DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 is not clearly understood because it claims a third accessory having a first cavity spaced apart form a second cavity. First and second cavities were previously claimed in claim 9. Should the first cavity of claim 15 be –a third cavity--? Is the second cavity the second cavity of claim 9?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 2142801.
CN 2142801, in reference to claim 1, discloses an accessory system for a vehicle comprising a housing (4) having a base (42,45) attached to the vehicle and a projection (41,43) extending from the base, as shown in Figure 1. The projection (41,43) is fluidly coupled to a duct of the vehicle, as disclosed in paragraph [0029]. A first vehicle accessory (3) has a cavity is configured to selectively receive the projection of the housing to selectively attach the first vehicle accessory to the housing in an engaged state, as shown in Figures 1 and 5-10. The cavity partially receives cup (A), as shown in Figures 3, 9, and 10.
In reference to claim 2, the housing (4) includes a first fastener (441) and the first vehicle accessory (3) includes a second fastener (32), as shown in Figures 1, 5, and 7. The second fastener (32) engages the first fastener (441) when the first vehicle accessory is in the engaged state, as shown in Figures 1, 5, and 7.
In reference to claim 5, the projection includes an outer perimeter surface including a plurality of substantially planar surfaces (41,43), as shown in Figure 1. Adjacent substantially planar surfaces (41,43) of the plurality of substantially planar surfaces are joined to one another at a junction, as shown in Figure 1.
In reference to claim 8, a vehicle incorporates the accessory system of claim 1, as disclosed in paragraph [0001].
In reference to claim 17, the vehicle inherently has an instrument panel supporting a duct of an HVAC system, as is standard within the industry. A housing (4) has a base (42,45) attached to the vehicle and a projection (41,43) extending from the base, as shown in Figure 1. The projection (41,43) is fluidly coupled to a duct of the vehicle, as disclosed in paragraph [0029]. A first vehicle accessory (3) has a cavity is configured to selectively receive the projection of the housing to selectively attach the first vehicle accessory to the housing in an engaged state, as shown in Figures 1 and 5-10.
In reference to claim 18, the first vehicle accessory (3) includes an aperture in fluid communication with the duct, as shown in Figures 1 and 2.
In reference to claim 19, the housing (4) includes a first fastener (441) and the first vehicle accessory (3) includes a second fastener (32), as shown in Figures 1, 5, and 7. The second fastener (32) engages the first fastener (441) when the first vehicle accessory is in the engaged state, as shown in Figures 1, 5, and 7.
Claims 1, 4, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laverick et al. (7,440,845).
Laverick et al., in reference to claim 1, discloses an accessory system for a vehicle comprising a housing (88d) and a first vehicle accessory (10d), as shown in Figure 11. The housing (88d) has a base (128’) attached to the vehicle and a projection (132’,134’) extending from the base (128’), as shown in Figures 11 and 16 and disclosed on lines 55-63 of column 12 and lines 40-52 of column 15.
The projection is fluidly coupled to a duct since port (12d) can operate as an air vent, as disclosed on lines 33-43 of column 12. The first vehicle accessory (10d) has a cavity, formed by recessed channels (136’), configured to receive the projection (132’,134’) of the housing to selectively attach the first vehicle accessory (10d) to the housing in an engaged state, as shown in Figures 11 and 16 and disclosed on lines 55-63 of column 12 and lines 40-52 of column 15.
In reference to claim 4, the housing includes a first electrical contact and the first vehicle accessory (10d) includes a second electrical contact electrically coupled together when the first vehicle accessory is in the engaged state, as disclosed on lines 38-45 of column 4. One electrical contact must be on the housing and another electrical contact must be on the vehicle accessory to make the disclosed connection.
In reference to claim 8, a vehicle incorporates the accessory system of claim 1, as shown in Figure 11.
Claims 9, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clark et al. (6,669,260).
Clark et al., in reference to claim 9, discloses an accessory system for a vehicle comprising first and second housings (12,30) and first and second vehicle accessories (20), as shown in Figures 1-5. The first housing (12,30) has a base (12) and a first projection (30) extending from the base. The second housing (12,30) has a second base (12) spaced apart from the first base (12) and a second projection (30) extending from the base (12), as shown in Figure 1.
The first vehicle accessory (20) and the second vehicle accessory (20) each has a cavity, formed by holder (180), configured to selectively receive the first projection (30) of the first housing (12,30) or the second projection (30) of the second housing (12,30) to selectively attach the vehicle accessory (20) to the first housing (12,30) or the second housing (12,30) in the engaged state and spaced apart from the first housing and the second housing in a disengaged state, as shown in Figure 3. The second vehicle accessory (20) is interchangeable with the first vehicle accessory (20), as disclosed on lines 22-25 of column 1.
In reference to claim 12, the first and second housings (12,30) each includes a first electrical contact and the first and second vehicle accessories (20) each includes a second electrical contact. The first electrical contact is electrically coupled to the second electrical contact when the first and/or second vehicle accessory is in the engaged state, as disclosed on lines 2-28 of column 10.
In reference to claim 16, a vehicle incorporates the accessory system of claim 9, as shown in Figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 2142801 in view of TSAI (US 2019/0160986).
CN 2142801 does not disclose the magnet fasteners.
Tsai teaches providing magnets (20) to fasten parts of a vehicle duct assembly (15,141,142), as shown in Figures 1 and 1A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the fasteners of CN 2142801 with magnets, as taught by Tsai, with a reasonable expectation for success to improve user convenience by providing a connection that can be readily separated.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 2142801 in view of Bourne et al. (US 2018/0318462).
CN 2142801 does not disclose the claimed shape of base and the projection.
Bourne et al. teaches forming a diffuser with a base (13,43) and a projection (11) with complementary shapes, as shown in Figure 2. The shape can be one of many different shapes including octagonal, as disclosed in paragraph [0019].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the base and projection of CN 2142801 with a complementary octagonal shape, as taught by Bourne et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to provide a desired appearance without altering the function or operation of the system.
Claims 9, 10, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 2142801.
CN 2142801, in reference to claim 9, discloses an accessory system for a vehicle comprising a first housing (4) having a base (42,45) attached to the vehicle and a first projection (41,43) extending from the base, as shown in Figure 1. The first projection (41,43) is fluidly coupled to a duct of the vehicle, as disclosed in paragraph [0029]. A first vehicle accessory (3) has a first cavity is configured to selectively receive the first projection of the housing to selectively attach the first vehicle accessory to the housing in an engaged state, as shown in Figures 1 and 5-10.
However, CN 2142801 does not disclose additional housings and accessories.
In reference to claim 10, the first housing includes a first fastener a first fastener (441) and the first vehicle accessory (3) includes a second fastener (32), as shown in Figures 1, 5, and 7. The second fastener (32) engages the first fastener (441) when the first vehicle accessory is in the engaged state, as shown in Figures 1, 5, and 7.
In reference to claim 13, the projection includes an outer perimeter surface including a plurality of substantially planar surfaces (41,43), as shown in Figure 1. Adjacent substantially planar surfaces (41,43) of the plurality of substantially planar surfaces are joined to one another at a junction, as shown in Figure 1.
In reference to claim 15, the vehicle accessory (3) includes a cavity configured to receive the projection (41,43).
In reference to claim 16, a vehicle incorporates the accessory system of claim 9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide multiple identical housings and vehicle accessories of the type disclosed by CN 2142801 with a reasonable expectation for success as an obvious duplication of parts that provide additional cooling holders for drinks of the passengers resulting in vehicle accessories that can be connected to any of the housings.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 2142801, as modified for claim 9, in view of TSAI (US 2019/0160986).
CN 2142801, as modified, does not disclose the magnet fasteners.
Tsai teaches providing magnets (20) to fasten parts of a vehicle duct assembly (15,141,142), as shown in Figures 1 and 1A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the fasteners of CN 2142801, as modified, with magnets, as taught by Tsai, with a reasonable expectation for success to improve user convenience by providing a connection that can be readily separated.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 2142801 in view of Bourne et al. (US 2018/0318462).
CN 2142801 does not disclose the claimed shape of base and the projection.
Bourne et al. teaches forming a diffuser with a base (13,43) and a projection (11) with complementary shapes, as shown in Figure 2. The shape can be one of many different shapes including octagonal, as disclosed in paragraph [0019].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the base and projection of CN 2142801 with a complementary octagonal shape, as taught by Bourne et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to provide a desired appearance without altering the function or operation of the system.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 January 9, 2026