DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 9, 11, 15, 17-18, 20, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US20210377883) in view of Astrom (WO/2018/172044).
Regarding claim 1 and 15,
Jung teaches A downlink channel transmission method, performed at a terminal
device, wherein the method comprises:
separately receiving, on different time domain resources of at least two first channels,
the at least two first channels, wherein (interpreted as receiving a second SS/PBCH block from the base station after receiving the first SS/PBCH block, see para [0006])
the at least two first channels are sent on a same frequency
domain resource and correspondingly on the different time domain resources, and (interpreted as The PBCH included in the SS/PBCH block may be configured in the second symbol (e.g., symbol #(n+1)), the third symbol (e.g., symbol #(n+2)), and the fourth symbol (e.g., symbol #(n+3)) among the four symbols. The position in which the SS/PBCH block can be transmitted may be preconfigured as follows, see para [0083]. Also see same frequency used for PBCHs fig. 9)
performing combination processing on the at least two first channels separately
received on the different frequency domain resources. (interpreted as identify information included in the first SS/PBCH block and the second SS/PBCH block by performing a combining operation on the first SS/PBCH block and the second SS/PBCH block, see para [0020])
However Jung does not teach said separately receiving the at least two first channels comprises separately receiving the at least two first channels correspondingly on different frequency domain resources; first two channels carry same information;
Astrom teaches said separately receiving the at least two first channels comprises separately receiving the at least two first channels correspondingly on different frequency domain resources; first two channels carry same information; and (interpreted as a first sub-band signal is received at a first frequency and over a predetermined time duration equal to the SSB repetition period. This sub-band signal is stored. The radio network device receiver then shifts its reception frequency and receives a second sub-band signal over a the same duration. The timing of the reception iterations is determined by the defined repetition rate of the SSB, see pg 3 line 35-40. Also see combine the plurality of sub-band signals to obtain combined signal over the full sync signal bandwidth; and process the combined signal to detect a sync signal and attempt synchronization with a wireless communication network pg 3 line 50-60)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reception as taught by Jung with the reception over multiple subbands for narrowband receivers as taught by Astrom with the motivation being to receive the complete wideband signal.
Regarding claim 9,
Jung teaches downlink channel transmission method, performed at a network
device, wherein the method comprises:
sending the at least two first channels on a same frequency domain resource and
correspondingly on different time-frequency resources of the at least two first channels. (interpreted as The PBCH included in the SS/PBCH block may be configured in the second symbol (e.g., symbol #(n+1)), the third symbol (e.g., symbol #(n+2)), and the fourth symbol (e.g., symbol #(n+3)) among the four symbols. The position in which the SS/PBCH block can be transmitted may be preconfigured as follows, see para [0083]. Also see same frequency used for PBCHs fig. 9)
However does not teach sending first information, wherein the first information indicates that at least two first channels carry same information;
Astrom teaches sending first information, wherein the first information indicates that at least two first channels carry same information; (interpreted as performed by a radio network device having a narrowband receiver, of receiving and processing a periodic, wideband network sync signal. A candidate sync signal bandwidth and repetition pattern are identified, see pg 2 line 40-50
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reception as taught by Jung with the reception of repetition information as taught by Astrom with the motivation being to receive the complete wideband signal using the repetition.
Regarding claim 3 and 17,
Jung teaches the method according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein a maximum channel bandwidth of the terminal device is less than a bandwidth of each of the at least two first channels.
Astrom teaches wherein a maximum channel bandwidth of the terminal device is less than a bandwidth of each of the at least two first channels. (interpreted as a first sub-band signal is received at a first frequency and over a predetermined time duration equal to the SSB repetition period. This sub-band signal is stored. The radio network device receiver then shifts its reception frequency and receives a second sub-band signal over a the same duration. The timing of the reception iterations is determined by the defined repetition rate of the SSB, see pg 3 line 35-40. Also see combine the plurality of sub-band signals to obtain combined signal over the full sync signal bandwidth; and process the combined signal to detect a sync signal and attempt synchronization with a wireless communication network pg 3 line 50-60)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reception as taught by Jung with the reception over multiple subbands for narrowband receivers as taught by Astrom with the motivation being to receive the complete wideband signal.
Regarding claim 4 and 11 and 18,
Jung teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least two first channels are at least two first physical broadcast channels (PBCHs). (interpreted as identify information included in the first SS/PBCH block and the second SS/PBCH block by performing a combining operation on the first SS/PBCH block and the second SS/PBCH block, see para [0020])
Regarding claim 6 and 20,
Jung teaches the method according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein the at least two first channels are at least two first physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), and the at least two first PDSCHs carry a same system information block (SIB).
Astrom teaches wherein the at least two first channels are at least two first physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), and the at least two first PDSCHs carry a same system information block (SIB). (interpreted as the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCHSIB) provides the remaining required parts of the minimum system information necessary for a radio network device to communicate with the network; however, the PDSCHSIB is not part of the SSB. The PDSCHSIB may be transmitted in resources indicated by PBCH, see pg 2 line 1-10)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reception as taught by Jung with the reception of repetition information as taught by Astrom with the motivation being to transmit system information necessary for communication with the network.
Regarding claim 22,
Jung teaches the method according to claim 1, however does not teach further comprising:
before said separately receiving the at least two first channels, performing re-modulation to
determine the different frequency domain resources on which the at least two first channels are to
be separately received.
Astrom teaches further comprising: before said separately receiving the at least two first channels, performing re-modulation to determine the different frequency domain resources on which the at least two first channels are to be separately received. (interpreted as From these, the relation between an offset in frequency and its corresponding time domain representation may be expressed as: f(t)e o F{2nf -2nf«) Hence, a time domain signal f(t) may be frequency translated by multiplying the signal with a complex value e, where fo represents the amount of frequency translation to be done and t represents the sampling instants of the time signals. This relationship is also used to frequency-translate received and stored sub-band signal for assembly into a combined broadband signal, as further described herein, see pg 2 line 25-35)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reception as taught by Jung with the frequency offset as taught by Astrom with the motivation being to receive the complete wideband signal using the repetition.
Regarding claim 23,
Jung teaches the method according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein each of the different frequency domain resources on which the at least two first channels are separately received is narrower than the same frequency domain resource on which the at least two first channels are sent, and
a combination of the different frequency domain resources on which the at least two first
channels are separately received covers the same frequency domain resource on which the at least
two first channels are sent.
Astrom teaches wherein each of the different frequency domain resources on which the at least two first channels are separately received is narrower than the same frequency domain resource on which the at least two first channels are sent, and
a combination of the different frequency domain resources on which the at least two first
channels are separately received covers the same frequency domain resource on which the at least
two first channels are sent. (interpreted as performed by a radio network device having a narrowband receiver, of receiving and processing a periodic, wideband network sync signal. A candidate sync signal bandwidth and repetition pattern are identified, see pg 2 line 40-50
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reception as taught by Jung with the reception of repetition information as taught by Astrom with the motivation being to receive the complete wideband signal using the repetition.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 12-13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US20210377883) in view of Astrom (WO/2018/172044) and Lo (Pub No 20220256571)
Regarding claim 5 and 12 and 19,
Jung teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least two first channels are at least two first physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs), and the at least two first PDCCHs carry downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a system information block (SIB). (interpreted as When the DRSs are actually transmitted in the N DRS candidates among the M DRS candidates, the base station may inform the terminal of N. N may be indicated by an SS/PBCH block (e.g., PBCH payload) and/or RMSI included in the DRS. Alternatively, N may be transmitted through an RRC message and/or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (e.g., downlink control information (DCI)). The terminal may estimate the number of DRSs actually transmitted based on N, see para [0126])
However Jung in view of Astrom do not teach same downlink control information (DCI)
Lo teaches same downlink control information (DCI) (interpreted as The first PDCCH could deliver or carry a Downlink Control Information (DCI) with same scheduling information as DCI delivered or carried by the second PDCCH, see para [0269]. Also see DCI Formats for Scheduling of PDSCH, see para [0056])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system as taught by Jung in view of Astrom with PDSCH scheduled by DCI of the PDCCH as taught by Lo with the motivation being to improve reliability and performance by transmitting the same data over different resources.
Regarding claim 7 and 13,
Jung in view of Astrom teaches the method according to claim 6, however they do not teach wherein scheduling information of one of the at least two first PDSCHs is carried in downlink control information (DCI) of a first physical downlink control channels (PDCCH).
Lo teaches wherein scheduling information of one of the at least two first PDSCHs is carried in downlink control information (DCI) of a first physical downlink control channels (PDCCH). (interpreted as The first PDCCH could deliver or carry a Downlink Control Information (DCI) with same scheduling information as DCI delivered or carried by the second PDCCH, see para [0269]. Also see DCI Formats for Scheduling of PDSCH, see para [0056])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system as taught by Jung in view of Astro with PDSCH scheduled by DCI of the PDCCHas taught by Lo with the motivation being to improve reliability and performance by transmitting the same data over different resources.
Claim(s) 8, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US20210377883) in view of Astrom (WO/2018/172044), Lo (Pub No 20220256571), and Zhang (Pub No 20190356546).
Regarding claim 8 and 14,
Jung teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein scheduling information of one of the at least two first PDSCHs is carried in downlink control information (DCI) of a second physical downlink control channels (PDCCH), and at least one of a bandwidth of the second PDCCH is less than or equal to a maximum channel bandwidth of the terminal device, or a bandwidth of a control resource set for transmitting the second PDCCH is less than or equal to the maximum channel bandwidth of the terminal device.
Lo teaches wherein scheduling information of one of the at least two first PDSCHs is carried in downlink control information (DCI) of a first physical downlink control channels (PDCCH). (interpreted as The first PDCCH could deliver or carry a Downlink Control Information (DCI) with same scheduling information as DCI delivered or carried by the second PDCCH, see para [0269]. Also see DCI Formats for Scheduling of PDSCH, see para [0056])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system as taught by Jung in view of Astrom with PDSCH scheduled by DCI of the PDCCH as taught by Lo with the motivation being to improve reliability and performance by transmitting the same data over different resources.
However Jung in view of Astrom and Lo do not teach and at least one of a bandwidth of the second PDCCH is less than or equal to a maximum channel bandwidth of the terminal device, or a bandwidth of a control resource set for transmitting the second PDCCH is less than or equal to the maximum channel bandwidth of the terminal device.
Zhang teaches and at least one of a bandwidth of the second PDCCH is less than or equal to a maximum channel bandwidth of the terminal device, or a bandwidth of a control resource set for transmitting the second PDCCH is less than or equal to the maximum channel bandwidth of the terminal device. (interpreted as when the terminal is in the narrow-bandwidth receiving mode, schedule a PDSCH including downlink data for the terminal in the PDCCH on the narrow bandwidth, the downlink data being less than a preset capacity, see para [0223] see fig. 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system as taught by Jung in view of Astrom with PDCCH bandwidth as taught by Zhang with the motivation being to receive the PDCCH within the narrow bandwidth.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US20210377883) in view of Astrom (WO/2018/172044), Kerhuel (Pub No 20200196254)
Regarding claim 21,
Jung teaches the method according to claim 1, combing the received at least two first channels (interpreted as identify information included in the first SS/PBCH block and the second SS/PBCH block by performing a combining operation on the first SS/PBCH block and the second SS/PBCH block, see para [0020])
However does not teach wherein said performing the combination
processing on the at least two first channels comprises:
demodulating the separately received at least two first channels to obtain at least two pieces
of demodulation information, and then performing channel decoding after combining the at least
two pieces of demodulation information, or
performing channel estimation, channel equalization, demodulation, and channel decoding
after combining the separately received at least two first channels, or
separately performing channel estimation on the separately received at least two first channels
to obtain at least two pieces of channel information, and then performing channel equalization,
demodulation, and channel decoding after combining the at least two pieces of channel information,
or
separately performing channel estimation and channel equalization on the separately received
at least two first channels to obtain at least two pieces of equalization information, and then
performing demodulation and channel decoding after combining the at least two pieces of
equalization information.
Kerhuel teaches processing on the at least two first channels comprises:
demodulating the separately received at least two first channels to obtain at least two pieces
of demodulation information, and then performing channel decoding after combining the at least
two pieces of demodulation information, or (rejected as being alternative limitation)
performing channel estimation, channel equalization, demodulation, and channel decoding
after combining the separately received at least two first channels, or (interpreted as As such, the PBCH decoding process includes: a PBCH channel estimation process (block 410); a PBCH equalization process (block 412) on the results of the PBCH channel estimation process; a demodulation process (block 414) following equalization, see para [0031])
separately performing channel estimation on the separately received at least two first channels
to obtain at least two pieces of channel information, and then performing channel equalization,
demodulation, and channel decoding after combining the at least two pieces of channel information,
or(rejected as being alternative limitation)
separately performing channel estimation and channel equalization on the separately received
at least two first channels to obtain at least two pieces of equalization information, and then
performing demodulation and channel decoding after combining the at least two pieces of
equalization information. (rejected as being alternative limitation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the pbch as taught by Jung in view of Astrom with decoding processes for pbch as taught by Lo with the motivation being to decode the received information.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461