DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10-13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Landry (US Patent 5,586,667).
Regarding claim 1, Landry discloses a mobile crane with main and auxiliary counterweight assemblies comprising:
A vehicle crane (220, see figures 6-12) comprising:
a superstructure (224 and 228) that is rotatably mounted on a lower carriage (222, see figures 6-12) and has a telescopic main jib (226, see figures 6-12), wherein the superstructure consists of a base superstructure (224) and an attachment superstructure (228) arranged in a detachable manner (see figure 8) thereon and the attachment superstructure receives at least one main counterweight (230, see figures 6 and 11); and
wherein at least one auxiliary support (268) configured as a hinged support (see figures 6 and 11) is fastened to the attachment superstructure (see figures 6 and 11), wherein only compressive forces and no bending moments are introduced into the attachment superstructure via the at least one auxiliary support (As the auxiliary support 268 is moved from its lowest position in figure 6 to its highest position in figure 11, the auxiliary swings on a pivot 292. As the auxiliary support swings on pivot 292, the support will introduce only compressive forces and not introduce bending moments, similar to the structure of the claimed invention. For example, swinging the auxiliary support from its lowest position to its highest position slowly would introduce compressive forces and not introduce bending moments. The above also applies to the reverse swinging movement of the auxiliary support), and wherein a rear end of the auxiliary support is suspended via a guying member (one of 262 or 234), and an auxiliary counterweight (232, see figures 6 and 11) is suspended from the rear end of the at least one auxiliary support (see figure 11).
Regarding claim 2, Landry further shows wherein the at least one auxiliary support (268) is fastened in an articulated manner (see figures 6 and 11) to the attachment superstructure.
Regarding claim 10, Landry further shows wherein at least one rigging cylinder (270, see figures 6 and 11) is arranged on the attachment superstructure and the attachment superstructure can be raised from the rigging position (figure 6) to the attachment position (figure 11) via said rigging cylinder.
Regarding claim 11, Landry further shows wherein the at least one main counterweight (230) is stationary relative to the base superstructure during operation of the vehicle crane (see figures 6 and 11).
Regarding claim 12, Landry further shows wherein a first (230) and a second main counterweight (232) are provided that are arranged opposite and spaced apart from one another in relation to a longitudinal direction (see figures 6 and 11) of the attachment superstructure.
Regarding claim 13, Landry further shows wherein at least one lifting mechanism (280, see figures 6 and 11) and/or winch mechanism (280, see figures 6 and 11) are arranged on the attachment superstructure (see figures 6 and 11).
Regarding claim 16, Landry further shows wherein the base superstructure (224) has no counterweight (see figures 6 and 11).
Regarding claim 17, Landry further shows wherein the lower carriage (222) is provided with wheels for travel on roads (column 8 lines 40-51, as the base 222 is mounted on wheels).
Regarding claim 18, Landry further shows wherein the rear end of the at least one auxiliary support (268) is suspended via the guying member (one of 262 or 234) on the main jib (see figures 6 and 11) and/or on an auxiliary jib and/or on an adapter at a main jib head.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landry (US Patent 5,586,667).
Regarding claim 3, Landry discloses the claimed invention except for the at least one auxiliary support can be pivoted by an angle of 40 degrees to 130 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the at least one auxiliary support can be pivoted by an angle of 40 degrees to 130 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The at least one auxiliary support can be pivoted by an angle of 40 degrees to 130 degrees is a result-effective range because the recognized result would be to provide for the lifting of the auxiliary counterweight (see figures 6 and 11 of Landry). Further, the result expected by one of ordinary skill in the art would be to provide a range of movement of the auxiliary counterweight (see figures 6 and 11 of Landry) to compensate for the range of movement of a load supported by the telescopic main jib (226).
The difference between the claimed invention of dependent claim 3 and the prior art of Landry is the at least one auxiliary support can be pivoted by an angle of 40 degrees to 130 degrees. The discovering of an optimum range of a result effective range would be within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Landry discloses the claimed invention except for the at least one auxiliary support is at least 3 m long.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the at least one auxiliary support is at least 3 m long, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 167 F .2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
The at least one auxiliary support is at least 3 m long is a result-effective optimum value because the recognized result would be to provide for the lifting of the auxiliary counterweight (see figures 6 and 11 of Landry). Further, the result expected by one of ordinary skill in the art would be to provide a range of movement of the auxiliary counterweight (see figures 6 and 11 of Landry) to compensate for the range of movement of a load supported by the telescopic main jib (226).
The difference between the claimed invention of dependent claim 5 and the prior art of Landry is the at least one auxiliary support is at least 3 m long. The discovering of an optimum value of a result effective optimum value would be within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 15, 2025 (see Remarks REM of 10/15/2025) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue:
“Landry does not use, disclose or suggest an auxiliary support acting as a hinged support or pendulum support. Such a support in the sense of the invention would not be stable and could not carry any load without being suspended at its rear end. Accordingly, the hinged support of the present application introduces only compressive forces and no bending moments into the attachment superstructure.”
“In contrast, the structure of Landry, due to its bilateral mounting, forms a bending beam which remains functional even without suspension. This structural difference is significant, as it has direct consequences for weight, component dimensioning and assembly logic.”
See page 3 last 5 lines to page 4 lines 1-14.
The Examiner respectfully does not agree for the following reason(s).
First, as the auxiliary support 268 of Landry is moved from its lowest position in figure 6 to its highest position in figure 11, the auxiliary swings on a pivot 292. As the auxiliary support swings on pivot 292, the support will introduce only compressive forces and not introduce bending moments, similar to the structure of the claimed invention. For example, swinging the auxiliary support from its lowest position to its highest position slowly would introduce compressive forces and not introduce bending moments. The above also applies to the reverse swinging movement of the auxiliary support.
Second, Applicants argue that Landry does not disclose or suggest the limitation of the auxiliary supports introduce only compressive forces and not introduce bending moments with respect to the present invention. However, Applicants do not appear to identify the structural differences between the claimed auxiliary support and the auxiliary support of Landry. As both auxiliary supports swing along a pivot axis, both the auxiliary supports of the invention and Landry appear to introduce only compressive forces and not introduce bending moments.
How does the structure of the claimed auxiliary support introduce only compressive forces and not introduce bending moments? How does the structure of Landry introduce bending moments into the attachment superstructure (228)? The arguments on page 4 lines 1-14 do not appear to clearly point out how Landry introduces bending moments into the attachment superstructure.
Third, Applicants argue that Landry does not disclose or suggest the limitation of the auxiliary supports introduce only compressive forces and not introduce bending moments because Landry has a bilateral mounting. However, the present application appears to also have a bilateral mounting.
As shown in at least figure 2, the attachment superstructure (8) appears to have a bilateral mounting because it is mounted 1) to the base superstructure (6) on the right side of the attachment superstructure and 2) at least one auxiliary support (15a and/or 15b) on the left side of the attachment superstructure.
Alternatively, as shown in at least figure 2, the attachment superstructure (8) appears to have a bilateral mounting because it is mounted the base superstructure (6) at 3rd connecting point (8a) and at 4th connecting point (8b). How does the present invention not comprise a bilateral mounting?
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-22 are allowed.
Claims 4, 6-9, and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Landry (US Patent 5,586,667) is considered the closest prior art reference to the invention of independent claim 19.
Claim 19 claims:
A method for rigging a vehicle crane, wherein the vehicle crane comprises a superstructure that is rotatably mounted on a lower carriage and has a telescopic main jib, wherein the superstructure consists of a base superstructure and an attachment superstructure arranged in a detachable manner thereon and the attachment superstructure receives at least one main counterweight, said method comprising:
placing at least one auxiliary support in a rigging position on the lower carriage;
fastening the at least one auxiliary support to the attachment superstructure;
guying a rear end of the at least one auxiliary support via a guying member on a main jib head and/or on
an adjoining adapter or an auxiliary jib; and
suspending the auxiliary counterweight from the rear end of the at least one auxiliary support;
wherein the at least one auxiliary support is configured as a hinged support with the rear end of the at least one auxiliary support being suspended via the guying member.
Important Note: Underlining is provided to point out important area of the bolded limitation above.
Landry does not disclose nor would be obvious to the limitation of the method step of “placing at least one auxiliary support in a rigging position on the lower carriage”, in conjunction with the remaining limitations of independent claim 19.
Dependent claims 20-22 depends on claim 19.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JJC/
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654