DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/30/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 1 should read: “An aircraft emergency oxygen supply system”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9-10, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharma et al. 2016/0354620.
Regarding claim 1, Sharma discloses the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system (abstract) comprising:
a passenger oxygen mask for supplying oxygen to a passenger wearing the passenger oxygen mask (respiratory mask 102);
an oxygen source for supplying oxygen to the passenger oxygen mask (218);
a breath sensor for detecting breaths of the passenger wearing the passenger oxygen mask (breathing rate sensor 116);
and a controller for controlling the supply of oxygen from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask (regulator 124);
wherein the controller is configured for: operating in a normal breathing mode, which includes supplying a normal breathing amount of oxygen (VN) from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask at every breath of the passenger wearing the passenger oxygen mask (0025 states “The regulator 124 may actuate the one or more valves 128 to the dilution mode when the output of the sensors 104 indicates any one of the conditions such the breathing rate of the crew member is equal to a predetermined breathing rate. The dilution mode may be understood as a mode where the respiratory system of the crew member functions normally in which there is no symptoms of either hyperventilation or hypoxia or any other respiratory disorder in the crew member.”);
deriving a breathing frequency indicator from a plurality of successive breaths of the passenger (0022 states “the predetermined breathing rate may be understood as breathing rate at which the crew member breathes comfortably. The breathing rate may be understood as, for example, number of breaths per minute.);
switching in to one of slow or fast breathing mode based on the breathing frequency (0021 states “the regulator 124 may actuate the one or more valves 128 based on the output of the sensors 104. In one example, the regulator 124 may actuate the one or more valves 128 when the output indicates emergency conditions. The emergency conditions may be understood as conditions when the breathing rate of the crew member is deviated from a predetermined breathing rate”. The amount of oxygen delivered from the oxygen source will vary based on the deviation of breathing frequency.);
wherein the controller is configured for: switching into a fast breathing mode if the breathing frequency indicator indicates a breathing frequency above a predefined upper frequency threshold (0024 states “The regulator 124 may also actuate the one or more valves 128 when the breathing rate of the crew member is higher than the predetermined breathing rate”), wherein operating in the fast breathing mode includes supplying a fast breathing amount of oxygen (VF), which is smaller than the normal breathing amount of oxygen (VN), from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask at every breath of the passenger (0024 states “To overcome the respiratory disorder caused by these conditions, the crew member may be momentarily forced to inhale the exhaled gas till the breathing rate can be controlled. The oxygen may be stored in an oxygen storage kept onboard for supplying when needed.” Since the recirculation mode involves the use of inhaling an exhaled gas, the amount of oxygen sourced from the oxygen supply is decreased).
wherein the controller is configured for: switching into a slow breathing mode if the breathing frequency indicator indicates a breathing frequency below a predefined lower frequency threshold (based on the fact that a deviation from the breathing rate activating an emergency mode leads to an increase in oxygen supplied as mentioned in 0023, the deviation would have to be lower than a breathing rate threshold in order to supply this oxygen, as opposed to the breathing rate being above to supply less oxygen as mentioned in 0024), wherein operating in the slow breathing mode includes supplying a slow breathing amount of oxygen (VS), which is larger than the normal breathing amount of oxygen (VN), from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask at every breath of the passenger (0022 states “The mode of the respiratory mask 102 in accordance with this implementation may be understood as emergency mode. Such above explained emergency conditions may result in lack of oxygen and the crew member may get respiratory disorder, such as hypoxia, due to lack of oxygen which may lead to unconsciousness of the crew member. To overcome the respiratory disorder due to the lack of oxygen, the crew member may be forced to inhale oxygen so that the level of oxygen in the blood can be retained to a level where the crew member can breathe smoothly.”);
Regarding claim 4, Sharma teaches the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system according to claim 1, wherein the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system comprises an ambient air pressure sensor (108), which is configured for detecting the pressure of air (pair) at or in the vicinity of the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system (0026 states “The mouth and nose piece 202 may have smoke sensors (similar to as illustrated in FIG. 1) for sensing presence of smoke in a cockpit of the aircraft and may also have pressure sensors (similar to as illustrated in FIG. 1) for sensing the pressure level present inside the cockpit.”), wherein, in at least one of the normal breathing mode, the slow breathing mode, and the fast breathing mode, the amount of oxygen (VN, Vs, VF), which is supplied from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask, is a function of the pressure of air (pair) detected by the ambient air pressure sensor (0021 states “the regulator 124 may actuate the one or more valves 128 when the output indicates emergency conditions. The emergency conditions may be understood as conditions when the pressure level present inside the cockpit is lower than a predetermined pressure level”);
or wherein the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system comprises a temperature sensor, which is configured for detecting the temperature (T) at or in the vicinity of the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system, wherein, in at least one of the normal breathing mode, the slow breathing mode, and the fast breathing mode, the amount of oxygen (VN, Vs, VF), which is supplied from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask, is a function of the temperature (T) detected by the temperature sensor.
Regarding claim 6, Sharma teaches the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system according to claim 1, wherein, in at least one of the normal breathing mode, the slow breathing mode, and the fast breathing mode, the amount of oxygen (VN, Vs, VF), which is supplied from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask, is a function of the breathing frequency indicator (0024 states “The regulator 124 may also actuate the one or more valves 128 when the breathing rate of the crew member is higher than the predetermined breathing rate. To overcome the respiratory disorder caused by these conditions, the crew member may be momentarily forced to inhale the exhaled gas till the breathing rate can be controlled. The oxygen may be stored in an oxygen storage kept onboard for supplying when needed.”);
wherein, in at least one of the normal breathing mode, the slow breathing mode, and the fast breathing mode, the amount of oxygen (VN, VS, VF), which is supplied from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask, is in particular inversely proportional to the breathing frequency indicated by the breathing frequency indicator (0023 discusses an increase of provided oxygen when there is a lack of breathing by the user. 0024 discusses a decrease in oxygen provided by the oxygen source when the breathing rate is higher than a predetermined rate.).
Regarding claim 9, Sharma teaches a passenger aircraft comprising: at least one aircraft emergency oxygen supply system according to claim 1 (0006 states “respiratory mask for use in an aircraft is disclosed”).
Regarding claim 10, Sharma teaches a method of supplying oxygen to a passenger oxygen mask in an aircraft (abstract), wherein the method includes: detecting breaths of a passenger wearing the passenger oxygen mask (breathing rate sensor 116);
operating in a normal breathing mode, which includes supplying a normal breathing amount of oxygen (VN) from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask at every breath of the passenger wearing the passenger oxygen mask (0025 states “The regulator 124 may actuate the one or more valves 128 to the dilution mode when the output of the sensors 104 indicates any one of the conditions such the breathing rate of the crew member is equal to a predetermined breathing rate. The dilution mode may be understood as a mode where the respiratory system of the crew member functions normally in which there is no symptoms of either hyperventilation or hypoxia or any other respiratory disorder in the crew member.”);
deriving a breathing frequency indicator from a plurality of successive breaths of the passenger (0022 states “the predetermined breathing rate may be understood as breathing rate at which the crew member breathes comfortably. The breathing rate may be understood as, for example, number of breaths per minute.);
and switching into a slow breathing mode if the breathing frequency indicator indicates a breathing frequency below a predefined lower frequency threshold (based on the fact that a deviation from the breathing rate activating an emergency mode leads to an increase in oxygen supplied as mentioned in 0023, the deviation would have to be lower than a breathing rate threshold in order to supply this oxygen, as opposed to the breathing rate being above to supply less oxygen as mentioned in 0024), wherein operating in the slow breathing mode includes supplying a slow breathing amount of oxygen (VS), which is larger than the normal breathing amount of oxygen (VN), from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask at every breath of the passenger (0022 states “The mode of the respiratory mask 102 in accordance with this implementation may be understood as emergency mode. Such above explained emergency conditions may result in lack of oxygen and the crew member may get respiratory disorder, such as hypoxia, due to lack of oxygen which may lead to unconsciousness of the crew member. To overcome the respiratory disorder due to the lack of oxygen, the crew member may be forced to inhale oxygen so that the level of oxygen in the blood can be retained to a level where the crew member can breathe smoothly.”);
or switching into a fast breathing mode if the breathing frequency indicator indicates a breathing frequency above a predefined upper frequency threshold (0024 states “The regulator 124 may also actuate the one or more valves 128 when the breathing rate of the crew member is higher than the predetermined breathing rate”), wherein operating in the fast breathing mode includes supplying a fast breathing amount of oxygen (VF), which is smaller than the normal breathing amount of oxygen (VN), from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask at every breath of the passenger (0024 states “To overcome the respiratory disorder caused by these conditions, the crew member may be momentarily forced to inhale the exhaled gas till the breathing rate can be controlled. The oxygen may be stored in an oxygen storage kept onboard for supplying when needed.” Since the recirculation mode involves the use of inhaling an exhaled gas, the amount of oxygen sourced from the oxygen supply is decreased).
Regarding claim 13, Sharma teaches a method according to claim 10, wherein, in at least one of the normal breathing mode, the slow breathing mode and the fast breathing mode, the amount of oxygen (VN, VS, VF), which is supplied from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask, is a function of the breathing frequency indicator (0024 states “The regulator 124 may also actuate the one or more valves 128 when the breathing rate of the crew member is higher than the predetermined breathing rate. To overcome the respiratory disorder caused by these conditions, the crew member may be momentarily forced to inhale the exhaled gas till the breathing rate can be controlled. The oxygen may be stored in an oxygen storage kept onboard for supplying when needed.”), wherein the amount of oxygen (VN, VS, VF), which is supplied from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask, is inversely proportional to the breathing frequency indicated by the breathing frequency indicator (0023 discusses an increase of provided oxygen when there is a lack of breathing by the user. 0024 discusses a decrease in oxygen provided by the oxygen source when the breathing rate is higher than a predetermined rate.);
or wherein, in at least one of the normal breathing mode, the slow breathing mode and the fast breathing mode, the amount of oxygen (VN, VS, VF), which is supplied from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask, is independent of the breathing frequency indicated by the breathing frequency indicator (The supplied oxygen can be based on a pressure level or a blood partial pressure level as discussed in 0025, it can be independent of the breathing rate.).
Regarding claim 14, Sharma teaches a method according to claims 10, wherein the method includes detecting an ambient air pressure and/or a temperature (T) at the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system (Sensor 108), and wherein, in at least one of the normal breathing mode, the slow breathing mode, and the fast breathing mode, the amount of oxygen (VN, VS, VF), which is supplied from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask, is a function of the detected ambient air pressure (pair) and/or of the detected temperature (T) (0021 states “the regulator 124 may actuate the one or more valves 128 when the output indicates emergency conditions. The emergency conditions may be understood as conditions when the pressure level present inside the cockpit is lower than a predetermined pressure level”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma.
Regarding claim 2, Sharma teaches the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system according to claim 1, with an upper frequency threshold (0024), but fails to explicitly teach wherein the threshold corresponds to a breathing frequency in the range of between 15 and 25 breaths per minute, wherein the predefined upper frequency threshold corresponds in particular to a breathing frequency of 20 breaths per minute; or wherein the predefined lower frequency threshold corresponds to a breathing frequency in the range of between 5 and 15 breaths per minute, wherein the predefined lower frequency threshold corresponds in particular to a breathing frequency of 10 breaths per minute.
However, in light of Sharma’s teaching of an upper frequency threshold based on breathing frequency (0024) and the breathing frequency being measured in breaths per minute (0022), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to ascertain and employ a desired/optimal range wherein the threshold corresponds to a breathing frequency in the range of between 15 and 25 breaths per minute, wherein the predefined upper frequency threshold corresponds in particular to a breathing frequency of 20 breaths per minute via routine experimentation, such as that claimed, as it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” MPEP 2144.05
Regarding claim 5, Sharma teaches the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system according to claim 4, wherein, in at least one of the normal breathing mode, the slow breathing mode, and the fast breathing mode, the amount of oxygen (VN, VS, VF), which is supplied from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask at the beginning, is independent of the pressure of air (pair) detected by the ambient air pressure sensor (0024 states “the regulator 124 may actuate the one or more valves 128 when the output indicates that a percentage of oxygen present in the blood of the crew member is at least 94%. The regulator 124 may also actuate the one or more valves 128 when the carbon dioxide level present in the exhaled gas is lower than the predetermined carbon dioxide level and/or when the breathing rate of the crew member is higher than the predetermined breathing rate and/or expiration volume is low which may occur during a high stress condition” Since the amount of oxygen provided can be controlled by the various factors described, it can be independent of the sensed air pressure).
Sharma fail to explicitly teach the independence being applied for the first 15 breaths of the passenger. However, in light of Sharma’s teaching of independence of the sensed air pressure to the mode of oxygen being provided (0024), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to ascertain and employ a desired/optimal range wherein the independence is being applied for the first 15 breaths of the passenger, such as that claimed, as it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” MPEP 2144.05
Regarding claim 11, Sharma teaches a method according to claim 10, with an upper frequency threshold (0024), but fails to teach wherein the predefined upper frequency threshold corresponds to a breathing frequency in the range of between 15 and 25 breaths per minute, wherein the predefined upper frequency threshold corresponds a breathing frequency of 20 breaths per minute; or wherein the predefined lower frequency threshold corresponds to a breathing frequency in the range of between 5 and 15 breaths per minute, wherein the predefined lower frequency threshold corresponds a breathing frequency of 10 breaths per minute.
However, in light of Sharma’s teaching of an upper frequency threshold based on breathing frequency (0024) and the breathing frequency being measured in breaths per minute (0022), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to ascertain and employ a desired/optimal range wherein the threshold corresponds to a breathing frequency in the range of between 15 and 25 breaths per minute, wherein the predefined upper frequency threshold corresponds in particular to a breathing frequency of 20 breaths per minute via routine experimentation, such as that claimed, as it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” MPEP 2144.05
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma, further in view of Jackson et al. 2022/0296845.
Regarding claim 3, Sharma teaches the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of successive breaths of the passenger include a plurality of breath durations and wherein the controller is configured for determining the breathing frequency indicator from an average of the plurality of breath durations (0022 states “the predetermined breathing rate may be understood as breathing rate at which the crew member breathes comfortably. The breathing rate may be understood as, for example, number of breaths per minute. The measurement of breaths per minute is an average measurement.), but fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller is in particular configured for repeatedly determining the breathing frequency indicator on the basis of a moving average within a succession of breath durations of a succession of breaths of the passenger, with every average value of the moving average in particular being an average of between 10 and 20 breath durations, further in particular an average of 15 breath durations.
Jackson teaches an analogous nitric oxide delivery device that does teach wherein the controller is in particular configured for repeatedly determining the breathing frequency indicator on the basis of a moving average within a succession of breath durations of a succession of breaths of the passenger (0341 states “After determining the starting point for dose per breath, the controller starts dosing according to the breath rate. The breath rate is tracked with a moving average and dose per breath is altered over time to maintain the target dosing run rate.”). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sharma with the teachings of Jackson and include a determination of breathing frequency based on a moving average as it allows for a target dosage rate of the supplied gas (oxygen) to be maintained (0341).
The combination still fails to teach wherein every average value of the moving average in particular being an average of between 10 and 20 breath durations, further in particular an average of 15 breath durations. However, in light of Jackson’s teaching of the respiration rate being tracked on the basis of a moving average (0341), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to ascertain and employ a desired/optimal range wherein every average value of the moving average in particular being an average of between 10 and 20 breath durations, further in particular an average of 15 breath durations, such as that claimed, as it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” MPEP 2144.05
Regarding claim 12, Sharma teaches a method according to claim 10, wherein the plurality of successive breaths of the passenger include a plurality of breath durations and wherein the method includes determining the breathing frequency indicator from an average of the plurality of breath durations (0022 states “the predetermined breathing rate may be understood as breathing rate at which the crew member breathes comfortably. The breathing rate may be understood as, for example, number of breaths per minute. The measurement of breaths per minute is an average measurement.); Sharma fails to teach wherein the method includes repeatedly determining the breathing frequency indicator on the basis of a moving average within a succession of breath durations of a succession of breaths of the passenger, with every average value of the moving average being an average of between 10 and 20 breath durations.
Jackson teaches an analogous nitric oxide delivery device that does teach wherein the method is in particular includes repeatedly determining the breathing frequency indicator on the basis of a moving average within a succession of breath durations of a succession of breaths of the passenger (0341 states “After determining the starting point for dose per breath, the controller starts dosing according to the breath rate. The breath rate is tracked with a moving average and dose per breath is altered over time to maintain the target dosing run rate.”). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sharma with the teachings of Jackson and include a determination of breathing frequency based on a moving average as it allows for a target dosage rate of the supplied gas (oxygen) to be maintained (0341).
The combination still fails to teach wherein every average value of the moving average in particular being an average of between 10 and 20 breath durations, however in light of Jackson’s teaching of the respiration rate being tracked on the basis of a moving average (0341), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to ascertain and employ a desired/optimal range wherein every average value of the moving average in particular being an average of between 10 and 20 breath durations, , such as that claimed, as it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” MPEP 2144.05
Claims 7, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma, further in view of Krausholz et al. 2021/0316162.
Regarding claim 7, Sharma teaches the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the controller is configured for operating in an enforced pulse mode if no breath of a passenger has been detected by the breath sensor for a predefined breath enforce time (Tenf), wherein operating in the enforced pulse mode includes supplying predefined amounts of oxygen (Venf) from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask at predefined time intervals (ΔTenf); wherein the predefined breath enforce time (Tenf), in which no breath has been detected, is in particular in the range of between 5 seconds and 15 seconds, wherein the predefined breath enforce time (Tenf) is more particularly in the range of between 9 seconds and 11 seconds; and/or wherein operating in the enforced pulse mode includes in particular supplying predefined amounts (Venf) of oxygen from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask with a frequency of 40 to 60 pulses per minute, more particularly with a frequency of 45 to 55 pulses per minute.
Krausholz teaches an analogous aircraft oxygen system that does teach wherein the controller is configured for operating in an enforced pulse mode if no breath of a passenger has been detected by the breath sensor for a predefined breath enforce time, wherein operating in the enforced pulse mode includes supplying predefined amounts of oxygen (Venf) from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask at predefined time intervals (Page states “safety oxygen pulses regularly flow into the oxygen mask if there is no breath within a certain time window of the aircraft passenger was registered.”); wherein the predefined breath enforce time (Tenf), in which no breath has been detected, is in particular in the range of between 5 seconds and 15 seconds, wherein the predefined breath enforce time (Tenf) is more particularly in the range of between 9 seconds and 11 seconds (page states “The time window can preferably be set in such a way that no safety oxygen pulse has to be emitted at a normal breathing frequency with recordable breaths. For example, the time window can be 10 seconds, since it can be expected that a breath would have to be registered within 10 seconds. However, if no breath has been registered after 10 seconds, the regular delivery of safety oxygen pulses starts.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sharma with the teachings of Krausholz and include wherein the controller is configured for operating in an enforced pulse mode if no breath of a passenger has been detected by the breath sensor for a predefined breath enforce time (Tenf), wherein operating in the enforced pulse mode includes supplying predefined amounts of oxygen (Venf) from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask at predefined time intervals (ΔTenf); wherein the predefined breath enforce time (Tenf), in which no breath has been detected, is in particular in the range of between 5 seconds and 15 seconds, wherein the predefined breath enforce time (Tenf) is more particularly in the range of between 9 seconds and 11 seconds as it allows for oxygen to be provided in an emergency situation should the passenger be unable to physically breathe into the mask.
Regarding 8, Sharma teaches an aircraft emergency oxygen supply system according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system comprises a plurality of passenger oxygen masks, and wherein the controller is configured for individually controlling the supply of oxygen to each of the plurality of passenger oxygen masks; wherein the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system comprises in particular two, three, four, five or six passenger oxygen masks.
Krausholz does teach wherein the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system comprises a plurality of passenger oxygen masks (0033 states “the emergency oxygen system 1 further comprises a control unit 5 and four emergency oxygen masks 7”), and wherein the controller is configured for individually controlling the supply of oxygen to each of the plurality of passenger oxygen masks (0033 states “he four emergency oxygen masks 7 are each connected with a tube-like fluid connection 15 to the distribution module 9 of the control unit 5. The oxygen feed into the respective tube-like fluid connection 15 is controlled via an electrically controllable valve 17 in the distribution module 9. The control unit 5 further comprises control electronics 19 for the control of the valves 17.”); wherein the aircraft emergency oxygen supply system comprises in particular two, three, four, five or six passenger oxygen masks (Figure 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sharma and include a plurality of masks being controlled by the control system as it allows for a tailored oxygen treatment to be provided to each individual passenger of the aircraft.
Regarding claim 15, Sharma teaches a method according to claim 10, but fails to teach wherein the method includes operating in an enforced pulse mode if no breath of a passenger has been detected by the breath sensor for a predefined breath enforce time (Tenf), wherein operating in the enforced pulse mode includes supplying predefined amounts of oxygen (Venf) from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask at predefined time intervals (ΔTenf); wherein the predefined breath enforce time (Tenf), in which no breath has been detected, in the range of between 5 seconds and 15 seconds, wherein the predefined time period is more particularly in the range of between 9 seconds and 11 seconds; or wherein operating in the enforced pulse mode includes in particular supplying predefined amounts (Venf) of oxygen from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask with a frequency of 40 to 60 pulses per minute.
Krausholz teaches an analogous aircraft oxygen system that does teach wherein the method includes operating in an enforced pulse mode if no breath of a passenger has been detected by the breath sensor for a predefined breath enforce time, wherein operating in the enforced pulse mode includes supplying predefined amounts of oxygen (Venf) from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask at predefined time intervals (Page states “safety oxygen pulses regularly flow into the oxygen mask if there is no breath within a certain time window of the aircraft passenger was registered.”); wherein the predefined breath enforce time (Tenf), in which no breath has been detected, is in particular in the range of between 5 seconds and 15 seconds, wherein the predefined breath enforce time (Tenf) is more particularly in the range of between 9 seconds and 11 seconds (page states “The time window can preferably be set in such a way that no safety oxygen pulse has to be emitted at a normal breathing frequency with recordable breaths. For example, the time window can be 10 seconds, since it can be expected that a breath would have to be registered within 10 seconds. However, if no breath has been registered after 10 seconds, the regular delivery of safety oxygen pulses starts.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sharma with the teachings of Krausholz and include wherein the controller is configured for operating in an enforced pulse mode if no breath of a passenger has been detected by the breath sensor for a predefined breath enforce time (Tenf), wherein operating in the enforced pulse mode includes supplying predefined amounts of oxygen (Venf) from the oxygen source to the passenger oxygen mask at predefined time intervals (ΔTenf); wherein the predefined breath enforce time (Tenf), in which no breath has been detected, is in particular in the range of between 5 seconds and 15 seconds, wherein the predefined breath enforce time (Tenf) is more particularly in the range of between 9 seconds and 11 seconds as it allows for oxygen to be provided in an emergency situation should the passenger be unable to physically breathe into the mask.
Conclusion
/ROHAN PATEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785