surfaces extend along horizontal direction in view of fig. 3 and therefore, parallel with one another); and
a plane of the abutment surface of the first top seat (plane extends in horizontal direction in view of fig. 3) is perpendicular to a plane (designated in annotated fig. 3 below) of at least one abutment surface (at least one abutment surface of the first clamper sets is defined as face surface of item 254 of first clamper set 253 and a plane along the at least one abutment surface extends vertically in view of fig. 3) of the first clamper sets.
Annotated Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 2, Lu discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the grinding structure comprises an independent adjusting platform (item 5; figs. 1-3), and the second top seat is disposed on the independent adjusting platform (pp. [0076]; second top seat 533 is disposed on adjusting platform 5 and movably mounted via rotation of item 51 and vertical adjustment of item 532; figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Lu discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the grinding structure comprises upper (item 532; pp. [0078]; figs. 1 and 3) and lower tightening structures (pp. [0077-0079], defined as rotating and locking mechanism of item 531 structure to secure the square rod 100 in place when in use; figs. 1 and 3) arranged coaxially, and a mounting frame (includes items 31,41, 51; fig. 1);
the upper tightening structure is mounted on a first vertical displacement platform (item 131; fig. 1) , and the mounting frame is connected to and moves synchronously with the upper tightening structure (pp. [0076]; upper tightening structure 532 mounts onto mounting frame via central mounting frame, i.e. item 13, and move synchronously as upper tightening structure 532 rotates with a portion of mounting frame, i.e. mounting body 51; fig. 1);
the second top seat is provided on the upper tightening structure (second top seat 534 is provided on upper tightening structure 532, i.e. item 533; fig. 3);
at least one grinding wheel (item 44; fig. 1) is on either of opposite sides perpendicular to a length direction of the first vertical displacement platform (at least one grinding wheel 44 is on a right side of vertical displacement platform 131; fig. 1) , and the at least one grinding wheel is connected to a first lateral displacement platform (pp. [0139], defined as transverse sliding guide mechanism; fig. 1) and a second vertical displacement platform (pp. [0139], defined as longitudinal sliding guide mechanism; fig. 1).
Second Annotated Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Lu discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least two first top seats are provided (includes first top seat 21 and top seats, i.e. surfaces engaging square rod 100, on items 253; figs. 1 and 3-4), and the first top seats are vertically spaced apart (first top seat 21, and additional top seats on clampers 253, are vertically spaced along mounting column 251; figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 5, Lu discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 3, wherein the at least one grinding wheel is a chamfer grinding wheel (pp. [0131]; at least one grinding wheel 44 is a chamfering and fine grinding device; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Lu discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 3, wherein the lower tightening structure is connected to a driving structure (pp. [0074]; not explicitly shown, defined as rotating drive device within item 531) for driving the lower tightening structure to rotate about an axis of the lower tightening structure (pp. [0074-0075], driving structure drives lower tightening structure to rotate about its own axis).
Regarding claim 18, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second top seat is a floating pressure head (second top seat protrudes outward from one surface to apply pressure to top surface of square rod 100; similar to applicant’s disclosure in that second top seat protrudes outward from one surface).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (CN 108924570), as provided by the Examiner, in view of Cao (CN214982281), as provided by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 6, Lu discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 5. Though Lu discloses the at least one grinding wheel performs rounding and fine grinding on the square rod (pp. [0138]), Lu does not explicitly disclose the details of the at least one grinding wheel such as, wherein the grinding wheel comprises an inner ring structure and an outer ring structure, and a second lateral displacement platform connected to the inner ring structure; side surfaces of the outer ring structure and the inner ring structure close to the square rod are both frosted surfaces, and a grain size of the frosted surface of the inner ring structure is different from the grain size of the frosted surface of the outer ring structure; the second lateral displacement platform is configured to drive the frosted surface of the inner ring structure to protrude out of a plane of the frosted surface of the outer ring structure.
However, Cao (CN214982281) teaches a grinding machine (fig. 1) comprising at least one grinding wheel, wherein each grinding wheel has a dual-head structure (pp. [n0225]) including an inner ring structure (defined as coarse grinding wheel nested inside the outer ring; pp. [n0226-0227]; fig. 5) and an outer ring structure (defined as fine grinding wheel; pp. [0226-0227]), and a second lateral displacement platform (pp. [0228]; defined as telescopic drive mechanism) connected to the inner ring structure (pp. [0228]; when coarse grinding wheel is nested within fine grinding wheel, the coarse grinding wheel, i.e. inner ring, can be equipped with lateral displacement platform), side surfaces of the outer ring structure and the inner ring structure close to the square rod are both frosted surfaces (outer and inner ring structures are fine and coarse grinding surface, i.e. different frosted surfaces), and a grain size of the frosted surface of the inner ring structure is different from the grain size of the frosted surface of the outer ring structure (pp. [n0227-0229]; grain size of outer ring, i.e. fine grinding wheel, is smaller, i.e. different, than the grain size of the inner ring, i.e. coarse grinding wheel);
the second lateral displacement platform is configured to drive the frosted surface of the inner ring structure to protrude out of a plane of the frosted surface of the outer ring structure (pp. [0228]; lateral displacement platform drives the inner ring to retract and protrude outward relative to the outer ring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the grinding machine, as disclosed in Lu, to include a grinding wheel with an inner and outer ring structure and a lateral displacement platform connected to the inner ring structure, as taught in Cao, in order for both operations (i.e. coarse and fine grinding) of the grinding wheel to take place in one setting directly one after the other thereby, enabling a flexible utilization of the grinding machine and improving functionality.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (CN 108924570), as provided by the Examiner, in view of Wu (CN 106736960), as provided by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Lu discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the mounting frame is provided with at least one grinding wheel abrasion loss detection sensor that detects a thickness of the frosted surface by contacting the frosted surface of the grinding wheel.
However, Wu (CN 106736960), as provided by the Examiner, teaches a grinding machine (fig. 1) comprising at least one grinding wheel (item 8; fig. 1) and a mounting frame (item 11; fig. 1) wherein at least one grinding wheel abrasion loss detection sensor (item 4; pp. [0021]; figs. 1 and 3) that detects a thickness of a frosted surface by contacting the frosted surface of the grinding wheel (pp. [0022]; sensor 4 comes into direct contact with at least one grinding wheel to detect mark height, i.e. frosted surface thickness).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the grinding machine, as disclosed in Lu, to include at least one grinding wheel abrasion loss detection sensor on the mounting frame, as taught in Wu, in order to achieve automated production and detection of the grinding wheel thereby, lowering production cost, reducing processing time, and increasing production efficiency (Wu; pp. [0013] and [0022]).
Claims 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (CN 108924570), as provided by the Examiner, in view of Xu (CN 115709400), as provided the Examiner.
Regarding claim 8, Lu discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 3, wherein the first lateral displacement platform is accommodated in a grinding housing (item 42; figs. 1-2). Though Lu discloses wherein the conveying structure has a width detection sensor (item 7; pp. [0109]; defined as flatness detection sensor) therein for detecting a width of the square rod (pp. [0109] and [0200]; sensor measures surface flatness on all sides of the square rod 100 to find the center “O”, i.e. measuring the width between two, opposing flat surfaces), Lu does not explicitly disclose wherein the width detection sensor is in the grinding housing, and a third lateral displacement platform connected to the width detection sensor, as required by the claim.
However, Xu (CN 115709400) teaches a grinding machine (item 1; pp. [n0101]; fig. 1) for grinding a square rod (item 2; pp. [n0102]), the grinding machine comprises a conveying structure (item 11; figs. 1-2) and a grinding structure (item 13; pp. [n0102]; fig. 1), wherein the grinding structure has at least one grinding wheel (item 132; figs. 13-15), a grinding housing (outer structure of item 13; fig. 13), and a mounting frame (includes items 1331, 1336, 1333 which secure to mounting frame portion, i.e. item 41 in Li), wherein the grinding housing has a width detection sensor (item 133; figs. 13-15; pp. [n0131]) therein for detecting a width of the square rod (detection sensor 133 detects the position on either side of the square rod 2 and thereby, measures the width to ensure the square rod is in place), a third lateral displacement platform (pp. [n0133]; includes items 1331, 1332, 1335; fig. 14) connected to the width detection sensor.
Both Lu and Xu disclose width detection sensors to measure the width of the square rod and a third lateral displacement platform connected to the width detection sensor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the width detection sensor positioned on the conveying structure, as disclosed in Lu, with the width detection sensor positioned on the grinding housing, as taught in Xu, to achieve the predictable result of detecting the position and flatness of the square rod before the grinding operation begins.
Regarding claim 9, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 8, wherein the mounting frame has at least one correction surface (Xu; items 1335, 1336, which mounts and secures onto portion of mounting frame, i.e. item 41 in Lu) on which the width detection sensor is corrected (Xu; width detection sensor is corrected, i.e. secured during use, with correction surface) with a detection head (Xu; item 1334, fig. 14) thereof abutting against the correction surface (Xu, detection head 1334 abut to portion of correction surface, i.e. item 1333; fig. 14).
Regarding claim 11, Lu discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 8, further comprising a second nozzle (pp. [0167]; defined as spraying device) mounted on the grinding housing (not explicitly shown, pp. [0167], cleaning device, which includes the second nozzle, is mounted on base, i.e. grinding housing 1), and the second nozzle has a discharge direction toward a side of the square rod (pp. [0167]; second nozzle sprays cleaning liquid onto a side of the square rod to clean cutting debris off of the square rod 100).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (CN 108924570), as provided by the Examiner, in view of Xu (CN 115709400), as provided the Examiner, and further in view of Cao (CN 107199509), as provided by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 10, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 9, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the mounting frame has at least one first nozzle disposed with a discharge direction toward the correction surface.
However, Cao (CN 107199509) teaches a device for a grinding machine wherein the device includes a sensor (item 2) and at least one first nozzle (item 4; fig. 1) disposed with a discharge direction toward a correction surface (item 6) in which the sensor abuts against (nozzle 4 is directed towards correction surface in which detection head of sensor is abutted against, corresponding to positioning in Lu as modified above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the grinding machine, as disclosed in Lu as modified, to include at least one first nozzle on the mounting frame directed towards the correction surface, as taught in Cao, in order to clean dust around the area to ensure stable operation of grinding (pp. [0035] in Cao).
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (CN 108924570), as provided by the Examiner, in view of Lu (CN 110126109), as provided by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 13, Lu discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the conveying structure comprises a rotating body (item 23; p. [0086]; figs. 1-2), and at least one loading structure and an unloading structure (pp. [0082]; loading and loading structure within conveying structure 2; figs. 1-3);
wherein the rotating body has a vertical rotation axis (defined about the z-axis in view of figs. 1-2), and the rotating body rotates about the vertical rotation axis to switch between the loading structure and the unloading structure (rotating body 23 rotates about vertical rotation axis to load and unload square rod 100 from grinding structure, i.e. item 53; figs. 1-2);
the loading structure comprises at least one of the first clamper sets (includes items 21, 253; figs. 1-2), and the loading structure clamps the square rod by the first clamper set and moves the square rod into the grinding structure (the loading structure clamps the square rod 100 via first clamper set 21, 253 and moves the square rod 100 into item 53 of grinding machine via rotational and translational movement of items 21, 241, 243; figs. 1-2);
Though the conveying structure loads and unloads the square rod into and from the grinding structure (pp. [0083-0090]), Lu (CN’570) does not explicitly disclose wherein the loading and unloading structure are provided on either side of the rotating body, specifically, wherein the unloading structure comprises at least one of second clamper sets to take out the square rod of the grinding structure.
However, Lu (CN 110126109) teaches an analogous grinding machine comprising a conveying structure (item 4; figs. 4-6) for loading and unloading a rod workpiece, wherein the conveying structure comprises a rotating body (item 41; figs. 5-6), wherein the rotating body rotates about the vertical axis rotation (about the z-axis; fig. 5) to switch between the loading structure (item 43; figs. 5-6) and the unloading structure (item 44; fig. 6), the loading structure comprises at least one first clamper sets (items 431, corresponding to first clamper sets in CN’570 of Lu), and the unloading structure comprises at least one of second clamper sets (items 44; pp. [0101]; fig. 6) to take out the workpiece out of the grinding structure (pp. [0040], [0101]; opposing clamper set on opposite side of rotating body 41, i.e. second clamper set 44, is capable of removing workpiece, i.e. unloading, from grinding machine).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conveying structure, as disclosed in Lu (CN’570), to include the unloading structure on an opposing side of the rotating body with a second set of clampers, as taught in Lu (CN’109), in order for the square rod to be quickly and conveniently converted from the loading and unloading of the grinding structure thereby, improving the efficiency of the operations.
Regarding claim 14, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 13, wherein the first clamper set comprises two oppositely disposed clampers (defined as opposing arms 254; pp. [0093]; figs. 1 and 3) and a fifth lateral displacement platform (pp. [0094], defined as clamping arm drive mechanism; fig. 6) for driving relative movement of the two clampers (pp. [0094]; clamping arm drive mechanism drives the clampers 254 to open and close around square rod 100), the first top seat being positioned between the two clampers (first top seat 21 is structurally positioned in space between the two clampers 254, i.e. the two clampers 254 support outer sides along the length of the square rod 100, while the first top seat 21 is disposed in an area between the two clampers 254 in order to support the lowermost face along the width of the square rod 100; figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 15, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 13, wherein the first clamper sets comprise at least two clamper sets (items 253; figs. 1 and 3) vertically spaced apart (pp. [0092], the at least two clamper sets 253 are vertically spaced along mounting component 251; figs. 1 and 3), and the clamper set comprises two oppositely disposed clampers (each clamper set 253 includes two clampers 254 on opposing sides of the square rod 100; pp. [0093-0094]; figs. 1 and 4), with at least two of the first top seats being respectively disposed in different clamper sets and each between two of the clampers in the clamper set (each clamper set 253 includes at least two top seats on opposing sides of the square rod 100, i.e. top seats defined by surfaces in which arrows are designated towards in annotated fig. 4 below).
Annotated Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 16, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 14, wherein the clamper has an abutment surface (each oppositely disposed clamper defines abutment surface, defined by surface in which horizontal arrows are extending towards in second annotated fig. 4 below) through which the clamper abuts against the side of the square rod (fig. 4; abutment surfaces of the two oppositely disposed clampers abut square rod 100), a plane of the abutment surface of the clamper (defined as plane extending into the page in view of fig. 4 below, i.e. plane defined along the height of abutment surface) being perpendicular to the plane of the abutment surface of the first top seat (plane of clamper is perpendicular to plane of abutment surface of the first top seat which extends horizontally in view of fig. 3 above).
Second Annotated Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 13, wherein a switch (item 7; pp. 0107]; fig. 1) is provided in the first clamper set (item 7 is disposed one of the clamper sets 253, i.e. upper clamper set 253, in the first clamper sets; fig. 12-13); the switch comprises a movable arm (switch 7 is a protruding arm on one of the clamper sets, i.e. fig. 13, and movable in an up-down direction relative to the height of the square rod 100) and is associated with the first clamper set (switch 4 moves with the upper first clamper set), and the first clamper set clamps the square rod when the arm is pushed and rotated by the square rod to a predetermined angle (pp. [0190-0195; first clamper sets 21, 253 clamp the square rod 100 to move the square rod 100 into specific processing stages when switch 7 is contacted and measures flatness of each side of the square rod).
Conclusion
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723