DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument that “wherein the information on the location where the burner that is being used is located on the cooking apparatus comprises coordinates of a left upper vertex and a right lower vertex of the burner that is being used, wherein the coordinates of an left upper vertex and a right lower vertex of the burner that is being used are calculated based on an entire horizontal length and an entire vertical length of the cooking apparatus, a horizontal length and a vertical length of a quadrangle surrounding the burner that is being used, and a distance between the vertexes of the quadrangle surrounding the burner that is being used and vertexes of the cooking apparatus,” the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In the present case, Cha discloses a camera for capturing images of a cooking apparatus where the cooking apparatus is in the camera’s field of vision. Kobayashi teaches a coordinate system for the subjects of a camera based on the camera’s field of vision. Combining the references will result in an apparatus that provides a coordinate system for a cooking appliance based on the cooking appliance.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that Park does not disclose “wherein the display apparatus is configured to: display the burner that is being used in an enlarged size in the streaming image of the cooking apparatus based on the information on the burner that is being used,” the examiner disagrees. Figure 6 of Park shows an enlarged image of a burner in use and therefore has information on the burner in use.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 have been amended to recite “comprises coordinates of a left upper vertex and a right lower vertex of the burner that is being used, wherein the coordinates of an left upper vertex and a right lower vertex of the burner that is being used” which should be -comprises coordinates of a left upper vertex and a right lower vertex of the burner that is being used, wherein the coordinates of the left upper vertex and the right lower vertex of the burner that is being used-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9, 10, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (US 20180372332 A1), hereinafter Cha, in view of Kobayashi (US 20080013787 A1), hereinafter Kobayashi, and further in view of Park (US 20210102707 A1), hereinafter Park.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Cha discloses a cooking apparatus comprising:
a plurality of burners for heating food (“The heating unit 280 may include a burner (a gas burner or an electric burner, not illustrated) and/or an induction coil (not illustrated) which heats a cooking container 1 placed on the upper plate 200a of the cook top 200 under the control of the controller 110” paragraph [0155]);
a communicator (“a communicator 120” paragraph [0066]); and
at least one processor (“The controller 110 may include the processor 111” paragraph [0069]) configured to:
based on information on the cooking apparatus being requested from an external apparatus through the communicator based on a streaming request for an image of the cooking apparatus photographed through a camera, control the communicator to transmit the information on the cooking apparatus including information on a burner that is being used among the plurality of burners to the external apparatus (“When the communicator 120 of the range hood 100 and the wireless router (not illustrated) are connected, the controller 110 may transmit a photographed (stored) video (or image) to the wireless router (not illustrated) via the communicator 120. The wireless router (not illustrated) may transmit the received video (or image) to a communicator (not illustrated) of the portable device 410. A controller (not illustrated) of the portable device 410 may receive a video (or image) which is transmitted from the wireless router (not illustrated)” paragraph [0220] and “Referring to (c) and (d) of FIG. 8B, the controller of the portable device 410 may display a video (or image, one of 474a and 474a′) which is photographed from the range hood 100 on the application screen 474 in response to receiving the user input 460e” paragraph [0263]);
wherein the information on the burner that is being used comprises information on a location where the burner that is being used is located on the cooking apparatus (The information on location is provided visually as seen in figure 8B);
wherein the external apparatus is a server that can communicate with a display apparatus wherein the streaming request is initiated, a range hood including the camera, and the cooking apparatus (“when the communicator 120 of the range hood 100 is connected to a communicator (not illustrated) of a server 440, at least one of a video and image photographed by a camera of the range hood 100 may be received via the communicator (not illustrated) of the server 440” paragraph [0228]), and wherein the server is configured to:
transmit the information on the burner that is being used that was received from the cooking apparatus to the range hood, and
transmit a streaming image of the cooking apparatus received from the range hood and the information on the burner that is being used to the display apparatus (Figure 2C), and
wherein the display apparatus is configured to:
display the burner that is being used in the streaming image of the cooking apparatus based on the information on the burner that is being used (Figure 8B).
Cha does not disclose:
wherein the information on the location where the burner that is being used is located on the cooking apparatus comprises coordinates of a left upper vertex and a right lower vertex of the burner that is being used,
wherein the coordinates of an left upper vertex and a right lower vertex of the burner that is being used are calculated based on an entire horizontal length and an entire vertical length of the cooking apparatus, a horizontal length and a vertical length of a quadrangle surrounding the burner that is being used, and a distance between the vertexes of the quadrangle surrounding the burner that is being used and vertexes of the cooking apparatus,
wherein the display apparatus is configured to display the burner that is being used in an enlarged size;
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
based on receiving the information on the coordinates wherein the cooking apparatus is located in an entire image photographed through the camera from the external apparatus through the communicator, calculate the coordinates of the vertexes of the quadrangle surrounding the burner that is being used based on the information on the coordinates wherein the cooking apparatus is located.
However, Kobayashi teaches:
wherein the information on the location where the subject is located in the frame comprises coordinates of a left upper vertex and a right lower vertex of the subject,
wherein the coordinates of an left upper vertex and a right lower vertex of the subject are calculated based on an entire horizontal length and an entire vertical length of the frame, a horizontal length and a vertical length of a quadrangle surrounding the subject, and a distance between the vertexes of the quadrangle surrounding the subject and vertexes of the cooking apparatus;
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
based on receiving the information on the coordinates wherein the frame is located in an entire image photographed through the camera from the external apparatus through the communicator, calculate the coordinates of the vertexes of the quadrangle surrounding the subject based on the information on the coordinates wherein the frame is located (“FIG. 3 shows an example of an image in which the face detector 30 detects human faces. The face detector 30 confines face areas A1, A2 and A3 of the detected human faces with rectangles whose four sides are parallel to four sides of a rectangular image frame G respectively. The face area data represents coordinates of two diagonal vertices of each rectangle in a coordinate system whose origin is located at an appropriate point in the image frame G and whose axes are parallel to horizontal and vertical lines of the image frame G. For example, the face area Al is represented by coordinates (X11, Y11) and coordinates (X12, Y12), the face area A2 is represented by coordinates (X21, Y21) and coordinates (X22, Y22), and the face area A3 is represented by coordinates (X31, Y31) and coordinates (X32, Y32)” paragraph [0065] and “the face area data represents coordinates locating two diagonal vertices of each of the rectangular face areas confining the detected faces. That is, the face area data of each face area consist of an abscissa (X,) and an ordinate (Y) of an upper left vertex and an abscissa (X) and an ordinate (Y) of a lower right vertex of that face area” paragraph [0086]).
In view of Kobayashi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the coordinate system as is taught in Kobayashi, in the cooking apparatus disclosed by Cha because Kobayashi states “a primary object of the present invention is to provide an imaging apparatus that captures image data from a subject and processes and records the image data, an image processor for processing the image data after being recorded by the imaging apparatus, an image filing method for the image data, an image processing method and an image processing program, which facilitate processing the image data in an optimum way” (paragraph [0006]). Therefore, including the teachings of Kobayashi will enable optimum processing of the image data of Cha.
Cha, as modified by Kobayashi, does not disclose wherein the display apparatus is configured to display the burner that is being used in an enlarged size.
However, Park teaches:
wherein the display apparatus is configured to display the burner that is being used in an enlarged size (“user interface 600 includes a new user interface element 602 having an enlarged image 604 of the cookware 1′ displayed for a user. The enlarged image may be obtained through a zoom function of the imaging sensor 160 or image processing at the controller 150 to enlarge a portion of the image data 502. The user interface element 602 may also include a cooktop data display element 606 that includes text, image, or color reference of cooktop data for the burner 1. For example, the cooktop data may include temperature, time cooking, and other suitable data” paragraph [0045]).
In view of Park’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include enlargement as is taught in Park, in the cooking apparatus disclosed by Cha because enlarging an image simplifies viewing an image. Therefore, enlarging the images as taught by Park will simplify viewing the images of Cha.
Regarding claim 9, Cha, as modified by Kobayashi and Park, discloses the cooking apparatus of claim 1, wherein the information on the burner that is being used further comprises:
at least one of identification information of the burner that is being used, information on an operation level of the burner that is being used, or information on a time when the burner that is being used started operating (Visual identification information as in figure 8B).
Regarding claims 10 and 14, Cha discloses a method of controlling a cooking apparatus comprising a plurality of burners for heating food (“The heating unit 280 may include a burner (a gas burner or an electric burner, not illustrated) and/or an induction coil (not illustrated) which heats a cooking container 1 placed on the upper plate 200a of the cook top 200 under the control of the controller 110” paragraph [0155]), the method comprising:
based on a streaming request for an image of the cooking apparatus photographed through a camera, receiving a request for information on the cooking apparatus from an external apparatus (“Referring to (c) and (d) of FIG. 8B, the controller of the portable device 410 may display a video (or image, one of 474a and 474a′) which is photographed from the range hood 100 on the application screen 474 in response to receiving the user input 460e” paragraph [0263]); and
transmitting the information on the cooking apparatus including information on a burner that is being used among the plurality of burners to the external apparatus in response to the request for information (“When the communicator 120 of the range hood 100 and the wireless router (not illustrated) are connected, the controller 110 may transmit a photographed (stored) video (or image) to the wireless router (not illustrated) via the communicator 120. The wireless router (not illustrated) may transmit the received video (or image) to a communicator (not illustrated) of the portable device 410. A controller (not illustrated) of the portable device 410 may receive a video (or image) which is transmitted from the wireless router (not illustrated)” paragraph [0220]),
wherein the information on the burner that is being used comprises information on a location where the burner that is being used is located on the cooking apparatus (The information on location is provided visually as seen in figure 8B);
wherein the external apparatus is a server that can communicate with a display apparatus wherein the streaming request is initiated, a range hood including the camera, and the cooking apparatus (“when the communicator 120 of the range hood 100 is connected to a communicator (not illustrated) of a server 440, at least one of a video and image photographed by a camera of the range hood 100 may be received via the communicator (not illustrated) of the server 440” paragraph [0228]), and wherein the server is configured to:
transmit the information on the burner that is being used that was received from the cooking apparatus to the range hood, and
transmit a streaming image of the cooking apparatus received from the range hood and the information on the burner that is being used to the display apparatus (Figure 2C), and
wherein the display apparatus is configured to:
display the burner that is being used in the streaming image of the cooking apparatus based on the information on the burner that is being used (Figure 8B);
wherein the cooking apparatus is located in an entire image photographed through the camera from the external apparatus (Figure 8B).
Cha does not disclose:
wherein the information on the location where the burner that is being used is located on the cooking apparatus comprises coordinates of a left upper vertex and a right lower vertex of the burner that is being used,
wherein the coordinates of an left upper vertex and a right lower vertex of the burner that is being used are calculated based on an entire horizontal length and an entire vertical length of the cooking apparatus, a horizontal length and a vertical length of a quadrangle surrounding the burner that is being used, and a distance between the vertexes of the quadrangle surrounding the burner that is being used and vertexes of the cooking apparatus,
wherein the display apparatus is configured to display the burner that is being used in an enlarged size;
receiving the information on the coordinates wherein the cooking apparatus is located in an entire image photographed through the camera from the external apparatus; and
calculating the coordinates of the vertexes of the quadrangle surrounding the burner that is being used based on the information on the coordinates wherein the cooking apparatus is located.
However, Kobayashi teaches:
wherein the information on the location where the subject is located in the frame comprises coordinates of a left upper vertex and a right lower vertex of the subject,
wherein the coordinates of an left upper vertex and a right lower vertex of the subject are calculated based on an entire horizontal length and an entire vertical length of the frame, a horizontal length and a vertical length of a quadrangle surrounding the subject, and a distance between the vertexes of the quadrangle surrounding the subject and vertexes of the cooking apparatus;
receiving the information on the coordinates wherein the cooking apparatus is located in an entire image photographed through the camera from the external apparatus; and
calculating the coordinates of the vertexes of the quadrangle surrounding the subject based on the information on the coordinates wherein the frame is located (“FIG. 3 shows an example of an image in which the face detector 30 detects human faces. The face detector 30 confines face areas A1, A2 and A3 of the detected human faces with rectangles whose four sides are parallel to four sides of a rectangular image frame G respectively. The face area data represents coordinates of two diagonal vertices of each rectangle in a coordinate system whose origin is located at an appropriate point in the image frame G and whose axes are parallel to horizontal and vertical lines of the image frame G. For example, the face area Al is represented by coordinates (X11, Y11) and coordinates (X12, Y12), the face area A2 is represented by coordinates (X21, Y21) and coordinates (X22, Y22), and the face area A3 is represented by coordinates (X31, Y31) and coordinates (X32, Y32)” paragraph [0065] and “the face area data represents coordinates locating two diagonal vertices of each of the rectangular face areas confining the detected faces. That is, the face area data of each face area consist of an abscissa (X,) and an ordinate (Y) of an upper left vertex and an abscissa (X) and an ordinate (Y) of a lower right vertex of that face area” paragraph [0086]).
In view of Kobayashi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the coordinate system as is taught in Kobayashi, in the cooking apparatus disclosed by Cha because Kobayashi states “a primary object of the present invention is to provide an imaging apparatus that captures image data from a subject and processes and records the image data, an image processor for processing the image data after being recorded by the imaging apparatus, an image filing method for the image data, an image processing method and an image processing program, which facilitate processing the image data in an optimum way” (paragraph [0006]). Therefore, including the teachings of Kobayashi will enable optimum processing of the image data of Cha.
Cha, as modified by Kobayashi, does not disclose wherein the display apparatus is configured to display the burner that is being used in an enlarged size.
However, Park teaches:
wherein the display apparatus is configured to display the burner that is being used in an enlarged size (“user interface 600 includes a new user interface element 602 having an enlarged image 604 of the cookware 1′ displayed for a user. The enlarged image may be obtained through a zoom function of the imaging sensor 160 or image processing at the controller 150 to enlarge a portion of the image data 502. The user interface element 602 may also include a cooktop data display element 606 that includes text, image, or color reference of cooktop data for the burner 1. For example, the cooktop data may include temperature, time cooking, and other suitable data” paragraph [0045]).
In view of Park’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include enlargement as is taught in Park, in the cooking apparatus disclosed by Cha because enlarging an image simplifies viewing an image. Therefore, enlarging the images as taught by Park will simplify viewing the images of Cha.
Regarding claim 18, Cha, as modified by Kobayashi and Park, discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the information on the burner that is being used further comprises:
at least one of identification information of the burner that is being used, information on an operation level of the burner that is being used, or information on a time when the burner that is being used started operating (Visual identification information as in figure 8B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee (US 9497378 B1)
Cha (US 20190261459 A1)
Williams (US 20200378610 A1)
Obara (JP 2021055908 A) “the control circuit 10 extracts an image of the detection target region from the total region AR0 of the image acquired in step S10. As the detection target area, the first area AR1, the second area AR2, and the third area AR3 are set corresponding to each of the stove units 4A, 4B, and 4C”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762