DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action in response to communications received on 11/6/2025. Claims 1-17 and 19-21 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 17, and 20 have been amended. Claim 21 has been added. Claim 18 is cancelled.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is merely a replication of the independent claim and not presented in narrative form. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sukhyani (US20220100326) in view of AKBARPOUR (US 20170148046).
Regarding claims 1, 17 and 20, Sukhyani discloses:
An information processing method performed by a user terminal, the user terminal comprising at least one processor and a touch screen coupled to the at least one processor, the method comprising: [0133] In various embodiments, the display 912 provides a graphical output, for example associated with an operating system, user interface, and/or applications of the electronic device 900. In one embodiment, the display 912 includes one or more sensors and is configured as a touch-sensitive (e.g., single-touch, multi-touch) and/or force-sensitive display to receive inputs from a user. For example, the display 912 may be integrated with a touch sensor (e.g., a capacitive touch sensor) and/or a force sensor to provide a touch- and/or force-sensitive display. The display 912 is operably coupled to the processing unit 902 of the electronic device 900.
generating, by the at least one processor and in response to a first user operation of adding a human-computer interface widget corresponding to a first application installed on the user terminal, a first functional component for a first functional module of the first application, the first functional component comprising first information of the first functional module; [0052] FIG. 2A depicts an environment 200a of applications and microfunctions that can be executed or instantiated on a user device 202a. As shown in FIG. 2A, the user device 202a can be configured to operate one or more various software applications, also referred to herein as mobile applications or client applications 220a, 230a, and 240a. In the example of FIG. 2A, the mobile applications 220a and 230a are full-version mobile applications that may be associated with respective software platforms. In particular, the mobile client 220a (also referred to as issue tracking client 220a) is adapted to interface with an issue tracking system or platform, and can be used to manage and track software development tasks and issues, as described above with respect to issue tracking system 106 of FIG. 1. and see Figure 2C
generating, by the at least one processor and in response to a second user operation of adding a human-computer interface widget corresponding to a second application installed on the user terminal, a second functional component for a second functional module of the second application, the second functional component comprising second information of the second functional module, [0052] FIG. 2A depicts an environment 200a of applications and microfunctions that can be executed or instantiated on a user device 202a. As shown in FIG. 2A, the user device 202a can be configured to operate one or more various software applications, also referred to herein as mobile applications or client applications 220a, 230a, and 240a. In the example of FIG. 2A, the mobile applications 220a and 230a are full-version mobile applications that may be associated with respective software platforms. In particular, the mobile client 220a (also referred to as issue tracking client 220a) is adapted to interface with an issue tracking system or platform, and can be used to manage and track software development tasks and issues, as described above with respect to issue tracking system 106 of FIG. 1. and see Figure 2C
The examiner notes the language "in response to a first or second user operation" is conditional language and not positively recited and thereby given little patentable weight. However, the examiner has addressed the limitation(s) with prior art above.
wherein the first user operation and the second user operation are performed on the touch screen [0133- touch screen capabilities], and the first and second functional components are desktop functional components of the user terminal that are detached from the first and second applications and exist independently in a user interface of the user terminal; [0054] The third mobile application 240a is an integrated application or client that includes one or more microfunctions, as defined by the user. As described herein, the mobile application 240a (also referred to herein as the integrated application 240a or integrated client 240a) may include an interface 242a that includes user interface elements that relate to functionality or user interface elements in one or more full-version or service-specific client applications. In this example the integrated application 240a includes microfunctions that are associated with two different platforms, namely a full-version issue tracking platform and a full-version collaboration platform.
simultaneously displaying, on a desktop interface or a homepage interface of the touch screen, the first functional component and the second functional component [0056] As shown in FIG. 2A, the integrated application 230a, when executed or instantiated on the client device 202a, defines a graphical user interface having multiple regions that are each associated with a particular microfunction. In the example of FIG. 2A, the integrated application 230a generates graphical user interface 242a, which includes regions 244a, 246a, and 248a. The graphical user interface 242a may include other regions, graphical elements, or other content in addition to the regions 244a, 246a, and 248a, which is omitted from this particular example for clarity.
detecting, by the at least one processor and without opening the first application or the second application, an instruction [0038] For example, a microfunction can be shared among multiple applications on a single electronic device to provide a shared authentication interface, a shared electronic payment interface, a shared shopping cart interface, or may be combined with core functionality of multiple integrated applications. In this way, shared functionality or modules may be provided across applications while also providing that specific functionality within a given integrated application such that the user is able to access the shared functionality from within the given integrated application (without leaving the given integrated application). […] the instruction being a touch gesture performed on the touch screen and directed to at least one of the first functional component or the second functional component; and [0133- touch screen capabilities],
displaying, on the desktop interface or the homepage interface of the touch screen, [Shown in Figure 2C 202c] […]
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, the reference does not expressly disclose:
[…]instruction for matching the first functional component with the second functional component; and
Displaying […] a matching result corresponding to the instruction.
However AKBARPOUR discloses:
[…]instruction for matching the first functional component with the second functional component; and [0063] As items are put in the shopping cart of a shopping site, the system's browser extension replicates the item in a universal shopping cart. The system then automatically performs the necessary optimizations: if the items cannot be found at any other merchant, “local” optimization is performed per each merchant (e.g., optimization for all items to be purchased from Macy's, optimization for all items to be purchased from Bloomingdales, etc.). If the item can be purchased from other merchants, optimization on those merchants will also be performed, even though the consumer has not shopped there. The system provides the optimal plan and pricing to the user, including the VEs it has used.
Displaying […] a matching result corresponding to the instruction. [0174] Referring to FIG. 6, selecting the preview and purchase option will take the user to a summary 600 of all the products in the various carts of the respective online retailers 601, 602, 603, 604. The user is able to see which retailer is the merchant and which items are in the carts of the respective retailers.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include […]instruction for matching the first functional component with the second functional component; and displaying […] a matching result corresponding to the instruction, as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 2, Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the limitations set forth above.
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, the reference does not expressly disclose:
further comprising: performing a matching operation on the first information and the second information in response to the instruction to obtain the matching result.
However AKBARPOUR teaches:
further comprising: performing a matching operation on the first information and the second information in response to the instruction to obtain the matching result. [0063] As items are put in the shopping cart of a shopping site, the system's browser extension replicates the item in a universal shopping cart. The system then automatically performs the necessary optimizations: if the items cannot be found at any other merchant, “local” optimization is performed per each merchant (e.g., optimization for all items to be purchased from Macy's, optimization for all items to be purchased from Bloomingdales, etc.). If the item can be purchased from other merchants, optimization on those merchants will also be performed, even though the consumer has not shopped there. The system provides the optimal plan and pricing to the user, including the VEs it has used.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include further comprising: performing a matching operation on the first information and the second information in response to the instruction to obtain the matching result, as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 4, Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the limitations set forth above.
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein the first information of the first functional module of the first application and the second information of the second functional module of the second application contain associated information for comparison; and performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information to obtain the matching result comprises: comparing the first information with the second information to obtain the matching result.
However AKBARPOUR teaches:
wherein the first information of the first functional module of the first application and the second information of the second functional module of the second application contain associated information for comparison; and performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information to obtain the matching result comprises: comparing the first information with the second information to obtain the matching result. [0182] Once the user has entered an item into the shopping cart of that site 1403, the plug-in extension automatically replicates that item into the system's universal shopping cart 1404. Every time the user adds an item into a merchant's shopping cart, the system automatically gives the user a snapshot of the item and the best value for the item from a particular merchant. In addition, the system may also provide the second and third runner-up merchants in terms of the total purchase price. Furthermore, the user can shop at other retailer's Web sites as well, and similarly, once the user adds an item into the respective retailer's shopping cart 1403, the system will automatically replicate that item in the system's universal shopping cart 1404. Next, upon proceeding to purchase, the system will perform an optimization process 1405, which takes into account multi-item discounts, coupons, rewards, loyalty programs or points, etc. Based on the user's actions within the universal shopping cart 1406, the retailer's shopping cart 1407 can be altered or modified accordingly. And see compare icon in Figure 1 with resulting comparison of merchant 2 shirt with merchant 1 shirt.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include wherein the first information of the first functional module of the first application and the second information of the second functional module of the second application contain associated information for comparison; and performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information to obtain the matching result comprises: comparing the first information with the second information to obtain the matching result, as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 5, Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the limitations set forth above.
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, and [0005] where the microfunction is a shopping cart function, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein the first functional module is a first shopping cart of a first shopping application; the second functional module is a second shopping cart of a second shopping application; the first information comprises at least one item in the first shopping cart; the second information comprises at least one item in the second shopping cart; and performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information to obtain the matching result comprises: matching the item in the first information with the item in the second information to obtain a matching result of the items.
However AKBARPOUR teaches:
wherein the first functional module is a first shopping cart of a first shopping application (merchant shopping cart/shopping cart of the shopping site); the second functional module is a second shopping cart of a second shopping application (active shopping cart/universal shopping cart); the first information comprises at least one item in the first shopping cart; the second information comprises at least one item in the second shopping cart; and performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information to obtain the matching result comprises: matching the item in the first information with the item in the second information to obtain a matching result of the items. [0182] Initially, it is assumed that the user has downloaded and installed the plug-in extension 1401 for a particular browser, such as Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, Apple Safari, etc. The user then proceeds to a retailer's Web site 1401 and browse 1402 for desired items. Once the user has entered an item into the shopping cart of that site 1403, the plug-in extension automatically replicates that item into the system's universal shopping cart 1404. Every time the user adds an item into a merchant's shopping cart, the system automatically gives the user a snapshot of the item and the best value for the item from a particular merchant.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include wherein the first functional module is a first shopping cart of a first shopping application; the second functional module is a second shopping cart of a second shopping application; the first information comprises at least one item in the first shopping cart; the second information comprises at least one item in the second shopping cart; and performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information to obtain the matching result comprises: matching the item in the first information with the item in the second information to obtain a matching result of the items, as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 6, Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the limitations set forth above.
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, the reference does not expressly disclose:
further comprising: correspondingly displaying matched items between the first functional component and the second functional component, and highlighting a preferred item among the matched items, the preferred item being determined based on prices and/or reviews of the matched items.
However AKBARPOUR teaches:
further comprising: correspondingly displaying matched items between the first functional component and the second functional component, and highlighting a preferred item among the matched items, the preferred item being determined based on prices and/or reviews of the matched items. [0182] Initially, it is assumed that the user has downloaded and installed the plug-in extension 1401 for a particular browser, such as Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, Apple Safari, etc. The user then proceeds to a retailer's Web site 1401 and browse 1402 for desired items. Once the user has entered an item into the shopping cart of that site 1403, the plug-in extension automatically replicates that item into the system's universal shopping cart 1404. Every time the user adds an item into a merchant's shopping cart, the system automatically gives the user a snapshot of the item and the best value for the item from a particular merchant. […] Next, upon proceeding to purchase, the system will perform an optimization process 1405, which takes into account multi-item discounts, coupons, rewards, loyalty programs or points, etc. Based on the user's actions within the universal shopping cart 1406, the retailer's shopping cart 1407 can be altered or modified accordingly.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include further comprising: correspondingly displaying matched items between the first functional component and the second functional component, and highlighting a preferred item among the matched items, the preferred item being determined based on prices and/or reviews of the matched items, as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 7, Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the limitations set forth above.
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, the reference does not expressly disclose:
further comprising: displaying a selection-deletion control in response to existing of the matched items, the selection-deletion control being used for deleting a non-preferred item from the matched items in the first shopping cart or the second shopping cart; and/or displaying a payment selection control in response to the existing of the matched items, the payment selection control being used for paying the preferred item among the matched items in the first shopping cart or the second shopping cart.
However AKBARPOUR teaches:
further comprising: displaying a selection-deletion control in response to existing of the matched items, the selection-deletion control being used for deleting a non-preferred item from the matched items in the first shopping cart or the second shopping cart; and/or displaying a payment selection control in response to the existing of the matched items, the payment selection control being used for paying the preferred item among the matched items in the first shopping cart or the second shopping cart. (As shown in Figure 2 the options to "remove" or buy" the matched item and Figure 6 showing the checkout option for matched items 605).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include further comprising: displaying a selection-deletion control in response to existing of the matched items, the selection-deletion control being used for deleting a non-preferred item from the matched items in the first shopping cart or the second shopping cart; and/or displaying a payment selection control in response to the existing of the matched items, the payment selection control being used for paying the preferred item among the matched items in the first shopping cart or the second shopping cart., as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 8, Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the limitations set forth above.
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein displaying the matching result comprises: displaying the matching result in the first functional component and/or the second functional component; or displaying the matching result in an information-matching-result display component.
However AKBARPOUR teaches:
wherein displaying the matching result comprises: displaying the matching result in the first functional component and/or the second functional component; or
displaying the matching result in an information-matching-result display component. (see results displayed in at least Figure 6 element 600)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include wherein displaying the matching result comprises: displaying the matching result in the first functional component and/or the second functional component; or displaying the matching result in an information-matching-result display component., as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 9, Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the limitations set forth above.
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information in response to the instruction to obtain the matching result comprises: generating, in response to the instruction, a container configured to performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information; and displaying the matching result corresponding to the instruction comprises: displaying the matching result in the container.
However AKBARPOUR teaches:
wherein performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information in response to the instruction to obtain the matching result comprises: generating, in response to the instruction, a container configured to performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information; and displaying the matching result corresponding to the instruction comprises: displaying the matching result in the container. (see results displayed in at least Figure 3)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include wherein performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information in response to the instruction to obtain the matching result comprises: generating, in response to the instruction, a container configured to performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information; and displaying the matching result corresponding to the instruction comprises: displaying the matching result in the container, as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 10, Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the limitations set forth above.
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein the container is configured to accommodate the first functional component and the second functional component, and the container further comprises a matching confirmation control; and the matching confirmation control confirms to perform matching of the first functional component with the second functional component.
However AKBARPOUR teaches:
wherein the container is configured to accommodate the first functional component and the second functional component, and the container further comprises a matching confirmation control; and the matching confirmation control confirms to perform matching of the first functional component with the second functional component. (see results displayed in at least Figure 3 from features of "compare")
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include wherein the container is configured to accommodate the first functional component and the second functional component, and the container further comprises a matching confirmation control; and the matching confirmation control confirms to perform matching of the first functional component with the second functional component, as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 11, Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the limitations set forth above.
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein the container further comprises a functional-component adding control for adding, to the container, a new functional component for matching; the container is configured to accommodate the first functional component, the second functional component, and the new functional component, and the matching confirmation control confirms to perform matching of the first functional component, the second functional component, and the new functional component.
However AKBARPOUR teaches:
wherein the container further comprises a functional-component adding control for adding, to the container, a new functional component for matching; the container is configured to accommodate the first functional component, the second functional component, and the new functional component, and the matching confirmation control confirms to perform matching of the first functional component, the second functional component, and the new functional component. [00169] The user can proceed to browse and shop online with the retailer as usual. Upon the addition of a desired product 101 into the retailer's standard shopping cart, the system via its extension will also place the same item 102 into the system, shopping cart 103, referred to here as Active Cart, in parallel to the retailer's standard shopping cart. This process can be repeated with multiple online retailers to allow the user to comparison shop and find the best deal.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include wherein the container further comprises a functional-component adding control for adding, to the container, a new functional component for matching; the container is configured to accommodate the first functional component, the second functional component, and the new functional component, and the matching confirmation control confirms to perform matching of the first functional component, the second functional component, and the new functional component, as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 12, Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the limitations set forth above.
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, the reference does not expressly disclose:
further comprising: performing information matching on content information indicated by the first functional module of the first application corresponding to the first functional component and content information indicated by the second functional module of the second application corresponding to the second functional component.
However AKBARPOUR teaches:
further comprising: performing information matching on content information indicated by the first functional module of the first application corresponding to the first functional component and content information indicated by the second functional module of the second application corresponding to the second functional component. [0182] Once the user has entered an item into the shopping cart of that site 1403, the plug-in extension automatically replicates that item into the system's universal shopping cart 1404. Every time the user adds an item into a merchant's shopping cart, the system automatically gives the user a snapshot of the item and the best value for the item from a particular merchant. In addition, the system may also provide the second and third runner-up merchants in terms of the total purchase price. Furthermore, the user can shop at other retailer's Web sites as well, and similarly, once the user adds an item into the respective retailer's shopping cart 1403, the system will automatically replicate that item in the system's universal shopping cart 1404. Next, upon proceeding to purchase, the system will perform an optimization process 1405, which takes into account multi-item discounts, coupons, rewards, loyalty programs or points, etc. Based on the user's actions within the universal shopping cart 1406, the retailer's shopping cart 1407 can be altered or modified accordingly. And see compare icon in Figure 1 with resulting comparison of merchant 2 shirt with merchant 1 shirt.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include further comprising: performing information matching on content information indicated by the first functional module of the first application corresponding to the first functional component and content information indicated by the second functional module of the second application corresponding to the second functional component, as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 13, Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the limitations set forth above. Sukhyani further discloses:
obtaining, from the first functional component, the content information indicated by the first functional module of the first application; retrieving, through the second functional component, the content information indicated by the first functional module of the first application; and [0038] For example, a microfunction can be shared among multiple applications on a single electronic device to provide a shared authentication interface, a shared electronic payment interface, a shared shopping cart interface, or may be combined with core functionality of multiple integrated applications. In this way, shared functionality or modules may be provided across applications while also providing that specific functionality within a given integrated application such that the user is able to access the shared functionality from within the given integrated application (without leaving the given integrated application).
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, the reference does not expressly disclose:
outputting a retrieval result, and using the retrieval result as the matching result between the first functional component and the second functional component, the second functional component being a browser functional component,
and the content information indicated by the first functional module of the first application being at least one of a text, an image, an audio, and multimedia information.
However AKBARPOUR teaches:
outputting a retrieval result, and using the retrieval result as the matching result between the first functional component and the second functional component, (Every time the user adds an item into a merchant's shopping cart, the system automatically gives the user a snapshot of the item and the best value for the item from a particular merchant. In addition, the system may also provide the second and third runner-up merchants in terms of the total purchase price)
the second functional component being a browser functional component, (the plug-in extension automatically replicates that item into the system's universal shopping cart 1404).
and the content information indicated by the first functional module of the first application being at least one of a text, an image, an audio, and multimedia information. (see image in Figure 1 of top added) [see [0182]]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include outputting a retrieval result, and using the retrieval result as the matching result between the first functional component and the second functional component, the second functional component being a browser functional component, and the content information indicated by the first functional module of the first application being at least one of a text, an image, an audio, and multimedia information, as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 14, Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the limitations set forth above and Sukhyani further discloses:
wherein in response to the first application and the second application being a same application, the first functional component and the second functional component are different functional components of the same application; or the first functional component and the second functional component are functional components of different applications. [0038] For example, a microfunction can be shared among multiple applications on a single electronic device to provide a shared authentication interface, a shared electronic payment interface, a shared shopping cart interface, or may be combined with core functionality of multiple integrated applications. In this way, shared functionality or modules may be provided across applications while also providing that specific functionality within a given integrated application such that the user is able to access the shared functionality from within the given integrated application (without leaving the given integrated application). See for example Fig. 2C
Regarding claim 15, Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the limitations set forth above.
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information in response to the instruction to obtain the matching result comprises: performing, by the user terminal, the matching operation on the first information and the second information in response to the instruction to obtain the matching result; or, transmitting, by the user terminal, the first information and the second information to a network server in response to the instruction for matching the first functional component with the second functional component, thereby matching the first information with the second information to obtain the matching result.
However AKBARPOUR teaches:
wherein performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information in response to the instruction to obtain the matching result comprises: performing, by the user terminal, the matching operation on the first information and the second information in response to the instruction to obtain the matching result; or, (see results displayed in at least Figure 3 from features of "compare"; [0144] Specifically, the optimization module is comprised of at least two components: an active universal shopping cart module and a wish list module. The optimization module operates a web browser extension which functions with different browsers (Chrome, FireFox, Safari, and Explorer), and captures all the items a user intends to purchase. The user has the option of executing the transaction, compare items,) transmitting, by the user terminal, the first information and the second information to a network server in response to the instruction for matching the first functional component with the second functional component, thereby matching the first information with the second information to obtain the matching result.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include wherein performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information in response to the instruction to obtain the matching result comprises: performing, by the user terminal, the matching operation on the first information and the second information in response to the instruction to obtain the matching result; or, transmitting, by the user terminal, the first information and the second information to a network server in response to the instruction for matching the first functional component with the second functional component, thereby matching the first information with the second information to obtain the matching result, as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 16, Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the limitations set forth above.
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information in response to the instruction to obtain the matching result comprises: performing, in response to the instruction, information matching on the first information displayed by the first functional component and the second information displayed by the second functional component, so as to obtain the matching result; or performing, in response to the instruction, information matching on the first information in a database corresponding to the first functional component and second information in a database corresponding to the second functional component, so as to obtain the matching result.
However AKBARPOUR teaches:
wherein performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information in response to the instruction to obtain the matching result comprises: performing, in response to the instruction, information matching on the first information displayed by the first functional component and the second information displayed by the second functional component, so as to obtain the matching result; or (see top in first interface of merchant 2 compared to the top shown in interface 2 of merchant 2 in Figure 3) performing, in response to the instruction, information matching on the first information in a database corresponding to the first functional component and second information in a database corresponding to the second functional component, so as to obtain the matching result.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include wherein performing the matching operation on the first information and the second information in response to the instruction to obtain the matching result comprises: performing, in response to the instruction, information matching on the first information displayed by the first functional component and the second information displayed by the second functional component, so as to obtain the matching result; or performing, in response to the instruction, information matching on the first information in a database corresponding to the first functional component and second information in a database corresponding to the second functional component, so as to obtain the matching result, as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sukhyani (US20220100326) in view of AKBARPOUR (US 20170148046) in view of Golden (US 20190020615).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the limitations set forth above.
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, the reference does not expressly disclose:
The information processing method according to wherein detecting the instruction for matching the first functional component with the second functional component comprises: displaying, in response to a dragging operation for at least partially overlapping a region corresponding to the first functional component in a user interface with a region corresponding to the second functional component in the user interface, a matching confirmation control for matching the first functional component with the second functional component; and
generating the instruction in response to an operation that is performed on the matching confirmation control and indicates a confirmation of the matching.
However AKBARPOUR teaches:
displaying, […], a matching confirmation control for matching the first functional component with the second functional component; and generating the instruction in response to an operation that is performed on the matching confirmation control and indicates a confirmation of the matching. [0182] Once the user has entered an item into the shopping cart of that site 1403, the plug-in extension automatically replicates that item into the system's universal shopping cart 1404. Every time the user adds an item into a merchant's shopping cart, the system automatically gives the user a snapshot of the item and the best value for the item from a particular merchant. In addition, the system may also provide the second and third runner-up merchants in terms of the total purchase price. Furthermore, the user can shop at other retailer's Web sites as well, and similarly, once the user adds an item into the respective retailer's shopping cart 1403, the system will automatically replicate that item in the system's universal shopping cart 1404. Next, upon proceeding to purchase, the system will perform an optimization process 1405, which takes into account multi-item discounts, coupons, rewards, loyalty programs or points, etc. Based on the user's actions within the universal shopping cart 1406, the retailer's shopping cart 1407 can be altered or modified accordingly. And see compare icon in Figure 1 with resulting comparison of merchant 2 shirt with merchant 1 shirt
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include displaying, […], a matching confirmation control for matching the first functional component with the second functional component; and generating the instruction in response to an operation that is performed on the matching confirmation control and indicates a confirmation of the matching, as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
While Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR discloses the GUI operation of dragging elements in [0163], the combination does not explicitly disclose:
in response to a dragging operation for at least partially overlapping a region corresponding to the first functional component in a user interface with a region corresponding to the second functional component in the user interface
However Golden teaches:
in response to a dragging operation for at least partially overlapping a region corresponding to the first functional component in a user interface with a region corresponding to the second functional component in the user interface [0023] In some examples, the user's chat interface can enable a user to interact with the chat message. For example, the user's chat interface can allow the user to select, expand, contract, rotate, move, overlay, and/or otherwise manipulate the images (e.g., within the boundaries of the chat message or the chat window). As a particular example, the user can select an image in the chat message and the user's chat interface can responsively expand the image, display additional information about a product in the image, and/or display an option to purchase the product or add the product to a wish list or shopping cart. As another example, the user can select a grouping of images in the chat message and the chat interface can responsively reorganize the images into an image carousel, in which only one image is displayed at a time and the user can selectively cycle through the images. The image carousel may also provide additional information about an item shown in the displayed image, which can allow the user to easily switch between and compare items. In some examples, the chat interface can allow a user to move (e.g., drag-and-drop) an image from the chat message into another chat message, for example, to compare an item in the image with another item in the other chat message.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dragging operation of Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR to include in response to a dragging operation for at least partially overlapping a region corresponding to the first functional component in a user interface with a region corresponding to the second functional component in the user interface, as taught in Golden, in order to improve engagement and conveyance of information (paragraph 0017).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sukhyani (US20220100326) in view of AKBARPOUR (US 20170148046) in view of Quan (US 20170091208).
Regarding claim 21, Sukhyani discloses the limitations set forth above and further discloses:
in response to that the first application and the second application are shopping applications, [0075] One unique aspect of the shopping cart provided by microfunction 250c is that the items stored or identified by the shopping cart may include items that were selected from multiple different or distinct software applications and/or platforms
in response to that the first application and the second application are document processing applications, [0099] a document request
in response to that the first application and the second application are media playing applications, [0100] a multi-media content request or microfunctions
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, the reference does not expressly disclose:
[…] the matching result comprises a shopping item that exist in both shopping carts of the first and second applications;
[…] the matching result comprises a comparison result between a first document in the first application and a second document in the second application; and
[…] the matching result comprises a media that exist in both media libraries of the first and second applications.
However AKBARPOUR teaches
the matching result comprises a shopping item that exist in both shopping carts of the first and second applications; [0066] In one embodiment, the universal shopping cart module duplicates products placed in shopping cart of the user's web browser.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani to include the matching result comprises a shopping item that exist in both shopping carts of the first and second applications, as taught in AKBARPOUR, in order to optimize the results output to the user (paragraph 0063).
While Sukhyan discloses removing redundancy: [0011] Some example embodiments are directed to a method of reducing redundant resource allocations in portable electronic devices. The method may include: creating a microfunction instance defined by a configuration file, the microfunction instance configured to provide a service; instantiating a first client application; communicably coupling the first client application instance to the microfunction instance; instantiating a second client application; communicably coupling the second client application instance to the microfunction instance; and executing the microfunction instance to provide the function to both the first client application instance and the second client application instance, and AKBARPOUR teaches a shopping application of a universal cart, the combination does not expressly disclose:
[…] the matching result comprises a comparison result between a first document in the first application and a second document in the second application; and […] the matching result comprises a media that exist in both media libraries of the first and second applications.
However Quan teaches:
[…] the matching result comprises a comparison result between a first document in the first application and a second document in the second application; and […] the matching result comprises a media that exist in both media libraries of the first and second applications. [0008] In one aspect of the present invention, a computer application (app) may be utilized to access and view the files and/or documents accessible to a user that may reside on multiple cloud services in a single unified app interface, which may be desirable as it would not require the user to log in or access each individual cloud service separately, each time. [005] Files and/or documents may include, but are not limited to, photos, text files, presentations, documents, images, and/or any other appropriate computer file or document.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfunctions of Sukhyani in view of AKBARPOUR to include […] the matching result comprises a comparison result between a first document in the first application and a second document in the second application; and […] the matching result comprises a media that exist in both media libraries of the first and second applications, as taught in Quan, in order to not require the user to log in or access each individual cloud service separately, each time. (see paragraph 008).
The examiner notes the language "in response to a first and second application" is conditional language and not positively recited and thereby given little patentable weight. However, the examiner has addressed the limitation(s) with prior art above.
Response to Arguments
With respect to Subject Matter Eligibility under 35 USC 101, the rejection has been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments and arguments. Claims 1-17 and 19-21 are no longer rejected under 35 USC 101. While the claims still recite an abstract idea in light of the specification (see [0050 and Figure set 4A-K related to at least the embodiment of a shopping cart and the user making a purchase) and the providing of a matching result is a result in light of the abstract idea, the claims as a whole are applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo. For example, the claims recite “generating, by the at least one processor and in response to a first user operation of adding a human-computer interface widget corresponding to a first application installed on the user terminal, […]; generating, by the at least one processor and in response to a second user operation of adding a human-computer interface widget corresponding to a second application installed on the user terminal, […] wherein the first user operation and the second user operation are performed on the touch screen, and the first and second functional components are desktop functional components of the user terminal that are detached from the first and second applications and exist independently in a user interface of the user terminal; simultaneously displaying, on a desktop interface or a homepage interface of the touch screen, the first functional component and the second functional component; detecting, by the at least one processor and without opening the first application or the second application, an instruction […]. The claims therefore fail Step 2A prong 2 and therefore are eligible.
The examiner notes the title objection has been withdrawn, however the abstract objection is maintained as the abstract merely restates claim language.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/6/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the remarks directed to 35 USC 102, the remarks are now moot in light of the updated prior art rejection. The newly amended claims are now rejected under 35 USC 103 with a primary reference of newly cited Sukhyani. While Akbarour is maintained as a secondary reference, it is no longer relied upon for teaching the functionality of the interface or the touch screen/touch gesture interactions as amended.
Relevant Art Not Cited
“Method for Virtual Coordination covering Multiple On-Line Shopping Systems” discloses the virtual coordination of multiple online shopping systems to consolidate multiple shopping carts.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VICTORIA E. FRUNZI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit TC 3689
/VICTORIA E. FRUNZI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689 1/28/2026