This action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 08/30/2023
Claims 1-16 are pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes USPGPUB 2023/0300623 A1 (hereinafter Barnes) in view of Cella et al. USPGPUB 2020/0348662 A1 (hereinafter Cella) and further in view of Lem USPGPUB 2019/0303819 A1 (hereinafter Lem).
Regarding claim 1, Barnes teaches a method of industrial internet of things (IIOT) data conversion and distribution (Fig. 1, Par. [0007] “computer system translates, based at least in part on the identified electronic device, the data from the first format to a second format, where the second format is common to additional data associated with multiple different types of electronic devices, and where the additional data is stored in or is associated with the computer system.”; Par. [0061] “Access points 116, radio nodes 118 and/or services manager 130 may: manage network across different physical layers, provide sensor-to-backend management, and/or distributed decision-making.”; Par. [0047] “By translating the data to the second format, these communication techniques may address current obstacles and enable IoT applications and services”), the method comprising:
obtaining a first sensor input signal from an IIOT device (Par. [0007] “the computer
system obtains the data associated with the electronic device, which has a first format.”; Par. [0063] “type of the electronic device (such as a video camera, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a microphone, etc.)”);
converting the first sensor input signal to a second sensor input signal having a common
data format based on one or more data conversion rules (Par. [0046] “computer system may translate, based at least in part on the identified electronic device, the data from the first format to a second format, where the second format is common to additional data associated with multiple different types of electronic devices” – basing the translation at least in part on the identified electronic device implies there are data conversion rules depending on the device type; Par. [0047] “This common format may enable data aggregation, analysis, decision-making and, thus, a wide variety of applications without requiring a standard, retrofitting of legacy equipment or the use of dedicated equipment”);
appending the second sensor input signal with a variable that describes information relating to the first sensor input signal (Par. [0063] “computer system 132 may compute a context of the data. Moreover, the context may include: a location of electronic device 132 (which may be specified by or may correspond to GPS or local positioning system coordinates, a port, a network identifier, a VLAN identifier, etc.) a type of the data (such as environmental data, video, sound, etc.), a type of the electronic device (such as a video camera, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a microphone, etc.), the first format, and/or a gateway (such as access point 116-1 or radio node 118-1 in a network) that forwards the data from electronic device 110-1 to computer system 132.” – one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that computing a context of the data would result in having additional useful data that would normally be appended to a data set for potential downstream use.);
broadcasting a sensor input signal to data storage locations (Fig. 1, Par. [0050] “access points 116 and/or radio nodes 118 may communicate with each other, a services manager 130, a computer system 132 and/or an optional controller 112 (which may be a local or a cloud-based controller that manages and/or configures access points 116, radio nodes 118 and/or a computer network device or CND 128, such as a switch or a router, or that provides cloud-based storage and/or analytical services) using a wired communication protocol (such as Ethernet or MQTT) via network 120 and/or 122” – MQTT is a type of broadcasting; Par. [0071] ”access points 116 may aggregate and disburse data across disparate sensors, and may include data-acquisition and data transformation capabilities (such as a data acquisition and transformation engine or control logic)”).
Barnes does not explicitly teach broadcasting the second sensor input signal in the common data format to data storage locations;
sending an instruction to actuate warehouse operations to one or more receiving systems based on the one or more data storage locations to which the second sensor input signal is broadcast; and
controlling one or more operations of a warehouse based on the instruction to actuate
warehouse operations.
However, Cella teaches broadcasting the second sensor input signal in the common data format to data storage locations (Fig. 18-20, Par. [0713] “extracted data 4650 that can include extracted portions of translated legacy data 4652 and streamed data 4654 may be stored in a format that facilitates access and processing by legacy instrument data processing and further processing that can emulate legacy instrument data processing methods, and the like.”; Par. [4809] “the data handling layers 34908 are configured in a topology that facilitates shared or common data storage across multiple applications and uses of the platform 34900 by the industrial entity-oriented data storage systems layer 34910”; Par. [4861] “the IoT data adaptor 35700 can establish a connection to publish the data to one or more available IoT cloud platforms 35610, or to any other device, server computing device, etc. capable of receiving data”); Par. [2012] “network coding may be used to specify and manage the manner in which packets (including streams of packets as noted in various embodiments disclosed throughout this disclosure and the documents incorporated by reference) are relayed from a sender (e.g., a data collector, instrumentation system, computer, or the like in an industrial environment where data is collected, such as from sensors or instruments on, in or proximal to industrial machines or from data storage in the environment) to a receiver (e.g., another data collector (such as in a swarm or coordinated group), instrumentation system, computer, storage, or the like in the industrial environment, or to a remote computer, server, cloud platform, database, data pool, data marketplace, mobile device (e.g., mobile phone, personal computer, tablet, or the like), or other network-connected device of system), such as via one or more network infrastructure elements (referred to in some cases herein as nodes), such as access points, switches, routers, servers, gateways, bridges, connectors, physical interfaces and the like, using one or more network protocols, such as IP-based protocols, TCP/IP, UDP, HTTP, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, cellular protocols, LTE, 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, CDMA, TDSM, packet-based protocols, streaming protocols, file transfer protocols, broadcast protocols, multi-cast protocols, unicast protocols, and others. For situations involving bi-directional communication, any of the above-referenced devices or systems, or others mentioned throughout this disclosure, may play the role of sender or receiver, or both”);
sending an instruction to actuate industrial operations to one or more receiving systems based on the one or more data storage locations to which the second sensor input signal is broadcast (Par. [2632] “control module 29130 may be configured to provide commands to a device or system at the industrial setting 28720 “; Par. [2647] “the backend system 28750 performs one or more backend operations on the decompressed sensor data. The backend operations may include storing the data, filtering the data, performing AI-related tasks on the sensor data, issuing one or more notifications in relation to the results of the AI-related tasks, performing one or more analytics related tasks, controlling an industrial component of the industrial setting 28720, and the like.”); and
controlling one or more operations of an industrial setting based on the instruction to actuate industrial operations (Par. [2647] “controlling an industrial component of the industrial setting 28720”).
Barnes and Cella are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to industrial internet of things.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above data conversion and distribution method, as taught by Barnes, and incorporate broadcasting the second sensor input signal in the common data format to data storage locations to actuate operations, as taught by Cella.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve allowing existing processing systems and facilities to access and process data as suggested by Cella (Par. [0531]).
Barnes and Cella do not explicitly teach sending an instruction to actuate warehouse operations to one or more receiving systems based on the one or more data storage locations to which the second sensor input signal is broadcast; and
controlling one or more operations of a warehouse based on the instruction to actuate warehouse operations.
However, Lem teaches sending an instruction to actuate warehouse operations to one or more receiving systems based on the one or more data storage locations to which the second sensor input signal is broadcast (Fig. 1, Par. [0012] “system for managing tasks during the operation of a warehouse, the system comprising: (a) setting at least one initial parameter for the operation of the warehouse; (b) setting at least one priority during the operation of the warehouse; (c) commencing and monitoring the actual operation of the warehouse; (d) comparing the actual operation of the ware house compared with the at least one priority and the at least one initial parameter to determine whether the operation of the warehouse is considered on track or off track; and (e) taking remedial steps based on the comparison from step (d).”); and
controlling one or more operations of a warehouse based on the instruction to actuate warehouse operations (Par. [0047] “"task engine distributor" ("TED"), which is an intelligence engine dynamically reallocating work tasks based on past, present or future properties, such as worker profile (certification, skill level, equipment, current activity), their location in the facility, and changing priorities that happen over the course of an assigned task or day.”).
Barnes, Cella, and Lem are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to industrial internet of things.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above data conversion and distribution method, as taught by Barnes and Cella, and incorporate operating in a warehouse, as taught by Lem.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve “automated workflows that can adjust based on situational awareness” as suggested by Lem (Par. [0009]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Barnes, Cella, and Lem teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Cella further teaches wherein obtaining the first sensor input signal includes:
applying a data conversion rule of a plurality of data conversion rules to the first sensor input signal in which each data conversion rule of the plurality converts a particular sensor input signal with a corresponding data format to the common data format (Fig. 18, Par. [0712] “include a streaming data collector 4510 that may be configured to accept data in a range of formats as described herein. In embodiments, the range of formats can include a data format A 4520, a data format B 4522, a data format C 4524, and a data format D 4528 that may be sourced from a range of sensors”; Par. [0713] “extracted data 4650 that can include extracted portions of translated legacy data 4652 and streamed data 4654 may be stored in a format that facilitates access and processing by legacy instrument data processing and further processing that can emulate legacy instrument data processing methods, and the like.” – depending on the data format from a specific sensor, different data conversion rules must be applied in order to create a common data format).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Barnes, Cella, and Lem teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Cella further teaches wherein:
a particular receiver system of the one or more receiving systems is configured to query a specific data storage location of the one or more data storage locations for the second sensor input signal (Fig. 155, Par. [1636] – [1637] “data circuit provides client query access to the embedded data cube in real time. In embodiments, the data circuit supports client requests in the form of a SQL query” … “network control circuit for sending and receiving information related to the sensor inputs to an external system, the system is configured to provide sensor data to a plurality of other similarly configured systems”; Fig. 307-308, Par. [2740] – [2742] “The collective processing mind 14020 may then transmit certain state-related measurements in response to the request by, for example, querying a storage for some or all of the state-related measurements recorded using those select individual wearable devices 14000” … “the collective processing mind 14020 may send the signal directly to the servers 14014, the data pool 14012, or the other hardware or software component”), and
responsive to the second sensor input signal being included in the specific data storage location, controlling the one or more operations of the warehouse based on the second sensor input signal (Par. [2745] "the intelligent systems 14028 can be used to update workflows of tasks assigned and performed within the industrial IoT environment based on output from the wearable devices 14000A, 14000B, . . . 14000N.”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Barnes, Cella, and Lem teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Lem further teaches wherein controlling the one or more operations of the warehouse
include:
monitoring behavior of one or more warehouse operators (Par. [0054] “the present invention tracks “priorities” as initially defined in the initial environment as well as the delta between tasks done and to be done, where people are and what tasks they are performing”),
specifying an item to be retrieved from the warehouse (Par. [0060] “a number of different pick options including Pick faces Only, FIFO or LIFO, Fast Pick, Stable Pallet, Minimize Honeycomb, Minimize Travel, Output Level. Warehouse Operational options may include Pallet Cube Size, Serpentine YIN, Labour Units, Standby Labor, Hrs per Shift and other production benchmarks.”),
specifying a quantity of the item to be retrieved from the warehouse (Par. [0061] “Fast Pick will direct the warehouse worker to those warehouse locations that have enough quantity to meet the desired pick quantity”).
Lem does not explicitly teach identifying dangerous operating conditions within the warehouse.
However, Cella teaches identifying dangerous operating conditions within the warehouse (Cella Par. [2673] “the edge device 28704 may apply one or more rules to determine whether a triggering condition exists. In embodiments, the one or more rules may be tailored to identify potentially dangerous and/or emergency situations”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Barnes, Cella, and Lem teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Cella further teaches wherein obtaining the first sensor input signal includes:
receiving, by a machine-learning system, information relating to warehouse operations (Fig. 1-6, Par. [0207] “adaptive intelligent systems layer includes data processing, artificial intelligence, and computational systems that develop, improve, or adapt processes in the IIoT system based on the data collected by the industrial monitoring systems layer.”; Par. [0539] “Intelligent systems may include machine learning systems 122, such as for learning on one or more data sets. The one or more data sets may include information collected using local data collection systems 102 or other information from input sources 116, such as to recognize states, objects, events, patterns, conditions, or the like”); and
generating, by the machine-learning system, a virtual sensor input signal responsive to the information relating to warehouse operations (Par. [0539] “The one or more data sets may include information collected using local data collection systems 102 or other information from input sources 116, such as to recognize states, objects, events, patterns, conditions, or the like that may, in turn, be used for processing by the host system 112 as inputs to components of the platform 100 and portions of the industrial IoT data collection, monitoring and control system 10, or the like”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Barnes, Cella, and Lem teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Barnes further teaches wherein:
the data conversion rules include a device template configured to identify one or more fields of information included in a particular first sensor input signal obtained from a particular device type (Par. [0063] “computer system 132 may compute a context of the data. Moreover, the context may include: a location of electronic device 132 (which may be specified by or may correspond to GPS or local positioning system coordinates, a port, a network identifier, a VLAN identifier, etc.) a type of the data (such as environmental data, video, sound, etc.), a type of the electronic device (such as a video camera, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a microphone, etc.), the first format, and/or a gateway (such as access point 116-1 or radio node 118-1 in a network) that forwards the data from electronic device 110-1 to computer system 132.; Par. [0097] “Moreover, based at least in part on the context, the computer system may identify the electronic device (operation 714) associated with the data. Note that the identifying may be based at least in part on: an identifier of the electronic device (such as a MAC address, an IMSI number, etc.), a subset of the data (such as a payload in a packet or a frame), a name of the electronic device, and/or additional data associated with a second electronic device (which is different from the electronic device).” – Identifying the electronic device associated with the contextual data would require rules or a template associated with a particular device.);
and the device template is used to convert the first sensor input signal to the second sensor input signal (Par. [0065] “computer system 132 may translate, based at least in part on identified electronic device 110-1, the data from the first format to a second format” – Examiner interprets performing a data conversion based on an identified electronic device as using a device template).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Barnes, Cella, and Lem teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Lem further teaches obtaining warehouse operations metadata, wherein controlling the one or more operations of the warehouse is based on the instruction to actuate warehouse operations and the warehouse operations metadata (Fig. 1-2, Par. [0054] “the present invention tracks "priorities" as initially defined in the initial environment as well as the delta between tasks done and to be done, where people are and what tasks they are performing, and if they are eligible to be re-assigned a certain task(s). The system of the present invention can also respond to a change in the tasks assigned or in priorities, push out the new task(s), be reactive to the environment, create tasks and re-allocate tasks based on existing or future priorities”; Par. [0059] “The embodiments of the present invention are not merely tracking product but priorities and changing them dynamically based on the changing environment thus optimizing labour, materials, costs, etc.”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Barnes, Cella, and Lem teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Lem further teaches wherein the warehouse operations metadata includes:
operational error rates of warehouse operators (Par. [0050] “there is provided TED 301 which interacts with and can modify work priorities 302, task interleaving 303, feedback and performance tracking 304 and pace control 305.”. Examiner interprets performance tracking to include operational error rates of warehouse operators.)
time taken by warehouse operators to complete operations (Par. [0063] “the scheduled activity is monitored and the determination is made whether it is considered on track or off track”),
identities of the warehouse operators (Par. [0047] “"task engine distributor" ("TED"), which is an intelligence engine dynamically reallocating work tasks based on past, present or future properties, such as worker profile (certification, skill level, equipment, current activity), their location in the facility, and changing priorities that happen over the course of an assigned task or day.” – examiner interprets a worker profile as an identity; Par. [0057] “TED may identify to whom should be given the work to because warehouses can be quite large and there is a need to know where people are prior to making any task allocations.”), or
time between completion of the warehouse operations by the warehouse operators (Par. [0054] “tracks … delta between tasks done and to be done” – examiner interprets delta to include time between completion of warehouse operations).
Regarding claim 9, Barnes teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media configured to store instructions that, in response to being executed, cause a system to perform (Claim 13 “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for use in conjunction with a computer system, the computer- readable storage medium storing program instructions, wherein, when executed by the computer system, cause the computer system to perform one or more operations”) industrial internet of things (IIOT) data conversion and distribution operations (Fig. 1, Par. [0007] “computer system translates, based at least in part on the identified electronic device, the data from the first format to a second format, where the second format is common to additional data associated with multiple different types of electronic devices, and where the additional data is stored in or is associated with the computer system.”; Par. [0061] “Access points 116, radio nodes 118 and/or services manager 130 may: manage network across different physical layers, provide sensor-to-backend management, and/or distributed decision-making.”; Par. [0047] “By translating the data to the second format, these communication techniques may address current obstacles and enable IoT applications and services”), the operations comprising:
obtaining a first sensor input signal from an IIOT device (Par. [0007] “the computer
system obtains the data associated with the electronic device, which has a first format.”; Par. [0063] “type of the electronic device (such as a video camera, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a microphone, etc.)”);
converting the first sensor input signal to a second sensor input signal having a common data format based on one or more data conversion rules (Par. [0046] “computer system may translate, based at least in part on the identified electronic device, the data from the first format to a second format, where the second format is common to additional data associated with multiple different types of electronic devices” – basing the translation at least in part on the identified electronic device implies there are data conversion rules depending on the device type; Par. [0047] “This common format may enable data aggregation, analysis, decision-making and, thus, a wide variety of applications without requiring a standard, retrofitting of legacy equipment or the use of dedicated equipment”);
appending the second sensor input signal with a variable that describes information relating to the first sensor input signal (Par. [0063] “computer system 132 may compute a context of the data. Moreover, the context may include: a location of electronic device 132 (which may be specified by or may correspond to GPS or local positioning system coordinates, a port, a network identifier, a VLAN identifier, etc.) a type of the data (such as environmental data, video, sound, etc.), a type of the electronic device (such as a video camera, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a microphone, etc.), the first format, and/or a gateway (such as access point 116-1 or radio node 118-1 in a network) that forwards the data from electronic device 110-1 to computer system 132.” – one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that computing a context of the data would result in having additional useful data that would normally be appended to a data set for potential downstream use.);
broadcasting the second sensor input signal in the common data format to one or more data storage locations (Fig. 1, Par. [0050] “access points 116 and/or radio nodes 118 may communicate with each other, a services manager 130, a computer system 132 and/or an optional controller 112 (which may be a local or a cloud-based controller that manages and/or configures access points 116, radio nodes 118 and/or a computer network device or CND 128, such as a switch or a router, or that provides cloud-based storage and/or analytical services) using a wired communication protocol (such as Ethernet or MQTT) via network 120 and/or 122” – MQTT is a type of broadcasting; Par. [0071] ”access points 116 may aggregate and disburse data across disparate sensors, and may include data-acquisition and data transformation capabilities (such as a data acquisition and transformation engine or control logic)”).
Barnes does not explicitly teach broadcasting the second sensor input signal in the common data format to data storage locations;
sending an instruction to actuate warehouse operations to one or more receiving systems based on the one or more data storage locations to which the second sensor input signal is broadcast; and
controlling one or more operations of a warehouse based on the instruction to actuate
warehouse operations.
However, Cella teaches broadcasting the second sensor input signal in the common data format to data storage locations (Fig. 18-20, Par. [0713] “extracted data 4650 that can include extracted portions of translated legacy data 4652 and streamed data 4654 may be stored in a format that facilitates access and processing by legacy instrument data processing and further processing that can emulate legacy instrument data processing methods, and the like.”; Par. [4809] “the data handling layers 34908 are configured in a topology that facilitates shared or common data storage across multiple applications and uses of the platform 34900 by the industrial entity-oriented data storage systems layer 34910”; Par. [4861] “the IoT data adaptor 35700 can establish a connection to publish the data to one or more available IoT cloud platforms 35610, or to any other device, server computing device, etc. capable of receiving data”); Par. [2012] “network coding may be used to specify and manage the manner in which packets (including streams of packets as noted in various embodiments disclosed throughout this disclosure and the documents incorporated by reference) are relayed from a sender (e.g., a data collector, instrumentation system, computer, or the like in an industrial environment where data is collected, such as from sensors or instruments on, in or proximal to industrial machines or from data storage in the environment) to a receiver (e.g., another data collector (such as in a swarm or coordinated group), instrumentation system, computer, storage, or the like in the industrial environment, or to a remote computer, server, cloud platform, database, data pool, data marketplace, mobile device (e.g., mobile phone, personal computer, tablet, or the like), or other network-connected device of system), such as via one or more network infrastructure elements (referred to in some cases herein as nodes), such as access points, switches, routers, servers, gateways, bridges, connectors, physical interfaces and the like, using one or more network protocols, such as IP-based protocols, TCP/IP, UDP, HTTP, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, cellular protocols, LTE, 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, CDMA, TDSM, packet-based protocols, streaming protocols, file transfer protocols, broadcast protocols, multi-cast protocols, unicast protocols, and others. For situations involving bi-directional communication, any of the above-referenced devices or systems, or others mentioned throughout this disclosure, may play the role of sender or receiver, or both”);
sending an instruction to actuate industrial operations to one or more receiving systems based on the one or more data storage locations to which the second sensor input signal is broadcast (Par. [2632] “control module 29130 may be configured to provide commands to a device or system at the industrial setting 28720 “; Par. [2647] “the backend system 28750 performs one or more backend operations on the decompressed sensor data. The backend operations may include storing the data, filtering the data, performing AI-related tasks on the sensor data, issuing one or more notifications in relation to the results of the AI-related tasks, performing one or more analytics related tasks, controlling an industrial component of the industrial setting 28720, and the like”); and
controlling one or more operations of an industrial setting based on the instruction to actuate industrial operations (Par. [2647] “controlling an industrial component of the industrial setting 28720”).
Barnes and Cella are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to industrial internet of things.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above data conversion and distribution method, as taught by Barnes, and incorporate broadcasting the second sensor input signal in the common data format to data storage locations to actuate operations, as taught by Cella.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve allowing existing processing systems and facilities to access and process data as suggested by Cella (Par. [0531]).
Barnes and Cella do not explicitly teach sending an instruction to actuate warehouse operations to one or more receiving systems based on the one or more data storage locations to which the second sensor input signal is broadcast; and
controlling one or more operations of a warehouse based on the instruction to actuate warehouse operations.
However, Lem teaches sending an instruction to actuate warehouse operations to one or more receiving systems based on the one or more data storage locations to which the second sensor input signal is broadcast (Fig. 1, Par. [0012] “system for managing tasks during the operation of a warehouse, the system comprising: (a) setting at least one initial parameter for the operation of the warehouse; (b) setting at least one priority during the operation of the warehouse; (c) commencing and monitoring the actual operation of the warehouse; (d) comparing the actual operation of the ware house compared with the at least one priority and the at least one initial parameter to determine whether the operation of the warehouse is considered on track or off track; and (e) taking remedial steps based on the comparison from step (d).”); and
controlling one or more operations of a warehouse based on the instruction to actuate warehouse operations (Par. [0047] “"task engine distributor" ("TED"), which is an intelligence engine dynamically reallocating work tasks based on past, present or future properties, such as worker profile (certification, skill level, equipment, current activity), their location in the facility, and changing priorities that happen over the course of an assigned task or day.”).
Barnes, Cella, and Lem are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to industrial internet of things.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above data conversion and distribution method, as taught by Barnes and Cella, and incorporate operating in a warehouse, as taught by Lem.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve “automated workflows that can adjust based on situational awareness” as suggested by Lem (Par. [0009]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Barnes, Cella, and Lem teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Cella further teaches wherein obtaining the first sensor input signal includes:
applying a data conversion rule of a plurality of data conversion rules to the first sensor
input signal in which each data conversion rule of the plurality converts a particular sensor input signal with a corresponding data format to the common data format (Fig. 18, Par. [0712] “include a streaming data collector 4510 that may be configured to accept data in a range of formats as described herein. In embodiments, the range of formats can include a data format A 4520, a data format B 4522, a data format C 4524, and a data format D 4528 that may be sourced from a range of sensors”; Par. [0713] “extracted data 4650 that can include extracted portions of translated legacy data 4652 and streamed data 4654 may be stored in a format that facilitates access and processing by legacy instrument data processing and further processing that can emulate legacy instrument data processing methods, and the like.” – depending on the data format from a specific sensor, different data conversion rules must be applied in order to create a common data format).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Barnes, Cella, and Lem teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Cella further teaches wherein:
a particular receiver system of the one or more receiving systems is configured to query a specific data storage location of the one or more data storages for the second sensor input signal (Fig. 155, Par. [1636] – [1637] “data circuit provides client query access to the embedded data cube in real time. In embodiments, the data circuit supports client requests in the form of a SQL query” … “network control circuit for sending and receiving information related to the sensor inputs to an external system, the system is configured to provide sensor data to a plurality of other similarly configured systems”; Fig. 307-308, Par. [2740] – [2742] “The collective processing mind 14020 may then transmit certain state-related measurements in response to the request by, for example, querying a storage for some or all of the state-related measurements recorded using those select individual wearable devices 14000” … “the collective processing mind 14020 may send the signal directly to the servers 14014, the data pool 14012, or the other hardware or software component”), and
responsive to the second sensor input signal being included in the specific data storage location, controlling the one or more operations of the warehouse based on the second sensor input signal (Par. [2745] "the intelligent systems 14028 can be used to update workflows of tasks assigned and performed within the industrial IoT environment based on output from the wearable devices 14000A, 14000B, . . . 14000N.”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Barnes, Cella, and Lem teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Lem further teaches wherein controlling the one or more operations of the warehouse
include:
monitoring behavior of one or more warehouse operators (Par. [0054] “the present invention tracks “priorities” as initially defined in the initial environment as well as the delta between tasks done and to be done, where people are and what tasks they are performing”),
specifying an item to be retrieved from the warehouse (Par. [0060] “a number of different pick options including Pick faces Only, FIFO or LIFO, Fast Pick, Stable Pallet, Minimize Honeycomb, Minimize Travel, Output Level. Warehouse Operational options may include Pallet Cube Size, Serpentine YIN, Labour Units, Standby Labor, Hrs per Shift and other production benchmarks.”),
specifying a quantity of the item to be retrieved from the warehouse (Par. [0061] “Fast Pick will direct the warehouse worker to those warehouse locations that have enough quantity to meet the desired pick quantity”).
Lem does not explicitly teach identifying dangerous operating conditions within the warehouse.
However, Cella teaches identifying dangerous operating conditions within the warehouse (Cella Par. [2673] “the edge device 28704 may apply one or more rules to determine whether a triggering condition exists. In embodiments, the one or more rules may be tailored to identify potentially dangerous and/or emergency situations”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Barnes, Cella, and Lem teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Cella further teaches wherein obtaining the first sensor input signal includes:
receiving, by a machine-learning system, information relating to warehouse operations (Fig. 1-6, Par. [0207] “adaptive intelligent systems layer includes data processing, artificial intelligence, and computational systems that develop, improve, or adapt processes in the IIoT system based on the data collected by the industrial monitoring systems layer.”; Par. [0539] “Intelligent systems may include machine learning systems 122, such as for learning on one or more data sets. The one or more data sets may include information collected using local data collection systems 102 or other information from input sources 116, such as to recognize states, objects, events, patterns, conditions, or the like”); and
generating, by the machine-learning system, a virtual sensor input signal responsive to the information relating to warehouse operations (Par. [0539] “The one or more data sets may include information collected using local data collection systems 102 or other information from input sources 116, such as to recognize states, objects, events, patterns, conditions, or the like that may, in turn, be used for processing by the host system 112 as inputs to components of the platform 100 and portions of the industrial IoT data collection, monitoring and control system 10, or the like”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Barnes, Cella, and Lem teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Barnes further teaches wherein:
the data conversion rules include a device template configured to identify one or more fields of information included in a particular first sensor input signal obtained from a particular device type Par. [0063] “computer system 132 may compute a context of the data. Moreover, the context may include: a location of electronic device 132 (which may be specified by or may correspond to GPS or local positioning system coordinates, a port, a network identifier, a VLAN identifier, etc.) a type of the data (such as environmental data, video, sound, etc.), a type of the electronic device (such as a video camera, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a microphone, etc.), the first format, and/or a gateway (such as access point 116-1 or radio node 118-1 in a network) that forwards the data from electronic device 110-1 to computer system 132.; Par. [0097] “Moreover, based at least in part on the context, the computer system may identify the electronic device (operation 714) associated with the data. Note that the identifying may be based at least in part on: an identifier of the electronic device (such as a MAC address, an IMSI number, etc.), a subset of the data (such as a payload in a packet or a frame), a name of the electronic device, and/or additional data associated with a second electronic device (which is different from the electronic device).” – Identifying the electronic device associated with the contextual data would require rules or a template associated with a particular device.); and
the device template is used to convert the first sensor input signal to the second sensor input signal (Par. [0065] “computer system 132 may translate, based at least in part on identified electronic device 110-1, the data from the first format to a second format” – Examiner interprets performing a data conversion based on an identified electronic device as using a device template).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Barnes, Cella, and Lem teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Lem further teaches wherein:
the operations further comprise obtaining warehouse operations metadata (Fig. 1-2, Par. [0054] “the present invention tracks "priorities" as initially defined in the initial environment as well as the delta between tasks done and to be done, where people are and what tasks they are performing, and if they are eligible to be re-assigned a certain task(s)”; Par. [0059] “The embodiments of the present invention are not merely tracking product but priorities and changing them dynamically based on the changing environment thus optimizing labour, materials, costs, etc.”); and
the controlling the one or more operations of the warehouse is based on the instruction to actuate warehouse operations and the warehouse operations metadata (Fig. 1-2, Par. [0054] The system of the present invention can also respond to a change in the tasks assigned or in priorities, push out the new task(s), be reactive to the environment, create tasks and re-allocate tasks based on existing or future priorities”).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Barnes, Cella, and Lem teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Lem further teaches wherein the warehouse operations metadata includes:
operational error rates of warehouse operators (Par. [0050] “there is provided TED 301 which interacts with and can modify work priorities 302, task interleaving 303, feedback and performance tracking 304 and pace control 305”. - Examiner interprets performance tracking to include operational error rates of warehouse operators.)
time taken by warehouse operators to complete operations (Par. [0063] “the scheduled activity is monitored and the determination is made whether it is considered on track or off track”),
identities of the warehouse operators (Par. [0047] “"task engine distributor" ("TED"), which is an intelligence engine dynamically reallocating work tasks based on past, present or future properties, such as worker profile (certification, skill level, equipment, current activity), their location in the facility, and changing priorities that happen over the course of an assigned task or day.” – examiner interprets a worker profile as an identity; Par. [0057] “TED may identify to whom should be given the work to because warehouses can be quite large and there is a need to know where people are prior to making any task allocations.”), or
time between completion of the warehouse operations by the warehouse operators (Par. [0054] “tracks … delta between tasks done and to be done” – examiner interprets delta to include time between completion of warehouse operations).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dixon [USPGPUB 2024/0019852 A1] teaches a method for cloud edge network process automation control that includes receiving, at a multi-access edge computing device, a factory application defining an automated process; and identifying process modules associated with the factory application. The method further includes providing distributed orchestration information to the devices, where the distributed orchestration information includes a status of the process modules; and controlling networked plant devices for middle latency conditions based upon the distributed orchestration information.
Okamoto et al. [USPGPUB 2022/0155759 A1] teaches an interface apparatus including an interface unit configured to receive, from an AI processing unit configured to execute at least either processing of generating a model for determining a state of a facility by machine learning or processing of determining the state of the facility using the model, a first command using a protocol of a common form that is not dependent on a cloud platform configured to manage the facility, and a cloud communication unit configured to convert the first command into a second command.
Conclusion
/PETER XU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119