DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A and Subspecies A2 in the reply filed on 3/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-8 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and subspecies, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation, “wherein each of the plurality of ramps is disposed in a curved configuration” in lines 1-2. It is unclear whether “a curved configuration” is the same or different as “a curved configuration” as recited in claim 12, line 3, upon which claim 14 depends. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boyce (U.S. Patent No. 4,487,509).
Regarding claim 1, Boyce discloses an appliance (title), comprising:
a base unit (figures 1-4, support base 18) having a housing (figures 1-4, upper end 70 and lower end 72), with an upwardly opening upper cavity (figures 2-4, receptacle 78) with a drive connection positioned therein (figures 2-4, drive connector 112), wherein the housing further includes a battery-receiving cavity (figures 2-4, component space 82);
a motor disposed within the housing of the base unit (figures 3 and 4, motor 108);
a blender jar (figures 1 and 2, container 12) having an upper collar (figures 1 and 2, upper end 22 with threaded portion 30) and an interior cavity (figures 1 and 2; internal area of container 12 with opening 26);
a first lid assembly removeably coupled to the upper collar of the blender jar and the upwardly opening upper cavity of the base unit (figures 1, 3, 6 and 7, cap 14), wherein the first lid assembly includes a drive connecting member disposed on a first side thereof (figures 2 and 7, mixer connector 58), and a blade assembly disposed on a second side thereof (figure 2, mixer 16 with blades 50), and further wherein the drive connecting member engages the drive connection of the base unit when the first lid assembly is coupled to the upwardly opening upper cavity of the base unit (column 4, lines 34-53); and
a battery removably received within the battery-receiving cavity for powering the motor of the base unit (figures 2 and 4, batteries 118 removable received in component space 82; column 5, lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 9, Boyce discloses an appliance (title), comprising:
a base unit (figures 1-4, support base 18) having a housing (figures 1-4, upper end 70 and lower end 72), with an upwardly opening upper cavity (figures 2-4, receptacle 78) with a drive connection positioned therein (figures 2-4, drive connector 112), wherein the housing further includes a battery-receiving cavity (figures 2-4, component space 82);
a motor disposed within the housing of the base unit (figures 3 and 4, motor 108);
a blender jar (figures 1 and 2, container 12) having an upper collar (figures 1 and 2, upper end 22 with threaded portion 30) and an interior cavity (figures 1 and 2; internal area of container 12 with opening 26);
a lid assembly (figures 1, 3, 6 and 7, cap 14) having first and second collars disposed on opposite sides of a divider (figure 2, cap wall 42 portion above divider gasket 56 and cap base 38 below divider gasket 56), wherein the first collar surrounds a drive connecting member on a first side of the divider and is removable coupled to the upper cavity of the base unit (figures 2 and 7, mixer connector 58; column 4, lines 34-53), and further wherein the second collar surrounds a blade assembly on a second side of the divider and is removably coupled to the upper collar of the blender jar (figure 2, mixer 16 with blades 50 surrounded by cap wall 42 and connects to threaded portion 30 of blender 12; column 2, lines 39-48), and further wherein the drive connecting member engages the drive connection of the base unit when the lid assembly is coupled to the upwardly opening upper cavity of the base unit at the first collar thereof (column 4, lines 34-53); and
a battery removably received within the battery-receiving cavity for powering the motor of the base unit (figures 2 and 4, batteries 118 removable received in component space 82; column 5, lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 10, Boyce discloses wherein the first collar includes at least one connecting member provided on an outer surface thereof (see figure 7, cap base 38 is corrugated with ridges and grooves on outer surface for connecting/engaging with the base).
Regarding claim 11, Boyce discloses wherein the upper cavity of the base unit includes at least one alignment tab provided therein to releasably receive the at least one connecting member (figure 3, ledge 79; column 3, lines 35-49).
Regarding claim 12, Boyce discloses wherein the second side of the divider includes a plurality of ramps outwardly extending therefrom, and further wherein each ramp includes an angled upper surface that is disposed in a curved configuration (figure 3, threads 46).
Regarding claim 13, Boyce discloses wherein the blade assembly includes a plurality of blades outwardly extending from a baseplate (figures 1 and 3, blades 50), wherein one or more blades of the plurality of blades includes a distal end that extends towards the second side of the divider for rotation along a rotational path (figures 3, blades 50).
Regarding claim 14, Boyce discloses wherein each ramp of the plurality of ramps is disposed in a curved configuration that is aligned with the rotational path (figures 3, threads 46).
Regarding claim 16, Boyce discloses an appliance (title), comprising:
a base unit (figures 1-4, support base 18) having a housing (figures 1-4, upper end 70 and lower end 72), with an upwardly opening upper cavity (figures 2-4, receptacle 78) with a drive connection positioned therein (figures 2-4, drive connector 112), wherein the housing further includes a battery-receiving cavity (figures 2-4, component space 82);
a motor disposed within the housing of the base unit (figures 3 and 4, motor 108);
a blender jar (figures 1 and 2, container 12) having an upper collar (figures 1 and 2, upper end 22 with threaded portion 30) and an interior cavity (figures 1 and 2; internal area of container 12 with opening 26);
a lid assembly (figures 1, 3, 6 and 7, cap 14) having first and second collars disposed on opposite sides of a divider (figure 2, cap wall 42 portion above divider gasket 56 and cap base 38 below divider gasket 56), wherein the first collar surrounds a drive connecting member on a first side of the divider and is configured to be coupled to the upper cavity of the base unit (figures 2 and 7, mixer connector 58; column 4, lines 34-53), and further wherein the second collar surrounds a blade assembly on a second side of the divider and is configured to be coupled to the upper collar of the blender jar (figure 2, mixer 16 with blades 50 surrounded by cap wall 42 and connects to threaded portion 30 of blender 12; column 2, lines 39-48); and
a battery removably received within the battery-receiving cavity for powering the motor of the base unit (figures 2 and 4, batteries 118 removable received in component space 82; column 5, lines 1-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyce in view of Bennett (U.S. Patent No. 4,887,909).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Boyce discloses all the limitations as set forth above; however does not explicitly disclose wherein the battery is a 12V battery. It is well known in the art before the time of filing that 12V batteries are used to power kitchen appliances, as evidenced by Bennett (column 1, lines 9-13); and one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have modified the battery of Boyce to be a 12V battery in order to provide the necessary power to operate the appliance for efficient mixing.
Alternatively, Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyce in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0208998).
Alternatively, to the extent the threads of Boyce do not read on the ramps as recited in claims 12 and 14, Dickson, Jr. et al. teaches another blending apparatus (title). Dickson, Jr. et al. teaches wherein the second side of the divider (figures 3A-3C, top surface 158; figures 7A-7C; figures 31A-31C, top of adapter 3100; figures 31A-32C, top of adaptor 3200) includes a plurality of ramps outwardly extending therefrom (figures 3A-3C, wall portions 166; figures 7A-7C, shelf portions 756; figures 31A-31C, helical baffles 3102; figures 32A-32C, helical baffles 3202), and further wherein each ramp includes an angled upper surface that is disposed in a curved configuration (figures 3A-3C, see top of wall portions 166 that is curved; figure 7A-7C, shelf portions 756; figures 31A-31C, helical baffles 3102; figures 32A-32C, helical baffles 3202; [0087]; [0109]); and wherein each ramp of the plurality of ramps is disposed in a curved configuration that is aligned with the rotational path (figures 3A-3C, see top of wall portions 166 that is curved; figure 7A-7C, shelf portions 756; figures 31A-31C, helical baffles 3102; figures 32A-32C, helical baffles 3202; [0087]; [0109]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to provide the curved ramps of Dickson Jr. et al. on the second side of the divider of Boyce because material deflected from the blending blade assembly in a lateral and radially outward direction cannot directly impact the inner surface of the disposable container unless it passes in a circumferential direction through the baffles as well to direct material away from the wall of the container and redirect it back into engagement with a blending blade in the container to reduce strain on the container and increase the speed and efficiency of mixing (Dickson, Jr. et al. [0087]; [0109]).
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH INSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774