DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
INDEFINITENESS – “APPLYING A VOLTAGE TO MOVE” A BREAKER/CONTACTOR AND “BREAKER VOLTAGE” / “CONTACTOR VOLTAGE”
Claim 7 recites “applying a voltage to move a breaker to an open position” and “measuring a breaker voltage in the open position.”
Claim 8 recites “applying a voltage to move one or more contactors to an open position” and “measuring a contactor voltage in the open position.”
Claim 15 similarly recites applying a voltage to move a breaker to an open position and receiving “a breaker voltage in the open position.”
The phrases “applying a voltage to move” and “measuring a breaker voltage” / “measuring a contactor voltage” render the scope unclear because the claims do not specify (i) where the “applied voltage” is applied (e.g., to a trip coil, actuator, control input, or another circuit node), and (ii) what “breaker voltage” / “contactor voltage” refers to (e.g., voltage across the breaker/contactor contacts, voltage at a specified terminal relative to a defined reference such as chassis ground, voltage drop across a shunt, or another clearly identified measurement configuration). Without an identified measurement configuration and reference, a person of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of what must be measured to satisfy “breaker voltage” or “contactor voltage,” particularly in the “open position” where multiple non-equivalent voltage measurements may exist depending on circuit topology and reference node(s) (e.g., upstream terminal-to-ground vs. downstream terminal-to-ground vs. across open contacts).
INDEFINITENESS – “A THIRD SENSOR” WITHOUT A CORRESPONDING “SECOND SENSOR”
Claim 11 introduces “a first sensor.”
Claim 14 depends from claim 11 and recites “further comprising a third sensor that is configured to measure a position of the collector assembly relative to the conductive pathway.”
Because claim 11 only introduces a “first sensor” and does not introduce a “second sensor,” the recitation of a “third sensor” in claim 14 creates ambiguity as to the intended sensor set and scope. In particular, the numerical designation “third” reasonably implies the existence of a “second sensor,” but none is provided in the claim set as written. This inconsistency renders the scope of claim 14 unclear.
INDEFINITENESS – GRAMMATICAL AMBIGUITY IN “CONFIGURED TO ONE OR MORE OF DIRECT MAINTENANCE, INSPECTION, OR REPAIR”
Claim 17 recites: “the controller is configured to one or more of direct maintenance, inspection, or repair of the collector assembly …”
As written, the phrase “configured to one or more of direct maintenance” is grammatically unclear and leaves uncertainty as to the intended functional relationship. It is not clear whether the controller is configured to (i) direct (i.e., command/request) one or more of maintenance, inspection, or repair, or (ii) itself perform maintenance, inspection, or repair actions, or (iii) something else. This ambiguity prevents clear determination of the claim’s scope.
PRIOR ART REFERENCES RELIED UPON
Reference 1: US 2014/0345398 A1 (“System and method for lowering a pantograph”) (US’398)
Reference 2: US 5,614,796 (“Method for providing continuous power to electrical rail vehicle systems when rail power is interrupted”) (US’796)
Reference 3: CN 102292236 A (“Pantograph height measuring device and calibration method thereof”) (CN’236)
Reference 4: CN 102602296 A (“Pantograph contact pressure adjusting method”) (CN’296)
Reference 5: CN 103085666 A (“Processing method for offline electric locomotive pantograph, processing system and electric locomotive”) (CN’666)
Reference 6: US 11,004,625 B2 (“High speed circuit breaker for industrial and railways applications”) (US’625)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 U.S.C. 103
A. CLAIMS 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 11-13, 17-20 ARE REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103 AS UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5.
B. CLAIMS 3 AND 14 ARE REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103 AS UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5, AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 3.
C. CLAIM 4 IS REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103 AS UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5, AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 4.
D. CLAIMS 7-8 AND 15 ARE REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103 AS UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5.
E. CLAIM 16 IS REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103 AS UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5, AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 6.
F. CLAIM 18 IS REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103 AS UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5.
───────── CLAIM 1
A method for operating a collector assembly of a vehicle that is configured to receive electric current from a conductive pathway, the method comprising: examining one or more mechanical components of the collector assembly of the vehicle by moving the collector assembly of the vehicle relative to the conductive pathway; sensing one or more electrical characteristics of the electric current received by the collector assembly of the vehicle from the conductive pathway to test one or more electrical components of one or more of the collector assembly or the vehicle; and implementing one or more responsive actions to control operation of the vehicle based on outcomes of one or more of an examination of the one or more mechanical components or the test of the one or more electrical components.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
A method for operating a collector assembly of a vehicle configured to receive electric current from a conductive pathway: Reference 1 discloses a vehicle current collection arrangement using a pantograph 12 and current collector 18 that interfaces with overhead power lines 22, i.e., a conductive pathway supplying electric power to the vehicle via the collector assembly (pantograph 12/current collector 18).
Examining one or more mechanical components of the collector assembly by moving the collector assembly relative to the conductive pathway: Reference 1 discloses moving the pantograph 12/current collector 18 relative to the overhead power lines 22 by actuating the pantograph structure between extended and retracted positions. In particular, Reference 1 discloses a motor 34 (actuator/drive), a spring 38 (biasing element), and a mechanical stop 48 (travel limit) that together control mechanical motion/position of the pantograph 12/current collector 18, including lowering (retraction) and restoring/maintaining extension force. Reference 1 further discloses monitoring mechanical integrity using a shear pin 50 and continuity sensing (e.g., fiber optic sensor(s) 64 providing continuity signal 62 to control circuit 60), which evidences “examining” mechanical components (e.g., whether the shear pin 50 has failed and whether the current collector 18 remains within intended motion limits defined by stop 48). Reference 1 additionally discloses an override switch 88 usable to periodically test motion/function of the current collector 18, which is a direct disclosure of performing a deliberate mechanical examination using commanded motion.
Sensing one or more electrical characteristics of the electric current received from the conductive pathway to test one or more electrical components: Reference 1 establishes the collector assembly receives power from the conductive pathway (overhead lines 22), but does not emphasize electrical sensing for diagnostics. Reference 2 teaches sensing electrical characteristics of received power using power sensing device 22 and current sensing device 18 in a train power supply system 21 receiving power via current collectors (e.g., collector shoes 1-4 from conductor rails 5-8). Reference 2 thereby teaches sensing received electrical characteristics (e.g., current and power/voltage indicative values) to evaluate electrical system behavior and supply conditions. Reference 5 further teaches monitoring electrical input characteristics (input voltage and input current) associated with pantograph power collection to detect an off-line pantograph condition and to generate control outcomes; Reference 5’s traction chain (transformer 1, PWM rectifier 2, inverter 3, motor 4) and switching elements (main contactor switch 5, charging contactor switch 6) are evaluated/controlled in response to sensed electrical characteristics. Collectively, References 2 and 5 teach sensing electrical characteristics of the received electric current/energy to test/evaluate electrical components of the vehicle supply chain (e.g., power conversion and switching components).
Implementing one or more responsive actions to control operation of the vehicle based on outcomes: Reference 1 teaches control circuit 60 implementing actions responsive to detected mechanical conditions (e.g., commanding motor 34 to lower pantograph 12/current collector 18 when an out-of-position/defect condition is detected such as shear pin 50 failure sensed by continuity circuit 64). Reference 2 teaches responsive vehicle-control actions based on sensed electrical characteristics and contact/interruption determinations, including actuating circuit breaker 23 via breaker actuating device 24 and controlling traction/braking via control device 13 / traction inverter 12 in response to detected interruption conditions. Reference 5 teaches generating a control signal to stop operation of PWM rectifier 2 and inverter 3 to prevent unstable traction operation when pantograph off-line is detected based on electrical sensing. Thus, the combined teachings provide implementing responsive actions controlling vehicle operation based on outcomes of mechanical examination and/or electrical testing.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 1) It would have been obvious to incorporate the electrical characteristic sensing and protective control logic of Reference 2 and Reference 5 into the pantograph motion/control architecture of Reference 1 because all three references address the same engineering objective: maintaining safe, stable, and reliable current collection and traction power availability in an electrically powered vehicle. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized that Reference 1’s deliberate motion/testing capability (override switch 88; control circuit 60; actuator motor 34) is improved by adding References 2 and 5’s well-known electrical sensing (power sensing device 22; current sensing device 18; input voltage/current monitoring) and responsive protective actions (opening breaker 23; stopping inverter 3), thereby enabling the vehicle to make operational decisions based on both mechanical condition of the collector assembly and electrical health/availability of collected power.
───────── CLAIM 2
The method of claim 1, wherein the examination of the one or more mechanical components of the collector assembly includes one or more of raising the collector assembly or lowering the collector assembly.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
Reference 1 discloses lowering/retracting the pantograph 12/current collector 18 using motor 34 and associated mechanical transmission components (e.g., cable 32, pulley 28, U-arm 20) to pull the pantograph downward, and discloses spring 38 biasing the pantograph/current collector toward an extended/raised configuration for contact/positioning against overhead power lines 22. Thus, Reference 1 teaches examination involving raising and/or lowering the collector assembly.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 2) No additional modification beyond the combination applied to claim 1 is required for the “raising/lowering” feature because Reference 1 already teaches purposeful raising/lowering motion (spring 38 and motor 34) used in controlled operation/testing (override switch 88). The motivation for integrating References 2 and 5 remains as stated for claim 1 (safety/reliability via combined mechanical and electrical diagnostics).
───────── CLAIM 3
The method of claim 2, further comprising measuring a height of the collector assembly in one or more of a raised position or in a lowered position.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5, AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 3)
Reference 1 discloses the pantograph 12/current collector 18 moving between raised and lowered positions, with travel constrained by mechanical stop 48, but does not emphasize a dedicated height measurement sensor.
Reference 3 teaches measuring pantograph height using a line sensor camera 20 disposed on a vehicle roof and a processing computer 30 that analyzes captured images of the pantograph 10a to determine pantograph height (including for different pantograph positions). Thus, Reference 3 provides a direct teaching of “measuring a height of the collector assembly” in raised and/or lowered positions.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 3) It would have been obvious to add Reference 3’s pantograph height measurement (line sensor 20 and processing computer 30) to Reference 1’s pantograph 12 control/testing system to provide quantitative confirmation that the pantograph/current collector reaches intended raised/lowered positions (e.g., for verifying operation against travel limits such as stop 48), improving diagnostic accuracy, repeatability, and safety. Such an addition predictably supports automated examination and fault detection while using known roof-mounted sensing hardware positioned to view pantograph motion.
───────── CLAIM 4
The method of claim 2, further comprising measuring a tension of a spring of the collector assembly while the collector assembly is in the raised position.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5, AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 4)
Reference 1 discloses a spring 38 associated with the pantograph/current collector arrangement (providing a bias/contact force function relevant to raised contact conditions). Reference 1, however, does not focus on explicitly measuring spring tension.
Reference 4 teaches measuring pantograph contact pressure/force during pantograph operation using a spring balance 3 coupled to pantograph linkage (e.g., connecting rod 2) while the pantograph 4 is raised/operated (including with pneumatic/electromagnetic actuation elements such as electromagnetic valve 8 and pressure regulating valve 9). Measuring contact pressure/force via a spring balance is a direct technique for measuring the tension/force associated with a spring-biased collector assembly in a raised/contact condition, because pantograph contact pressure is driven by the spring/biasing force and is measured as an applied force/tension at the linkage.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 4) It would have been obvious to incorporate Reference 4’s spring-force/contact-pressure measurement technique (spring balance 3 on pantograph linkage) into Reference 1’s pantograph 12 testing system to verify that the spring bias (spring 38) provides proper force when raised. This improves current collection reliability (adequate force) and reduces damage/arcing risk (excessive force), and is a predictable use of a known measurement approach on a known spring-biased pantograph mechanism.
───────── CLAIM 5
The method of claim 1, wherein the examining of the one or more mechanical components of the collector assembly includes one or more of comparing a lower end of a range of movement of the collector assembly to a lower movement threshold, comparing an upper end of the range of movement of the collector assembly to an upper movement threshold, or comparing a speed at which the collector assembly raises or lowers to a speed threshold.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
Reference 1 teaches the collector assembly (pantograph 12/current collector 18) has a controlled movement range (extended vs. retracted) physically bounded/defined at least in part by mechanical stop 48 (upper travel constraint) and by the retracted/lowered state achieved by motor 34 actuation. Reference 1 teaches monitoring/verification of mechanical integrity through continuity signal 62 obtained from continuity circuit components (e.g., fiber optic sensor(s) 64), enabling the control circuit 60 to determine whether a mechanical fault has occurred (e.g., shear pin 50 break) and to take corrective action. Such monitoring inherently compares sensed/measured conditions to expected/acceptable states (i.e., threshold logic for fault detection).
Reference 2 explicitly teaches threshold-based comparisons related to vehicle operation and power collection conditions, including use of speed sensing device 4 and evaluating device 26 to determine operation when speed is below a critical lower value and to make control decisions based on predetermined criteria/values associated with contact/interruption conditions. Reference 5 also teaches comparing sensed electrical conditions (input voltage/current changes) to a threshold to determine an off-line pantograph condition, demonstrating well-known threshold comparator logic used for collector-related conditions.
In view of References 2 and 5’s explicit comparator/threshold framework applied to power collection and safe operation, it would have been obvious to implement (within Reference 1’s control circuit 60) explicit comparisons of the pantograph’s movement endpoints (lower and upper ends) and raise/lower speed (derivable from position vs. time or actuator command timing) to predetermined movement and speed thresholds to detect abnormal motion (stiction, slow actuation, overtravel).
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 5) It would have been obvious to implement explicit endpoint and speed threshold comparisons in Reference 1’s control circuit 60, informed by Reference 2 and Reference 5’s well-known threshold-based decision making, to provide objective pass/fail criteria for mechanical examinations (e.g., ensuring the pantograph reaches correct endpoints and moves within acceptable time/speed). Such threshold comparisons are a routine, predictable design choice for automated diagnostics and safety interlocks in electrically powered vehicles.
───────── CLAIM 6
The method of claim 1, wherein the examining of the one or more mechanical components of the collector assembly includes extending a driver of the collector assembly to an extended position and retracting the driver to a retracted position.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
Reference 1 discloses an actuator/driver in the form of motor 34 that, through the mechanical linkage (including cable 32 and pulley 28 interacting with U-arm 20), drives the pantograph 12/current collector 18 between positions. When motor 34 is commanded to retract/lower the pantograph, the associated drive output is in a “retracted position” functionally corresponding to the lowered pantograph state; when motor 34 is not pulling down and spring 38 biases extension, the actuator/drive arrangement permits (and thus effects) an “extended position” corresponding to the raised/extended pantograph/current collector state. Reference 1’s periodic test via override switch 88 further evidences deliberate actuation between these positions for examination.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 6) No additional modification beyond claim 1’s combination is required because Reference 1 already teaches a driver/actuator (motor 34) that transitions the collector assembly between lowered/retracted and raised/extended functional states (with spring 38). The motivation for combining References 2 and 5 remains as stated for claim 1.
───────── CLAIM 7
The method of claim 1, wherein the test of the one or more electrical components of the collector assembly includes applying a voltage to move a breaker to an open position and measuring a breaker voltage in the open position.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
Reference 2 discloses a circuit breaker 23 in the train power supply system 21 and a breaker actuating device 24 controlled by evaluating device 26 (e.g., by control signal M) to actuate/open the circuit breaker 23 to protect or isolate the power system. A breaker actuating device inherently operates by energization (application of electrical energy/voltage) to cause the breaker mechanism to open.
Reference 2 further discloses sensing of electrical characteristics using power sensing device 22 (and current sensing device 18) associated with the power supply system. Such sensing provides voltage/power indicative measurements during operating states, including when circuit breaker 23 is open (open position) as part of system status determination and control.
Accordingly, Reference 2 teaches applying electrical energy/voltage to cause a breaker to open (breaker actuating device 24 opening breaker 23) and sensing electrical characteristics (via power sensing device 22) that include voltage-related measurements corresponding to the breaker being open.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 7) It would have been obvious to incorporate Reference 2’s breaker actuation and electrical sensing (breaker 23; breaker actuating device 24; power sensing device 22) into Reference 1’s pantograph-based vehicle power system to enable the same protective and diagnostic functionality in an overhead-line pantograph environment. This is a predictable substitution of one known vehicle current collection architecture (pantograph 12) for another (collector shoes 1-4) while keeping the known traction power protection feature (opening breaker on fault and monitoring voltage/power state).
───────── CLAIM 8
The method of claim 1, wherein the test of the one or more electrical components of the collector assembly includes applying a voltage to move one or more contactors to an open position and measuring a contactor voltage in the open position.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
Reference 5 discloses switching elements including main contactor switch 5 and charging contactor switch 6 in the vehicle traction power path (transformer 1 to PWM rectifier 2 and associated circuitry). Such contactors are controlled by electrical actuation (energizing/de-energizing coils, i.e., applying electrical energy/voltage to command opening/closing). Reference 5 further discloses monitoring electrical input characteristics (input voltage and input current) and controlling the traction chain (PWM rectifier 2, inverter 3) based on detected conditions (including an off-line pantograph event). Monitoring the electrical characteristics in a system containing contactors inherently yields voltage-related information corresponding to contactor open states (e.g., a measurable voltage state indicative of open contactor condition and/or expected zero/changed current/voltage behavior when contactors are open).
Thus, Reference 5 teaches opening contactors (5, 6) by electrical control and performing electrical measurements that correspond to evaluating electrical states while the contactors are open.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 8) It would have been obvious to incorporate Reference 5’s contactor-based switching and electrical monitoring (main contactor 5; charging contactor 6; voltage/current monitoring logic) into Reference 1’s pantograph current collection system as part of a standard traction power chain, enabling controlled isolation and verification of switching device behavior as part of electrical self-test/diagnostics. This improves safety and system stability by verifying correct opening behavior and electrical state response of the contactors.
───────── CLAIM 9
The method of claim 1, wherein implementing the one or more responsive actions includes preventing operation of the vehicle in response to the outcomes of one or more of the examination of the one or more mechanical components being below a minimum mechanical threshold or the test of the one or more electrical components being below a minimum electrical threshold.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
Reference 1 teaches responsive action based on mechanical examination outcomes, including lowering/retracting the pantograph 12/current collector 18 via motor 34 under control of control circuit 60 when a defect condition is detected (e.g., via continuity signal 62 / fiber optic sensors 64 and shear pin 50 condition). Such a response prevents unsafe continued operation with an abnormal collector mechanical state.
Reference 2 teaches preventing/interrupting normal vehicle power operation based on detected electrical/power collection conditions by actuating circuit breaker 23 (via breaker actuating device 24) and by imposing control states (e.g., blocking mode) via evaluating device 26 and control device 13. Reference 5 similarly teaches preventing continued traction operation by stopping PWM rectifier 2 and inverter 3 when electrical characteristics indicate the pantograph is off-line.
These teachings collectively correspond to preventing operation when mechanical or electrical outcomes fall outside acceptable limits (i.e., below minimum thresholds), because each reference discloses protective inhibition of operation responsive to detected abnormal mechanical/electrical collection conditions.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 9) It would have been obvious to implement an interlock that prevents vehicle operation when diagnostic outcomes indicate unacceptable mechanical collector condition or unacceptable electrical supply condition because References 1, 2, and 5 all teach safety-driven interruption or suppression of operation in response to detected fault conditions. Combining these teachings yields predictable safety improvement and is consistent with standard traction vehicle protective design practices.
───────── CLAIM 10
The method of claim 1, wherein implementing the one or more responsive actions includes operating the vehicle in a reduced capacity state in response to the outcomes of one or more of the examination of the one or more mechanical components being below a second mechanical threshold but above a first mechanical threshold or the test of the one or more electrical components being below a second electrical threshold but above a first electrical threshold.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
Reference 2 teaches alternative operating modes responsive to power collection conditions (e.g., modified traction/braking control via traction inverter 12 and brake chopper 11) rather than a single binary “operate/stop” response. Such mode changes constitute reduced/modified capacity operation under degraded supply conditions (for example, continuing limited functions while controlling power flow, braking energy handling, and supply interruption management).
Reference 5 teaches control responses intended to maintain system stability when pantograph off-line is detected, including stopping PWM rectifier 2 and inverter 3 to avoid unstable traction behavior; such control can be implemented as a graded protective response depending on severity of detected electrical conditions.
Thus, the references collectively teach (or render obvious) implementing graded responses (including reduced capacity states) based on whether the measured outcomes fall within different threshold bands.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 10) It would have been obvious to implement multi-threshold (“banded”) control actions rather than a single threshold because graded protective responses are a known technique to balance safety with operational continuity in traction vehicles. Reference 2 already demonstrates switching between different operational modes based on sensed conditions, and Reference 5 teaches stability-preserving control actions based on electrical conditions. Applying a two-threshold scheme to Reference 1’s collector diagnostics is a predictable refinement to avoid unnecessary full shutdown while still protecting the system.
───────── CLAIM 11
A system comprising: a collector assembly that is configured to be disposed onboard a vehicle that travels along a route, the collector assembly being configured to receive electric current from a conductive pathway extending along the route to power loads of the vehicle; a controller that is configured to initiate movement of the collector assembly relative to the conductive pathway to examine one or more mechanical components of the collector assembly; and a first sensor that is configured to sense one or more electrical characteristics of the electric current received by the collector assembly from the conductive pathway and thereby to examine one or more electrical components of one or more of the collector assembly or the vehicle, and the controller is configured to implement one or more responsive actions to control operation of the vehicle based at least in part on outcomes of one or both of an examination of the one or more mechanical components and an examination of the one or more electrical components.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
Collector assembly onboard a vehicle traveling along a route, configured to receive electric current from a conductive pathway to power loads: Reference 1 teaches pantograph 12/current collector 18 mounted to the vehicle for receiving power from overhead power lines 22 (conductive pathway) to supply vehicle electrical loads/traction systems. Reference 2 also teaches vehicle power collection from a conductive pathway (conductor rails 5-8) via current collectors (shoes 1-4) to supply the train power supply system 21.
Controller configured to initiate movement of collector assembly relative to conductive pathway to examine mechanical components: Reference 1 teaches control circuit 60 controlling motor 34 and associated linkage to move the pantograph 12/current collector 18 relative to the overhead power lines 22 (e.g., lowering/retracting), including deliberate testing/periodic testing via override switch 88 and fault detection via mechanical integrity monitoring (shear pin 50; continuity signal 62). This is a controller-initiated movement for mechanical examination/verification.
First sensor configured to sense electrical characteristics of received electric current to examine electrical components: Reference 2 teaches sensors for electrical characteristics including power sensing device 22 and current sensing device 18 to sense characteristics of received power/current in the train power supply system 21. Reference 5 teaches monitoring input voltage/current in the traction chain (transformer 1; PWM rectifier 2; inverter 3) for pantograph off-line detection and electrical component control, which also reflects sensing electrical characteristics of the received electric energy.
Controller implements responsive actions to control vehicle operation based on outcomes of mechanical and/or electrical examinations: Reference 1 teaches responsive actions affecting collector configuration (lowering pantograph via motor 34) based on mechanical outcomes sensed (continuity signal 62; sensors 64; shear pin 50). Reference 2 teaches responsive actions controlling power availability and traction operation by actuating circuit breaker 23 (breaker actuating device 24) and controlling traction/braking via evaluating device 26 and control device 13 based on sensed electrical/contact conditions. Reference 5 teaches responsive actions to stop PWM rectifier 2/inverter 3 in response to electrically detected pantograph off-line conditions.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 11) It would have been obvious to combine Reference 1’s pantograph motion control/testing controller (control circuit 60 controlling motor 34 and monitoring sensors 64) with Reference 2 and Reference 5’s electrical sensing/protective control components (power sensing device 22/current sensing device 18; voltage/current monitoring tied to traction chain) because these are complementary subsystems in the same technical field (electrified vehicle current collection and traction power protection). The combination predictably yields an integrated diagnostic/protection system capable of controlling vehicle operation based on both collector mechanical status and electrical supply/component status.
───────── CLAIM 12
The system of claim 11, wherein the collector assembly includes a pantograph or a conductive shoe.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
Reference 1 explicitly teaches a pantograph 12. Reference 2 explicitly teaches conductive shoe-type current collectors (shoes 1-4). Thus, the collector assembly includes a pantograph or a conductive shoe.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 12) No additional modification beyond the combination of claim 11 is required because the combined references already disclose both example collector assembly types (pantograph 12 in Reference 1; shoes 1-4 in Reference 2). The motivation remains as stated for claim 11 (integrated current collection and protection).
───────── CLAIM 13
The system of claim 11, wherein the controller is configured to compare one or more of: a lower end of a range of movement of the collector assembly to a lower movement threshold, an upper end of the range of movement of the collector assembly to an upper movement threshold, or a speed at which the collector assembly raises or lowers to a speed threshold.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
Reference 1 teaches controlled pantograph motion bounded by defined endpoints (mechanical stop 48; motor-driven retracted state via motor 34) and monitored by sensor-derived signals (continuity signal 62 from continuity circuit including sensor(s) 64). Reference 2 teaches explicit comparison of sensed operational parameters to critical/predetermined values (e.g., speed sensing device 4 and evaluating device 26 using a critical lower value and predetermined criteria to select control actions). Reference 5 teaches threshold comparison of sensed electrical characteristics (input voltage/current changes) to determine an abnormal collector condition.
In view of these teachings, it would have been obvious to implement controller comparison logic that evaluates pantograph movement endpoints (upper/lower ends) and raise/lower speed against thresholds, using known control logic approaches for determining acceptable vs. unacceptable operation.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 13) It would have been obvious to implement explicit threshold comparisons for motion endpoints and speed because this is a routine diagnostic/control technique used to detect abnormal actuator behavior (slow response, incomplete travel, overtravel) and to trigger protective actions. Reference 2 provides explicit examples of threshold-based comparisons in traction systems, and Reference 1 provides the controlled motion and sensing framework that would predictably benefit from explicit movement threshold logic.
───────── CLAIM 14
The system of claim 11, further comprising a third sensor that is configured to measure a position of the collector assembly relative to the conductive pathway.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5, AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 3)
Reference 1 teaches pantograph 12/current collector 18 movement relative to overhead power lines 22 but does not emphasize a dedicated position sensor relative to the conductive pathway.
Reference 3 teaches measuring pantograph position/height using a roof-mounted line sensor 20 and processing computer 30 to determine the pantograph 10a height (position) relative to the overhead line environment (trolley wire 5) and thus relative to the conductive pathway. Such a sensor system constitutes a “third sensor” measuring collector assembly position relative to the conductive pathway.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 14) It would have been obvious to add Reference 3’s position/height measurement sensor system (line sensor 20 and processing computer 30) to the system of claim 11 to provide quantitative position feedback for diagnostics and safety interlocking, improving reliability by confirming that the collector assembly occupies a correct spatial relationship relative to the conductive pathway during testing and operation.
───────── CLAIM 15
The system of claim 11, wherein the controller is configured to apply a voltage to move a breaker to an open position, the controller is configured to receive a measurement from the first sensor of a breaker voltage in the open position.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
Reference 2 teaches a breaker (circuit breaker 23) and control/evaluating logic (evaluating device 26) that actuates the breaker via breaker actuating device 24, which inherently involves energizing/commanding the breaker to open (electrical actuation). Reference 2 further teaches sensing of electrical characteristics via power sensing device 22 and current sensing device 18, which provide electrical measurements associated with the power system state, including the breaker-open state.
Thus, Reference 2 teaches a controller that causes a breaker to open and receives electrical measurements indicative of voltage/power conditions corresponding to the breaker open position.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 15) It would have been obvious to implement Reference 2’s breaker opening control and associated electrical sensing within Reference 1’s pantograph-based collection and control system to provide known traction power protection and diagnostic verification of breaker state, improving safety and enabling automated power isolation in response to detected faults.
───────── CLAIM 16
The system of claim 15, wherein the breaker is an indirect trip circuit breaker or a high speed circuit breaker.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5, AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 6)
Reference 6 teaches a high speed circuit breaker 1 specifically for industrial and railways applications, including a coil 22 and operating mechanism configured for extremely fast interruption in DC railway/traction contexts. Thus, Reference 6 teaches the “breaker” as a high speed circuit breaker.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to implement the breaker of Reference 2 (circuit breaker 23 used in traction power control/protection) as the high speed circuit breaker type taught by Reference 6, because Reference 6 is directed to breakers used to protect railway traction power circuits and emphasizes fast interruption and reliability.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 16) It would have been obvious to select a high speed circuit breaker (Reference 6’s breaker 1) for the traction power breaker function of Reference 2 (breaker 23) in a pantograph-supplied vehicle system (Reference 1) because high speed breakers are a known, directly applicable substitute that improve response time and protection in railway/traction power distribution. This substitution is a predictable design choice that uses a known equivalent component for the same protective purpose in the same field.
───────── CLAIM 17
The system of claim 11, wherein the controller is configured to one or more of direct maintenance, inspection, or repair of the collector assembly in response to the outcomes of one or more of the examination of the one or more mechanical components being below a first mechanical threshold or the examination of the one or more electrical components being below a first electrical threshold.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
Reference 2 teaches producing fault outputs and operational responses upon detection of abnormal current collection/power conditions, including delivering error message and/or alarm signal to a signal box 27. Such a fault indication is used in rail vehicle practice to prompt inspection/maintenance actions by operators/maintenance personnel. Reference 1 teaches detecting collector-related mechanical fault conditions (e.g., shear pin 50 failure detection via continuity signal 62/sensor 64 and associated protective lowering action). Reference 5 teaches detection of pantograph off-line condition and control actions to prevent unstable operation, likewise indicating a fault condition requiring corrective attention.
Directing maintenance/inspection/repair is an expected control-system outcome of diagnosing fault conditions: where the controller generates a fault indication and/or inhibits operation (References 1/2/5), that output necessarily serves to direct inspection/maintenance/repair actions on the affected subsystem (collector assembly and/or traction power path) in order to restore proper function.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 17) It would have been obvious for the controller that detects collector mechanical/electrical faults (References 1/2/5) to additionally generate a maintenance/inspection/repair directive because fault annunciation systems in traction vehicles are designed not only to protectively control the vehicle but also to initiate corrective workflows. Reference 2’s alarm/error reporting (signal box 27) and Reference 1’s diagnostic detection provide the predictable basis for directing maintenance actions in response to threshold failures.
───────── CLAIM 18
The system of claim 11, wherein the controller is configured to notify an operator of the vehicle in response to one or more of the outcomes of the examination of the one or more mechanical components being below a first mechanical threshold or the outcomes of the examination of the one or more electrical components being below a first electrical threshold.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
Reference 2 teaches delivering an error message and/or alarm signal to a signal box 27 when an interruption or abnormal condition is detected by conductor rail interruption detector 25 and evaluating device 26. Such messaging constitutes notifying an operator (or operating system/crew interface) of abnormal conditions based on sensed thresholds/criteria. Reference 1 teaches detection of mechanical fault states (e.g., shear pin 50 condition via continuity signal 62/sensors 64) and Reference 5 teaches detection of electrical abnormality (pantograph off-line) with control signaling.
Thus, notifying the operator based on mechanical/electrical examination outcomes is taught by Reference 2 and is directly applicable to the combined system.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 18) It would have been obvious to provide operator notification for the combined collector diagnostic system because Reference 2 already teaches alarm/error output (signal box 27) as a standard response to detected abnormal current collection/power conditions, and applying the same notification practice to pantograph mechanical/electrical threshold failures (References 1 and 5) predictably improves safety and serviceability.
───────── CLAIM 19
A method for testing a collector assembly of a vehicle that receives electric current from a conductive pathway, the method comprising: examining one or more mechanical components of the collector assembly by moving the collector assembly and sensing one or more mechanical characteristics of the one or more mechanical components of the collector assembly; sensing one or more electrical characteristics of the electric current received by the collector assembly to test one or more electrical components of the collector assembly or the vehicle; and preventing operation of the vehicle until the one or more mechanical characteristics are in a threshold mechanical range and the one or more electrical characteristics are in a threshold electrical range.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
Collector assembly receives electric current from conductive pathway: Reference 1 teaches pantograph 12/current collector 18 receiving power from overhead power lines 22.
Examining mechanical components by moving the collector assembly and sensing mechanical characteristics: Reference 1 teaches moving pantograph 12/current collector 18 (e.g., lowering by motor 34; extension bias by spring 38; travel limit by mechanical stop 48) and sensing mechanical characteristics indicative of mechanical integrity/state using shear pin 50 and continuity monitoring (continuity signal 62; sensors 64) that indicate a mechanical fault condition associated with the motion limit/stop structure. Reference 1 also teaches periodic testing of current collector 18 movement using override switch 88, supporting the “testing” character of the method.
Sensing electrical characteristics of received electric current to test electrical components: Reference 2 teaches sensing electrical characteristics of received power/current using power sensing device 22 and current sensing device 18, and evaluating system behavior via evaluating device 26. Reference 5 teaches monitoring input voltage and current in the traction chain (transformer 1, PWM rectifier 2, inverter 3, motor 4) to diagnose pantograph off-line conditions and thereby evaluate electrical system state.
Preventing operation until mechanical characteristics and electrical characteristics are in threshold ranges: Reference 5 teaches inhibiting/halting traction chain operation (e.g., stopping PWM rectifier 2 and inverter 3) when electrical input conditions exceed threshold criteria, thereby preventing vehicle operation under unacceptable electrical conditions. Reference 2 teaches protective control states (e.g., blocking mode; circuit breaker 23 actuation) based on detected abnormal supply/contact conditions and threshold-based logic (including speed-based criteria). Reference 1 teaches protective lowering action and prevention of unsafe collector state continuation when a mechanical fault is detected. Collectively, these teachings render obvious preventing operation until both mechanical and electrical conditions are acceptable (within threshold ranges), since each reference emphasizes threshold-based safety gating on the respective mechanical/electrical domains.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 19) It would have been obvious to require both mechanical readiness of the collector assembly (Reference 1’s sensed mechanical integrity/position state) and electrical readiness of the traction power path (References 2 and 5’s electrical sensing and protective inhibition) before permitting operation, because the combined approach reduces risk of arcing, damage, and unstable traction operation. This is a predictable integration of known mechanical diagnostics with known electrical supply diagnostics for a single safety interlock objective.
───────── CLAIM 20
The method of claim 19, wherein moving the one or more components of the collector assembly includes extending a driver of the collector assembly to an extended position and retracting the driver to a retracted position.
ANALYSIS (REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5)
Reference 1 teaches a driver/actuator motor 34 that drives the pantograph/current collector mechanism via cable 32/pulley 28/U-arm 20 to move between extended and retracted states, with spring 38 biasing extension and motor 34 enabling controlled retraction/lowering. Thus, the motion includes extending and retracting the driver output to achieve extended and retracted positions of the collector assembly components.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE (CLAIM 20) No additional modification beyond claim 19’s combination is required because Reference 1 already teaches the actuator/driver (motor 34) enabling controlled transitions between the relevant positions. The motivation for combining References 2 and 5 remains as stated for claim 19 (integrated mechanical/electrical gating for safe operation).
Conclusion
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615