This Office action is in response to amendments filed on 04/10/2026. Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are pending; claims 19-20 are withdrawn. The previously filed drawing objection is withdrawn, as necessitated by the amendments to claim 9. The previously filed 35 USC 112(b) rejections are withdrawn, as necessitated by the amendments; however, newly amended claims are rejected under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following antecedent basis informalities:
Claim 1, ll. 5, consider amending to, --the at least one first top seat and the at least one second top seat respectively abut against two opposite sides of the—
Claim 1, ll. 7, consider amending to, --an abutment surface of the at least one first top seat is perpendicular to a plane of at least one—
Claim 1, ll. 11, consider amending to, --two-point cooperation is between the at last one first top seat and the at least one second top seat to—
Claim 2, ll. 2, consider amending to, --comprises an independent adjusting platform, and the at least one second top seat is disposed on the independent adjusting—
Claim 3, ll. 5, consider amending to, --the at least one second top seat is provided on the upper tightening structure;--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3- and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “at least one grinding wheel is disposed on each of two opposite sides perpendicular to a length direction of the first vertical displacement platform, and the at least one grinding wheel on one side of the two opposite sides is connected to a first lateral displacement platform and the at least one grinding wheel on other side is connected to a second vertical displacement platform” which renders the claim indefinite. As stated in the first part of the limitation, at least one grinding wheel is disposed on each of two opposite sides, thereby requiring at least two grinding wheels total. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the at least one grinding on one side” and “the at least one grinding wheel on other side” in ll. 7-9 of the claim. As best understood, these are two different grinding wheels. For examination purposes, one of the at least one grinding wheels on one side is connected to a first lateral displacement and another of the at least one grinding wheels on the opposing side is connected to a second vertical displacement.
Claim 3, ll. 6-8, -- at least one grinding wheel is disposed on each of two opposite sides perpendicular to a length direction of the first vertical displacement platform and one of the at least one grinding wheels on one side of the two opposite sides is connected to a first lateral displacement platform and another of the at least one grinding wheels on the opposing side
Claim 5 recites, “wherein the at least one grinding wheel” which renders the claim definite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the at least one grinding wheel” and it is unclear to the Examiner whether the applicant is referring to one of the at least one grinding wheel on one side and/or another of the at least one grinding wheel on the opposing side. For examination purposes and as best understood, said one of the at least one grinding wheels is selected from a face grinding wheel and/or a chamfer grinding wheel.
Claim 5, ll. 1-2, --The grinding machine according to claim 3, wherein said one of the at least one grinding wheels on the one side is selected from a face grinding wheel and/or a chamfer grinding wheel.—
Claim 6 recites “the at least one grinding wheel” which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the at least one grinding wheel” and it is unclear to the Examiner whether the applicant is referring to one of the at least one grinding wheel on one side and/or another of the at least one grinding wheel on the opposing side. For examination purposes and as best understood, the one of the at least one grinding wheel (from claim 5, as best understood above) comprises an inner and outer ring structure.
Claim 6, ll. 1-2, --The grinding machine according to claim 5, wherein said one of the at least one grinding wheels on the one side comprises an inner ring structure and an outer ring structure, and a second lateral--
Claim 7 recites, “the at least one grinding wheel” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear to the Examiner which grinding wheel the applicant is referring such, e.g. at least one grinding wheel on one side and/or the opposing side. For examination purposes and as best understood, the abrasion loss detection sensor detects thickness on the one of the at least one grinding wheels.
Claim 7, ll. 3-4, --thickness of a frosted surface by contacting the frosted surface of said one of the at least one grinding wheels.—
Claims 8-12 are rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b) since they are dependent on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN 108924570), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action, in view of Maurer (US 2013/0047804) and Rafael (ES2437272), as provided by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 1, Lu (CN 108924570), as provided by the Examiner, discloses a grinding machine (fig. 1), comprising a conveying structure (item 2; figs. 2-3) and a grinding structure (includes items 3, 4, 5; figs. 2-3), the conveying structure having first clamper sets (includes both items 253; figs. 1 and 3) for clamping a square rod (item 100; pp. [0065], [0085], [0094]; figs. 3-4).
Though Lu discloses the grinding machine having at least one top seat and at least one second top seat parallel to each other and abutting against two opposite end faces of the square rod, Lu does not disclose wherein two-point cooperation is between the at least one first top seat and at least one second top seat to adjust a vertical attitude of the square rod (i.e. yaw axis movement). Therefore, as required by the claim, Lu does not disclose wherein the grinding machine comprises at least one first top seat formed in at least one of the first clamper seat and at least one second top seat formed in the grinding structure, the at least one first top seat and the at least one second top seat respectively abut against two opposite sides of the square rod, an abutment surface of the at least one first top seat is parallel to an abutment surface of the at least one second top seat and a plane of the abutment surface of the first top seat is perpendicular to a plane of the at least one abutment surface of the first clamper sets, wherein two -point cooperation is between the at least one first top seat and the at least one second top seat to adjust a vertical attitude of the square rod, and wherein the second top seat is a floating pressure head.
However, Maurer (US 2013/0047804) teaches a first clamper set (item 1; fig. 1) including two oppositely disposed clamper arms (items 9, 10; fig. 2), analogous to the first clamper set with two oppositely disposed arms in Lu (items 253 in Lu), wherein at least one first top seat (item 6; fig. 2) is formed in at least one clamper set of the first clamper sets (figs. 1-2), and wherein a plane of an abutment surface of the first top seat (defined as horizontal plane along longitudinal of abutment surface, fig. 2 in Maurer) is perpendicular to a plane of an abutment surface of the first clamper sets (corresponding to the first clamper sets in Lu, at least one abutment surface of the first clamper sets is defined as face surface of item 254 of first clamper set 253 and a plane along the at least one abutment surface extends horizontally in view of fig. 3 in Lu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one of the first clamper sets, as disclosed in Lu, to include at least one first top seat with an abutment surface extending perpendicularly to the abutment surfaces of the two oppositely disposed clamper arms in the first clamper sets, as taught in Maurer, in order to center the workpiece not only horizontally, but also vertically, simultaneously or discretely (pp. [0012-0016] in Maurer).
Further, Rafael (ES2437272) teaches a grinding structure (fig. 1) comprising adjustable seats (items 17; figs. 1 and 7) on an upper and lower face of a workpiece (item 1; fig. 1), analogous to the adjustable upper and lower seats (items 531, 533 in Lu) on an upper and lower end face of the workpiece, wherein the grinding structure further includes at least one second top seat (item 22; fig. 1) on a lateral side of the workpiece, i.e. perpendicular to the upper and lower seats.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the grinding structure, as disclosed in Lu, to include at least one second top seat on a lateral side of the square rod, thereby parallel to the at least one first top seat (as modified in from Maurer above), as taught in Rafael, in order to assist in tightening and immobilizing the workpiece laterally during the machining process, e.g. grinding (p. [0032] and [0080] in Rafael).
As modified above, Lu in view of Maurer and Rafael, thereby disclose the recited structure: the at least one first top seat and the at least one second top seat respectively abut against two opposite sides of the square rod (the at least one first top seat in conveying structure, as modified by Maurer, abuts a longitudinal side of square rod; and the at least one second top seat in grinding structure, as modified by Rafael, abuts the opposing longitudinal side of square rod),
an abutment surface of the at least one first top seat (defined as longitudinal face surface of item 6 in Maurer) is parallel to an abutment surface of the at least one second top seat (abutment surface of the at least one second top seat, i.e. circular seat 22 as modified from Rafael, extends along diameter in parallel direction to at least one first top seat surface), and
two-point cooperation (according to Dictionary.com, “cooperation” is defined as an act or instance of working or acting together for a common purpose or benefit) is between at the least one first top and at least one second top seat to adjust a vertical attitude of the square rod (as modified above, both first top seat and second top seat adjust lateral movement of the workpiece, thereby working together on two-opposing points of the rod to maintain the vertical attitude, i.e. yaw axis, of the square rod during conveying and grinding);
the second top seat is a floating pressure head (as modified by Rafael, second top seat 22 is a floating pressure head, fig. 8 in Rafael, i.e. unsupported by any other structure).
Regarding claim 2, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the grinding structure comprises an independent adjusting platform (item 5; figs. 1-3), and the second top seat is disposed on the independent adjusting platform (as modified above, second top seat is included in grinding structure thereby, disposed on the adjusting platform 5 in Lu).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the grinding structure comprises upper (item 532; pp. [0078]; figs. 1 and 3) and lower tightening structures (pp. [0077-0079], defined as rotating and locking mechanism of item 531 structure to secure the square rod 100 in place when in use; figs. 1 and 3) arranged coaxially (annotated fig. 3 below), and a mounting frame (includes items 31,41, 51; fig. 1);
the upper tightening structure is mounted on a first vertical displacement platform (item 131; fig. 1) , and the mounting frame is connected to and moves synchronously with the upper tightening structure (pp. [0076]; upper tightening structure 532 mounts onto mounting frame via central mounting frame, i.e. item 13, and move synchronously as upper tightening structure 532 rotates with a portion of mounting frame, i.e. mounting body 51; fig. 1);
the second top seat is provided on the upper tightening structure (as modified above, second top seat is provided to laterally clamp square rod, thereby provided on upper tightening structure which is laterally disposed next to square rod);
at least one grinding wheel (item 44; fig. 1) is on each of two opposite sides perpendicular to a length direction of the first vertical displacement platform (at least one grinding wheel 44 is on a right side and at least one grinding wheel 44 is on a left side of square rod 100 when square rod is positioned within item 41; fig. 1) , and one of the at least one grinding wheels is connected to a first lateral displacement platform (pp. [0139], both grinding wheels 44 are connected to transverse sliding guide mechanism; fig. 1) and another of the at least one grinding wheels is connected to a second vertical displacement platform (pp. [0139], both grinding wheels 44 are connected to longitudinal sliding guide mechanism; fig. 1).
Annotated Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 4, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one first top seat comprises at least two first top seats vertically spaced apart.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an additional first top seat vertically spaced apart from the at least one first top seat (first top seat modified within one of the clamper sets 253 in Lu, thereby additional first top seat modified within second clamper set 253 vertically spaced apart; fig. 3 of Lu) with the similar features of the at least one first top seat (as modified from Maurer above), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04.VI-B).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 3, wherein said one of the at least one grinding wheels is a chamfer grinding wheel (pp. [0131]; at least one grinding wheel 44 is a chamfering and fine grinding device; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 3, wherein the lower tightening structure is connected to a driving structure (pp. [0074]; not explicitly shown, defined as rotating drive device within item 531) for driving the lower tightening structure to rotate about an axis of the lower tightening structure (pp. [0074-0075], driving structure drives lower tightening structure to rotate about its own axis).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (CN 108924570), in view of Maurer (US 2013/0047804), Rafael (ES2437272), and further in view of Cao (CN214982281), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 5. Though Lu discloses one of the at least one grinding wheels performs rounding and fine grinding on the square rod (pp. [0138]), Lu does not explicitly disclose the details of the one of the at least one grinding wheels such as, wherein the grinding wheel comprises an inner ring structure and an outer ring structure, and a second lateral displacement platform connected to the inner ring structure; side surfaces of the outer ring structure and the inner ring structure close to the square rod are both frosted surfaces, and a grain size of the frosted surface of the inner ring structure is different from the grain size of the frosted surface of the outer ring structure; the second lateral displacement platform is configured to drive the frosted surface of the inner ring structure to protrude out of a plane of the frosted surface of the outer ring structure.
However, Cao (CN214982281) teaches a grinding machine (fig. 1) comprising at least one grinding wheel, wherein each grinding wheel has a dual-head structure (pp. [n0225]) including an inner ring structure (defined as coarse grinding wheel nested inside the outer ring; pp. [n0226-0227]; fig. 5) and an outer ring structure (defined as fine grinding wheel; pp. [0226-0227]), and a second lateral displacement platform (pp. [0228]; defined as telescopic drive mechanism) connected to the inner ring structure (pp. [0228]; when coarse grinding wheel is nested within fine grinding wheel, the coarse grinding wheel, i.e. inner ring, can be equipped with lateral displacement platform), side surfaces of the outer ring structure and the inner ring structure close to the square rod are both frosted surfaces (outer and inner ring structures are fine and coarse grinding surface, i.e. different frosted surfaces), and a grain size of the frosted surface of the inner ring structure is different from the grain size of the frosted surface of the outer ring structure (pp. [n0227-0229]; grain size of outer ring, i.e. fine grinding wheel, is smaller, i.e. different, than the grain size of the inner ring, i.e. coarse grinding wheel);
the second lateral displacement platform is configured to drive the frosted surface of the inner ring structure to protrude out of a plane of the frosted surface of the outer ring structure (pp. [0228]; lateral displacement platform drives the inner ring to retract and protrude outward relative to the outer ring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the grinding machine, as disclosed in Lu, to include a grinding wheel with an inner and outer ring structure and a lateral displacement platform connected to the inner ring structure, as taught in Cao, in order for both operations (i.e. coarse and fine grinding) of the grinding wheel to take place in one setting directly one after the other thereby, enabling a flexible utilization of the grinding machine and improving functionality.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (CN 108924570), ion view of Maurer (US 2013/0047804), Rafael (ES2437272), in view of Wu (CN 106736960), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action.
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the mounting frame is provided with at least one grinding wheel abrasion loss detection sensor that detects a thickness of the frosted surface by contacting the frosted surface of one of the at least one grinding wheels.
However, Wu (CN 106736960), as provided by the Examiner, teaches a grinding machine (fig. 1) comprising at least one grinding wheel (item 8; fig. 1) and a mounting frame (item 11; fig. 1) wherein at least one grinding wheel abrasion loss detection sensor (item 4; pp. [0021]; figs. 1 and 3) that detects a thickness of a frosted surface by contacting the frosted surface of the grinding wheel (pp. [0022]; sensor 4 comes into direct contact with at least one grinding wheel to detect mark height, i.e. frosted surface thickness).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the grinding machine, as disclosed in Lu, to include at least one grinding wheel abrasion loss detection sensor on the mounting frame, as taught in Wu, in order to achieve automated production and detection of the grinding wheel thereby, lowering production cost, reducing processing time, and increasing production efficiency (Wu; pp. [0013] and [0022]).
Claims 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (CN 108924570) in view of Maurer (US 2013/0047804), Rafael (ES2437272), in view of Xu (CN 115709400), as provided the Examiner in previous Office action.
Regarding claim 8, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 3, wherein the first lateral displacement platform is accommodated in a grinding housing (item 42; figs. 1-2). Though Lu discloses wherein the conveying structure has a width detection sensor (item 7; pp. [0109]; defined as flatness detection sensor) therein for detecting a width of the square rod (pp. [0109] and [0200]; sensor measures surface flatness on all sides of the square rod 100 to find the center “O”, i.e. measuring the width between two, opposing flat surfaces), Lu does not explicitly disclose wherein the width detection sensor is in the grinding housing, and a third lateral displacement platform connected to the width detection sensor, as required by the claim.
However, Xu (CN 115709400) teaches a grinding machine (item 1; pp. [n0101]; fig. 1) for grinding a square rod (item 2; pp. [n0102]), the grinding machine comprises a conveying structure (item 11; figs. 1-2) and a grinding structure (item 13; pp. [n0102]; fig. 1), wherein the grinding structure has at least one grinding wheel (item 132; figs. 13-15), a grinding housing (outer structure of item 13; fig. 13), and a mounting frame (includes items 1331, 1336, 1333 which secure to mounting frame portion, i.e. item 41 in Li), wherein the grinding housing has a width detection sensor (item 133; figs. 13-15; pp. [n0131]) therein for detecting a width of the square rod (detection sensor 133 detects the position on either side of the square rod 2 and thereby, measures the width to ensure the square rod is in place), a third lateral displacement platform (pp. [n0133]; includes items 1331, 1332, 1335; fig. 14) connected to the width detection sensor.
Both Lu and Xu disclose width detection sensors to measure the width of the square rod and a third lateral displacement platform connected to the width detection sensor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the width detection sensor positioned on the conveying structure, as disclosed in Lu, with the width detection sensor positioned on the grinding housing, as taught in Xu, to achieve the predictable result of detecting the position and flatness of the square rod before the grinding operation begins.
Regarding claim 9, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 8, wherein the mounting frame has at least one correction surface (Xu; items 1335, 1336, which mounts and secures onto portion of mounting frame, i.e. item 41 in Lu) on which the width detection sensor is corrected (Xu; width detection sensor is corrected, i.e. secured during use, with correction surface) with a detection head (Xu; item 1334, fig. 14) thereof abutting against the correction surface (Xu, detection head 1334 abut to portion of correction surface, i.e. item 1333; fig. 14).
Regarding claim 11, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 8, further comprising a second nozzle (pp. [0167]; defined as spraying device) mounted on the grinding housing (not explicitly shown, pp. [0167], cleaning device, which includes the second nozzle, is mounted on base, i.e. grinding housing 1), and the second nozzle has a discharge direction toward a side of the square rod (pp. [0167]; second nozzle sprays cleaning liquid onto a side of the square rod to clean cutting debris off of the square rod 100).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (CN 108924570) in view of Maurer (US 2013/0047804), Rafael (ES2437272), and further in view of Cao (CN 107199509), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action.
Regarding claim 10, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 9, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the mounting frame has at least one first nozzle disposed with a discharge direction toward the correction surface.
However, Cao (CN 107199509) teaches a device for a grinding machine wherein the device includes a sensor (item 2) and at least one first nozzle (item 4; fig. 1) disposed with a discharge direction toward a correction surface (item 6) in which the sensor abuts against (nozzle 4 is directed towards correction surface in which detection head of sensor is abutted against, corresponding to positioning in Lu as modified above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the grinding machine, as disclosed in Lu as modified, to include at least one first nozzle on the mounting frame directed towards the correction surface, as taught in Cao, in order to clean dust around the area to ensure stable operation of grinding (pp. [0035] in Cao).
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (CN 108924570) in view of Maurer (US 2013/0047804) Rafael (ES2437272) and further in view of Lu (CN 110126109), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action.
Regarding claim 13, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the conveying structure comprises a rotating body (item 23; p. [0086]; figs. 1-2), and at least one loading structure and an unloading structure (pp. [0082]; loading and loading structure within conveying structure 2; figs. 1-3);
wherein the rotating body has a vertical rotation axis (defined about the z-axis in view of figs. 1-2), and the rotating body rotates about the vertical rotation axis to switch between the loading structure and the unloading structure (rotating body 23 rotates about vertical rotation axis to load and unload square rod 100 from grinding structure, i.e. item 53; figs. 1-2);
the loading structure comprises at least one of the first clamper sets (includes items 21, 253; figs. 1-2), and the loading structure clamps the square rod by the first clamper set and moves the square rod into the grinding structure (the loading structure clamps the square rod 100 via first clamper set 21, 253 and moves the square rod 100 into item 53 of grinding machine via rotational and translational movement of items 21, 241, 243; figs. 1-2);
Though the conveying structure loads and unloads the square rod into and from the grinding structure (pp. [0083-0090]), Lu (CN’570) does not explicitly disclose wherein the loading and unloading structure are provided on either side of the rotating body, specifically, wherein the unloading structure comprises at least one of second clamper sets to take out the square rod of the grinding structure.
However, Lu (CN 110126109) teaches an analogous grinding machine comprising a conveying structure (item 4; figs. 4-6) for loading and unloading a rod workpiece, wherein the conveying structure comprises a rotating body (item 41; figs. 5-6), wherein the rotating body rotates about the vertical axis rotation (about the z-axis; fig. 5) to switch between the loading structure (item 43; figs. 5-6) and the unloading structure (item 44; fig. 6), the loading structure comprises at least one first clamper sets (items 431, corresponding to first clamper sets in CN’570 of Lu), and the unloading structure comprises at least one of second clamper sets (items 44; pp. [0101]; fig. 6) to take out the workpiece out of the grinding structure (pp. [0040], [0101]; opposing clamper set on opposite side of rotating body 41, i.e. second clamper set 44, is capable of removing workpiece, i.e. unloading, from grinding machine).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conveying structure, as disclosed in Lu (CN’570), to include the unloading structure on an opposing side of the rotating body with a second set of clampers, as taught in Lu (CN’109), in order for the square rod to be quickly and conveniently converted from the loading and unloading of the grinding structure thereby, improving the efficiency of the operations.
Regarding claim 14, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 13, wherein the first clamper set comprises two oppositely disposed clampers (defined as opposing arms 254; pp. [0093]; figs. 1 and 3) and a fifth lateral displacement platform (pp. [0094], defined as clamping arm drive mechanism; fig. 6) for driving relative movement of the two clampers (pp. [0094]; clamping arm drive mechanism drives the clampers 254 to open and close around square rod 100), the first top seat being positioned between the two clampers (as modified above, first top seat is structurally positioned in space between the two clampers, i.e. right-angled to each other ).
Regarding claim 15, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 13, wherein the first clamper sets comprise at least two clamper sets (items 253; figs. 1 and 3) vertically spaced apart (pp. [0092], the at least two clamper sets 253 are vertically spaced along mounting component 251; figs. 1 and 3), and each clamper set of the at least two clamper sets comprises two oppositely disposed clampers (each clamper set 253 includes two clampers 254 on opposing sides of the square rod 100; pp. [0093-0094]; figs. 1 and 4), with at least two first top seats respectively disposed in each clamper set and the square rod is disposed between the two oppositely disposed clampers in the at least two clamper sets (each clamper set 253 includes at least two top seats on opposing sides of the square rod 100, i.e. top seats defined by surfaces in which arrows are designated towards in annotated fig. 4 below, and square rod 100 disposed between the clampers).
Annotated Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 16, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 14, wherein each clamper of the two oppositely disposed clampers has an abutment surface (each oppositely disposed clamper defines abutment surface, defined by surface in which horizontal arrows are extending towards in second annotated fig. 4 below) through which said each clamper abuts against the side of the square rod (fig. 4; abutment surfaces of the two oppositely disposed clampers abut square rod 100), a plane of the abutment surface of one of the two oppositely disposed clampers (defined as plane extending vertically in view of fig. 4 below, i.e. plane defined along longitudinal of abutment surface) being perpendicular to the plane of the abutment surface of the at least one first top seat (as modified by Maurer, plane of abutment surface of the at least one first top seat extends horizontally in view of fig. 4 below and therefore, plane of clampers is perpendicular).
Second Annotated Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 17, Lu as modified discloses the grinding machine as claimed in claim 13, wherein a switch (item 7; pp. 0107]; fig. 1) is provided in one of the clamper sets of the first clamper sets (item 7 is disposed one of the clamper sets 253, i.e. upper clamper set 253, in the first clamper sets; fig. 12-13); the switch comprises a movable arm (switch 7 is a protruding arm on one of the clamper sets, i.e. fig. 13, and movable in an up-down direction relative to the height of the square rod 100) and is associated with the first clamper set (switch 4 moves with the upper first clamper set), and the first clamper set clamps the square rod when the arm is pushed and rotated by the square rod to a predetermined angle (pp. [0190-0195; first clamper sets 21, 253 clamp the square rod 100 to move the square rod 100 into specific processing stages when switch 7 is contacted and measures flatness of each side of the square rod).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 8-9, filed 04/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102 in view of Lu (CN 108924570) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lu (CN 108924570), the same primary reference from Non-Final Rejection filed on 02/25/2026, in view of Maurer (US 2013/0047804) and Rafael (ES2437272).
The same teaching references, Cao (CN214982281), Wu (CN 106736960), Xu (CN 115709400), Cao (CN 107199509), and Lu (CN 110126109), from Non-Final Rejection filed on 02/25/2026 are utilized in the above rejection(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang (CN 112338730), as provided by Examiner, discloses a grinding machine for a square rod comprising a clamping mechanism disposed on each longitudinal face of the square rod.
Lattanzi (IT UA20164117), as provided by the Examiner, discloses a machine for processing square bars comprising adjustable clamps on opposing longitudinal sides of the square rod to secure the square rod in place during machining.
Caiumi (IT MO20030004), as provided by the Examiner, discloses a machine tool arranged to grip or respectively release a square workpiece via adjustable clamps.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723